Never before in Sibu

By Wee Wui Kiat

[UPDATED with photos from the ground] A musing on the many firsts for Sibu that took place in the few weeks leading up to last Sunday’s by-election, that reflects a changed Malaysia.

PR Leaders Sibu nomination

Sibu Miracle – May 16,2010

Never before in Sibu have we seen such a strong line of a multi-ethnic opposition coalition working together hand in hand way into the wee hours of the night to bring about change.

Never before in Sibu have we seen so many Malays proudly wearing DAP caps and shirts on the streets.

Never before in Sibu have we seen a Malay woman donning the tudung, hoisting a huge DAP flag.

PR Supporters on Nomination day

Never before in Sibu kopitiam have we seen Chinese men inviting Malay PKR men (who are strangers to them) to engage in an amicable and spirited conversation about political issues and problems.

Never before in Sibu have we witnessed such a wide range of topics previously thought of as “taboo” and “sensitive”, being analysed and discussed in front of a huge multi-racial audience eager for change, in such peace, non-hostility, and good faith.

Never before in Sibu have we witnessed such a huge display of support for the opposition – a 15,000 strong public attendance at an opposition grand-finale ceramah on 15th May 2010, where the public stayed for six consecutive hours, from 6.00p.m. to midnight. Not only were they there on their own accord, they did not leave when it drizzled, they were not paid to turn up, and they even donated on the spot for the cause.

Sibu4Change Grand Finale Ceramah

Never before in Sibu have we witnessed large crowds gathering to listen to speeches on issues instead of watching fireworks and helicopters whizzing in the sky.

Never before in Sibu have we witnessed our Malaysian Prime Minister flying in to Sibu three times in a week to campaign for one single Parliamentary seat (the ruling coalition had alleged that the opposition would not be able to do anything about) – this shows us how important getting hold of even one seat has become.

Najib election bribe

Never before in Sibu have we seen night after night, throngs of Malaysians of all races attending ceramahs with total devotion to listening to every word spoken without the incentive of BBQs, jamuan makan malam, rumah terbuka, lucky draws, beauty contests, karaoke singing competitions, and all that rubbish.

Rakyat waiting outside Civic Center for official results

Never before in Sibu has the Election Commission (headquartered at the Sibu Civic Centre) been cordoned off by so many police and FRU personnel, all surrounding roads blocked off, traffic jam due to the massive crowd gathering in the rain to await the final outcome of an election.

BN and police

Never before in Sibu have so many of my friends come to realise the value of being a registered voter and cherish the ability to vote.

Never before in Sibu have I heard young people telling each other “I am going to register as a voter, fly home, and vote next time to do my part.”

Sibu by-election 16th May 2010 is a day of so many “Firsts” for Sibu and I wish it will also trigger many more “Firsts” for the rest of the Central Region of Sarawak.

It is indeed a miracle.

PR leaders with Wong Ho Leng

Long House

Muhyiddin

Wong Ho Leng 516 Sibu

PR leaders

1. #1 by rahmanwang on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 7:28 am

Yes.Come General Election 13 there will be another first.Work harder PAKATAN.Do not slack.Send these corrupted BN back to where they belong.Just like what PM said “Rejang Park is not a place for the PM”.He is correct.The Sg Buloh prison is a place for corrupted politicians.

2. #2 by baochingtian on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 8:25 am

Thank you for the photos. It ‘s an eye opener indeed to most west malaysians that PR is truly multiracial working together to achieve a common objective. MSM pls do your part to build a united nation to stop corruption practices and to uphold justice. Money politics was once a no-no in one major political party where member involved was suspended but that principle doesn’t seem to be transpired throughout the party but instead getting worse each time around. Is this history without ikhtibar ?

3. #3 by chengho on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 8:46 am

Then what the problem for PR to be established and register as a party like BN not a loose ,loose , loose multi parties…Rocket should take the leadership of PR ,do not leave it to the moon and the sun..

4. #4 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 9:35 am

it is heart warming to see PAS, PKR and DAP working together hand in hand to topple the evil regime. the people have spoken loud and clear, the beginning of the end of bn starts in Sibu.

we say ‘BN and chapchengho’s type not welcome’ in sibu or anywhere.

ROCKIN’ ROCKET.
    PROGRESSIVE PAS.
    KICK-ASS KEADILAN

5. #5 by monsterball on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 10:09 am

With so many new experiences…Sibu residents awakened to the whole truth and nothing but the truth.
    A miracle it is….and Malaysians are ever grateful to Sibu voters…resisting so much temptations to try and blind their eyes and clouded their minds…by the son of the Devil.
    Yes..UMNO B is a devilish party…encouraging corruptions and bribes…as seen clearly what Najib tried to do…with no fear.
    Najib who so call believe there is one true God…and that’s Allah …went one step further to insult Allah…by supporting Christians and Tau Pek Kong.
    That clearly shows he is not a true Muslim….for if he is…he will free all Malays to choose any religion.
    So at one hand..Najib plays with the Malays…and on the hand..trying to fool Allah…being nice to so call non believers?
    There is a limit to all dirty race and religion politics…and Najib have played all his low class political tricks and treats to the fullest….insulting all religions…and a MIRACLE appeared.
    This reminds me of the movie..
    “AVATAR”…when the leader knew he was fighting against all odds…and need the help of the tree god. The tree god did answer the prayers of the leader and send it a mighty specie dinosaur to crushed all tanks.
    This also got Mahathir few nightmares…which all have read his comment.after watching the movie.
    Yes..a miracle did happen in Sibu…but that’s the beginning ….to show all Malaysians what to do in the 13th GE.

6. #6 by monsterball on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 10:23 am

Just look at the first photo of PR politicians walking hand in hand….no acting..so serious and dedicated to their cause.
    Now look at photos of Najib with other races……and one look you can see…those are hypocritical politicians acting…and smiling.
    Yes Najib and his DPM must smile to tell voters how great it is t be governed by UMNO B…lots of treats and bribes..available to some lucky ones to become millionaires.
    And as usual… Chengho SUCKS.

7. #7 by son of perpaduan on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 10:26 am

God is cursing mahafiraun and umno for making all rakyat suffer for the past decades.

8. #8 by ktteokt on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 10:27 am

Indeed the people of Sibu have spoken! And so will all Malaysians, whether in the Peninsula or in East Malaysia, come GE13!

9. #9 by k1980 on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 10:34 am

Never before in Sibu have we witnessed such a Tua Pek Kong who came bearing gifts, conditional on his candidate winning

10. #10 by dagen on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 1:39 pm

Never before have we seen a leader who having over-eaten more than his extraordinary large share of the meal, has his saliva factory in perpetual overdrive and overproduction mode.

11. #11 by dagen on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 1:51 pm

“Lets have a deal.” “The masalah banjir in sibu.” He said. “I help you.” “And you help me.” “Just like the way it was done in HS.” He added.

“Deal.” People of sibu said. (clapping, clapping, cheering, cheering in the background) And the deal sibu people had in mind was “You go ahead to help us. Its your bloody duty.” “And we will think about helping you. That is our right.”

Jib thought he was dealing with some jungle people. And the people of sibu thought they heard a good joke by the PM.

12. #12 by johnnypok on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 2:58 pm

If he fails to live up to his promises, Tua Pek Kong will not forgive him, and Tua Pek Kong will punish him and send him to rot in hell.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 3:49 pm

Sibuans, we salute you!

PR shld hv big notice boards in Sibu to say THANK YOU 2 brave n incorruptible voters there, if not oredi done

If eventually PR manages 2 wrest contol of Sarawak n Sabah fr BN, dis 516 victory must b honored in our textbooks as d DAY dat Sibuans REJECTED our corrupt PM 2 start d revolution against d corrupt regime of BN

D SIBUAN SPIRIT of PR dat shows Malaysians of every ethnic group n all walks of life can work together peacefully n fruitfully MUST b promoted – dis is true Malaysian Malaysia spirit, not d bogus 1M’sia bluff

Work harder n honestly PR 4 d benefits of all Malaysians! Lead d way 2 Putrajaya!

14. #14 by Michael Teo on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 4:44 pm

The election win in Sibu by DAP as mentioned, should be MUCH HIGHER. It should be over 5000 majority. As noted, the number of voters DID NOT tallied with the number of votes counted. I propose that every PAKATAN PARTIES should use a video to record the total of voters at end of each polling stations and WARN the EC officers against fraudulent manipulation. Please forward THIS INSTRUCTION to all Pakatan parties. WE WILL WIN IN THE NEXT ELECTION. Just do it.

15. #15 by Michael Teo on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 5:04 pm

Sibu just win over 300 votes. If “unknown” suspected votes are allowed to add the vote by say over 6000 instead of over 5000, DAP may have lost the election. WE MUST BE ON GUARD ALL THE TIMES. There are too many BN dirty tricks. SARAWAK & SABAH must not be BN’s Deposits. Urban areas are taken care of, but I noted that PAKATAN still do not reach out enough to the rural areas (which could be easily influenced by money). PLEASE GO FULL OUT TO THE LONGHOUSES AND KAMPUNGS NOW BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE TO DO SO. To win the election and change the government, we have to win MORE seats in the rural areas. Visit them NOW.

16. #16 by Comrade on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 6:04 pm

What a grand PR/DAP’s win
    May this historic Sibu Miracle
    Be the starting kingpin
    To bring hope to the people

17. #17 by monsterball on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 6:16 pm

hahahahahaha…..that smart ass Chengho keep needling LKS to take over leadership of PR.
    He knows…Najib ass is licked…as long as the present formula is applied….even with Anwar in jail or keDAILan have one Parliamentarian left…LKS and LGE will stay behind.
    You want to play race politics?…you got it….hahahahahaha
    Chengho thinks LKS is an idiot like him.

18. #18 by boh-liao on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 7:56 pm

We need 2 return 2 d genuine friendly n collegial harmony of 50s n 60s when ppl of all ethnic grps mixed comfortably with each other n ate together without forced segregation
    These days we r so divided dat we cannot even hv a genuinely friendly office meal together – most office functions in civil service r so artificial n overwhelmingly one sided

19. #19 by boh-liao on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 7:58 pm

Looks like there is a thanksgiving party going on in Sibu this evening, fantastic
    Enjoy, have fun, n convert more voters 2 PR

20. #20 by Winston on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 10:47 pm

Uncle Lim, the PR has made a quantum leap in Sibu.
    Keep up the momentum!

21. #21 by HOHOHO on Saturday, 22 May 2010 - 10:50 pm

Many of my Kopitiam frens know YB LKS had a hard fall during his campaign in Sibu,Sarawak and GOD really bless YB LKS and MIRACLE do happen and Respected Sibuans really show those pirates goon an EXIT that $$$Money cannot buy everything! GOD bless you YB LKS and best wishes to you always.HIDUP PR,HIDUP PAS,PKR,DAP and all the RAKYAT.
    Ho Ho Ho

22. #22 by ktteokt on Sunday, 23 May 2010 - 1:02 am

Maybe Najis should have worn “bips” worn by babies looking at the way he was wiping away his saliva using his handkerchief during his bribing act in Sibu!

23. #23 by boh-liao on Sunday, 23 May 2010 - 2:20 am

Never before so many visitors fr West M’sia went 2 Sibu again 4 another round of Kampua Mee by the side of d mighty Rejang River, roaring its approval 4 CHANGE

24. #24 by monsterball on Sunday, 23 May 2010 - 5:30 am

Yip Sibuans…you are brave and noble Malaysians.
    Mahathir said that admitting mistakes shows a man is weak.
    Musa Hitam replied it takes a courageous man to admit his mistakes.
    NOW YOU KNOW…those liars and hypocrites..
    Najib told Sibuans…”Trust me”
    Mahathir said “I forgot” 14 times at Lingam case.
    Now use Najib’s words…
    “Lets make a deal.You help me…I help you”…discussing the 2 submarine deal with RM500 million commission.
    Yes folks….UMNO B crooks are trained by Mahathir never to admit any mistakes.