Sibuans on why they created the Sibuan Miracle

Letter from Gabriel
Dear Kit,

After the recent election in my hometown, Sibu, a lot of my former schoolmates have been storming the internet and started voicing their grievances online, especially in social network portal like Facebook. Just a while a go, one of my ex-classmates showed me a link where people post feedback to SUPP Robert Lau’s status and one of the feedback is as follows and myself being a local Sibu, do totally agree with this Adam’s point of views :

Adam Tang
Let’s go down to the bottom. State down at least 3 to 7 reason why you vote or not vote Mr. Robert. Let Mr. Robert analyze himself. Fair?

I didn’t vote Mr. Robert Lau because

1. Perkasa said our grandmother came to Malaysia just to sell their body last time. (Those who voted Wong Ho Leong are those who are willing to sacrifice Sibu to tell BN from the other side that if BN continue mess with Perkasa, we will vote PR again. Respect please for the people who vote DAP).

2. Have a look on this youtube. This is what BN have given us.

3. After few years promising voters that SUPP will solve Sibu flooding issue. No effective action has been taken. I have friends whose house half inside the water. Car under water. Furniture all destroyed. Before election, you did mention there are progress for drainage system right? How come all place still flooding on the day of voting?

4. Sibu has almost no development this few years. Development has private, public essential and public extending. A lot of housing or shoplot built, that is private. A lot government building or other basic infrastructure has been built, that is public essential. But in my eyes, no development to bring more revolution to technology, education and career to Sibu. In public session, Sibu’s development are more towards spending money than helping Sibu resident earning money. For example, the tanglung festival, spending too much just to show off.

5. SUPP can’t really manage well UCS and sell it RM 1 to Taib yayasan makes me think that SUPP can’t really manage well Sibu. Even no open discussion with Public to find a better resolution for the whole case. This is the most saddest thing I have seem.

6. Car parking fees are the most expensive in Sarawak while Sibu are behind Kuching, Miri, Bintulu, Mukah and Serian. Another weird logic is if renovate the road needs fund from Government, then where is the money from car parking gone since you only draw line on the road infront of premises?

7. Land lease renewal fees are bullshit. Sarawak has so many land, yet Sarawak government already thinking to recycle the land which we work so much to buy it. The first revised version even worst. Big unit and small unit pay the same. You make it auto renew with RM 999 per acres. I sure vote you next turn.

Regards
Gabriel

1. #1 by buy election on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 6:08 pm

http://veryfatlady.blogspot.com

It was quite a surprise that the BN accepted the defeat graciously. If by usual ways, they would have always blamed the people. The local BN politicians, those from Sibu and Sarawak, are trying to be careful in their comments because they have the big brother Najib in mind. Since the big brother Najib has indicated that the campaign lacks creativity and not energetic, anything may expected to hit their heads as a result of the defeat (Najib said, ‘machinery there is still operating in the old ways when they are supposed to be more creative and energetic’).

The BN Chinese parties, such as MCA and SUPP, immediately took advantage of the defeat. Where is Gerakan (no voice yet although Koh Tsu Koon was around in Sibu a lot during the campaign)? They started sending signals to UMNO. For example, Chua Soi Lek made the comments about fair implementation of policies. As far as I know, SUPP top guns made similar type of comments about fair implementation of policies which they have denied in the past. Thanks to this defeat, else the ‘yes’ men would never had a chance to speak out to the big brothers.

I think the government should stop bashing on the opposition. Most people do not like to see the nasty behavior exhibited by the BN politicians, such as expelling or suspending the opposition members in the State Assembly. The YBs or MPs were sent by the people to the legislative assembly and punishing them meant punishing the people. The friendly politicians would be more acceptable to vast majority of the people. For example, look at Lim Guan Eng. He is the Chief Minister of Penang, yet he is so humble and close to the people during the campaign period. Would you like to compare Taib and BN top guns to him, who acted like an emperor, having many body guards around and coming with the most luxurious car and living in a palace? We want to ask the question: who are you?

BN should work hand in hand with the opposition in solving the issues. The ultimate goal of the politics and government is to create a better living society for the people. Development fund, for example, should be allocated to the constituencies which are under the control of the opposition. Much of the money allocated to BN are wasted. Don’t throw money around to your kids because you are going to corrupt and destroy them. Direct election of the local members are demanded by the people. Even a big part of the state constituencies of Sibu are under the opposition, there has been no councilors from the opposition. The people want their voice to be represented directly.

P.S. There are a lot more issues about Sibu associated with the failure of BN. I am not going to repeat them here.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 6:09 pm

If you assume this comment is a good sample, the two main driver are national issues and failure to deliver local economics. If you think about it, BN can’t do much about national issues and the only way for them to win is spend money locally. BUT they have to spend a lot of money for gaining concentrated pockets of Chinese vote when they have to also spend on very spread out groups of Malay vote- at the same time the cronies taking a cut. There simply is NOT enough money for both with corruption.

Najib have to make some really really hard choices. He really have to pick a few winners and go with it. He really just can’t hope for much. If he just don’t do worst than the 308, he already have done well.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 6:09 pm

Hi, what about the “Allah” issue and the burning of 5,000 holy bibles printed in the Indonesian language. Don’t tell me that they didn’t have any effect on the Sibu by-election.

4. #4 by StPeter on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 8:31 pm

Dr Chuan soi Lek said Ibrahim doesn’t not belong to BN, whatever his comments are irrelevant! What lah Dr Chua, If Lim Guan Eng said so, he would immediately under ISA go to jail, why BN goverment don’t take action at all? Dr Chuan, please shut up your mouth lah, your skin is Chinese but your soul is BN, BN is a racist party, St Peter would say ‘If you help me, i would help you’!

5. #5 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 8:37 pm

Dr CSL, if perkosa is not part of b-n machinery, pls have b-n to state his stand loud and clear!

6. #6 by Loh on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 9:12 pm

CSL is technically correct but factually wrong. Perkasa has mamakthir as the patron. Mamakthir is the godfather of UMNO. So Perkasa policy has mamkthir’s stamp which Najib would not dare to differ. A non-BN component founded by Malays control not only UMNO but also all those under UMNO control, including MCA. MCA should just say that it does not agree with Perkasa and it is for MCA to ask UMNO to differ from Mamakthir.

7. #7 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 9:13 pm

UmnoB is summoning CSL 2 Putrajaya: What useless sh!t u r. Stop busy skruing around in hotel rooms. Get Chinese 2 vote 4 UmnoB/BN, by hook, crook, threat, bribe, or poking lah
    UmnoB is trying 2 locate KTK, who went AWOL; hiding inside someone’s sarong?

8. #8 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 9:54 pm

SHAME! SHAME! SHAME! National shame
    Our PM’s infamous “U help me, I help U” is now well publicised globally
    D stark naked truth is dat NR has NO INTEGRITY, our polis, MACC, judiciary, n EC too hv NO INTEGRITY
    INTEGRITY is supposed 2 b a core value n without it, a nation will b destroyed easily
    NR is rotten 2 d core – a blood thirsty corrupt racist with no integrity
    What kind of role model is NR?
    How does he expect parents n teachers 2 teach integrity to youngsters?
    He should resign with honor n graciously

9. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 9:58 pm

NR’s face, at first just ghostly, turned a whiter shade of pale
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbWULu5_nXI&a=ONKMBgjFIuI&playnext_from=ML&playnext=1

10. #10 by chengho on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 10:04 pm

Sibuan succumb to Dap and Pas racist politic
    “Allah ” not an issue in Sarawak but Dap successfully misleading Sibuan , do u preach “Allah ” in church when the sermon in english?…

11. #11 by on cheng on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 10:15 pm

Dr. CSL , if perkasa, not related to gomen, then why not charge their leaders for sedition ????

12. #12 by mauriyaII on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 10:45 pm

The UMNOputras, MCA. GERAKAN,MIC and the rest of the component parties composed of riffraff DID NOT understand what hit them in 308. They did not and STILL DO NOT understand the feeling of the rakyat. THEY ARE STILL IN DENIAL MODE.

The rakyat is frustrated, annoyed and downright disgusted by the corruption, arrogance and display of brute power by the government which feels they can subdue the will of the rakyat by using the tools in their arsenal such as the PDRM, MACC, JUDICIARY and the rabid racist PERKASA.

The BN defeat in Sibu is the outcome of the rakyats’ anger at the abuse of power and the unhealthy harping on race, religion and the sceptre of May 13.

The Sarawakians have clearly shown the BN/SUPP that they cannot be easily bought even with millions of ringgit.

The Sarawakians are fed up with the Pek Moh who has not brought any real development to Sarawak other than stealing all that which belongs to the people, including the hereditary lands of the Penans and others.

They are really cheesed off with the “Allah” issue and the Indonesian/Malay version of the Bible that the religious and immigration autorities have seized arbitrarily.

They do not understand the logic of barring a MP (YB Gopalakrishnan) from entering Sarawak. What crooked rationale does the UMNO/BN practise? Why are they so scared of? Why hide their insecurity by making the MP personna non grata in Sarawak?

Sarawakians are not uneducated simpletons. Why did the PM try to entice/seduce them into voting for BN with money? Isn’t that money politics of the lowest kind? Just because it worked in Hulu Selangor, it does not mean everybody will fall for money.

By his words and act, the PM is promoting corruption. No wonder corruption is the hallmark of UMNO/BN and MACC just goes after the small fish ignoring the big sharks who are gobbling up everything in their sight.

The more Ibrahim Ali of Perkasa and its mentor hit out at the Chinese and others, the more anger they are generating against UMNO/BN.

When UMNO/BN becomes irrelevant in the 13th GE, they have themselves to blame for not seeing the writing on the wall.

13. #13 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 11:31 pm

#10. It is a national issue and if Sarawak is part of 1Malaysia, it is also an issue in Sarawak. Whether sibu folks see it as an issue or otherwise, they r the ones should be judging, we have to respect their judgements. Do not insult their intelligence. If one is not married, doesn’t mean he or she has got no say in abortion issue.

14. #14 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 - 11:59 pm

Hai=chibai chengho,
    Don’t you mix multi language words especially chinese,malay and indian in your daily conversation.1Malaysia mah,isn’t it?Who started this issue,Umnoputras right?As long we don’t condemn or belittle other’s right of religion and so fort,you are just a fart up another alike umnoputras.You’re gone case as senile and the biggest racist and ill rotten soul.

15. #15 by ekompute on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 1:25 am

QUOTE: “I didn’t vote Mr. Robert Lau because Perkasa said our grandmother came to Malaysia just to sell their body last time.”

A BIG thank you, YB Datuk Seri Ibrahim Ali! Hope you can help DAP again in the next general election.

16. #16 by ekompute on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 1:36 am

chengho :
    Sibuan succumb to Dap and Pas racist politic
    “Allah ” not an issue in Sarawak but Dap successfully misleading Sibuan, do u preach “Allah ” in church when the sermon in english?…

Chengho, I agree with you that Allah is not an issue in Sarawak. DAP must have won because of other reasons.

Maybe DAP organized a pasar malam jumbo sales quietly and said, “You help me, I help you. How much Najib offer, I up 20%. Do we have a deal? Yes? “

17. #17 by chengho on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 7:37 am

Kit should be the next COP now not anwar , dap has more seats than anwar

18. #18 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 7:44 am

chapchengho and his family just got sodomized by bn regime for losing sibu. That’s why he has to double up his effort here. Go chapchang go!!

19. #19 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 7:58 am

8 reasons why I will not vote bn in my lifetime.

1. My grandma is prostitute and beggar.
    2. Mamak and the gertak perkosa gang.
    3. House of thieves and murderers
    4. Incompetent ‘CEOs’ in the government lead by umno.
    5. Deterioration of the justice, police, macc and all govt agencies. No accountability and responsibility.
    6. NEP for umnoputras.
    7. Racist policies
    8. Education is rotting. Thanks to ministers like puad.

20. #20 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 8:27 am

I believe there are no longer any people living on top of trees in Sabah and Sarawak.

But there are still some in Penang!

http://cm.penang.gov.my/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=842:no-damages-offered-to-cafe-owner&catid=3:berita&Itemid=504

21. #21 by life is not a fairy tale dude on Wednesday, 19 May 2010 - 6:32 pm

This is a free country. Do you respect the freedom of speech? Perkasa can say whatever they like.

Porn star at work