Dr M should encourage rally for reconciliation

By Dr Lim Teck Ghee

We are heartened that the controversial ‘Melayu Bangkit’ rally in Terengganu planned for tomorrow to commemorate May 13 has been postponed indefinitely.

It would be even more reassuring to hear that any future events to remember this fateful date in our history will take a more constructive note. May 13 should be a collective reaffirmation by all of Malaysia’s peoples that such an incident must never again happen.

In any country in the world which has experienced a tragic outburst of national racial violence, its anniversary is normally one of sombre reflection, collective shame and reconciliation.

The rally organizer is however, Gerakan Kebangkitan Rakyat — its acronym ‘Gertak’ translated into English means ‘to intimidate’ — and thus an organization whose name has an ominous ring to it.

Gertak has endeavoured to rouse a single race at a time when groups and individuals should come together to condemn the shedding of innocent blood and vow to walk the path of peace.

It is simply beyond belief that Dr Mahathir Mohamed has allowed his name to be associated with a gathering that might be misconstrued as reminding Malaysia that the senseless and brutal events of May 13, 1969 could possibly reoccur.

How can Dr Mahathir justify his participation if inadvertently, he becomes the possible catalyst for another spasm of ‘uprising’ as the jingoistic name of the movement ‘Kebangkitan Rakyat’ implies?

We urge Dr Mahathir to give sober thought to how he wants to go down in history. The right of freedom of assembly was severely curtailed during his administration. Now that he is in retirement, it appears he has made an opportunistic about-turn to support the democratic value allowing citizens to peacefully gather.

As a former Prime Minister of the country, Dr Mahathir should instead have advised the rally organizers that they must not only seek to ‘motivate’ the Malay community – an approach that could be misinterpreted as pitting the dominant race against the minorities.

Rather than a mono-racial mammoth rally to stir up the Malays as the theme ‘Bangkit Melayu’ suggests, the anniversary of 13 May ought to be a day of national reconciliation.

It is for all the communities to remind ourselves of the senseless deaths and the folly of seeking revenge or aggravating old hurts and wounds. The timing and the purpose of this ‘Bangkit Melayu’ rally implies reopening a dark chapter with sinister motives.

A silver lining behind this episode is that cooler heads have prevailed and many across the political spectrum have come out to condemn the proposed rally.

The ball is in now Dr Mahathir’s court to persuade the rally organizers not merely to postpone but to cancel it altogether unless they can undertake to promise a coming together that engenders goodwill in the spirit of the Prime Minister’s 1 Malaysia.

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 11:00 am

“It is simply beyond belief that Dr Mahathir Mohamed has allowed his name to be associated with a gathering that might be misconstrued as reminding Malaysia that the senseless and brutal events of May 13, 1969 could possibly reoccur.

How can Dr Mahathir justify his participation if inadvertently, he becomes the possible catalyst for another spasm of ‘uprising’ as the jingoistic name of the movement ‘Kebangkitan Rakyat’ implies?”

Statements like these show how naive academics can be. Mamakthir’s 22 years at the helm was based on divisiveness, intimidation and law of the jungle. I for one was disappointed that the rally did not proceed. I was eagerly waiting to see who else would show up at the KT stadium to wave the flag of Malay nationalism.

2. #2 by k1980 on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 11:46 am

Without 513, mamaktir would never had be re-admitted into umno by Tunku’s successor

3. #3 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 12:48 pm

mad cow dung wants to go down in history as champion of the Malays. He knows the Indians and Chinese do not see him as a hero of Malaysia but a regressor and oppressor ex pm. He does not bring the people forward. What he did was having extravaganza projects and buildings. Just like what Hitler had done. Anyone with 100 billion to throw around without questions can do what he did as a PM.

He knows death is staring at him. This is his last hope however disgust it is to be a “champion” of 1 race. Therefore he is not great but merely a dying disgusting mortal.

4. #4 by dagen on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 12:50 pm

I dont get it. If umnoputras find it necessary to bangkitkan their non co-operative ketuanans (now that we all know they all suffered erectile difficulty), they should really have viagra. I would suggest it. Honest.

And if that is not enough, then try viagra intraveneously and view porn movies at the same time. Or maybe use an intraveneous cocktail of viagra and ice and watch porn movies (starring csl). That should do the trick.

The point is dont use us, non-umnoputras (esp the chinese) to sex things up so that their ketuanans could beeehave as told or when need arises.

Unless, umnoputras are perverse and they find non-umnoputras sexually attractive. Maybe they are perverse.

Maybe we non-umnoputras are actually attractive. Still, even if we are, umnoputras have no reason to make use of us to sex up their emotions. So there. In short, they must be perverse, any which way you argue it. All roads lead us there.

And btw have they forgotten? The rest of us are not perverse like them. We find them and their claims of ketuanan vulgar and obscene. So go. Wont they just go and find some viagra to gulp. We have important, sensible and normal things to attend to, dude.

5. #5 by Winston on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 1:12 pm

“Statements like these show how naive academics can be. Mamakthir’s 22 years at the helm was based on divisiveness, intimidation and law of the jungle. ” – Godfather

You’re right!
    He is the culprit who led the country into the abyss.
    Yet there are countless mindless individuals who heap praise on him as the “father of modern Malaysia” and so on.
    Perhaps these people need their heads examined by a professional shrink!!!

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 1:57 pm

It is not a case of simply allowing his name to be associated with a gathering that might be misconstrued as reminding Malaysia that the senseless and brutal events of May 13, 1969 could possibly reoccur. According to TheMalaysianInsider May 12, 2010 report (by Syed Jaymal Zahiid) – (Quote) “Gerakan Kebangkitan Rakyat (Gertak) chief, Razali Idris, also claimed that the date of the event was chosen by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and hence it is up to the former prime minister to decide on the next date for the gathering which was expected to draw 10,000…”

7. #7 by johnnypok on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 4:06 pm

Toon Bak Kut Teh is “makin-tua-makin-bodoh” and tak lama akan sayonara. The senile old fox is now mentally unsound. He committed too much sins, and now the devils are waiting to take him away to a place where his tongue will be pulled out.

8. #8 by dagen on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 4:56 pm

Apanama. Errrrrrrr.

There. That forgetful old fart. He is at it again.

Did he not hammer the malays like mad towards the end of his days as PM? And let us not forget this: who created the reference “crutches” for use to belittle the malays?

9. #9 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 7:01 pm

Today is May 13th. A very unhappy anniversary to ALL Malaysians,a day in infamy. If there is ever be another May 13,God forbid….it shall not between the Malays and the Chinese or even Indians…it shall be between the few superb rich umnoputras misleading those uninformed umno members and the millions of deprived Malays themselves. Its time that the average Malays realised that it is the umnoputras and not DSAI who are/were the real traitors to the deprived Malays and by extension a traitor to ALL Malaysians for over 50 years.BN latest slogan acroym is STOP ..Selangor Take Over Plan…or Screw The Opposition Proper…by power crazy Najis & company. I say STOP them NOW. STOP them by voting PR in GE13

10. #10 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 7:20 pm

To ALL readers & commentators : Complained and whinned ALL you want,there is NOTHING,absolutely NOTHING you ALL can do. However there is one and ONLY one thing which we ALL can and SHOULD do viz is start your own “VOTER-get-VOTERS” campaign for PR. Do it not tommorrow but NOW cos GE13 is just around the corner..closer than you think. Start this ” VOTER-get-VOTERS 4 PR” campaign NOW by chain emails,sms,words of mouth to everyone….for a BETTER Malaysia..Join us at “VOTER-get-VOTERS for a Better Malaysia ” in facebook.

11. #11 by on cheng on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 7:35 pm

TDM be ‘credited’ for making Malaysian drive expensive cars??
    Why need to bangkit the Malay now?? u mean Malay no bangkit for the past 40 years ??

12. #12 by chengho on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 7:40 pm

anybody need tongkat ali cafe to bangkit

13. #13 by boh-liao on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 10:23 pm

LTG was too kind n polite 2 MMK, a useless racist who has no qualms in suppressing n bullying his own ancestors’ brethrens
    What can one say abt someone who refuses 2 acknowledge his own root? Sad, p@ri@h

14. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 May 2010 - 10:47 pm

You need tongkat ali more than anyone….Chengho…to have the strength to stand so many shaft into your as..hole…in chow kit lanes..day in day out.

15. #15 by johnnypok on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 4:36 am

Siaful is the Emperor of Pondanland, and Toon Bak Kut Teh is the advisor, NTR = President, the Fat Lady = First Queen of Ark Kua.

16. #16 by ekompute on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 5:32 am

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/5/13/nation/6253493&sec=nation

The Star Online says: Gertak chairman Razali Idris who is also Marang Umno vice-chairman, said it was a coincidence that the gathering was held on May 13.

You think we are fools?

17. #17 by ekompute on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 5:34 am

boh-liao :
    LTG was too kind n polite 2 MMK, a useless racist who has no qualms in suppressing n bullying his own ancestors’ brethrens
    What can one say abt someone who refuses 2 acknowledge his own root? Sad, p@ri@h

How much is root worth? Better money and power, no? When it comes to money, even God has to step aside!

18. #18 by ekompute on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 5:39 am

“It is simply beyond belief that Dr Mahathir Mohamed has allowed his name to be associated with a gathering that might be misconstrued as reminding Malaysia that the senseless and brutal events of May 13, 1969 could possibly reoccur.”

Well, isn’t it telling? I think God is giving him a long life to let him produce enough rope to hang himself in perpetuity.

19. #19 by limkamput on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 3:53 pm

This monster with withered balls wants to shaft everybody, high hope lah.

20. #20 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 6:12 pm

Tun M, shameless charlatan & I almost wanted to say, scumbag (but I take that back becos he is a Tun and an-ex PM). Anyone lesser would have earned that title for being such a cheap provocateur!

C’mon, if u can’t be a statesman, just be an ordinary man. Why be a racist, provocateur, par##eeah all rolled in one when one is so close to one’s MAKER. I mean what else is there to live for in this world. Look, isn’t there any more basic decency, human-ness or humaneness left in man. Is William Goldsmith so prophetic that someone as distinguished as Tun M can be so much like the”Lord of the Flies”?

21. #21 by ekompute on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 7:14 pm

“Dr M should encourage rally for reconciliation”

Seems like you don’t know who Dr M is!

Malaysian Insider quoted Mahathir as saying “I went through this May 13 so I know the thing very deeply. I think I can help to orientate people so they don’t act in ways that can precipitate into another May 13.”

Well, well… I would have believe him if not for the fact that I read Dr Kua Kia Soon’s book, “May 13: Declassified Documents on the Malaysian Riots of 1969” which tells who the culprits behind May 13 is, based on the declassified records of the Public Office in London. It is obviously not the Malay rakyat. Mahathir should know better for obvious reasons.

22. #22 by tunglang on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 9:49 pm

This NyaNyok pretends not to know the truth but proclaims to know everything about uniting Malaysians. We are cursed to have such a leader in our midst who manipulates, threatens and cheats the Rakyat whom he thinks easily forget the past.
    May 13 is his lynch pin to create more havoc than to save Malaysia. My sympathies to the naive Malays.
    As God says: The meek shall inherit the earth. Bewoe to those who think otherwise. For Karma is always at your doorstep.

23. #23 by ekompute on Friday, 14 May 2010 - 11:05 pm

Malaysian Insider reports: “Dr M: We must not forget May 13… Those who forget history are doomed to repeat it, said Dr Mahathir (right).

We know that May 13 started from the then-UMNO Menteri Besar of Selangor’s house. So what is Mahathir trying to say? Is he trying to tell UMNO not to repeat it or is trying to the victims not to repeat it?

I see his bad karma killing him. No way he is going to have a good hereafter, so he better enjoy his ‘heaven on earth’ while he can before he joins Datuk Harun Idris and the rest of that gang thereafter.

24. #24 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 15 May 2010 - 12:21 am

For someone who suffers from selective amnesia during the Lingam “Correct, correct,correct” Commission of Inquiry, Tun M has a remarkable memory of things much older – like the May 13, 1969.

One other thing Maverick Mahathir seems to suffer from is his inability for straight, honest SPEAK. His tongue is seemingly so twisted, I am not sure whether it is forked like a snake.

Suffice to say that this old man deserves some respect; it is better for him to ride silently into the sunset and salvage what little respect he still enjoys than to spew venom and incoherence which suggests he may have lost both his marbles and his mind.

25. #25 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 May 2010 - 2:16 am

ENDANGERED HORNBILL :
    For someone who suffers from selective amnesia during the Lingam “Correct, correct,correct” Commission of Inquiry, Tun M has a remarkable memory of things much older – like the May 13, 1969.

That goes to show the integrity of this man. I was hoodwinked by the media into believing that he is a great man but now with the internet and him supporting the May 13 rally, I can see him clearly for what he really is… an asura masquerading as a human being.

26. #26 by ekompute on Saturday, 15 May 2010 - 8:07 am

QUOTE: “The ball is in now Dr Mahathir’s court to persuade the rally organizers not merely to postpone but to cancel it altogether unless they can undertake to promise a coming together that engenders goodwill in the spirit of the Prime Minister’s 1 Malaysia.”

Let them organize it. Then the whole Chinese community can organize a ‘chau du’ ceremony for the dead.