Crime Wave – Hishamuddin blames it on “chattering women”

Hishammuddin rails against police-bashing
By Shannon Teoh | The Malaysian Insider May 09, 2010

LONDON, May 9 — Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein last night urged Malaysians to defend and not demonise the police force, now under increasing public pressure to reform after the two recent shootings of teenagers.

The Home Minister also said that instead of constantly attacking the police, the public must support the force as it was one of the institutional pillars that formed the spine of the country.

“I want to assure everybody, that the morale of the police also has to be safeguarded and balanced. Clear demonisation does not help anybody,” Hishammuddin told some 100 students at the Malaysian Students Department here.

“Malaysia is in transition. In times of change, there is always a tendency to demonise these institutions without basis, without study, discussion and understanding,” he said of institutions such as law enforcement and the judiciary.

The recent death of 14-year-old Aminulrasyid Amzah and yesterday’s shooting of 17-year-old Mohd Azizi Aziz at the hands of the police has led to public anger with the police who are already having to deal with negative perception over crime levels, custodial deaths and corruption.

“It was a tragic shooting incident,” Hishammuddin said of Aminulrasyid’s death and insisted that there would be no cover-up and that the panel established to investigate is credible.

He pointed out that policemen who have been shot did not get public sympathy.

“At the same time, the aide-de-camp of the Tengku Mahkota of Kelantan was shot in cold blood in the middle of the road. But he does not get the same treatment from the public who only want to know if it is linked to the current controversy in the Kelantan royal family,” he said, referring to Kelantan palace guard Ramli Mohamad who was shot recently.

“Just because he is a policeman does this mean he does not deserve sympathy? So let’s not get emotional,” said Hishammuddin, who was made home minister in the Najib administration.

Admitting that “the system needs to be sorted out” and that he did not “condone something that works above the law” especially by law enforcers themselves, the minister said that institutions needed to be built and there were no immediate solutions.

“We need people who are given trust to be responsible for it but not be dictated by the politics of the day or the flavour of the month. These institutions are going to be here longer than the politicians,” said Hishammuddin, whose father Tun Hussein Onn was the country’s third prime minister.

He also declared that the police had performed a perfect 10 in areas that “you will never see, you will never hear, you will never know” such as counter-terrorism.

But the Umno vice-president admitted that with regards to street crime, he would only give the police a six.

However, he said that the level of street crimes was exaggerated by the continuous chattering that made it seem worse.

“Most victims are women. What do women do? They go to the hairdressers… they chit-chat and suddenly it is everywhere and cause people to fear,” he joked.

He added that the Attorney-General and Chief Justice would also have to do their part in ensuring that crimes were prosecuted and that court dates were fixed and backlogs cleared.

He told the crowd of mainly students that the Home Ministry had targeted a reduction of street crime by 20 per cent by the end of the year and crime in general by five per cent for the next three consecutive years.

Hishammuddin asked for patience as the last time the police had a full intake was during the time of the May 13, 1969 race riots.

He explained that due to the stability of the country after that, funds were diverted into development and education instead of reinforcing the police which would have led to criticism of creating a police state in times of relative safety.

Therefore, time is needed to create the necessary police presence to address crime levels.

“I tell the police not to get demoralised as the more people attack them, the more allocation we get,” he added.

Hishammuddin also announced that officers working at desk jobs in the headquarters in Bukit Aman would be substituted by civil servants, resulting in 7,000 personnel redeployed on the streets.

1. #1 by pwcheng on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 3:04 pm

Hishamuddin, the people’s perception of the police force is a rotten institution is not very far from long. For too long they had been on a frolic of their own and had abused their powers. They had been hiding behind trees, pillars or bridges to nab traffic offenders whom they readily will exchange cash for summons but when help is required most,they will take years to come and their excuse will be there are too many cases to attend to. They are corrupt to the core and at every turn money is the answer to their call of duty.
    This is no more a perception but true to the heels and their devil may care attitude when help is needed by the people is getting on the nerves of the rakyat.
    Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein I urge you to defend Malaysians rather then defending the demons in the police force.

2. #2 by pwcheng on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 3:05 pm

errata: long =wrong

3. #3 by a-malaysian on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 3:07 pm

How can the public trust and support the police force when they are trigger happy, death under detention, corruptions, refuse to take any action against umno/bn members when they broke the law but is quick to fire tear gas, chemical added water cannon against peaceful rallies and candle light vigils, simply arrest for shouting Najib..Altantuya, wearing black or orange T-shirt and just about anything that the public are against umno/bn…etc…

All these bias actions by the police force and this gaga home minister dares to preach to the public “We need people who are given trust to be responsible for it but not be dictated by the politics of the day or the flavour of the month.”

Voters of Sibu, you all need to send a clear signal to umno that we do not want a corrupt dictator or a police state to rule this country.

You cannot be wrong by voting PR/DAP but if you allow umno to remain in power there cannot be any bright future for Malaysia.

Sarawak Sibu P212 By Election – Hard Talk 3

GE 13 – Change The Federal Government No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty two years.

4. #4 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 3:08 pm

“Malaysia is in transition. In times of change, there is always a tendency to demonise these institutions without basis, without study, discussion and understanding,” he said of institutions such as law enforcement and the judiciary.

Looks as if the Home Minister has come from another planet – no make that another galaxy!

5. #5 by chengho on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 3:19 pm

Hishammuddin ‘ the warning minister’ too weak to become home affair minister , you need no nonsense home affair minister , law above politics . the root cause of problem ‘mat rempit sickness ‘ still there for many years , PR still not offering any advice..?

6. #6 by limkamput on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 3:49 pm

Hi Kris, your statement on police shows one thing: either you are stupid or you are in total oblivion of what is going around you. I can’t imagine you are so thick. You have always asked us to sympathise the policemen who were shot at. You don’t even know the gap between you and us, the people. First, how many of our policemen were shot at each year and out of that, how many of them actually died. What we do know is that many were shot at by police and many of them died. Second, it is the job of the police to face uncertainty and risk each day. If they can’t stomach that, then it is better for them to change their profession. Go work as librarians, I think that is a safer profession.

Your statement on street crime again shows you are thick. First it is a fact that the crime situation in the whole of Malaysia has become worse. One needs no facts and figures to substantiate this. Just look at the number of home guard securities spurting up in residential areas.

Do you know why the police are not effective in this country, Kris? It is because we have Home Minister like you and those like you in the past. Each time a criticism is levelled or a fiasco happened, your spontaneous response is to protect the police. You have never held the police accountable on any damn thing, be it abuse of power, corruption, incompetency, inefficiency, laziness, and sloppiness. I tell you what (and that is provided you have the gut and credibility to do it): There is no need to reward the police with higher pays, perks, benefits or better working conditions anymore. You just need to sack a few and discipline many others; the performance of the force would immediately improve. I guess you will never get it. You nincompoop will run this country to the ground.

Your statement on women chattering, well, again, you nincompoop is going to cost BN to lose many votes among the Sibu voters. You think it is a joke, but that actually reflects who you are.

7. #7 by frankyapp on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 6:07 pm

Krismuddin should watch his mouth whenever he talks. I wonder what he has to say about the police if one or two of them shot his son ? Who does not want to protect its very own institutions ? However should it goes astray,don’t we have to duty/right to lead them back to the right path ?

8. #8 by johnnypok on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 7:17 pm

HM tok cok, tak ada otak, otak lembu, mulut besar, low IQ, HP6 and low-class …compare to singapore.
    Wasting tax-payers money, better give the job to someone more intelligent, otherwise make the country malu. singapore laughing.

9. #9 by lowxinpui on Sunday, 9 May 2010 - 8:01 pm

Looks like Home Minister post is for a$$6073.

10. #10 by k1980 on Monday, 10 May 2010 - 9:15 am

Iranian mad mullah Sedighi was quoted preaching, “Many women who do not dress modestly … lead young men astray, corrupt their chastity and spread adultery in society, which increases earthquakes.”

http://mashable.com/2010/04/25/boobquake/

11. #11 by dagen on Monday, 10 May 2010 - 10:59 am

So the source of all our crime problems is women huh.

Yeah. Agreed and starting with mrs kerimuddin and mrs jibby, the fat first lady.

“No no no. She is not.”

Well the first fat lady then. “She is not The First fat lady.”

Fat lady first? Wrong again? Lady fat first? Huh? Oh whatever. That someone who took out a USD10m ad to congratulate herself in new york times and referred to herself with the three words “lady” “fat” and “first” (in no particular order). Now is that better?

12. #12 by johnnypok on Monday, 10 May 2010 - 11:35 am

The fat lady looks so ugly … macam hantu … fat hantu … fat pig … fat cat … fei mow.

13. #13 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 11 May 2010 - 11:51 am

Frankly speaking the real source of all our crime problems is the mind,the human mind,not women,not money,not greeds.The mind is the master of all evil and good. However,thanks God,we can use the “will or will power to choose/ control the mind. In other words,when you see evil,think goodness,then your mind will be fill up with positive energy and lead you to do the right and proper thing. Hence please don’t blame others for your own mistakes/facults.