A foregone conclusion

By P Ramakrishnan President of Aliran

The decision to refer Anwar Ibrahim to the Rights and Privileges Committee did not come as a surprise to Malaysians. It was a foregone conclusion. Even before the debate began in Parliament, the outcome was very obvious.

The whole issue had descended into “Get your enemy at all cost – forget about justice and fair play.” In a game of numbers, there is no need to be moral about what you do. Just nail him. You have the numbers to achieve that!

The Rights and Privileges Committee – according to what Malaysians tend to believe – would find Anwar guilty and suspend him. His removal from Parliament would spare them from Anwar’s scathing attacks and more embarrassing revelations that would put them in a spot.

This won’t gag Anwar from speaking up. But the forthcoming Sodomy II trial in all probability would fix that for the Barisan Nasional.

In a way, this may work favourably for the Opposition. Malaysians are in no mood to tolerate blatant abuses or forgive the BN’s excesses. It is a matter of time when things will be put right.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 8:55 am

Malaysian justice and democracy are all sham.

2. #2 by Thor on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 9:10 am

We already knew the outcome all the way!
    The parliament is infested with “pirates” just like Somalia and how are PR’s team gonna fight them.
    They cannot say no when it’s a yes because they need to take care of their rice bowl.
    That’s why you could hear thumping from their desk whenever their master speaks.
    All PR have to do now is to find smarter ways and gear up for the next GE.
    We need to haul up these idiots and put them on trial in “rakyat’s court” once if the takeover materialize.
    We need to persecute them even if they’ll to run and hide in every corners of the earth.
    Most important task is to rid the party of any remaining frogs.
    The next GE is the final chance for PR.
    It’s the do or die for everyone of us and our generations to come.

3. #3 by dagen on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 9:14 am

Punishment for exposing irregularities. That is umno. They are a bunch of irregularities. So to them all irregularities like sleeping with enemies of the state, selling state secrets, selling weapons, murdering political opponents, controlling the judiciary, the police and the AG, wonton abuse of state funds, corruption etc etc are all normal and regular activities. That makes reporting such activities an irregular act. That is how they see anwar. That is why they have punishment for exposing irregularities.

Wot mudderpharkers they are!

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 9:18 am

This forgone conclusion is nothing compared to what will happen if Zaid does not win. Basically for the vast majority of middle class educated people in this country REGARDLESS OF RACE. If Zaid loses, they will leave. If people think a lot of people have left, if zaid loses, many times more will leave.

5. #5 by SENGLANG on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 9:44 am

YB Kit

Please note that based on PDRM web site

P.KAMALANATHAN A/L P. PANCHANATHAN

651018106495 HAS OF TODATE 17 OUTSTANDING TRAFIC SAMAN TOTAL RM2,030 after discount remain unpaid

6. #6 by k1980 on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 10:11 am

Pordah, RM2,030 only. Now no money. Wait till Sunday when I win, then only get money to pay. But if I lose, then I cabut to India like Bala, else I get c4ed.

7. #7 by dagen on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 11:05 am

Apa dei. Two thousand ringgit you want to complain. After I become MP, police will otomatikally cancel my traffic summons. I will orso be made dato. After sunday everyone must call me dato kamlan.

8. #8 by son of perpaduan on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 11:08 am

HS by-election is amongst the worst kind of all BN@UMNO dirtiest tactic hurled to PR. From the media coverage attack, ground assault and financial attraction to buy over PKR members follow by our soon to bury by soil the Tun MAMAK rally behind this HS by-election prove that Pakatan Rakyat immence strenghts worried the BEnd ruling is near to over.

9. #9 by tak tahan on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 11:52 am

Tun MAMAK n cronies r starting to feel n scared of exposing their past guilty deeds of corruptions n sins so they’ve to go down to HS to talk cock n twist facts in fear of PR’s victory.Vote PR in and send those crooks back to their origin countries for punishment. Ya,don’t forget that eunuch too.

10. #10 by Godfather on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 11:55 am

RM77 million spent on APCO….and now Nazri says it wasn’t to pay for the meeting between Najis and Obama. They wouldn’t tell us what the RM77 million was paid for, all in a one year contract.

Maybe it was for the design of the new armoured vehicles. Maybe it was to compensate Eurocopter for the cancellation of the new attack helicopters. Maybe it was for compensation to get our submarines to dive.

Or maybe part of the RM77 million had disappeared into some UMNOputra’s pocket – and they don’t know who…..

11. #11 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 12:03 pm

As we can see Hanjin Chengho has been campaigning damn hard for his coming paycheck master in LKS’s blog and outside. If Kamama won, Hanjin Chengho’s bank account would be double with additional Paychecks. Kamama will be awarded with Dato. What if he lost, Kamama would become Otda (reversing of “Dato”) and selling Otda-otda (Chinese appetizer) on the road sides… Hanjin Chengho would spit on, display his ass to and avoid him forever….

12. #12 by frankyapp on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 12:39 pm

I think the Umno/BN government,say even in its best state,is but still an evil one and now in its worst state ,has become an intolerable one. Hence it’s best the voters without any hesitation get rid of it.

13. #13 by dagen on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 12:49 pm

Bravo anwar.
    Bravo kit siang.
    AND BRAVO JOSHUA!

14. #14 by ekompute on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 1:21 pm

“The whole issue had descended into “Get your enemy at all cost – forget about justice and fair play.” In a game of numbers, there is no need to be moral about what you do. Just nail him. You have the numbers to achieve that! ”

Yes, that’s right and that’s the very reason why all right-thinking Malaysians need to reduce that number to prevent further abuse!

15. #15 by chengho on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 2:18 pm

rakyat want BN back , rakyat regret giving in to PKR 2008 , now rakyat will despatch zahid back to kb , bunch of suckers should fly kite with damage frog like zahid..

16. #16 by johnnypok on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 3:27 pm

PR already won a clean fight. God is watching over HS to ensure the people of HS that Zaid is the one.
    Lightning will strike on Sunday to warn BN/UMNO not to play dirty, and risk creating a chaotic situation which could derail the already failing economy, due to the rampant stealing, robbing and corruption committed by BN/UMNO.

17. #17 by DCLXVI on Friday, 23 April 2010 - 8:32 pm

chengho :
    rakyat want BN back

The rakyat want to see good governance, and not the abuse of power and public funds in our government.

chengho :
    rakyat regret giving in to PKR 2008

The rakyat regret for not completely voting out those who are corrupt and intoxicated by power in 2008.

chengho :
    now rakyat will despatch zahid back to kb

Z.I. can decide for himself when and how he wants to return to his home state, but now the rakyat in Hulu Selangor must decide to give him a chance to represent them in Parliament.

chengho :
    bunch of suckers should fly kite with damage frog like zahid..

Zaid’s home state, Kelantan, is famous for the wau kite, which has become a famous icon in Malaysian culture, and has also become well known over the world since MAS uses it as its logo on its airliners.

And how can a man like Zaid, who has a strong sense of justice to stand up against those who commit injustice (like when he was unhappy with the way the former home minister, S.H.A., abused I.S.A. for political purposes) be considered as ‘damaged’?
    If there was any damage, it was caused by Umno-BN upon itself.