Nazri’s defence of DPM peculiar, says Kit Siang

By Shazwan Mustafa Kamal | The Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR, April 13 — DAP advisor Lim Kit Siang today slammed Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz’s defence of Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin’s “small-fry” remarks as a foot-in-the mouth justification.

The veteran lawmaker told The Malaysian Insider that Nazri’s defence of Muhyiddin’s statement was a “very peculiar protection” and pointed out that the issue was about whether importance is given to the inter-faith committee.

“Very peculiar protection. Reminds me of what Syed Hamid said. That you arrest the Sin Chew reporter to give her protection.”

“This is a nonsensical explanation. Either you give importance to the inter-religious committee or you don’t,” said Lim.

Nazri had defended Muhyiddin’s “small fry” remark, when describing the Cabinet’s inter-faith panel, saying that the deputy prime minister was protecting it from religious groups rather than reducing its role.

Muhyiddin had caused an uproar with his statement yesterday prompting the umbrella body of non-Muslim faiths to threaten a boycott of the inter-faith committee until he explains his remarks.

The Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department explained that the “small fry” statement must be seen in the context of the Mufti of Perak’s objection to the committee.

Malay right-wing group Perkasa had also made similar objections.

“To say that they are small fries and do not have any power, I mean (this) is not something which is going to raise the esteem and important role that must be played by inter-faith panel … The DPM’s statement, Nazri’s foot-in-mouth justification has destroyed whatever credibility the panel can have,” added Lim.

Lim, who is Ipoh Timur MP said that the onus was now on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak to decide on whether the 1 Malaysia concept was to be taken seriously.

“ I’m not surprised Ilani has asked for an explanation and I think there’s a need for the Cabinet, for Najib, to reassert himself to decide if the 1 Malaysia government transformation programme with regard to unity, in this case the role of religion, is going to be meaningful or another propaganda exercise.”

When asked about the boycott by the Malaysian Consultative Council for Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Sikhism and Taoism (MCCBCHST) on the Cabinet-mooted inter-faith panel, Lim stated he understood the reasons for their actions.

“I can understand their feelings, for even before meeting, it has been downgraded and humiliated by none other than the DPM, I don’t see any purpose in the continuation of such a creature.”

“ What must be established is an inter-religious organisation, fully empowered entrusted with the duty to propose ways to solve problems and promote interfaith understanding,” he said.

Besides that Lim stressed that the Minister in charge of the inter-faith portfolio, Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon should quit.

“Tsu Koon should resign, unless he can regain public faith,” said Lim.

It is understood that the inter-faith panel chief, Datuk Ilani Isahak, has postponed all scheduled meetings of the inter-faith panel until the controversy over the DPM’s “small fry” remark, meant to describe the panel members, has been cleared up.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 3:48 pm

///“Tsu Koon should resign, unless he can regain public faith,” said Lim.///

I agree.

Perkasa’s Ibrahim said his group will tolerate the committee if it falls under the guidance of Datuk Jamil Khir Baharom, the Islamic Affairs Minister under the Prime Minister’s Department and not Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, who is currently the minister in charge.

I wonder how Koh Tsu Koon can be so soft and mum over Ibrahim’s remark despite he (Koh) being selected by Najib to take charge of the committee.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 4:17 pm

Mahathir promulagation of BN culture of ‘the end justify the means’ means that peculiar, illogical and unreasonable reasons makes no difference to what they do. They do or say what they want and then they figured out how to justify it later. Why do you think our institutions are in bad shape?

Did people really expect the interfaith committee to actually amount to anything? Najib knew it was going to be a problem with the likes of Perkasa – what did he prepare for this eventuality. The interfaith committee is ‘small fry’ because Najib never intended to be anything really. He just want to be seen as trying – he is and never intended to spent political capital on it He is going to let Perkasa and everyone else shout and make noise while he keeps quiet and then it will die down eventually..

3. #3 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 4:21 pm

Koh Tsu Koon to report to Jakim or JAIS ? He might just do that to keep his backdoor post.

4. #4 by Bunch of Suckers on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 4:41 pm

Our pussi-kat trying to talk kocks with President Obama. He is really good in “pusing” until President Obama become President OhMama! OhMama, what a great pussi-kat “pusing” you got from him?

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 5:43 pm

Tian Chua just tweet that APCO was paid US$24 mil or RM78mil but Nazri said in Parliament it was RM28mil. Seriously, is there any point to listening to Nazri? If there is a case for censorship, it would be Nazri’s mouth..

6. #6 by k1980 on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 6:04 pm

http://www.nstp.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/24HELLPINGHAND/Article/index_html

Why can’t the person(s) who received the RM500 million commission for the Scorpene subs donate to help these kids?

7. #7 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 6:04 pm

“small fry” remark by the”Malay-1st Muhyiddin” show that how lack of seriousness in setting up the Cabinet’s inter-faith panel.. It is just like whatthe Malays describe as “setakat melepaskan batuk di tangga” – just to show that they are doing something… but not serious at all to solve any issue…

In PFFZ -mother of all Malaysian Scandal, the MACC only charging some “shrimps” for corruption/abuse of power….The sharks (being UMNO protected the Corruption-Shark species) never being charged..

8. #8 by k1980 on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 6:10 pm

How many millions did Jib pay to American lobbyists to secure that meeting with the US President. (The mamak paid several millions to secure one with George Bush in 2003)

Did Jib ask Obama during their meeting whether Obama is a Kenyan first and American second?

9. #9 by k1980 on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 6:14 pm

Koh TK: ” What? Me quit? Then who is going to feed me? My minister portfolio, my senatorship, my presidency of gerakan….. all will go poof! ”

At lest Chew MF has more guts than that wimp

10. #10 by wanderer on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 6:56 pm

Yes! Tsu Koon should resign, his place be given to Admiral chengho, sedap ya, sudah depat bola main la…..

11. #11 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 7:05 pm

RM77 million paid to APCO….in the past year. You call this prudent spending ? Was there a middleman ? Could we compel APCO to reveal if they paid commissions to win this contract ? What public relations contract could possibly be worth this sort of money ?

Is this Najib’s idea of “inclusiveness” ? It’s so shameful that the mainstream press will be pressured not to carry this bit of news.

12. #12 by isahbiazhar on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 7:50 pm

Interfaith idea in this country wll not work as the majority Malay Muslims believe that Islam cannot be equated with other religions.Though the Arabs can accept other religions, the Muslims in Malaysia had made it look impossible.As such the remarks by the DPM slants to that thinking.

13. #13 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 8:02 pm

The one-year contract signed between the government and the controversial communication consultant giant Apco Worldwide amounted to a whopping RM77 million.// quoted from Malaysiakini

Just how inept, moronic, lazy, wasteful, extravagant, insensitive and incompetent this government can be? Just get across this issue to the voters of Hulu Selangor would be sufficient to win the by election there. Now you know fellow Malaysians why people in developing countries will forever remain poor. Don’t blame it on the international monetary system, the exploitation of MNCs, the uneven and unequal trading system as always harped by Mahathir. Blame it on them, the stupid moronic governments of all the third world countries in which Malaysia is one.

14. #14 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 8:56 pm

to bravely explore the realm of Nazri’s sick logic, incest is a way to curb pergaulan bebas outside the house, no?

Nazri’s slamming of this thingy as small fry may be a subtle middle finger to the 1Malaysia concept?

Funny he yelled “racist” numerous times in parliament, then called BTN racist in nature and then dismissing most arrogantly the council plus an internationally renowned professional who aided moslems in Southern Thailand.

He is a politician first and foremost – sometimes he wears this skin too well to deserve a public office with Malaysians’ interest at heart. He is better off as a renown actor starring in roles as villains, sadists or clowns.

anyway, if you think Nazri’s words are anti-logic and commonsense, the voters who voted him into office have worse than having fart as brains

15. #15 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 9:10 pm

OK,OK OK. Lets all take a break

How about a Small Fry cartoon?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VXrCMDoQbtQ

Enjoy.

16. #16 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 9:19 pm

Limkamput:

The words “moronic” and “inept” don’t apply to this government or to the APCO contract. Some UMNOputra(s) are likely to have a share in the fees, quite likely to be paid offshore. All Pakatan need to do is to seek the assistance of the US Government to let the world know how much was the commission on this contract, and to whom the commission was paid.

As to the Hulu Selangor voters, who is willing to bet with me that the mainstream press will be “leaned on” not to carry this news ?

17. #17 by tanjong8 on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 9:24 pm

Actually Moreyoudin is telling the truth.

The interfaith committee is a side show by Najib.

We must thank Moreyoudin for telling the truth, nothing but the truth.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 9:28 pm

Malaysiakini under the caption “DPM denies making ‘small fry’ remark” reported Apr 13, 10 5:18pm – (Quote) ‘Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin today denied news reports that he had dubbed the cabinet-established interfaith committee as “small fry”. Speaking to reporters in Perlis, Muhyiddin said: “I did not mention those words. I have been in politics for a long time and know what the media need, and I brief them in detail, so that they can take down what I said.” He added the media must be more responsible and he would have to look at their reports, according to Bernama’ (Unquote)

19. #19 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:00 pm

Our politicians are regularly being “misquoted”, their statements “taken out of context”, “lost in translation” or they “never made such statements or comments”. They regularly need corrections, explanations, clarifications, denials and the like. They don’t think before they speak; they just shoot first and put their feet in their mouths.

Can we trust our reporters, the media and foot in the mouth politicians any more?

No wonder we only trust Nicole Ann David, Lee Chong Wei and Chef Wan.

20. #20 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:18 pm

What is your point sage? If what was published is not true, please take action – sue those responsible.

This is a typical dual track strategy – aiming at truncating the demand and the anxiety of right wing Malay extremists after the inter-faith panel was formed. Leadership not able to do the right things but continue to play to the gallery is bound to fail.

DPM is a typical illustration of Peter Principle; He has definitely reached his level of incompetency.

21. #21 by donplaypuks on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:26 pm

YB

You should take Najib/UMNO/BN to the cleaners for foot-in-mouth Nazri’s disclosure in Parliament today that the Taxpayer has been lumbered with jaw dropping whopping RM 76 million and NOT RM28 million for APCO’s Obama/Joe Biden ass kissing “lobbying” bills!! And we don’t even know if the meter has stopped running!!

Even Firaun only whacked us for a “measly” RM 7.6 million to kiss Bush’s ass and then call him a War Criminal!!

All along Najib and UMNO/BN knew the true cost and have been deliberately lying/misleading to the Rakyat!!

And Nazri ha sthe cheek to say as per MI today:

“..US will not care about us if we are not nice to them. We have to repair 22 years of Mahathir and 6 years of Pak Lah. You think we can undo this without spending money?…

I am not sure of that information… but dictators who have got the money will use the best. So what if they use APCO? It means that APCO is bloody good!”

Such arrogance and complete waste of Taxpayers’ hard earned money must be punished severely!!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human Race

22. #22 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:28 pm

Our politicians would say racist/stupid things intentionally and then apologise, that is their latest strategies. I think they learned from Tiger Wood.

23. #23 by monsterball on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:33 pm

And all UMNO BARU corrupted ministers are never truthful…..tanjong8.
    Do we thank crooks stealing our money…even saying something nice for Malaysians to hear?
    Do we apply forgive an forget all the sins..and vote them to govern again?

24. #24 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:38 pm

RM76 million, how did the government spend the money without Parliamentary oversight? Where is the budgetary process? That explains why our annual supplementary budgets are so huge – yes, spent first and then seek approval later. I think our system of governance is all scr*wed up. All these main stream economists featured so prominently in the Star papers actually know my ass.

25. #25 by monsterball on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:42 pm

Limkumput….please do not bring in Tiger Woods in comparison with liars and cheaters…of different strokes.
    Go watch the one hour about Tiger Woods in Discovery channel.
    Our politicians are robbers and crooks…while Tiger Woods is a world legend…worth billions..where all money he have are earned properly through real skills and art.
    Our UMNO crooks have skills to con Malaysians..with false titles to…to show off their idiotic thick skinned skills.
    Wrong…I apologize la. No quarreling with you…….right now….OK?

26. #26 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 10:49 pm

you stupid or what, i said follow tiger wood to apologise la, not following tiger wood’s talent and abiltiy to make money.

Wrong? I apologise lah, Odd ball.

27. #27 by cseng on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 11:16 pm

Oh no!, KTK again! Don’t know what else to say about this fella… I just want to rap!

Title : Menteri Labi-labi.
    Menteri Labi-labi!, malu easy-easy, wang duit susah nak cari!,
    Depan Tan Sri, Belakang Phd, yang hilang harga diri!,
    Depan tak jadi, masuk pintu belakang pun Menteri!,
    You orang perli, gua apa peduli, saya ini kan menteri!,
    Apa kurang jadi labi-labi, nyawa panjang, cuma hidup curi-curi!,
    Lawan Umno gua tak berani, ini pula Ibrahim Ali, bukan kiasu, tapi gua kiasi!,
    Hidup curi-curi, takda harga diri, gua apa peduli! malu easy-easy, wang duit susah nak cari!,
    Tak payah peril-perli, gua memang tak berani, berani boleh mati, lebih sedap curi hidup macam labi-labi!.

28. #28 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 13 April 2010 - 11:42 pm

DPM = dysfunctional p*ki m*k. need i say more.

29. #29 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:11 am

All this buggers(Um.no.way) should be put away in ISA detention.There’s never ever been logical explanation from them by their wrongs and yet they’re just displaying attitutes.. who cares..even to steal money(commission) from rightful citizens-to pay RM77 milions to Apco and so on in their day light roberries.Whoever still wish or pretend to be under their ketuanan this n that,cross your finger and pray to them fervently rather than almighty GOD.

30. #30 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:14 am

Nazri’s foot-in-mouth or mouth-in-foot?

Once in 6 months, Nazri spews the right sense – foot and mouth are then at a respectable distance apart. The other times, Nazri suuffers from foot-in-mouth and mouth-in-foot disease.

31. #31 by rcchia on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:10 am

These two are jokers. The more they open their mouth they dig a bigger hole to bury themselves. I really wonder if they ever stop to think before they say anything? We should continue to archive these “valuable” quotes from them and reproduce them occassionally (in as many languages as possible), leading towards GE13. Remind the Rakyat lest they forget whom they vote for.

32. #32 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 3:53 am

You sickening limkumput…braggart with a brain you think you are soooo smart to talk cock all the time..keep insulting me…calling me Odd ball..when you are the oddest of all commentators here..only beating chengho by a small margin.
    I just pointed you out….not to use any private person ..especially Tiger Woods..a world sports legend to talk your cock and bull here…and out come your insult on me again.
    You have no manners…totally arrogant and have the oddest superiority complex…putting out nonsense most of the time.
    You want to talk cock to me again?…go ahead…you bloody good for nothing big mouth lumpa kia.
    What a jerk you are….always showing off and insulting others.
    Inspire me to use my 4 Chinese dialects on you….I am waiting.
    poonai bor lumpa kia.

33. #33 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 4:13 am

What should lousy politicians follow Tiger Woods way of apoligising? Why can’t you tell those crooks… straight to the point and apologize to Malaysians….and dare them to resign.
    Hi IDIOT…you are c talking of Politicians that involves our lives…whereas Tiger Woods hurts no one.other that his own family circle….got it…idiot??
    Sports and entertainment figures are unique and have their art and craft….totally different from our well known..crooked politicians….including your no balls MCA heroes.
    Why can’t you tell politicians to apologize like Clinton..or Nixon…or those well known world political figures.so many..all apologized and resigned.
    Leave Tiger Woods name out of all comments…if you have any decency and respect for others…but knowing you…the braggart with no manners…so badly brought up….you do not care two hoots hurting others.
    You call me Odd ball once more….I will F..UK you 11 times more….one time more than I quoted to Jeffery…which did not materialized..as he is a gentleman and you are really good for nothing..only good to talk cock and bull….which I can do that too….if you want a taste of your own medicine…..hahahahahahahaha
    You MUST always show you are smarter that all of us….you bloody Odd ball…like most MCA buggers?
    Ghosh!! …Don’t let me know…you are a racist too.
    I have more than 4 Chinese dialects…to make sure…get all..if you try to be funny with me again.

34. #34 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 5:22 am

He is a joker, and a good example of what NEP produce … “retarded brain”. Sooner or later the whole country will go upside down if this kind of idiot is allowed to continue behaving in such manner. Malu lah when compare with the standard of Singapore.

35. #35 by chengho on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 7:51 am

TSM said ‘ i never uttered those word words and i did not even converse in English throughout the interview .What is ‘small fry’ in Bahasa Malaysia?

36. #36 by dagen on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 9:12 am

Someone here asked that KTK-the-small-fry be kicked out of the committee of small-farts and be replaced by chengho. Agree. Chengho-the-umnoputra-in-cheongsam can do a better job.

So err chengho-the-umnoputra-in-cheongsam wat is your view of the tasks ahead?

“Singapore sucks.”

Well. Dont know ’bout dat. Your a funny man, I can see. Ha ha ha. Yes. But you hv any plan yet on where to start or how?

“Singapore practices nepotism too.”

Ah. Yes. Err. No. Well, I mean the inter-faith committee. Yes, about the inter-faith committee when will you call for the first meeting?

“Singapore sucks.”

Huh?!!. Well. No. I mean. Yes. Yes, I heard that already. You mentioned it already … a moment ago. So who will you invite to officiate the first meeting?

“Keris.”

… obviously chengho-the-umnoputra-in-cheongsam is way too intelligent for the interviewer and us. Maybe he is a super-advanced extra-terresterial being. And umno is full of them. No wonder umno dont make sense to any of us here in jibby land.

37. #37 by monsterball on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:35 pm

hi Johnnypok…you speak in riddles so well la.
    But Singapore is no Singapore without Malaysians working there too.
    Singapore is a tiny weeny Island comprising mostly one race..and the success is mainly due to total sincere non corrupted politicians managing the said country.
    As such…you see Singapore much richer and more advanced than Malaysia.
    Even China with more than 1.4 billion population….took only few years to make USA shivering now and US government now trying so hard to be most friendly with China…all because of the power of money matters.
    Here in Malaysia…we are so backwards..because UMNO BARU stole all our money for themselves..the party to buy up the whole country.
    That’s one important reason..why we are so backward compared to Singapore.
    Singapore citizens are mostly happy and satisfied.
    There is no such thing as “retarded brains”…unless you think your brain is far superior than others.
    There are brains that are far more furious and daring than you can imagine.
    Some are daring to steal and fear not prison walls.
    Some are daring to expose those crooks.
    These people speak differently than Singaporeans…as some are fighting for freedom while one group is fighting to buy up souls and the whole country.
    Malaysians Freedom Fighters are brave and not one have a so call ….retarded brain.
    Your English is excellent..but the way you talk…very childish and sometimes..full of sh…t too..hinting..and no balls to write clearly.
    No balls to write clearly…do not insult Malaysians.
    Malaysians are living peacefully. Only UMNO trying to separate us…to be Dictators.
    Tell us…who is the retarded brain.you are referring to..like a man.
    Do not hint ..like a pondan.

38. #38 by limkamput on Wednesday, 14 April 2010 - 1:59 pm

Tiger Wood’s sh!t must have smelled good to an odd ball like you!!!!!!

39. #39 by johnnypok on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 4:27 am

Monster’s ball is one of the many bankrupt with retarded-brain.

40. #40 by chengho on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 8:00 am

johnnypok,

living in singapore like u stay in gleneagle

41. #41 by chengho on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 8:05 am

dagen,
    1/3 of singapore reserve coming from indonesia , can u dig it if they sign extradition treaty?

42. #42 by monsterball on Thursday, 15 April 2010 - 11:42 pm

Sad to read such a comment from johnnypok Real stupid he is.
    “bankrupt”..”retarded brain”…he said I am.
    Firstly …I am comfortable in life…with no problems with money.
    Secondly…all read can know how stupid for him to call me retarded. My messages are welknown for years.
    This shows johnnypok…mind is unsteady….very childish.