Najib marks his first anniversary as PM by setting the bad example of BN abuses of power in the forthcoming Hulu Selangor by-election

Datuk Seri Najib Razak has established a new precedent in marking his first anniversary as Prime Minister by setting the bad example of Barisan Nasional abuses of power in the forthcoming Hulu Selangor parliamentary by-election.

Najib visited Hulu Selangor yesterday and announced a new RM32 million housing project, involving 250 units, on a 14ha site at Soeharto Felda.

I support government housing projects for Felda settlers to uplift their living standards but as a Prime Minister who had listed fighting corruption as one of his six priority areas, Najib should be very circumspect in his actions to ensure that he is not guilty of political and electoral corruption in using government funds and promises of specific development projects to win votes in the Hulu Selangor by-election.

This is the first example.

During his visit in Hulu Selangor yesterday, Najib had to “buy insurance” to manufacture a very enthusiastic and rousing public reception – by bringing along 120 students who played the role as his band of “cheerleaders”, puncturing the Prime Minister’s walkabouts with shouts of 1Malaysia.

This is a most hypocritical stance as the Barisan Nasional Government has banned students from involvement in politics under the Universities and University Colleges Act (UUCA) and refused repeated attempts by Pakatan Rakyat parties, student unions and the civil society to lift such undemocratic restrictions.

Why then use students from colleges and universities in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor to be Najib’s cheerleaders in his pre-byelection visit to Hulu Selangor?

It is such cavalier disregard for right and wrong, and inconsistency of his action with his slogans whether 1Malaysia, People First, Performance Now slogan as illustrated by these two instances that is at the heart of the crisis of confidence faced by Najib in his first year as Prime Minister.

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 2:55 pm

From malaysiakini—

Semalam Timbalan Perdana Menteri Muhyiddin Yassin mengumumkan bahawa Hulu Selangor akan mendapat empat sekolah baru, dan projek pembinaan banjir bernilai RM2 juta ringgit.

Muhyiddin juga berkata Kementerian Pendidikan sedang mengenalpasti tapak sesuai untuk membina sebuah sekolah aliran Cina.

Hari ini pula Perdana Menteri Datuk Seri Najib Razak mengumumkan projek perumahan baru untuk warga Felda di Gugusan Sungai Dusun.

2. #2 by frankyapp on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 3:36 pm

Hi K1980 and in addition,I think Muhyiddin would also promised if BN won,all Hulu Selangor voters would be given 1000 1malaysia saham FOC. Umno/Bn know that they have a no change to win hence NR n MY are now cooking up with all these sweet things in order to bribe the voters. Hopefully this time the police and Macc would make their own “police report” respectively and initiate investigation without fear or favour.

3. #3 by Loh on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 3:39 pm

///Najib visited Hulu Selangor yesterday and announced a new RM32 million housing project, involving 250 units, on a 14ha site at Soeharto Felda.///

RM 32 million have now been alloted, whether they vote for BN or not. The voters should again vote in PKR candidate. Najib will have to offer a larger sum comes next election. By then the victory would be more meaningful and thus has to cost more.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 3:42 pm

Corruption and abuse of power are deeply entrenched in the hearts and minds of Umnoputras so much so that they regard such practices as a norm of everyday life. As a result of such deeply-rooted rotten culture, It is impossible for them to make a U-turn and carry out any meaningful reform.

Incidentally, the media reported that many foreign investors DO NOT believe Najib could delivery the promises outlined in the New Economic Model.

5. #5 by ktteokt on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 4:19 pm

Why are projects only emerging whenever there is a by-election coming up somewhere? Can’t there be projects when there are no by-elections? Does that mean BN will only care about the people of a constituency only where there is a by-election? What about other times? Aren’t the people in these constituencies paying taxes? Or do they not belong to MALAYSIA?

6. #6 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 4:59 pm

“Hospital sub-contractor seeks to wind up princess’ firm” – reported in Malaysiakini on the construction of the troubled RM482 million Shah Alam Hospital.

How can we reform this country when so many projects are implemented with almost the same modus operandi? One contractor subcontracts the project to another contractor and then to another sub contractor. In the process, profits and commission are made with no contribution made to the project. The project has been delayed and the people of Shah Alam are denied of the hospital facilities. Eventually the government will bail out the contractors with more allocations. You tell me how this country will not go bankrupt? Transparency and governance my ass! The whole ruling establishment is just a brunch of corrupted, lazy and incompetent parasites.

7. #7 by limkamput on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 5:23 pm

Zulkifli Noordin, you are so wrong! If the people are mature as you said, we would have kicked people like you in the ass and BN out of power long ago. The fact that you are still around talking c*ck and BN is still in control of the fed govt show that the people, especially rural folks, are still ignorant and indoctrinated by racists and bigots like you. You name me one thing BN has done right for this country, be it national unity, economic management and social development. You are a principled man by ass. You are an opportunist bigot. I am responding to you because I don’t want PKR and PR to waste time on you. I hope they will not respond to whatever you said. You are filthy garbage like that Tan and your place is at the bottom of the sewage.

You and your narrow-mindedness. You have no faculty to talk about which direction Pakatan Rakyat and the BN are heading. But if you want to know, BN is heading toward racism, dogmatism, more corruption and ignorance.

8. #8 by tak tahan on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 5:25 pm

“Clean goverment first or corrupt goverment first?”
    DPM:Corrupt goverment first
    NR:Corrupt goverment doen’t mean we cannot take care of goverment.Moreover corrupt is not so extreem.Remember us Hulu Selangor votees!Corrupt goverment first.Banzai!

9. #9 by DCLXVI on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 6:11 pm

“Najib visited Hulu Selangor yesterday and announced a new RM32 million housing project, involving 250 units, on a 14ha site at Soeharto Felda.”

That looks nice, but isn’t Felda under the control of the Umno-BN led federal govt?
    And who needs that RM32 million more; the folks in Hulu Kelang, or the folks in Sabah who need better public medical care, including more beds for their hospitals?

“During his visit in Hulu Selangor yesterday, Najib had to ‘buy insurance’ to manufacture a very enthusiastic and rousing public reception – by bringing along 120 students who played the role as his band of ‘cheerleaders’, puncturing the Prime Minister’s walkabouts with shouts of 1Malaysia.”

When Umno-BN organised that anti-Pakatan Rakyat state government demonstration at KOMTAR not long ago, one wonders how many of those demonstrators were actually from Penang…

10. #10 by kpt99 on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 6:20 pm

CONCEPT 1 MALAYSIA-EQUAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR ALL, all are nonsense said a secondary student to a teacher during Civic lesson.How true is the story ? Here are the student’s answers, Selection of students to IPTA base on quotas, Matriculation only 10 % for non-bumi,Program asasi IPTA bumi only,Mara for bumi only,UITM for bumi only,JPA base on quota and many others said the student,teacher just keep quiet.

11. #11 by k1980 on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 7:05 pm

In a country with an unbiased judiciary, the umno candidate would have been disqualified for money politics even if he had won the seat. This is why there are several million Malaysians who have yet to register as voters, because they feel no sense of belonging in a sham democracy.

12. #12 by Winston on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 7:32 pm

The leader of a failed government is using the taxpayers’ money to buy favours from the voters.
    They can always accept the offers but still give him a boot in the pants!

13. #13 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 7:38 pm

PR should continue to do its homeworks rather than spend too much time challenging BN in the act of sloganeering. Do note that the majority of voters today is more suave than their parents. It better to do the walk than do the talk! In Selangor, the planning by PR is still not up to expectation. Notwithstanding the fact that some of the jobs to be done are that of the Federal Gomen, but you can’t keep saying this, when the people are at the receiving end of the issues.
    One issue which I can’t understand is that of the Sentral Bus Station. Agreed, it was Toyol who created it but it was done at the expense of the people of Selangor in particular that of Klang. You may not be able to break the contract; just leave it there. Resite a new Central Bus Station, even move it to an expanded Port Klang Bus Station makes sense.; being near the KTM commuter train. Or if needs be to Padang Java. By ‘forcing commuters to go to Sentral at Meru is both stupid and wrong! And PR Selangor have to answer it not by saying a contract is signed. Didn’t the State Gomen wanted to undo the water agreement?? It is right to do it; likwise do it to the bus station for the convenience of the general public!
    It is agreed that issues appear here should be highlighted but practical solutions should also be found; not just issues that are so exotic that we all know we could be talking about in for the next two generations to come!

14. #14 by tanjong8 on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 8:11 pm

Umnoputera had been doing it for 52 years.

It is their second nature already. no guilt, nothing wrong.

What can you do about it ?

Umnoputras have impunity to do whatever they want , just like diplomatic immunity !!!

15. #15 by boh-liao on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 8:15 pm

Wah lau, NR needed a team of BN leaders n a group of students 2 cheer him in Hulu S’gor
    MCA had 2 pay 4 all d drinks n makan consumed in d kopitiam visited by NR
    BN had 2 pay d cheering (or is it jeering) students, recipents of BN corrupt practice
    Now in today’s The Sunday Times, mama ros claimed 2 b M’sia’s 1st lady n wanted 2 hold important positions like Sg’s PM’s wife, wah lau!

16. #16 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 8:28 pm

If we can shoot to kill one opposition elected MP a month a lot of development will take place in that area because the UMNO/BN government will do anything to get their 2/3 majority.Malaysian politics have given birth to election corruption!

17. #17 by ktteokt on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 8:56 pm

isahbiazhar, if what you said really happens, then Malaysia will be such a prosperous place with everyone of its people living in luxury! But come to think of it, all these promises before elections or by-elections never really become reality did they? Empty promises, another trade mark of BN!

18. #18 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 10:08 pm

dead man ang pow is a fixture in any by election BN tactic.

having students as political cheerleaders is a gross example of double standard – university students were threatened with explusion for inviting Pakatan politicians to speak in local university while students can cheer a now worthless slogan torpedoed by BN politicians themselves?

desperate times calls for desperate matters…even Pakatan chaps visiting HS are afforded police escort….

the mighty BN afraid of a resource poor opposition? i rather look away in disgust

i hope a voter’s vote in Hulu Selangor is worth more than a bicycle, a cup of hainanese coffee, a few clueless youth shouting a hollow slogan or empty promises

19. #19 by DCLXVI on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 10:52 pm

Two years after the 2008 GE12, and two to three years before the next GE, the Hulu Selangor by-election represents the mid-point or crossroads at where Umno-BN & Pakatan Rakyat now have the opportunity to find out how and where they actually stand in the eyes of the rakyat.

In 2009, not long after Umno-BN had grabbed power from Pakatan Rakyat in Perak, the victory of Nizar Jamaludin, the ousted Pakatan Rakyat Perak MB, in the Bukit Gantang parliamentary by-election proved to be a slap in the face, and to a certain extent, a humiliation for Umno-BN, which was trying to justify and legitimize its toppling of the Pakatan Rakyat led Perak state government.
    No doubt, Umno-BN is seeking revenge and is desperately looking to humiliate Pakatan Rakyat in this coming Hulu Kelang by-election.

YB LKS and the other leaders in Pakatan Rakyat should know what to do by now.

20. #20 by monsterball on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 11:05 pm

All you need is to recall his famous one word answer to Balan’s 81 answers on the Mongolian model girl murder case.
    You further need to trace how many big fishes are caught in corruptions…….NONE!!…why…because he and Mahathir are two of them…plus few dozens more.past and present UMNO BARU Ministers.
    Then all the double standards .fears and provocations..with no democracy at all…and you will know…nothing will surprises voters.
    But it is very good….DAP and especially LKS keep exposing all those hypocrites and low class crooks…and let Malaysians read and know…what they cannot read in newspapers or view from TV news…knowing democracy is really dead…as far as politics are concern…..and politics governs our lives….which means UMNO BARU wants to control all Malaysians….by hook or by crook.

21. #21 by yhsiew on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 11:28 pm

Najib visited Hulu Selangor yesterday and announced a new RM32 million housing project, involving 250 units, on a 14ha site at Soeharto Felda. – Kit
    =========================================================

Najib’s irresponsible act will further plunge the nation’s Corruption Perception Index. Did not he know the whole world is watching Malaysia?

22. #22 by DCLXVI on Sunday, 4 April 2010 - 11:54 pm

Typing error: I had mistakenly referred to the Hulu Selangor by-election as the Hulu Kelang by-election in some of my earlier posts in this and also other earlier topics.
    My humble apologies.

23. #23 by boh-liao on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 12:58 am

U meant Hulu Slangor buy erection

24. #24 by johnnypok on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 3:33 am

What is the status of the “fixed-deposit” state?

Still no proper hospital, not enough power-supply, and millions of illegal immigrants roaming the streets.

Don’t you think Sabah deserves to be independent, and to look after its own finance? Where are the oil money?

25. #25 by ekompute on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 4:27 am

“I support government housing projects for Felda settlers to uplift their living standards but as a Prime Minister who had listed fighting corruption as one of his six priority areas, Najib should be very circumspect in his actions to ensure that he is not guilty of political and electoral corruption in using government funds and promises of specific development projects to win votes in the Hulu Selangor by-election.”

Well, the six priority areas was to win the next general election… so I see no contradiction, LOL.

26. #26 by Thor on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 8:17 am

After this so called Mahathir, this crook is the worse PM of all time.

27. #27 by Comrade on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 8:42 am

BN/Umno’s usual ante-election modus operandi
    Is to fish for votes from the unsuspecting voters
    The rural folks must be wary of this dishonesty
    By all means accept the govt offers
    But do not be obliged to vote for the corrupt party
    Vote in PR to show the People’s Power

28. #28 by ktteokt on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 9:23 am

Using these students to become “loudspeakers” for UMNO is a clear violation of the University and University Colleges Act and an act of DOUBLE STANDARDS by BN, UMNO!

29. #29 by k1980 on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 11:04 am

Luckily he did not bring over 120 Texas Cowgirls as his “cheerleaders” in Hulu Selangor

30. #30 by tak tahan on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 1:03 pm

Aai ya..K1980,”Luckily he did not bring over 120 Texas Cowgirls as his “cheerleaders” in Hulu Selangor”.Where can possible one!
    Even Umnoputras have impunity to do whatever they want , just like diplomatic immunity BUT they know NO impunity to their wives mah,isn’t it? They can use tax payers money to fly there n bang bang what.Got it?No offenfe,just to remind in case.

31. #31 by johnnypok on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 2:10 pm

Previously they make use of Saifool and Sodomee. If they do it again, the opposition should counter it with young Mongolian girls.

32. #32 by Dipoh Bous on Monday, 5 April 2010 - 5:33 pm

What #13 waterfrontcoolie wrote above is what very refreshing indeed. I find that the other comments are either over-emotionally written, with out substance, or simply to let the ‘steam’ out and even not worth a second glance.

Keep on giving comments like that Waterfrontcoolie. Constructive criticism is what every critic should offer to the general public other wise, just don’t criticise at all.

It’s always easy to find faults with some one, but it’s useless unless one could come up with solutions / or better options.

Have a nice afternoon, every one……

33. #33 by cskok8 on Tuesday, 6 April 2010 - 4:25 pm

During campaigning for the last GE, there was a picture of Najib and daughter sleeping on a govt plane returning to KL. That was a blatant misuse of govt asset for personal (or party) use. Instead the media was trying to show how his family is supporting his work.