Allow the Police to start on a new page on Police Day on 25th March

After a year of premiership, national and international confidence in the key national institutions and the system of governance in Malaysia have deepened instead of being improved.

Although there is a lot of talk about achievements in the NKRA for combating crime, in particular street crime, the fact is that as far as the man-in-the-street is concerned, they are still hounded by the endemic crime and the fear of crime.

The fact that there are more gated-and-guarded communities in the country in the past year is the best proof that all the talk about NKRA achievements in combating crime is no real meaning to the ordinary people.

A meaningful NKRA for combating crime is when the people feel safe and secure enough to dismantle the guarded and gated communities instead of the reverse – with more people feeling unsafe as having to build new guarded and gated communities.

The Prime Minister and the Home Minister must accept the reality that an essential element to have a new start in restoring public confidence in the efficiency, independence and professionalism of the police is to have a new Inspector-General of Police.

This is why Hishammuddin should not be breathing down the necks of China Press for its report that Tan Sri Musa Hassan was resigning as Inspector-General of Police to allow the Police to start on a new page on Police Day on 25th March, there would be joy and jubilation not only among loyal and patriotic Malaysians who have always put national interests above self, but also among top police officers as well as the rank-and-file.

This is why –

• On 28th July, 2009 I spearheaded a parliamentary roundtable reaching an unanimous conclusion that Malaysia needs a new IGP to create a safe Malaysia and break away from colonial past by introducing democratic policing to protect the people and not the regime in power;

• On 1st August, 2009 I said in my speech in Kuantan that Musa was wreaking personal vengeance against me and other Pakatan Rakyat leaders for the parliamentary roundtable calling for a new IGP to create a safe Malaysia;

• On August 7, 2009 I issued a media statement that “Take a secret poll among the 2,000 top police officers from ASP upwards and an overwhelming majority will definitely vote for a new IGP”; and

• On August 8, 2009 I said in my media statement that “Police, Home Minister and Prime Minister will not be able to hold their heads high in international community if Musa is renewed as IGP when under his three-year leadership, only 1% of the people feel safe”.

[Speech (8) by DAP Parliamentary Leader and MP for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang in Dewan Rakyat on the Royal Address on Thursday, 18th March 2010]

1. #1 by yhsiew on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 7:14 am

Public security in Malaysia deteriorates because we have police officials and police personnel who are more interested in politics than in policing.

We need an apolitical IGP who is 100% dedicated to policing and not politics!

2. #2 by chengho on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 7:44 am

you pay peanut you get monkey
    Malaysian Police force the most lowest paid police in the world , why dont you fight for their welfare Kit.
    what about opposition member , are you also the lowest paid opposition in the world.

3. #3 by lopez on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 8:32 am

better steal….oops better still….armed them to their teeth then all will obey them, fear them and then zero crime lah.

like these can create and developed arms industry…hence more jobs.

can also employ them partime to do private escort duty…imagine escorted in full armour..phew tiew say no more….can also convert unused land to firing yards….side income for farmers and land owners.
    good gdp mah

4. #4 by johnnypok on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 9:21 am

The whole police department should be contracted to China or HK perpetually.

5. #5 by Cinapek on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 11:41 am

“…the fact is that as far as the man-in-the-street is concerned, they are still hounded by the endemic crime and the fear of crime….”

Never a truer word spoken. Not only crimes by criminals but now criminals in uniform as well.

There is indeed an increased presence of police on the streets but they are NOT patrolling to deter crimes such as snatch thefts etc. Frequently I noticed in many areas two or three policemen with motorcycles parked in a convenient spot hoping to nab minor traffic offenders such as wrong lanes, not stopping at junctions etc. The reason is obvious. It is more lucrative and far less dangerous than chasing MaT Rempits.

So much for Hisham’s NKRA!!

6. #6 by asmehane on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 12:36 pm

comment # 4,

what a joke, u must be joking. Why not import all 26 million men & women from China or HK to balance up the present population. Lim, u should moderate your supporters from posting nasty and ugly comments.

7. #7 by wanderer on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 12:52 pm

…hahaha, ‘Wait till the cows jump over the moon!”

8. #8 by frankyapp on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 3:14 pm

I think there’s no amount of money or kind would satisfy anyone,let alone the police force. The best is still civic/moral education,though it takes time. It’s a great pity if not a tragedy,our politicians especially the Umno/Bn ones are not showing or leading any good example of good morality.Instead they lead in hundred and one ways to showing bad behaviour in the form rampant descrimination and corruption. I’m wondering now where’s the Umno/Bn’s once good slongan of “leadership by good example”

9. #9 by lopez on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 4:59 pm

hey.wait the genuine rookies are not to be blamed…that is if they are not infected yet or are alredi.
    anyway…it going to be very busy month ahead
    , a close tender exercise may be going on..what else.. to take up the open vacancy lah…

well..keep a look out, a lot of after hours and karooke going to take place..for the rappo rappo and restructuring

10. #10 by johnnypok on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 9:45 pm

If I am the Agong, I will revamp the whole PDRM and contract out the police force to Singapore and HK.

11. #11 by DCLXVI on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 12:12 am

chengho: “you pay peanut you get monkey
    Malaysian Police force the most lowest paid police in the world, why dont you fight for their welfare Kit.”

If PDRM is lowest paid police force in the world, it must be because there has been lots of improper channeling of the taxpayers’ money, and guess who has been doing this for the past 52 years?
    Those peanut eating monkeys?

chengho: “what about opposition member , are you also the lowest paid opposition in the world.”

Isn’t an MP from the opposition paid the same as an MP from the ruling party/coalition?
    By the way, there’s already this renegade turncoat MP who probably should be known as a ‘monkey’ of Parliament and should be paid with peanuts…

12. #12 by dagen on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 8:56 am

Policing is a tough job – certainly it is neither fun nor enjoyable, I reckon. The job demands a great deal of hard work and dedication.

I saw two policemen wrestling with a violent suspect (snatch thief perhaps) recently in pudu before subduing and arresting him. It was a horrible scene to witness but the job has to be done and was in fact done, from my observation, as best as the two policemen could in the circumstances. We have one less of these idiots prowling our streets.

Years ago I saw another real life action. A suspected drug addict (trafficker?) attempted to get away from several pursuing policemen. It happened in a nearly completed housing estate in cheras. The suspect jumped down from the balcony on the first floor of a linked house onto a grass patch below. He was desperate. A policeman followed and jumped down too. He was brave. Again in my reckoning, we then have one less criminal in our midst.

I am grateful to all these men in blue. I truly am. But I wonder how on earth did corruption seep in and erase their good record and destroy their image? As in everything else, there is a story behind this. And the story behind our police force begins with this familiar line “Once upon a time there was a mamak.”