Where are the “sharks” of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal?

On corruption, where are the “big fishes” the country had been promised would be netted and prosecuted in connection with the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal.

I am surprised in read in the press today a statement by the MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat that the Opposition did not want him to win and be re-elected as MCA President in the MCA “Three Kingdom” party elections.

Let me declare here and now that DAP has no interest whatsoever in the MCA “Three Kingdom” party battle, in particular in the fight to be MCA President expected to be a three-cornered one among Ong, former MCA President Tan Sri Ong Ka Ting and the MCA Deputy President Datuk Seri Chua Soi Lek.

I do not want to emulate former Gerakan President, Tun Dr. Lim Keng Yaik who recently declared that Gerakan had “lost Penang for good”, gave very low assessment of his successor Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon and contemptuous dismissal of the Najib premiership when he said: “I give up la talking to this government” to make any similar comments about the MCA leaders.

But I want to tell Ong that he is to go down in history as a short-term MCA President and Transport Minister, do it with a bang and not in a whimper.

He should go all out to bring in the “sharks” of the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone scandal to justice and not be content with the “small fries”.

For several months, I had refrained from commenting on the PKFZ scandal after putting intense pressure on Ong to “tell all” about the scandal – at one stage, posing three-questions-a-day for 36 days without pause, totaling 108 questions, to force Ong to act on the PKFZ scandal.

I wanted to give Ong a completely free hand and not to feel to be under any pressure when there were signs that some action were at last being taken to ensure proper accountability for the PKFZ scandal.

However, up to now, only four not major personalities had been charged in court for corruption and abuses of power in the PKFZ scandal before the new year, with the promise by the Attorney-General, Tan Sri Abdul Gani Othman himself that “big fishes” in the PKFZ scandal were almost ready to be brought to book and prosecuted in court.

The whole nation waited in bated breath for the arrest and prosecution of the “sharks” of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal, as nobody really believe that the four middling persons charged last December could be responsible wholly or even for majority part of the PKFZ scandal.

But the waiting of 27 million Malaysians have turned from day-to-day, to week-to-week and now month-to-month.

Malaysians are even more astounded when Ong attributed his political troubles and survival as MCA President to the PKFZ scandal, when the “sharks” of the PKFZ scandal are still scotfree and not accounted for.

All Malaysians want an answer from Ong – where are the “sharks” of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal?

[Speech (9) by DAP Parliamentary Leader and MP for Ipoh Timor Lim Kit Siang in Dewan Rakyat on the Royal Address on Thursday, 18th March 2010]

1. #1 by yhsiew on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 7:01 am

///But I want to tell Ong that he is to go down in history as a short-term MCA President and Transport Minister, do it with a bang and not in a whimper./// (Kit)

Agree.

Ong should do the country a favor before he quits as Transport Minister. His name and good deeds will be remembered by Malaysians for generations to come. Ong should initiate the bang immediately he knows that he fails to secure the post of MCA Presidency.

2. #2 by chengho on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 7:47 am

OTK for MCA President.
    MCA will take over Penang under OTK.

3. #3 by lopez on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 8:24 am

these clowns are making their escape plans, we will see who is most dirty…..

you can bury them, but the stench comes out over time.

the 50 years smell is inevitable.

4. #4 by johnnypok on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 9:15 am

The big sharks are waiting and preparing for the next assault of the oil money, following the discovery of a major oil-well by Petronas.

5. #5 by jayenjr on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 9:20 am

I have always doubted Ong Tee Kiat’s ability to go all the way with PKFZ…..especially when he held on to the Pricewaterhouse report for some time before deciding to release it. Why? Ada bikin censorship ka? Further, his appointee – Lee Hwa Beng, has already admitted recently that to go after the previous directors of PKA, he will leave it to the “super task force” created by Najib. Super eh?

YB Lim, pls pose a question in Parliament:- WHAT IS HAPPENING TO THIS SUPER TASK FORCE?!? May I also recommend that you continue to pressure the PM as you did with Ong, so that this super task force will give regular updates on the PKFZ’s investigation status? My guess is this super task force is anything but super, & its reason d etre is more of another APCO style public relation engineering so as to buy time, and hope Malaysians by & large will forget everything. Eventually, we will see another Perwaja style “kes tutup”. Wanna bet anybody? YB Lim, pls, keep up the incessant pressure on Najib’s government.

6. #6 by cseng on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 10:33 am

Remember sinking ship mentality! Maybe MCA has never picture the party as one ship, you sink, I sink, you jump, I jump!. MCA party is sinking fast into the sea of greed or power and money, if the ship is sinking, who cares to be the captain! Why fight to save the ship. NO! they don’t picture this is a ship. They picture this as a castle (as steel castle that would not collapse and kill anyone) and plenty of treasure locked inside, you be the captain you access to the treasure!.

What pathetic more is in our community, we have this chengho type of mentality. I presume he is homosapien as he using blog, but definitely mentality level of the southern apes. Anyway, how could it be if OTK (Oor Tau Kui) or OKT (Oor Kui Tau) leading MCA, MCA could take on Penang? Put the perspective right, a eunuch is a eunuch! We got 2 hanging he got none. A man who cannot honour his promise at best has only 1 hanging, even he self proclaimed hero, still a 1 bolll hero.

Chengho, you are welcome to read Kit’s blong, and you should ask your friends to read it too. It educates you, it excite your though, its call critical thinking that more people like you needed very much. Just don’t eliminate the benefit of doubt, by confirming most BN supported are dumb like you. I am from penang, so I am excited by your comment.

7. #7 by johnnypok on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 10:43 am

Eventually the whole nation will be flooded with illegal immigrants, unemployable graduates and “mark-ampits” only.

8. #8 by k1980 on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 11:45 am

Where are the “sharks” of the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal?

Look at all the ministers and politicians who are playing deaf and dumb whenever the PKFZ scam is brought up —- they are the sharks!

9. #9 by wanderer on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 12:46 pm

The ‘remote controller’ has clipped their wings and made them into Shark fins soup!
    Now he is arranging “MONKEY BRAINS” to take over and made himself the Chief Chef…new cuisines with complete halal meats….from MCA butchers.

PKFZ UMNO multi-racial kitchen…..

10. #10 by wanderer on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 12:49 pm

chengho

UMNO new kitchen….vacancy for a doorman, interested?

11. #11 by Loh on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 1:56 pm

There are actions OTK can do, and there are others OTK simply cannot, whether he likes it or not. The PM can direct MACC, IGP and AG to pursue, or not to pursue cases involving PKFZ sharks. But it is certain that OTK did not actively prevent investigating or passively allowed matters swept under the carpet. Najib has decided that a special committee would take over PKFZ investigation as though the officials did not realise that these were their responsibility before the scandal surfaced. But they did not perform their duties in preventing the PKFZ leakage snowballing to 12.5 billion ringgit now. Their malfeasance was condoned, and who is to confirm whether Najib did not want them to behave like what they did before.

While the citizens should not feel that OTK would be able to bring the PKFZ sharks to justice, we can be assured that OTK certainly would not facilitate the crooks like issuing letter of support such as by LLS and CKC.

12. #12 by frankyapp on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 2:35 pm

Yeap where are “the sharks” ? This’s a 64 million dollars question !. I think sharks are pretty hard to find as they normally live deep in the ocean but are known to attack suddenly and spontanously keep attacking the target (project scandal)) into pieces and eat them all one by one and leave only some tiny pieces for the small fishes to eat.Unfortunately some of these small fishes were caught as evidence to prove the guilt of the sharks. However,it’s not impossible to find and catch these sharks but there’s another 64 million dollars question to solve.I think one needs bigger sharks to catch sharks but the problem is when the mother of all sharks is with the greedy ones,no other sharks could be of much help. I think this’s the core problem,malaysians are facing now. Greedy sharks breed more greedy ones and the circles go on non-stop. The mother of all sharks is Umno and the hunter shark is PR. Can the hunter hunt and defeat it ?

13. #13 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 21 March 2010 - 5:44 pm

Where are the sharks?

Perhaps those sharks are ‘protected species’ under the UMNO-BN regime….. the Police, MACC and AG are made aware that they are protected species -not touchable!

The FiveHundredMillionRinggitMan- Ong Tee Keat is too busy to fight for his survival in the impending MCA election…too busy to bother about the PKFZ sharks….

14. #14 by boh-liao on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 12:24 am

WHO cares who is d next MCA president
    In fact, ppl r asking, WHAT is MCA
    Say bye-bye 2 MCA

15. #15 by DCLXVI on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 12:42 am

chengho: “OTK for MCA President.”

That doesn’t really matter because Umno will still remain MCA’s true boss…

chengho: “MCA will take over Penang under OTK.”

Maybe there’s a chance if MCA/OTK can assure the rakyat that those sharks from the PKFZ scandal and also the other scandals will not find their way to Penang and feed on the Penangites, but it depends on whether MCA/OTK can first get this approved by Umno the boss…

16. #16 by Kongseemik on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 2:41 am

These Sharks will soon become endangered species!!

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 8:28 am

Its not too early to factor in the result of MCA election on this. OTK is going to lose – that is forgone conclusion. The likely winner is CSL although he may or may not have majority vote. Tha VP race is not as important and it would boost CSL if Kong Cho Ha wins which is also likely.

The problem with this issue is that trying to pin CSL with it is not going to work very well. He can feign ignorance and poor authority. That is a given. CSL may even be diabolical and send a few medium fishes into jail to boost MCA fortune.

We need to hang CSL with some thing else – NEM maybe if they backtrack on dismantling the NEP..Healthcare is potentially interesting and a time-bomb in this country.

Its time to jump ahead. CSL is a smarter than both OTK and OKT but there is no amount of smart that can save MCA, merely a delay of the inevitable end..Lets just quicken it for him and do him a favour..

18. #18 by boh-liao on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 9:36 am

Is CSL, d smarter 1, funding his coming erection through d sale of his ‘Tyger, tyger, burning bright n stiff’ VCD?

19. #19 by Godfather on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 10:57 am

Ong Ta Kut is no match for the big shark that is the conduit for the PKFZ funds – Tiong. Tiong can’t be touched because it is through his companies that the funds were disbursed for March 2008 elections. All the BN parties participated in the goodies – some more than others, but once you have partaked in the goodies, your silence is bought.

Ask Azim, the former UMNO treasurer, how much was channeled into UMNO and for which states. He is going to be mute, like all previous UMNO treasurers. Ong Ta Kut has little choice but to wind down his so-called exposure of the culprits behind the scandal.

20. #20 by Godfather on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 11:30 am

The best joke about PKFZ is that they are now taking action to prevent future corruption – more transparent measures, more disclosure. They think that by coming up with a blueprint for the future, they can cover up the blatant rip-off of the past.

I was told that they are now doing an audit of the work done to determine how much was “overcharged” by Kuala Dimensi and the consultants. There are only 2 outcomes – either there is not consensus on the work audit or Kuala Dimensi will be sued for overcharging which will take another 10 years to be heard in a court of law.

In the meantime, they are raising lots of other smaller issues as a smokescreen.

21. #21 by k1980 on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 2:23 pm

3rd outcome— Kuala Dimensi will be compensated for undercharging

22. #22 by k1980 on Monday, 22 March 2010 - 2:26 pm

By the look of things, Jibby will appoint chengho as the new mca president ( not withstanding the fact that chengho is a pseudo chinese ) Also Kasim Amat as the new president of “multi-racial” Gerakan