Nasir Safar outrage latest reason why parliamentary select committee on 1Malaysia GTP is vital and indispensable

The Nasir Safar outrage is the latest reason why a parliamentary select committee on 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme (GTP) Roadmap is vital and indispensable if Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia slogan is not to become a bogus one, degenerating into a farce and a joke.

In a three-paragraph statement just before 8 pm last night, the Prime Minister’s Office said:

“The remarks allegedly made by Datuk Nasir Safar, Special Officer to the Prime Minister, in Melaka today does not in any way reflect the views of the Prime Minister.

“Datuk Nasir never intended to make any derogatory remarks. He spoke at length on the contributions made by all races in developing the country. Nevertheless, Nasir apologises for any offence caused.

“In light of this, Datuk Nasir will tender his resignation.”

This is a most unsatisfactory statement. Why is the Prime Minister’s Office so protective and defensive about Nasir’s anti-national and anti-1Malaysia speech although Nasir will be resigning from his present post as Special Officer to the Prime Minister.

There can be no denial that Nasir made the following offensive, insensitive and anti-1Malaysia statements

• Labelling Indians and Chinese in Malaysia as “pendatang”;

• “Indians came to Malaysia as beggars and Chinese especially the women came to sell their bodies (jual tubuh)”;

• Claimed that Umno was solely responsible in drafting the constitution sidelining the contribution of MCA and MIC;

• Threat to revoke the citizenship of those vocal about the subject cap for SPM examination.

It is adding insult to injury and rubbing salt into the wound for the Prime Minister’s Office to claim in its three-paragraph statement that Nasir “never intended to make any derogatory remarks” and only “spoke at length on the contributions made by all races in developing the country” as if Nasir’s remarks were not offensive and derogatory enough.

The officer in the Prime Minister’s Office responsible for drafting this offensive and insensitive three-paragraph statement should be identified and be asked to resign for equal insensitivity and lacking the 1Malaysia spirit.

When Nasir and the Prime Minister’s Office statement claim that the derogatory remarks were “never intended”, they seem to be blaming those who feel hurt and offended for being overly sensitive!

Are Nasir and the Prime Minister’s Office denying that Nasir had made these insensitive, offensive and anti-1Malaysia statements – of all places, at a 1Malaysia forum organized by Information, Communications and Culture Ministry’s Special Affairs Department at the Malacca International Trade Centre officially opened by the Malacca Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam?

Then let the government play the recording, whether tape or video, of Nasir’s speech at the 1Malaysia seminar in Malacca, as nobody would believe that the Information, Communications and Culture Ministry which organized the programme had not recorded it.

Alternatively, let those who heard Nasir’s speech speak up. Nasir addressed some 2,000 people at the 1Malaysia seminar in Malacca – imagine the communal poison and anti-1Malaysia thinking he was disseminating in the guise of 1Malaysia.

This appears to be the most modern version of “Raising the Red Flag to Destroy the Red Flag” – “Raising 1Malaysia to destroy 1Malaysia”.

The Nasir Safar outrage cannot be taken lightly, for Nasir Safar is no ordinary person but a trusted long-time aide of Najib for two decades, who had been delegated to represent the Prime Minister in many functions – like the official launching of the “Sahabat 1Malaysia & UKM 1Malaysia, 1Inspirasi Aspiration Logo” in Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia on 18th October 2009.

If a senior and long-trusted aide of the Prime Minister for two decades – tracing back to the time when Najib was in various Cabinet positions such as Education, Defence and Deputy Prime Minister – could make such offensive, insensitive and anti-1Malaysia, the question must be asked: how many in the top leadership of the Umno/Barisan Nasional government really believe in 1Malaysia?

This is why I had read the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme (GTP) Roadmap launched by Najib last Thursday with great cynicism, when I should feel happy that many of the things I had been saying about nation-building can be found in it.

For instance, for the first time, the government admitted in the 1Malaysia GTP Roadmap that New Economic Policy had created the grave problem of brain-drain – with an estimated two million “best and brightest” Malaysian emigrating abroad since the seventies to create a Malaysian Diaspora and undermining Malaysia’s international competitiveness.

For the first time, an official government document has admitted that in the past decades, Malaysia’s education for instance has fallen behind other countries – casting an adverse reflection on the record of previous Education Ministers, including Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, Tan Sri Musa Mohamad, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and even Najib himself!

The GTP Roadmap describes the goal of 1Malaysia as building a nation “where every Malaysian perceives himself or herself as Malaysian first, and by race, religion, geographical region or socio-economic background second” – a definition which I had been advocating but no Umno/BN Minister or leader had ever endorsed or conceded.

While I am glad to read this definition of 1Malaysia, of creating a Malaysian who regards himself or herself as a Malaysian first and a Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Iban, Orang Asli or Muslim, Christian, Buddhist, Hindu as second, I also feel sad because of the conviction that the1Malaysia GTP Roadmap is not a mainstream Umno/BN document!

My reservations have been confirmed by the recent spate of events which demonstrate that the “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” slogan and vision are just good branding exercises but do not represent the mainstream thinking, commitment and policy of the Najib government – as illustrated by the Nasir Safar outrage yesterday and last Thursday’s Jakim forum for 800 civil servants with inflammatory, divisive and seditious speeches which was no less than an act of open insubordination and insurrection against the 1Malaysia concept.

Najib should state his stand, whether he supports the establishment of a Parliamentary Select Committee on the 1Malaysia GTP Roadmap – which will be an important pointer whether the Prime Minister is serious in wanting about his 1Malaysia slogan and concept.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 12:29 pm

He allegedly said “Indians came to Malaysia as beggars and Chinese especially the women came to sell their bodies” at a 1 Malaysia seminar in Malacca.

Why were no shoes hurled at him by the Indians and Chinese in the seminar?

Of course to protect his skin, he will now claim that his words were taken out of context.

http://khookaypeng.blogspot.com/2010/02/nasir-safar-is-symptom-of-ugly-racial.html

2. #2 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 12:33 pm

http://www.nst.com.my/articles/20100202210039/pix_topleft

Wasn’t this grinning moron the chimpanzee which escaped from from the circus last week? How did he obtain his datukship?

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 12:34 pm

You know what is my most startling about this? NAJIB’s own silence! The lack of personal public LIVE speech to the nation is required no less on this issue.

The lack of anything dramatic from Najib on this is proof that Najib’s 1Malaysia is EXACTLY what Nasir Safar think it is – its insincere whose main goal is to fool as many people as possible. Where Najib screwed up is he unestimated how his team would understand it less and blow the scam BEFORE most people got fooled by it.

So this incident not only confirm what 1Malaysia frierciest critics says it is all along BUT it again show that Najib, despite years in the government, is still an administrative screw up..

Najib is a failure because he does not respect your average Malaysia and because he thinks he is better than he really is..

4. #4 by Godfather on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 12:37 pm

He thought that he could get away with it, especially in Ali Rustam territory. He forgot that there were MCA, Gerakan and MIC reps in the audience, and they could understand Bahasa !

Nasir Safar is not alone in his line of thinking, Many in UMNO feel the same, except that they don’t have the opportunity to vent their views in public. A large proportion of UMNO members are in support of Nasir Safar’s views but they have merely been told not to rock the boat for now.

5. #5 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 12:42 pm

Why are MCA and MIC representatives keeping silent on the matter? When Nasir Safar uttered such derogatory words, they were at the scene and even walked out. Why are they keeping silent now? Are they afraid of their “big brother”?

MCA and MIC, speak up!

6. #6 by Jamal Malik on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 1:00 pm

Such vile and contemptuous remarks coming from the mouth of an UMNO stalwart speaks volume about UMNO as an organization. Goes to show 1Malaysia is just a slogan with no meaning.
    The fact that he is a closely associated with Najib means that they share the same wavelength. No amount of excuses they can cough up can convince us that the remarks were spoken unintentionally. What ? Are we stupid ?

For Najib to surround himself with these kind of characters, it no wonder Malaysia is stumbling from one controversy after another.

I seem to think that Muhathir constant rants and the events that are occurring during Najib’s tenancy, has been deliberately planned to provoke the Indians and Chinese into reacting. And when they do, it gives Najib the opportunity to declare some form of emergency to snatch power illegally and for Muhathir to plant his son into higher power. Can’t you why lately, Muhathir is starting to spew more crap about Khairy ?
    It is pretty easy to connect the dots.

Najib, when you shook the hand of the Indian Prime Minister, can you seriously tell us what was going through your mind, considering you guys think the Indians were beggars. It would be interesting to see what the mainland Chinese react if they were being perceived as beggars and their women goes to Malaysia to sell their bodies.

Could someone who is net savvy please forward the whole article to the Chinese and Indian netizens ? I can imagine the outcry and the boycotts coming.

7. #7 by dagen on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 1:01 pm

The 1malaysia slogan will be changed to 1umno, umnoputra di utamakan etc etc the moment umno wins the next GE. Of course we will deny them!

8. #8 by aiD_kamikuP on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 1:19 pm

My choice-word reaction to this – read my name backwards!!

Malaysians have every right to be skeptical and cynical of BN govt’s effort of promoting (a stillborn) 1Malaysia when in the same breath comes this vile utterance.
    Coming from a person holding such office and proximity to the PM, this cannot be anything other than a deliberate attempt to foment what is already a dire atmosphere.

What 1Malaysia??

9. #9 by Godfather on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 1:29 pm

We can also bet our bottom ringgit that Nasir Safar will be given a plum job in a GLC or statutory body once the dust settles, and UMNO thinks that we have all forgotten.

10. #10 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 1:45 pm

Such derogatory words have come out loud and clear from Nasir Safar who is the special officer to PM NR. And leaders from MCA,MIC,Gerakan,SUPP and PBS could remain dumb is really amazing and beyond everyone’s comprehension .I think it’s without a shadow of doubt that Nasir Safar’s speech is reflective of NR’s agenda. Nasir Safar knew such sensitive words would jeopardise his honour and job yet he spoke it.Hence the time,place and speech indicated that this speech has been well prepared by Umno to inflame fear into our chinese and indian citizens and hatred amongst the malays and non malays. Ironically NR still moved around claiming that the 1malaysia concept is good for malaysians.On one hand NR used his crony like Nasir to sow fear and hatred between malays and non-malays and on the other NR used his 1malaysia concept to unite the people. I hope prime minister NR should be honest and fair and tell us the people of malaysia what he wants ” unity or disunity “.

11. #11 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 1:46 pm

another ketuanan with a cr@p for a brain. Why resign? Stay in umno so that the world can see what this kutu is like. Another dinosaur kicking sand before extinction.

What is the difference between a bucket of $hit and nasir?
    Answer: the bucket.

12. #12 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 1:51 pm

burnt churches- doesn’t work.
    Burnt suraus – doesn’t work
    Threw boar heads – doesn’t work

Now they are trying to inflame the races to a riot by speeches. Well, we will not comply. Sorry dumno.

13. #13 by Ramesh Laxman on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 2:05 pm

YB Lim, do not waste your time over this select committee. What we need is for all key departments in government to reflect the the racial composition of the country. If the Malaysian Cabinet reflects the racial composition of the country the question you should be asking is why is that key government departmets do not reflect the racial composition of the country. Such words do not come out of the cabinet.

14. #14 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 2:07 pm

Nasir Safar out this door (4 show), then later in through another door
    May even b one of our diplomats enjoying life overseas, hooters included, hoot, hoot

15. #15 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 2:10 pm

After cowhead, boar head, fire bomb, paint, bottle, n stone baling here n there
    Next, what, feces loh as in another nation, not sure halal or not halal type kena baling

16. #16 by MGR1940 on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 2:22 pm

#2 1980
    Your dead right after seeing his photo in the Star and agree with you.
    #4 yhsiew
    They have no ba..s and have to look after their bread and butter with thier thick skin or they must be the children of the people Nasir Safar spoke of.

If it was any one from PKR,they would have been arrested by Muasng and men on the spot for saying anything similar at the Malays.
    His boss is also a ‘pendatang’ from Indonesia.

17. #17 by artemisios on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 2:47 pm

LADIES & GENTLEMEN OF ALL RACES,

MALAYS, CHINESE, INDIANS AND EVERYONE LIVING IN MALAYSIA,

IT IS TIME TO TAKE ACTION.

I CAN SEE THAT AWARENESS ABOUT BN GOVERNMENT’S EVIL INTENTIONS IS HIGH IN LIM KIT SIANG’S BLOG.

BUT IF WE COUNT THE NUMBER OF COMMENTS & VISITORS HERE.. WE REALLY DON’T HAVE THE NUMBERS.. MAYBE 1000 READERS? 10000 READERS? BUT WE HAVE MUCH MORE ELIGIBLE VOTERS IN MALAYSIA. MAYBE MORE THAN 10 MILLION?

WE NEED TO REACH THESE PEOPLE.

WE NEED TO REACH THE REST OF MALAYSIA. WE NEED LET THEM KNOW WHAT WE KNOW. WE NEED THEM TO KNOW THE EVIL PLOTS BEING SCHEMED AGAINST THEM. MANY ARE STILL NOT INFORMED.

BY READING LIM’S BLOG & COMMENTING HERE & TALKING ABOUT IT WITH PEOPLE CLOSE TO US IS NOT ENOUGH.

LET’S START COLLECTING E-MAIL ADDRESSES. LET’S COLLECT AS MANY AS WE CAN AND FORWARD HONEST NEWS ABOUT THESE DEMONIC ACTS.

KEEP THE WORD SPREADING. ALL, & I MEAN ALL VOTERS DESERVE THE TRUTH BEFORE THEY CAST THEIR VOTES.

18. #18 by Dap man on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 3:47 pm

“Why is the Prime Minister’s Office so protective and defensive about Nasir’s anti-national…”

Because he is an UMNO Malay. They are defenders and protectors of the Malay race and thus have the immunity from prosecution for whatever seditious remarks they make against the ‘pendatangs’.

Nasir has probably switched camp. He is probably now aligned with the DPM who is aiming to become the next PM.

I think his remarks were planned and calculated to embarrass his boss.

Similarly, the Jakim seminar was also intended to pour cold water on Najib’s reform agenda and bring him down.

This vicious and racist DPM camp is also using Perksa and Ibrahim Ali to ‘intimidate’ Najib.

There is more than meets the eye here.

This is a fight between the PM and his deputy. The non-Malay community is the ‘fall guy’ or the ‘stuntman’.

19. #19 by Comrade on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 4:03 pm

1Malaysia concept
    The Prime Minister advocates it
    His officers does not do it as they think fit
    A new idea? Not a bit
    Being preached before by KIT

20. #20 by DCLXVI on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 8:10 pm

Not only Nasir Safar; earlier Ahmad Ismail had already revealed the real face of UMNO’s ideology which obviously promotes its own ethnic dominance and supremacy.
    So, 1Malaysia GTP is clearly appearing to be nothing but smoke & mirrors, illusions created to fool more people into voting for UMNO/BN in the next elections.

21. #21 by ekans on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 8:21 pm

The Pekan MP was once reported in the media, telling everyone to simply just ignore racist remarks made by some UMNO people because UMNO is not a racist party. Well Mr.PM, sorry to say that it’s already very very clear that Nasir Safar had already shoveled up a large heap of bovine fecal matter in the faces of the Malaysian people which is too BIG for any right thinking Malaysian & anyone else to simply just ignore!

22. #22 by chengho on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 8:41 pm

Muhibbah…muhibbah..muhibbah…

23. #23 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 9:48 pm

“There can be no denial that Nasir made the following offensive, insensitive and anti-1Malaysia statements

Labelling Indians and Chinese in Malaysia as “pendatang”;

“Indians came to Malaysia as beggars and Chinese especially the women came to sell their bodies (jual tubuh)”;

Claimed that Umno was solely responsible in drafting the constitution sidelining the contribution of MCA and MIC;

Threat to revoke the citizenship of those vocal about the subject cap for SPM examination.”

Yet, PMO’s statement claimed that:

“Datuk Nasir never intended to make any derogatory remarks. He spoke at length on the contributions made by all races in developing the country. Nevertheless, Nasir apologises for any offence caused…”

My 3 year old nephew didn’t buy that!

24. #24 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 9:53 pm

If we want the nation to progress and retain the best brain there is no other alternative for all right thinking Malaysians, but to kick out UMNO hard and proper. Their existence are a bane to the nation and our economy are going to the dogs.
    If we have Nasir Safar who has sifar brain, what can you expect from UMNOo. Their 1malaysia will forever remain a slogan and nothing will change. At least 60% of the population will agree with me if a survey were to be carried out and the other who agree will only want to bluff themselves including NR.

25. #25 by kcb on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 9:57 pm

N Safar only showed the world his insecurity and his deep-seated sense of inferiority complex.

26. #26 by ekompute on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 10:00 pm

“It is adding insult to injury and rubbing salt into the wound for the Prime Minister’s Office to claim in its three-paragraph statement that Nasir “never intended to make any derogatory remarks” and only “spoke at length on the contributions made by all races in developing the country” as if Nasir’s remarks were not offensive and derogatory enough.”

Don’t expect fairness from UMNO, period. How many times must we be reminded that UMNO has been telling lies all these while? Even the causes of May 13 was a big lie, so I found out recently.

27. #27 by ekompute on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 10:03 pm

““Datuk Nasir never intended to make any derogatory remarks. He spoke at length on the contributions made by all races in developing the country. Nevertheless, Nasir apologises for any offence caused. In light of this, Datuk Nasir will tender his resignation.”

If Nasir did not do anything wrong, why he is resigning?

28. #28 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 11:07 pm

Looking at his face, he can’t possibly be employed for his brain for sure!

29. #29 by alwaysfair on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 11:18 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

You must be joking. The 1Malaysia was just a gimmick to attract votes from all races. All races are equally treated and every vote counted so everyone are welcomed.

But as regards to your rights there are many distinctions, colour, race, religion, party etc.

So the 1Malaysia is solely related to winning votes for them not rights for you or me.

You can bluff some people but my eyes are wide open. After TBH I even got eyes at the back of my head.

30. #30 by alwaysfair on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 11:25 pm

““Datuk Nasir never intended to make any derogatory remarks.”””

He never intended to make any derogatory remarks but the bile just naturally seeped out from his lips because it was overflowing from being steeped in BTN poisonings all his life. Just like shit overflowing from a septic tank. (urgh!!)

31. #31 by lkt-56 on Wednesday, 3 February 2010 - 11:31 pm

1Malaysia – We are Malaysians first and our ethnicity comes second. However… please do not forget some of you are immigrants.

It is obvious our PM’s message of 1Malaysia has different interpretations to different officers. Indeed we must have a select committee to steer these lost sheep in the correct direction.

32. #32 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 1:23 am

The slogans are to fish for votes.
    All Malaysians know that.
    MCA and Gerakan must show their loyalties to UMNO and Najib.
    Just look at the two puppets…OTK and KTK..non stop balls carrying Najib,..for survivals.
    Najib out date salesmanhip ideas will never work.
    The naturally..got students excited….being daily brainwashed…like before…but non are qualified voters.
    Vast majority..young voters are sick of Najib’s hypocritical acts.
    Najib and UMNO BARU are finished.

33. #33 by johnnypok on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 2:19 am

The fuse to another 513 has been lighted.

1-Malaysia is now “1-War”

BN/UMNO is sinking.

34. #34 by monsterball on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 2:35 am

Najib can light up the sky with all his might an power.
    He will never succeed to get Malaysians go logger heads as racists.
    The signs are clear.
    MACC and Police may protect the government of the day..but never Najib..if he wants to play with fire and kill lives to stay in power…no way ca he succeed…with another 513.
    People are smarter and wiser ..yearning for peace and prosperity …by earning a decent living..as Malaysians.
    Proud righteous educated Malays do not want hands out from UMNO..treating them like useless idiots.

35. #35 by ringthetill on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 2:58 am

Such is the result of having half past six leaders and their half past six hangers-on. Lacking in education, etiquette, good manners, self control and all other good leadership qualities. Shameful!

36. #36 by Jamal Malik on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 9:28 am

Nasir made the following offensive, derogatory and anti-1Malaysia statements :-

1) Labeling Indians and Chinese in Malaysia as “pendatang”;
    2) “Indians came to Malaysia as beggars
    3) Chinese especially the women came to sell their bodies (jual tubuh)”;
    4) Claimed that Umno was solely responsible in drafting the constitution sidelining the contribution of MCA and MIC;
    5) Threat to revoke the citizenship of those vocal about the subject cap for SPM examination.”

And the PMO’s statement state that:

“Datuk Nasir never intended to make any derogatory remarks. He spoke at length on the contributions made by all races in developing the country. Nevertheless, Nasir apologises for any offence caused…”

Let’s put it this way. If Nasir Safar really want to apologize, he should go to every single Indians and Chinese to apologize for the offense he committed.
    One don’t go calling Chinese women who came to Malaysia as whores and expect to issue a simple apologies through the PM office. Until then, his apologies is not genuine and NOT accepted. Especially for calling Chinese women Whores !!!!

He has directly and specifically insulted every Chinese and Indians that has arrived into this country.

To prove my point on the depth of his insults, all Nasir Safar and his cohorts have to do is step into any “Kopi Tiam’s” or Indian stalls and repeat the statement he did.
    But then, people from UMNO are gravely short of the grey matter and only good at bullying, stealing, conniving, nepotism, collusion and corruption.

37. #37 by legum on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 10:43 am

To Nasir with love:

How could you have been chosen as the special officer of the procreator of 1Malaysia is beyond the horizon of my contemplation. Where is the constitutional provision that confers you with the jurisdiction and, therefore, the power to revoke the citizenship of a citizen of Malaysia. Being as irredeemably ignorant as you are, you probably do not realise that I did not ‘datang’ from anywhere else, nor did I make myself a ‘tetamu’ in anyone’s house. This is my country and this is my home. That’s why we sing, “Tanah tumpahnya darah ku.” My citizenship is my birthright; my existential right. It is inalienable, irrevocable, inextinguishable and ‘immediately-indefeasible’. Should it otherwise be, yours must certainly be too! Paham?

38. #38 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 4 February 2010 - 10:51 am

Again, I repeat that is Najib’s own lack of personal words on Nasir is what is MOST wrong.

Why? Because even now there were participants and GROUPS, yes GROUPS, denying what he said and meant.

If there are groups that are willing to lie for Nasir in public, then any vagueness from Najib is the same as supporting them.

Najib need to make no less than a NATIONAL STATEMENT on this because its no less important than a declaration of Merdeka by Tunku Abdul Rahman..To not make a statement is challenge Tunku pronouncement of Merdeka for this nation..