Establish opposition-headed Parliamentary Select Committee on 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap to exercise parliamentary oversight if Najib, Tsu Koon and Idris are serious about major government reforms

I embarrassed Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon, the KPI Minister and Chairman of Pemudah and Datuk Idris Jala, the Second KPI Minister and CEO of Pemudah when together with DAP MP for PJ Utara Tony Pua and MP for Bukit Bintang Fong Kui Lun, I visited the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme (GTP) Roadmap exhibition just after noon.

Apart from Idris, the GTP Roadmap exhibition staff and the media, there was hardly a soul from the public. Reporters said that the venue was as empty yesterday except for the official launching ceremony of the GTP Roadmap by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

It is almost ten months since Najib became Prime Minister, and apart from his dazzling “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” slogan and concept, Malaysians have not felt and could not perceive that there is any meaningful change in their daily lives.

The 261-page “1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme” would make an impressive thesis on nation-building and government transformation but the national challenge today is not who can produce the best-sounding thesis but have the political will to implement meaningful changes in all aspects of national life.

In fact, there could not be a worse time for the launching of the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme when for the past month, the Malaysian image of a united, harmonious and progressive nation had suffered prolonged battering in the international media because of the failure of find a quick solution to the “Allah” controversy.

What a united, harmonious and progressive 1Malaysia are we projecting when it is reported by Malaysian Insider yesterday that a forum for some 800 civil servants was the occasion for the spouting of intolerant, incendiary and inflammatory speeches, even to the extent of resurrecting the threat and spectre of another “May 13 Incident”?

This is the Malaysian Insider report yesterday:

Muslim overseers blame Christians for ‘Allah’ row
By Syed Jaymal Zahiid

PUTRAJAYA, Jan 28 — Islamic academics and administrators have blamed Christians for provoking Muslim anger by challenging the ban on their use of the word “Allah”.
Politicians, particularly those from Umno/Barisan Nasional (BN) were also blamed for failing to defend Islam against perceived threats.

Panellists at a forum organised for civil servants here by the Islamic Development Department (Jakim) suggested that the Barisan Nasional (BN) government was lax in defending Islam, after the High Court ruling allowing a Catholic weekly to use “Allah” in its Bahasa Malaysia section.

Zamihan Mat Zin from the Institut Latihan Islam Malaysia blasted politicians for being vocal only on Malay rights but doing little for Islam.
“Some politicians are ever so vocal when it comes to defending Malay rights but when it comes to their religion, they are quiet. What is the use of defending Malay rights if our religion is not protected?” he told about 800 civil servants at a special forum here today.

The pertinent question is why was there a special forum for civil servants to make them the target of such divisive, intolerant, incendiary and inflammatory speeches where one of the speakers, Zamihan even raised the spectre of another “May 13 Incident” as in the following Malaysian Insider report:

But Zamihan went as far as suggesting that a repeat of the May 13 racial riots was possible if the Christians, which to him practised extremism in the matter, did not back down. “Who knows, there might be a Feb 13?” said Zamihan.

Other speakers at the incendiary forum for civil servants included Mohd Aizam Masod, an officer from Jakim’s research department and Mahammad Nasir Disa, deputy chief of Syariah Research Department of the Attorney-General’s office.

Najib should explain firstly, whether it is right and proper, and has become government policy, for civil servants to be involved in such intolerant and incendiary forums; and secondly, what action the Prime Minister would take against those who are so irresponsible as to openly threaten “another May 13” like Zamihan at the forum for civil servants.

If 1Malaysia is to be meaningful, then all must agree that those who undermined inter-racial and inter-religious peace and harmony by threatening “another May 13”, regardless of their race, religion or political affiliation, must be treated as enemies of 1Malaysia and the sternest action must be taken against them.

Will there be such a consensus in the 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme? Will this be discussed and decided at the next Cabinet meeting?

I have grave doubts whether the many beautiful-sounding proposals in the GTP Roadmap would be implemented or whether the GTP Roadmap would end up like the National Integrity Plan 2004-2008 which has become a worthless piece of document after raising such high hopes among Malaysians six years ago!

If the government is serious about the GTP Roadmap, let Najib, Tsu Koon and Idris seek the consent of the Cabinet on Wednesday for the establishment of a parliamentary select committee on 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme to exercise parliamentary oversight to ensure that the beautiful-sounding proposals for government transformation do not remain on paper.

Such a Parliamentary Select Committee on GTP Roadmap should be headed by an Opposition MP and I would love to head such a parliamentary select committee if Najib, Tsu Koon and Idris are really serious about the GTP Programme.

However, I am not insisting that I should be the Chairman of the Parliamentary Select Committee on GTP Roadmap, as it will come as a great surprise if Najib, Tsu Koon and Idris are prepared to raise the proposal at the Cabinet next Wedneday – and even greater surprise if the Cabinet is brave and bold enough to endorse such a proposal.

1. #1 by rahmanwang on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 4:32 pm

All the BN MP’s and Ministers are not interested in corruption busting, performance now stuff.They left early so that they can go back to their old habits.See how they can screw the Malaysian taxpayers!Corruption is in BN’s blood.Why I say that because they are weak and they need to buy votes.So where is the $$ from?Screw the country.

2. #2 by ekompute on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 4:33 pm

Zamihan Mat Zin from the Institut Latihan Islam Malaysia blasted politicians for being vocal only on Malay rights but doing little for Islam: “Some politicians are ever so vocal when it comes to defending Malay rights but when it comes to their religion, they are quiet. What is the use of defending Malay rights if our religion is not protected?” he told about 800 civil servants at a special forum here today.

By the same token, has Zamihan Mat Zin ever voiced up against corruption and abuse of power? What is the use of defending religion if they don’t bother to speak up against racial discrimination, corruption and abuse of power?

3. #3 by dagen on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 4:40 pm

This is the time for all of us to do a gandhi on them. Sooner or later those idiots will have to realise that they are the only bulls charging away in the field. For those amongst them who opened their mouths the widest will suffer the most.

4. #4 by limkamput on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 5:02 pm

Since when is government transformation bought about by exhibitions, labs, and incubators? I think we have got it all wrong; we miss the forest for the trees. Name me one example of an effective government anywhere around the world where transformation has taken place in the manner we are doing now. Effective government is made up of effective people at the helm – people who know about workable policies, good governance, monitoring and implementation. It is never a flash in the pan stuff. Jala, you can run Shell and MAS, but when come to government, you are just a baby. You set KPI for street crimes as if you know better. Let me put it this way: by the time you know about street crimes being a major problem, probably the whole country would have known already. Police must know policing. If police force needs you to tell them that street crimes are a major problem, the Home Affairs Minister and the top echelon of the police should be sacked long ago. That is how we run an effective government. I don’t want to sound negative, I can wager with you all these GTP (be it through exhibitions, labs and incubators) would be just like all the empty corridors. What a nincompoop country we are.

Oh one thing, if public transportation (LRT) needs you to tell them that out of 58 railcars, 38 are not functional and need maintenance, you must realise that it is not a great discovery on your part. The CEO running the LRT should have been sacked many times over. That is how effective public transportation is managed.

5. #5 by limkamput on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 5:07 pm

To make clearer, GTP should have been a continuous and an integral part of the government. Doing the way we do now, may i know how many Idris Jala we need and how many Idris Jala we have. Are we saying the whole establishments are recipients of gaji buta.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 5:07 pm

The biggest problem with this whole GTP thing is that most of its failures can be covered up in one simple way – Spend Money..

What I would have liked to see as part of GTP is two numbers included – lowering the deficit AND NO NEW TAXES.. Its not there… They can always move money around to artificially look it is NOT a total failures by but the ability to raise more money gives Najib HUGE leeways.

Even then, I am confident Najib will fail. At the end of the day they will fake some numbers, let some parts go so that they can make other parts look good AND still they will look pathetic.

The fact of matter is Najib has had so many portfolio and have never made significant changes to it. You think you get these things done by just telling people to do it? You have to show the way, lead. You have to chop a few heads to get it done and in the end he is good enough only to make a token gesture in this regards because of UMNO/BN politics.

7. #7 by limkamput on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 5:08 pm

sorry, repost:To make clearer, GTP should have been a continuous and an integral part of the government. Doing the way we do now, may i know how many Idris Jala we need and how many Idris Jala we have. Are we saying the whole establishments of the government are recipients of gaji buta.

8. #8 by ekompute on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 5:12 pm

Limkamput says: “Oh one thing, if public transportation (LRT) needs you to tell them that out of 58 railcars, 38 are not functional and need maintenance, you must realise that it is not a great discovery on your part. The CEO running the LRT should have been sacked many times over.”

Aiyahhh, if a Malaysian Prime Minister can say he hasn’t warm up yet after 5 years in service and ask for more time, how can we sack a guy who still manage to get 20 railcars running?

9. #9 by Dap man on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 5:16 pm

The is surely an UMNO sanctioned forum and they spoke on UMNO’s behalf. Nothing surprising here.
    No civil servant will have the guts say what they said if not for ‘immunity’ from UMNO.
    Be assured, no action will be taken against them becaause UMNO Malays are above the law.
    They can curse and threaten the non-Malays and nothing will happen to them.

10. #10 by limkamput on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 5:19 pm

We put stupid and ineffective people in all importants positions and then employ Idris Jala to tell them doing this and that. How oxy-moron can we be?

11. #11 by dagen on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 6:02 pm

Marvelous point by limkamput! Government transformation effected through roadshows and by marketing and promotional exercises. What good effort. Looks like they are going for the bang only. What happens after the bang is anybody’s guess. Not quite true there. Let me correct myself. We do know what will follow the bang. Nothing! No action. No follow-through steps.

12. #12 by Cinapek on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 6:18 pm

PM/Chief Secretary,

1) Aren’t the civil servants supposed to be at work? What is 800 of them doing at a forum which had nothing to do with their official duties? Aren’t they supposed to practice “People First” according to the PM’s 1Malaysia doctrine and serve the people instead of taking part in some racist forums?

2) Isn’t threatening people of other faiths with the spectre of May 13th seditious, Mr IGP? PM/IGP/Home Minister, did you not warn the people not to incite or instigate further this issue? Then why did you allow this forum to proceed? By allowing it, are you not doing exactly the same thing as allowing the mosque demo that trigger off the spate of church and gurdwara fires and mosque desecrations?

3) Is the date Feb 13th deliberately mentioned because it is the eve of CNY? Was this done with malicious provocation intent?

4) Maybe someone familiar with the GO for civil servants can clarify if civil servants are allowed to take part in such forums which had nothing to do with their official duties during office hours.

13. #13 by Cinapek on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 6:20 pm

And they wonder why non Malays are reluctant to join the civil service…

14. #14 by gofortruth on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 6:49 pm

Wah “Government Transformation Programme” and “GTP roadmap” all very high sounding catchy phrases. But does Najib really think that having Malaysian tax payers paid tens of millions of Ringgit to some foreign publicity experts for some cheap slogoneering will bring genuine positive transformation to the country?

The world is more & more competitive by the day and like it or not we are already in the midst of a global economic war. We need a lot of hard work and not just some smart words.

Najib is behaving like a small boy. Please grow up!

15. #15 by kpt99 on Friday, 29 January 2010 - 10:37 pm

This will all be remain as heavy flowery rhetoric and thin on real mechanism.Cakap Tak Serupa Biki,Biki Tak serupa Cakap.Rakyat are fed up already.Where are the report cards,public declarations of minsters assets by Abdullah when he became PM.

16. #16 by DCLXVI on Saturday, 30 January 2010 - 12:19 am

That JAKIM forum of 800 civil servants is just a waste of time and the taxpayers’ money. It’s also suspiciously a cover to promote, inflame & drum ultra-UMNO ideology into their heads.
    Clearly, the purpose of such a forum is to
    1) give the impression that Islam is under attack;
    2) imply that the Christians are to be blamed;
    3) suggest another possible ‘public unrest’.

Civil servants?
    More like UMNO servants.
    If the ‘Rakyat didahulukan’ slogan really carries any weight, the Najib-Muhyiddin administration should have never allowed such a forum to take place.

17. #17 by frankyapp on Saturday, 30 January 2010 - 1:24 am

Dr.Rais has advised PAS Kelantan to seek the oil royalty case in the court and not via the stadium. Similarly I hope Dr.Rais too would advise Islamic accademics and administrators not to blame christians via forum organised for civil servants for provoking muslim anger over the use of the word “ALLAH” but to adhere to the high court verdict and wait for the outcome of the appeal court desision.

18. #18 by monsterball on Saturday, 30 January 2010 - 7:01 am

And if the high court agrees with the original judgment made…UMNO members will protest in streets and show their angers ……..like what we saw..and Najib will tell all….those are not UMNO members.
    UMNO love race and religion politics….daily …non stop. If those culprits burning churches are not supporting UMNO BARU…..who are they?
    Just keep watching ….the double standards played at the lowest low class forms..you can ever get…anywhere in the world.
    Go read Mahathir…daily fanning ..exposing many in UMNO BARU are his racists students….especially Najib…trying so hard to be labeled as a hypocrite.
    That he is…and much more than that.
    Malaysians have enough to remember.
    Never forget or move on.
    We are dealing with our lives…your love ones and the country…never ever forget anything.
    UMNO is trying so hard…to tell Malaysians move on…so many good news..trust them…vote for them.
    Bottom line….how many ca be fooled by them.

19. #19 by yhsiew on Saturday, 30 January 2010 - 11:50 am

Establish opposition-headed Parliamentary Select Committee on 1Malaysia Government Transformation Programme Roadmap to exercise parliamentary oversight…. (Kit).
    ======================================================

Kit,

I am doubtful if they will allow you to be an overseer of the GTP.

Once the Opposition have their hand in the GTP, the ruling regime will not be able to “fiddle around” with the money allocated for the program neither can they quietly handover contracts to friends and relatives. The ruling regime will try as far as possible to exclude outside influences so that they can do whatever they want with the money and contracts.

20. #20 by Yee Siew Wah on Saturday, 30 January 2010 - 12:28 pm

1Malaysia or Malaysia1 for all that matters. There is no diff. to the rakyat at all. Just look at the recent events with regard to religious, fairness, etc… will tell one that whatever the present government does will come to NIL irrespective. A big fat ZERO.
    That praying mantis Dr. ktk and his cronies EXCEPT for Datuk Idris Jala, all of them are wasting not only their time but rakyat too. Who cares what they do as they are already irrelevant to them long long time ago. We already have had enough from the present bunch of politicians running the country. Come GE13 we will kick their arse out for good.

21. #21 by frankyapp on Saturday, 30 January 2010 - 1:52 pm

And Dr Rais would lead them and protest in the streets of Kuala Lumpur,telling the angry mob,it’s okay in the streets as people can see and join in but not in the stadium as it confines only within the arena.PAS is stupid and Umno is smart and Rais would add saying this’s Umno’s ketuanan melayu malaysia and Umno is above broad .Frankly this’s what would be expected to happening in Malaysia only,a malaysia which is truly Asia. LOL.

22. #22 by pwcheng on Sunday, 31 January 2010 - 1:28 am

GTP is Government Transformation Programme or Grand Thievery Programme. The latter will definitely sounds more appropriate.

23. #23 by pwcheng on Sunday, 31 January 2010 - 1:34 am

The talk of fighting against corruption by UMNO is already rancid. And believe me only the naïve will believe in it. As the saying goes “it is easier to move mountains than to change habits”. Corruption is already in UMNO’s blood and it is already a culture or habit which is strongly embedded in them. The rhetoric and heighten activities of showcasing the GTP labs will soon fade away into the horizon to wait for another dawn with another slogan.
    The way that things are moving and from past and present experiences (as I had lived through all the 6 Prime ministers) I can safely say, nothing will change. Putting 2 scapegoats to be in charge of the GTP is already an indication that things there are no seriousness, one a total dropout and the other a parachutist who knows next to nothing about politics and an easy meat for the UMNO warlords who will tear him into shreds and make mincemeat out of him. Even “strongman” like OTK can be made into a dumb barrel (have any body heard him talking about fighting corruption nowadays) what more these two stooges.
    Putting 2 and 2 together, unfortunately I have to agree that there is no political will, only staging a show to hoodwink the gullible. I can confidently say that the GTP and all its lab exhibitions are staged right from the start and failure is not a coincident but a choice for UMNO.
    The people must realize that UMNO had brought dismal failure to the country by its massive corruption and wrong policies. I hope the Malays will realize that it is no use to have special privileges when there is non to share. What difference does it make whether you are a king or a beggar if the country has no food?