Hishammuddin, don’t gloat as damage is not just door of a church, but the priceless religious harmony and national unity and billions of ringgit in lost investment, tourism and Malaysia as an international educational hub

The Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein should not gloat that “the situation is under control” when he said yesterday that “since last night there had been no serious incidents” and that “the only damage I was informed of is to the door of the church (Sidang Injil Borneo church in Seremban)”.

Hishammuddin should know that the damage to the country from the spate of church attacks and arsons in the past few days cannot be dismissed and reduced to just the door of a church, when the casualty is the priceless religious harmony and national unity in the country and the billions of ringgit in lost investments, tourism and Malaysia as an international educational hub with the country losing its place of distinction as a multi-religious country which had been able to maintain an incident-free record in inter-religious conflict.

In the past five days, Malaysia had been in the international news for all the wrong reasons.

It must be very galling that in Indonesia, the two largest Muslim organizations, Nahdlatul Ulama (NU) and Muhammadiyah are calling on Muslims in the country not to draw inspiration from the Malaysian church attacks.

“Don’t be influenced by the incidents in Malaysia. Don’t attack churches. It is against the teachings of our religion and the laws of our state,” NU deputy chairperson Shalahuddin Wahid was quoted as saying by Koran Jakarta daily on Saturday.

The “Don’t compare apples with oranges” argument presented by the Home Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Mahmood Adam to foreign missions yesterday to explain the government’s ban on the use of “Allah” by non-Muslims when other countries allow the practice lacks persuasive power, whether to interested foreigners or Malaysians.

If anyone is guilty of comparing apples with oranges, it is the UMNO leaders, as for instance likening the use of the term Allah by non-Muslims as equivalent to the cow-head sacrilege in Shah Alam, when the latter act was perpetrated with religious hatred and venom which is not the case at all with the former.

This is one SMS which I have received:

“You people are the community leader and the word Allah being sang everyday in school. How shall I answer my little kid. We parents have no answer for them.”

The Cabinet cannot shirk responsibility for the crisis of confidence, not only to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia slogan but five decades of Malaysian nation building, and should set up an inter-faith commission tomorrow to restore national and international confidence in Malaysia as a model for inter-religious understanding, goodwill and harmony.

1. #1 by k1980 on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 2:43 pm

Will the “Don’t compare apples with oranges” criteria be applied to SPM scholarship applicants too?

That is, 99% of scholarships go to the oranges because they cannot be compared to the apples, which get only 1%.

2. #2 by k1980 on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 3:03 pm

Q: Why is the per-capita GDP in Malaysia so low?
    A: You cannot compare apples with oranges.

Q: Why is Malaysia still a low-income country?

Q: Why is foreign investment going to other countries?

Bolehland has been renamed Apples-Oranges Land.

3. #3 by taiking on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 3:16 pm

Yes LKS. And by extrapolation, macc is doing well because only one potential witness was killed.

4. #4 by k1980 on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 3:17 pm

Scenes of life in Bolehland

Dad: Why is your grades for your exam so low?
    Kid: You cannot compare apples with oranges lah.

Son: Why is my pocket money so little?
    Dad: You cannot compare apples with oranges one.

Wife: Why are you taking a new wife?
    Hubby: You cannot compare apples with oranges lah.

Minister: Why is my KPI so hau siowlow?
    Koh TK: You cannot compare apples with oranges one.

5. #5 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 3:50 pm

““the only damage I was informed of is to the door of the church”
    ————————
    This most sarcastic remark reveals just how shallow is the thinking of Kerismudin. He is so utterly void of any sense & sensibility.

So many chruches attacked & all they have managed to catch are just 2 suspects. (Remember only 2 “nobody” charged for jet engines? Only 2 “nobody” charged for blowing up a Mongolian beauty?). WHO are the big guns behind these crimes?????

No wonder our national crime situation is still so bad under his current watch as home minister.

Is UMNO so rich & yet so bankrupt of leaders with at least some basic logic & wisdom????

6. #6 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 4:05 pm

D dear cousin could hv replied, frivolous, frivolous
    For Krist’s sake, just doors decorated mah
    Belum see my unsheathed keris yet, baru tahu apa itu tak frivolous

7. #7 by Dap man on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 4:06 pm

This is the Johor Anthem which is sung in schools at every Monday assemblies.

Allah peliharakan Sultan
    ‘Nugrahkan dia segala kehormatan
    Sihat dan ria, kekal dan makmur
    Luaskan kuasa, menaungkan kami
    Rakyat dipimpini berzaman lagi
    Dengan Merdeka bersatu hati
    Allah berkati Johor
    Allah selamatkan Sultan.

8. #8 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 4:11 pm

The Selangor Sultan put ban on usage of the word “Allxh” by the non-muslims in Selangor. Perhaps the non-muslims of Selangor who need to address God as “Allxh” should go to a church in Negeri Sembilan, where the restriction on the usage of the word “Allxh” may not be so strict!

I hope that Tuanku Muhriz will not accede to any request for putting ban on the usage of the word “Allxh” in Negeri Sembilan. This is because any such kind of irrational ban will not only cause religious disharmony to the plural society but it also shows no respect towards the late grandfather of Tuanku Muhriz, namely Tuanku Abdul Rahman (who is the figurehead on Ringgit Cash Notes). Tuanku Abdul Rahman married a Christian wife who was originated from Kuala Pillah. This Christian wife later gave birth to Tuanku Muhriz’s uncle, the late Tuanku Jaafar. Therefore, Christianity should be given due respect in Negeri Sembilan for the reason of family harmony. All of us should learn a good lesson from the biblical verses on the quarrel between two wives of Abraham (Ibrahim), namely Sarah and Hagar.

May we pray for the wellness and long live of Tuanku Muhriz of Negeri Sembilan!

9. #9 by taiking on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 4:15 pm

Why the big man stopped unsheathing his keris? [deleted]

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 4:21 pm

When the first life is lost because of racial or religious tension in this country, I say the first one they should go after is Hishamuddin and Najib ..

11. #11 by Tonberry on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 4:43 pm

Says UBS: “Question: which Asian country had the biggest FX losses in 2009?” The answer is Malaysia and by a very large margin; we estimate that official reserves fell by well more than one quarter on a valuation-adjusted basis”. It describes the situation as “bizarre” and contrasts Malaysia with other countries with large current account surpluses – Thailand, China, Taiwan, Singapore, and Hong Kong – which have seen their reserves increase – as should be expected.

Malaysia’s Disastrous Capital Flight

12. #12 by taiking on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 4:51 pm

Onlooker reports that the selangor sultan had ban the use of “the word” by non-muslims. Without meaning to be disrespectful (I hv to say this otherwise umnoputras will accuse us of challenging the sultan), has the sultan the right to make such decision with binding effect on non-muslims? Islamic matters is under him. No doubt. But this decision straddles two sides – it involves muslim and non-muslim.

13. #13 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:27 pm

Selangor anthem : “…., Allxh lanjutkan usia Tuanku….” banned by Selangor Sultan to be sang by non-muslims subjects, as non-muslims are not allowed to mention the word Allxh???

14. #14 by taiking on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:33 pm

Nice one there, i_love_malaysia.

15. #15 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:35 pm

Why only ban the use of the word Allxh by non-muslims???
    BN-UMNO govt should ban the use of al-Quran by non-muslims, they should ban the hearing of any message or call to pray from mosques by non-muslims, they should also ban the use of any al-Quran verses in print media or any other channels that are accessible by non-muslims!!! They should ban the halal food being consumed by non-muslims, they should ban muslims from using the taxes collected from non-muslims!!! They should ban muslims from staying near non-muslims!!!

16. #16 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:36 pm

I reiterate, the issue is OVER.. The Christians MUST be allowed to use the word. There is no choice in the matter..No matter what the Sultan says, no matter what any ulama says. Its a matter of logic.

If we don’t do this, then I suggest everyone either prepare funeral money or they leave the country as soon as they can.. We will go down in flames sooner or later and I have a sinking feeling it won’t be long..

17. #17 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:39 pm

Jesus came 2000 years ago to explain in a very simple way to human beings about God or Allxh, the Creator of the Universe and every thing that is in it!!! Jesus used the terms Father, Son and Holy Spirit to explain to human beings which we can understand best as we all have human father and may be son!!! We might not understand well if Jesus used a different way to explain to us e.g. If He said there is God no. 1, God no. 2 and God no. 3 which might confuse a lot of people (and this is against the rule that there’s only one God!!!).
    Simple analogy to show is that God is like water (H2O), He can be in different forms i.e. Father (ais), Son (water) and Holy Spirit (steam) but they are the same God!!! If we dont acknowledge God can exist in 3 different forms which even water can, we limit the power of our Almighty God or Allxh by our own human understanding and limitations!!!

18. #18 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:46 pm

Case of allowing only younger brother (Islam) to call Father (Allxh) all by himself!!!
    Do you think The Almighty Allxh will be happy with this man made rules to prevent all His creations to call and worship Him???

19. #19 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:49 pm

Simple analogy to show Trinity God: God is like water (H2O), He can exist in different forms i.e. Father (ais), Son (water) and Holy Spirit (steam) but they are the same God!!! They are not like 3 in 1 instant coffee!!! They are real 3 in 1 but of the same one God!!!

20. #20 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:53 pm

Even if what was burnt was just a doormat at the church, Hisapmuddin has to take full responsibility as Home Minister! Does he know where HOME is?

21. #21 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 5:56 pm

BN-UMNO govt should ban muslims from working for non-muslims!!! They should ban muslims from taking orders from non-muslims!!! They should ban muslims from taking holidays on non-muslims holidays!!! They should ban muslims from everything non-muslims!!!

22. #22 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 6:03 pm

The “Don’t compare apples with oranges” argument presented by the Home Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Mahmood Adam to foreign missions……lacks persuasive power…..(Kit)
    =====================================================

Agreed.

Datuk Seri Mahmood Adam was trying to come up with an excuse to defend the ban. Didn’t he know that even fundamentalist Islamic countries such as Iran and Yemen do not have such restriction?

23. #23 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 6:42 pm

Of course there is another reason which makes the Umnoputras wanting to put ban on the usage of the word “Allxh” by the non-Muslims, especially the Christians. The Umnoputras want a uniformity in the religious doctrine of Islam in Malaysia so that they don’t have to waste much time trying to explain to non-Muslims that which Islam denomination is cult and which one is not a cult. It will also block the access by Muslims and prevent the Muslims from getting better understanding about how other people handle God in a very much different way than the way which the Muslims follow everyday for handling the Islamic God. With the adoption of a uniform teaching code in Islam, it will be much easier for the Umnoputras to have the tight control on the way of thinking and the preferred life style of the Muslims. This can be made possible by simply allowing only one single denomination of Islam to exist in Malaysia so that the Muslims can be brain-washed by the Umno-appointed Kadi in order to turn them into the Umno-proned loyal believers.

Tightening up the control on the religious mindset of the Muslim community is deemed as the most effective way to enhance the loyalty towards Umno from the Malay people! This concept is more or less like the concept of Nazi Concentration Camp, which will produce one single pool of Malay loyalists to Umno in order to ensure the longevity of Umno as the ruling party in Malaysia!

24. #24 by ringthetill on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 6:44 pm

The BN is so used to controlling the rakyat. Control is the wrong choice of word. What we want to hear is the word – resolve.
    Control and sweeping it under the carpet is not a long term solution. Only with wisdom can a long term solution be found – have we got the will and wisdom?

25. #25 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 6:57 pm

I must say that Najib lacks leadership like Abdullah. That is why they could not solve the problem politically and it has to be taken to court. The ministry made the first mistake in patenting allxh in boleh.

It would be nice to hear the Pope and the Arabic Muslim leaders speaking about the issue. I think other Muslim and Christian leaders, such as Indonesia, may speak otherwise. Christians have been using Allxh earlier than Muslims in Arabic countries. That means, Christians can patent Allxh in the Middle East.

Malaysia is now in the map for this Allxh issue. You can see the news in BBC. Congratulation!

26. #26 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 7:11 pm

This guy Krissmuddin has a mind that is too simple to be a minister, let alone a home minister. He has the thinking of a 15-16 year old child who sees things on the surface value. He is just naive when he try to damage control the situation by commenting “since last night the only damage I was informed of is to the door of the church”.
    What he cannot see or refuse to see is the incitement of hatred by one group which indirectly is encouraged by UMNO. It is not the physical damage that is the prime consideration but the psychological damage and the damage to the image of the country is vital.

27. #27 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 7:19 pm

I think the Allxh issue has become a diplomatic issue, like how Vatican should interfere with the Catholic oppression in China.

I don’t think the Buddist and Hindu Chinese and Indian leaders can speak for the Catholics and Christians. Where are the other Catholic ministers, such as Robert Lau, other than the Sabah minister who spoke out?

28. #28 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 7:54 pm

Daniel Raut n SIB must pray really hard n VOTE 4 d demise of Umno B/BN

29. #29 by storm62 on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 8:10 pm

“the only damage I was informed of is to the door of the church (Sidang Injil Borneo church in Seremban)”.

– investors confidence – damaged
    – tourism industries – damaged
    – trust amongst races – damaged
    – government’s image – damaged
    – 1Malaysia slogan – total lost.

30. #30 by -ec- on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 8:49 pm

1malaysia, 2fruits,
    we can’t grow oranges and apples, they are imported,
    oranges and apples are no bumiputras,
    why pengdatang fruits have such importance in the country?

pure stupidity, shortsightedness and no brain. and we have these people administering the country…god bless malaysia (yes, to both gods)

31. #31 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 8:56 pm

The website below contains an article on the definition of the word “Allxh”, which was written by a foreign Islamic scholar. Please note that the author discussed about a much more balanced view on “Allxh” from the perspective of a foreign Muslim (as different from the narrow-minded Umnoputra Muslims) and the author confirmed that “Allxh” has been used to refer to the same God who has been worshipped by the followers of either Judaism, Christianity, or Islam but the author also took effort to write some paragraphs to explain about the differences between the Christian God and the Islamic God!

http://www.godnames.org/godnames.php?f=WhoIsAllah

32. #32 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 9:33 pm

Education hub. I share the excitement of all the commentators regarding one Malaysian being the top student in Singapore’s O levels last year. Well done ! I am sure many Malaysians are proud of this student’s achievement. Hopefully this student will come home one day to this land that has seen 50 years of peace and this student will be among the many to continue the peace which their ancestors have fought for.

33. #33 by riversandlakes on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 10:11 pm

What is Kerismudin gloating about? What did they do?! Are we at the mercy of these terrorists?

34. #34 by riversandlakes on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 10:13 pm

I’m proud of that student but I’ll be very concerned if he/she wishes to return to Apples-Oranges Land. Why suffer there.

Go forth and maximize your potential – elsewhere!

35. #35 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 10:32 pm

when a community is self-preceived as under siege, then the issue becomes really difficult to resolve. How one wants to address the Almighty shouldn’t never have been an issue. We all know the reason for its controversy. Hence further discussion can only bring up the temperature across the divide. Similar problem doesn’t seem to affect those who follow the “Eastern philosophies of Life”. Here we basically believe in: you shall be paid for in what you have done in this life, for good or bad: Just like the quotation” you reap what you sow; but it seems just to stop there! The real actions are absent; all you need is some acceptance of Faith of a particular path hence you’re saved! Somehow such approach seems to create the mentality that you need more people to walk the same path otherwise you won’t be saved! The REAL relationship between you and the Creator doesn’t seem important anymore. Then you use some external expression to show that you’re better in your faith by physically champion the Cause of violence?? Well, this is 21st Century and not 12th Century. Anyway to those who ‘directed’ this episode, you shall reap what you’ve planted abd quite soon. So pray hard!!

36. #36 by gnustiy on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 11:16 pm

Hisham is a straw brain.

37. #37 by ablastine on Tuesday, 12 January 2010 - 11:36 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

the spelling for Allah is ‘A L L A H’ and not ‘Allxh’. Does it mean that just because we are Malaysian we have to purposefully mispell the word ALLAH for the benefit of the church burners? I think we should stand firm in what we believe in. I am proud to be a Malaysian and I am not about to terrorised by hooligans. Today it is Allah, tomorrow it is going to be the cross and next week it is going to be (deleted). Please stand dignified as a Malaysian and human being. We cannot bow to terror or our children and decendants will not have a future. Please do not delete my comment. It is message to my bethrens in Malaysia who wants a better future for our children. We can still save it if we stand firm and together.

(Admin’s note: This blog never mispelt “Allah” as “Allxh”. The word “Allah” is one of the words for the moderation list in view of the sensitivity of the subject. However, commenters have pre-empted this by using “Allxh” to avoid the moderation list. This blog does not censor any comments, but those which are crude,vulgar or offensive particularly on race or religion have no place here.)

38. #38 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 12:05 am

He is so stupid.

39. #39 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 6:17 am

Notice this guy having way too much TV coverage since he became the home minister and his cousin became the PM ?

What’s this ? Free Airtime and publicity ? Malaysian Idol BUT minus simon cowell(if we had a version of him, he would have humiliated these clowns till they even want to see themselves in the mirror again)

That’t what we lack in malaysia, an independent critical media that has immunity in nailing these hypocrites.

40. #40 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 6:23 am

Great, i’m now wondering whether the government ministers either learn as they go or are complete imbeciles !

According to the constitution the King cannot overrule the high court’s decision though he is the supreme authority of the religion. Now someone enlighten me, therefore can the Sultan of Selangor ban the use of the word in the state of selangor given that aforementioned statement.

I’m bewildered to the many countless statement made by many leaders in the country since this fiasco began.

41. #41 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 6:41 am

The arson report was on the BBC website for at least 2 or 3 solid days. Gosh, I could not imagine what kind of damage it had done to the national economy!

42. #42 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 7:01 am

“Don’t compare apples with oranges” argued the Home Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Mahmood Adam to foreign missions. He is right (from his perspective), though whether foreign missions understood is another matter.

Loh in posting #48 in preceding thread has alluded to it already – “…religion is the basis for classifying Malays, and with that the entitlement to NEP. That is why people like mamakthir talk about race and religion. Islam in Malaysia to Malays has a special position quite unlike Islams to Muslims in other countries which serves purely religious purposes. Religion will continue to be a sensitive issue as long as NEP remains.”

In other words religion is not just a belief system but (since May 13) is used to define cultural identity of Bumiputra and, hence, like race, one and inextricable, also to symbolise special privileges, or if you like, supremacy or Ketuanan ideology which defines and has (politically) become the substratum of the ruling party in relation to its constitutency……

It is this ideology around which the ruling party exists and justifies its existence ie raison de etre.; it is this which each member, delegate, party holder of the ruling party measures his worth or popularity as against another rival within for positions with access to the gravy train/largesse. It is also the seamless web that holds all strands of the ruling party in relation to other subservient component parties within the ruling coalition together which again explains why MCA, Gerakan MIC and other East Malaysian component parties within the BN recognise the “sensitivity” of this issue and hence are quiet about the controversy. It is the ideology that has (to detractors) caused the country to lose its brains and competitiveness, and by rhetoric of the politicians (‘Pendatang’ etc) and NEP caused racial polarisation.

The controversy then is not just about the use of word. It about symbolism of power, the cornerstone of what the ruling party stands for, and has transformed to become an issue of “special rights/privileges” to which the use of the word has also become part of!

Hence it is most unlikely (though the arsons may have stopped) that the issue is OVER as Big Joe hopes with his further comment “The Christians MUST be allowed to use the word. There is no choice in the matter..No matter what the Sultan says, no matter what any ulama says. Its a matter of logic…”

For this is not about logic: it is about power whatever academics and religious authorities may argue of etymological origins of the word.

That is why the controversy – and the ban – was created in 2007 by the ban of the word where none existed before since independence. That is why the govt appeals against Lau Bee Lan’s decision, and cannot be seen withdrawing the appeal in spite of arson cases and concerns and risks of alienating Christian voters in East Malaysia or contradicting even 1 Malaysia, the mantra forged by ruling party since 308 to compete and take the shine out of Anwar/PR’s winning formula of inclusiveness!

That is why the main hope to reconciling the irreconcilable – ie 1 Malaysia without violating Ketuanan – is the hope for the Appellate Court to uphold the govt’s appeal to vest the ban with legal legitimacy (just like cases involving Perak Assembly) in further hope that the Herald will compromise (as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Jamil Khir Baharom has already suggested) ostensibly in the interest of “peace and security” to prevent the arsons of churches and sacrilege of places of worship. This way of argument began – not 5 or 6 days ago but since 1969.

43. #43 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 7:06 am

Since the King cannot overrule the High courts decision, what more the Sultan of Selangor’s decree?

44. #44 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 7:45 am

Jeffrey is spot on the money (forgive the pun!), about this thing.

Yesterday, someone threw a stone at a Sikh temple. Its clearly amateur done by someone out to do mischief and not religious in nature. BUT it proves the point that there is no choice to the matter. BN have to change course, they can’t win this with the usual playbook of hypocrisy. They have to go back to the fundamentals as envisioned by Tunku. Mahathir must lose to Tunku in order for UMNO/BN to survive. Judgement day has arrived for Mahathirism

45. #45 by a2a on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 7:49 am

All human are god children.

Stopping his children to united divided by names and religions will be judged by god you enter to heaven or hell.

46. #46 by taiking on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 8:43 am

Is someone eating apples and oranges or talking about them here? They belong to umno. For God’s sake go seek umno’s permission immediately and dont forget to seek their forgiveness.

Err cintanegara, kassim and friends. I pray that you people forgive me for talking about apples and oranges here earlier on without your / umno’s consent. I am sincerely sorry. I realise that I am wrong and I promise not to repeat the wrong.

47. #47 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 9:14 am

The most extremist political party in Malaysia is…… you guest it right , no need to mention , thy capitalize on trival issues to endear themselves to the muslims on the street. and they say they are innocent, they said they had nothing do do with the burning of churches, when in fact the two top ministers from that party were the ones who endorsed the demonstrations ( after friday prayers) at the very first place, only following that the attacks began . NOW they have started stoning a sikh temple, WHERE DOES THE BUCK STOP WITH THESE CORRUPT EXTREMISTS???? Hitler mentality has alredy set into them , this would lead to their own ruins .They think themselves to be the aryan race in Malaysia , and the rest has got no rights, bloody bigots.

48. #48 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 9:21 am

Quotation:
    “There is nothing more dangerous than the conscience of a bigot” [George Bernard Shaw]

That why i think the country would be going to ruins if the ruling party is not ousted.

49. #49 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 9:32 am

Can I go to court and argue following the lines of kerismuddin if I was arrested for stealing a piece of candy from a shop, by saying it is not as serious as stealing a diamond worth millions? Theft is theft, regardless of the value of the commodity stolen, so similarly ARSON remains arson, regardless of the extent of the damage!

Does Kerismuddin know this simple logic?

50. #50 by taiking on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 9:55 am

Hey ktteokt, this most recent logic is nothing compared with the good guilt and bad guilt logic he mentioned not too long ago.

I used to think that syed botak was bad. Now the crown goes to our new Home Min.

I suppose with umno the wow never stops.

51. #51 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 12:13 pm

Can someone please explain to me how is it possible for the Sultan to ban the word in selangor when the King cannot even overrule the High courts ruling based on the constitution?

52. #52 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 1:21 pm

If that word is to be banned in Selangor by the Sultan, is His Royal Highness ready to also ban non-Malay policemen from wearing the PDRM logo which bears the words “ALLAH” and “MOHAMED” in Jawi on both sides of the crown?

53. #53 by MGR1940 on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 1:50 pm

i_love_malaysia,
    I have another one for you….Ah Meng the pork seller at main market went to the bank and deposited his week long cash earning selling pork.
    His money was later send to the withdrawal counter. Then here comes Pa Haji to withdraw some money to pay tabong haji at the bank. Somehow the same money Ah Meng deposited was given to Pa Haji without knowing from whom or where the money came from.

Are we going to have muslim and non muslim malaysian ringgit soon?

54. #54 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 13 January 2010 - 2:17 pm

// 1.this is one of the reasons why I said 1 malaysia is in fact 1 rojak malaysia. // 2 ….are we going to have muslim and non muslim malaysian ringgit soon ? Not likely,because there are other currencies also circulating in malaysia.This is a task,I think no umnoputra would be able to impost it. Now I think I’m convinced why most if not all money changers in malaysia are non muslim indians.