Mahathir the Maverick at it again

by A

Subject: Re: BERNAMA – Forget The Origin Country, We Are Malaysians – Mahathir

On my way to London yesterday, I finished 3/4 of the book on the Maverick, my conclusion long before reading this book was; all of us , Malaysians ( my ancestors came from China to Malaysia more than 150 yrs ago) have been divided ( or screwed) by all these greedy and heartless politicians, whether they are from UMNO, MCA, Gerakan or MIC, and they are all the same. The wealth in the country should be shared by all of us, but UMNO started NEP, AP, MARA, etc etc to split us in the name of wealth distribution. But after 40 years since May 13 1969, what have we achieved? The govt still think that all the targets set under NEP have not been achieved? How could these be possible if 30pc of PLC shares must be allocated to bumiputras, Non-bumis not allowed to get APs, open new petrol stations, scholarships, all govt contracts must have Bumis equity, certain sectors of the businesses were not opened to non- bumis until the recent years but still tightly controlled, and Bumi controlled companies so as GLCs don’t have to hire non-bumis. So how could the nation be united, progress or the lastest favour of the day, 1Malaysia be successful if meritrocracy is not relevant in practice? And each day we become more suspicious of each other’s co-existance.

When I decided to move my family abroad and take up the CEO job managing a small MNC with revenue of USD2b and 20k employees in 4 countries, my UMNO and MCA friends said to me; how could you abandon your country and work in Spore? I told them to find me a GLC position and I don’t mind a loss making one for me to turnaround. A couple of them told me, they would look into it. More than 5 yrs had since passed, I received no reply, except every time when I met them, they would say, when are you coming back?

Pete and Jalil know me very well. For the rest to know, I am now managing China’s second largest fridge and freezer maker with more 3m units sales a year, China’s largest diesel engine producer with close to 500K diesel engines sold this year, plus the largest building materials supplier in Spore. Under me, one co is listed in NY, one in KLSE and three in Spore. Am I not qualified to manage a GLC?

Don’t get me wrong that I need a job, but to move abroad after 46 years, was quite a painful experience!

I would love to return to my home land, share my experiences and contribute my knowledge to the development of the country. But with all these greedy politicians (P) fighting for positions (P), leading them to power (P) and finally the big P – PROFIT; why should they place the rakyat’s interests above theirs? Look at the mess in MCA, and the 6 Indian parties fighting to exist, and investment for a seat in the UMNO supreme council. It is all about the big P, not the Malaysians.

How many of the current ministers are qualified or fit to manage a ministry? Managing a ministry is very similar to managing a business which involves in managing various resources, especially the huge financial resources allocated to the ministry for the benefits ( security and safety, environment, less toll, education) of the people who paid taxes ( in business is ROSF or dividend paid to the investors), for the poor to improve their livings, for national development on infrastructure to create future values hence sustainbility. But hardly any of them has any clue on what Human Resources or Financial Management are all about. They are too occupied with cutting ribbons, party meetings, overseas trips, identify contracts for pockets (the big P).

All these started with the Maverick’s 22 years in power. 1n 1986 I started with a salary of RM2400 working in a bank, bought a Nissan Sunny for 13k, and 4 years later bought a double storey terrace house in PJ for 120k. I sold the house in 1997 for 350k ( now probably worth 450k), and a 1300cc car easily costs 30K or more now, but today new graduates still get their starting pay of RM2000. What went wrong in our country?

As a Chinese origin, let me share with our fellow Malaysians, we are no threat to this country, economically or politically. We are the minorities, we don’t aspire to govern the country, even the opposition wins the next election, Prime Minister will still be a Malay. MCA is not relevant to us anymore. What have they done to protect us? So don’t listen to all the Politicians, that the Chinese are trying to grab power, Is this possible? We want a fair govt to treat us as Malaysians, and play no racial politics to divide all of US.

Look at the Airports and certain government buidlings, we have signages in Arabic and Japanese, but not in Chinese or Tamil. If you look at Renminbi (Chinese currency), there are 6 different languages printed on the notes to represent the 6 major races in China , although the Hans ( most the Malaysians Chinese are Han origins) easily constitue 90pc of Chinese population. Minorities are not respected in our homeland. In China , the one child policy is mandatory for the Hans, not the other minorities.

After 52 long years, it is time we give another political party a chance to govern. If we don’t change, there is Malaysia , but there will be no Malaysians! For our Children, our future, think about it.

Merry Christmas and happy new year to all of you. Thank you for your time.

The following is the Bernama report which inspired the above musings by another member of the Malaysian diaspora:

Forget The Origin Country, We Are Malaysians – Mahathir

PENANG, Dec 23 (Bernama) — Everyone in Malaysia have to set a side their origin country and start calling themselves Malaysians for the success of the 1Malaysia concept, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said.

The former prime minister said they had to put aside their origin country such as India or China and start calling themselves Malaysians.

“They must put aside their origin country and call themselves Malaysians for 1Malaysia to be successful,” he said during an appreciation dinner with the Association of Muslim Kadayanallur here Wednesday.

Tun Mahathir called on the people to help realise the government’s aspiration of strengthening racial unity and harmony in line with the 1Malaysia concept.

He said people in Thailand and Indonesia called themselves Thais and Indonesians respectively but this did not happen here.

To a claim that the Indian Muslims in the country had been neglected, he said they should choose to either become a Muslim or an Indian.

“The country is very liberal and I think they (Indian Muslims) will be accepted by all if they can pick either to become a Muslim or Indian.”.

Tun Mahathir said there was no difference between the various races as everyone were Malaysians.

“The federal constitution also defined a Muslim very clearly. If they want to become a Muslim then just follow the constitution.”

He said if Indian Muslims in the country still called themselves as such, others might think that they still had links to the origin country.

“The problem of Indian Muslims will be resolved if they can decide and choose to become either a Muslim or an Indian,” he added.

— BERNAMA

1. #1 by mendela on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 11:26 am

A powerful peice of writing all Malaysians should read!

A MUST READ for all politicians, including the Mahathir the Maverick!

More than 300 thousands top brains left Malaysia in last 10 months. How many more thousands could Malaysia afford to lose?

2. #2 by All For The Road on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 11:29 am

With the New Year 2010 around, do we all Malaysians really get equal treatment and due respect from all quarters?

Is the 1Malaysia truly equal and fair to all races that we call Malaysia our one and only ‘home’ ?

3. #3 by BoycottLocalPapers on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 11:33 am

I think I know why Mahathir wanted us to forget our country of origin. Actually, Mahathir wanted others to forget his country of origin which is INDIA.

Mahathir Mudah Lupa.

The truth is UMNO wants us to forget the fact that the Malays were originally Hindus and Buddhists and the fact that Parameswara was a Hindu and an Indian prince and not a Malay Muslim like what UMNO wanted us to believe.

Why do you think our our government wiped out any references to a famous Melaka prince as being Hindu and belonging to the powerful Hindu empire Sri Vijaya?

All of a sudden our museums and school textbooks refer to Parameswara as a Malay prince.

What race ruled or did not rule is besides the point.

What is important is not butchering history to create your own version of truths.

You cannot change your race even if you convert to Arab’s religion.

The truth is that lineage of Melaka Sultans are Indians, not Malays.

It is no secret that Parameswara was an Indian and a Hindu prince.

It is clear from records that Parameswara never converted to Islam.

He was an Indian Hindu who fled Palembang in Sumatra to eventually found Melaka circa 1400 AD.

It was Sri Maharaja who converted himself and the court of Melaka to Islam, and as a result took on the name of Sultan Muhammad Shah sometime after 1435.

The most famous of Indian Hindu Kings were Raja Chola and his son Rajendra Chola who invaded Southern Thailand, Kedah, Perak, Johor and Sumatra about 1000 AD.

This is Raja-raja Chola – the Indian/Hindu kings and not Raja Chulan – a Malay king.

But what is really sad is that our children are taught as though Malaysian history suddenly began in 1400 with an Islamic Melaka.

We are led to believe that the Indians and Chinese first arrived on the shores of Malaysia in about 1850 as desperate indentured labourers, farmers and miners . Nothing could be further from the truth.

The cultural influences of India in particular, and China, in South East Asia span over 2,000 years, starting with the arrival from India of the Brahmanical prince and scholar – Aji Saka in Java in AD78, through to Vietnam, Cambodia (Indo China), Thailand, Burma, Indonesia, Bali, Borneo, Brunei and beyond.

The findings at Bujang Valley speak of an ancient Indian/Hindu presence in Kedah.

There were Chinese settlements in Pahang and Kelantan around the 13th-14th century and in 12th century in Singapore .

The early Brunei Sultanate had a Chinese Queen.

One need not ponder at length the implications of Angkor Wat and Borobudur or that 40%-50% of Bahasa Malaysia / Bahasa Melayu comprises Sanskrit and Tamil words.

To illustrate, some of these word are :

bumi = boomi
    putra = putran
    raja = rajah
    desa = thesam
    syakti = sakthi
    kolam = kulam
    bahaya = abahya
    jaya = jeya
    maha = maha
    aneka = aneha
    nadi = naadi
    kedai = kadai
    mahligai = maaligai
    mantra = manthrum
    tandas = sandas

(This list can go on and on)

An extremely important archeological find that pointed to one of the greatest empires in history – the Raja Cholan empire that ruled from the Maldives through India, Sri Lanka and right down to South East Asia found deep in the jungles of Johor a few years ago and made headlines in the mainstream newspapers in 2005, suddenly disappeared from the news because UMNO don’t want Malaysians to know the truth.

The time has arrived for us to record our history as the facts tell us and not as UMNO would like to wish it.

4. #4 by k1980 on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 12:18 pm

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/8ling/Article/index_html

The Education Ministry has identified 45 “sick projects” involving schools in the country and is monitoring the progress of 35 other projects that are behind schedule.

Why? Because there were no open tenders for all those projects. Good contractors are not considered, while “sick” contractors got the projects.

5. #5 by ktteokt on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 12:25 pm

And MARA stands for MAJLIS AMANAH RAKYAT! So why is MARA only for the Malays? Aren’t the other races also RAKYAT of Malaysia???? Or should they change the name MARA to MARAK – to mean MAJLIS AMANAH RAKYAT KETUANAN!

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 12:27 pm

The bottom line with Mahathir idea is someone always owe him something. So many years in power from humble beginnings and Mahathir still has the psychology of a victim. He likes being the victim. He doesi not like to grow up. But he also hate not being able to be proud to be a victim. He is, in other words, mentally unsound at least subconsciously.. There is no future in his kind of psychology or mental attitude. Its a shackle that holds people back including Mahathir himself. Let the popular media milk him for his sensationalism and lets us put him behind. Its the best for us as well as for him. He is nothing but a cliche..

7. #7 by anakbaram on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 12:36 pm

Malaysia will be 47 years old on 16th of September 2010. It is thus a young nation with a lot of potentials. In order to attain greatness she has an acute need of brain power or manpower. The need is fast escalating in the face of modernization and globalization. However, due to parochialism, racialism, nepotism, greed, power craze and simple immorality and corruption, droves of Malaysians are migrating or employed in foreign countries. So because of the situation created by a few zealots and thieves the real loser is Malaysia and the people of Malaysia. When are they going to sober up?

On top of it all these people go around going around with slogans like 1Malaysia, which is a mockery really. They do not do as they say. If there is 1Malaysia why are some who are forgotten when it comes to employments, educational placements, contract award, religious recognition, development of infrastructures. Come and see what life is in the rural parts of Sarawak where things have not change since the time of the Brooks. The only change noticeable in a lot of these places is the depletion of the jungle, the pollution left by the big companies extracting the timber and palm oil plantation. They have been living on their land for hundred of years, dating back to the pre British colonial era and yet they are not give title for the land, the government claim that the land belong to the state. They live there before the state was formed but they are denied their right by the state.

8. #8 by cheng on on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 1:35 pm

Under this TDM, RM100/=, plunged from
    Spore $95 to $42
    US$43.50 to US$26.30, (was around US$47 around 1985), despite producing so much petrol. How good is this man in economy??
    This racist govt of bolehland may one day say, the following
    a). Quota for car/motorcycles sales, car/motorcycles dealer must reserve 40% sales for bumi (Like the housing sale).
    b). Bus, train, plane, ferry, lorry operators must reserve 40% of their tickets/capacities to Bumi customers.
    c). All halal food (raw or cooked) sellers must reserve 40% supply to bumi customers.
    d). All hospitals / colleges/ univ. (private n govt) must reserve 40% for bumi patients / students.
    etc , etc.

9. #9 by ekompute on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 1:57 pm

” The govt still think that all the targets set under NEP have not been achieved? How could these be possible if 30pc of PLC shares must be allocated to bumiputras….”

Well, why not? The 30% was allocated to UMNOputras, not bumiputras. Since independence, Malaysia has not yet begin to practise democracy. What they practise is actually oligarchy. It only looks like democracy merely because elections are held every five years. Mentality is still very feudalistic, although things are changing.

The same goes to Singapore. There is no difference between Singapore and the People’s Republic of China except that “elections” are held every 5 years. Well, Singapore is a people’s republic, anyway, LOL.

10. #10 by monsterball on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 2:08 pm

Mahathir can be a it again till the day he dies…no one really pay attention to that old crook except UMNO ministers…and Najib needs him badly.
    So old crook love to play race and religion politics….like before….which indirectly is making a joke of Najib’s slogans.
    Yip!! ..let those hypocritical crooked politicians contradict each other.
    The piece written by “A”…is a testimony that capable and qualified Malaysians Chinese are forced to get jobs overseas.
    I like the logic …the being the minority race…we are not interested to govern the country…only interested in fair play.
    There is no options left for Malaysians that love their children and country.
    UMNO BARU is racist party.
    UMNO must be voted out.

11. #11 by ekompute on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 2:15 pm

“Forget The Origin Country, We Are Malaysians – Mahathir”

Black also he says, white also he says… But why must one be a Mus-lim to be treated fairly? Our official religion, I-slam, itself says there is no force or compulsion in religion. But setting conditions like this is as good as saying that there is compulsion. No equal citizen rights until you prequalify yourself through conversion.

And why pick either to become a Mus-lim or Indian. One is religion and the other is race. Are the two exclusive? Isn’t that a glaring contradiction of “Forget The Origin Country, We Are Malaysians”. Looks like his age is showing, or is he pulling his usual tricks?

And why profess a religion that you don’t practise? Look at those politicians who built multi-million mansions, not to mention the things that you can’t see like fat overseas bank accounts. Is that what our official religion endorses? To me, the official religion has deteriorated to such a level that as long as you don’t eat pork, you are Mus-lim. Is that what the religion is all about?

12. #12 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 2:31 pm

You go to the mosques in China and see what those muslims would tell you about China. They are not of the Han race, but they speak Chinese. You would be surprised how open minded they are. If you go to Xian, you see the old mosque of Chinese architecture. This is really impressive, because we would not have seen something like that in Malaysia.

We should remember that it is not the minorities alone who are marginalized in this country. There are majority Malays and muslims who are marginalized by their fellow Malay and muslim politicians. Look at Kelantan! Only a small group of the politicians in UMNO, MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP, etc, who are in power, grasped the wealth.

13. #13 by ekompute on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 2:34 pm

Actually, people like A are helping the achievement of the 30% NEP quota so they deserve at least a datukship.

As you know, 30% is a relative figure that would be hard to achieve if we have a lot of intelligent Chinese in Malaysia. If the top 1,000 richest Chinese leave Malaysia and take their money elsewhere, I think the NEP target would have been easily attained. So much for the illusion that all Chinese are rich!

14. #14 by k1980 on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 3:31 pm

Which sounds better — Mahathir the Maverick

or
    Mahathir the Mamak

or Mahathir the Pendatang ?

15. #15 by jtee on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 5:09 pm

How did we vote for a PM with such stupidity? He can’t even differentiate between race and religion. Being a Muslim doesn’t make you less Indian. Being a Muslim doesn’t make me a Malay, by race I am still a Chinese. Call him a maverick, I think the sarcasm is pretty obvious. The author must have thought of another title to the book but decided to stick to the present one for marketing purposes. “Being governed by an idiot for 22 years seems more appropriate”. I still tell people I am Malaysian if my American colleagues ask me, but I can tell you I am really ashamed every time I say that and because I don’t want to lie and say otherwise. MM, for all your tyranny and blatant racism, asking everyone that used to constructively criticized your policy and saying that Malaysia is going to the dogs, your answer then will always be, ” if you don’t like Malaysia you can go back to your own country”. Till today I am wondering where is that, if it is not Malaysia? China? India? Indonesia?

16. #16 by AhQ on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 5:15 pm

testing

17. #17 by AhQ on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 5:18 pm

I think almost everybody, including those in the UMNO/BN, knows we don’t have the most capable and the most competent people in the driver seat, be it managing the civil service, statutory bodies, GLCs or the privatised entities. I too could speak with first hand experience that more often than not, it is the most idiotic that are running many of these organisations. They pay themselves big fat salary, enjoying perks beyond the wildest dreams many of us could ever imagine and yet not answerable to whatever they are entrusted to do.

Now you tell me how and why they should give up all these privileges when the whole political system is meant to inculcate, nurture and perpetuate the privileges and special rights they are now enjoying. Do they really care this racist system will eventually lead to the demise of this great country? If you ask me, I would say, “I don’t think so”.

Taking into consideration personal interests is very different from dealing with public or national interests. Many of us would know it is bad for the country and the public, but as long as whatever they do could benefit them personally, why should there be any change. I can’t see how this colossal incompetence, rent seeking apparatus and racism could disappear overnight.

Mr A talked about the Chinese are not trying to grab power, but only want a fair govt to treat us as Malaysians, and play no racial politics to divide all of us. Honesty, I can’t see the difference here. Treating us fair here means giving up their privileges which they have secured for themselves from the political power they now have. So treating us fair is to give up or share political power.

How do we ensure racism is out and fairness and meritocracy is in? To me the majority of the Malays must be convinced. As for those enjoying the juicy positions right now, you may convince them over dead bodies. Incompetence is a very funny phenomenon. It self perpetuates.

18. #18 by grkumar on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 6:29 pm

Dear AhQ

you may begin by ending the hypocrisy of “not wanting the government to play racial politics ” when you so clearly engage in exactly that by referring to yourselves as Chinese.

Thats a race definition out of which you are judged, liked and disliked. if you leave your Chineseness and all of your Chinese practices out of the equation (perhaps in the privacy of your home where it belongs),well you may just be treated like a Malaysian.

The operative word in Malaysian is Malay. You need to spruce up your bahasa, eat and drink like the majority (no pork chop or alcohol) keep within the rules of the country and its consitution, respect its laws and customs especially those of the majority (remembering this is a democracy and the will of the majority rules and not the tyranny of a monied minority).

Once you fellas decide that there is nothing wrong with Islam and stop being such propaganda merchants of the anti Islamic movement, you may, I mean may just get recognised for the decent people you claim to be.

Otherwise dream on…

Gopaal Raj Kumar

19. #19 by AhQ on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 7:11 pm

Kumar,
    I have read your postings earlier and you are nothing but a racist hating particularly Lee Kuan Yew and Chinese Malaysians in general.

What you have argued is nothing new, but that of Malay racists who must see conformity of other races to everything that is Malay/Islam. We don’t buy that argument simply because: 1. It subsumes that Malay/Islam is superior, and 2. It preaches exclusiveness rather than inclusiveness.

You see, a racist will never change. So today it is vernacular schools and eating pork but tomorrow it will be churches or temples. Day after tomorrow it would be our skin is simply fairer. Hey, Kumar, you like Chinese girl, don’t you?

20. #20 by tiger88 on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 7:26 pm

Kumar sir, you must be one of the rare indians embracing them. I wish you luck.

21. #21 by k1980 on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 7:35 pm

if there can appear a fanatical Riduan Tee from the chinese community, why can’t there be a gopaal raj kumar among the indians? Every race has its own devil incarnate

22. #22 by Winston on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 7:38 pm

The whole darn trouble with Malaysians is that after decades of sloganeering and non-functional government, many people are so desperate that they are grasping at straws.
    This makes them ideal for the empty rhetoric of UMNO/BN and they’ll go on electing non-functional leaders to a non-functional government!
    That was what made them believe in Badawi!

23. #23 by AhQ on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 7:49 pm

Kumar, in case you don’t know. Incompetence is a very painful thing. It can’t create value, instead it destroys value. That is why Malaysia is caught in the low growth trajectory. Virtually all the ills inflicting this country have their origin in racism which spurts incompetence, rent seeking and unprofessionalism. I am prepared to debate with you on this. You name a protracted problem we face today and tell me what is the cause is according to you. I will then demonstrate to you that it has everything to do with racism/religiosity. Try me, Kumar.

24. #24 by frankyapp on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 7:51 pm

Dear grkumar,certainly I agree with you that there’s nothing wrong with Islam.May I ask you which brand of Islam you are refering to,the original one or the Umno’s one .You see in the Arabian’s world,they allow mix marriages between muslim and non muslim,no conversion or forced conversion. In Jurusalem,muslims sell crosses and other christian’s antics for a living, muslim priests and christian priests attend mosques and chruches respectively for dialogue,in Indonisia,muslims rear pigs for commercial purposes and in Thailand,temples and mosques are just next to each other.Moreover muslims and non muslims share dinning tables.Hey grkumar,once people like you fellas decide the original brand which promotes harmonious society and stop being such idiotic propaganda merchants for the Umno’s brand which destroys all the well established multi racial and multi religious harmony and unity of our people ,than I think you can just be residered a decent citizen of this land.

25. #25 by AhQ on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 7:52 pm

sorry, repost:
    You name a protracted problem we face today and tell me what is the cause according to you. I will then demonstrate to you that it has everything to do with racism/religiosity. Try me, Kumar.

26. #26 by frankyapp on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 7:56 pm

Correction …. should read be considered a decent citizen of this land…..sorry

27. #27 by vsp on Friday, 1 January 2010 - 9:40 pm

To tell the truth, UMNOputra cronies (these also include those Chinese and Indian proxies) control 80% of the economy. Look around you, the banking, transport, plantation, agriculture, retailing, esp petroleum, vehicle manufacturing and approved permits (APs) industries are all controlled by them.

When we talk of APs, we must not be mistaken that these involved the imports of foreign cars only. The UMNOputras have the stranglehold of all the APs for the imports of nearly every commodities and other items with a captured market. Any businessman who wishes to deal with the import trade will have to “purchase” a licence from one of these AP-parasite masterholders before he can bring in anything into the country. These parasite AP masterholders comprise of high-ranking civil servants (remember the 2 top civil servants in MITI controlling 6O% of the car-import APs as exposed by Mahathir in order to spite Rafidah Aziz); the royalties; relatives of UMNO top brass and UMNO non-Malay proxies.

Even the APs in the criminal world are controlled by the top brass in the police force. No criminals in Bolehland can operate with impunity without getting a licence from the AP holders.

UMNO non-Malay proxies are given lucrative businesses to act as as a screen for top UMNO politicians. I will not give a name to a particular proxy who has every fingers in every pie of Bolehland’s economy. You name any product and services and this proxy has his itchy fingers in it. This proxy is well-known in the stock market for his asset-shifting game. With this mechanism, he can effortlessly will whether his companies in the Bursa KLSE make a big loss or a big profit. In conjunction with this, he can then manipulate the stock price by beating down the stock price down when declaring a big loss and later make a buyback of the shares and make a big killing when declaring a big profit.

This is the reality of doing business in Bolehland.

28. #28 by boh-liao on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 2:30 am

This is 2010, almost 30 years since MMK ruled
    Has d nation progressed n bloomed
    R Malaysians enjoying a better, safer living than when they were in 1981 or pre1981
    R only Umnoputras n their cronies better off than other mortals in M’sia

Methinks we r worse off than before
    We r rolling down d slippery slope of national degradation
    We used 2 worry abt n save 4 our children’s education
    4 education is an impt key 4 us 2 break d yoke of poverty n move up d social ladder
    Now we worry not only abt our children’s education, but also personal security
    Everywhere there is robbery, kidnap n life is dirt cheap
    Any moment we may b snatched/stabbed 2 death or shot 4 a few miserable $$
    Everyday we count our lucky star 2 remain alive
    We fortify our homes with grilles, CCTV, n alarms
    We further barricade our housing estates with drums, barriers, n security guards
    Pseudo gated communities r mushrooming everywhere, a nation in siege
    We also worry abt our economic survival
    ‘Cos meanwhile, our RM gets weaker n weaker
    D cost of our basic foods n services gets higher n higher
    Watch out, 2010, food, basic amenity n petrol prices r on d rise
    Our population n illegal migrants continue 2 increase, fast n furious
    Expect more snatch thieves, robberies, kidnaps, violence
    Fence for yourselves, mates, good luck
    All thanks 2 d legacy of MMK n Umno B/BN
    If one has d ability n opportunity 2 live outside M’sia like A, just do it

29. #29 by Godfather on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 3:48 am

Am I missing something here? An Indian chap, maybe Malaysian, telling me that I should give up pork and alcohol to be accepted in my own country ? And by his definition of the ‘tyranny of a monied minority’, I presume he meant the Chinese. The Chinese contribute over 90 pct of tax revenues and have little or no political power and you call it ‘tyranny’? No, the tyranny is with people who believe they are entitled to something while contributing nothing. It’s with a small group of people who siphon off public funds and then either pretend not to know or point fingers at others. Tyranny is also with a small group of people who are not really Malays but who try really hard to prove their ‘Malayness’ to obtain entrenched benefits.

Go read the constitution, Kumar, before you post your nonsense on this blog.

30. #30 by Godfather on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 3:53 am

I posted elsewhere in this blog that the worst supporters of hatred against the Chinese are not the true Malays, but the Mamaks and the converts like Ridhuan Tee. Now you can add some@sslickers with Indian sounding names like ‘Kumar’.

31. #31 by grkumar on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 7:15 am

Dear AhQ I would not bother debtatingg or debasing you any further. You have clearly expressed all of the sentiments I have wanted to except that in your case you supplied me with the benefit of proofs to support my arguments all along.

It is about racism. Chinese racism. Thats precisely the point. But I doubt Lim Kit Siang has the courage or the intestinal fortitude to allow a proper debate on this blog.

He has just censored my posting on the Courts decision on the Herald’s use of the word Allah.

When someone allows his religious and race leanings to interfere with legitimate debate supported with evidence, it becomes a worrying thing for us all. We do not have to agree in a democracy. We just have to agree to disagree where that may be the case.

GRK

[Stop being a wolf in sheep’s clothing. This blog wants to promote inter-racial understanding, harmony and goodwill and will not allow itself to be used to incite inter-religious discord and strife which would then be used against this blog. Admin]

32. #32 by AhQ on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 9:29 am

Where is Kumar, we are waiting for you, come out, you par!ah.

33. #33 by tiger88 on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 9:34 am

It is Kumar’s type than fuels the courage of UMNOputras. We don’t need him in Malaysia and bring him back to reality in India.

34. #34 by AhQ on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 10:17 am

A real pariah must have his stupid brain dissected. In what ways Chinese are racists in general? For fighting for their rights under the Malaysian sun? Obviously you can’t differentiate fighting for fairness and justice from racism. In Malaysia today, those fighting against racism are considered racists, and those practising it are perfectly acceptable.

You have nothing to debate with me, not that you choose not to debate with me.

Lim Kit Siang racist? Why don’t you write something against Mamathir and try to get it posted it in his blog, you par!ah.

35. #35 by grkumar on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 11:45 am

Dear Chinaman

why do you then censor what people write in the form of a valid argument? if you are the moderator and make such accusations passing judgement wihtout the benefit of the publics (not Chinese) ability to make their choices andnever mind the fact that your idoms are idiot expressions, then why do you not moderate instead of seeking only a one sided view of what you so self righteously see as being worthy of publication.

Each of your respondents here claim to be Chinese and engage in the use of invectives and insults. Yet you consider them to be valid arguments. I rest my case. But not my arguments against Lim Kit Siang and his Chinese chauvanists that appear in undemocratic from in these pages.

What cannot be argued against here can be done elsewhere. But that will not stop us from pushing it through.

The term Yellow Livered Coward was coined by the British righfully to desscribe cowards of your ilk.

You as Chinese do not have rights where you are not prepared to share these with others. Thats what we have been writing about all this while.

But as they say, you cannot make a dog sing. It will always bark. (thats if it is not eaten by a chinaman)
    GRK

36. #36 by AhQ on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 12:55 pm

Hey par!ah, let’s not go into generalities. Name me one specific instance where Chinaman is racist and we shall discuss from there, you black par!ah.

The reason you get moderated is because whatever you wrote cannot be substantiated by any logics or commonsense. But never mind, I would appeal on your behalf to the moderator to please release whatever you have written. I think we can handle your perverted brain, there is no issue here. I am waiting for you, par!ah.

37. #37 by taiking on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 1:01 pm

If one non-umnoputra left the country for another, brand him unpatriotic. Everyone would agree with such label. If a thousand others were to follow him, they likewise are all unpatriotic. Still no problem there. Unpatriotic they most probably are. All of them. Now, if those who left numbered in the tens or worse hundreds of thousands, then something is seriously wrong. Are they all unpatriotic, merely, or are they “unpatriotic” for a reason? 8-9 out of every 10 of my friends have either left or are ready/willing to leave the country. With an indication like that, the reflection upon the country is truly bad indeed. Why leave, I asked them. No confidence in the umno gobermen, they said. It does not matter, umno would say. Anyway, you fellas are not wanted and not welcomed, umnoputras would gladly answer (guess, I might as well answer on their behalf).

38. #38 by Godfather on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 1:02 pm

Kumar: Why would an Indian – if you are indeed Indian and not an UMNOputra provocateur – write in this blog to call the Chinese as racists and tyrants ? You fully deserve being called the names here, whatever your true ethnicity. Do you write to OTK or CSL’s blogs and call them the same things ? They are Malaysian Chinese too, you know…

39. #39 by grkumar on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 1:31 pm

It does not take much to get you to prove what you are. And the little experiment worked. You are so predictable.

Thanks for the opportunity.

GRK

40. #40 by AhQ on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 1:56 pm

What experiment? An experiment for you par!ah to know we hate baseless racist like you?

41. #41 by ekans on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 6:11 pm

Wasn’t it Doc Maverick’s idea to set up InventQJaya to stop the brain-drain?
    Didn’t InventQJaya instead turn out to be a white elephant & a big drain on the taxpayers’ money?

42. #42 by katdog on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 8:50 pm

Uh oh, troll alert by the nick grkumar.

Trolls are not here to ‘share’ views (in that sharing goes both ways). They are merely here to pour scorn on other peoples views (which IMHO is not ‘sharing views’) and stamp their own views as the superior one. They are here to incite and flame others and hope to incite negative reactions. Having incited negative reactions, they arrogantly state that they are the only ‘reasonable/rational’ one here and only their opinions matter cause they are the only smart ones here.

Observe his final post;

grkumar :
    It does not take much to get you to prove what you are. And the little experiment worked. You are so predictable.
    Thanks for the opportunity.
    GRK

This sorta proves that he had no intention of a mature discussion in the first place and was only interested in the kind of negative response he could incite. This makes him feel ‘superior’.

43. #43 by katdog on Saturday, 2 January 2010 - 8:58 pm

Boy, the BS that comes out from Dr. M’s mouth is just incredulous.

First he says we must give up referring to ourselves as Indians or Chinese but as Malaysians.

Next he says that the problems with Indian muslims will be solved if they opt to refer to themselves only as either Indians or Muslims. ??? What an amazing contradiction.

And on top of that (as much as Dr. M wants it) muslim is not a race. Dr. M can’t escape the fact that he is Indian by race despite being a muslim by faith, so much so that he is desperate to create a new race called muslim.

Of course this new race excludes chinese muslims, as they are already of chinese by race so they cannot be of the muslim race at the same time. But indian muslims are welcome to join in this new race as long as they give up their indian identity.

Hilarious.

44. #44 by ekans on Sunday, 3 January 2010 - 11:25 am

Did Doc Maverick make those remarks/comments that was reported in that Bernama news article, most likely because he wants to explain how he can justify calling himself a Malay despite of his ethnic Indian background?
    If Doc Maverick genuinely wants every Malaysian to put aside his/her ethnic origin, how is it that his own political party is still race-based?

45. #45 by trublumsian on Monday, 4 January 2010 - 6:55 am

GRK is a major league a hole who must have been (i.e. burned, or something else) real bad in the nether region by a chinese dude!

yo, kumar dawg! the fecal matter excreting from ur mouth makes no sense, n u’r taking the chinese haters down with u, dawg! well, u’r not the first. there’s cintaN, kasimA, chengH. anyways, u want the 90% figures propping up this land (n feeding the-parasites-by-any-other-names while they’re at it) to leave en masse?? ponder that, u dildo head.