Interesting Quotes By Najib In 2009

KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 24 (Bernama) — The year 2009 has opened a new chapter for Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak who took over the country’s leadership in April.

As the new prime minister, every speech, directive and comment made has claimed attention from the masses. Below are some of the interesting quotes by the prime minister this year.

1. I urge us to rise to the challenge of building a 1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now. (April 3: On assuming office as the sixth prime minister)

2. BN will keep the promises and we will deliver them. We will do away with the practice of announcing “instant noodle” projects during elections. If certain projects would benefit the people and we had promised that to them or committed on them in the elections, we will definitely implement them. (April 5: Commenting on the Bukit Selambau, Bukit Gantang and Batang Ai by-elections results)

3. I don’t crave power for the sake of power but I need power to serve the people and ensure successful nation building. (May 20: Addressing a farewell reception at the Finance Ministry)

4. The 1Malaysia is not a new concept or formula but its ultimate objective is national unity, which is the primary vision of previous administrators translated into various forms over the last five decades or so.

5. In other words, 1Malaysia is a concept to foster unity in Malaysians of all races based on several important values which should become the practice of every Malaysian. (June 15: Replying on the 1Malaysia concept during question time in the Dewan Rakyat)

6. “We need not carry the label ‘development with Islam’ because we have been championing the cause of Islam for a long time and had provided a prosperous life to Muslims because we don’t want the Muslims to be poor and without strength. (10/9: at a breaking of fast at Felda Teloi Timor)

7. I’ve gone to several places to meet the people. As leaders, if we go visiting without protocol and without the red-carpet welcome, the bunga manggar or any special reception, but we sit down with the people over drinks and hear their problems, the people will remain with us (13/9: speaking in Tawa at a breaking of fast and handing-over of charity contributions to orphans and the poor.)

8. I would like to see that we all have a sense of belonging in Malaysia, irrespective of our race, and feel that this is our country. This is our birthplace, this is the country that we will give our undivided loyalty and commitment to. If we can have the resolve, it means we have already reached the stage of embracing the 1Malaysia concept. I always say “One Dream, One People, One Nation.(13/10:exclusive interview with Bernama in conjunction with the 2009 Umno General Assembly)

9. Umno should be seen, regarded and trusted as a party that is capable of looking after the lot of the people. Umno cannot be seen as a party which is only passionate about struggling for the interest of a small group. Instead, we want Umno to be seen, felt and fully trusted as a party that is inclusive and that puts the interests of the people before personal interests. Therefore, the perception that Umno is a party for people to “cari makan” (earn a living) must be erased and discarded. (15/10: maiden speech as Umno president in conjunction with the 2009 Umno General Assembly)

10. Believe it, that our strugle is the right struggle, that our struggle is a true struggle. We are Umno, the one party that brings the flame of hope and is capable of charting a bright future for the people.

11. Whatever the challenges, whatever the hurdles, with a mount of hope, we continue this journey with confidence, all dreams will be fulfilled, a drop will become an ocean, a clump will become a mountain. (15/10: maiden speech as Umno president in conjunction with the 2009 Umno General Assembly)

12. After we’ve made the amendments, we begin a new journey by leaving behind the negative elements such as money politics, so that we become a clean and respected party. (15/10: maiden speech as Umno president in conjunction with the 2009 Umno General Assembly)

13. I have to make a decision in the interests of the BN. I am not merely the president of Umno; I am also the chairman of the BN. I am the prime minister not only for the Malays; I am the prime minister for all Malaysians. (1/11: opening Gerakan national delegates conference)

14. We will change for the better. I give you the commitment, we will change for the better. But I ask (that it should be) not only me. Do not just look at the prime minister; we all must reflect the change. We must be like the train. (When) the train is moving … it cannot be the locomotive alone … everybody else must work together. (1/11: opening Gerakan national delegates)

15. There is no need to bang tables or throw files at them but those who do not perform must be told of their dismal performance and the need for them to improve. (2/11: Prime Minister’s Department staff at its monthly gathering)

16. Subsidies is an illness, once you enjoy it, it is hard to give up. (4/11:speaking at Bankers Club Luncheon Talk)

17. I believe that as the Prime Minister of all Malaysians, it is vital that I personally supervise the effectuation of the first budget under my administration. (11/11: Blog 1Malaysia: Implementing the 1Malaysia Budget)

18. I have been saying privately, but I might as well say it publicly, that the thing I liked about President Bush’s foreign policy is that he was very pro-free trade. Frankly I don’t like the other policies, but I like his policy on free trade. (14/11: panel session at the Apec CEO Summit 2009).

19. Our diversity must be a blessing if it is not to be a curse ( 21/11: keynote address to open Asia Society’s Asia 21 Young Leader Summit).

1. #1 by k1980 on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 12:37 pm

All these cannot beat Old Snoozy’s “I want to be fair. I am fair and I will always be fair.”

So fair that Jean fell head over heels for him

2. #2 by -ec- on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 1:07 pm

*yawn* *yawn* *yawn*

what a piece of absolute uninspiring material on the most inspiring christmas day! i would rather read ros***’s quotes of the year, at least it entertains!

that reminds me of the boxing day tsunami of 2004. come, wash away the political corrupts of the country!

3. #3 by pwcheng on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 1:21 pm

Christmas is a time of Joy and merry making and perhaps a little bit of sloganeering.
    Sorry brother Kit ,a little bit of correction here and there.

1.”I urge us to rise to the challenge of building a 1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” should read as “I urge us to rise to the challenge of building a 1Malaysia. UMNO First, Corruption Now”

10)”Believe it, that our strugle is the right struggle, that our struggle is a true struggle. We are Umno, the one party that brings the flame of hope and is capable of charting a bright future for the people”. should read as
    “Believe it, that our struggle is the right struggle, that our struggle is a true struggle. We are Umno, the one party that brings the flame of hope and is capable of cheating the bright future of the people”.

13)”I have to make a decision in the interests of the BN. I am not merely the president of Umno; I am also the chairman of the BN. I am the prime minister not only for the Malays; I am the prime minister for all Malaysians”. should read as
    “I have to make a decision in the interests of the BN. I am not merely the president of Umno; I am also the chairman of the BN. I am the prime minister not only for the Malays; I am the prime minister for all Malaysians but I cannot be the Prime minister of all the UMNO War Lords”.

16)”Subsidies is an illness, once you enjoy it, it is hard to give up” should read as
    Subsidies to rakyat is an illness, once you enjoy it, it is hard to give up but subsidies to UMNO is Ok, once they enjoy it, we must not give up”.

19)”Our diversity must be a blessing if it is not to be a curse” should read as
    “Our diversity is the punch bag for Umno’s Warlords bashing, as if it is a curse.

4. #4 by ktteokt on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 2:21 pm

All these are nothing but sloganeering and this includes the infamous RUKUNEGARA formulated by UMNO back in 1970!

5. #5 by AhPek on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 3:20 pm

Simple thing like clearing his name he can’t do,yet he wants to talk of such high sounding ideals,isn’t he an —-h-le????

6. #6 by sightseeing on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 3:27 pm

I don’t crave power for the sake of power but I need power to save myself in the murder of Altantuya to endure that I will never have to face justice.

The 1Malaysia is not a new concept or formula but its ultimate objective is not about national unity but to fool the gullible voters, which is the primary trick of previous general elections translated into votes over the last five decades or so.

7. #7 by Godfather on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 5:24 pm

Najib’s quotes have no entertainment value. They merely show what a hypocrite he is. Bung Mokhtar provides much better entertainment.

8. #8 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 5:37 pm

close to 30,000 students got all A in PMR??
    this is outrage and unbelievable. something has to be done.
    our education system is in serious inflation, much worse than ringgit devaluation.
    this is becoming the greatest joke in our education system.
    It is not the students who are becoming better (actually becoming worse), but our education system is getting worst.
    in my mind, all A should be limited to at most 300 persons and not 30,000 persons.

9. #9 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 5:53 pm

//18. I have been saying privately, but I might as well say it publicly, that the thing I liked about President Bush’s foreign policy is that he was very pro-free trade. Frankly I don’t like the other policies, but I like his policy on free trade. (14/11: panel session at the Apec CEO Summit 2009).//

The above speech of Najib certainly sounds nice with much appealing to the Western venture capitalists who are eyeing for good lucrative international business opportunities for making a direct investment. However, the above statement of Najib only proves that Najib knows about a quarter of the Laissez Faire Political Economic Theory. There are other side about the implementation of the Laissez Faire Economic System which Najib still does not reveal to us to what extent he has grasped the understanding about total system functions in a laissez faire system.

Things like anti-trust laws, anti-dumping laws, human rights issues, civil liberties issues, workers’ welfare system, the level of technology being employed in the production line for purpose of helping increase in the workers’ productivity and labour income, the democratic process of electing and forming an effective government which is being built-in with accountable checks-and-balances systems, the separation of powers among three independent branches of the government, namely the Executive, the Legislature, and the Judiciary, and the Separation of Powers among the Federal Government, the state government and the local government will all have to be taken into account in order to ensure a proper functioning of the Free Trade Economic System.

We are yet to find out how far does Najib really know about all the essential factors of a proper functionable free trade economic system! Najib was just talking about some useless hollow things if he did not elaborate further on how he was going to suggest for purpose of helping increase in the take-home income of every single individual who took part or is going to take part in Malaysia’s economic activities.

10. #10 by -ec- on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 6:23 pm

as the country top leader, he cannot even safeguard the property rights of the people. simply another lame leader!

just watch out for lots of dirty money moving out of the country as bn is getting near to its expiry date.

11. #11 by boh-liao on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 6:33 pm

Here r some quotes on CORRUPTION:
    They have seized upon the government by bribery and corruption. They have made speculation and public robbery a science. They have loaded the nation, the state, the county, and the city with debt. (Denis Kearney)
    Money and corruption are ruining the land, crooked politicians betray the working man, pocketing the profits and treating us like sheep, and we’re tired of hearing promises that we know they’ll never keep. (Ray Davies)
    A government, for protecting business only, is but a carcass, and soon falls by its own corruption and decay. (Amos Bronson Alcott)
    The accomplice to the crime of corruption is frequently our own indifference. (Bess Myerson)
    The first sign of corruption in a society that is still alive is that the end justifies the means. (Georges Bernanos)
    Corruption is worse than prostitution. The latter might endanger the morals of an individual, the former invariably endangers the morals of the entire country. (Karl Kraus)
    No science is immune to the infection of politics and the corruption of power. (Jacob Bronowski)
    Corruption is like a ball of snow, once it’s set a rolling it must increase. (Charles Caleb Colton)
    The first tenet is that you should report corruption regardless of loyalty to incumbent or party. (Linda Tripp)
    The duty of youth is to challenge corruption. (Kurt Cobain)
    In some of the countries where we operate, there is a tradition of corruption, in which the political elites work with business in the framework of unsavory relationships. (Lee R. Raymond)

12. #12 by k1980 on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 9:01 pm

#15. There is no need to bang tables or throw files at them but those who do not perform must be told of their dismal performance and the need for them to improve.

So why weren’t tables banged or files thrown at Altan? Instead she was atomized like the Japs in Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

13. #13 by monsterball on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 9:05 pm

His “FRIVOLOUS” respond to Bala is the best comment he made….to sum up who he is.

14. #14 by ringthetill on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 11:00 pm

I declare I’m sceptical, very sceptical. All that lies and bull. I’m no young thing who’s easy impressed and excited. Heard it all before.
    Cakap saja lah! Zzzzzzzzzzzz

15. #15 by frankyapp on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 2:43 am

One dream,one people,one nation,I think NR can go on dreaming all night long infinitely and don’t get it. On the contrary,change the Umno/Bn government and it’s done.

16. #16 by limkamput on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 8:27 am

Dear PM, please do us a favour: Release Barry Wain’s book now. We want to read; may be Barry Wain is too conservative in estimating the loss. We are not just concerned with financial loss alone. We are also equally concerned with all the irreparable damages he did to our institutions, systems and procedures that money can not buy. I think he burned everything that was in Malaysia.

When is Barry Wain’s book going to be released? Why talk about RCI, suing and challenging the accuracy of the book when most of us have not read the book yet. May be the book is too benign. Someone may have to write a tougher and more accurate version after this.

To PR leadership: Will PR openly declare that they will hold all past leaders accountable once they come into power? Do it now, otherwise I have this inkling that politicians will always try to protect their own kind. Yes, the present protects the past, and the future protects the present.

17. #17 by limkamput on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 8:28 am

….to sum up who he is.Quote

To sum up WHAT?

18. #18 by yhsiew on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 8:54 am

I remain skeptical about what Najib said in all the 19 quotes.

As politician Najib may churn out heart-warming slogans and quotes; but whether people believe them is another issue. To what extent people believe Najib’s words has everything to do with his integrity.

19. #19 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 9:58 am

“16. Subsidies is an illness, once you enjoy it, it is hard to give up. (4/11:speaking at Bankers Club Luncheon Talk)”

What is Najib trying to say with this statement of his? Is he saying that the Malays shall no longer be given the subsidies so that they can be healed from the illness of subsidies? Or is he saying that the Malays will continue be given the subsidies so that they can get addicted to the illness of subsidies and be always submissive to the reign of Umnoputras?

What a hypocrite Najib is by saying such an ambiguous statement!!!

20. #20 by cseng on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 10:45 am

How come they miss out the infamous sms, going something like this “stay cool, all is not lost, am meeting IGP at …..”

21. #21 by monsterball on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 11:06 am

If Limkumput alias Ahbengkia at Susan’s blog does not know what kopitiam fellas and their friends sum up..who Najib is…then he must be deaf and blind.
    I am very busy at Susan’s blog exposing his twin brother….’Ahbengkia”….who is like the previous..Limkumput..in this blog.
    Stay FOR change in government..or post AGAINST…with your views…..but never agree to disagree to fool young voters.
    Do that…you are asking for trouble.
    One false move from professor….many will know what to do.

22. #22 by monsterball on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 11:20 am

If I say…Mahathir responded over the book…written by Barry Wain..sums up who is ….does Limkumput/ahbengkia also want to know …what?

23. #23 by dawsheng on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 11:31 am

Two jet engines went missing when he was the defense minister, wonder what will disappear during his time as the PM? Only the stupids and corrupts will listen and believe Najib.

24. #24 by limkamput on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 1:08 pm

An incorrigible fool never stops littering everywhere he goes.

25. #25 by frankyapp on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 1:12 pm

Some one should write three books about our two ex-prime ministers and the current one .1: Hundred and one reasons why TDM should face prosecution. 2: Why AAB was a sleepy dreamer and 3: A C4 PM should be sent to the firing squad.

26. #26 by grkumar on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 1:36 pm

By jumping on the bandwagon each time someone cries corruption in conjunction with the words Malay, UMNO and Mahathir, you reinforce the belief that you are nothing more than a Chinese chauvanist and a Lee Kuan Yew Stooge with little or no substance, alternative policies and are nothing more than a bitter old man who will never ever be PM of Malaysia.

The Books by Wain (Barry) and the so called Soros letter in the Bangkok post are nothing more than a piece of fiction ddriven by another old Chinese man south of te causeway unable to fulfill his dying wish to be master of the region.

A more analytical piece on Wain’s book and the Bangkok post myth is tobe found here; Be fair and let your readers (those not Chinese at least) decide on the truth in a more balanced way.

http://takemon.wordpress.com/

27. #27 by frankyapp on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 2:34 pm

“The books by Wain(Barry) and the so-called Soros letter in the Bangkok post are nothing more than a piece of fiction driven by another old chinese man south of the causeay unable to fulfill his dying wish to be master of the region ” ….by grKumar. Hey grkumar,how do you know what you said above is the truth ? Are you not too jumping the gun ? Come on be realistic and don’t contradict your oun words.

28. #28 by limkamput on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 2:48 pm

grkumar, you have to find a better way to attract nincompoops to your blog. We actually know who has scr*wed up this country big time without Wain’s book or Soros’ letter whatever that may be, got it racist?

29. #29 by vsp on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 3:57 pm

“Singapore is more like Zimbabwe than Malaysia ever is under the PAP” – the Temasek Review

–––––––

No matter what you said about Singapore being worst than Zimbabwe, and you can throw in a bonus by equating Singapore being a Nazis state, the crux of the truth is whether 99% of Singaporeans agree with this. Where did you get your conclusion? Have you carried out an opinion poll? The fact is that the majority of Singaporeans have returned this “dictator” Lee to be the head of government for half a century belie your ignorance and the propaganda of the 1% minority who want the world to think otherwise. And I dare to say this to you again – this dictator will still be chosen by the majority of the people of Singapore. Only when this 1% minority captured power will Singapore slid into the slippery slope of Zimbabwe become a reality.

So let’s trade: you invite the UMNO-Ketuanan Melayu government to take over Singapore, and banish the useless PAP to the near-bankrupt Malaysia. In no time will Singapore be bankrupt by this UMNO kleptocrats and Malaysia will be rebuilt by this “Nazis PAP” into a world-beating economy and most admired country in the wor

30. #30 by vsp on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 3:59 pm

complete truncated sentence

—-
    In no time will Singapore be bankrupt by this UMNO kleptocrats and Malaysia will be rebuilt by this “Nazis PAP” into a world-beating economy and most admired country in the world.

31. #31 by AhPek on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 6:53 pm

If Kit is a Lee Kuan Yew stooge with no substance,what are you then, grkumar?Mamak’s b-ll l—-ker with substance.Just read below one of the things that happened besides tons of things that had happened under his watch.We don’t have to analyse what Barry Wain says in his book nor what George Soros says in his letter in the Bangkok
    since it is all myth and fiction as you say.

http://www.rights2write.wordpress.com/page/4/

32. #32 by k1980 on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 9:10 pm

33. #33 by monsterball on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 9:40 pm

If Barry Wan did not expose Mahathir…do you expect Limkumput to tell us all?
    When have you ever read a message….asking all to talk about Mahathir’s evil deeds by Limkumput?

34. #34 by limkamput on Saturday, 26 December 2009 - 10:51 pm

Who need Barry Wain when we have loose cannon ball flying around?

35. #35 by boh-liao on Sunday, 27 December 2009 - 9:44 am

Missing quote: “I’m glad 2 face-always-covered mata-mata gonna die soon. Excellent justice.”

36. #36 by vsp on Sunday, 27 December 2009 - 1:54 pm

The year of the Najib regime can be likened to the “Copperfield Syndrome” effect. Here we have a scandal-tainted PM who was not elected coming up with his eye candy “1Malaysia” concept to unite the people of Malaysia under his racist UMNO party, assisted by the race-baiting Utusan Malaysia and the apartheid-drunken Biro Tata Negara. Anyone could see that this strange concoction will end up in failure eventually. With a multibillion advertising blitz to showcase the “1Malaysia” dream, Najib like David Copperfield began to pull out one rabbit after another from his conjurer bag to impress the citizenry of Bolehland. Scandals after scandals popped up with regularity, but like a master illusionist he managed to evaporate them into thin air. People like Altantunya, Kugan and Teoh Beng Hock were permanently erased, and Raja Petra and Bala went missing. C4 explosives went missing from army depot; immigration records were mysteriously erased; a full squadron of fighter jets and jet engines went missing from the RMAF inventory. Cases that the Najib regime lost in the high courts were overturned expeditiously by the Federal court judges. Wow, David Copperfield the world-famous illusionist would be very impressed to be upstaged by a third-world “1Malaysia” challenger. Viva “1Malaysia!”

37. #37 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 27 December 2009 - 2:45 pm

while blogging on the development of railways around the world, I came across this project in China.The MOR in China has constructed a rail line linking Shijazhuang to Taiyuan over a distance of 190km at a cost of 12.64 B yuan or slightly less than rm$6.5 B. This line ran through 94 bridges and 32 tunnels, one of which is said to be the longest in China: 27.8 km! And it is designed to run at 250km/hr.
    This brings me back to our Ipoh-Penang track. I believe the line is much shorter than 190km run on rather flat land- comparatively speaking. And what was the cost [???] and still cannot be completed!!
    Dear Malaysians , when would you ever learn the truth?? Your future is in your hand! If cheats do not do the walk; you better do the WALK when the time comes for you to do it.

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Monday, 28 December 2009 - 9:00 am

“To PR leadership: Will PR openly declare that they will hold all past leaders accountable once they come into power? Do it now, otherwise I have this inkling that politicians will always try to protect their own kind ..” limkamput

Do it now !!! Do what now??

Are you saying we should be satisfied at mere public statements issued by the opposition that they will hold Ministers and public officials accountable for the wrongs they do? The aim is to restore the rule of law. What that means is that as representatives of the people and public officials they are to be held accountable to the people for what they do while in office. It could be during BN or any other administration. Actions have consequences and no one is above the law.

Unfortunately, the decision to prosecute for crimes committed lies solely with the country’s Attorney General and the last time I checked he never takes instruction from opposition politicians.

39. #39 by taiking on Monday, 28 December 2009 - 9:43 am

“14. We will change … I give you the commitment, we will change … But I ask (that it should be) not only me. Do not just look at the prime minister; we all must reflect the change. We must be like the train. (When) the train is moving … it cannot be the locomotive alone … everybody else must work together. (1/11: opening Gerakan national delegates)”

And he continued: “At the count of three we all shall move our respective loots from our right hand to our left. I am the train engine and look out for my signal to start the move.”

40. #40 by limkamput on Monday, 28 December 2009 - 12:21 pm

Unfortunately, the decision to prosecute for crimes committed lies solely with the country’s Attorney General and the last time I checked he never takes instruction from opposition politicians.// undergrad2

Precisely, that is why I want the opposition to declare that they will prosecute those who committed wrong while in government (does not matter they are politicians or civil servants) once the opposition comes into power. I want them openly and unequivocally declared, to make a firm commitment toward this. I don’t want to be another local election or declaration of asset sh!t that were talked about but never seriously considered for implementation (although they now said doing those things also require federal govt consent).