Pakatan Rakyat Policy

By Vincent Lee

I do not know whether this feedback can reach you YB but i hope it will.

I have read the details of the policy of Pakatan Rakyat and it sounds very impressive. It seems like its the opposite of BN policy.

As a voter, especially a loyal supporter of Pakatan Rakyat, I wish to suggest a few feedback. No matter how good is a policy, its implementation is even more important. And what is even more importance is to setup a team of watchdog to oversee the implementation.

For example when you mention to reform the EPF. Who will implement them? The board member of EPF I suppose? I’m a guy from the corporate sector and I don’t think the members of the board which get used to BN regime for decades can reform itself. Of course I’m not suggesting that the board members been replace as it may trigger a lot of misunderstanding that PR are power crazy. May I suggest that the senior member of Labour Unions be the watchdog for the implementation. At least 3 of them from 3 different unions. This is of course based on the logic, the best person that take care of the labour’s money is the labour himself. This way is even more effective if you can rotate the members within the watchdog panel every 2 or 3 years to avoid any abuse.

Like wise the education policy of Pakatan Rakyat which emphasize on need and merit. Please allow the member of the welfare department to be its advisor.

Some of my friends had already give up on the county system and prefer to migrate. I believe even more will choose to migrate in the future if the current system remain status quo. We need to retain our best talent. As such I suggest that DAP/PR should duly utilized its network of members to get more people to register especially young voters, “the power of change in every revolution”. Of course as a citizen I have always ask my friends and colleagues to register at the nearest post office if they haven’t. I strongly believe if we can get at least 1 more million voters and vote for us then Putrajaya its just a few meter away from now. Hopefully the PR’s policy can be implement in the near future.

1. #1 by mrx on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 9:44 am

does pakatan recognize ‘kliko’ as our grando daddy?
    http://thextalks.blogspot.com/2009/12/malay-untold-truth-4-malay-odyssey.html
    ho ho ho

2. #2 by Dipoh Bous on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 9:52 am

…out of respect to our christian friends, as today is christmas eve, I prefer not to comment the above post.

….will give feedback later.

May this joyous occassion unites malaysians, at least while celebrating it, through the many open houses held.

3. #3 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 10:23 am

…out of respect to all LKS blog readers, I too will comment on the above post later.

Actually I lie. I’m on Dribblyx, so the first 3 minutes has taken half an hour to download. I think perhaps by Boxing Day I should have seen the whole ten minutes.

I’m sure if God had needed instructions on how to create the Universe, and had had the option, he too would have potong well before the sixth day.

I think the point about voter registration is good. The problem with registering young voters (no particular disrespect meant to LKS) is that the politics of Imperial Malaysia appears to be completely sewn up by old men who groom slightly less old men to replace them in strict succession. If young people appear apathetic about Malaysian politics, I blame old Malaysian politicians.

How about a postcard / beermat campaign aimed at the kinds of places young people frequent? I recall a letter from a medical graduate published on LKS not so long ago who was in limbo before assignment to her first hospital who replied to a suggestion to do some voluntary work with the revelation that her parents did not allow her to walk to the local shop on her own – and she was in her mid 20s! Perhaps it’s not just the politicians who should be blamed. Anybody got any workable solutions for how to reach Malaysia’s youngest voters?

4. #4 by dawsheng on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 10:56 am

I also think Pakatan Rakyat policies sound impressive, but so is BN. Whether PR walks the talks is another matter altogether. The reasons given for not implementing local council election are very lame.

5. #5 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 11:05 am

I think Vincent Lee and OrangRojak are good in showing their concern by suggesting DAP to encourage the young citizens to go register as the voters.

No matter what, the young citizens have to go register as the voters because they are the major losers in the unfair economic policy of Barisan Nasional throughout the past 40 years. During the first 10 years of Malaysia’s achieving independent from the British colonial rule, Tunku Abdul Rahman’s Alliance Government did give 8 acres’ GSA lands to farmers of different races of Malaysia. After the implementation of New Economic Policy, some Felda project participants got 10 acres’ lands from the State Government of their project site but the majority of Felda participants were of Malay origin. However, those Umnoputras who had good political or business connection with Umno’s political power holders would still be able to get hundreds or thousands of acres of agricultural lands during 1980s and 1990s.

Entering the 21 century, most Malaysia’s states in Peninsular Malaysia have already depleted their aerable lands due to excessive deforestation. As a result of it, the state government can no longer give away agricultural lands as a vote-buying measure during election campaign. Therefore, most young generations in Malaysia nowadays are landless “Have Nots”, whereas most landowners belong to the senior citizen group. It is understandable that the young generations of voters will likely cast vote against Barisan Nasional since they have been short-changed and ill-treated by Barisan Nasional Government as compared to the inexpensive lands and other fringe benefits like Felda housing being obtained by the senior citizens during 1970s, 1980s and 1990s.

6. #6 by pwcheng on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 12:04 pm

Yes I also dis see some simmering failure of PR in Walking the talk in the “local council election” issue. Many are trying to side step this issue by implicating legal constraints as the blockers. If that is the case why is is not brought up to Parliament to untangle the legal implications. Even if it cannot go through at least we will know who is for and who is against. Can DAP bell the cat.

7. #7 by k1980 on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 12:45 pm

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/20091224120717/Article/index_html

With 28,188 great minds, why can’t Bolehland build its own spacecraft, instead of having to purchase a seat in a Russian rocket for our great space tourist?

8. #8 by AhPek on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 2:15 pm

The young forms a huge portion of eligible voters in Malaysia since Malaysia is a young country unlike Japan or Singapore.It is therefore highly important for PR to win over as many as they can to form the next government after the 13th GE.According to Onlooker Politics,the young are for the opposition.Unfortunately many of them are
    apolitical and Kit you have got to tell them
    that everyone who is a Malaysian should be given a place under the Malaysian sky,and for that to happen only if they vote for change!You do that well,and if,like what OrangRojak says,can identify where the young hangs out persuading to register should be a breeze.This should be the No. 1 priority now and you haven’t got much to waste before the 13th GE! DO THIS WELL AND YOU ARE ON YOUR TO FORM THE NEXT GOVERNMENT.

9. #9 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:03 pm

Any chance of sponsoring Wee Meng Chee to do a cover of Snap’s “The Power” about registering to vote? Maybe I’m showing my age! Maybe someone else would be better, since I imagine the MSM has done a fairly good job of polarising attitudes towards him – although any other Malaysian I can think of who might do such a project strikes me as unbearably cheesy. It’s a conservative country, maybe cheesy is what would work best!

Or maybe what you need is something like Rock The Vote:
    http://www.rockthevote.com/
    Perhaps you might even find some help there. Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia is also trying to get young people to register to vote, but I think they’re hamstrung by being old and sensible.

10. #10 by -ec- on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:03 pm

k1980 :
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/20091224120717/Article/index_html
    With 28,188 great minds, why can’t Bolehland build its own spacecraft, instead of having to purchase a seat in a Russian rocket for our great space tourist?

1. because most of them would have left the country or migrated.
    2. because nobody could ensure that the engines will be there when the spacecraft is ready to fire into the sky.
    3. because nobody could guarantee that the spacecraft station would not have collapsed suddenly.

11. #11 by -ec- on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:05 pm

merry christmas and happy new year!

12. #12 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:08 pm

Aiyah…. commenting broken again?

13. #13 by Godfather on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:11 pm

Oh no ! The roof of our space station has collapsed. We can’t find the Class F contractor.

Oh no ! One engine on our Proton-Lotus rocket is missing. Could it be with the new F1 team ?

Oh no ! Our astronauts’ spacesuits are leaking, but they can’t find out the cause.

Oh no ! Somebody stole the marbles and teh tarik equipment which were to be used for our space experiments.

Merry X’mas to all fellow contributors to our worthy cause.

14. #14 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:11 pm

I want to say this… but nothing appears when I post the first time. When I post a second time I get “Duplicate comment”. When I add some nonsense to the top (like this) it just silently disappears again. Is it the URL? I’ll try mangling it:

Any chance of sponsoring Wee Meng Chee to do a cover of Snap’s “The Power” about registering to vote? Maybe I’m showing my age! Maybe someone else would be better, since I imagine the MSM has done a fairly good job of polarising attitudes towards him – although any other Malaysian I can think of who might do such a project strikes me as unbearably cheesy. It’s a conservative country, maybe cheesy is what would work best!

Or maybe what you need is something like Rock The Vote:
    rockthevote_DOT_com
    Perhaps you might even find some help there. Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia is also trying to get young people to register to vote, but I think they’re hamstrung by being old and sensible.

15. #15 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:12 pm

I thought we weren’t building our own space craft because the research, development and engineering capacity for space exploration is frivolous?

16. #16 by Godfather on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:17 pm

Rojakman, we are building our own space craft because there is this nagging fear that Singapore will beat us to it. We are also acquiring nuclear technology so that the Israeli-sponsored dot down south can be put on notice that we will not be bullied, directly or indirectly.

17. #17 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 3:53 pm

Why DREAM about spacecrafts when they CANNOT even maintain a truck or a locomotive over its projected life span? This is a nation that can offer PhD in “SLOGANEERING” with some respect I believe. You hear all the grandio proclamations at every board meetings; from private to Gomen, especially the Gomen Boards where both driftwoods and deadwoods abound. The art of of propaganda is so strong that the creators themselves begin to believe it too. This is the turning point of a nation falling off the cliff when the propagators are suppose to the aloof conductors but failed to decern reality from make-believes.

18. #18 by storm62 on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 4:05 pm

build space craft???……..aiya just call ET, can rent from the , no need to built….engine will get stolen again.

19. #19 by frankyapp on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 4:14 pm

Hi orangrojak,SMS is one best way as most if not all youngsters have cell phones nowadays.These group of people are pretty busy ,hence reminders are necessary too.Also remember,sometime getting them to register is simple but it’s pretty tough to getting them out to vote for these youngsters have lots and lots of excuses.Some good examples are ” I’m busy or sorry,have no time,or ok,I’ll go later.”

20. #20 by AhPek on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 4:16 pm

You seem to be incredulous storm62? Don’t you know at one time our ex-Minister of Science,now our stroke-woman’s- backside Ambassador to US once dreamed and talked about growing our own Nobel Prize Winners!!!!!!!

21. #21 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 4:33 pm

Dr.Rojak,
    One sure to work way to get our youngsters to register: “THROUGH FACEBOOK.” That how our youngsters network. Recruit the young chiku with the most friends and pay him on a per head basis to recruit.

22. #22 by boh-liao on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 4:48 pm

Will PR instruct mata-mata not 2 treat all female students fr China as prostitutes n put them behind bars n ill treat them

23. #23 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 4:52 pm

Or how about starting really early with Youth Parliament:
    http://www.ukyouthparliament.org.uk/4655/index.html
    Europe has something similar – perhaps for slightly older youths?
    Here’s a mangled URL – I fear the LKS moderation system:
    www*eypej*org/area.3.About-EYP.html

24. #24 by Joker on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 6:05 pm

hmm… agree with the author. Perhaps the best way to register all new voters is during CNY and Raya, this is when most of the younger voters are back in their kampung.

Since it is CNY or Raya, it is a good opportunity for DAP to go from house to house, good Public Relationship. CNY is around the corner.

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 11:14 pm

Good idea from Joker!

I used to buy keyholder with DAP’s rocket logo when I was in the primary school.

I hope I can buy some CNY cards with DAP’s rocket logo in the next few weeks’ time! It has been more than 20 years I never sent out a CNY card by surface mail because email electronic cards are popular nowadays. I think the classmates of mine in primary school and secondary school will like to get the surprise of receiving a CNY card with DAP’s rocket logo in it. At least I can send the cards out to several puppy lovers of mine during my childhood time calling for a Chinese New Year Reunion! YB Kit, it is easy money to earn, isn’t it?

26. #26 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 24 December 2009 - 11:31 pm

Hey – isn’t the new PR logo exactly right for ang pow? Oh not quite, orange rather than red. Is that orange? I see on the facebook page that PR have carried over DAP’s racist explanation for the 5 hibiscus petals. That’s disappointing.

27. #27 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 12:15 am

There is a section in the announcement of Pakatan Rakyat Policy talking about setting goal of achieving the National Food Security.

I hope Pakatan Rakyat will not repeat the policy mistake of Barisan Nasional in respect of encouraging food production. Barisan Nasional has been implementing a food production policy which is full of hypocrisy. For instance, some dairy cow farmers in Pahang found that they had to throw away their fresh cow milk by draining it to the longkang because a private dairy milk factory located in Bandar Muazam Shah refused to buy the milk. The reason of the refusal was that the milk factory had already gotten adequate inexpensive supply of cow milk from import sources such as Australia and New Zealand. The Veterinary Services Department (Jabatan Perkhidmatan Haiwan or abbreviated as JPH) did offer to buy milk from the dairy farmers but many farmers found that the RM2 per litre price of Grade AA milk could hardly permit them to achieve the breakeven production-sale point. If Barisan Nasional Government is sincere enough in its intent to help the dairy cow farmers, then it must be humble and honest in dealing with the farmers when getting JPH to serve as a market middle man. If milk manufacturers such as Dutch Lady or HL are able to offer to buy at RM2.50 per litre of Grade AA milk, then I see no reason why JPH cannot offer a buying price of RM2.20 per litre to the farmers.

Another instance, the average production costs for one kg of fresh goat mutton in Malaysia is about RM18. If the goat farmers are to sell their mutton at the price of RM20 per kg, the sale value they can expect from one head of 45 kg one-year old goat will be about RM360 (45 kg X 40% meat yield after slaughter X RM20 per kg retail price). Unfortunately, not many goat farmers are able to sell their fresh mutton at the price of RM20 per kg. This is because the frozen mutton importers are selling their mutton at the price of RM9.50 per kg. JPH has throughout the past 30 years made many goat farmers fail in earning a decent living by giving away about 10 heads of goats to the farmers for purpose of encouraging them to venture into the economically infeasible goat farming business.
    However, JPH will still continue to give away free animals to the ruminant farmers because the top officers are being paid a handsome sum of commission by the live animal sellers. Pakatan Rakyat leaders must have a strong determination to fight against the red tape in JPH if it really wants to carry out a meaningful reform in respect of achieving national food security!

28. #28 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 11:18 am

Somebody called and informed me this morning that a case of a Malaysia muslim-convert by the name of Idris Bin Abdullah passed away in JB General Hospital this morning. The cause of the death was TB infection. Idris survived a Chinese wife with several kids and a muslim wife and a kid.

Immediately before he was admitted to the hospital, Idris had been working for about 4 years as a security guard with a Bursar-Malaysia-listed company, which hired more than 300 workers, including 200 foreign workers. There was a high chance that Idris could have been infected with TB pathogen during his employment with the company. It was because the Executive Director of this company purportedly and illegally retook a foreign worker who had been found to be a TB pathogen carrier six months after the foreign worker had been sent back to Indonesia by his former Human Resources Manager. The reason for the reintake was that the factory was badly suffering from the shortage of skilled production line supervisor.

Pakatan Rakyat has to openly voice out a nation-wide foreign worker intake policy in order to ensure the proper maintenance of acceptable health care standard in Malaysia. Otherwise, Malaysia will sooner or later become a country full of contagious diseases such as TB or Hepatitis B with the loosening control on foreign worker intake.

29. #29 by Tehtarik on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 5:58 pm

I am 23 yrs old. I think the main reason why my generation loathes to get involved in politics is because it is seen as dirty and corrupted. There is no place for merit and it is all about the people you know. It is risky because anytime your private life can be exposed to achieve some political end. You also risk your life and freedom esp if you are part of the opposition. Futhermore, the political field is dominated by old men and esp for young females it is seen as an uphill battle (on a very steep hill!) to get anywhere. I see some hope in PR, but I am still not yet convinced that there is place for young talents there.

30. #30 by boh-liao on Friday, 25 December 2009 - 6:43 pm

Policy – sounds good, looks nice, but just a piece of document
    To b displayed on a wall
    Should PR b given a chance 2 rule in d near future
    Let’s see if d 3 strange bedfellows will tunaikan this piece of document