BTN should not only be revamped – heads must roll for the poisoning of a whole generation of Malaysian leaders, civil servants, university students

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz told reporters in Parliament this morning that the Cabinet has agreed to revamp the Biro Tata Negara (BTN) following national furore against the BTN’s divisive, racist and seditious course which pump communal poison, incite racial hatred and illwill which are no different from Nazi indoctrination camps.

Nazri is reported to have:

• agreed that the divisive, racist and seditious BTN course is not in line with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 1Malaysia concept;

• that “the recent Cabinet meeting saw it necessary to do away with the BTN co-curriculum which government leaders, including the prime minister, saw was racially divisive and destructive”; and

• the Chief Secretary to the Government has been instructed to oversee BTN’s revamp.

While I welcome Nazri’s announcement and any revamp of BTN, it would appear that many top Umno Ministers and leaders, including the Deputy Prime Minister, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, Women, Family and Community Development Minister, Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister Datuk Seri Noh Omar, Datuk Seri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil and the Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Ahmad Maslan, with direct charge of the BTN portfolio, seem to be unaware of this Cabinet decision.

Last Thursday, Muhyiddin had defended the BTN while Hishammuddin, Nor Omar, Shahrizat and Ahmad had defended the divisive, racist and seditious BTN course only over the weekend, condemning critical voices including my call for the closure of the racist and seditious BTN course as it makes a total mockery of Najib’s 1Malaysia slogan and concept.

Why is this so. Who is right, Najib or Muhyiddin, Hishammuddin, Nor Omar, Shahrizat and Ahmad?

In September last year, I had raised in my blog the trauma suffered by JPA scholars, Malay and non-Malays, at the communal poison and racial hatred they had to undergo from the BTN brainwashing course.

This was what an outraged parent wrote:

“As part of the course, which is mandatory before they are sent overseas, all non-Malays are segregated and given lectures on the history of the country and how the immigration of the Chinese and Indians had taken place. And finally how the Chinese and Indians were given citizenship. The Malays too had their own similar sessions.

“The instructors blatantly told them that they should not question the rights and privileges of the Malays as the non-Malays should be thankful that they were given citizenship status and a place to stay on their soil. My daughter together with the other non-Malay students was shocked and went back to their dormitories depressed. And to the Malay students, the instructors told them to be aware of this fact and not to mix too freely with the non-Malays.

“A Malay friend of my daughter came back crying to the dormitory saying that she could not take the racist position taken by the government authority. My daughter then began questioning the bumiputra policy and was disgusted with such blatant indoctrination. This incident has also made the students harbour anger and resentment. Their fear for the authorities and losing their scholarships made them keep their cool. I am not exaggerating here – ask all the JPA students to write in anonymously and you will know the truth.

“These are young minds being polluted with racism. Tens of thousands of students have gone through this programme and more will be attending it in the future. So can you blame them when they exhibit their racist tendencies when in authority? How could the JPA allow such a syllabus for the cream of the nation, who will one day be entrusted to implement government policies fairly?”

A revamp of BTN is not enough. Heads must roll for the poisoning of a whole generation of Malaysian leaders, civil servants, university students as what BTN did was a great disservice to plural Malaysia, Malaysian nation-building, the Merdeka social contract, the Malaysia Agreement, Rukunegara, Vision 2020, Bangsa Malaysia and now 1Malaysia.

The ball is now in Najib’s court on his return from CHOGM in Port of Spain – to let Malaysians know whether he is serious about 1Malaysia slogan and concept and why top Umno Ministers led by the Deputy Prime Minister and the Home Minister could defend the divisive, racist and seditious BTN indoctrination course.

1. #1 by OrangRojak on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 3:34 pm

Heads must roll
    Careless choice of words in South East Asia. Made my neck itch. I think involuntary redundancy would do.

2. #2 by taiking on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 3:36 pm

Najib will direct nazri to answer all questions. And months later set up an investigation body to look into the matter. Many more months later, another body headed by an umnoputra will take over the investigation. Finally, a super body will be set up to investigate all the investigations on the matter.

Meanwhile, lets party on.

3. #3 by Indran on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 4:01 pm

It is really sad that many countries have gone down similar path by starting with indoctrination at various levels (community, school, camps). I am not a historian but I believe that the former Yugoslavia, Sri Lanka , Rwanda all started with “Ketuanan ________”.

This seems outrageous but are our Malay brethren exercising their right within Article 153?

Is this a way (psychological instrument) for safeguarding the special position of the Malay and other indigenous peoples of Malaysia?

4. #4 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 4:01 pm

Nazi agreed BTN is divisive n racist
    Wah, amazing, hormat him 4 frank admission
    Now, MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc dare 2 open their mouths n condemn BTN

5. #5 by limkamput on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 4:03 pm

Revamp my ass. They could give you the most inclusive content and syllabus in the world and yet go on spiting venom in the actual course. When are we going to learn? Didn’t they tell us since Merdeka that Malaysia was for everybody? Where are we now today?

UMNO/BN will never fight for greater unity or better governance or more efficiency. Look at the Penang demo today: Those non UMNO BN component parties participating in it will be cursed for the next 10 generations. At least UNMO members were be expected to do so.

We nincompoops never learn even though opportunities were given for a better Malaysia umpteen times. We oscillate, we fumble, we think short term, and we are spineless.

Kampung Buah Pala … If BN is in power, you nincompoops would get nothing.

6. #6 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 4:14 pm

There u r Najib – yr no-brainer of BTN. Actually, it began during Tun M’s era, wasn’t it. So this is as good a time as any to ditch it & shaft it into the dunghill & disclaim d policy. Hang all yr Cabinet members and advisers who have been nothing better than parakeets or, as Shakespeare wud call it ‘rare parrot-teacher’, a repeater of meaningless words and phrases. (“Much Ado ABout Nothing”.)

7. #7 by a-malaysian on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 4:16 pm

Like what I had posted on my blog:

Najib, Not Only BTN Needs Overhauled Your Ministers Need To Be Overhauled As Well

Malaysia For All

GE 13 – Change The Federal Government No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty two years.

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 4:17 pm

YB LKS, can u write something about the GST. Someone said: what’s d point of raising RM1b when the leakages run into 8b. Over the years, Barry Wain said something like RM100b.

God, how cud Malaysians not seen the madness in our politicians like Tun M and cronies.

9. #9 by frankyapp on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 4:27 pm

Malays,like kasim amat should not always demand that non -malays should not challenge the rights of the malays.Malays should realise that they don’t always go over-board claiming its right here and there,failing to understand that non-malays have its rights too.I think malays cannot claim exclusive birth right as others too have the right to do so.Remember we are all ‘pedatangs’ and malays should thank their lucky star to have the nep .But they should never think the nep is for them forever.Sabah and Sarawak ,especially the natives too should be accorded their rightful nep but was always left out ,yet they never shouted you malays have taken all our nep rights.In view of this,I think Sabahans and Sarawakians and the non-malays are more loyal and patriotic than the malays.The malays always think everything is belong to them including the rambutan tree,standing in nobody’s land.It’s time they sholud think rationally what theirs is theirs and what others is others and what’s not,it should be shared.Staying and sharing together we stand,disunited we all would fall,hence none will benefit at the end of the day.

10. #10 by HJ Angus on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 5:04 pm

Is Malaysia a truly BOLEH nation?
    We had the DPM not that long ago claiming that everything was “honky-dory” about the BTN and even that Shahrizat saying she really enjoyed it – let’s hope she was not thinking of the rapes in Sarawak.
    Now a revamp which is really too little, too late.
    We cannot allow such misguided people to control such programs like the BTN.
    For starters, removing OSA protection on all BTN materials would be appropriate.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/11/malaysiakini-hopes-btn-revamp-will-work.html

11. #11 by undertaker888 on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 5:34 pm

ya roll the heads of moo-hate-din, himmler-mudin and shahrislut.

are these goons running out of ideas to win the rakyat that they must succumb to oppressive and divisive tactics. oyyy…we are not playing football here!!!

12. #12 by Cinapek on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 6:16 pm

So the BN Govt has finally admitted that BTN has indeed been conducting “..divisive, racist and seditious BTN course” which are “..racially divisive and destructive..” to use Nazri’s own words. He has said they are seditious. So when do we see the highly efficient PDRM charging those who carried out these seditious activities? If Karpal can be charged for sedition even though his remarks were within the law, what about these BTN goons?

Next, our HP6 ministers. Before this admission by Nazri, we had the DPM, no less, who claimed the BTN courses were in line with the 1 Malaysia concept. Then of course we had those sycophant ministers such as Hishamuddin, Sharizat and Mohd Nor jostling to get in line to parrot in support. I wonder now if they felt any shame since obviously their boss had rub their faces in the shit. In those “decadent western govts” if any of their ministers had comitted such acts, they would have tendered their resignations. It is bad enough to make silly statements that flew into their own faces but even worse, there is a clear attempt to lie to the public on a matter of national unity and harmony. By opening their big fat mouths, they have further confirmed what is already public knowledge. That we have a bunch of clowns running the Govt. who would not hesitate to lie if need be just to stay in power.

13. #13 by Jong on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 9:48 pm

This mental genocide on its own rakyat must be stopped, not to be tolerated a day further!

All those who had gone through this racist indoctrination program must come forward and collectively form a ‘public pressure group’ to expose those evildoers – UMNO, and BN component party leaders, BTN moderators and facilitators the past 3 decades be held accountable, hauled in to take collective blame for their involvement, to have had allowed Umno the way it had been and is still doing. They can no longer turn away and deny any involvement!

14. #14 by boh-liao on Monday, 30 November 2009 - 11:51 pm

304,358 Malaysians migrated fr March 2008 till August this year
    D figure for 2007 was 139,696 citizens
    Migrations more than double in a year
    Y? Becos of BTN n NR’s 1M’sia?

15. #15 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 9:26 am

So Nazi d honest 1 admitted that all these bug gers Muhyiddin Yassin, Hishap Hussein, Noh Omar, Shahrizat, n Ahmad Maslan r shameless liars

16. #16 by taiking on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 10:19 am

Yes revamp it. Allow participants to video record the invaluable lessons and share them with friends outside.

17. #17 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 1 December 2009 - 5:07 pm

Muhi is in absolute denial mode. The Chinese calls this “?????”!

18. #18 by wanderer on Wednesday, 2 December 2009 - 9:23 am

How to roll heads YB, when all the poisonious snakes curled together in the same sh#t hole.
    Be patient, our day will come, “Power for the powerless!”