Hishammuddin “rubbishes” Home Ministry website opinion poll on crime

I was floored.

In response to my questioning on the deplorable crime situation when winding-up his Ministry in Parliament in the 2010 Budget debate, Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said the Home Ministry official website poll of some 10,000 respondents on crime in Malaysia do not reflect the actual situation as the number of persons involved do not come to even .01 per cent of the Malaysian population of 27 million.

I told Hishammuddin that this was a most shameful answer and demonstrated that the government was in serious denial, raising grave questions about its commitment to end the endemic crime situation to restore a safe country where citizens, tourists and investors can feel safe and secure.

The three findings of the recent Home Ministry website opinion polls were:

*97% or 9,729 out of 10,060 respondents felt unsafe because of the high crime rate, with only 1% or 89 respondents felt safe and 2% or 242 respondents in the “uncertain” category.

*95% or 8,883 out of 9,319 respondents felt that the safety of the people was not guaranteed as compared to 3% or 248 respondents who felt it was still guaranteed, with 2% or 188 respondents in the “uncertain” category.

*94% or 8,743 out of 9,261 respondents felt that government had not done its best to ensure that the safety of the people was at the best level with 2% or 185 respondents felt that the government had done its best, and 4% or 333 persons “uncertain”.

I asked Hishammuddin what is the use of the Home Ministry putting up such opinion polls on its website if he as Minister was going to “rubbish” them.

Hishammuddin’s denial that he was rejecting the findings of the opinion polls on the Home Ministry website lacked all credibility.

1. #1 by mendela on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 10:11 pm

Remember the photo this idiot was drinking beer in his younger day?

He is still not sober from that very drink he took some 20 years ago!

2. #2 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 10:14 pm

Only in Malaysia could you fail opinion polls.

3. #3 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 10:37 pm

Someone is looking at the tree next to him with 10,000 leaves forgetting the big piture of being in the woods with 27 million trees. Perhaps the tree has been fabricated to outshine others.

4. #4 by mendela on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 11:02 pm

5. #5 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 11:04 pm

Imagine this otak-udang-keris-weilding man becoming the PM of Malaysia one day. Very frightening thought, isn’t it?? Malaysians must pray hard for Pakatan Rakyat to take over the Federal Government.

6. #6 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 11:12 pm

hishamuddin is the man who held the keris epitomising racism in this country. His credibility is long gone with such an act, in fact if such an event took place in america, people would give him crap till he had to resign or certain organisations would sue him for racism.

The home ministry is a joke, the whole UMNO/BN coalition is a joke. i pity the citizens who are hoping for change and progress. All this government is doing his bribing people in order to stay in power, contemplate toppling all the opposition states, all this with our money!

7. #7 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 11:13 pm

mendela,

Tell us what the video clip is all about. It is in strange foreign language; like listening to Hishamuddin speaking. I catch no ball ( lia bo kiu )

8. #8 by mendela on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 11:28 pm

Hi Taxidriver, the very song writer passed away today…

9. #9 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 11 November 2009 - 11:50 pm

who is the singer?

10. #10 by ablastine on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 12:07 am

Precisely the point. What is the point of having an opinion poll when the person who is responsible for it thinks that the result is not going to be reflective of the situation? It pains me to note that a person of Ministerial level does not even understand statistics. All they know is play politics, how to bury your opponent, how to cover up and how to suck money from the system for self gain. What type of future our children in Malaysia will have with leaders of such calibre. Bleak.

11. #11 by yhsiew on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 12:23 am

There is no point in arguing with Hishammuddin. Just capitalize on BN weakness and turn it into PR ammunition. Come the 13th general election PR bring out the manifesto “If we are elected, we will overhaul and reform the police force and we will endeavor to do our best to bring peace and security to every home and every person on the street…..”

12. #12 by johnnypok on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 2:10 am

What can you expect from a HP6 guy like him?

13. #13 by monsterball on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 2:16 am

If you want to look for the biggest idiotic UMNO minister…he is the one.
    Just look at his answer makes you feel sorry for the country to have such a minister….which UMNO BARU is so proud of.
    Najib is actually powerless too…contradicting everything he said….afraid to upset UMNO supreme council wolves..demons and snakes.

14. #14 by House Victim on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 2:29 am

Most probably all these kind of “High” official should be asked to recite what their Jobs and Duties are. So that they know how much they failed to do!

The Security are not only fight against crime but to prevent. Not only physically they have to do but psychologically they have to impress!

Malaysian security is REALLY BAD! Because the Security force failed to do their Jobs,
    Not able to prevent, nor, able to fight crime.
    Not able to patrol well, nor, even to stick to Procedures to Investigate!!

Should a lawyer assaulting clients cases at lawyer office be dragged without Investigation Report despites of numerous reminders from the victims since 18.4.2008?
    Should KUP and AG be silent and failed to response despites of email promises from AG?

Will they be shameless to breach their duties if the Home Minister care to do his work?

Is Malaysia a country with no better personal who can work responsibly and sensibly?

EVEN THEY DO NOT NEED TO TRACE THE CRIMINAL THEY CANNOT DO THEIR WORK!

Hishammuddin, What else can you do, except flip flop??

15. #15 by nkkhoo on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 3:28 am

This is a real problem when MOE downgraded SPM mathematics to kindergarden level.

I doubt Hishamuddin got any idea on what is sampling size and error used in the scientific survey.

16. #16 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 5:33 am

First, UMNO and BN creates or fosters or condones the filthy, sickening rubbish to appear.

Then UMNO sweeps the rubbish under the carpet.

Why always this association with the carpet, we must ask? Carpet, carpetman… fascination. Check RPK for more info on carpet and related links. Aiyoh…check Malaysia-today.net

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 7:03 am

Since Hishamuddin mention the number .01%. Firstly the primary school math is wrong. Its actually 0.04%. First F grade.

Secondly, the statistic methodology is wrong. You don’t use 27,000,000 as the basis. If you are going to be picky, you use the adult voting population 14,000,000.

Then lets look at the biggest error called sampling theory – the basis behind polls and opinion. Is 10,000 online opinion reflective of the larger population where internet penetration is under 30%? What is the accuracy of the poll?

Honestly, online polls are flawed because it relies too much on ‘pull’ factor. Only those aware and further subset of interested in the subject takes the poll. The general population is passive or apathetic and hence those that participate is bias towards a certain view.

BUT what is the bias? Does Hishamuddin know what the bias is if he does not know primary school math? This is the crux of the idiocy and his error and incompetence of him and his cousin. Does he know that you can calculate the bias? Put it another way 97% vote, no sampling bias can revoke the conclusion.

So what are we to conclude about this? Hishamuddin and his cousin do not know what they hell they are talking about and in fact doing. (Can’t believe he open his mouth this way after his cousin did the 6-9 position on GDP).

Yes, its incredulous but what is so incredulous after what Najib did, even their Geek Minister KTK can give such a pathetic answer to IGP KPI. At least have the Geek do some real math give he has a Princeton PHD..It seem like BN need a Minister of Math..

18. #18 by Dap man on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 7:28 am

Let’s assume the Poll had indicated that the people felt safe and happy with the crime prevention methods of the police, the Minister would have gone to town with the result.
    If UMNO refuses even to admit its March 8 2008 loss, what else will it accept.
    This is arrogance at its peak.

19. #19 by k1980 on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 7:41 am

The only person to agree with the Home Minister would be the “great” (appointed, not elected) KPI minister, the honorable senator KTK,

20. #20 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 7:58 am

House Victim :
    Most probably all these kind of “High” official should be asked to recite what their Jobs and Duties are. So that they know how much they failed to do!

21. #21 by drngsc on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 8:09 am

There is non so blind as those who would not see. What to do, the whole BN government is like that.

22. #22 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 8:10 am

tenaciousB :

House Victim :

To be honest with you 98% of the cabinet ministers in UMNO are unqualified in carrying out theirs tasks in the cabinet. If one were to have a sudden Q and A session with these ministers to enquire about their roles and their general knowledge, it would be appauling.

Take for instance the former defence minister, mr.syed alba, whereby he managed to make a clown of himsel when interviewed in BBC hardtalk. Dumb ministers pave a bad name of malaysians abroad.

23. #23 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 8:41 am

We have a sort of Minister, now we have another donkey minister who also denial the important of the pool statistic. If the pool statistic is to their favour, then only 10 taking parts also will be good. So was the mentality of those idiots.

What the minister need to feel is just serious turun padang and ask the man on the street whether they feel safe of not. The answer is clear.

In my area most of shop doing their business by the half close shutter doors. so services business like saloon/ spectacles shop choose to close their glass door with the sign “press bell to enter” So is the deplorable state.

I also have client who make sure they have enough cash just in cash some fellow with parang ready to rob and willing to offer them some cash instead of their life.

Please all these are true and those so call mata-mata also know very well but they are heplless for reason only known to them.

I also know of saloon being rob not once but twice. All these stories are real.

24. #24 by taiking on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 8:49 am

He is a fine example of (-)meritocracy. Obviously he does not know anything about statistics and sampling. He is only good for handing out cookies and hugging teary eyed elderly ladies. I meant no disrespect for the ladies by this statement but I am certainly full of contempt for lembudin. Useless and insensitive bum he is.

25. #25 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 8:59 am

hisapmuddin is unfortunately a potential candidate for PM after his cousin. BN hopefully should be out of office then.

26. #26 by k1980 on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 9:27 am

President Hu said that as the two countries are to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations next year, China is ready to provide Singapore with a pair of pandas for joint research in a bid to further enhance the friendly feelings between the people of the two countries.

Why 2 pandas for Singapore but NONE for Bolehland?

http://english.cri.cn/6909/2009/11/12/1961s528681.htm

27. #27 by lkt-56 on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 9:28 am

I am floored too.

Our home minister has admitted that the institution that is entrusted to enforce our laws are seen a diabolically evil by the public. Instead of looking into the reason as to why this should be the case, he chose to blame this “demonisation” for the failure of the police. He should feel quite foolish by now when he realises how lame an excuse he has used to defend the failure of the police.

Additionally, instead of rubbishing the opinion polls he should take it as a feed back to crack the whip for “Performance Now” from the police.

In the meantime over time it is over to Koh Tsu Koon for reporting to the public home minister’s KPI…

28. #28 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 9:42 am

1. BN wasted the Rakyat’s money for the brand new submarine which is only meant for the purpose of joy ride by the Member of Parlimen.
    2. The purpose of the purchase is for the BN to escape to no-way after GE13.
    3. BN good for Buying Nonsense.

29. #29 by Thor on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 10:51 am

With all those bodyguards around them at all times, how would those blardy suckers know what is “safe” or “not safe”.
    That’s why they talk big without using any portion of their brain!
    Only “safe” that they know is those “steel box”, where they stuff their ill-gotten money in.

30. #30 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 11:15 am

k1980 :
    Why 2 pandas for Singapore but NONE for Bolehland?
    http://english.cri.cn/6909/2009/11/12/1961s528681.htm

LOL, cause bolehland can’t even take care of it’s human citizens and is famous for citizens getting thrown off buildings, getting killed in police lock-ups, what more precious endangered animals like pandas!

Those poor pandas would be better off in singapore. LOL.

31. #31 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 11:21 am

Thinking Two :
    1. BN wasted the Rakyat’s money for the brand new submarine which is only meant for the purpose of joy ride by the Member of Parlimen.

Not just that, they wasted money sending monkey to space during badawi’s administration. I wonder what that achieved. Those millions of ringgit could have been used to build structurally safe bridges for children and also help reduce poverty in malaysia.

Now a billion dollar submarine, first of all these clowns keep crashing military planes, now i wonder how they gonna manage handling a submarine? Mat tahu tak macam mana nak pandu benda ni? Entah la pandu je la mat, kalau tak jadi, kita belila benda lain macam USS kittyhawk ke?LOL

32. #32 by k1980 on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 11:26 am

If the post of US President were to be for sale, I believe Bolehland would be the first to make a bid for it. Then the 300 million Americans can be turned into pendatangs to serve the Bolehlander tuans.

33. #33 by Dap man on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 11:27 am

Psychologist Hishammudin Hussein, after some extensive study and research has finally found a formula to explain inefficiency, irresponsibility, laziness and apathy.

Using his finding in No 1 below, by extension we can conclude No 2 – No 7.

1. Crime rate is up because people demonize the police.
    2. UMNO is corrupt because people demonize the leaders.
    3. University ranking drops because people demonize the VCs and education policy.
    4. Children cannot read and write after six years in school because people demonize the teachers.
    5. Public transport is inefficient because people demonize the Transport Minister.
    6. The Finance Minister does not understand economics and GDP because people demonize him.
    7. The Home Minister is becoming an idiot because the people demonize him.

Others please continue.

34. #34 by taiking on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 11:29 am

Why pandas? We dont need no pandas. We have angkasawan! If that is not good enough for you fellas, think further. We have subs too you know. As a matter of fact, we have two subs. We dont need no pandas. Pandas are for small boys to play with. You know the sort of games they call research. No loss to us really. No pandas no problem really.

Honestly, I feel that it is PRC’s way of showing their displeasure about some issues. My guess, they are not entirely happy with the way chinese in the country are being treated. But of course Hu cannot openly express his sentiments. So he has to show it by other means. He knew that najib is merely using china and his visit here to wayang. In other words he is being made used of as a pawn in our umno style politics. As a leader of world standing he is not about to let that happen.

35. #35 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 11:40 am

8. The bridge collapsed because people demonized the 1malaysia camp
    9. Khir toyo’s home renovation costed 24million because people demonised the contractor
    10. The mongolian model blew up because people demonised the IGP
    11. PKFZ scandal costed the people 12billion because the people demonised MCA
    12. CSL became a pornstar because the people demonised the prositute.

others please continue. LOL

36. #36 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 12:16 pm

Keris-din says crime rate high cos people demonize polis.
    So, if people shut up while police demons range free, crime shud drop.

Brilliant.

Hey, Keris-Din just won “TOK-KOK” award #1.

37. #37 by yyk on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 12:58 pm

13.MCA become mana cari angpow cos they demonize $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

38. #38 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 1:12 pm

Yeah, and hisapmuddin should be asked when the police chose to blow up a woman with c4, what crime does that come under?

The rakyat would like to know the answer.

39. #39 by k1980 on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 1:17 pm

//what crime does that come under?//

Kids, I blew up my Mongol Honey

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/f/fb/Honey_I_blew_up_the_kid_film_poster.jpg

40. #40 by LG on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 2:42 pm

Hishammuddin looks smart but speaks foolish and nonsense most of the time. How can such a person become a Home Minister?

Such a denial from BN Government leader showed that the Government is not serious in improving the welfare and security of the people. They only know how to talk coc* and to bullshi* the general public.

41. #41 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 2:44 pm

Radical muslims in britain want to convert the buckingham palace into a mosque? Can you believe that? Talk about Britain being so tolerant, if other religions wanted to make the sultant’s palace into a temple or church, we had it mate. LOL

42. #42 by Winston on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 3:05 pm

Hishammuddin looks smart but speaks foolish and nonsense most of the time. How can such a person become a Home Minister? – LG

Well, which BN MP isn’t talking rots?

43. #43 by Sallang on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 3:11 pm

Whether or not we have capable ministers is for the world to judge. These Ministers are still on Cloud 9, until they lose their seats in future elections.
    My former teacher used to tell us,’ Its better to be the last kid in ‘A’ class, than to be the 1st kid in ‘B’ class.
    Many of my school mates from ‘C’ class, were lecturers.

44. #44 by House Victim on Thursday, 12 November 2009 - 11:39 pm

#26 by k1980 on Thursday, 12 November 2009 – 9:27 am
    Q: “Why 2 pandas for Singapore but NONE for Bolehland?”

A: Bolehland is flooded with MONKEYS!! whether it is in the Dark or Under the Light!!
    and Cans of Worms!! LOL

45. #45 by monsterball on Friday, 13 November 2009 - 3:22 am

Any idiot will look smart..if you let him wear a suit and tie..hair trimmed to perfection..plus a script writer…advising him what to say or do.
    All the make ups……are like idiotic actors made to act the part of a wise man.
    Can you imagine Nazri as ordinary Malaysian?
    Immediately you can notice a crook coming….avoid him.
    Look at his face!

46. #46 by ringthetill on Friday, 13 November 2009 - 5:32 am

Dear k1980, reason why there is no panda diplomacy for Malaysia?

1. the pandas may die of neglect b’cos local monkeys will be treated better.

3. Mr Hu would not wish for the pandas and their decendants to complain of discrimination and labelled as migrants in years to come.

47. #47 by undertaker888 on Friday, 13 November 2009 - 10:03 am

//Many of my school mates from ‘C’ class, were lecturers.///

That is why people like you and me do not want to send our kids to sekolah kebangsaan. We sent them to jenis kebangsaan. It is not because we do not want to integrate but the education quality is 6 feet under the ground.

If MACC, Ministers can’t even do simple maths and yet they are chiefs and ministers, that shows you the quality of the lecturers.

You simply can’t polish a granite stone into a diamond. It is impossible however hard you try. But they want us to believe granite is diamond. Ingat kita bodohkah? hoooiissss!!

48. #48 by taiking on Friday, 13 November 2009 - 1:27 pm

Why no pandas? Because the chinese fear that their pandas could be subjected to cruel treatment like performing non-animal acts such as screaming out aloud “satumalaysia” and “najibboleh”. The poor animals could even be made to declare their support for and pledge their allegiance to umno.

49. #49 by undertaker888 on Friday, 13 November 2009 - 2:11 pm

Mr Hu was afraid the pandas might have seen some money exchange hand in the zoo compound. They might ended up being sodomised and commit suicide later by jumping off plaza masalam.

Then ‘zoo-keeper’ might came out with excuses like the pandas have less than 1500RM in the bank account and also suffering from some mental disorder.