Azmi Anshar…syok sendiri

By Hussein Hamid

I am a nice person. I normally mind my own business and it does take quite a lot to rattle me or to get me up tight over anything. I prefer to walk away from any confrontational situation because life is to short to get aggravated over things that do not concern my family or me. Unfortunately this Azmi Anshar, one of those reporter ‘who is almost a writer’ working with NSTP has managed to upset me again. The first time was a couple of weeks ago when I ‘ter’ – that’s Bahasa for accidentally – when I terbaca what he wrote about TBH and MACC. I read only the first paragraph of what he wrote because even that much made me wonder what sort of a pretentious prick would write like that. In the first paragraph I had to reach for the dictionary four times! He has done it again today.

Again I am not going to read more then the first paragraph – that I have done and now I will say my piece. This was his headline:

DAILY DISPATCHES: Pakatan politicians want MACC to operate without element of surprise
2009/08/19
Azmi Anshar

A FUNDAMENTAL aspect in law enforcement investigations that leads to the arrest of the bad guys is the element of surprise – a very powerful constituent in the art of war or in the art of self-defence – to take down the enemy or opponent when they least expect it. It is an acceptable form of security marshalling.

As the headline indicates – he is talking about MACC and the ‘element of surprise’ as an acceptable form of security marshalling (impressive word here!) to take down your enemy (a very apt description of Pakatan Rakyat?).

In the first place, The Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission investigates and persecutes corruption in the public and private sectors. You do not catch people who are involved in corruption the same way as PDRM go after robbers and lawbreakers. The most effective way of stopping them from doing what they are doing is to catch them red handed – the element of surprise is important – that is why you need the Police presence everywhere. To deter criminals. That they also collect ‘toll’ from the Rakyat is another story for another time.

But the MACC is tasked with “investigating and prosecuting’ corruption in the public and private sector. What element of surprise do you need? If there is any element of surprise that MACC need it should catching those Mata Mata taking bribes – and it is so prevalent that you do not really need the element of surprise. Can tangkap anytime – if MACC wants to.

What we do not want is to be surprised by MACC with the treatment they are going to give us when we turn up at their office to assist them in any of their investigation. Death for someone when he walks into MACC office when he is not even a suspect is a surprise – a surprise because as you say MACC used the element of surprise to “take down the enemy or opponent when they least expect it”. So please …no more surprises.

And by the way…Pakatan Rakyat is not the “ENEMY”. They are the opposition party and what seats they hold have been won through the election process. And MACC is not at ‘WAR’ and should not be at ‘WAR‘ with Pakatan Rakyat. Also what need is there for MACC to defend itself when they are going after Pakatan Rakyat or the “enemy” as you call them? There was only one Teoh Beng Hock being question. How many were there from MACC?

I think I need to remind myself NOT to go anywhere near NSTP early in the morning while I am having my cup of green tea – more often then not, doing so spoils my breakfast time. Please remember that all I could bring myself to read was the first paragraph of what he wrote. I know that he also has to ‘cari makan’ at NSTP – but please lah don’t play play with us. We can think for ourselves – we expect you to also do that once in a while.

1. #1 by illuminati on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 2:21 pm

Yes, I agree with you Hussein, this guy Azmi is a real prick. He thinks he’s writing Queen’s English. What he wrote ,and he has been doing that since the new regime took over in NST, reads more like England to me.

The amazing thing is how come those editors allow his writing to go through without any vetting or is it called editing? Anyway that’s what we are getting from a degenerating rag like NST. Readers are being short-changed with all the Umno spin as well.

2. #2 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 2:26 pm

PR is the enemy, they stole some states away and they stole the 2/3 majority BN has been enjoying for half a century. That is a major offence already. So need to apprehend the culprits.

Anyways, mata-mata don’t take bribes. They take donations nowadays. They have donation centres all around Malaysia, to make it convenient for the public its located any time and any place that bikers and motorists are plying. See how nice they are? Bets of all they speak politely and its service with a smile! What more can you ask from public servants?

Latest is minister says MACC should carry firearms? Wow … who do they need to shoot? Also, is corruption an offence punishable by death? Is not then why they wanna shoot anyone?

3. #3 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 3:07 pm

Eh ini macam, macam mana nak kira? Hahahaahahahahahaa …

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/25886/84/

4. #4 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 3:21 pm

The shit not only has hit the fan. The shit has berletup in Pitra Jaya. So what say MACC and other.

At least it seem not all MACC officers are bad guys, some still has the concient.

But only but, not more cover up in a massive scale.

If Malaysia is to survive. An answer has to be found from this what the authority will sure to call it as flying letter (surat layang layang).

Pls remember that, surat layang layang also must have the source to layang layang from, so it can not just layang layang like that.

Justice must be done and let erase the perception of the people once and for alll this time.

Will the Najib to so? Let wait and see.

5. #5 by taiking on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 6:25 pm

Oi dont you fellas know? Azmi’s middle name is “Rambo” – that big screen guy. Now you see why he portrayed the macc the way he did.

6. #6 by PSM on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 7:52 pm

Hussein,

One of the joys of my weekends was to read the morning newspaper (usually either the NST or STAR) & enjoy my cup or two of coffee!
    BUT, it’s been years since I’ve done that! Just boycott the local MSM! That’s what a lot of sensible Malaysians do now. Just look at the crap coming out of the Utusan, NST & Star!

7. #7 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 8:46 pm

Pricks from UMNO like to wrote with bombastic words to show off.
    It is indirectly showing an inferiority complex with a superiority front.
    Imagine reading a book with one referring to the dictionary for every few sentences.
    NSTP you say?
    Why…the paper belongs to UMNO .What do you expect?
    They have employees that are more sick physically and mentally that you can ever imagine.
    I will not go into details.
    As much as I find it not a paper to read…I need to but it…for other reasons…such as world news…sports and death columns.
    Glancing through the few writers and political news…you get sick with the non stop one sided news….pages after pages…and only by reading Malaysiakini…and blogs that are anti UMNO….you get the feel of the real situation in Malaysia.

8. #8 by limkamput on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 10:13 pm

No point whining if we don’t have the courage to stop buying the newspaper. We must do things that hurt. Talking about it is not one of them. In fact, it only increases its popularity.

9. #9 by lee wee tak_ on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 10:40 pm

if PR is the enemy then the voters who voted them are enemies so those who live of their tax money should consider if they should respect the democratic choice of the people who pay them their salaries and perks

if PR who is duly elected are supposed to be eliminated, then actually you are going against the law and constitution because PR was elected by popular votes in accordance with the due process as provided under the law and constitution….so WHO is actually breaking the law now?!

10. #10 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 20 August 2009 - 11:37 pm

It is easy for wage earners to advise stop buying papers.
    Businessmen need to have the papers for other matters…which Limkamput may not be aware of.
    Even Lim Kit Siang read all papers.
    And I train my staffs and children to read newspapers.
    There is limit to boycotting…and boycott to limit your knowledge is nonsense.

11. #11 by ekompute on Friday, 21 August 2009 - 1:28 am

monsterballssgoh :
    Pricks from UMNO like to wrote with bombastic words to show off.

Monsterballssgoh, you find their words bombastic? Oh, I thought that their command of English is so fantastic and that’s the reason why I cannot understand what they are trying to drive at.

In explaining the rationale behind the arrest of Sin Chew’s Tan Hoon Cheng, Botak said: “That information is from her. It was published and when it was published, it is best that we get to the bottom by getting the information from her. And when it is related to the whole context and when you look at it holistically, it was in the context of the overall incident and subsequent follow up that happened within the debate, discussion, the polemic and the fear that existed so we brought her in. And I think we are acting professionally, then after one day, we have released her.”

Specifically, I don’t quite understand the sentence in bold. That sentence alone contains almost 50 words, and by the time I reach the end of the sentence, I cannot remember what the beginning of the sentence is about.

What was Botak trying to say? Is it that the published information was related to the hole in the kotek and when he looked at it through the hole, it was in the kotek of the hole incident and subsequently he followed up by having a debate and discussion and found out that it was the fear of pomelo that existed and decided to bring her in? Awwwww, I don’t even understand what I am talking about.

12. #12 by GilaPolitic on Friday, 21 August 2009 - 1:44 am

When Utusan reporter said “Ultra Vires” means “To Insult” & When RTM reporter said “We” means “I”.

Are both Utusan and RTM reporters the worst trained “English” Mass Media & Comm grads in local prime Universities or trained by arrogant KJ in Oxford Uni ? Maybe both reporters are the most stupid bred grads in Malaysia BOLEHLand ?

….

Maybe Utusan lies will bring sympathy Malays vote for the unethical and disbarred BN lawyer to win over PAS. What a BIG SHAME ?

13. #13 by limkamput on Friday, 21 August 2009 - 12:51 pm

//There is limit to boycotting…and boycott to limit your knowledge is nonsense.//

What knowledge? So that we all become stupid like you?

14. #14 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 21 August 2009 - 1:11 pm

Limkamput thinks he is one hell of a smart man.
    He may read alot and know alot..but wisdom comes from aging and experiences….not by reading attaining degrees alone.
    Theoretical with no practical experiences…is shallow and unreliable.
    Practical leading to wisdom…cannot be given to a young fut…like Limkamput.
    It needs aging and plenty more imputs..which he has none.
    Yes…newspapers do provide information that expand and enrich oneself.
    That idiot thinks only of political news.
    If I am stupid….so are thousands…including LKS buying S.Times to read.
    One can encourage boycott…..but to boycott newspapers are real STUPID.
    The reasons S.Times lost out to Star papers are plenty..and not because of boycotting.
    Young fut like Limkamput should not make a fool of himself.
    Reading newspapers is a very good habit.
    Limkamput self confessed he is a biggest slimebag in this blog……wants to teach grandfathers?

15. #15 by frankyapp on Friday, 21 August 2009 - 2:27 pm

Hi guys let me enlighten some of you guys about some political party controls new paper like the NST and its editor. Yeah for Azmi is just “cari makan” or may be more ,you need to ask him but what I know is this.Azmi though cari makan,is strictly instructed by the editor to do provocative reporting to incite say in this case to project the MACC has been doing the right thing even though the public or any right thinking people would tend to disagree.Sometimes,some editor just put his words into the reporter’s mouth and he/she must accept in total ,should it becomes a hit of the day,he/she gets an extra bonus .If you refuse,you lose your cari makan.It’s tough to survive as an honest reporter this day in malaysia.

16. #16 by limkamput on Friday, 21 August 2009 - 5:15 pm

According to this loud mouth, wisdom is the function age and practical experience. No wonder we have plenty of stupid old people around. Yes, old man, you have many years of irrelevant experience. Do you know why Obama is the president of the USA and not John McCain.

Hey let me ask you loose cannon ball, other than NST which you read for “knowledge”, may I know what else you read? Cartoons?

17. #17 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 21 August 2009 - 9:54 pm

Limkamput love to get me into an argument and get both…moderated by LKS.
    He tried so many times.
    Take note…you idiot…read read read to get informations and knowledge.
    He wants to know what I read? You tell me…what do you read and know. Yes…I love certain cartoons…you have problems with that?
    Now you tell me what do you read and really know….young fut.
    You don’t have 10% of Barrak Obama IQ…and only idiots use special people to talk ordinary stuffs.
    This will be my last respond to him.
    Go check up your reputation in this blog…..Limkamput.

18. #18 by monsterballssgoh on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 4:26 am

Cartoonist must be stupid too!
    He is insulting Lat…and great movie producers.
    What an idiot he is.

19. #19 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 12:32 pm

Let’s face it, loose cannon, you can’t get one thing right. Did I say cartoonists are stupid? Well, those who just read cartoons, and nothing else are probably stupid, for example like you.

Even for cartoons also you are not that great. Lat is a good cartoonist, but certainly not a great one.

And one more thing, don’t say it was your last response when it was not, unless you did not understand what you wrote earlier. A real stupid fellow.

20. #20 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 23 August 2009 - 12:42 pm

How to talk to a young slimebag tongue twister.
    He said he will leave if he is frustrated.. and I said…go..no one will miss you…..and I never said I will leave at all..not once.
    He hinted stupid man like me…watch cartoons..which indirectly is hinting cartoonist are stupid people too.
    This MCA …self confessed biggest slimebag never change one bit.