Najib should convene an all-party conference involving all MPs and State Assembly members to launch a national emergency campaign in view of worsening A (H1N1) pandemic

Death toll from the A (H1N1) continues to mount unchecked and relentlessly, adding three more fatalities to a grand total of 67, the latest victims being a 71-year-old man, a 10-year-old girl and a 33-year old woman.

There has been considerable confusion emanating from the Health Ministry, for instance, whether a national health emergency due to the killer pandemic has been declared, as reported by some media, and what it implies.

Health Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said a health curfew would only be considered if the mortality rate goes above 0.4 per cent. He said the country’s mortality rate for A(H1N1) flu is currently between 0.1 per cent and 0.4 per cent.

It is clear that the Health Minister has no real notion of what is the current mortality rate for A(H1N1) as the statement that the current mortality rate between 0.1 per cent and 0.4 per cent is quite meaningless.

As of yesterday, there had been 4,225 reported cases and 64 deaths from A (H1N1) flu, which would give a mortality rate of 1.51%, about four times the 0.4% mortality rate Liow mentioned as the trigger point to impose health curfews.

However, if this is overstating the mortality rate, then are the actual data both for A (H1N1) flu cases and fatalities in Malaysia?

If as contended by Liow that Malaysia’s mortality rate from A (H1N1) is between 0.1 per cent and 0.4 per cent, then a death toll of 64 will mean a range of total flu cases from 64,000 to 256,000 cases! Is Liow admitting to such figures?

Be that as it may, such uncertainties are not conducive to strengthening public confidence in the Health Ministry’s response to the A(H1N1) killer pandemic.

The A (H1N1) killer pandemic and counter-strategy must be seriously tabled in the Cabinet tomorrow and the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak should convene an all-party conference involving all MPs and State Assembly members to launch a national emergency campaign in view of worsening situation involving all Malaysian leaders, regardless of race, religion or political beliefs.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 6:37 pm

The Cabinet should seek foreign expertise to solve the rapidly mounting fatality problem.

2. #2 by charlieKC on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 6:51 pm

1. The chosen is recommended bt MCA.
    http://www.liowtionglai.com/English/MyBiodata.aspx

2. If death statistics is presented to the cabinet. Everyday there are many death..Accident, heart attack, bla bla. dengue. H1N1 get world media attention, cos this is no cure like Aids/HIV. It prolong with special expensive medication.

3. A leaders should view issues with wider prospectous. If stringe control happened like Mexican in Beijing, diplomatic rouses create another crisis.

4. A simple H1N1 test cost 25RM, a detail in depth test cost RM800, what and how can govern define who and what to spend, It is all about $, budget and implementation.

5. Country needs to move on with vibrant activities. Come Puasa Month, if another 50% of the 40% non-muslim are paralysed, then the nation stops. People say-‘ No need to cari makan meh’, It is indeed a difficult choice. People look at you funny when you wear masks. Come to a point, EVERY must wear mask like wearing your clothing…

6. Wonder the intended robbery would be a masked man.

//

3. #3 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 6:59 pm

Kit,

Sorry to sidetrack.

Tiong King Sing gave you some “advice”. See last paragraph of website below.

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/110839

4. #4 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 7:15 pm

Every action or inaction by umno bn government always point towards only one direction, i.e a hidden agenda.

There must be hidden agendas for their slow or total neglect on the H1N1 issue. Just take a look at their action on the mask issue, what does it tell us?

Tamiflu, private dispensaries, clinics, go and talk to the doctors and you will know how their hands were tied.

The school holiday start next week and this is a very good opportunity for the government to at least control the spread of H1N1. Advise parents to take whatever leaves they have to stay at home with their children. Companies that can afford to shut down should allow their emplyees to take leave. Try to make the long week school holiday some sort of self impose curfew.

Postpone or cancel the merdeka celebration, allow the school children to stay at home instead of going back to school to prepare for the celebration match.

For once the government must think of the rakyat or unless they could not bother at all as their own pride are more important.

Malaysia For All

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty one years.

5. #5 by johnnypok on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 7:39 pm

Wait until 50 % population dead.

6. #6 by SENGLANG on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 8:15 pm

We has the weakest MOH minister. We are heading to no return. This minister should be replaced immediately if we are of any hope to avoid any further claiming no. of deaths

7. #7 by anakbaram on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 8:48 pm

The non committal attitude shown by the government in mitigating the spread of H1N1 is indeed abhorrent. If this “tidak apa” attitude continues even in this life threatening situation I do not know what the government is there for.

8. #8 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 8:55 pm

16,000 to 64,000

9. #9 by ClO2 on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 9:12 pm

It has comes down to this:

1) Continue building economy at the expense of life.

2) Curfew and try to save life with some economy loss.

Money or life?

Even till today people are still saying they are too BUSY to learn and rehearse prevention of H1N1. Yes it takes disipline and extra effort to do prevention. I am pro LIFE and I think immediate curfew has long overdued. Curfew now stop business and education and everything for a while; let people have some rest, cool down and get ready for SECOND WAVE!

10. #10 by raven77 on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 9:22 pm

Too late..

Those who have duit..just pack up the family and move for two to three months to Singapore, India, Australai etc where Tamiflu freely available and where they have this thing called “responsibility”…something unheard of by the local KKM…

Better still move move to Middle East countries where the incidence is not so high….

11. #11 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 9:40 pm

I think time for us all to take care of ourselves. The news is out. AH1N1 is serious. A simple mask and keeping away from crowded places is good … simple and effective.

12. #12 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 9:40 pm

I think time for us all to take care of ourselves. The news is out. AH1N1 is serious. A simple mask and keeping away from crowded places is good … simple and effective.

13. #13 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 10:05 pm

A simple mask … is good
    or not:

Face masks

Although face masks have been given out in Mexico, there is no actual evidence that proves wearing a face mask will stop you getting the virus. It’s more effective to use tissues when sneezing and coughing and wash your hands regularly.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Swineflu/DG_177814

I see the H1N1 MOH site (it’s good now, everybody seen it?) is advocating face masks only for times when you can’t avoid being close to a known sick person – and for them, unless it’s an infant. Also advocating alcohol wash – will that work in Malaysia? Someone help me with my ignorance, is it only drinking alcohol that’s haram or is it proximity to it?

14. #14 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 10:13 pm

OrangRojak … a mask does not guarantee that you will not be infected. The virus is airborne carried by water particles. The mask will reduce the risk.

Yes, sneezing into a tissue and disinfecting your hands is better. Tissue will trap all the droplets from the infected host and that is also what a mask will attempt to do for the uninfected person.

I asked some doctors and tehy say the mask needs to be changed and disposed off properly.

15. #15 by mendela on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 10:24 pm

Japan has 5 times more population than Malaysia. Most Japanese are staying in congested cities like Tokyo, Nagoya and Osaka areas.

Japan probably has much more cases of H1N1 than Malaysia.

As of today, there are only 2 cases of death from H1N1 in Japan vs 67 in Malaysia!

Malaysia must seek external helps immediately else surely H1N1 will bring down our economy totally!

16. #16 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 10:46 pm

I think there’s some carefully used and abused language around H1N1 – lowering your risk only has any meaning where risk is relative to another person’s risk. If you don’t want H1N1, and face masks is what you decide to focus on, it’ll only work for you if everybody else doesn’t wear one and you do. Flu is limited by susceptibility. It will be a problem in a community of susceptible people and remain so for as long as there are sufficient susceptible people to infect and infect others. Once a certain threshold of immune people is reached, the flu will cease to be a problem. It may infect the occasional traveller, but if the traveller returns to an immune household, he will recover without infecting anybody else.

The worst thing you could do is to ensure nobody in your community catches H1N1. The natural reservoirs of the disease do not quickly empty (I think the Spanish Flu was around for decades). That’s bad because you’ll remain at risk from the random infected visitor. If everybody in your community were to raise their defences by the same degree, you would each individually still be at about the same risk – in your lifetime – of catching H1N1. An effective vaccine changes all that of course, because when it arrives, vaccinating a proportion of your community will achieve the same thing as getting sick would, but perhaps with less working days lost through illness and fewer deaths.

Perhaps some countries are concentrating on caring for those infected with the disease at the expense of avoiding infection. That strategy would produce a very rapid increase in infections, but perhaps with a markedly lower mortality rate. It should also be marked with an early rapid decline in infections as the flu runs out of un-immune people to infect. The UK is reporting a large decline in new infections.

The figures from Japan are fantastic – but that is a highly developed, highly educated society with deeply ingrained attitudes to health and longevity. I’m sure the Japanese will say it’s just Darwin at work.

17. #17 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 10:53 pm

OrangRojak … the Japs says it the wasabi!!!!

18. #18 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 10:56 pm

wasabi!!!!
    Did they rub it on their chests? Oh my aching vivid imagination!

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 11:09 pm

OrangRojak … I am stopping here! Dun let me change your name to OrangKotor!!! Hahahahaahaa

20. #20 by GilaPolitic on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 11:51 pm

BN goons are too busy planning to grab power from Selangor state govt as mentioned by Najib that BN cannot survived without the economy hearthbeat of Selangor govt controlled by PR now. So the BN goons careless about the deadly Pandemic A(H1N1) spreading like wild firre in Malaysia. Believe it or not ?

India is very much better health control on Pandemic A(H1N1) with low deaths and H1N1 victims as compared with Malaysia with high mortality rate at 1.7% and 67 deaths todate.

India has billions population of people and with health care problems in many poor states are more tranparent in their Health Ministry than Kementerian Kesihatan Malaysian to contain this pandemic issue.

Influenza A (H1N1): Revised Guidelines released by Ministry of Health & Family Welfare of India ( Released: 14 Aug 2009)

In order to prevent and contain outbreak of Influenza-A H1N1 virus for screening, testing and isolation following guidelines are to be followed:

At first all individuals seeking consultations for flu like symptoms should be screened at healthcare facilities both Government and private or examined by a doctor and these will be categorized as under:

Category- A :

Patients with mild fever plus cough / sore throat with or without body ache, headache, diarrhoea and vomiting will be categorised as Category-A. They do not require Oseltamivir and should be treated for the symptoms mentioned above.The patients should be monitored for their progress and reassessed at 24 to 48 hours by the doctor.

No testing of the patient for H1N1 is required.

Patients should confine themselves at home and avoid mixing up with public and high risk members in the family.

Category-B:

In addition to all the signs and symptoms mentioned under Category-A, if the patient has high grade fever and severe sore throat, may require home isolation and Oseltamivir;

In addition to all the signs and symptoms mentioned under Category-A, individuals having one or more of the following high risk conditions shall be treated with Oseltamivir:

Children less than 5 years old;

Pregnant women;

Persons aged 65 years or older;

Patients with lung diseases, heart disease, liver disease, kidney disease, blood disorders, diabetes, neurological disorders, cancer and HIV/AIDS;

Patients on long term cortisone therapy.

No tests for H1N1 is required for Category-B (1) and (2).

All patients of Category-B (1) and (2) should confine themselves at home and avoid mixing with public and high risk members in the family.

Category-C

In addition to the above signs and symptoms of Category-A and B, if the patient has one or more of the following:

Breathlessness, chest pain, drowsiness, fall in blood pressure, sputum mixed with blood, bluish discolouration of nails;

Irritability among small children, refusal to accept feed;

Worsening of underlying chronic conditions.

All these patients mentioned above in Category-C require testing, immediate hospitalization and treatment.

21. #21 by LG on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 12:07 am

STAR reported on May 17

At that time, the DPM said that he had the confident that the Health Ministry had the expertise to contain the H1N1 influenza. However less than 2 months later, the Health Minister “admitted” that the ministry had failed in the stage of containment and had to change to a more serious stage of mitigation.

Today when almost all the countries in the world are affected by the virus, Malaysia is ranked among the top 10 countries in term of fatalities and the No.2 in Asia after Thailand. In term of mortality rate (#fatality/#reported cases) Malaysia probably ranks as No.1 and is much higher rate than Mexico, USA, Canada and Thailand.

Thus it showed that our DPM had exaggerated the competence and expertise of the Health Ministry. He gave false hope and assurance. In fact the DPM has proven to have a poor discernment and judgement not only in this matter but also in many previous matters. One would wonder how a person with such a poor discernment and judgement could be the Education Minister and the DPM.

In fact, the flu was and is never under control. The Health Minister and the Director General should be accountable for such a very poor performance and dismal results. They should resign voluntarily or be sacked ASAP.

Hence our PM should no longer sit still and watch but he need to be personally involved and to take control by execute serious and drastic actions e.g. as proposed by LKS. Dear PM do not treat LKS as an enemy but as your fellow citizen who is very concerned on the welfare and well-being of Malaysians.

22. #22 by drngsc on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 12:09 am

Hi Kit,

It is time that facts be known. I may not agree with the government on many things, but on this issue, there is only so much that they can do. I am going to write some facts. You can check with the doctors in your team ( there are at least 3 there that I know ). I hope that PR / DAP will not try and turn this into a political issue, but try and cooperate and get the crisis under control.
    1. You cannot control the spread of A H1N1 flu. It is just like catching the wind. It is droplet spread, highly contagious. One case becomes 20 cases within minutes and hours. For every case reported, there are probably 20 out there, infecting but un-reported. So if you have 4,000 cases reported, you have about 80,000 cases out there, in various stages of development. ou can work out for yourself. Flu is contagious, and reach our shores at about the month of April. From April till August, with all the national and international travels, we have only 4,000 cases?? Is that possible?? when the H1N1 virus is so infective?? You must know that there is a lot of under-reporting.
    2. There are 67 deaths. The deaths were not well documented. Some of the throat swabs were taken after the patient died from something else. This happened mainly in the peripheral hospitals. It is so difficult ( with our present system ) to know who really died from a H1N1. We guess, probably less then half. The rest may be A H1N1 associated deaths or deaths with incidental A H1N1.
    3. From April – mid July, we had approx. 1,500cases reported with about 4 deaths. From Mid-July till mid Aug, we had an additional 1,400cases with 47deaths. In the last 7 days, we had 1,400 new cases with 16 deaths. In fact, the death rates are improving. The worse period so far is mid-July till early Aug.

Yes, there were some boo-boos by the government in May – July. Now, they have seen the proper picture, and doing reasonable things. Believe me, they have a good clinical team working on the issue, but the whole MOH failed this stress test provided by this crisis, very badly. I hope they learn from this.
    No Kit, there is no national crisis. There are more deaths from “Road Traffic accidents ” and “dengue”.
    I hope that you do not politicize this issue. We all need to be patient, practice good hygiene, and ride the storm out. Let us hope that the slight improvement in death rate continues.
    God help us.

23. #23 by LG on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 12:11 am

STAR reported on May 17

{Muhyiddin, who is also the Education Minister, expressed his confidence that the Health Ministry had the expertise to contain the virus.

“There is no need to panic. Everything is under control,” he added.}

Do know why the above was missed out although it was there. Something is wrong with the Internet transmission.

24. #24 by drngsc on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 12:14 am

Oh, I forgot,

If you use the rule of 20x the number of reported cases, there are now about 4,000 reported cases, meaning about 80,000 cases estimated. There are regretfully 67 deaths, making a fatality rate of 0.08%. And many of the deaths maybe A H1N1 associated, or incidental A H1N1.

25. #25 by monsterballssgoh on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 3:15 am

UMNO knows nothing about managing a country or the many various problems facing the country.
    They depend solely on hiring professionals.
    Every minute of Najib and his team is working to gain votes.
    They are political desparados.
    LKS can should yell or cry to get attention…for UMNO to serve the people.
    This is a good call to test Najib’s “1 Malaysia” to serve Malaysians as one..but it will always be three or more….under UMNO.
    His oneness is asking all races to trust MCA ..MIC and UMNO….clearly three race political parties.
    In the Christianity world…the father…son and holy ghost are clearly three…and are asked to have great faith…that they are one.
    Similarly….UMNO is asking Malaysians to have great faith and believe UMNO…MCA and MIC are one..not three.
    You go figure it out….Najib’s ‘! Malaysia”
    Ofcourse…. daily propaganda work with newspapers and TV shows showing how happy and rich we are…all due to excellent UMNO government…knowing so many Malaysians have yet to see and realized how backward we are compared to South Korea and Taiwan..and S’pore too.
    Religion and race politics is trully out-dated…and UMNO cannot deny they fight for Malays….like 53 years ago.
    How to progress under such slow workers?
    They are not slow …but simply cannot change.
    Change will kill them…as they need to give up UMNO…MCA and MIC..and round up all into one party…Barisan National….as members.
    Presently…it is the out-dated “marriage by convenience”….concept..dressed up with so much hypocracies and nonsense..which UMNO is very good at that to fool Malaysians..taught by Mahathir.

26. #26 by ekompute on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 4:11 am

monsterballssgoh :
    Religion and race politics is trully out-dated…and UMNO cannot deny they fight for Malays….like 53 years ago.

The New Economic Policy, as envisaged by Tun Razak, was supposed to last for 20 years. Give them another 20 years and they will still claim that they cannot achieve the 30% target.

I wrote to Mahathir at chedet.co.cc (apparently he is now on holiday, but I expect it to be censored when he comes back, LOL) that instead of blaming yourself for not being able to achieve the target, even though you were Prime Minister for 22 years (i.e. 10% longer than the original New Economic Policy duration), you blame the non-Malays. Obviously, the sins of the non-Malays are for working too hard, inspite of all the restrictions imposed on them, LOL. UMNO leaders should learn from US President John Calvin Coolidge: “Don’t expect to build up the weak by pulling down the strong.”

I then suggested that Mahathir should encourage the very successful non-Malays to emigrate, leaving the lousier ones like me behind, LOL. This way, the NEP target can very easily be reached. At least, people like Robert Kuok and Ananda Krishnan can do all of us non-Malays a favor. Any country would gladly accept them as their citizen and they can continue to invest in this country as Foreign Direct Investments (FDI). By this way, our FDI growth will also look more rosy without even lifting a finger, while at the same time expediting the NEP target achievement.

Someone once said, “It’s not that people want to be rich, they just want to be richer than the other person.” Hence the 30% requirement, a relative figure, rather than an absolute one. If Peter is poor, achieving 30% of what he has is pretty easy, but not when he is filthy rich.

Matthias Chang, Mahathir’s former political secretary, admits in his book, “Will Barisan Nasional Survive Beyond 2010?” that the Malays have now controlled every economic sector in Malaysia. So how is it possible that the 30% target has not been achieved such that many Malays are, as Mahathir himself claims, still living in squatter houses? Elementary, Mr. Watson. Because the 30% has not been equitably distributed among the Malays.

It is not impossible that 80% of those 30% or more are in the hands of only a handful of Malays who are closedly-linked to UMNO. However, it is not for us non-Malays to probe. If the Malays themselves do not bother to find out, why should we? If those whom they put in charge of helping them are leading an ostentatious lifestyle, living in mansions and flying in private jets, while they themselves are still living in squatter houses, why should we care?

27. #27 by ekompute on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 4:15 am

OMISSION: It is not impossible that 80% of those 30% or more are in the hands of only a handful of Malays who are closedly-linked to UMNO. Hence, the average Malay is still relatively poor. However, it is not for us non-Malays to probe. If the Malays themselves do not bother to find out, why should we? If those whom they put in charge of helping them are leading an ostentatious lifestyle, living in mansions and flying in private jets, while they themselves are still living in squatter houses, why should we care?

28. #28 by monsterballssgoh on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 5:59 am

I care not for myself…but for the country and the youngsters.
    I have never and will not depend on the government…with so much strings attached..although I know… if I am a Malay and UMNO member…I should be filthy rich…dominating certain businesses.
    To sell your dignity and soul to be rich and famous??
    Life is not all about money,
    Life is about what you can see and know more and more truths of your life…and life peacefully…harming no one..helping as much as you can.
    Life is about a sincere generous heart with true loving kindness.
    All these are killed by UMNO..killed by their greed and nonsensical out dated ..dirty politics…killed by their arrogance and weird mentalities..because they think they found a formula.to govern forever and Malaysia belongs to them.
    So did Soharto…who thinks Javanese own Indonesia….until hundreds died to prove him wrong.
    Fortunately for Indonesia..Soharto…woke up and gave up for peace and harmony.
    His evil deeds are taught by Mahathir.
    So is Taksin…both hero worshiped Mahathir.
    Trace the movements…the events…and you will know…Mahathir is the most evil…of them all.
    Present lot….gone too far carbon copy Mahathir’s way of politics……cannot change.
    Also presently..there is trully a strong alternative under Anwar..LKS.and Nik Aziz.
    For that…old folks like me must do my part…to talk till I drop dead..and hopefully…to see change of government..giving myself a pat…for a job well done.
    I am passionate with THRUTHS and yes…truths hurts…but I will not run away or be discouraged.
    Malaysia needs to change and certainly not under UMNO…no matter how much they try to be nice or trying to act sincere..asking us to forget the past and look forward to Najib’s leadership.
    That’s nonsense,.,as we are dealing with lives and future of young generations..and UMNO is like a crooked dirty greedy leopard…cannot change it’s spots.
    That’s why I talk and walk the talks too..for my children.grand children and young Malaysians…for the poorest of the poor…whose voices are never treated like human beings is such a small and filthy rich country .
    UMNO is evil.
    The one and only man fighting these devils non stop for more than 40 years is non other than Lim Kit Siang.
    Bless him and may he have good health and long life to see his toils are reaping the fruits he so deserved.
    His son…is CM of Penang. That’s his first reward….given by the people…no strings attached..like those UMNO buggers.
    You mean UMNO cannot see voters are simply sick of their nonsense?
    Sure they do.
    That’s why Najib came out with the “1Malaysia”…his style to fool Malaysians.
    Will it work??
    This reminds me arrogant Tiger Woods…trying to be too smart.humbled by a South Korean nobody in the PGA Championship.
    That’s what we need…to humble and cage UMNO..and throw balls carrying MCA and MIC into the trash cans.,for a better to-morrow.
    It really boils down to young voters toi be serious and think of the country and people…to come out and vote…be responsible like.
    If they vote for UMNO..so be it.
    It’s their future.
    My job is done…and it does not bother me at all.
    But it matters most to them…whether do they want to rise in life based on good performances…no favoritism involved…..all equal…and qualifications to succeed …or again by the method…”who you know…and not what you know.”…under UMNO.
    Will they come out to vote?
    Millions have yet to register to vote.
    Why are they so irresponsible..with an easy going lifestyle?

29. #29 by homeblogger on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 8:37 am

OrangRojak :A simple mask … is goodor not:

Face masks
    Although face masks have been given out in Mexico, there is no actual evidence that proves wearing a face mask will stop you getting the virus. It’s more effective to use tissues when sneezing and coughing and wash your hands regularly.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Swineflu/DG_177814
    I see the H1N1 MOH site (it’s good now, everybody seen it?) is advocating face masks only for times when you can’t avoid being close to a known sick person – and for them, unless it’s an infant. Also advocating alcohol wash – will that work in Malaysia? Someone help me with my ignorance, is it only drinking alcohol that’s haram or is it proximity to it?

I choose to “OVER-REACT”.

– My family wears face masks when we go out in public – not because we are sick with flu but IN CASE we encounter a moron who doesn’t give a s**t and sneezes, coughs or spits right in front of you. Better limited protection than none at all.

– I carry a bottle of disinfectant. I wipe tabletops and dip utensils in a glass of hot water before we eat our meal.

– My kids and I carry hand sanitizers which we use liberally.

– We’ve increase our multi-vit dosages (within permitted levels.

– I pulled out my kids from school on Fridays for the past month. True enough, there have been 3 confirmed cases in the school last Friday and ALL of the kids were reported to have attended classes when they were sick (sneezing and runny noses). Thank god they were not from my kids classes and thank god they were not in school on Friday.

Just because the Government doesn’t seem to care less how many people die doesn’t mean I have to be apathetic. It’s up to me to take care of my family how I see best.

I’ve also found that the first time you wear a mask, it seems a bit embarrasing. I gather that’s what people feel and stops them from doing so. But I also notice that as we continue to wear them, this simple act reminds my family of the seriousness of the situation and the severe danger of letting down our guard.

Mostly, it’s because my wife and I run a small catering business. To be quarantined means huge losses which we cannot afford so I CHOOSE TO OVER-REACT.

30. #30 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 9:31 am

It’s up to me to take care of my family how I see best.
    Well said. In future post with neither abuse nor advocacy, and I’ll believe you extend the same permission you claim for yourself to everyone else. Critical thinking is not apathy.

If as contended by Liow that Malaysia’s mortality rate from A (H1N1) is between 0.1 per cent and 0.4 per cent, then a death toll of 64 will mean a range of total flu cases from 64,000 to 256,000 cases! Is Liow admitting to such figures?

64 is 0.1% of 64,000
    64 is 0.4% of 16,000

If Liow is admitting to such figures as ‘64,000 to 256,000’ he also needs to double-check his figures. And possibly the comments on his blog.

31. #31 by wesuffer on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 9:58 am

state government should cooperate with hospital too.
    affected patient, the place where he/she staying and working place. neighbour and colleague should be checking and quarantine too!

32. #32 by ClO2 on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 10:13 am

homeblogger, I dont think you overreact. In fact everybody should try to do the same like you do.
    Just something to think about, when we use our sanitizers, do we know for sure H1N1 virus is destroyed? Can always ask the hand sanitizers for clinical/sceintific proof on this.

33. #33 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 10:47 am

do we know for sure H1N1 virus is destroyed?
    Handwashing reduces the chance of infection by washing away virus. In the case of sanitizers, by destroying the virus in situ. The sanitizers’ performances will also be affected by the way you wash your hands. Just in case it’s helpful – here are a few links. The NHS handwashing guide, adapted from a WHO publication that I haven’t looked for:

http://www.npsa.nhs.uk/EasySiteWeb/GatewayLink.aspx?alId=11303

The WHO info is also referred to here – the NHS Clean Your Hands Campaign:

http://www.npsa.nhs.uk/cleanyourhands/resource-area/hand-hygiene-video/

Something that wasn’t immediately obvious to me, maybe it is to you: when to use water and when to use alcohol:

http://www.wsh.nhs.uk/InfectionControl/Hand Hygiene.htm

I had a very quick look for comparisons of hand sanitizers, but mostly could only find pay-to-view academic papers that I don’t have a subscription for.

The wikipedia article on hand sanitizers is laden with doom even in the intro. Perhaps some brands to look out for (to avoid) there?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hand_sanitizer

34. #34 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 11:06 am

China and Australia are already administering A(H1N1) vaccine to their nationals. That might well explain the low fatality rates in these countries.

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/world/35482-china-firm-announces-first-safe-h1n1-vaccine

35. #35 by k1980 on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 11:33 am

67 dead now…. Welcome to H1N1Malaysia

36. #36 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 11:43 am

That might well explain the low fatality rates in these countries.
    No it can’t. The article says they’ve conducted ‘successful’ trials. In China:

Sinovac said that it received an initial order for four million doses from the Chinese government, and expects delivery by the end of next month

And the Australians are applying for a licence, I think:

the Melbourne-based company plans to submit the data to the Australian government on Sept 4

So it couldn’t possibly have effected their stats – unless it was the power of hope – maybe Chinese and Australian citizens were filled with faith that their governments could provide!

37. #37 by AhPek on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 12:08 pm

There is no A(H1N1) vaccine in the retail pharmaceutical shops anywhere in the world right now!What Sinovac Biotech and CSL are doing is that they are conducting clinical trials using volunteers as guinea pigs.In fact CSL has started the trials on adults in late July and on children somewhere last week.They are going to fast track it to seek approval so that they hope to market the product by September or early October.
    Clinical trials are usually long drawn programmes,understandable because FDA has to make sure the medication has little or no side effects,effective and safe and to be administered at what dosage rate and frequency.So it is not unusual for trials first to be made on animals and if proven to be effective and safe,it will then move on to humans and we have phase1,phase11 plus phase 111 before submitting for approval.All this can take years.
    Because of this there are criticisms from the public in Australia wondering both its efficacy and its safety!

38. #38 by the reds on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 12:20 pm

I think Liow Tiong Lai is not good in Mathematics. Even a primary school student knows how to calculate percentage problem. He should have clarified how he get the 0.1 to 0.4% mortality rate. Any journalist can pls ask this Q to our Mr Liow?

raven77 :Too late..
    Those who have duit..just pack up the family and move for two to three months to Singapore, India, Australai etc where Tamiflu freely available and where they have this thing called “responsibility”…something unheard of by the local KKM…
    Better still move move to Middle East countries where the incidence is not so high….

Just to clarify Tamiflu is not free in Singapore. It costs SGD60 to get 10 tablets.

39. #39 by nckeat on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 1:38 pm

If you can’t trust the Malaysian Health Authority,
    try see what the Australian gov latest measure, PROTECT:

http://www.healthemergency.gov.au/internet/healthemergency/publishing.nsf/Content/resources/$File/PROTECT%20QUESTION%20AND%20ANSWERS.pdf

It is 100% of what the Malaysian gov did.
    For them, no test, no tamiflu and no school closure. Stay at home if you have mild symptoms, not even advised to see doctors or flocking the hospitals for rapid tests.

40. #40 by ClO2 on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 3:23 pm

China has been using Chlorine Dioxide ever since SARS (hospitals especially)! Chlorine Dioxide destroy all single cell organism including H1N1 virus. Japan, Korea and Taiwan are using a lot of ClO2 also. UK, Spain and Western countries are catching up now. Of course most Malaysians would not know about this and continue to use things that are not effective enough for sanitization. Sad!

One of the source: http://baike.baidu.com/view/4814.htm

41. #41 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 19 August 2009 - 4:32 pm

Blogger not over reacting, just not keen to die. That is a good idea!

42. #42 by veddy.lum74 on Friday, 21 August 2009 - 9:35 pm

you ppl pro- PR can talk untill the cows come home,but one by one,PR leaders are involved in scandals,now it’s TS KA LID,wat say you???

i really like the guy saying MOO HI DEEN and NASI LEE! :-)))

43. #43 by charlieKC on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 5:07 am

I had friends and feedback from many medical services industries. The high death rates were due to ‘Tak apa attitude of may of our people. People, even Doctors nurses are just ignoring the effect of Pandemic. Minister must now make it COMPULSORY- to wear MASK. they can be a carriage if they get infected, they can carrying on and spread within 7 days via the transport system, their family and kids and finally end up in school.
    Worst still many people do not realise this H1N1 is highly airborne, especially in Aircon-ed Bus, LRT aircon-ed environment. You only need a carriage to cough and sneeze in the coach, a million virus is floating in the air and the chnaces of spreading is 50%.
    The rich, the Govt in power MUST enforce strict MASK wearing for all Medical services, public transport. Mainly because, there are many ‘ tidak apa ‘ attitude people in our society. Life is so precious.
    At least NOTICES to educate passenger to wear, not to cough and sneeze openly. I had seen many people did it without realising the consequences. Even with flu, they still work like nothing happen.
    Common sense. God helps Malaysian…/ or NON-MALAYSIAN?
    We MUST-do NOW:

44. #44 by charlieKC on Saturday, 22 August 2009 - 5:10 am

a comment should be allowed yr reader to express view freely. Why you delete some posting. Sir?