Can Malaysians celebrate 52nd National Day with Najib’s 1Malaysia signature theme in two weeks’ time?

In two weeks’ time, Malaysians will be celebrating our 52nd National Day with a new Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak marking his fifth month in office.

The 52nd National Day celebrations should centre on Najib’s signature theme of 1Malaysia but unfortunately, the reverse is taking place with the 1Malaysia concept being rubbished almost daily by Umno leaders who are competing with each other in exploiting the race and religious cards.

Two days ago, UMNO Youth led by its leader Khairy Jamaluddin, launched a vitriolic attack on Pakatan Rakyat, alleging that a vote for PAS is a vote for DAP and a betrayal of Islam. Umno leaders accuse the DAP as anti-Islam while among the Chinese and Indian voters, MCA, Gerakan and MIC allege that a vote for DAP is a vote for PAS and a vote for an Islamic state. Meanwhile, in the past week, Umno divisions are being mobilized all over the country to support the Deputy Prime Minister and Umno Deputy President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin in his accusation that Parliamentary Opposition Leader and PKR chief Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is a “traitor of the Malay race”!

Can all these lies and falsehoods against the Pakatan Rakyat parties be the ingredients for the fulfillment of Najib’s signature theme of 1Malaysia? Of course not, as the very opposite of a very divided, segmented and polarized Malaysia can be the only result from such irresponsible politics of race and religion by UMNO and Barisan Nasional leaders.

It is most sad, shocking and outrageous that after promulgating his 1Malaysia theme, Najib does not have the political will to check Umno and Umno Youth leaders from going on a rampage to compete with each other in exploiting the race and religious cards which are in essence an entire repudiation of Najib’s 1Malaysia signature theme.

It is also outrageous and a shame that the Ministers and leaders from MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and the other Barisan Nasional component parties dare not speak up in Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional to demand a halt to such irresponsible exploitation of race and religious cards by Umno and Umno Youth leaders, with the support of the Umno-controlled mass media like the Utusan Malaysia, as they make a total mockery not only of 1Malaysia but their very political relevance in BN and Malaysian politics.

Will there be any Minister from MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP or any other BN component party who would dare to speak up to demand a halt to such irresponsible exploitation of the race and religious card at Wednesday’s Cabinet meeting so that Najib’s 1Malaysia signature theme will not be reduced to a joke when Malaysians celebrate the 52nd National Day on August 31?

(Speech 2 at the DAP Air Puteh Branch dinner at Han Chiang Secondary School Penang on Sunday, 16th August 2009 at 9 pm)

1. #1 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:48 pm

52nd National Day…. which national day are you referring to? Independence of the Federation of Malaya or Independence of the Federation of Malaysia?

2. #2 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:50 pm

What is 1Malaysia???

3. #3 by k1980 on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:51 pm

Naj’s Joke
    sung to the tune of http://www.jacquedee63.com/i_started_a_joke_1.mid

I started 1Malaysia, which started the whole country farting,
    But I didn’t see that the joke was on me, oh no.

I started to cry, which started the whole country laughing,
    Oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was on me.

I looked at the skies, running my hands over my eyes,
    And I fell out of bed, hurting my head from things that I’d said.

Till I finally died, which started the whole country living,
    Oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was on me.

4. #4 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:52 pm

“… a vote for PAS is a vote for DAP and a betrayal of Islam.”

LOL, then a vote for UMNO is a vote for megacorruption, so corruption must be Islam then. Must be kidding!

5. #5 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:58 pm

“It is also outrageous and a shame that the Ministers and leaders from MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and the other Barisan Nasional component parties dare not speak up in Cabinet…”

What do you expect from them? Puppets are not supposed to speak, much less speak up… and that include human puppets. I would be very very surprised if they dare to speak, much less speak up! Once they speak, they are no more Ministers, so how to speak up?

6. #6 by SpeakUp on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:58 pm

Why do people entertain such nonsense? Let them say what they want la. Does it really matter nowadays? People are able to see the truth. Everyone knows that these BN guys are nuts.

Wanna get so worked up complain complain complain, I would love to see articles on how to move forward and make Malaysia great … I have yet to read an article here about such things. Sad la …

7. #7 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 1:10 pm

Two days ago, UMNO Youth led by its leader Khairy Jamaluddin, launched a vitriolic attack on Pakatan Rakyat…

This guy is really ambitious. He wants to be the Prime Minister of Malaysia by age 40. Born in 1976, he will be 40 in 2016, another 7 years. To me, only a brainless guy will make such a declaration. Let’s see how far he can go, without his father-in-law as Prime Minister.

8. #8 by OrangRojak on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 1:40 pm

Khairy Jamaluddin
    Lucky guy. He has the fingers I need for my new phone:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/35220-umno-youth-says-pas-stands-for-dap-not-islam

9. #9 by ktteokt on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 1:54 pm

Do these UMNO guys know figures or maths? One senile idiot came up with 2020 and now another idiot with 1 Malaysia! These guys can even add 1 to 1 nor count to 10, how to let them handle such astronomous figures?

10. #10 by frankyapp on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 2:04 pm

Some time ago KJ invited PAS as friend to talk about malay unity,that being a failure,now he accused PAS as a betrayal to islam,isn’t this guy a kind of sour grape ? He’s also liken his FIL who flig/flog most of the time.The dpm is another kind of joker when he said anwar is a traitor to malays.Now if we look closer,Umno does more harm to malays/muslim by exploiting and manipulating Islam to gain benefit for themselves than PAS or anwar.Who is holier than thou ? DPM should look clearly in the mirror and ask himself who is the bigger crook,Umno or PKR.Please be like a humble muslim and ask who is the real traitor of the malays,big crook Umno or nobody PKR .Some time I think how on earth these guys are elected and becoming ybs and DPM when they are a kind of brainless.Again could this be happening only in bolehland.

11. #11 by the reds on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 2:08 pm

1Bangsa = 1Malaysia, but they still distinguish between bumiputra and non-bumiputra. With this “terms and conditions”, I would like to ask Najib is 1Malaysia still valid and achievable?

12. #12 by frankyapp on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 2:13 pm

Hi ekompute,do you really want to know why all these mca,mic,gerakan,supp,pbs,upko and other component guys are having their mouths shut respectively ? You know what ball is and if you do then that’s the core reason why they dare not speak up against big brother or godfather Umno.

13. #13 by SpeakUp on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 2:19 pm

frankyapp … BN component party members other than UMNO do not have bola-bola … heheheheeheee … I think not that la, they want to preserve their opportunity to be in power and to make $$$

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 2:20 pm

All that education and privillege end up producing basically an A**hole. This is not politics, this is just being assinine stupid, a waste of oxygen, both his and those that have to fight him…

15. #15 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 2:21 pm

SpeakUp :
    Wanna get so worked up complain complain complain, I would love to see articles on how to move forward and make Malaysia great … I have yet to read an article here about such things. Sad la …

There is something to be said about SpeakUp’s comment, although I wonder whether this is the right platform. To me, LKS is offering us updates of the latest development on the political front in this blog, and I think that is already quite a mouthful. Anything more can and do cause indigestion, as my experience has shown, after my websites have expanded and expanded into more than 10 now. Would anyone be interested in setting up something like http://www.if-i-were-president.org/

Everyone seems to agree that it is important to list down all of UMNO’s misdeed but no one is doing anything. (I don’t think it is dangerous to list them, so long as we don’t accuse. We just say something like these matters are cause for doubt, disbelief, or something to that effect.) How about SpeakUp starting a blog on “how to move forward and make Malaysia great” or “What if I were Prime Minister of Malaysia” and I will support you with my first article? You can get free hosting at WordPress.com or Wetpaint.com

16. #16 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 2:38 pm

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/35220-umno-youth-says-pas-stands-for-dap-not-islam

“Umno Youth stepped up its attacks against the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) state government, accusing PAS of abandoning its Islamic ideology, and of becoming so liberal that “pork would soon be sold openly on the streets here.”

It is sad that Islam in Malaysia is today reduced to the abstinence of pork, not anyone of the following: telling lies, cheating, corruption, abuse of power, inciting hatred, racial discrimination, etc. etc.

Khairy, would you like to explain how you managed to buy so many properties in Johor Bahru, including Danga Bay on the expensive sea front, and the Danga Bay Best World Complex, not to mention the many others? Just these two properties alone already run into the tens of millions, if not over a hundred. Do you mean that your two balls is valued so highly by the banks as security, or your post as UMNO Youth leader? So what Islamic ideology are you talking about? Islam Hadhari?

17. #17 by johnnypok on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 3:05 pm

KJ is still behaving like a small boy. No FIL no milk?

18. #18 by Winston on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 3:46 pm

MCA & Gerakan will support UMNO at all costs.
    What do you expect of beggars and servants?

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 4:34 pm

“Everyone seems to agree that it is important to list down all of UMNO’s misdeed but no one is doing anything. (I don’t think it is dangerous to list them, so long as we don’t accuse. We just say something like these matters are cause for doubt, disbelief, or something to that effect.)”

ekompute … this is like listening to a song with the same melody, beat etc but only different lyrics, sickening la. Also, the list will be too long.

“How about SpeakUp starting a blog on “how to move forward and make Malaysia great” or “What if I were Prime Minister of Malaysia” and I will support you with my first article? You can get free hosting at WordPress.com or Wetpaint.com”

ekompute … good idea but I am not as articulate and popular as LKS. I really wish LKS would do that. He has the wealth of experience. Like I said before, he has the experience but he only wants to hammer. Does he not understand he is no longer a mere opposition member? He is now part of a group that has for once showed BN they do not have 2/3 majority and that will be whittled away!

p/s if I were PM of Malaysia I think I will declare holiday on Mondays, people should not work on Mondays. :0)

20. #20 by johnnypok on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 7:39 pm

31 August 2009 will be the saddest day in the history of Malaysial.

21. #21 by SpeakUp on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 8:47 pm

Okay … best 31st Aug event is everyone BOYCOTT the parade. Can that be done to show that the people are unhappy with BN? Let’s see that happen. Anyone keen to promote it? :0)

22. #22 by monsterballssgoh on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 9:20 pm

I watched the TV merdeka promotional campaign..showing how much we improved…..how happy we are…how united we are..and cannot help laughing.
    We are years behind South Korea and Taiwan….which we were at par and better off than them…just 25 years ago.
    We are happy and united?….sure we are….why must we let UMNO makes us feel sad.
    But are we REALLY happy and united?
    UMNO knows….we are going backwards.
    They love it….as they think….their propaganda work ….controlling papers and TV will round up all minds….to submit to their will and fancies.
    It is like a cheap magician…same old tricks…good for kampong folks to be fooled.
    31st August is proven not the actual Merdeka day.
    The actual day is when Sabah and Sarawak joined in…which the date slipped my mind.
    I have not celebrate the so call Merdeka Day …for years. Previously…Malaysians cried and feel so happy and proud. Not now.
    Too much bullshits and wayang kulit…..making the day…another day…to promote UMNO .
    Everything is done to promote UMNO!!
    How sincere can that be.

23. #23 by Loh on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 9:32 pm

///Deputy Prime Minister and Umno Deputy President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin in his accusation that Parliamentary Opposition Leader and PKR chief Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is a “traitor of the Malay race”!///– Kit

It is an interesting question of who would qualify to be called a traitor. A traitor is one who betrays another’s trust or is false to an obligation of duty. For what do Malays trust their leaders? They trust their leaders would lead them to a better future. For that they should be led to become successful and capable of looking after their own livelihood. That could be done in at least two different ways; to create an environment where Malays are shielded from competition, and remain so forever, or to enable Malays to be competitive in the real world. UMNO leaders which created Independence Malaya planned their strategy and believed that after 15 years of quota protection Malays would have developed capability to face competition in the real world.

The current crop of leaders chooses to hold on to the quota system and claim that 52 years after independence Malays still require the quota system. They are more concerned about laying claim to preserve the quota system based on votes and thus political might rather than the right and noble thing to do. In fact only those Malays who are not captive of the desire for political power have accepted long ago that government policies which made Malays captive voters are destroying the inert capability and creativity of the Malays. The late Tun Dr. Ismail said that when the Malays no longer require the protection of the quota system, they would forgo it on their own, out of pride. Pride cannot be measured on material terms but it is a spiritual value that people sometimes care more for it than for their lives. Should a person who cared for the pride of the community such as the late Tun Dr Ismail be labelled a traitor?

Muhyiddin considers the way UMNO resorting to divide and rule based on race was the only correct way to maintain political power and to exert unfair advantage for Malays against the other communities. Muhyiddin pretended that NEP was implemented to care for the interest of the rural poor Malays. He certainly knew that equity stocks at par value reserved for Malays at a discount had been snapped up by those who could not be poor. A total of RM 54 billion worth of shares had been allotted to Malays, and only RM 2 billion remains in their hands. Of those RM 52 billion shares at par value a 50% mark up could have been earned, and they would have been worth more than RM 75 billion in market transactions. Had these been spread among the 3 million Malay households, each household would have gained RM 25,000. But the estimate was RM 40 billion might have landed in the hands of 192 families, who are controlling the UMNO divisions. That RM 25 billion was mobilised from the market, but a lot more were siphoned off from public funds, conveniently financed by Petronas, particularly during the reign of TDM. Now the gap between the rich and the poor Malays are the widest among the different races, and more interestingly those who had qualified to be known as Malays after 1957 are having a lion share of new found wealth among the Malays. They rendered the ordinary pre-1957 indigenous Malays no fighting chance in commerce with their political power. The removal of NEP would affect the interest of those fat-cat Malays, but would enable ordinary Malays and other Malaysians equal right to partake in all fields of endeavours based on their efforts rather than their connection to the powerful. A Malay who calls for the removal of NEP might be seen a traitor to 192 Malay families, but a saviour for 3 million other Malay families. On majority interest he could not be called a traitor.

A Minister is expected to serve the nation, and if he could not transcend racial consideration in a multi-racial country he is not fit to be a minister. It is dangerous for a DPM who could accidentally become Prime Minister to hold a racist view. Muhyiddin’s utterance proves that he is a racist out to gain political support. Or is he a racial-opportunist like TDM?

24. #24 by OrangRojak on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 10:44 pm

I think they’re really banking on the ‘traitor’ idea to poison the political well. To be fair to UMNO, I think PR should be careful about promoting recent defectors into prime positions in the PR hierarchy. ‘Defector’ is not a particularly attractive label, and many voters will not be able to discriminate between a defector and a traitor.

I don’t think it’s necessary to publicly doubt their commitment, perhaps it ought to be a matter of policy that acquired defectors spend a period demonstrating their effectiveness as a party member and working on reconciling their views with the party line. The idea that someone can be a commited member of a party one day and a commited member of its arch rival the next is difficult for me to hold in my mind. I would be surprised if it didn’t cause doubt in many Malaysian voters’ minds.

It’s not necessary to dwell on recent trouble with defectors – that could have just been bad luck. Changing sides just isn’t going to boost anybody’s credibility. Perhaps UMNO have spotted this ‘pothole’ on the PR roadmap and have decided to dig it deeper by increasing people’s disgust at the idea.

Maybe incoming ‘conscientious objectors’ would like to help build up the 4 new parties PR needs to qualify for registration as a coalition? I imagine nobody in the current 3 PR parties is queueing up for that job.

Zaid Ibrahim could have gone to the Independence Party. That last guy from MCA could have gone to the Malaysian Heritage Party. Those guys from PPP could have started the ASEAN Union Party. We need someone to start the Green Party. Maybe Ku Li would be interested. He must be coming up for full time gardening any time now, is he?

25. #25 by wanderer on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 11:59 pm

Enjoy your paid holiday! It is your money anyway…

26. #26 by a2a on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 1:05 am

///Deputy Prime Minister and Umno Deputy President Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin in his accusation that Parliamentary Opposition Leader and PKR chief Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is a “traitor of the Malay race”!///– Kit

Why can’t we say it loud Parliamentary Opposition Leader and PKR chief Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is a “protector of the Malaysian races”!

Can we?

27. #27 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 8:57 am

Najib does not have the political will to check Umno and Umno Youth leaders from going on a rampage to compete with each other in exploiting the race and religious cards…..(Kit)
    ===================================================

One should not be surprised at all if UMNO and UMNO Youth leaders are instructed by UMNO top leaders to go on such rampage. That probably explains why Najib does not check on these people.

28. #28 by SpeakUp on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 10:48 am

Why can’t we say it loud Parliamentary Opposition Leader and PKR chief Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is a “protector of the Malaysian races”!

You have to be kidding me! Hahahahahaaa … he is only protecting his own interest by using the people. He wants to be PM and that is clear. He can talk … he can act but he has shown no leadership qualities at all. The only time I have seen him speak well on national issues is during the darn debate. That is all, after that its INSULT INSULT INSULT … come on.

If DSAI is a real protector why has he not spoken up about issues that plaque PKR? Why reward that useless Kulim MP with a ‘position’ in the cabinet committee? Hah … Also, have we forgotten that he does not want English to be used in education? Wake up guys …

DSAI is a joke and so many are so blinded about it. Think carefully, when has he said anything that would really push the nation forward other than lies … he has lied so many times to the public (remember the promises of last year?) and the public just laps it all up.

ps for those who will flame me, please explain to me why DSAI lied and why he does not support English and why he does nothing to the Kulim MP etc. If you can then I would love to listen to your replies. :0)