All 5 MACC advisory panels should convene emergency meetings to halt the MACC abuses of power in declaring war against Pakatan Rakyat instead of declaring war against corruption or they should resign collectively

Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) director of investigations Datuk Mohd Shukri Abdul announced yesterday that the MACC will stop indefinitely investigating politicians across the political divide for corruption and money politics, including the Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

He said his men felt that they could not carry out their duties effectively in cases involving politicians as they were being slammed no matter what they did.

Shukri has evaded the burning crisis of confidence confronting the MACC – why in a matter of seven months, public confidence in the MACC has plummeted to a level never plumbed by its predecessor the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) in 41 years from 1967 – 2008 although MACC was established on 1.1.2009 with unprecedented powers to be Malaysia’s version of Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) of Hong Kong?

The answer is obvious to all Malaysians except the MACC – it has failed to act as an efficient, independent and professional anti-corruption body declaring an all-out war against corruption but instead declared an all-out war against the Pakatan Rakyat, being the catspaw of Umno and Barisan Nasional in the various states under Pakatan Rakyat, whether in the unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak or most recently, in trying to topple the Pakatan Rakyat state government in Selangor.

The MACC denied that their officers were responsible for the injury sustained by Wong Chuan How, 51, aide to DAP Selangor exco member Ronnie Liu after a scuffle at his Sungai Pelek service centre on Friday morning. – which is eerily similar to the denial by MACC for any responsibility for the mysterious death of another Selangor Exco aide, Teoh Beng Hock, at the MACC headquarters in Shah Alam on July 16.

Are Malaysians to believe that Wong inflicted the injury on himself just as they are asked to believe that Teoh committed suicide by plunging to death from the 14th floor of MACC Headquarters at Plaza Masalam?

Up to now, MACC has not answered why its officers had acted in so high-handed, rough and gangsterish a fashion akin to Gestopa tactics in Wong’s case, including:

• Why did MACC decide to “arrest first and investigate later” as Wong had agreed to meet MACC officers in their investigation into alleged constituency allocation improprieties at his Sungai Pelek service centre on Friday morning?

• Did the MACC treat everybody alike and in the same fashion acted on “arrest first and investigate later” into the various Barisan Nasional leaders in major scandals like the RM12.5 billion Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal, the RM24 million “Istana” Khir Toyo scandal; Kuala Dimensi Sdn. Bhd. CEO Datuk Tiong King Sing’s RM10 million donation to MCA President and Transport Minister Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat and Ong’s “free” jet rides or the unprecedented allegations of money politics in the recent Umno party elections?

• Did the MACC “arrest first and investigate later” any Umno or Barisan Minister, Deputy Minister or leader?

• Has the MACC one law and standard operating procedure for the Pakatan Rakyat leaders and activists while a totally different one for the Barisan Nasional?

It is significant that Shukri’s outburst about MACC stopping investigating politicians is tied to stop of investigations into the “mother of all scandals” in Malaysia – the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal, which the MACC (and its predecessor ACA) had failed miserably to flush out all corrupt and improper practices although various anti-corruption reports had been lodged in the past four years.

Can Shukri explain why he deliberately mentioned the RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal?

Pakatan Rakyat is not asking for any immunity from anti-corruption probe by the MACC but MACC should conduct independent and professional investigations and not act as catspaw of Umno and Barisan Nasional to declare war on Pakatan Rakyat, using Gestapo-like tactics.

Has the MACC any remorse that it has directly or indirectly caused the death of Teoh Beng Hock just as it is directly or indirectly responsible for the injury sustained by Wong?

DAP and Pakatan Rakyat are prepared to fully co-operate with MACC in an all-out war against corruption, as an anti-corruption campaign must be a national commitment involving all Malaysians and not just MACC, if it is to succeed. But how can MACC expect any full co-operation from DAP or Pakatan Rakyat when it has declared an all-out war against Pakatan Rakyat at the behest of Umno/National Front, which has nothing to do with any anti-corruption drive?

All the five MACC advisory panels should convene emergency meetings to halt the MACC abuses of power in declaring war against Pakatan Rakyat instead of declaring war against corruption or all the five advisory panels should resign collectively at their failure to perform their statutory role as effective check-and-balance mechanisms of the MACC as evident from the worse crisis of confidence ever faced by an anti-corruption body in the nation’s 52 year history.

This is not a good way to mark the nation’s 52nd National Day in two weeks’ time!

The five MACC advisory panels are:

• Anti-Corruption Advisory Board headed by former Chief Justice of Malaysia Tun Abdul Hamid Mohamad;

• Special committee on corruption headed by former Home Minister, Datuk Mohd Radzi Sheikh Ahmad;

• Complaints committee headed by former Court of Appeal judge Datuk Mohd Nor Abdullah

• Operations review panel headed by former Auditor-General Dr. Hadenan Abdul Jalil

• Corruption consultation and prevention panel headed by former Transparency International President Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam

It is time that the 42 panel members for these five bodies act to salvage and restore public confidence in MACC’s credibility, independence and professionalism and even more important redeem Malaysia’s international reputation which had been battered by recent reports about MACC becoming a Gestapo-like outfit running riot in a war not against corruption but against the Pakatan Rakyat.

If the five MACC advisory panels are incapable of exercising effectively their statutory roles as check-and-balance mechanisms, they should resign collectively and ask for an emergency meeting of Parliament to take immediate action to remedy the fatal weaknesses and catastrophe in the MACC Act.

1. #1 by k1980 on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 1:45 pm

A list of all the MPs who supported the macc’s formation should be published so that during the coming 7th Lunar Month, printed lists of their names can be hit with shoes while curses are chanted for their hasty departure for Hades.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 1:49 pm

Charon is impatiently waiting for more customers to cross Hades

3. #3 by dawsheng on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:15 pm

Just curious, are the MACC advisory panel members being paid salary to sit on board? If so, how much?

4. #4 by Nyangaitiau on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:28 pm

MACC will stop all the investigation! PKFZ and RM24mil bangalow and etc no longer a corruption issue!!! No corruption n money politics in Malaysia!

5. #5 by dawsheng on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:29 pm

“When we cannot charge anyone due to lack of evidence, they say we are covering up to protect the interests of certain quarters. When we do, they say we have conspired to sabotage. What are we to do?” – Datuk Shukri Abdul

That is the truth, at least in the court of public opinion. Nothing MACC can do actually but wait for the BN government to collapse, while in the meantime, murder as many opposition politicians as you can.

6. #6 by Loh on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 2:51 pm

///He said his men felt that they could not carry out their duties effectively in cases involving politicians as they were being slammed no matter what they did.///– Mohd Sukri Abdul

It shows that the Head of MACC does not know how to utilise his resources to combat corruption. MACC has to prioritise the cases for investigation based on their severity, and in corruption, the amount of money involved is the easiest standard to follow. Had MACC chased after cases involving large amount of money in suspected corrupt practices, such as the obvious imbalance between official salary and allowances earned by public official including the ministers against the type of palatial residence they own, for example the former MB Toyol, instead of harassing a witness on a case which at most amounted to RM 2,400 the public would have not complained. MACC was conducting political persecution to inconvenience Pakatan Rakyat governments. ACA was chasing after two PKR ADUNs of Perak before they became friendly supporters to BN in Perak State Assembly, and since they became turn-coats or golden kataks to BN, MACC has closed the file, or has it? The same cases could not suddenly become unimportant just because the principals have changed their political affiliation. If MACC chief was not taking order from the highest BN authority to use MACC to persecute Pakatan Rakyat ADUNs, what better explanation can MACC Chief provide? Can MACC account for the progress of investigation against the two former PKR ADUNs of Perak?

Mohd Sukri Abdul might have planned to issue his statement of not investigating PKFZ long in advance. It could be part of the plan that he took despicable actions to arouse public outrage on their investigations of Pakatan Rakyat politicians, and now having built up those excuses, he is granting BN politicians protection from investigation. Can PKFZ suddenly become unimportant just because the Chief of MACC said that his men were unhappy on some extraneous issues?

The Chief of MACC is appointed to serve the role expected of the job he took. By declaring that he is not pursuing PKFZ, he is taking law into his own hands. It would imply that he thought he had the right to waive cases from investigation and prosecution base upon his whims and fancies. He is duty bound to investigate PKFZ now that peculiarities of the account is common knowledge, and even the Cabinet had discussed the issue. Or is Mohd Sukri Abdul is announcing that the PM has changed his mind.

The public would be dumb if they did not complain against MACC for their action and for displaying in public that MACC serves as the tool of the BN government for dismantling Pakatan Rakyat government. Mohd Sukri Abdul has proven that he is incompetent for the job. He has brought about disrepute of MACC so soon after its establishment. The deputy Chief of ICAC of Hong Kong was right in saying that MACC was more powerful that his Organization. He never dreamt that the power was meant to serve political interest rather than national concern.

7. #7 by dawsheng on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:14 pm

If the five MACC advisory panels are incapable of exercising effectively their statutory roles as check-and-balance mechanisms, they should resign collectively and ask for an emergency meeting of Parliament to take immediate action to remedy the fatal weaknesses and catastrophe in the MACC Act. – LKS

Again, this is impossible. If anything should be done it should be immediately after Teoh Beng Hock murder at the MACC, the very next day after he was found dead. If any members of the advisory panels have any sense of morality and responsibility, if they understood the grave repercussions that through their inaction the damage cannot be undone, things could have been different today, the left over is now public institution regarded as public enemy. It is just natural for the public to think so, when members appointed to any advisory panels to look after public interest neglected their duty, is akin to betrayal of trust. Now that we are in a dire consequences, where no amount of explanations can convinced the public otherwise. It made no difference of there were any advisory panels or who they are, it made no difference if they resigned, for from the very beginning the trust in our public institutions were fragile, now that everything is completely destroyed, is what we have expected anyway. Our determination to vote PR as the next government just got stronger.

8. #8 by Cinapek on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:21 pm

I find this MACC Director’s outburst very interesting for the following reasons:

1) By unilaterally declaring “… that the MACC will stop indefinitely investigating politicians across the political divide for corruption and money politics, including the Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal…” he has just confirmed that the MACC do indeed practise selective persecution.

2) When he made the declaration, purportedly out of frustration, he must be directing this frustration to someone who made him do what he finds very frustrating now and he wants to give up. It will be interesting to know who he is directing his frustation at. I suppose it is not hard to guess.

3) He claims that when MACC investigates or takes action against the ruling Govt. and their ministers etc, there is no protest. True, and you know why? Because after more than 50 years of absolute power and absolute corruption, there are bound to be corrupt people in the ruling Govt to be charged. But whom have you charge? How many have you charged? People from the ruling Govt who cannot explain RM20m or RM24m mansions are not even questioned, let alone charged. And try to justify why the MACC fails to find any evidence of fraud in the PKFZ RM12b scandal that involves the ruling Govt despite 4 years of investigation but which the special task force took only 3 months to uncover. Yet we find the MACC so gung ho in going after alleged RM2400 scams. By all means charge all, including PR people but also go after the corrupt BN people. By the simple law of averages, after 50 years of absolute power, I am sure there are more corruption in the BN compared to the PR.

4) MACC, if you have been doing a good job tragic deaths such as Teoh’s and Altantuya’s could have been avoided. Dear Datuk Mohd Shukri. You are frustrated. But I suggest you spare a thought for Altantuya’s and Teoh’s family members How do you think they are feeling? Frustration would be the least of their feelings. Right now they are feeling frustrated that the people who caused the deaths of their loved ones are walking around free while all they have left are memories of their departed loved one. And it is because agencies entrusted to control such bad practices fail in their task.

Without fear or favour. Great words. But it could also mean fear of stepping on big toes and find the favour of promotions and career advancements halted?

9. #9 by SENGLANG on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:34 pm

MACC , why are you so childish? If you carry out your duty and responsibility in a transparent way, you will not come to such state. What and what appear your officers doing give a very bad impression to the public. You must earn your trust of people do doing the right thing.

They are many accusations against you, but you chose to silence. Well you may not read Kit’s blog, but certainly over the years you officers must rad Nades’s articles in the Sun. He has also met up with some senior officers in certain forum, and Nades has openly challenge you officers to take on him. But why you did not do that. So how can you have our trust.

Now, out of frustration you as an officer you say thing that shown you are not different from a three old years child. No wonderful MACC has no standing in the eye of public. You people not even know the true meaning of shamefulness.

10. #10 by donplaypuks on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:41 pm

YB

This is downright silly!

Instead of rising up to the challenge by reforming and re-organising to ward off vast public perception that the MACC is selective in its investigations, this man has practically confirmed the reasons why they never go after the BIG FISH.

We don’t care if they are UMNO/BN or Pakatan politicians. If there is a case for corruption, go for it and the public will back MACC 100%. But first have a materiality and prioritisation test. Go slow on the small fish; full steam ahead with the BIG FISH!

But if they go about it like bulls in a china shop, they only have themselves to blame. Especially if the case goes to court and the criminal is acquited without his defence being called at all, due inadequate evidence or witnesses who do not turn up.

Who’s to be blamed if MACC deploys legions to go after $2,400 cases, but ignores billion $ frauds?

There is little doubt that there is a culture of sub-excellence here. There need to be a total revamp of this organisation and let’s start with the leadership which is where the problems usually start from!

dpp
    We are all of 1 race, the Human race

11. #11 by goldeneye on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:45 pm

MACC has become an object of dread, derision and contempt of the public. They may be compared to the Nazi’s Gestapo, the Soviet KGB or the Zimbabwe’s CIO. All these has been accomplished in one year after they were set up from the old ACA.

MACC is a cruel joke that Abdullah Badawi played on Malaysians. He gave them additional powers but without proper supervision. Now these powers are used against the people whom MACC is supposed to serve.

12. #12 by goldeneye on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 3:55 pm

As for the 5 advisory panels, they should all be ashamed of themselves to stay on as fig leaves to cover MACC’s misdeeds. What powers do these panels have over MACC? I suspect they have none and MACC can ignore them with impunity.

Robert Phang, an MACC adviser castigated MACC for being the “tail wagging the dog” over the secret email survey. But Robert Phang is gravely mistaken as to who is the tail and who is the dog!

13. #13 by siamo on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:05 pm

MACC is the BN’s tool and is engineering to bring down the PR government is Selangor. They are trying to coerce, persecute and intimidate the assemblymen, their aides, and councillors into moving sides.

If what Tan Boon Hua described is right, the MACC is going to the extent of manufacturing evidence by coercing the PR people.

MACC is a a wolf in sheep’s skin, sanctioned by the state and given all the resources by the state.

14. #14 by siamo on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:12 pm

Except for Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam, I cannot see if any of the other can be impartial of independent of the BN/UMNO government. They are either ex-government servants, ministers or ex-judge, all having owed the favour their ex-appointments to BN government.

Is there no one independent from the other sectors? This is supposedly a legacy from Abdullah Badawi. It is an ugly legacy.

15. #15 by AhPek on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:12 pm

“When we cannot charge anyone due to lack of evidence,they say we’re covering up to protect certain quarters.When we do,they say we’ve conspired to sabotage.What are we to do?.” Datuk Shukri Abdul.
    Big deal, he thinks he is such a smooth operator,doesn’t he?Hi,Datuk Khir Toyo’s 24million bungalow such a big grand one for all to see, not an evidence ar? Or the late Zakaria’s huge palace when you were ACA chief then, also not an evidence is it? YOU GOT TO BE BLIND NOT TO SEE IT OR ARE YOU SELECTIVELY BLIND?These are only 2 cited but there are many more that have been published–big ones but you selectively chose to go for investigation into alleged misappropiation of 2,400 ringgit of PK assemblyman state allocation of 500,000 with such alacrity and urgency whilst the same alacrity and urgency is not given to the spending of 27 million by the previous administration assemblymen in a matter of 2 months.Have you even started investigating in the first place into this unwarranted criminal wastefulness which did not escape the attention of the Sultan Selangor who has lamented on this issue.
    OR are you building up excuses not to investigate PKFZ to save the embarrassment to BN?

16. #16 by Ken G on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:16 pm

If Shukri thinks the worse is over for MACC he better think again. Another two storms are coming.

1) First storm – TBH’s death
    2) Second storm – Wong Chuan How’s arrest and injury.

Akan datang…at a theatre near you.
    3) Third storm – TBH’s inquest returns verdict of possible suicide or accident.
    4) Fourth storm – RCI delves deep into MACC’s Gestapo tactics.

17. #17 by Callum on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:32 pm

From ACA to MACC ? Its’ all LPPL.

There is a proverb said “Soup name changed but the ingredient remains the same”. It’s all LPPL.

18. #18 by Ken G on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:39 pm

YB Kit,

Please advise Wong CH to seek a court order first thing tomorrow to cancel his arrest on the grounds that no reason has been given. Even the police have to give a reason to arrest anybody. Is the MACC higher than the police?

Furthermore, Wong should apply to the court to declare that he should be questioned in the presence of his lawyer and preferably in his office. As a suspect he has the right for legal counsel in case he incriminates himself. On no account should Wong surrender himself to the MACC office alone. If these goons can injure him in public under the scrutiny of journalists and TV cameras, what can they do to him in the privacy of their office when he’s alone?

If MACC is interested in the truth, they should question Wong in his office where he has all the documents ready. But MACC is not interested in the truth. They are only interested in THEIR VERSION of the truth which require Gestapo tactics to coerce out under the cover of darkness.

19. #19 by TooFree on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:41 pm

The MACC officers were employed to do the job prescribed to them. If they feel that they cannot perform their job up to the standards expected of them, they should just resign and let other more qualified, more capable, more effective people take over their role. That is all that is to it. There is no need for any outburst whatsoever.

20. #20 by spaceman on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 4:50 pm

The Advisory panel members are there just for show to the world that MACC is neutral.
    Since they are on the payroll, they have to serve their political master.

One of the panel member from the Transparency once used to talk about transparency and integrity but look at him now. He talked so much after the death of Teoh but no sound now when Wong Chuan How is being ill-treated by the MACC. This guy ramon has joined the NATO gang.

21. #21 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:20 pm

TooFree :
    The MACC officers were employed to do the job prescribed to them. If they feel that they cannot perform their job up to the standards expected of them, they should just resign and let other more qualified, more capable, more effective people take over their role. That is all that is to it. There is no need for any outburst whatsoever.

Just go to show how naive you are! What is written is not what is expected of them and they know it too well. They know that they have to read between the lines in order to remain in MACC, a lucrative mafia organization. Me am wondering whether MACC is affiliated to the mafia in Sicily or whether it has been infiltrated by drug traffickers, LOL.

22. #22 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:21 pm

It may also be a desperate cry for help and I am sure there are some MACC officers who are frustrated at the political bias in their orders.
    “To prosecute or not to prosecute?”
    The Teoh Beng Hock murder has definitely put a serious dent in the MACC’s ability to function and yes, maybe a freeze is necessary untill a royal commission produces a better control mechanism.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/08/malaysiakini-and-problem-with-macc.html

23. #23 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:24 pm

Ken G :
    YB Kit,
    Please advise Wong CH to seek a court order first thing tomorrow to cancel his arrest on the grounds that no reason has been given.

Sounds to me like teaching grandmothers how to suck egg. Forgive me for my acerbity. But I believe that Wong and DAP would have got a team of lawyers advising him on what to do by now. Anyway, Karpal Singh is always there for him.

24. #24 by yhsiew on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:26 pm

There are UMNO warloads controlling the MACC and the five MACC advisory panels.

25. #25 by yhsiew on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:26 pm

Oop!

warloads should be warlords.

26. #26 by dawsheng on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:31 pm

Except for Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam, I cannot see if any of the other can be impartial.. – siamo

How can that be? How could anyone excuse Tan Sri Ramon based on exception, to sit on board the advisory panel and did nothing is a mockery of justice, regardless of who you are and what you did in the past. The public strongly disagreed with the advisory panels and in this case, the public had lost complete trust in them, no further action from him is necessary.

27. #27 by GreenBug on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:36 pm

This is what Pak Lah left for all Malaysians! An MACC that will destroy the very fabric of this nation and tear it apart.

28. #28 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:36 pm

HJ Angus :
    The Teoh Beng Hock murder has definitely put a serious dent in the MACC’s ability to function and yes, maybe a freeze is necessary untill a royal commission produces a better control mechanism.

Let us not forget Teoh Beng Hock, a victim of UMNO’s desperation. No one will believe that he committed suicide for such a small thing when he is going to marry the next day. Even if he is indeed involved in corruption, so what? Has any UMNO goons ever commit suicide for sums far greater that even dazzle the imagination?

I just went to the provision shop behind my house and the old Indian lady was saying, “UMNO sudah habis. God will never pardon them for what they have done.”

Errrr… wonder which God she is referring to. But I believe any God will not pardon murderers. How about having a “chau du” day (what you call that Chinese ceremony in English) nationwide each year on Teoh’s death anniversary? It would also be a good day to help all of us remember UMNO’s “good deeds”. Memories are short, LOL.

29. #29 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:39 pm

dawsheng :
    How could anyone excuse Tan Sri Ramon based on exception, to sit on board the advisory panel and did nothing is a mockery of justice, regardless of who you are and what you did in the past.

Who say he is doing nothing? He is holding a watching brief for UMNO.

30. #30 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:48 pm

dawsheng :
    How could anyone excuse Tan Sri Ramon based on exception, to sit on board the advisory panel and did nothing is a mockery of justice, regardless of who you are and what you did in the past.

In experimental research, the term observer effect (also see Hawthorne effect) refers to changes that the act of observing will make on the phenomenon being observed.

The Hawthorne effect occurs when research study participants know they are being studied and alter their performance because of the attention they receive from the experimenters.

The John Henry effect, a specific form of Hawthorne effect, occurs when the participants in the control group alter their behavior out of awareness that they are in the control group.

In physics, the term observer effect refers to changes that the act of observation will make on the phenomenon being observed.

So don’t say that Tan Sri Ramon is doing nothing, okay. His mere presence is more effective than 10,000 person demonstrating in the streets. Hahaha… I am just telling what I believe to be true, not making him sound like God.

31. #31 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 5:49 pm

32. #32 by Ken G on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 6:01 pm

I salute Robert Phang for being very frank about problems in the MACC but I’m not impressed with Tan Sri Ramon whose best statement was to declare that he will not resign because resigning is running away. If one is in a position where one can do nothing why should one stay? His name is being used to cover up for the stinky smell of the MACC and he’s okay with that.

The names of all these “eminent people” will be dragged down to mud if they continue to cover the MACC aka Malaysian Gestapo. I would expect Robert Phang to resign if he can’t make any headway but as for Tan Sri Ramon I have no such hopes.

33. #33 by dawsheng on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 6:05 pm

His mere presence is more effective than 10,000 person demonstrating in the streets. – ekompute

At the same time, it could cause another 10,000 to die in vain. I saw him, but I also saw him did nothing, not only must Justice be done; it must also be seen to be done, no?

34. #34 by Ken G on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 6:07 pm

ekompute,

your observer effect is irrelevant. For people who can get away with murder and still act arrogantly and with great bias with the public watching them, you still think Tan Sri Ramon has any effect on them? How old are you?

35. #35 by assamlaksa on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 6:18 pm

Since the current MACC “could not carry out their duties effectively” they should simply resign starting with the Director of investigations. Stopping investigation work is irresponsible action indicating the current MACC has not will to emulate HK’s ICAC. Such attitude indicates that politicians can continue to engage in their corrupt practises since nobody will be enforcing the anti corruption laws.

36. #36 by limkamput on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 6:29 pm

The number of committees and those on the panel are longer than the cases investigated by MACC. This is Malaysia, and why do we border to waste time discussing them anymore. Yes, one ex-judge here and one former auditor general there – you fellows really think all these old farts would be of any help? Please, they can’t even hold more than two variables in their heads now lah! You expect them to fight for the king and the country. Forget it.

37. #37 by limkamput on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 6:35 pm

Ever notice Malaysia is a country that talks the most about corruption but when come to solving it, the least.

38. #38 by k1980 on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 6:46 pm

Where have the RM10,000,000.00 gone? Don’t tell me Ali Baba stole it from OTK’s cave. It can be used to purchase 3 Kampung Buah Palas!

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/35315-mca-claims-no-record-of-tiongs-rm10m-donation

39. #39 by Callum on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 6:57 pm

The one who planted the timebomb is Koh Tsu Kun, and DAP Lim GE is cleaning up the shit.

40. #40 by k1980 on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 7:09 pm

Aspiring politicians or leaders should not have skeletons in their closets, former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said today.

But why is he saying nothing about the umno candidate for Permatang Pasir whose civil lawyer’s licence was revoked? WHY was it revoked?

41. #41 by ReformMalaysia on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 7:44 pm

“………..
    KUALA SELANGOR, Aug 9 (Bernama) — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said on Sunday he wants Selangor back in Barisan Nasional’s (BN) fold…………”

So he wants to grab back Selangor from PR by whatever means …. -BY HOOKS OR BY CROOK…..

seems like now the first ‘C’ in acronym- MACC stand for ‘Crooks’

the second ‘C’ is not qualified to be called “Commission” as MACC past and present acts does not show neutrality…

MACC -stand for MAlaysian Crooks Club?

42. #42 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 8:00 pm

ReformMalaysia :
    “………..
    KUALA SELANGOR, Aug 9 (Bernama) — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said on Sunday he wants Selangor back in Barisan Nasional’s (BN) fold…………”

So Najib finally admits that he is behind all these MACC antics and confirms RPK’s post via his announcement. Let them shoot their own foot. If UMNO does not respect the wishes of the people, they will eventually pay for it dearly. The people will wake up to the fact that PR must be the next Federal Government, nothing less. This is not just a number game, it is principle. It seems like UMNO cannot help but kick the ball into their own goalpost even before the next general election. The RAHMAN Prophesy will be fulfilled, even though there is no scientific basis as to why it should be so. Same also the Puteri Mahsuri Curse that Langkawi will lay to waste for 7 generations.

43. #43 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 8:04 pm

limkamput :
    Ever notice Malaysia is a country that talks the most about corruption but when come to solving it, the least.

Well, at least they practise it the most, LOL.

44. #44 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 8:12 pm

Ken G :
    ekompute,
    your observer effect is irrelevant. For people who can get away with murder and still act arrogantly and with great bias with the public watching them, you still think Tan Sri Ramon has any effect on them? How old are you?

Let’s not get personal. What I detest most are smart alecs who think that they always have the right answers. I was just throwing some ideas. And we don’t even know which side Tan Sri Ramon is siding with his Tan Sri title.

45. #45 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 8:16 pm

UMNO is not necessarily looking for a win. A draw is good enough for them.

46. #46 by c730427 on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 8:26 pm

UMNO: PKFZ is your responsibility.

MCA: I suggest you to get MACC to clean up DAP otherwise we all will lose in the next GE.

MACC: Baik Tuan.. Baik Tuan.. Alamak!!!!

47. #47 by dawsheng on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 8:57 pm

And we don’t even know which side Tan Sri Ramon is siding with his Tan Sri title. – ekompute

What is in a title like Tan Sri, Dato Seri and so on for Ramon or Phang when it’s best known for its association with greedy businessmen and suspected murderers who can afford to buy their way out through corruption and abuse of power? Our government institutions have plummeted to its death, along with all the grand titles. Should I be even sympathetic that there aren’t any places in the history to glorify these individuals…

48. #48 by LG on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:06 pm

Shukri, please resign immediately and let others who are more capable, responsible and non-biased to take over your post.

Yes, he should first focus primarily on the severity of the alleged corruptions that cost millions or billions e.g. PKFZ scandal, Toyo, highways that collapsed, stadium that collapsed, quite a number of mega projects mounting to hundreds million or billions ringgit, purchases of helicopters, submarines,etc that are very costly and with ridiculous extremely high commission, etc. On Toyo’s case, with so many accusations and also many witnesses on his corrupt deeds and yet still no action???????? (If you-Shukri/MACC resign and let me or others takeover in the investigation we can guarantee 100% to be able to find so many hard evidences and witnesses on all his corrupt misdeeds to put him to prison for his rest of his natural life. MACC/ACA unable to find any corruptions in the PKFz since first reported in 2004 that needed an independent audit team investigation that has limited authority and scope to point out suspicous and improper practices. MACC must be blind or deaf or ….

MACC investigating few lembus that are for the Rakyat???? Investigating 500 thousand ringgits for 230 projects i.e. average less than RM2,200/project???? (while the former BN assemblymans each spent RM 500,000 (the whole year budget?) in a very short span less than 2 months prior 308 – why no investigation????? And so many other cases. Selective????? Biased?????? Incompetent???? An innocent, young and talented one killed during the course of MACC’s investigation on the alleged corruption on purchase amounting RM2,400 ?????

In fact, most of the senior MACC officers beginning with the Chief should resign immediately or sack immediately. It is so obvious to the public that MACC is biased, BN/UMNO-linked and has targetted to attack and destroy PR and thus has lost the primary objective in fighting corruption especially on the high levels involving big fishes that once were tiny and skinny but grew monstrously huge and fat when they took up the high positions in the government including their cronies and relatives also grew huge and fat.

49. #49 by DAP man on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:07 pm

Malaysia can go into the Guinnies Book of Records as the largest ‘producer’ of scumbags and slimeballs. We produce more of these specimens than palm oil!

They are in the Cabinet, The State and Federal governments, The Judiciary, The AG Chambers, Police force, MACC (including the advisers), Election Commission, Utusan/Berita Harian/NST/ Star news desks, RTM/TV3 etc.

It’s unimaginable a country which professes “Believe in God” as it first national credo, is being run by men and women who are utterly bankrupt in moral, ethics and personal dignity.

50. #50 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:11 pm

I agree with dawsheng… the very mention of those titles make my hair stand on ends… the bigger the title, the bigger my phobia. When Ling Liong Sik got his Toonship in the midst of the scandal of his then 29-year old son (obviously a proxy) purchasing 2 public companies for some RM1.2 billion was still unsettled, I told myself, even Tun, so what?

51. #51 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:23 pm

I believe that in a democracy, winners should not take all. Some departments, e.g. the Anti-Corruption Department, the Public Accounts Department, and an Appeals Court or Privy Council, should be given to the Opposition to handle… meaning UMNO after the next general election, LOL.

I know, I know… you will point to USA, UK, and all the countries in the world and tell me that this has never been practised. But I can bet my last dollar (I am now down to my last dollar, LOL) that the Prophet will agree with me if I say that. My reason is this: You ask those who are in a position to be corrupted to audit their own accounts and check on corruption and you believe it will work? Don’t make my toes laugh, okay?

52. #52 by relaxjack on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:48 pm

Exactly. Such a deafening silence from those 5 advisors. Even the blind can see MACC’s actions are politically motivated.

53. #53 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 9:55 pm

The Parliament passed the MACC Act to give the MACC officers legal immunity when carrying out their official duty. This is just like giving the MACC officers a license to kill indiscriminately.

It is therefore important for the checks-and-balances body which oversees the everyday operations of the MACC to establish on time a certain set of rules and regulations for the MACC officers to follow and make it a condition that the MACC officers will never be given the legal immunity in the event that they have violated the preset rules and regulations.

It is too dangerous to let go a group of loosely trained MACC officers to go catch a suspect or a witness without asking them to observe a certain set of rules and regulations. Don’t let the MACC become a lawless and uncontrollable security enforcement unit which rigidly resides in our government system as the tool for dictatorial rule and authoritarian governance! The Malaysia people do not want “Gestapo” to run the daily business of the government because “Gestapo” will never provide a good governance!

54. #54 by tanjong8 on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 10:00 pm

Do these 5 advisory panels exist ?

It does not seem so.

Only the Utusans are kicking.

55. #55 by tanjong8 on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 10:05 pm

Singapore PM had just spoken at his annual National Rally speech.

He talked on harmony and development and a good life for his people.

What does our PM do and have in mind for our people ? Gestapos, Utusans and traitors ?

56. #56 by tanjong8 on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 10:10 pm

In Malaysia, the government appears to be very different from that in S’pore.

Here, our people have to take care of themselves while the Singaporeans can count on their government to provide a good environment for a good living.

Why such a big difference after S’pore left Malaysia 44 years ago ? Why ?

57. #57 by boh-liao on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 10:12 pm

By right NR and his cabinet should be humble enuf to be in the little red dot to listen to PM Lee’s NR 2009 speech
    They will learn a lot about the true meaning of One Nation One People concept
    About how not to be extreme in thoughts and behavior, and how to really live harmoniously
    About how the little red dot constantly learns from history and world events
    True statesman, LHL

58. #58 by vsp on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 10:18 pm

dawsheng :
    How could anyone excuse Tan Sri Ramon based on exception, to sit on board the advisory panel and did nothing is a mockery of justice, regardless of who you are and what you did in the least.

—–

The honey is so sweet that it makes the bees reluctant to leave.

59. #59 by ekompute on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 10:58 pm

boh-liao :
    By right NR and his cabinet should be humble enuf to be in the little red dot to listen to PM Lee’s NR 2009 speech
    They will learn a lot about the true meaning of One Nation One People concept
    About how not to be extreme in thoughts and behavior, and how to really live harmoniously
    About how the little red dot constantly learns from history and world events
    True statesman, LHL

That guy was merely learning from our mistakes. We pay the price and they get the benefit. How can always like that, rugilaaaa (or is it lu gilaaaaaaa), hahaha.

60. #60 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 11:11 pm

Abuse of power is so common in Malaysia that I think many Malaysians will simply shrug their shoulders and say “Biasa-lah”.

Just read about the DPM’s use of a TUDM helicopter for UMNO division meetings.
    Do you think UMNO repays for the hire of the helicopter?
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/08/malaysiakini-and-accounting-for-plane.html

61. #61 by chengho on Sunday, 16 August 2009 - 11:43 pm

Najib too liberal ,just benchmark to LKY no nonsense approach….

62. #62 by tenaciousB on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:16 am

najib looks up to his mentor mahathir, therefore trying out the no nonsence approach but malaysian public have attained significant maturity since the last 4 yrs , public
    = tolerate no more nonsense from goverment.

63. #63 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:56 am

chengho :

LKY’s approach can only be used if one does not shit in his pants… how about trying General Thein Sein’s approach, LOL. I think the situation is Myanmar is closer to that of Malaysia.

64. #64 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 12:57 am

chengho :

LKY’s approach can only be used if one does not syit in his pants… how about trying General Thein Sein’s approach? I think the situation is Myanmar is closer to that of Malaysia, LOL.

65. #65 by ekompute on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 1:39 am

chengho :

Hi Cheng Ho, you sound like a very interesting person. Can you tell us your views about Teoh’s death? Do you believe that Teoh committed suicide when his wedding was scheduled the next day?

66. #66 by johnnypok on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 1:44 am

The actions of MACC make people angry.

67. #67 by shuffle on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 6:44 am

PR better watch out and pull their act together. BN has already made retaking Selangor their priority and we can only hope the PR reps shift a further gear up in their behavior and not give the Big Macc have any excuse to arrest any of you on real or imaginary charges.
    I am also wondering whatever happened to those PR turncoats in Perak? Weren’t they supposed to be under some sort of investigation as well? Maybe now seuma sudah kau tim once they became BN stooges? Sigh… what is Malaysia becoming?

68. #68 by shuffle on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 6:49 am

The inquest is a joke. Wat sort of an idiot can suggest Teoh would jump when he had his own wedding to attend? And if he had jumped, then wouldnt the dust on the window ledge have been disturbed? Anyway, already widely speculated Teoh was already dead wen he ‘jumped’. Wont be surprised if the inquest concludes ‘accidental’ death as a result of Teoh ‘accidentally’ falling out the window wen opening the window. Action taken – seal all windows, apologies extended to widow and family, continue their gestapo ways.

69. #69 by Bigjoe on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 7:26 am

Why single out PKFZ when the criticism is about their tactics against the opposition and when there are other cases against BN..

PKFZ is a runaway train and they are very worried. The trail leads back to UMNO in a big way in the order of hundreds of millions and involves many people. Billion spends, you think UMNO and co don’t take a few hundred millions into their pocket? In Mahathir time, he himself would take RM400-500mil himself easily…Najib did the same thing with Scorpene..

70. #70 by limkamput on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 8:01 am

Calling off investigation against politicians involving in corruption? Hello, other than harassing DAP ADUNs, was there any investigation on other politicians to begin with? Oh yes, MACC arrested one politician in Terengganu and immediately made announcement that MACC is fair and professional. Look, if you are fair, there is no need to for you to justify every action. If you are fair, we will know.

Right now, we know exactly your modus operandi. You will pretend to investigate one BN politicians and then come down hard on all PR representatives. I think the people are not that stupid any more.

71. #71 by HJ Angus on Monday, 17 August 2009 - 9:49 am

Yes I agree that if the MACC acts like a truly independent graft buster, the public will not have such a negative opinion.

What the MACC should do is publish an annual report of all the corruption probes and a summary of the details such as:

person, background and amount of corruption, date of probe and outcome.

If we accept that corruption occurs in both BN and PR camps, the number of probes should be quite even over the years.

One other important factor is how many probes have been put into cold storage by the Attorney-General’s office?

72. #72 by ekompute on Tuesday, 18 August 2009 - 4:19 am

limkamput :
    Right now, we know exactly your modus operandi. You will pretend to investigate one BN politicians and then come down hard on all PR representatives. I think the people are not that stupid any more.

That poor BN guy must have fallen out of favor in UMNO and used as a “scapegoat”. Big one don’t catch, catch small ones. Maybe there is an authority limit for MACC… corruption cases not exceeding RM10,000, LOL. Just like a small claim court or something.