The next general election is for Pakatan Rakyat to lose

by Hussein Hamid

I could write about what Anwar (as in Ibrahim) and what he represents for the many Malaysians who yearns for a Malaysia that is free from corruption, nepotism and all the promises that a ‘Man who would be King’ can promise before his ascent to the throne..but I will not.

I can write about Mahathir and what he has done for our country in the years he has been in power – that he has made Malaysia into a conglomerate that made strange bedfellows of business and politics – where his brand of ‘take no prisioners’ reign tolerated no opposition to his rule – where UMNO and himself was the ruler par excellance…but I will not.

I can write about Pak Lah who came in with a bang and left without even a whimper…but I will not.

I can write about Najib, Rosmah, Altantuya, leaping frogs and things that go bump in the night – but I will not.

I am no card carrying member of the “I am a Melayu/Bumiputra” brigade but I am a Melayu that has benefited greatly from the largeness of UMNO in the years that it has effectively dominated the politics of our country.

The ills that are now so self evident in our country, in the systems that prevails in the country, in the Police, in the failure of so many of our leaders to lead by examples, in the virtual breakdown of our own self belief that we as Malaysians can get a fair deal from our elected leaders is a manifestations of the many years that we have allowed UMNO to appoint leaders who have put self preservation before country. UMNO is the Political Party that the Malays had to have so that in time they will understand that the Politics of greed and avarice will not only bring a country to its knees but also mean the Malays has lost it’s place in a country that they once call their own. That we, as a race, have to pay so heavy a price for the follies of our elected leaders is now a reality.

But the future has overtaken us. The Malays are no longer alone in proclaiming that Malaysia is their country. They are others who have earned that right because over the years they choose to make Malaysia their home. Too many Malays now understand that the division between “them” and “us’ no longer exists. We are one. Together we want change and it will come – but the process of growing up is one of trial and errors, making informed choices of what is the right thing to do for our country and most critical, the tolerance and acceptance and celebration of one another as being different and yet united in wanting what is good for our country and for us.

We have begun the journey. Pak Lah started us on that journey when he unwittingly opened the way towards openness and decency in the way things were done. Anwar was release, the media could and did say things they could not say before, his Ministers, MB’s and UMNO itself were unshackled and were given enough rope to act as they think fit (and in the process, as we had hoped, hanged themselves). The last General Election is in large parts, a result of these changes that was only possible when Pak Lah took his place in our history books – albeit at the expense of UMNO, Barisan and some say, the Malays. But for most Malays it is a small price to pay for our entry into a real partnership with the others in Malaysia as we enter into an era of accountability and responsibility in the Governance of our Country that we now expect from those whom we elect as leaders – be it from Barisan or Pakatan Rakyat.

Pakatan Rakyat will need to negotiate a steep learning curve as it come to terms with what it can and what it cannot do when in power. There will be opportunities to enrich themselves beyond what mere mortals can only dream of and some amongst them will succumb to the temptations. Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely – again the heady emotions of wielding power at State level will make anyone salivate at the thoughts of wielding power at the Federal Level – what will they do to make that a reality? Do what UMNO has done? God forbids !! Common sense tells us that ‘good intentions’ alone will not hold Pakatan Rakyat together. What will? The spoils of wars? Much too soon the unraveling of Pakatan Rakyat has started – what we see and hear in public must surely be the tip of the iceberg. The union is too fragile and without cohesion to survive effectively unless there is unity in purpose. I hope I am wrong but this I know. The next election is there for Pakatan to lose.

1. #1 by DAP man on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 8:24 am

Well said my friend.
    I am very very fed up with some Pakatan leaders. They inherited some of the UMNO genes when they deserted that party to join Pakatan.

Anwar did remarkably well to hold the three parties together and the people gave this coalition, albeit a loose and untested one, the vote.
    Anwar and his family sacrificed so much for this Malaysian Dream.

Alas, some of them (namely Wee, Azmin, Hadi, Nasarudin etc) are just ungrateful.

They are burning my Malaysian Dream.

I pray they will realize their mistakes and advance our goals we set on March 8 2008.
    If they refuse, then let UMNO destroy this country.

2. #2 by K S Ong on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 8:56 am

It is quite obvious that there is a common objective among disappointed Malaysians to go for change.

Just look at the disparate top bloggers like Raja Petra and Zorro-unmasked who worked tirelessly to ensure BN’s failure at the polls.

Their disappointment with PR’s disunity is still tolerable to BN’s excesses and blatant unfairness.

I hope any disagreement among the leaders of PR is sincere and not a result of being tempted by BN’s limitless warchest.

Anyone who thinks the common objective of change and good governance is not in synch with his own, then the sooner he is rooted out the better.

The road is long and not paved with gold if we are true to good governance.

3. #3 by Saint on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 9:31 am

An adolescent is fighting both with his internal temptations and with his “tyrant master”. Give some time for him to grow up. If he is wise, he may learn from one or two mistakes (Perak state @ Kelantan by election) if not, struggle for another 20 years. The most unfortunate factor is that neither the country nor its people can wait that long.

4. #4 by walkman on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 10:34 am

Greetings,
    Yes, I agree it is for the unofficial coalition Pakatan Rakyat to loose in the next GE. After taking hold of 5 states, but robbed of 1, they have yet to shackle away their opposition mentality. They must act as the government of these states. Yes, it is good to let us informed of what the previous administrations have done improperly, but, we want them to spend more time and effort on improving and make changes their administrations. However, it must be said that a few of the last general election’s winners from PR are far from ideal as most of them never expect to win.

The marriage of convenience among them is even far from sustainable as time goes. Unless, these leaders are willing to sit together and form and formal coalition, and don’t see they can make much in road into the federal government.

It is a good wake up call from the poor result of recent by-election. If PR truly want to help to change Malaysia for the better future, they MUST rid themselves of the opposition mentality and MUST agree to share power and responsibility among themselves.

5. #5 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 10:44 am

Maybe LKS and LGE’s call for change will be a turning point. I hope this father and son team can hammer some sense into the others. If not all that is left for the Opposition is Penang. Kelantan will slowly erode with the likes of Hadi etc.

My take on PR’s current failure is because of DSAI and Hadi. These 2 are the personification of greed (power), self indulgence (my way) and racism (use of religion and race).

DSAI wants to be PM and let BN feel the wrath of his vengeance. His kuncus are mainly ex BN and have tasted ‘blood’ before, they want to be in power for obvious reasons. This call has been made a few times from PKR members.

People like Hadi will only want to champion their interpretation of Islam. They will keep quiet now until PR is in power then they will move. Remember the call that PM needs to be from PAS?

I only see DAP as the only real alternate party. Why? Because they are experienced, they were oppressed but have only one objective, proving that they are a competent political party. This is the vengeance that DAP will want against BN, to show BN that DAP is capable. Look at how gracious DAP were in Perak on the selection of the MB? They knew it was pointless to fight. Ngeh walked away without fuss.

That is how I see the difference is between PAS, PKS and DAP.

Ever since I joined this forum, this is what I have been trying to say to many but I am called an UMNO Goon, MCA B@ll Carrier etc.

6. #6 by Godfather on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 10:53 am

BN will always trip over themselves. Look at PKFZ – desperately trying to sweep matters under the carpet. Look at the recent events on Anwar’s trial – lopsided and questionable preliminary rulings from the judiciary. Look at MACC – super efficient in dealing with PR politicians, but super slow in dealing with BN goons. Look at Khir Toyo – claiming his massive mansion is only worth RM 3.5 million.

Look at the education system – hastily making a reversal to fish for Manek Urai votes, and now being subject to pressure from BN parties to reverse the reversal.

Yes, the next elections is for PR’s to lose, but we still have to do what’s in the rakyat’s interests.

7. #7 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 11:28 am

Godfather … I think what is on the writer’s mind is will PR do what is in the Rakyat’s interest. Everyone saw PR as the hope, if it does not make it happen then being Malaysians we will turn back to BN … saying better to live with something we know is rotten but stable.

PR is throwing away such a golden opportunity … its sad …

8. #8 by grace on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 11:47 am

I agree 100% with the writer.
    PR componet parties are too carried away by their succees. If they do not change from now,
    yes, the next election is for PR to loose!

9. #9 by nazryan on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:12 pm

It is my opinion that there will always those core supporters of PR & BN and the MU result shall be look positively. Say there is 30% each supporter of both coalitions. The 20% will always be the fence setter whom will vote by conscious or at the least the party that will be able to provide them more result or development. The remaining usually will not give a damn or even care to vote.
    To be fair to MU voters:
    1. The promises given by BN are too hard to resist
    2. The Kelantan state is already under PR. If they vote BN this time they will get what they want and can changed again during the next GE
    3. I personally think that the younger generation (including me) thought that PAS candidate did not have the required qualification. Without any disrespect to him though.
    We shall see the result plus LKS, LGE and even Azmin comment as a wake up call for all PR components, party machineries. The rakyat is wise these days and will not just support or vote for pity or convenience.
    PAS and PR shall carry out Root Cause Analysis on how, why, when, whom and what caused such low margin and learn from it. The momentum is already growing and I believed that the GE13, a dawn of a new era will begin

10. #10 by Thor on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:38 pm

PAS are playing “flip flop” every now and then!
    Parti Keadilan are stabbing each other’s back because of self interest!
    DAP are still infested with a handful of “traitors” that are willing to betray their very own, just for a fortune.
    How are the “power of three” gonna survive till the next GE?
    I’m getting sick and tired of all these!!!

11. #11 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 12:44 pm

“The union is too fragile and without cohesion to survive effectively unless there is unity in purpose.” (Hussein Hamid)

For achieving unity in purpose, there must always be a goal congruence. What common goals do DAP, PKR and PAS have besides trying to grasp the political ruling power in order to form a government under the administration of Pakatan Rakyat, whether a State Government or a Federal Government?

Please do goal-setting first before DAP, PKR, and PAS are going to unite together for a same purpose! Otherwise, Pakatan Rakyat will just be a loosening coalition which is tragically lack of discipline and is quarrelsome-prone!

12. #12 by frankyapp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 1:06 pm

Hi ,come on guys,where are your confidence in PR and your fighting spirit to change from Umno/Bn to PR in the federal government ! Hussien Hamid wrote with two motives : (1) He meant well for PR and (2) He has ulterior motive to persuade you guys to abandon PR. If he meant well for PR,I think he has pointed out several good reasons why he said PR is to lose in the next general election.HE said PR is a fragile partnership and I totally agreed with him.Hence,if we want to see the change of the next government,we must ensure and help PR to nurse this fragile relationship into a solid one. If Hussien Hamid like I said has ulterior motive to destroy PR,are we just sit still and let him succeed ?. Are we also allow him to persaude us to jump the PR ship and lose our only chance to get rid of the Umno/Bn government ?. Definitely no,we can’t permit him to discourage our hope and faith in PR to win in the next general election.Therefore guys,stay firm ,re-new your good fighting spirit to help PR to win and to form the next federal government.Please always remember that ” when the tough gets tougher,the tough gets going”.

13. #13 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 1:06 pm

There is UNITY IN PURPOSE in PR … they only want to destroy BN, is that a real purpose for a political party that wants to lead our nation? LOL!

14. #14 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 1:08 pm

frankyapp … we are not saying JUMP SHIP, we are saying, “What the hell are you all doing?” But if it does not stop then yes, Malaysians will jump ship. Hannah Yeoh’s nightmare will come true.

15. #15 by frankyapp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 1:58 pm

Hi SpeakUp,who says we ‘re jumping ship ?. I only said don’t allow him to persuade us jump PR ship.That’s a great defference between what I said and what you said. In a nut shell,I said we should not be conned by Hussien Hamid.

16. #16 by nazryan on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 2:29 pm

Frankyapp..
    I believed that he meant well for PR. He is just saying that if PR did not buck up or wake up and pay attention to what and why they were voted in the first place – PR will lose coz of their own mistake / fall. This is true since the rakyat had given a chance in GE12 and it is not impossible though to make it happened again in GE 13. We only have ourselves to be blame then.
    And to have a common goal of a fair and just Malaysia for every Malaysian (disregard of any individual party component) and to have it planned/ outlined/ circulated in PR media and supporter’s blog shall remind every Malaysian of what our goal is

17. #17 by k1980 on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 2:38 pm

umno, like Japan’s LDP, can be defeated. But PR must first close ranks.

Japanese PM Taro Aso’s plan to call an Aug 30 poll has sparked chaos in the conservative Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), which surveys show is headed for defeat by the opposition Democratic Party.

A Democratic Party victory in the general election, which must be held by October, would end more than 50 years of almost unbroken rule by the LDP

18. #18 by newchief on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 2:39 pm

pk is dooming itself & it doesn’t know. anwar may know it but he’s buzy worrying about himself rather than pk (who blame him-leh) .

at least anwar should NOW hand-pick a successor to rule pkr,pas & dap before everyone starts cutting each other’s throats out IF anwar goes to jail.

this appointed person must rule the 3 stooges with an iron fist . for heaven’s sake, still didn’t learn from bn barbarian style during mathatir’s and now najib’s time ?? badawi style dn’t work because he ZZZ and is a softy.

to be a capable leader especially in pk, must rule with power and harshness because basically, these 3 stooges have different political plans and each are waiting to run each other down.

bn can shreg pk to pieces just with their fingertip if they want because they have MONEY and POWER. luckily they did’t have to because pk is doing it for them!!!

from what i can see, pk is heading for DOOM if these in-fights continue…everyone will go their separate way in the end. even if not, RAKYAT will dispose them because they can’t even earn respect from own’s alliance or be mature enough to think back why the hell they form pk in the first place….for fun or for rakyat to over-throw bn corrupt or un-fair system.

19. #19 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 2:55 pm

frankyapp … sorry I was not clear. I know you are saying stay the course. I agree. The writer is not asking us to jump. He is disappointed and being sarcastic. We all want to stay on this ship but for how long?

Let’s be honest, when DrM was in power who complained? Not that she quelled it all. EVERYONE was making money. That is a fact.

I started out my career then and I could see everyone making so much money, they were not BN cronies. People buy houses like mad too.

If got no money for the Rakyat to make, its hell. That is how the US got out of the Great Depression. That is why we need bailouts.

Alan Greenspan does not believe in bailouts but in ’98 he supported the bailout of Long Term Capital. That is reality. Money must go into the hands of the Rakyat.

20. #20 by husseinhamid on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 3:35 pm

Friends,
    I am not in the business of conning people. Whether it is Barisan or Pakatan Rakyat you will have to make the choice – but this I know – UMNO is a four letter word !! Make what you want of that but there has been no one to keep those bastards honest until Pakatan came into the scene. No Pakatan was not robbed of Perak – Pakatan blinked and Najib swopped in like Zorro and took it away from Pakatan. Give Najib credit where credit is due. If you want my thought on Najib (and there are not very charitable!!) then go to my blog at ‘steadyaku47’ and read for yourself. This is just an attempt to put into words what I feel. Salam.

HH

21. #21 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 3:47 pm

HH … not many will see it the way you have put it. Too many are blinded by the fact that its all so easy. PR will win with ease.

The PM pulled a great coup in Perak, he had a few stumbling blocks but he still did it. Today, no one in Ipoh really cares. Heck, no one from Ipoh really came out to show their displeasure when the State Assembly sat. Come to think of it LKS went but where was DSAI then? Hahahahahaa …

22. #22 by ebcheong on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 4:58 pm

Frankly speaking, i think most of the malaysian voters are very interested in the current political scenerio in which i online almost everyday just to know any new situation. we does not belong to any political party but what we are concern is our future , our next generation future. maybe the older generation are tend to have a secure goverment after having going through japanese occupation and may13, but after all these years, what had happen? many of the 50 years back policy still untouch? we can not predict what will happen to the next election but one thing for sure is there will be a new era after what had happen on the last year general election. deep down in our heart, do we really satisfied with the existing goverment that filled with filthy, frog, corruption people. i am not saying that the existing goverment did not bring any development after so many years but we really need a new changes in this new era. even the kampung also have internet and we dont really consider kampung as a low class area. what we want is accountablity ( e.g what happen to the PKFZ case, no body responsible, even the tun also said i don’t remember ), a new judisry reform ( e.g another tun also said i don’t remember in lingam case ). we should salute Pak Lah for opening a new chapter for a better malaysia but we really don’t know whether it could be continue or not? the previous general election was just a tip of iceberg and we should give the new opposition control state a chance to prove their talk. remember, the vote is in our hand. if what they are doing is good then we should let them continue. we have given the existing federal government 50 years and why can’t we give the opposition a chance?

23. #23 by mother of three on Thursday, 16 July 2009 - 6:50 pm

ebcheong,

“We have given the existing federal government 50 years and why can’t we give the opposition a chance? Once upon a time I used to say that but now no more.Many reasons for me to stop supporting PR. One of the reason is the switch of PPSMI.DSAI is the real culprit.He against PPSMI coz he wants to please PAS and some of the malays.The gov is smart.At first, they disagree with DSAI and PAS but later they agree.Maybe,the gov want to show the rakyat how stupid PR is by bringging Malaysia backwards.The switch of PPSMI will take place on 2012 (The next general election year).Indirectly the gov want the “rakyat” to decide whether they want forward or backward government.If BN win they will remain PPSMI.This is my wild guess and I hope I am right.Just praying for the future of my kids.Another example,see how PAS rule Kedah.Did they manage to bring in any new investors?????

24. #24 by siamo on Friday, 17 July 2009 - 2:30 pm

There are guys who are denying the painful truth. What Hussein Hamid said is true. Look at all the sqaubbling of the PR parties in recent months. HH means well for the PR. It hard to accept the truth. The truth hurts!

Deny the truth now as HH as put it but be ready to accept the truth later in the next GE i.e. PR losing.

As the Chinese say, “de yi wang xing” translated, “dreaming away from success that you missed the reality”

Comments are closed.