Integrity: What option for Malaysia?

By Tunku Abdul Aziz

THE UPSURGE of interest in integrity and ethics is not without a good reason. People all over the world have realized that human progress is unlikely to be sustainable without all of us adopting and embracing universal human values – values that transcend cultural, religious and political barriers.

In Malaysia we have the best legal framework, rules, regulations and procedures, but corrupt practices continue unchecked because those entrusted to serve the community are themselves morally and ethically deficient and devoid of ethical values and high standards of personal and public behaviour.

If we lose our competitive position because we are corrupt and lack integrity, we are putting our future as a nation at risk. Corruption kills competition, breeds inefficiency, distorts our decision making processes and promotes social and political instability in the long run. I believe that in societies where integrity is firmly entrenched, corruption can be kept firmly under control.

We have to refocus our vision and reshape our views and ideas on what can be done to fight unethical public behaviour, not only on our own turf, but equally important, on the international front because cross-border corruption represents a major source of social, economic and political instability and distortion, if not dealt with decisively.

In the globalised world in which we operate with its own set of demanding rules of engagement, with emphasis on transparency and accountability, we have to learn quickly to be adaptable or we will be marginalized.

However described, corruption exacts a heavy toll on a nation’s social, political, and economic development. Anyone trying to persuade you that corruption is a victimless crime is just being cynical.

There are victims out there all right, if only we care to open our eyes. As always, they represent the underclass, and are among the poorest, and the least informed and educated members of our society. They are men and women who because of their economic status do not even know their rights as citizens.

The recent Malaysian Indian demonstrations in Kuala Lumpur could well have been a manifestation of a sense of being excluded from mainstream economic and social development. There are large numbers of people in Peninsular, Sarawak and Sabah who are in the same boat, and the government must ensure that its service delivery meets their expectations.

I very much hope that we are not fighting corruption for its own sake, or just to feel good for that would be tantamount to abandoning a large part of mankind to perpetual misery and degradation in the face of the relentless onslaught of human greed. We fight corruption not only to be globally competitive, but more to the point, to bring about social justice and to make a difference to the lives of the poor, the real victims of corruption.

The long term, sustainable prosperity of any country depends entirely on good governance, a comprehensive, overarching system for managing the often complex social, economic and political needs of a modern state, underpinned by strong ethical principles.

The current financial crisis has many lessons for us. One is that there is really no substitute for international standards of business conduct; standards that are firmly grounded in transparency, accountability and integrity. Bad governance, whether private sector or government, contributes directly to inefficiency and corruption. Every financial crisis that has hit our nation has had elements of inefficiency, greed and corruption in the final equation. An absence of integrity is not good for business, especially international business.

Corruption in Malaysia is alive and well as revealed in survey after survey. The latest to confirm this is a report released by the World Bank. The economic strength and prosperity of our nation must begin with confronting and resolving our internal structural weaknesses, of which corruption is a serious impediment to global competitiveness.

We have to keep ourselves abreast of best international practices if there is to be a return of public confidence in the way we conduct our business affairs. We have to raise the ethical bar by putting ethics in the driving seat.

The international punishment for breaches of business ethics meted out to a country perceived to be corrupt such as ours can be swift and damaging in real terms.

Ethical behaviour is no longer the luxury of the virtuous; it has become a business necessity. Malaysia’s capacity to prosper must be predicated on the highest international ethical standards. The way forward for Malaysia is to embrace integrity and put it to good use in our fight for a place at the global top table of clean nations. Is the government up to the task?

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:45 pm

To get rid of corruption, there needs to be real separation of powers of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of government, PLUS total independence of the police and judiciary. But umno must first go if we are to achieve that.

2. #2 by taiking on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:50 pm

Our ethical bar is raised high by umno. Look even the chief of HK ICAC admitted that our macc is a success. It was already a success even before it began operation. It was that high standard. That is umno’s standard. Try it and see for yourself how quickly and efficiently they operate. You may want to test this out: Just file a report with the macc to say that Lim Kit Siang is on a secret mission to send some cows to the moon and that the whole mission smells of hanky panky somehow.

Mark my words. Within 24 hours Lim Kit Siang will be hauled up for questioning and within another 24 hours later, the macc chief would be ready with his press statement: “We have solid evidence that Lim Kit Siang is upto no good.”

Tunku Abdul Aziz, sir. Err .. excuse me sir. But are you a malaysian?

3. #3 by Joshua on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:52 pm

Despite weather forecast of no rain until September, 2009 there have been sort of rain like tears (nyan jib or najib) from heaven in Kota Kinabalu because corruption is still rampant and possibly worst with the new PM.

Nothing can change with the same old rotten system of 52/46 years exacerbated since 1981, where there was cartoon in Aliran of TDM raking in the big deals and throwing out the small ones.

So today it has become a tradition of chasing the millions now improved or upgraded to the billions Ringgit as in a competition of sorts amongst the servants who themselves declare themselves the ruling elite of cronyism to be in the billionaire contest. Even the EC Chairman was in this game of greedy pursuits and so likely all the rigged General Elections to instal the illegal Govts.

What have been said since 3 April are still rhectoric with SHIT – Selfish Hideous Illegal Trap by some SMART (Sure Make All Rotten Through) people.

pw: streaky Elcanor

4. #4 by my1anthony on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 2:53 pm

Integrity! The only option for Malaysia is no POLITICS. Give the power to the state government. The Federal is only in charge of Defense and
    Foreign affairs. The Prime Minister is only symbol of the country and in charge of foreign affairs. Let the states decide about the taxes, the education, the investments, even the driving licences etc…This is part of the efforts to eliminate the corruptions.

5. #5 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 3:00 pm

Give power to state government or change BN etc makes not difference. The word here is INTEGRITY. Most of our politicians here in Malaysia either from BN or PR do not have it. I will not bother to repeat what has been happening that shows the lack of it. We all know it.

Integrity is not something that can really be taught. Its part of how society is made up. Example … in Burma corruption is a way of life, well same in Indonesia too. Hell, even politically Japan is full of corruption. But somehow the French, Swedes and Swiss, or even Singapore they are much more civilised than we are on this front. Integrity is a way of life for them.

I wonder who will be the saviour that will come and say “Let’s get our act together! Let’s build a nation for our children and their children.”

6. #6 by Joshua on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 3:03 pm

Reclaiming the right to 3rd vote
    Jul 6, 09 2:17pm
    The Coalition for Good Governance (CGG) today hammered home the importance of holding local government elections in the country.
    MCPX
    The reminder comes as the Pakatan Rakyat Selangor government announced its new local councillors today to replace some of those appointed last year who have underp
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/107912

I call for Interim Government for Good Governance IGGG to resolve the messiest scenario in M’sia.

pw: cre-prentice

7. #7 by artemisios on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 3:38 pm

agreed. There ARE victims of corruption.
    In fact there are many. & if not all, most of these victims are among the poorest.

The powerful & corrupt will always choose to steal from the poor. Because the poor can’t fight back.

8. #8 by limkamput on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 4:14 pm

SpeakUP, Tell me exactly what is the “value add” of what you posted above other than a combination of fiction, half baked opinions, ill-conceived logic coupled with lots of ends but with no means.

9. #9 by SpeakUp on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 4:22 pm

Its more value than you incessant vulgarity and name calling. :) By the way where did you copy the second half of your sentence from? Its a real mouthful to say. Did you Goggle it? I hope your neurons did not have to over work to write that. :) :) :)

10. #10 by Loh on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:18 pm

///We fight corruption not only to be globally competitive, but more to the point, to bring about social justice and to make a difference to the lives of the poor, the real victims of corruption.///– Tunk Abdul Aziz

The trouble we are in where the leader of BN cannot do away with NEP without political ramifications, even if he cares for the country, is because of the wide spread corruption that have gone down to the level of voters. The BN formula of divide and rule allows the majority to gain unfair advantage even though they are aware that BN leaders are laughing to the bank with the corrupt practiced made legalised by the ensured vote banks. The tragedy is that the situation of the poor had been worsening because of the corrupt practice of BN and yet the poor continue to return BN to power. So too are the so-called Malay middle class who fail to understand that the low-income level that the country faces has resulted from corrupt practices under the aegis of NEP. Further, the people have since lost the protection of the state in terms of personal security; the crime rate has ceased to be an indicator for police to plan their services. They are there to retail their power for personal gains, rather than as protectors of the citizens. There were incidents that the people have to protect themselves against uniform personnel. NEP and corruption are Siamese twins.

11. #11 by chengho on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:33 pm

tunku aziz , u bored me till zzzzz…. any other young person from DAP…

12. #12 by YK Leong on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 5:36 pm

“I will take a three-day break from the 36-day “three questions a day” session and 108 questions to decide whether to continue with the daily questioning on the PKFZ scandal, and if so, in what new form”.

Brother Lim Kit Siang, I CAN’T STOP THE MUSIC. Perhaps, I will gamble my luck with the MCA secretary-general, Wong Foon Meng for answers over the 12.5 billion PKFZ scandal. STAR (5 July 2009) headlined: “MCA to address public complaints effectively”.

My complaint #2 for 6 July 2009 to the MCA Public Services and Complaints Bureau is whether Ong Ta Kut is highly suspicious of Chor basing on the PKFZ audit report:-
    1. April 2004 to July 2007 – Chor was non-executive deputy chairman of WBGB.
    2. April 2007 to March 2008 – Chor was Chairman of PKA.
    3. April 2007 to July 2007 – Chor was wearing two (2) hats.
    4. WBGB and KDSB are related through a common shareholder and director.
    5. February 2008 – PKA approved RM1.216 billion to KDSB in the meeting attended by Chor, who was at the material time seen wearing two (2) hats.

If yes, should Chor be suspended from carrying out his duties as a deputy minister and from all party posts pending a clean report?

13. #13 by tanjong8 on Monday, 6 July 2009 - 8:20 pm

ADun for Sekinchan Mr Huang had asked the MACC to investigate the source of income of Khir Toyo which enables him to build a super luxurious “palace”.

It is hope that DAP must not forget about this case and keep the infamous Toyo on his toes.

The rakyat would like to see him pay for his misdeeds among which the worst is his relentless remarks/action in provoking racial sentiments.

14. #14 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 7:49 am

Dear Tunku,you are absolutely correct ,if our current rampage corruption is not check, the poor integrity and the low morality of our Umno/Bn leaders or politicians continue to snowball,there’s no way,Malaysia can go forward.On the contrary,Malaysia is now on the reverse gear,moving pretty fast too down a very steep and rocky hill.The core problem is with the corrupted politicians who run the government and they have corrupted the whole government system over the past five decades.Corruption is firmly rooted in the ground and it’s pretty tough to up root it over days and weeks.We can change the corrupted politicians but it needs a kind of a miracle to clean up the whole corrupted government system. Tunku,frankly speaking,when PR forms the next federal government,how long do you think it needs to clean up the whole mess being left behind by Umno/Bn ?.

15. #15 by knightgogo on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 11:29 am

Khir Toyo said his house only cost RM3.5 million + RM 500,000 renovation.. anyone can verify if it possible?

16. #16 by khairi ali on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 11:33 am

While Malaysia is talking about integrity, the Opposition is selling demonstration. While the Government is taking corruption to task, the Opposition is not satisfied, and asked for more transparency… and so on.

These are all political ploy. No one seem to be interested in joining hands, but toppling one another. R these politician worthy of their payments?

17. #17 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 2:32 pm

CONGRATULATION to Tunku Aziz …installed as Senator…the first DAP man to achieve it.
    On his message….no comments.
    So sick of it.

18. #18 by Ramesh Laxman on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 9:57 pm

Somewhere along the road for our quest to become a developed country in our mode by the year 20/20 the Finance Ministry lost control of the principle of contingency funding which is usually 10% and the Auditor General lost his role to do value audit. These two fundamental elements of finance must be restored if we are to make any headway in our quest to become a corrupt – free society.

Given the current global financial crisis only those countries that make their $1.00 work like $2.00 will survive. Others will go into Quantitave Easing – pumping more money and hoping for the best.This brings us to what is the tipping point. When Zimbabwe’s debt reached 42% of the annual budget the financial system went into a tail spin gradually leading to hyperinflation where you need a shopping cart full on money to buy a stick of bread. But the good news is that Europen countries that are now running a debt to budget ratio of 72% have not seen the light of day of hyperinflation. The economies of these are more matured and have more fat to live on during the seven lean years.

No business organisation, and government is a business organisation by its own definition, can survive in the world tody if cutting cost is not at the top of their priorities. M3 has been distorted because it now not only made up of trasaditional money earned but also derevatives and fund leveraging. In a sense M3 is slowly becoming finite meaning it canot be enhanced any further without the fear of hyperinflation. Hence, governments should now start working to use this finite commodity in a a manner whereby it will become infinite.

This is serious business. It is like the external defence of the country. We spend so much money to strength the institutions of defence to fight or fend off a war that may not come in our life time. But all the same it is necessay for otherwise we bwcome vulnerable outside forces. Let us ask ourself if we are doing the same for the defence of the economic future. Institutions that safeguard the future of the nation must be strengthened not emasculated for the benefit of the few.

We need a strong political, administrative and financial system held togerher by the judiciary if we are to remain relevant in the next 50 years.

19. #19 by siapatau on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 - 11:56 pm

Takde option…kena hapus rasuah takde kisah BN or PR.
    Gomen atau Opposition, public atau private…
    Selepas MACC ditubuhkan, indek korupsi negara menjadi teruk. Macam mana boleh jadi?? Semua kes yang didakwa adalah ciku-ciku kecik…mana and bile itu durian besar kena tangkap??

20. #20 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 8 July 2009 - 4:37 am

What to expect when a country is run by half-past six clowns (including TDM). Luckily the so-called “pendatangs” are extremely hard-working people, otherwise the whole economy would have collapsed long time ago.

21. #21 by siapatau on Saturday, 11 July 2009 - 6:05 pm

Saudara saudari,
    Tun Dr M hari menyangkal yg “mansion bukannya bungalow” itu nilainya RM3.5juta. Tun Dr M telah mengunakan perkataaan yang cukup tepat mansion.

Agaknya apa yang tindakan/reaksi PM kita selepas kenyataan beliau hari ini terhadap kontroversi Dr. Khir T?? Adakah MACC akan bertindak atau buat dek aje.