If The Tang Hak Ju Land Scam Involving Undeveloped Quarry Land For A Period Of 15 Years May Finally Cost The State Government RM 40 Million, Forcible Acquisition Of Kampung Buah Pala Involving Developed Land Would Be Of A Frightening Magnitude

By Lim Guan Eng

If The Tang Hak Ju Land Scam Involving Undeveloped Quarry Land For A Period Of 15 Years May Finally Cost The State Government RM40 million (RM29 million + Interest), Forcible Acquisition Of Kampung Buah Pala Involving Developed Land Would Be Of A Frightening Magnitude.

The Penang state government wishes to rebut the lies of Hindraf leaders and collaborators of BN and MIC who claims that acquiring Kampung Buah Pala would cost at the most RM30 million or even very much less. Where is it stated in the land acquisition laws or approved by the courts that government can acquire land for the public interest at a sum far below the market price?

If the Tang Hak Ju land scam involving undeveloped quarry land for a period of 15 years may finally cost the state government RM40 million (RM29 million + interest), forcible acquisition of Kampung Buah Pala involving developed land would be of a frightening magnitude. The Penang state government simply does not have the financial capability to afford the acquisition of Kampung Buah Pala. We are not talking of millions of ringgit. Neither are we talking of tens of millions of ringgit here!

Any lawyer or even law student knows this. Clearly these Hindraf leaders and BN collaborators are trying to spin a web of deceit and deception to paint the Penang state government as uncaring of Indians. Hindraf may deceive those from outside Penang but those in Penang knows our achievements that we have taken a different path of looking not only after Indians but also after Malays and Chinese as well.

Penang Pakatan Rakyat State Government Fights For All Races And Will Never Become A Single Racial Or Religious Entity.

As with all communities, we have given dignity and respect to ordinary Indians. The first Indian Deputy Chief Minister II of a state in Malaysia was appointed in Penang, all the 28 Tamil primary schools were given a yearly allocation of RM1.5 million along with other Chinese primary, Sekolah Agama Rakyat, missionary schools and Chinese independent secondary schools. Further, Penang put up the FIRST Tamil road signs in the country alongside with Arabic, Chinese and English bilingual road signs in Georgetown. Even Hindraf had never raised the issue of Tamil road signs.

Hindraf and the BN collaborators must see that the Pakatan Rakyat Penang state government treats all Indians together with Chinese and Malays as Malaysian citizens who desire justice and detest corruption. Unlike Hindraf and the BN collaborators, we fight for all races and religions and will never become a single racial and religious entity.

Hindraf should not stray from its chosen path of defending the victim against the bully or fighting those who are helping the victims. Many Malaysians whether Indians or non-Indians are upset that Hindraf has chosen to pick on the Penang state government instead of the real culprits who sold out Kampung Buah Pala – BN and Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon.

Lest we forget, it was Koh Tsu Koon and BN that sold out Kampung Buah Pala at a cheap price of only RM10 per square feet in 2007 and without consulting the residents. Why has Hindraf lost the courage to oppose the real culprits?

Regrets Unruly Behaviour Of Hindraf Demonstrators

However despite regretting the irrational and unjustified targeting of the Penang state government, Hindraf leaders have the right to exercise the basic human rights of peaceful assembly. I have instructed my officials to respect their rights, accord them full respect and accept any memorandum submitted.

I had also urged the police not to take any action that would lead to untoward incidents. Instructions have also being given that should the police chose to act, then the demonstrators should be led to a place safe from police action in the air-conditioned Komtar government auditorium on the 5th floor. This gesture should serve as a contrast to a BN government that would never have invited demonstrators to the air-conditioned Komtar government auditorium in the 5th floor but would have used violent force instead to disperse them.

The Pakatan Rakyat Penang State government’s restraint against Hindraf demonstrators yesterday at Komtar despite extreme provocation demonstrates our commitment not only to help Kampung Buah Pala residents but also in upholding the fundamental right of freedom of peaceful assembly.

I feel sad at the unruly behaviour of those present who called my political secretary and ADUN Komtar Ng Wei Aik “an office boy”. Or even asking for two graves of 2X6 and 4X6 to be dug for Sri Delima ADUN Rayer and Penang DCM2 Professor Ramasamy.

Pressure The Federal Government And Dr Koh Tsu Koon To Correct Their Grievous Mistake By Acquiring Kampung Buah Pala.

Despite such consideration on our part for their safety, there were calls by demonstrators inside the air-conditioned Komtar government auditorium that they would vote for BN and against Pakatan Rakyat in the next general elections. It is clear that Hindraf has been infiltrated by BN and MIC collaborators and should return to its original goal of fighting BN who have shown in Kampung Buah Pala as in countless cases of selling out the people’s rights.

Hindraf can start off this process by pressuring the Federal government and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon to correct their past grievous mistake by acquiring Kampung Buah Pala and returning back the land to the people. What the state government can not afford financially is definitely within the means of the Federal government!

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 11:29 am

Next, purchasers of abandoned housing schemes will demand that the Penang state govt take over the failed projects and complete the houses for them FOC.

2. #2 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 11:53 am

LGE … stick by your guns. You have done it right, its most sad to see HINDRAF demanding so much. They are already staying there without any proper approval for their buildings.

3. #3 by bentoh on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 12:26 pm

I think I’m more shocked that such unreasonable request is endorsed by the NGO, namely SUARAM Penang, and even the PKR Youth Chief!

Bear in mind that the land was supposed to be converted into condominiums which come with huge price tags all over! Do they think it is as easy as paying a cute little sum to the UMNO-linked developer? Are the Penang people going to be happy to see their hard-earned money falls onto these developers hands?

and I’m sure as hell these people are so rich that they got no idea how BIG 30 millions are… do they? Already state money (ratepayers money) is wasted onto THJ land scam, and even the careless mistakes of approving tall hotel buildings in Georgetown heritage zone come with cost, so to these “NGOs” and parties 30 millions are small and OK to spend without feeling the pain? Did they not realise that RM 30 million is equivalent to 20 years of state allocation to Tamil School?

And do they know that the use of state money has to be approved by the DUN? Why not we ask the ADUNs opinion, whether they will approve such allocation shall a supplementary bill tabled…

Nonetheless, in my opinion, the state government should come out with a mock land aquisition plan with price tags to show that it is indeed COSTLY to acquire the land… I feel sad that a cultural heritage may not be preserved due to poor governance of land office, I heart the villagers who have to leave their place… But there is really nothing much one can do in such situation, the problem can only be solved through understanding and open-minded approach…

But instead, we see emotional, political approaches towards the issues, and worse, fueled by irresponsible personalities included the NGOs and politician…

4. #4 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 3:01 pm

I think LGE should get a proper PR company to assist him, what has all this got to do with HINDRAF being infiltrated? Come on LGE, leave that nonsense aside, you have done the right thing so leave it be. Why start another war? Learn la … please learn to be a statesman and not another politician.

5. #5 by BiLiBaLaBiLiBaLa on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 3:17 pm

Hindraf is and always too demanding, complaining the government doing not enough on this and that. I supporting LGE not to “kow tow” to their demand. If we are going to give what they demand, next time they will ask for more.

Hindraf, please understand that Penang now is opposition state. Federal government will limit their the allocation and $$$ to opposition state (you can see this in Kelantan). If spending millions to acquire this land just to satisfy your demand, you are truly naive. This is unfair to another Penangites and the state government do not have enough budget to develop the state.

Then, other parties Chindraf and Malaydraf will use the same method to threathen the government, just like a terrorist.

PLEASE WAKE UP!

Unless the majority of the Penangites support this acqusition and do not mind for the lack of the development, LGE must “kow tow” to your demand. Please remember that the company for the appartment project is linked to UMNO, they will “jual mahal” for sure.

I think Hindraf has lost their balls too. If they have their demo against UMNO, MIC or Koh Tsu Kun, they will face FRU, tear gas and water cannon. They choose the easy way to demo against DAP (no FRU, tear gas and water cannon)

6. #6 by monsterball on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 4:00 pm

A handful of Hindraf guys demanding LEG to resign.
    This is no doubt…paid by UMNO or Gerakan…to do that and see what LEG going to do next.
    Strange…an illegal gathering…with angry faces…carrying messages..written on cardboards……..against DAP….no police actions.
    Same amount of people…. lighting candles…sitting quietly…praying…police tell them to pack and or get arrested.
    Police is clearly paying politics.

7. #7 by sightseeing on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 4:14 pm

There were calls by demonstrators inside the air-conditioned Komtar government auditorium that they would vote for BN and against Pakatan Rakyat in the next general elections.

So the new goal of Hindraf is to defeat the Pakatan Government and restore the BN government in Penang. Do we need more proof that it has been infiltrated by BN and MIC collaborators? If you can’t beat them, join them. So Hindraf, go and join the gang of thief!

8. #8 by seage on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 4:55 pm

Why would there be calls to ask the state government to re-acquire that piece of land in Kg Buah Pala?? I don’t know about you but I certainly smell a rat here… say the land owner?

Also, how conveniently that the price has been stated to be at RM30m. Doesn’t that sounds like someone (Maybe a kidnapper for instance) telling you that everything can be settled for a certain sum?? hmm?

Anyway, even if the Penang state gov can afford that, I will still say use that money to help the 300+ homeless instead which worked out to be approx. RM89,900+ per family instead of letting the developer line their cronies pocket. ;)

*wink* *wink* CM Lim

9. #9 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 5:26 pm

“Instructions have also being given that should the police chose to act, then the demonstrators should be led to a place safe from police action in the air-conditioned Komtar government auditorium on the 5th floor.” (Lim Guan Eng)

There are two tenses errors found in this sentence. The recommended corrections are as follow:

Instructions have also BEEN given that should the police CHOOSE to act, then the demonstrators should be led to a place safe from police action in the air-conditioned Komtar government auditorium on the 5th floor.

10. #10 by rubini on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 5:53 pm

Its regretable that rather than find solution to the communities well being, Hindraf has totally lost the plot.
    What was important is that Kg Buah Pala are adequately compensated and provided with a house.
    Education & access to opportunity is more important than living in squatters. Affordable housing with decent facilities and infrastructures is more important for the poor people. Everyone has a right to demostrate, what has it achieved, nothing. Hindraf should work with the present state government to improve the lot of the Indians.

11. #11 by YK Leong on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 6:47 pm

You, backdoor listed minister, don’t run away from the mess created by you. Quickly return to Penang to face the villagers of Kampung Buah Pala, if you are really a gentleman with b*lls.

12. #12 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 6:52 pm

Well, we can see now how Umnoputras n their cronies
    easily become multimillionaires
    BUY/GRAB dirt cheap land n SELL high n be FILTHY rich
    Klang King Zakaria used to do this
    Why Hindraf did not protest
    All the easy big bucks made by Umnoputras
    are not accounted for and they don’t count towards
    the wealth accumulated by Bumiputras
    Actually far >30% wealth of the nation
    And PAS, like suckers, still want to keep the 30% rule
    for Umnoputras n their cronies to suck more
    at the expense of all poor Malaysians
    PAS, O PAS, truly a strange bedfellow of PR

13. #13 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 1 July 2009 - 9:52 pm

Come on la … leave KSK out of this (he should be only invetigated for alienating the land at a stupidly cheap rate la) … this is something that is caused by people who do not own the land and are squatters ok. By supporting them and blaming KSK only we are hypocrites, face the main issue. SQUATTERS.

If we really want to help squatters then let’s be a socialistic state, to be one the taxes need to be raised. Anyone wants to pay more? Then we can bring in unemployment benefits too. Why not? Support the poor right? So who is the first who wants to pay more taxes?

Let’s get real …

14. #14 by albert308 on Thursday, 2 July 2009 - 12:43 pm

Between DEVELOPMENT and SQUATTERS; what is your choice.
    Between PROGRESS and CONSERVATION; what is your choice.
    The question is why Hindraf targeted at Pakatan state with unruly manner; should Hindraf request the same meeting with KSK BN?
    WHAT A GOLDEN SILENT FROM KPI MINISTER UNTIL THIS MOMENT.

15. #15 by blablowbla on Friday, 3 July 2009 - 9:21 am

saudara YB LIM KIT SIANG,

Malaysia has paid an extremely high price of not choosing you as the country’s premier.

Thy cant put asside race,religion and ‘ketuanan melayu’.

by doing a thorough scanning into the current top leaders in the country,another qualified figure is saudara Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim,but bcos of some accusations against him in the courts,interm of morality,you are better than him.

However,as i said earlier,ppl like tajuddin,nazri,jamaluddn janggut,boong moktar ,with the present policies,stand much greater chances than you to be the premier.

if the ppl of this country think like americans,you will be Malaysian’s Obama.

See how progressive is Singapore guided by a good n capable leader saudara Lee Kwan Yew,Malaysia has missed a boat to prosperity without you!

it’s not easy to have a good leader,what i suggest to you is,move yourself into international level,interact more often with current world leaders,get your assistants to deal with local BN’s reps,no point wasting your time arguing with these ‘thugs’,i hope things will get better in the very near future!