Streamyx in Penang sucks

What do you say?

1. #1 by Anti Corruption on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 8:07 am

So is JB. Frustrated

2. #2 by chengho on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 8:14 am

old technology , the world moving to fibre optics , don’t you have 3G or BWA there….

3. #3 by waichunko on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 8:48 am

same here in taiping.

4. #4 by khensthoth on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 8:56 am

It’s a well known, well documented fact of life for Penangites. I am surprised no one ever considered suing them for anti-competitive behaviour, or for misleading advertisements.

5. #5 by OnandOn on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:05 am

My Celcom 3G service failed to connect from 18/May~28/May.
    Every time I called and I was told WIP and they have no idea at all.
    Next month, I’m switch to Digi.

BTW, the additional money TM got from BeEnd gov. to improve the service, mana pergi? I saw more billboard next to the road and more TV adv…. Don’t make the bogus claim: Fastest, Widest,…. come on. Tak tahu malu.

6. #6 by All For The Road on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:24 am

This is what ‘Bolehland’ is all about!

7. #7 by a2a on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:35 am

There are politicians trying to get rid of INTERNET access.

So they can cover MALAYSIAN brain with their lies.

8. #8 by ktsk88 on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:44 am

Yup streamyx services is sucks even my office using the upgraded package of 1mbps also having the same slow connections.

I have been personally use Celcom 3G 384kbps for sometimes, the services is better than streamyx but occasionally slow too. Complaints to their centre also hard to gets thru, most probably the lousiest customers service among the telco’s.

Now on Digi High Speed Date service although they don’t have 3G yet in Ipoh, they connectivity is not bad with good stable connectivity. I personally think they 3G services is good too and waiting for it to arrive at Ipoh.

9. #9 by monsterball on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 9:49 am

So I heard from few Penang blog owners..for weeks …yet nothing is done by Streamyx.
    Monopoly business sucks in Malaysia….encouraged by UMNO who are kampong folks..who knows next to nothing about business.

10. #10 by mendela on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 10:02 am

Such dismal quality of service will force the many foreign investors to shut their plants and move!

11. #11 by taiking on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:02 am

First they give you something which is known to be really bad for the price of something which is suppose to be fantastic. Then they replace it with something half decent – nothing fantastic but merely half decent but better than the first. And they expect everyone to wow at the improvement. That is umno for you.

BTW my streamyx connection was also down for 5days recently and the connection speed is slow. So, yeah streamyx sucks real big time man!

12. #12 by alegria on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:07 am

What do streamyx care? Nothing! It is a monopoly business, you don’t like it, go away. Same attitude taken by UMNOputras, you dont like living in this country, leave.

That is the kind of mentality these people has, that is why we can’t progress.

13. #13 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:22 am

Streamyx is bad too in KL.

Streamyx is bad for you.

14. #14 by lucia on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:23 am

yep. sucks real bad! i’m in penang bayan baru area. everyday, the line drops now and then, so often. sometimes dropped and waited for more than an hour, only the line came back… and after a few mins. dropped again. so temperamental!!

15. #15 by ordell on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:31 am

1st subscription to streamyx in jan 2006: 1mb best effort for 90RM
    2nd subscription to streamyx in jan 2009: 1mb best effort for 90RM

progress???

16. #16 by lee wee tak_ on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:32 am

SNAFU

– Situation Normal All Fouled (or another more convincing word) Up

In my condo in Wangsa Maju, I can’t even get a phone line as a customer service chap from Telekom claims that “all phone lines are taken up and why I would not want your business? Your condo management team never applied for more lines.”

I went to the management office and they told me they applied for the lines many moons ago and no action from the dinosaur that plays monopoly.

Lying is a skill spreading like wild fire.

17. #17 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:48 am

SNAFU – Simply Not Available For Use.

18. #18 by House Victim on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 11:53 am

Streamyx
    1. They suspended clients’ connection due to their overlook in the account causing the client to suspect problems with the PC and lost of communication for a few days. NOT A WORD OF APOLOGY being received after the complaints.
    2. When moving to a new address, it has to go thru a period of suspension and reconnection for a few days to a week when all are done via their switchboard.
    3. Only the designated streamyx email address can send out email. This is a drawback from the previous Maxis system.
    WHEN THE WORLD IS MOVING AHEAD, THEY ARE WORKING IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION!

Telekom
    1. They cannot take order by email or fax but in person when every clients has a deposit with them and the charge is to be billed. The phone no. of their service center is always busy or changed to fax mode. But, they did not bother to reply even with complaint by fax.
    2. The extra charge to paid to their contractor is a loophole for extra charging.

ARE THEY IN THE COMMUNICATION AND SERVICE INDUSTRY?
    ARE THEY RUNNING UNDER ANY APPROPRIATE MANAGEMENT TO QUALIFY THEM IN THESE KIND OF BUSINESS?
    THEIR CHARGE DOES NOT CORRESPOND WITH THEIR SERVICE!!

19. #19 by negarawan on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 12:07 pm

This is the result of TM monopoly, just like TNB and is tantamount to unfair business practise and to enrichen the coffers of UMNO. There is no incentive for them to improve due to lack of competition, and the CEOs of these corporations are mostly cronies of UMNO and are incompetent by international standards. When anyone makes a complaint to TM on slow download/upload speed of Streamyx, there will normally do nothing much about it. When the Streamyx line is down for a prolonged time, I normally request for a compensation but they will ignore it and charge you the full access fee. This is cheating the customers. Streamyx is way behind time in technology and way too costly by international standards, especially for an inferior customer service.

20. #20 by nationzip on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 2:28 pm

It also sucks in Melaka. We have almost no choice for alternative ISP since TM/Celcom monopoly everywhere. My neighbour uses Streamyx and always asks me (since I am an IT Engineer) why streamyx is slow. I’d replied, we are living in ‘BOLEH’ land and whatever ‘TAK’ boleh is boleh for the monopoly groups. Recently, I had sign up Celcom 3G Broadband for RM98 per month and had to downgrade within a week since it’s nothing better than streamyx. I just wish would have a better choice of ISP in this country. The word broadband only indicates of their broadboast of lies.

My 5 years worked in down south nation, I enjoyed better internet connection with cheaper broadband package. My return to ‘Tanah Air’ – Nak minum air bersih pun susah.

21. #21 by voice on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 2:57 pm

In short, streamyx=sux!
    Clearly a violation of respecting customer

22. #22 by k1980 on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 3:50 pm

The monopoly TMnet needs to change the name of “streamyx” to “puddlemyx” since the data flow it provides is as fast as water flowing in a puddle. The only solution is to allow South Korean internet firms to provide real broadband services here.

23. #23 by Caleb on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 3:59 pm

Celcom faired no better! I subscripted to D98 of 3.6Mbps, but can only attained speed at the range of 200-400 kbps. Only after numerous complaints that I found out there was some improvement in speed. This only lasted few days and everything went back to the same old speed again. But they are never slow in billing me. I would like to ask them:Is it fair to charge the customers D98 price at the D68 speed?

24. #24 by 1to1 on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 4:42 pm

The main reason why Streamyx is chronically slow is because the “last mile” from the local telephone exchange to the digital ADSL modem are ancient copper lines designed for low bandwidth analogue telephone voice signals.

Telekom has the monopoly for the last mile for fixed line telephones. However, they have not upgraded these lines for digital transmission. Optical or coaxial copper lines is the solution.

As Streamyx customers, we should demand for better internet connectivity from Telekoms ASAP. It would also help if they upgrade their servers to reflect the volume of Streamyx users which have
    increased exponentially since Streamyx was first introduced.

In the UK, internet connectivity comes as a package with cable TV via coaxial cable. The speed is 2Mb, which is superb.

25. #25 by tonyk on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 4:57 pm

so ppl just terminate the line with tm or celcom.
    nowadays we have p1 or better still digi.better and faster connection than advertised.

26. #26 by yhsiew on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 7:03 pm

So long as BN is the ruling party, Malaysia will not have fast advanced Internet.

BN lost half the battle in Tsunami 308 with slow ‘handicapped’ Internet. Even Abdullah admitted that BN had lost the battle to the Internet shortly after Tsunami 308.

Certainly BN will not risk losing the other half of the battle in the 13th GE by building fast advanced Internet for the rakyat.

27. #27 by Jamesy on Saturday, 30 May 2009 - 10:17 pm

Streamyx is so yesterday.

Should try Packet One WiMax.

It’s the best thus far.

28. #28 by Jason Ng on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 3:58 am

same here in Perak, since 2005.

29. #29 by Jason Ng on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 3:59 am

we overpay for very poor service. that’s what happens when there is little competition.

30. #30 by chengho on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 5:58 pm

3 G operators- maxis , Digi , Mitv ,Celcom
    Wimax–7 operators
    Vsats-14 operators + more than 10 foreign operators
    WiFi-unlicence
    lease line -20 foreign operators

Pick your choice….

31. #31 by ekin on Sunday, 31 May 2009 - 6:52 pm

Something I would like to say about “the internet service” we have.

First of all, no fiber-optics as it is very expensive and its easily cost rm100 a metre. If you think our country going to install that? Dream on. We have no money. Just imagine spending just lining from north till south of the country = 800km x rm100 = 800,000m x rm100 = rm80,000,000. That is just one line. What about other lines? It will cost billions just to reline all.

Second, our old lines getting old, slow and easily overloaded.

Third, one port can only sustain 8 users and if 8 users online at the same time, usually, one or two users will be disconnected or the traffic will be jammed like hell.

Fourth, whatever the operators we have today, they are just servers. Whenever the servers are full of users, it will be jammed again.

Fifth, streamyx uses lines, the further you are from tmpoint, the slower you are as data takes time to travel.

Sixth, streamyx is still the best provider at the moment depending on the area you live in. Since it is a monopolized service provider, all other providers will never be better unless the same provider provide a new service.(Remember Tmnet? Time.com?Jaring?)

Seventh, if you are paying for a 1mb provider in streamyx, the most you can get is 800mb for low traffic, else 500mb or lower depending at areas.

Eight, all our internet telecommunication providers are smart in making business. They produced plenty of service names in order for you to choose one after another to find the most suitable service you like. Hence there after you would have jumped from one provider to another but in the process, you would have already spend a lot in subscriptions and terminations since all of them will make sure you’ll be subscribed for a certain period of time. Its a business strategy thanks to TM.

Ninth, the existing speed numbers claimed by all the service provider may not be truth in order to set you up.

Tenth, our cold hard old lines could never sustain the speed of more than 4 mb. Singapore’s line is 8mb, US lines, 24mb. Just imagine how backwards we are.

You want to know more? Please submit your queries here. I will try my best to reply you. How I know? I know.

32. #32 by TomThumb on Monday, 1 June 2009 - 4:40 am

i thot port is where ships go? no??

33. #33 by OrangRojak on Monday, 1 June 2009 - 9:09 pm

Sorry, I realise this is an old post. Copper lines are blamed above but copper lines are not the problem. Decades-old copper lines are carrying up-to 8MBit/s ADSL in the UK, and I believe 24MBit/s ADSL is also possible. You might think that 8MBit/s is no longer fast, but out of desperation recently, I was using a 56K dial-up modem in the UK, and it gave better performance online than my 512kbit/s connection does in Malaysia. Reliability can make a huge difference.

If you’ve had the TM ‘Technical Team’ visit your house to check your line, you may well find that they’ll tell you your line is perfect, as mine is. TM’s problems are not technical: they’re market issues. The prevailing market in Malaysia allows TM to provide a world-trailing low quality service for world-leading fees (in comparison to customer income). TM’s shareholders must be extremely pleased with their choice. If TM made cups of tea, they would use the same bag for 1,000 cups, and charge more than Starbucks.

As ever, it’s “just good business”.

34. #34 by ktak on Monday, 1 June 2009 - 10:12 pm

Just look to our “little red dot” neighbour in the south and the choices available:-

Singapore Infocomm Statistics at a Glance
    http://www.ida.gov.sg/Publications/20061130175201.aspx

Infocomm Technology Roadmap (ITR)
    http://www.ida.gov.sg/Technology/20060417212727.aspx

Infrastructure >> Wired
    Singapore’s Nationwide Next Generation National Broadband Network (Next Gen NBN)

http://www.ida.gov.sg/Infrastructure/20060919190208.aspx

It is envisioned that Next Gen NBN will eventually provide nation-wide ultra-high speed broadband access of up to 1Gbps and more to all physical addresses in Singapore, including homes, schools, Government buildings, businesses and hospitals. At the start of its operations, the Next Gen NBN is expected to offer users broadband speeds of at least 100 Mbps.

By 2010, 60 per cent of homes and offices can already expect to have access to this new, ultra-high speed, pervasive, all-fibre network and coverage is expected to reach 95 per cent by 2012.

Fixed Line ASDL/Cable Broadband currently available in Singapore are:-

1. SingNet ASDL Broadband Plan
    http://www.singnet.com/plans_and_services/broadband/

Experience the Internet at its fastest with high-speed access from SingNet BroadBand.

Using Asymmetric Digital Subscriber Line (ADSL) technology, you can now experience point-to-point access to the Internet at speeds up to 25Mbps while simultaneously enjoying voice and fax services over the same telephone line without any extra cabling connections!

What’s more, you’ll get to enjoy exciting benefits such as FREE email and web space, toll-free ADSL access, Loyalty Rewards, Global Roaming and much more! With the various Access Plans, you can now choose an access plan that best suits your surfing style.
    Click here to find out more about the latest SingNet BroadBand promotions!!

Compare the Plans
    http://www.singnet.com/explore/compare/

Plans Users Free Usage
    10Mbps Gamers/Web Application Users Unlimited
    6Mbps Busy Executives Unlimited
    3Mbps Home Users/Students Unlimited

3 Mbps Unlimited
    http://www.singnet.com.sg/plans_and_services/broadband/snbb.asp?snbb=3Matl

6 Mbps Unlimited
    http://www.singnet.com.sg/plans_and_services/broadband/snbb.asp?snbb=6Matl

10 Mbps Unlimited
    http://www.singnet.com.sg/plans_and_services/broadband/snbb.asp?snbb=10Matl

2. Starhub Cable Broadband Plan
    https://secure.starhub.com/shop/jfn;jsessionid=KjY12TlYn3R2yV29DqPjBGJ1MWT5nJMDyyqNRhd2R3vXJrxWr0VS!-1352377864!116622239?mfunc=62&octx=4f.5a.73&jfnRC=1

MaxOnline Ultimate Plus – Up to 100.0 Mbps
    MaxOnline Premium Plus – Up to 12.0 Mbps
    MaxOnline Express Plus – Up to 8.0 Mbps
    MaxOnline Ultimate – Up to 100.0 Mbps
    MaxOnline Premium – Up to 12.0 Mbps
    MaxOnline Express – Up to 8.0 Mbps
    MaxOnline SurfLite – Up to 2.0 Mbps

3.1 PacNet Cable Broadband Plan
    http://www.pacific.net.sg/personal/cable/plans.htm

3.2 PacNet ASDL Broadband Plan

4. M1 Fixed Broadband (Cable) Plan
    http://www.m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=b1248167a78ba110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD&vgnextfmt=pdate:0906012148:

35. #36 by Cozzie on Thursday, 4 June 2009 - 2:28 am

Ekin, yes it is expensive but what can you say when an entire continent (Australia) is investing in FTTH(fibre to the home)? A AUD43 Billion dollar (RM 121) investment of epic proportions aimed at providing 90% of Australian population with minimum 100Mbit capabilities.

Another mega project? Yes, but one that will future proof Malaysia. Oh, and it is open access, not a TM monopoly.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Broadband_Network