I will be fair to PSD director-general but he must be fair to all PSD scholarship applicants

I have replied to the email from the Public Services Department director-general Tan Sri Ismail Adam asking that I be fair to him, inviting him to the DAP forum on JPA scholarships in Kuala Lumpur on Tuesday to explain another year of JPA scholarship injustices to aggrieved students, parents and the public.

This is Ismail’s email which I received yesterday:

“When I have the permission and opportunity, I’ll explain the whole story. Until then please be fair to me.

“Perception without having an understanding and perspective of the issue can bring about conclusion that may not be right or fair. I understand the unfortunate ones can be emotional. But be fair in your comments.

“Just ponder. Over 8000 students are qualified to be considered for 2000 scholarships which are allocated for medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, engineering, bio tech and other sciences, social sciences, law, acturial science and other subjects critical for the country.

“We want well rounded students to go overseas. So co-curriculum and interviews are also important. Interviews are done by professionals in the govt service not by JPA officers.

“Then we have to provide for students from Sabah, Sarawak and from poor families. Some schools do not allow students to take more than 10 subjects. Are they inferior to students who could take 15 subjects? Then there is the appeal period. take all these into perspective first .

“Have a nice day.

“Ismail”

In my email reply to Ismail today, I said that I am always prepared to be fair to him, but why is the PSD under his charge not prepared to fair to the students, their parents and the Malaysian public in again putting them through the agony of another “annual begging season” when Malaysians have to beg for scholarships from the PSD although they are entitled to them because of their excellent academic results and meritocracy.

This is followed by the annual rigmarole of Barisan Nasional component parties trying to champion aggrieved students who had been by-passed in the PSD scholarships despite having brilliant academic results, when all these injustices and power abuses would have been prevented if there is in place a fair and transparent PSD scholarship system which is not prey to discriminatory regulations or the whims and fancies of individual bureaucrats.

Furthermore, I asked Ismail why he was not fair to the new Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak who had come out with the slogan “1Malaysia. People First. Performance Now” and the pledge to be the People’s Prime Minister, which constitute implicit but unmistakable promise to Malaysians that they would be spared this humiliating “annual begging season” for PSD scholarships this year!

I also explained to Ismail that the problem is not too many students are chasing a limited number of government scholarships, but the great and legitimate sense of injustice felt not only by the disappointed students and their parents but also by the Malaysian public at a system which is blatantly unfair and discriminatory which does not fulfil the definition of “meritocracy”!

Is the PSD director-general aware that the failure of the PSD and the Ministers and Deputy Ministers to end such a longstanding, unfair and unjust system which cause the unsuccessful applicants for PSD scholarships to nurse a life-long burning sense of injustice and grievance is one of the major causes of national disunity and racial polarisation in the country?

The DAP public forum on “JPA Scholarships – seeking a fair and equitable policy” is meant to obtain feedback from aggrieved students, current and former local and overseas scholars, academics and the general public, will be held at the KL & Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall in Kuala Lumpur on Tuesday, 19th May 2009 at 8 pm.

Panellists are

• Lim Kit Siang, DAP Parliamentary leader,
• Anthony Loke Siew Fook, MP for Rasah and DAPSY Chief,
• Tony Pua, MP for Petaling Jaya Utara,
• Dr Dzulkifli Ahmad, PAS Research Centre Director and MP for Kuala Selangor
• Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad, Selangor ADUN for Seri Setia

Dr Goh Cheng Teik, eminent academic, former deputy minister and interviewer for Harvard University admission programme in Malaysia will also be a special guest for the evening.

I hope Ismail will come to the forum to address the public outrage and explain another year of JPA scholarship injustices, and I will withhold all criticisms of Ismail and JPA until after his appearance at the Tuesday forum.

In my email, I also informed Ismail that together with other Pakatan Rakyat MPs, I will be visiting him at the JPA office in Putrajaya at noon tomorrow as it is the final day for appeal by aggrieved JPA applicants – and more time must be given for the appeal so that a new start can be made this year on the fair and just award of JPA scholarships.

1. #1 by sotong on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 12:00 pm

To the innocent victims of these grossly unfair policies, he is a low life human…..but to those who gained an unfair advantage, he is “hero” championing for their ” rights “.

This matter has been going on for decades……this is totally shameful and unacceptable to say the least. Irrespective of one’s political motivation or intention, you do not do this to qualified and deserving innocent students to destroy their future!!

2. #2 by ALLAN THAM on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 12:01 pm

Can we find “fair” in Malaysia dictionary? I doubt it when this some thing happen year in and year in?

3. #3 by alberttye on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 12:14 pm

YB Lim,

Tan Sri Ismail Adam is not wrong when he asked you to be fair to him.

I think what he meant is that what he can do under the present Umnoputra’s Ketuanan Umno doctrine !

Hence he expects you to understand his predicament, like all other civil servants in the country.

They can do anything except taking instructions from the Umnoputra’s warlords. The state officials in Perak are the exemplary examples of these Umno civil servants !!!

4. #4 by negarawan on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 12:20 pm

Nothing under UMNO is fair to the rakyat, just fair to the UMNOputras and their cronies.

5. #5 by -ec- on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 12:40 pm

what is fairness to ismail? he is psd director so he can ask for fairness of treatment?

how many students and their parents are crying when they know that they are ‘not qualified’ for the scholarship?

how much time we need to give ismail, the psd and the government? if he cannot do the job, he has to go!!!! this has to be clear.

6. #6 by -ec- on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 12:42 pm

ops, where is our KPI minister? what is he doing then?

7. #7 by -ec- on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 12:55 pm

dear 800+ complainants,

i just remember that you do have another place to go besides psd.

GO ring the bell of the private residence of our PM, i am sure he can help. He has helped Saiful before.

8. #8 by Loh on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 1:20 pm

///“We want well rounded students to go overseas. So co-curriculum and interviews are also important. Interviews are done by professionals in the govt service not by JPA officers.///–Ismail Adam

That certainly is a good objective. But we cannot take ‘well rounded’ as something born with and cannot be trained, if well rounded means attributes other than academic qualifications. If the students have proven that they are good academically they can certainly be coached to improve on other attributes. Granted that they might not excel in sport to become champion in badminton or players for national football team, but we send them on scholarships to return as sport champions.

It may be argued that when academic qualifications are the same, those who took part in extra curricula activities prove that they are better students. More often than not students from the humbler background usually did not have resources to participate and to excel in such extra curricula activities. It would thus be quite unfair if extra curricula activities are counted as ‘well-roundedness’ should be given more weights making a candidate with those attribute supersede others who had a better academic score. As students on scholarships have no financial problems, they can very well use their time in university to develop into well rounded graduates. Indeed, the interview should be used to assess the students so that they could be coached to develop their full potential now that they have shown their flair in academic fields.

When interview is used for selection of candidates, there is always element of subjectivity. Government services under BN have lost the credibility as neutral body and even if absolute objectivity is used, the people would not trust the government when race becomes a factor. PSD has played God in the award of scholarship since independence when factors such as income, location and others are taken into account. It should now divide a portion of the scholarship to be based objectively on academic results alone.

Students who were not allowed to take more than 10 subjects should not be viewed to have scored A’s in additional subjects if they had been allowed to do so. They could be considered better than those who obtained 10 A’s out of more than 10 subjects taken. That unfairness is now highlighted and it should stop from next year when the Education Ministry ensure that schools adopt one policy where students are allowed to take the same number of subjects.

9. #9 by Loh on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 1:24 pm

///GO ring the bell of the private residence of our PM, i am sure he can help. He has helped Saiful before.///–ec-

Wonder how Ismail Adam handled the Saiful case. Or did Najib used his own money as scholarship?

10. #10 by limkamput on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 1:31 pm

I have some points for Tan Sri Ismail to consider:

1. JPA must insist that all scholarship holders serve the government upon completion of their studies. At present many scholarship holders have not adhered to the bonds because there is no enforcement. If you enforce strictly this condition, half of the so-called merit applicants especially from the Chinese community would stop applying.

2. The penalty of not serving the bond should be increased three folds.

3. We must re-examine the way SPM grades are awarded. If possible, we should have a percentile system where students are ranked according to the quality of “A” they obtained. Right now, I think many straight A students are not really excellent students.

4. Let face it, if we award scholarship strictly base on merit, it is students from the well to do families, both bumi and non bumi, who will stand a better chance. One way to resolve this is to ask for statutory declaration of household income of those awarded scholarships and allow certain period for others to challenge the accuracy of income declared.

5. Instead of using SPM exam results, why not use STPM or other recognised and credible A-level exam results (certainly not our Matriculation) as criteria for award of scholarship.

11. #11 by -ec- on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 1:44 pm

“If you enforce strictly this condition, half of the so-called merit applicants especially from the Chinese community would stop applying.” limkamput
    “Right now, I think many straight A students are not really excellent students.” limkamput

limkamput, are these logic out of your small brain? who says so???

12. #12 by monsterball on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 1:48 pm

MCA have two things in the minds.. to keep fooling and capture Chinese votes. So easy..made to look so difficult to do….but they succeeded to brainwash so many too. One is Buddhist temples and the other is Chinese schools.
    Because UMNO keep playing race and religion politics….it appears what great influence they have over UMNO…whenever these two are approved.
    Particularly on Chinese schools….if MCA is that sincere…they should fight vigorously to get National type schools copy what chiense schools are teaching …how they teach…for the Chinese schools have proven to be much better than National type schools…producing great students.
    So many Muslim and Indian parents are sending their children to Chinese schools….why?
    I think Malaysia have the most mosques in the world..based on muslim populations…..and all are huge and expensively built.
    Yet…Malaysia…is the most corrupted muslim country in the world too.
    Contradictions….not logical..not sensible…plenty things to talk about.
    Fairness is last you can expect from BN.

13. #13 by k1980 on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 1:57 pm

ismail, if you want to be fair, just apply SKII skin-whitening lotion onto your dark skin, and you will be fairer than snow white

14. #14 by Loh on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:32 pm

///So many Muslim and Indian parents are sending their children to Chinese schools….why?///–monsterball

It is easier to learn Chinese when one is young, compared to learning other languages. One gets to learn one additional language. As one grows up, it is not too diffucult to learn additional languages.

There are other factors such as the culture of teaching adopted by Chinese school teachers. Perhaps teachers in Chinese generally learn to love their job. As members of a respected profession in the community, they tend to care about protecting their reputation as a good teacher, particularly in smaller towns where the parents get to know the teachers.

15. #15 by ChinNA on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:43 pm

3. We must re-examine the way SPM grades are awarded. If possible, we should have a percentile system where students are ranked according to the quality of “A” they obtained. Right now, I think many straight A students are not really excellent students. – limkamput

I do not know how the grades are awarded today. Is it based on the absolute marks based on the correctness of the answers given to the examination questions or is it based on the percentile of the population.

Knowing this will help us understand how good the students actually are.

16. #16 by Godfather on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:54 pm

This Ismail chap is talking the truth – there are 8,000 qualified applicants for the 2,000 scholarships, but who sets the qualification criteria ? They set the criteria so low such that 8,000 candidates qualify and then it becomes not only a lottery but a “know-who” situation as to who amongst the 8,000 will win.

How about the top 2,000 candidates win the 2,000 scholarships, Ismail ? Start with the needy as the first criterion – the children of farmers, hawkers, taxi drivers, general workers – and then move on to academic qualifications.

Until and unless the qualification criteria are transparent, the shenanigans about this issue will never go away.

My son was a top scorer in his school and had an extra-curricular record longer than most, and they never even bothered to call him for an interview. I was philosophical – and told myself that the scholarship which my son missed out on would ultimately go to someone who needed it more than he did. Somehow with these BN thieves, it probably went to someone who is connected to the coalition and had nothing to do with meritocracy.

17. #17 by james teng on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:55 pm

What a surprise to hear Ismail Adam asking Lim Kit Siang to be fair to him. Has Ismail Adam practice fairness & justice in his capacity as the No. 2 public servant in this country?

If he ” fair ” to all, go ahead and publish in all the dailies the successful recipients of the JPA Scholarship – how many points do the successful applicants scored for Academic Excellence, interview and co-curiculum and their family income too ( subjected to verification with LHDN and EPF ).

Malaysians are not that foolish to simply believe what Ismail Adam said – to the extent that all the 250 Top Achievers of this country do not did well in both interview and co-curiculum as compared to the list of successful applicants. It is totally unacceptable when all the 250 Top Achievers are ” channeled ” to e-rayuan without informing them in writing what are their scores during interviews.

Who are the panel of interviewers and have they sign off a form detailing that the 250 Top Achievers are not qualified for JPA Scholarships and that they ( the interviewers ) collectively agreed with this Ismail Adam that the top achievers are not well-rounded enough to pursue overseas education on JPA Scholarship.

I dare Ismail Adam to get all the panel of interviewers to make statutory declarations that they have been fair and just in the interview process and publish their names in the dailies to prove their credibilities as the government officers appointed to conduct the interviews.

Ismail o ismail, have you been fair and just to the YBs Cabinet Ministers who have made similar announcements on the Cabinet’s decision to reserve 400 scholarships to top achievers. You are the “obstacle” to the survival of BN leaders who have tried very hard to regain public confidence in today’s government and the
    stumbling block to the People’s Prime Minister’s personal efforts to promote 1Malaysia concept. I salute you, Ismail, for you truly have the guts to even sideline the Prime Minister and his teams of Cabinets. I can’t blamed you because you yourself has not pass the ” 1Malaysia Concept ” examination set by PM himself.

Another surprise is off course, what has happened to the KPI Minister who is entrusted to monitor the performances of Ministers and ensuring unity in Malaysia. I had always believe Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon was himself an excellent student and known to champion the rights of ordinary Malaysians. May be, just may be, it is different now that he was appointed a senator and became a minister by appointment. Can’t blamed him for being ” see no evil, hear no evil, talk no evil. ” After all the JPA D-G is more powerful than Cabinet Ministers. To safeguard the future of GERAKAN, he has no other alternative but to ” duduk diam-diam, jangan cakap banyak. ” Where is all the hoo haa about KPI mesaurements. Face the public and tell us if JPA meets your KPI requirements when Ismail Adam play god and rejected the scholarship applications of the Top 250 High Achievers of this country without jistification and fairness !!!!! What he had done is ” to please the VCs of the all the IPTAs who had complained about shortages of good students in IPTAs at the expense of those deserving students who have work hard since primary schools. ” If you want to compromises with the VCs of IPTAs, by all means do it from next year onwards and keep the people informed of the needs to retain best brains in the country and at the same time offer them PSD scholarships…..

Until the JPA Scholarships issues are resolved and get the personal attention of the People’s Prime Minister, I appealed to the Cabinet Ministers and politicians to stop ” cakap kosong ” and talking about 1Malaysia Concept. They must collectively agreed on the 1Malaysia concept on Meritocracy and Culture of Excellence and do it right the first time every time – ” Top Achievers First, Scholarships Now ” in order to achieve the larger picture of ” People First, Performance Now. “.

Ismail o Ismail, we are waiting eagerly for the publications of list of successful applicants since you are such a fair and just public servant, and do not forget to get KPI Minister to verify its contents that “it is the truth and nothing but the truth. ” If you want a indemnity cover for the publication, YB Tan Sri Bernard Dompok, Dato Seri Nadzri, Dato Seri Ong Tee Keat are more than happy to assist you in getting one from the 1Malaysia Cabinet.
    After all, the three ministers are seen to be championing the People First, Performance Now Concept and they too wanted a fair and just ” KPI ” evaluations from the people of Malaysia and to prove that ” they have not lied about the Cabinet decision to reserve 400 places for JPA Scholarships. “

18. #18 by ChinNA on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:04 pm

Fairness and perception of fairness.

In my mind, I am already prejudice against the PSD scholarship award and it will take a lot of effort to undo this prejudice. Thus I admit my own failings here.

This is my own experience. The top students in my class applied for scholarships left, right and centre.

I have seen my friends being offered Malaysia government scholarship to study in the UK or US when I was in Form Five. Let’s call this group the ‘accepted ones’.

The rest of us in the class were not even qualified and were rejected. Let’s call this bunch the ‘rejected ones’.

We have been classmates for 5 years and we know where we stand academically and also in ECA activities. The rejected ones outscored the accepted ones all the time, in each and every exam. So in our own minds, the rejected ones are better but we gave the benefit of doubt that the adults at PSD knows better when selecting candidates.

A few months later, 5 from the rejected ones were offered the ASEAN scholarship from a particular country. We are now wondering what the adults from the ASEAN scholarship see in the rejected ones that adults in PSD missed out.

Ah! we finally figured it out. The ASEAN adults were not looking for the bin when the PSD guys were look for it. That is the only explanation we could think of.

The bin is an important criterion for PSD scholarship.

Hence, till this day, I believe I continue to be prejudiced because I cannot see the bin as an important criterion for selection. I need to be corrected, please help me see the importance of the bin.

19. #19 by ChinNA on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:08 pm

My son was a top scorer in his school and had an extra-curricular record longer than most, and they never even bothered to call him for an interview. – godfather.

Godfather, can I assume that your son does not have the bin that PSD is looking for?

20. #20 by james teng on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:14 pm

One Last Suggestion to Ismail Adam :-

Since you are not guilty at all, and that you are indeed such a fair and just No. 2 public servant, go and see PM next week and propose to the Prime Minister :-

a. Recall all scholarships awards until further notice
    b. Publish and inform all the 8,363 applicants to come
    back for a reassessment, may be using the USA Scholastic
    Aptitude Test ( SAT ) or any other standards which is fair
    just.
    c. Then, award the scholarships based on merit of the test
    results.

You know, by doing so, you are helping a lot of average SPM achievers who would not have to feel guilty for the rest of their life and they are also given the fair chance to compete on equal footing with the Top 250 high Achievers in this assessment test.

The Top 250 Achievers will definitely agree that this is fair and just and they will be supportive of the slogan People First, Performance Now.

The question is do you live up to your principles in life and be a fair and just public servant, without prejudice to the top achievers of this country? How can you penalize them just because they did better than the other students?

21. #21 by ChinNA on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:15 pm

So many Muslim and Indian parents are sending their children to Chinese schools… – monsterball

A thought came to my mind. We need to send these parents to China as Malaysia have no place for them, if we were to follow the rationale of the call to send the ‘pendatang’ back to their country of origin.

Monsterball, have thought about this implication and how the BN government should handle this?

Food for thought indeed.

22. #22 by ChinNA on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:21 pm

I think Malaysia have the most mosques in the world..based on muslim populations…..and all are huge and expensively built.
    Yet…Malaysia…is the most corrupted muslim country in the world too.
    Contradictions… – monsterball

The question that came to my mind – How many Muslims do we have? I mean practicing Muslims in thoughts, faith and deeds.

I would expect the ratio would be the same if we were to ask – How many Christians do we have? or How many Buddhist do we have? or How many Hindus do we have? or How many Taoist do we have?.

Therein lies the problem. We have a lack of true practitioners.

23. #23 by pwcheng on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:29 pm

The PSD under Tan Sri Ismail Adam is a sure great twister and turner to twist their way out by some silly excuses to deprive you of a scholarship or loan for overseas studies. (I am not sure of how many people knows about the loan by PSD for overseas studies as it has never been publicized)

They can never be transparent and will never be transparent as excuses are mostly from after thoughts and sometimes really silly. They will twist and turn better than acrobats. When there is no way out for them they will tell that PSD has changed policies and when you questioned them who changed it, they will get angry and this is what happened to me when I met with their education director who happens to be one Encik Zulklifli at that time, about a few years ago.

I hope The PSD DG can make himself available for the forum and I can be given the opportunity to expose their antics and see what he has got to say. I have documentary proof of all these on the applications for a loan ( mind you it is only for a loan and not scholarship) for my 2 sons for overseas studies. When I saw the PA of OKT he sheepishly told me they had to beg the PSD and other than that they cannot do much.

Hopefully after the forum we can adjourn to my vegetarian restaurant which is located in Brickfields @ Pink Lotus Vegetarian Restaurant, N0.82, Jln Padang Belia, Brickfields (behind YMCA) or goto http://www.freewebs.com/pinklotus for location.
    I can offer a space from my Restaurant or my Employment agency office which is close by my retaurant for small gatherings so that we can highlight the plight of the rakyat and corruption inflicting on us and the country.

We must all do our part the bring this country out of the doldrums run by BN who are corrupted to the core

24. #24 by blablowbla on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:56 pm

en.ismail,

lf you want us to respect you,very simple,unveil the total lists of the selected 2000 candidates,see how professional are these ppl from your other gomen departments!

we want to know:
    1.full name,
    2.parent’s full name,
    3.result,
    4.what is the actual guide-lines in selection,
    5.which school,
    6.which state,
    7.what subject they applied,what subject were given,
    8.where do you send them to,
    9.how much you spent,
    10.what is the assurance that they will be back,
    11.what is the assurance that they are qualified?
    12.what is the assuranxe that they wont stop halfway,
    13.what are the terms n conditions?
    14.what are the penalties?
    15.are you going to do the same thing next year?

25. #25 by pwcheng on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 4:19 pm

blablowbla Says:

Your questions are appropriat and sensible but we will be asking for the moon to get a reply from them. I had posed some of these Q to them but was told that it is highly confidential and we have no business to know about it. They are just arrogant and evidently with UMNO’s protection.

From experience I even had difficulty getting them to tell me the reason why my sons failed to get the loan, not only after I got in touch with some MPs and after a few months and evidently an after-thought gave some flip flop excuses.

26. #26 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 4:30 pm

Ismail asking LKS to be fair to him but has PSD been fair to Malaysians from time in memorial. Don’t forget, when PSD fxxx with the scholarships, they are fxxxing with tax payers’ money.

There is no way to be fair, Ismail, when you have entrenched discrimination as well as different examinations to preside over.

What is not transparent is the criteria for selection. PSD must also publish a detailed report as per what blablowbla mentioned, maybe not as detailed but the grades, the ex-curriculum achievement, a written essay etc. Published those successful and not successful ones as well.

Race-base politics is the currency in Malaysia and it will be interesting to know the race compositions of the following patches
    1) successful applicants
    2) unsuccessful applicants
    And the respective race championing mechanisms live long and prosper

During my SPM year, the top 3 who scored 9As back in the 1980’s never even got an invitation to interview; not a single word printed on toilet paper.

27. #27 by katdog on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 4:47 pm

blablowbla is correct.

The minimum that the DG has to do in order to be able to warrant any fair judgement is to publicly disclose all the PSD recipients and their results and any supplementary reasons why they were awarded scholarships even if their results are not up to standard.

If the DG cannot come out and disclose publicly how taxpayers/rakyats money is being used, then he has no right to demand fair judgement and claim that he is being misjudged or misunderstood.

He is a public servant and the public has a right to know.

28. #28 by limkamput on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:04 pm

As I read through all the comments here, it is all about race again, ….sigh. You see, in the heat of our arguments, we have forgotten that PR and DAP need the support of the Malays too. And whether you like it or not, the Malays (i mean the poor ones) need the scholarship more than anyone else at least for now.

I think for the non Malays, particularly the Chinese, it is best that only the deserving ones get the scholarships, not just anyone with straight As. We must accept the fact that there are also many non deserving Chinese who got the scholarship at the expense of the deserving ones.

Scholarships, like shares reserved for bumi, are always the fight of the middle class and the well-connected. The real poor Chinese would not have survived form five or would have only obtained grade 3.

It is good that we call for the publication of names of scholarship holders and their parents. From here we can also see who among the Chinese who got the JPA scholarship all these years and their parents’ income. You may be in for surprise.

I am prepared to be called small brain again. No issue.

29. #29 by Loh on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:35 pm

///As I read through all the comments here, it is all about race again, ///– limkamput

If it has been otherwise, there would be no complain.

Race has been the issue for 40 years. Tan Sri Abdullah Ahmad said that had the phone call from Razak to Harun been half an hour earlier, May 13 would not have happened. That half an hour difference has made scholarship awards based on race for the past 40 years. There is no need to play God by saying that there are poor students from any race. Scholarships are always meant to reward and encourage outstanding students so that others would work to excel. Poorer and capable students should be given study loans so that they can pay back to keep the fund rolling.

We hear that billions ringgit of study loans have not been repaid. When scholarships were given out on doubtful basis, those on loans imagined that they were equally entitled to the scholarships and felt unjustified having to repay their loans.

The suggestion that a competitive exam be held for the 8,000 qualified candidate with a definitive selection criteria would be the best way out. It can be held for language and mathematics like SAT as mentioned. The others can be given loans for enrolment to local universities.

30. #30 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:44 pm

“As I read through all the comments here, it is all about race again, ….sigh. You see, in the heat of our arguments, we have forgotten that PR and DAP need the support of the Malays too. And whether you like it or not, the Malays (i mean the poor ones) need the scholarship more than anyone else at least for now.

I think for the non Malays, particularly the Chinese, it is best that only the deserving ones get the scholarships, not just anyone with straight As. We must accept the fact that there are also many non deserving Chinese who got the scholarship at the expense of the deserving ones. ”

– limkamput

please differentiate between scholarship and study aids

scholarship is for high achiever where we reward and motivate the best of best hoping for better individuals to serve and contribute to society

study aids is form of loan or financial aid that enable people from less fortunate background to progress upwards in the social ladder. they may not be the best brains. it is about distribution of income in with the aim of overall uplifting of the society.

Notice usually the high achievers who do not get entertained are not a Malay problem? The comments here maybe racist but then again, the commentators did not cause the problem bu they are commenting on something that has been created as such

31. #31 by kram on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 6:07 pm

I refer to your statement that “Malaysians have to beg for scholarships from the PSD although they are entitled to them because of their excellent academic results and meritocracy.” I would like to know the document in which this is stated.

Academic results are never and should never be the sole criteria that is taken into account when scholarships are awarded, and I certainly think hope that no one with excellent results thinks that they are “entitled” to a scholarship based on their results alone…

32. #32 by bclee on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 6:46 pm

to limkaput said:\I think for the non Malays, particularly the Chinese, it is best that only the deserving ones get the scholarships, not just anyone with straight As. We must accept the fact that there are also many non deserving Chinese who got the scholarship at the expense of the deserving ones.

hallo limkaput why no we get more money for the scholaship instead of spending billion and billion of money on port klang project and then failed at last. the problem here is no races or any other issue the problem here is we must check how our tax payers money spend wisely or no. we can and i think our Malaysian government able to give more scholarship to the needed sudents.

as long as we don’t have transparency in the current government we will sure our tax payers money will drained at sewer. and lead to maybe somebody pocket and become gold.

33. #33 by katdog on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 6:51 pm

“Scholarships are always meant to reward and encourage outstanding students so that others would work to excel. Poorer and capable students should be given study loans so that they can pay back to keep the fund rolling.” – Loh

This statement is so true. Scholarships are meant for those that do well in their studies. For those that are poor AND don’t do well in their studies but think that they can actually do well given the right education, then they should only get study loans.

“The suggestion that a competitive exam be held for the 8,000 qualified candidate with a definitive selection criteria would be the best way out.” – Loh

I disagree on this. The PMR, SPM and STPM examinations are held precisely for use to gauge the qualifications of a candidate. How many examinations do we need before we are satisfied we have correctly gauged the quality of a student?

If our examinations are not able to correctly differentiate an outstanding student from an only reasonably good student, then maybe the problem is in the quality of our examinations. Maybe our grading system is skewed to produce too many A’s?

Ideally, we should need only a single end of school examination. At worst, maybe some supplementary exams for specific courses such as medicine. We don’t want to put our children through endless different examinations.

34. #34 by yhsiew on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 7:22 pm

“When I have the permission and opportunity, I’ll explain the whole story. Until then please be fair to me.
    ====================================================

Tan Sri Ismail Adam hardly needs to explain at all.

He needs only to be transparent, publish detailed records of scholars who have been given scholarships and people like Kit will be able to judge whether he (Ismail) has been fair to all PSD applicants.

35. #35 by TomThumb on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 8:06 pm

this nation building sh*t must stop some time. it does not matter who does it BN or PR. too many wrongs are being committed in the name of nation building.

36. #36 by DAP man on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 8:08 pm

I will be fair to Ismail.
    1. If he is fair to Chinese PSD applicants, he will be out of job in no time and he will be demonized like hell in the Malay media.

2. He like all other top civil servants are lapdogs of UMNO. When the judges bow to UMNo wishes who is Islmail.

When BN is toppled then Ismail will be fair.

37. #37 by limkamput on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 8:15 pm

I have already said, not all straight As students are high achievers unless the score is based on percentile. We all must accept the fact that the SPM exam is not sufficiently vigorous. So to provide scholarships to all straight As students because they are “high achievers” is nonsense.

We are now discussing the best way out to this scholarship problem. Only people with no focus will start bringing in PKFZ, PTPTN loans and other abuses. Hello, I can give you a comprehensive lecture on government expenditure and its abuses if you fellows want.

Let’s face it; there is no pure meritocracy society, so please don’t talk like heroes here. For country like Malaysia, I would say the number of high achiever scholarships should not be more than 100 a year. If you have a selection system where more than 2000 (I have refrained from using 8000) are high achievers, I think it is pure nonsense and abuse of the word “high achievers”. Malaysia must have produced the most number of “geniuses”!

Let’s face reality, JPA scholarships are not achievers scholarship. It is free money given under most dubious conditions to both bumi and non bumi. So, the argument that the poor be given study aids because scholarships are given only to high achievers is nonsense again. In the logic is most perverted.

38. #38 by james teng on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 8:23 pm

” When I have the permission and opportunity, I’ll explain the whole story. “…. said Ismail Adam.

Whose permission do you required ? The opportunity is there on next Tuesday at the DAP forum. And are you telling the public that there is an untold story you are being forced to ignore the Cabinet’s decision on the provision for the top 400 achievers to get the JPA Overseas Scholarship? What a scandal???

The Cabinet has already decided on the allocation of scholarships for students from sabah and sarawak and for those less fortunate from poor family and single mother. What are you talking about….. you are indeed making a fool out of yourself… twisting the facts and figures repeatly for the last one week. Stop trying to fool the public with your opinion that it is only fair that all students be evaluated based on 10 1As and certain schools limit the number of subjects to 9 or 10. Please do your homework, one Nik Madihah from Kelantan and from a poor family had also taken 20 subjects and scored 19 1As and 1 2A. Students should be encouraged to excel in their studies and not punished by you ( the little napolean ).

Have can you determine that the interviews are fair when a group of 5 students were called in for interviews by the professionals from government departments. Are to there to witness that the interviews are transparent and that each and everyone is interviewed fairly. Present the facts and figures and what are scores obtained by each and every students during the interview.
    Publish them in details and be a professional and explain during the DAP forum why the top 250 achievers are being victimized by your goodself. Be brave and face the public and admit your mistakes and arrogance and reveal the truth behind this scam and scandal.

Prove yourself and we will salute you Tan Sri Ismail Adam instead of twisting facts and figures likes a magician and acrobat in the circus. Come on and stop being a clown and be someone that commands the respect of all Malaysians, all the 250 top achievers and their aggrieved parents who have spent their lifetime educating their children all these years.

If you are so arrogant and refuse to change your working attitude, you will only be a burden to the premiership of Dato’ Sri Najib Razak. What a sad episode in the Malaysian Public Service Records – a JPA D-G blantantly worked against the Government of the day and he is still asking the public to be fair to him when he hasn’t been fair to the top achievers of the country ( i.e. the cream of the crop ).

39. #39 by vsp on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:07 pm

If he ” fair ” to all, go ahead and publish in all the dailies the successful recipients of the JPA Scholarship – how many points do the successful applicants scored for Academic Excellence, interview and co-curiculum and their family income too (subjected to verification with LHDN and EPF ). – james teng

—–

Yes, this should be the first prerequisite that PSD should implement post-haste. Important too is family connection. If this is not done PSD would always be seen to be the office boys of UMNO.

40. #40 by vsp on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:26 pm

Scholarships are supposed to be given to those who have excellent results in their studies but do not have the financial means to continue. Even if a student from a well-to-do family has 13As, he shouldn’t be applying for one. This is pure abuse based on connection and selfishness.

41. #41 by -ec- on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:31 pm

“If our examinations are not able to correctly differentiate an outstanding student from an only reasonably good student, then maybe the problem is in the quality of our examinations. Maybe our grading system is skewed to produce too many A’s?”
    –catdog

AGREED! remember, that is a show of performance of our kris minister that our students are performing good! just a temporary illusion! now someone else needs to clean his shit! what a pity!

42. #42 by Godfather on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:37 pm

For 30 years, UMNO has, with the grudging approval of MCA, MIC and Gerakan, fudged the system of meritocracy by lowering standards to the point where almost everybody can be a high-achiever by their standards. They have lowered standards to the extent that it is so easy to get 10As or even 13As in the SPM, and it becomes difficult to separate the truly good ones from the average ones.

Fudging the meritocratic system became an art under Mamakthir – where it was abused just to keep the corrupt BN government in power.

43. #43 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:41 pm

16As, 21As, 8000 qualifiers for the PSD scholarships…wow! Malaysians sure are smart!

Either that or our education has such low standards we are churning out ‘high achievers’ by the thousands EVERY YEAR! Just imagine, we must certainly already have a tremendous pool of talented, highly-educated, intelligent, high value and high-in-demand human resources. This has been going on for the past 20 years easy!Wow!

Or, the PSD has such low qualifying standards that there’s always a high number of 8000 or so students who are eligible for the scholarships!

So, is it a fault of the PSD system or rather that of our education system? For a system to accept and recognise 21As, it borders on being very, very silly. It didn’t take very long to get from the normal usual boring 8As to 10 As to 13As to 16As and then at last count 21As! Do I hear 30As? Anyone? 30As! It’s up for grabs, 30As!

44. #44 by limkamput on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:57 pm

Just to support what i said earlier. Singapore has about 4 million people, highly urbanised with well developed schools and eduacted population. Can you find out how many O-level straight As students they produce each year.

45. #45 by kevchua on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 10:07 pm

The fairness in JPA scholarships has always been an issue. Every year, parents would complain in the papers that their well-deserved sons or daughters are unable to secure scholarships despite securing excellent results and taking part in numerous activities, or achieving various awards.

The first thing that JPA needs to do is to do away with quota. Secondly, there must be something wrong with our education system that produces hundreds of high achievers each year. Who has ever heard of SPM students getting 17A’s over two decades ago? Academic excellence is definitely high on JPA’s criteria because that’s the only way to measure a person’s academic performance. With hundreds scoring good marks each year, it’s obvious there must be some other kind of mechanism to select only the best of the best to get a scholarship.

Thirdly, if necessary, conduct more than one interview, or do a 10-minute group presentation. Make it difficult to ensure only the truly deserved ones get it. It’s tax-payers’ money we’re giving out, for heaven’s sakes, so make sure they’re handed to the right people.

Finally, parents want to know the selection criteria. They’ve the right to know as they’re indirectly paying for the education of successful candidates.

46. #46 by imranj78 on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 12:05 am

While the essence of meritocracy should be employed in awarding of scholarships, the bigger picture of nation building and social uplifting of communities must also be in the forefront. Simply said, pure meritocracy in this particular case would be like capitalism at its worse whereby the richer gets richer and the poor starts from a disadvantaged situation.

As such, while I agree that a percentage of the scholarship be fully based on meritocracy, a sizeable portion must be allocated to those who really need it. Therefore, the existing system whereby JPA allocates scholarship is fine by me. The question in my mind are these – how effective is the disbursement vs. the guidelines and how many % are disbursed purely on merit (academic, co-curricular, interviews etc.)?

I have seen many people with excellent grades do purely in their work. This is evident in areas such as medicine. As such, academic achievement on its own should not be used to gauge a person’s suitability for scholarships.

47. #47 by imranj78 on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 12:28 am

The first sentence in my last paragraph above should read `I have seen many people with excellent grades do poorly in their work.’

48. #48 by monsterball on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 1:01 am

WOW!!… imranj78 is talking the language I like…that excellent grades do not guarantee success.
    He totally ignore right attitudes…truthfulness..hunger for success …systematic..to be productive…recognized and be respected.
    I guess..he is shy to say..you need to buy a false title…dress up in style..pocket empty…never mind…keep showing you are willing to stretch your two hands…balls carrying..treating Najib as his master..and beg for a chance to earn millions…without difficulties.
    That’s how so many UMNO members became rich and successful….and got excellent graders …hoping mad.

49. #49 by Lee HS on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 1:28 am

When a person is unfair, he wiill think of all kinds of excuses.
    When a person is lying, he will think of all kinds of excuses.
    When a person is insincere, he will think of all kinds of excuses.
    If you hear of excuses, then the person has an evil mind.

50. #50 by passerby on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 3:35 am

Wrong perception, my foot! What is white will always be white and there is no way you can call it black unless you are smoking something very powerful.

When you called this award a scholarship, it is natural to expect that those who have the best academic results would be given one. Why shouldn’t the public demand an explanation when their children who have worked so hard for the best results and not receiving one? This is public money and not your grandfather’s money.

According to you, your selection is based on other criteria. What other criteria that is so important that it merits your esteemed consideration? So how many of them have succeeded in finishing their studies in a reasonable period and are they studying in the top universities overseas. We know many of them have not finished their studies and drop off and many have to switch courses because their brains do not fit those courses! Since they are using the taxpayers money, the public has every right to know.

If you don’t want the public to question you for the scholarship awards, why not change it to some other term, like, “Special overseas program for the mentally deficient students” That way on one would complaint if their children is not within this category.

51. #51 by james teng on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 7:59 am

Bravo to Lim Kit Siang & Pakatan Rakyat MPs.

When you “ambush” Ismail Adam’s office this noon, please ask for the list of recipients for JPA Overseas Scholarships to study medicine. How many places are given out for medicine and in particular, how many top students from Perak are granted the awards to study medicine. The reason I ask for this facts is : One top student with 13 1As from Taman Ipoh Timur ( within your constituency IPOH TIMUR ) was victimized just because your are her MP. I had confronted Minister Kong Cho Ha on the same issue why students from Lim Kit Siang’s parliamentary seat is being victimized and he was speechless – and he even had the guts to say that another student from Sitiawan ( his Lumut seat ) with only 10 1As was given scholarship to study medicine.

If you have time, please drop by the KPI Minister’s office too and ask him to whip his “rotan” and do his work as he was paid to do his job – in monitoring the performance of JPA.

If he is unable to perform as per his job scope, invite him to the DAP forum tomorrow and see how the brilliant students and the United Parents’ Support Group grilled him with all the questions.
    Do not forget to invite the ” 4 + 7 ” Ministers and Deputy Ministers from MCA too. In the DAP forum, we must stand united and demand that all the Top 250 High Achievers be granted the JPA Scholarships Now — High Achievers First, Scholarships Now.

If MCA ( with only 15 MPs ) can ask for 11 government posts from
    the People’s Prime Minister. Why can’t we ask for 250 Scholarships Awards out of 2000. If MCA cannot deliver this 250 JPA Scholarship Awards this year, logically they are getting ” gaji buta”
    and it is only fair that they sacrifice their ” gaji buta” and donate their “gaji buta” to set up a High Achievers Scholarships Fund to sponsor the 250 High Achievers to further their studies.

If this materialize, the KPI Minister will have no other choice but to chip in his “gaji buta” too. If there is any Indian amongst the 250 High Achievers, we then ask The Minister of Human Resource to donate his “gaji buta” too.

Never mind, let the Ministers and Deputy Ministers continue to serve the 1Malaysia Cabinet until the next GE under the slogan of 1Malaysia Concept. The Culture of Excellence and Meritocracy is very much alive when they contributed to the the High Achievers Scholarship Fund with their “gaji buta”.

What I am trying to say was ” JPA has no rights to take away the Scholarships reserved for top achievers and trying to be “santa claus” and “robin hood” under the pretext of wanting to help students from Sabah, Sarawak and poor family.” WE want an answer from MCA, GERAKAN & MIC to make their stands this Tuesday if ” they deserved to remain in BN when Top 250 High Achievers ( all of them are Non Bumiputras ) are being sidelined by the most powerful man in Malaysia (Ismail Adam ). He was so powerful that even the Cabinet’s decision can be ignored.

The choice is very clear to the Government Position Holders:-

a. Give out another 250 scholarships to all 250 Top Achievers
    from JPA or
    b. Set up the High Achievers Scholarship Fund from your
    pay packet. ( for you are guilty of makan gaji buta when
    you cannot enforce the Cabinet decisions due to the
    arrogance of one Ismail Adam )

At the end of the forum, please document the “resolutions” adopted and send a petition to all the Cabinet Ministers. the DPM and the People’s Prime Minister that WE want an answer just like what MCA has demanded earlier ” yit ke thou pu neng sau ” which means ” NO ONE LESS ” – all 250 Top Students be granted the JPA Scholarship this year. Only then we can see a better future for our coming generation.

Thank you once again, LIM KIT SIANG ( for MALAYSIA ).

52. #52 by blablowbla on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 9:02 am

yes,why not ask gomen GLCs and cronies like Nazaria,Proton,HIcom,Plus,Petronas,SimeDarby, whom have mega fund resources,funding your mentally retarted students the scholarships,no one will bother to know what criterias you are talking about,maybe only the minority shareholders will make quiry,less stress for you right?or maybe another ministry is handling these allocations,less hypertension for you,is that what you wish?

ismail,end of the day,you will get what you sow!

for instance you put more malays to the medical streams merely to achieve your quotas,one day,one day,when you go to gomen hospitals for treatment,say some surgical need to be conducted by these unprofessional doctors,you better pray whether you will recover!

i dont mind telling you ismail,infact is alredy hapenning,go to HUKM,you’ll know!

dont play,play!

53. #53 by blablowbla on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 9:05 am

sorry,it is it’s,not is.

54. #54 by taiking on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 9:08 am

Academic score excessively good. So it that a problem? Generally speaking I dont think so. Yes. Not all of them are as intelligent as their results suggest. But one thing for sure, chances are they are people with high drive and are objective orientated.

We need such people. Look around you. Look at the mamaks who could toil 16 hours a day. Or that fried kuey teow lady by the roadside. Dont be envious if they own big houses and big cars and have children who are doctors and engineers. There are lots of famous and successful people in the world. Not all of them are smart or intelligent. But I am certain that they are bloody hard-working and are high achievers. [Malaysia is unique. Umnoputras need not really work hard to become successful. With no capital or experience they can get multi-billion contracts!]. Look at scientist and researchers labouring away for years and years before they finally discover or invent something. Hardwork, persistence and determination (and a bit of luck) are all important qualities.

And for 17/19 year old kids what do they have for us to determine their capability? Nothing really except for school work and exam performance. For someone who is not really intelligent and yet could still drive himself to a clean 16A definately deserves respect. With positive attitude like that imagine what they could achieve if they were researcher or businessman or sportsman! And we as a nation we could produce such people by the hundreds each year. Are they not our future assets? No doubt. Some of them would burn out later in life. Some would lose drive or ambition. But the failures amongst them should not be used as a reason to stiffle the rest.

Wot is this all-rounder thingy? Is it someone who is able to do many things at the same time? Someone who possesses multiple skills? Someone with multiple interests? For one thing. “All-rounder” as a criteria for selection seems nebulous to me. Yes it is good to know a few other things apart from work and study. But how much should one emphasise on those other things? I would agree that full emphasis should be given if we have a 17 year old who could kick the ball like theo walcott. But remember theo walcott is a high achiever. So are nicole and chong wei and the famous misbun brothers (luckily for them nep did not extend to badminton).

The point is at the end of the day we are still down to this: whether a particular student is a high achiever? A fantastic academic record in general tends to suggest high achievement. So would a fantastic non-academic record. But to generalise the issue to a mere “all-rounder” is setting the standards too low. That is when injustice would creep in.

55. #55 by edwin013 on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 9:45 am

Where is the fairness? PSD especially Director General Tan Sri needed permission mind you, permission is needed even though he is the Director General, who then is controlling him? I regret that I can’t attend the coming forum as a pensioner staying in K.K. I have a grievances to relate for the general public

My son applied for the Diploma in Engineering for Japan, interviewed and online test. On the 18.04.2009 upon checking for the result something very strange came out. Status \Anda Tidak Memohon Untuk Program Jepun di Bawah Tajaan JPA\. He had 11A 2B for SPM. He did not even apply for the degree course instead only the Diploma thinking that it will stand a higher chance.????

Upon questioning the JPA using email, telephone calls and written enquiry, one officer have the gut to call and try to explain the computer fault mind you not human’s error or intervention. She further insist that they will not give any written reply to our questioning and encouraged my son to appeal as a consolation. Finally after a few days the result upon checking stated differently, \Maaf, Tidak Berjaya\ Masih berpeluang memohon biasiswa JPA sekiranya mendapat tempat untuk mengikut pengajian Diploma dan Ijazah Pertama di Insitusi Pengajian Tinggi tempatan. What a joke!! With 11A & 2B, my son was rejected and not given a place for Matriculation and UPU. How on earth will he be eligible to apply for the JPA scholarship?

I suppose the standard of our Matriculation and Universities must be very very high beyond the reach of those will poor SPM result like his 11A 2B cannot get Matriculation and UPU. Suprisingly, Nayang Poly offered him a full scholarship with S$800 monthly allowances. Nothingham University, MMU, Uniten, Utar TPM & Inti offered him a place for foundation and degree course. Thank God.

Will the PSD be transparent in publishing those that were awarded the Diploma in Engineering to Japan to be fair to all who were rejected and especially to one who was told that he did not apply at all even though having gone through the proper procedure of interview and online test.

Our PM advocate 1Malaysia shouting up there will be of no use when the bottom line do not follow just like the Director General of PSD. What permission do he need when he can just ignore the Cabinet decision.

My son will remember the \fairness\ that PSD had given him for the rest of his life and that goes to the Government, not only him, the family and school friends etc.

Thank you.

56. #56 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 12:55 pm

BN government should at least allocate RM500million annually to the best students regardless of race and religion, so that it will be fair to all the taxpayers.

The abovementioned suggestion should be the top priority of BN government instead of buying unneeded submarines, jet fighters and the implemention of Great White Elephant projects.

57. #57 by lesliefkh on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 2:17 pm

Wonder who is the professionals from govt. who interview the students on PSD?
    Prefer an independence body to do so that no bias or hyprocrite on selecting candidates.
    Many bright students are being dumped out or rejected of continue their dream career..what a waste..one day we have to import those professionals to work in our country, coz we dont hv many professionals here..(overseas working or being dumped by so call little Napoleons policies.
    That is why we all lose to SINGAPORE in skill workers & knowledge workers.
    Brain drains out to neigbouring country..Thailand is chasing up the ladder behind Singapore now..Are we still in DREAMING LAND??!!

Malaysia boleh!!

58. #58 by AhPek on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 3:50 pm

“I have seen many people with excellent grades do poorly at work.”.Imranj 78.

And what are excellent grades in today’s BolehLand,wise man? Why is it that so many candidates are getting 16As,!5As,14As,13As and getting anything lower is perhaps not considered excellent.How are these students compared to students in the 40s,50s,60s and the early 70s where you can hardly hear of students with 8As or at most 9As and if we do have them in any one year you can only get 5 or 6 at most achieving such feat in a year.Are they less smart than student today.Can you answer me that Imranj 78?

59. #59 by imranj78 on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 11:32 pm

AhPek,
    You missed my point. I am saying that grades alone is insufficient to gauge a person’s eligibility for scholarships. His/her co-curricular activities, aptitude, and attributes are among other areas that must be considered as well.

60. #60 by disapointed86 on Tuesday, 19 May 2009 - 12:24 am

even a “DIRECTOR” says please be fair…INdicated that he doesnt have 100% power in his hand…Education in Malaysia is hopeless…MARA is sending so much Bumis’ overseas…yet the JPA still once again favour the BUmis’…COme on..Learn from Najis..get “COmmission” submarine…send children to overseas…:X…i believe Najis’s 1Malaysia concept already going down the drain just 2 months in office?