BN SC tomorrow – dare UMNO, MCA, Gerakan and MIC leaders speak the truth to Najib to cut losses in Perak and face state general election?

Tomorrow is the first Barisan Nasional Supreme Council meeting of Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and it is shaping up to be an acid test whether the BN Supreme Council is going to be a new meeting of equals or of just like the past, between the Umno hegemon with subservient characters from the other Barisan Nasional component parties.

The May 31 Penanti state assembly by-election in Penang will be on the agenda, but even more important is the three-and-a-half-month-long Perak political and constitutional crisis which have brought one national institution after another into disrepute as well as undermined Malaysia’s international image and competitiveness.

Not only Pakatan Rakyat parties of DAP, PKR and PAS, but also independent organisations and NGOs like Suhakam, Bar Council, Council of Churches, Chinese guilds and associations, but also individual leaders from BN component parties have spoken up for the only viable solution to the Perak constitutional and political impasse – dissolution of the Perak State Assembly to return the mandate to Perakians in state wide general elections.

The question is whether Umno, MCA, Gerakan and MIC top leaders dare to speak the truth to Najib at the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council meeting tomorrow that Najib should put national interests above party and personal interests, cut losses in Perak and face Perak state general elections to allow the people of Perak to decide their own political future.

The Perak political crisis would have been behind the country for two months if my proposal in mid-February for a dissolution of the Perak State Assembly and the holding of Perak state general elections within 30 days been heeded by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak – with Perakians and Malaysians able in the past two months to single-mindedly focus on acting in unison to face the world’s economic crisis in a century!

It the tragic to see the Perak political and constitutional crisis being dragged out for three-and-a-half months without any proper solution which respects the sovereign rights of the Perakians to elect the state government of their choice in sight.

What is worse, with each passing day, more and more damage is being done to the credibility, integrity and legitimacy of key national institutions, whether the police, the Election Commission, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Agency, the civil service, the media, judiciary, the monarchy and the office of the Prime Minister!

Or dare Najib own up to the BN Supreme Council meeting tomorrow that the unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab he orchestrated in Perak in early February has turned out to be his greatest mistake in his preparation to become the sixth Prime Minister, and demonstrate the courage to rectify colossal error by proposing the dissolution of Perak State Assembly and the holding of new state general elections?

1. #1 by ombak on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:02 pm

I dont think they are brave enough to say the truth… their balls are grabbed and theirs fate are tied together…

2. #2 by chengho on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:12 pm

LKS,
    why u bother to meddle with some one else internal affair ? otherwise join BN…

3. #3 by negarawan on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:19 pm

Will the CJ and IGP be joining the meeting as well? After all, they are key members of BN.

4. #4 by k1980 on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:21 pm

Perakians will soon take to the streets wearing T-shirts of

1FailedMalaysia. Elections Now. Democracy First.

5. #5 by a2a on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 2:39 pm

Thank you LKS,

to give us notice the pirates attenting their meeting tmr.

And toldl us here what matters we should pay attention at.

6. #6 by ChinNA on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:27 pm

I am wondering if this article is needed at all. My expectation is that nothing much will result from it.

Can someone please enlighten me on the value of this article? Like to hear the pros and cons, both side of the story please.

7. #7 by mauriyaII on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 3:31 pm

Spot on k1980, but do you think the PDRM with Musa Hassan as its head honcho would allow Perakians to take to the streets wearing T-shirts with such a fantastic slogan.

The PDRM was even against ordinary folks wearing anything in black on Black Thursday.

PDRM is there with their trademark blue boys, water cannons, truncheons and thuggish behaviour to show their might as well as to show how subservient, brainless and ready to polish the footwear of the UMNO/BN bigwigs.

These idiotic clowns think their pay checks come from UMNO/BN kitty and not from the taxpayers.

8. #8 by k1980 on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 4:03 pm

SPM 2009 Pendidikan Moral Question

You are the PM of a certain country. In the elections, your party lost several key states to the Opposition. How do you get them back?

A. Arrest all the Opposition and jail them.
    B. Get the Opposition assemblymen to defect to your side.
    C. Hold fresh elections so that the will of the people can be decided
    D. Blame the previous PM and get him to retire.

9. #9 by pwcheng on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 4:08 pm

UMNO is steadfast on no election as they already know s their fate if there is an election. The rest . it is better to keep quiet than to get slapped by UMNO. Teng Hock Nam from Gerakan is one of them . Even MCA can only tell subtlety that they are prepared for an election in Perak if needs to do so. Nothing more than that.

10. #10 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 4:36 pm

http://anilnetto.com/malaysian-elections/ntv7-poll-99-want-fresh-perak-elections/
    – 99% of the poll respondent wants fresh election

Najib’s wonderful pledge of people first surely he must take heed or adopt the usual denial mode to dispute it is only a small fraction of the population

why not go and get a referendum of all Perakians to hold fresh election or not. the wishes of the mass should not be in the hands of a secretary, a dodgy CoA decision or privilleged individuals’ whose livelihood is never affected by the ruckus.

11. #11 by ctc537 on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:03 pm

No other way but to win back the hearts and minds of the people. To date, we have yet to hear of any democratic government anywhere that can hold on to power without the support of the majority of the voters. BN has to accept small setback in order to avoid defeat in the 13th GE. Like LKS says, PM Najib has to cut losses.

12. #12 by Winston on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:18 pm

No other way but to win back the hearts and minds of the people. – ctc537

So, what will they do with the hearts and minds of the people after they won them back?
    Do we still trust such people with the governance of this country?
    Don’t you get sick enough with the BN to want to kick them out?
    Don’t be so naive!

13. #13 by siamo on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:20 pm

I don’t think Ong TKand Samy Malu Vellu will dare to say anything. In the case OTK, he don’t want to risk losing his minister post. Samy Vellu is safely now President of MIC. Based on the past, they will open their mouth when all is done. Samy only said that it is not right to detain Hindraf leaders, after MIC lost badly in the 2008 elections and he lost his seat. They do no have the hallmarks of a brave leader. It is only self interest that is most important.

Another one without courage is Anifah. He dares to make an accusation to Anwar of offering him the DPM post. But, today, he don’t have the courage to stand by his statement. Another “lempah batu, sembunyi tangan” guy.

14. #14 by wanderer on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:30 pm

When beggars and master meet, what do you expect to happen…miracle? or, business as usual. MCA. MIC and Gearkan are just enunchs, their balls have long long ago removed by UMNO scumbags…chengho sound familiar?
    If Mongolian C4 ever care for the well being of the Perakians, he would have made his stance much earlier, dissolve the Assembly and gather all Malaysians to confront the brutal economical crisis the nation is now facing.
    This lover boy is more concerned playing dirty politics…unworried!

15. #15 by AhPek on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:50 pm

It is better that all the leaders of BN component parties agree with Najib not to call for fresh elections.If that is the case we should be witnessing the harikiri of BN in the days ahead leading to West Malaysia state elections and then onwards to the 13th GE.For winning the battle they are going to lose the war.For not cutting one’s losses,one’s investments could be wiped out!
    But from another source http://www.malaysiawaves.com it seems that many in UMNO have seen that holding on Perak could cause UMNO to lose big in the next GE and we should be hearing that Perak State Assembly would soon be dissolved and fresh state elections will be held.

16. #16 by siamo on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 5:55 pm

That does it!

Now Ganesan admits he was the one who called the police into the Perak Dewan.

First, does he have right to call the police. He is not even an elected member of the Dewan. He has no right even to be in the Dewan nor has no interest, except as a common citizen.

Since he was going to be appointed the speaker, he calling the police speaks volumes, conflict of interest is one. Let’s use an analogy. I am the rightful owner of my house. Someone claims it is his house, get the police to forcibly throw me out and put him as the owner? And the police agree without any legal basis. This defies logic!

Speaks volumes about the despondency and deperate situation of the BN government. My continuing question, “Why is it that BN does not have the courage to put it to a vote of no confidence. It is Najib style to let the situation develop to a point where he can show his colours of using brute force?”

I think the legal challenge in the court is, “Does Ganesan (not yet to be apppointed) or the BN government have the right to forcibly throw Sivakumar, legally appointed, out the Speaker seat?” If we have an impartial judidiciary and Chief Justice, there is hope. But, we all know what the situation is!

17. #17 by siamo on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 6:07 pm

This “assault” on the Perak assembly, by ignoring the sanctity of democatic institutions is not just a Perak issue. It is an issue of national importance and transcends racial or regional issues. It is an abuse of the democratic process and blatant misuse of the machinery of state (State Secretary, police, segearnt at arms, judiciary).

This could happen to Negeri Sembilan, to Sabah, or Sarawak or any state at all.

If our leader have the vision as a national leader, they should speak up. Otherwise, their credibility as leaders are called into question.

18. #18 by negarawan on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 6:31 pm

The political eunuchs of UMNO (MCA, MIC, Gerakan) will remain to be political eunuchs.

19. #19 by a2a on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 6:45 pm

Many times we posted here that BN is so corrupted in their core.

Whatever they touch it need to be corrupted to associate with them.

There is only one thing we must do get rid of them as soon as possible to free ourself from corruption and injustice in our land MALAYSIA.

Say it loud.

WE MUST DEFENCE DEMOCRACY AND JUSTICE, THE PERAK ASSEMBLY MUST DISSOLVE.

20. #20 by yhsiew on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 7:25 pm

Ai-ya forget about MCA, Gerakan and MIC.

21. #21 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 8:27 pm

Perak will not see a fresh election.UMNO/BN do not want another defeat.They could allow PKR to rule like a lameless duck and finish off the term.Any defeat by reelection will have a catastrophic effect on UMNO/BN.The Federal government can bring development to Perak without the support of PKR.In that way they can project their image.PKR has no way to dissolve the assembly .They have to rule the state without any power to change.Logically the sultan will not dissolve the assembly because UMNO/BN has the majority.They are willing to sacrifice power to hold on till the next election.The situation created by PKR representatives crossing over!

22. #22 by defendermalaysia on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 8:35 pm

The longer BN get entangle in the Perak crissis, the better for PR to keep up the pressure until the next GE.Everyday counts as PR get increase sympathy votes from all Malaysian as long as BN still grab illegal power in Perak. BN thought this crissis is only affect Perak but it cause anger to all Malaysian and so even BN win the battle in Perak by force illegal way but in the next GE , they will lose the complete kingdom. Sun art of war tactics ‘”win the battle but lose the kingdom”.

23. #23 by a2a on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:38 pm

Do you mean corrupted politicians are more important than Perak sultan’s subject Perakian to Perak Sultan?

If the Perakian want the Perak Assembly Dissolve to re-election? so Are the corrupted politicians more important or the Perak Sultan’s subject Perakian more important to Perak Sultan?

24. #24 by a2a on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:42 pm

The situation is not depend on any political party.

It is now depend on you PERAKIAN.

YOU WANT THE STATE RE-ELECTION.

SAY IT OUT LOUD, SO PERAK SULTAN AND WHOLE MALAYSIA KNOW IT.

DON’T BE SHY. IT IS YOUR RIGHTS TO DEFENCE YOUR DEMOCRACY AND JUSTICE IN YOUR STATE.

25. #25 by KennyGan on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:49 pm

AhPek, take what malaysiawaves say with a packet of salt. It goes against the grain of Umno to realize their mistake and repent. Their arrogance of power makes the article likely to be the fevered imagination of the writer.

Perak Assembly will not be dissolved but PR should be prepared to milk the public discontent and the favourable sentiment towards them. Donation drives, membership drives and voter registration drives should have good response.

Umno is clutching at straws if it hopes that Malaysians will have short memories. Three years to the next elections is not a long time. Perak is a microcosm of all the arrogance and abuse of Umno. The theme for PR during the next G.E. should be “REMEMBER PERAK!”

26. #26 by ktteokt on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 9:54 pm

EUNUCHS are always BALL-LESS!

27. #27 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 10:03 pm

The RAKYAT have already been telling Najib in the past by-elections but he has not heard. Nothing the SC can tell him will be any different if they tell the truth.

But they will tell him what HE wants to hear…that he was destined to be PM, today he is PM. That he is destined to be the PM to forge one united Malaysia and soon that will happen. That Malaysians mudah lupa, and all his baggage will disappear.

He will push through his agenda on Perak. He will carry out the advice of his badvisor and contest Penanti.

Then, the Indian astrologer will note yet another series of predictions come true…with the end closing in. By year-end.

28. #28 by imranj78 on Sunday, 17 May 2009 - 11:48 pm

LKS,
    You said this about the Perak takeover: `unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional power grab’.

I didn’t hear you say anything against Anwar’s plan to take over the federal government on Sept 16?

I also didn’t hear you say anything when the Bota ADUN jumped to PKR and PR decided NOT TO HAVE A BI-ELECTION then!

When the 2 Perak ADUN was charged in court for corruption PR said it was BN’s ploy but then when these 2 ADUNs jumper to BN, PR then changed their fabricated story saying that BN paid these guys off.

I say it again – PR are hypocrites. When things go their way they, they will make it smell like roses but when things turn against them, everything is wrong!! I am not going to defend the fiasco in Perak but PR should look yourselves in the mirror first before shooting someone else!! TOTAL HYPOCRITES!!

29. #29 by monsterball on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 12:22 am

The main purpose of this post by Lim Kit Siang is to expose UMNO…MCA..Gerakan and MIC dare not talk ..what matters most to all Malaysians.
    It is exposing UMNO and BN…dare not bring out the real issues that Malaysians want to hear and know their decisions..how to solve them.
    So before UMNO MCA MIC and Gerakan forget..Lim Kit Siang is reminding them… the real issues ..most important to talk about.
    Indirectly….LKS is challenging those balless actors to stop talking po0litics and start talking issues that will benefit Malaysians.

30. #30 by imranj78 on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 12:26 am

monsterball,
    with all due respect, LKS’ `reminder’ is very much related to the Perak fiasco which in turn is related to PR’s plan to take over the federal gov. Hence LKS’ reminder is applicable to ALL balless politicians from PR and BN.

31. #31 by kerishamuddinitis on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 12:38 am

imranj78,

Is crossing the floor over to the other side ‘unethical, undemocratic, illegal and unconstitutional’? Or are there circumstances that allow it to take place legally? Churchill did it. What was Anwar’s plan to take over the fed government? Invite crossovers or engineer a power grab a la ‘Perak fiasco’? The fact is it didn’t take place. The crossovers did not happen. he failed and he took it NO FURTHER!

But though LKS may not have said it, Karpal was vehemently against ‘frogging.’ Now, I don’t hear BN leadership breaking ranks with UMNO on anything of conseqence unless it is a hopeless case. Like this ‘Perak fiasco.’ At the very least, PKR, PAS and DAP have agreed to disagree BUT will act only when they all agree on the action to be taken. That I respect. Unlike MCA and MIC who are basically useless echos. And Gerakan is, well..putrefying.

Whether BN paid the frogs off, only time will tell and for now, only Allah knows (besides anyone who may have arranged it) but the fact is they were held incommunicado – even their wives had to appeal to Anwar to find out where they were. Malaysia Boleh!

As for smelling like roses, I can accept that. But laundering lies, spinning lies into truths and blatantly disregarding the law, twisting the arm of the judiciary, abusing and misusing the police to act as their musclemen, cheating the rakyat of their right to determining whom they want as their government, arresting the rakyat for simply expressing their stand, covering up the entire tragic episode of May 13 with lies upon lies, threatening the rakyat with the evil of another May 13 at their whims and fancies, continuing to drive a wedge amongst Malaysians with their racist and sectarians policies, continuing to delude Malays with ketuanan melayu, and manipulating the Royalty for their own ends…

may you be blessed for your beliefs, your conviction and your views.

May Allah be praised that you are amongst the dwindling few who believe in the lies of BN and UMNO.

32. #32 by monsterball on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 12:43 am

Imranj78 totally forget UMNO is governing the country with all instruments of power being completely…under their control.
    He totally ignore UMNO corrupts…bribe and buy loyalty..using money to do wonders.
    I want Imranj78 declare Najib and all UMNO ministers are great Islam religion faithful devotees.
    Say and give proofs…imranj78!!
    I say all of them are corrupted and great hypocrites.
    Please proof.. I am wrong.
    He totally ignores the true UMNO character.
    When one is faced with such odds…almost impossible to fight UMNO…..Anwar was brave enough to inform Malaysians…possible cross overs…hinting dates too.
    Imranj78 totally forgot how nervous and jittery UMNO became..rushing more than 50 out to Taiwan. The rest is history.
    Imranj78 can come back from time to time to insult Anwar or LKS..as much as he wants.
    Now let readers judge his message and my response…..and I am sure….plenty more needed to be said by others……but perhaps ..all treat Imranj78…a useless low class UMNO agent.

33. #33 by AhPek on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 2:47 pm

There is this one big difference between Anwar’s coaxing of BN MPs to cross over to topple the government and BN’s illegal grab of power in Perak, are you aware of that or are you trying to ignore it to advance your argument Imranj 78?
    Your master has even gone the extent to justify the grab by citing Wiston Churchill’s frog jumping but there is also a big crucial difference that your master has conveniently left it unsaid!

34. #34 by imranj78 on Monday, 18 May 2009 - 11:40 pm

monsterball,
    I am always critical of politicians whether they are from BN or PR hence I never give allegiance to everyone. I criticize when they do crappy stuff and complement when they do well, irrespective of which side they are on. Is that wrong? Isn’t that the essence of a two party system?

Yes BN was jittery when they sent 50 of their reps to Taiwan, but PR was equally desperate and acted ridiculously when they sent their reps to chase after these BN reps!!

AhPek,
    What is the difference between Anwar’s coaxing of BN MPs to cross over vs BN’s take over of Perak? Care to share??

35. #35 by At Ryz on Tuesday, 19 May 2009 - 10:54 am

Even though BN pulled out from contesting Penanti, DAP or PKR should put in a “symbolic BN candidate” (someone from the party who doesn’t mind losing, of course), just for the people to show off their choice. And also to show BN, whether they are in or out, the result will be the same.