Principled governance the only way forward for Najib

by Tunku Abdul Aziz
Malaysian Insider
April 6, 2009

Every head of government, whether elected or not that I know of, begins his or her term of office by making some dramatic gesture or other. In a repressive regime such as ours, releasing political prisoners and other prisoners of conscience from detention camps in which they have no business being incarcerated in the first place, is de rigueur.

For a leader such as Tun Mahathir Mohamad, adopting this practice as a public demonstration of his overflowing compassion for the people of Malaysia was certainly not out of character.

The resultant public euphoria went as fast as it came when hundreds were later detained under the ISA in the Operation Lalang crackdown. I am naturally disappointed that Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak has allowed himself to freefall into the pits of cynicism by announcing the release of the ISA detainees days before the by-elections; one each in Kedah, Perak and Sarawak.

You, Najib, have missed a great opportunity to show us that you are different!

It was a sinister, cruel and macabre joke that Mahathir played on unsuspecting Malaysians. Their only sin was to have allowed themselves to be taken in by barefaced lies by the leader of a corrupt and unrepentant oligarchy. It is quite clear that if a change of leadership such as we have just had is without the attendant change of values and value systems, the process amounts to nothing. In such a situation, the culture of Machiavellianism in politics merely means more of the same.

I am prepared to give Najib a fair crack of the whip, and to give him not the traditional 100 days, but a full 365 days before I judge him. I hope Malaysians will give him a sporting chance, and be fair to him. But Najib must not be too clever by half in his dealings with Malaysians of all backgrounds.

Once trust is lost, he will be treated with contempt, and once confidence in him is lost, he will not continue to enjoy their co-operation and then he will have to resort to unjust laws administered on his behalf by servants of the State whose own credentials cannot bear close public scrutiny.

We expect him to deliver not genuine fakes, however good they may look, but the real McCoy. Show us that his 1Malaysia is not just another slogan because he cannot propel the ship of state on slogans. Does he have what it takes to deal with racial, religious and economic issues in ways that will benefit ALL Malaysians?

I have been one of his harshest critics, and although I hold a position in an opposition political party, my views on social and other national issues have not changed because of my political affiliation. I am Malaysian first and last and fervently hope that his 1Malaysia will be implemented vigorously.

He cannot govern effectively without the support of a team of people who share his values and vision. Najib must choose his Cabinet colleagues carefully and wisely. Quite apart from their technical qualifications for the jobs on offer, they must be men and women of great moral substance who believe, as an article of faith, that public duty must always be in the public interest.

There can never be a substitute for this sacred trust and belief.

Corruption has been and will continue to be the Achilles heel of Umno, and the responsibility for its future as the country’s ruling party will be placed squarely upon his shoulder. We sweep a staircase from the top and never from the bottom up or end up with dirt and dust on the face. We will take our cue from him as the head of government.

Najib has to show us he is a clean Prime Minister, and I will be the first to say that the swirling allegations of impropriety against him are probably just coffeeshop rumours and gossips. Remember, we have give him a sporting chance because we want him to be Malaysia’s Bapa Reformasi. The three bits of advice I want to give Najib is one, reform, two, reform and three, reform.

So, as he assumes the leadership of this difficult nation with its tangle of races, languages and cultures and attempts to create 1Malaysia, I wish him well. Malaysian First has for a long time been the motto of the DAP, my party. I am sure on this Najib and we can all work together. There are no doctrinal differences on this score.

1. #1 by taiking on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:02 am

So far its a slogan merely for it is still a jar which is devoid of content. So fill it up man. Fill up the jar. By the way, pls be reminded that if you are indeed connected to the murder of the mongolian woman and the commission payment by the french party (only a “if” so lets not be sensitive about it) no amount of filling up would save you – no matter how wonderful the goodies inside the jar are. We cannot be led by such leaders.

2. #2 by chengho on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:15 am

Tunku Abdul Aziz,

Focus on commonality not a small diff
    Peoples can see ,LGE can joint hand with OTK to support the PM…why not?…

3. #3 by Godfather on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:19 am

Principled governance ? Keep on dreaming. Kugan’s second autopsy materials now seized by the Police so that these cannot be used against the panel’s findings that exonerated the Police. On the Altantuya case, Sirul’s cautioned statement not admitted as evidence because the AG felt that there was a chance of witnesses repudiating their own cautioned statement.

Seller of Altantuya masks detained by the Police.

Open tenders for government contracts ? Keep on dreaming. The line of UMNOputras to Najib’s door for handouts is now so long. If he announces open tenders, they will revolt and pelt his house with stones.

Get rid of the den of thieves once and for all.

4. #4 by Godfather on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:20 am

And once we are rid of the den of thieves, I will personally tie the parrot named chengho to a pole in merdeka square. Let the world hear of his squawks.

5. #5 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:24 am

Najib is copying Mahathir and Mahathir is back to protect him.
    Najib cannot lie too well…nor make sense with his every action.
    Leave him alone…he is a dead duck.
    So the old man is back to be in power again….as he always planed to do so.
    Lets see how many Malaysians support Mahathir..in 13th GE.
    You noticed..UMNO ministers were all against Mahathir…when Abdullah was PM..spearheaded by Najib….but now shiver in their pants…if not ampu his bodek.
    One minister had resigned willing. He hated Mahathir all his life.

6. #6 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:28 am

For sure Mat Tyson is gone case…history.

7. #7 by sotong on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 9:44 am

You, Najib, have missed a great opportunity to show us that you are different! – Tunku Abdul Aziz

The past has shown us that anything from BN is incapable of change and being different.

8. #8 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 10:58 am

55-666-7-4 day.
    Translation…55 years old devil{666}..7th April undi day…or..74…meaning..”prick die” day…….hahahahahahahaha

9. #9 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 10:59 am

Who is 55 years old?

10. #10 by taiking on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 11:24 am

Its a gigantic sealiner that ferries 3 million people. Dont expect it to have the ability to change course at the drop of a pin. Yeah. We can understand that. Giants move slowly. Dont we all know that. But government must be responsive and must be able to respond quickly. So you umno get out of the way if you cant move any faster. And you najib what can you do? Your smiling lips and stiff cheeks alone cannot be depended upon to move 3 million people on board the “MV UMNO”.

vote pakatan.

let the MV UMNO sink.

11. #11 by taiking on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 11:29 am

Prime Minister (YB) Mahathir.
    Prime Minister (YP) Najib
    Deputy Prime Minister Muyidin
    Minister for …

“For the first time in the history of the commonwealth, a country will be led by two prime ministers.”

YB = yang benar
    YP = yang palsu (fake or imitation or pretender etc etc)

12. #12 by survivor on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 11:30 am

One Malaysia? How? Just go thru lip service without doing any change? Race discrimination is the first thing to solve.
    I was grown up from a small town where i seen the racist and discrimination happened. The place that has low or no Malay residents, there is no improvement made to the kampung area. Another case was moving to new wet market at Tapah, Perak, the front market stalls were reserved for new Malayu. This give good business to the new Malay owners. Many old owners who have to go for draw in order to get their stall location in the new market including existing Malay. So, they benefit new Malay and scrafies all the old hackers including Malay as well.

For some reason, whether it is true or not, most people already associate Najib with Atantuya case. The evidence is very relating and logical, no matter what they do, including whatever effort to remove the evidence especially the Atantuya’s immigresen data. People already believe it is true, without justice. His integrity is impacted and the trust has broken.

I do not believe Najib will be able to make one Malaysia looking at UMNO’s charter is for Malay only. Whatever he does will need to align back to UMNO’s charter so that he gets the support from the party members. The only person can make this change must be from a uni-party that is for all races.

13. #13 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 12:01 pm

Intelligence sources as of this morning is that it will be 3-0 win for PKR, but only with slim majorities.

Make every vote count!!!

Come on, give BN and Najib red noses!!

14. #14 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 12:49 pm

It’s predicted!!
    Devil’s prick die today!!
    Loos like hell.
    Few are getting ready to shave hair.
    I am getting ready to collect bets……sure win..you know who…..hahahahahhaha

15. #15 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 12:53 pm

UMNO guys are planning to sign their new theme song…
    “Have you ever seen the rain…coming down”
    Pakatan Rakyat…theme song….”Sock it to them!”….in marching tempo.

16. #16 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 4:57 pm

Dear Tunku.

Principled governance normally can succeed only when elected leaders or appointed ones are sincere,honest,hardworking,upright and fair talking and doing.But not NR and TEAM,so it’s a far away impossible dream for you and all rakyat of malaysia under his leadership. Like I said recently money politic in umno is like mother’s milk to an infant.Hence what principled governance do we expect NR to lead the nation as he has already soiled with dirt even before he becomes PM .More over,his would be cabinet ministers ,I can safely predict will be filled up with some many unprincipled members who are closest to him.So you put two wrongs together,will you think it will make a right ?. To add injury to bad wound,we now have TDM. You may call me,pessimist ,it’s ok Tunku because under the current umno political scenario ,it gives me no choice like many others .

17. #17 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - 6:23 pm

Let’s see what “principles” can Najis come up with! Already, we have had enough of the “principles” in the Rukunegara which is nothing more than a tattered piece of paper fit for wiping arses only! So what better principles can come out of Najis?

18. #18 by vanraj on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 - 3:49 pm

to goood……