Zambry – prove he can be Perak MB for all by getting legitimate mandate in a new general election

Datuk Dr. Zambry Abdul Kadir wants to be Mentri Besar for all in Perak.

Then let him prove it by getting a legitimate mandate from the people of Perak in a new state elections by dissolving the present Perak State Assembly.

Zambry is a mere usurper and cannot be regarded as a legitimate Mentri Besar to replace Datuk Seri Mohamad Nizar Jamaluddin through an illegal and unconstitutional coup de’tat orchestrated by the Prime Minister-in-waiting Datuk Seri Najib Razak – until and unless he can get a proper mandate through a Perak state elections.

It is of no help to Zambry to compare himself to Barack Obama who pledged to become President for all Americans – as no American doubt or question Obama’s legitimacy as US President in the way Zambry’s legitimacy as Perak Mentri Besar is questioned by the overwhelming majority of the people of Perak of all races.

1. #1 by Jamesy on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:19 pm

“I am the Menteri Besar for all…” – Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir (2009)

“I am the Prime Minister for all…” Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi (2004)

Sounds familiar, eh?

2. #2 by singma on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:24 pm

Is this Utusan news accurate that quote Nizar saying , it is up to Karpal Singh to take legal action against Sultan Perak?

If it is true why no cohesion among the PR?

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2009&dt=0208&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Terkini&pg=bt_07.htm

Terpulang kepada Karpal untuk ambil tindakan undang-undang – Nizar
    08/02/2009 2:02pm

IPOH 8 Feb. — Bekas Menteri Besar Perak Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin hari ini berkata terpulang kepada pengerusi DAP Karpal Singh berhubung cadangannya untuk mengambil tindakan undang-undang terhadap Sultan Perak Sultan Azlan Shah.

“(Mengenai tindakan) Karpal Singh itu saya tidak tahu dan itu terpulang kepadanya,” katanya kepada pemberita ketika menghadiri sambutan perayaan Thaipusam di Kuil Kallumai Arul Subramaniar di kawasan batu kapur Gunung Cheroh di sini.

Beliau berkata demikian bagi mengulas kenyataan anggota Parlimen Bukit Gelugor itu di Kuala Lumpur pada Jumaat lepas yang beliau bercadang memfailkan kes terhadap Sultan Azlan Shah dan kerajaan negeri yang baru berikutan pelucutan jawatan Mohammad Nizar sebagai Menteri Besar dan menubuhkan kerajaan Barisan Nasional di negeri itu yang didakwa tidak mengikut Undang-Undang Tubuh Negeri Perak.

Karpal Singh dijangka memfailkan kes itu di Mahkamah Tinggi Ipoh Selasa ini.

3. #3 by k1980 on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:24 pm

Zambry comparing himself to Barack Obama who pledged to become President for all Americans—- how very true, both are black-skinned! Same birthplace in Kenya?

4. #4 by gitf701 on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:30 pm

IPOH: Hundreds of people have turned up at the Jelapang market here Sunday to sign a petition demanding their assemblyman Hee Yit Foong quit her seat.

Within 90 minutes of the campaign starting at 9.30am Sunday, about 720 signatures were collected.

Perak DAP organising secretary Thomas Su Keong Siong said the petition would be handed over to the DAP-turned-independent assemblyman after this.

“If she does not want to accept the petition then we will hand it over to her parents at their home in Kanthan, Chemor,” he said.

Earlier when addressing the crowd, Su said the campaign was to force Hee to resign to pave way for a by-election.

“She has said that not everyone was against her, only those with ‘interests.’ If that is so, come back and face the people,” he added.

Sabri Abdul Rahman, 52, said he felt cheated by Hee, whom he had given his trust and vote to.

“We had voted for her and this is how she repays the people,” he said.

“I want her to quit. I want the Pakatan Rakyat state government back,” he added.

Hitting out at Hee, M. Vigneswary, 26, said, “We do not accept Barisan Nasional as the government; our Mentri Besar is Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin.”

Also present amongst the crowd were some who claimed to be childhood friends of Hee from her hometown in Kanthan.

One of them, Wong Fook, 56, said they had treated Hee like a sister and even sacrificed their own time and money to campaign for her during the 2004 general election.

“She has no loyalty. She has betrayed everyone by bringing down a whole government … and a good one for that matter,” he said.

Hee, previously from DAP, announced she was quitting the party earlier this week. She said she would remain an independent assemblyman, but pledged her loyalty to Barisan.

Her resignation, along with those of former PKR assemblymen Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu (Changkat Jering) and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi (Behrang) led to Barisan declaring it had the majority in the state of Perak.

Both Barisan and Pakatan Rakyat have 28 state seats, but Sultan Azlan Shah did not give his consent to Pakatan’s request to dissolve the state assembly and call for fresh elections.

Barisan’s Datuk Dr Zambry Abd Kadir was sworn in as Mentri Besar on Friday, but Pakatan and its Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin — who maintains he is still Mentri Besar– said they would file a suit on Tuesday against Zambry at the High Court to declare his swearing-in as unconstitutional and illeg

PEOPLE OF JELAPANG. THANK YOU SO MUCH. We need your help to corner her until she quit. There is not two ways about it. You can RUN BUT you cannot HIDE. We would outlast you with 10, 000 man. Return the Jelapang seat to the RAKYAT within 48 Hours.

5. #5 by sean on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:31 pm

Lets track the trail of $$ should there is any $$ involved in the hopping of the 3 “Aduns”.
    Their lifestyle may change in time to come.

6. #6 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:40 pm

if you still have a sense of dignity,morality and responsibility,dont be so hush,wait for a little while,untill nizar is thrown out,then you can put your ass on the MB seat n sit comfortably,otherwse,you are not qualified to say anything!and you will be cursed by perakians for the rest of your life if you dont even know what is legitimate and the opposite!

you are EDGE,najis is the WWF DEVIL WOMAN,VICKIE,and nizar is the champion,he is JEFF HARDY!
    Yes,the champion now is EDGE(with the absolutely assistance by his wife,the devil woman vickie),it wont be very long that he will be chucked out of this very ring of perak state!

7. #7 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:46 pm

Kindly click here http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com/ and you will now how much people hate her. She is considered a living dead. See the pictures of her being burnt.

8. #8 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:49 pm

The Hindus in Ipoh welcomed Nizar by the thousands but gave cold reception to Zambry at Hindu temples. So he is not MB of all.

9. #9 by k1980 on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 3:55 pm

With the huge ‘angpau’ awarded to her for bringing down the PR govt, the limping toadie Hee will most definitely not standing in the 13th GE. I believe she has with that money already got herself PR (Permanent Resident) status in Ozzieland.

10. #10 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 4:06 pm

oklah,oklah,calm down for a while,have a break,have a drink n enjoy this stories:

1.small kid en.jumaat was having a conversation with his friend,his friend suddenly asked him:”how did you get your name?”,sigh a while and said:”my mother told me,i was born on friday!so,what about you,why your name like that?”
    “i wasnt born at hospital,but on the river side!”,river side reply!
    and not far from there,somebody shouted:”no wonder my name is hospital!”

2.both zamry n obama were born at night,that’s why their skin is darker,those born with fairer skin,the parents will tell you:”kid,your father is an engineer,he doesnt want to enter to a wrong tol,he was riding motorbike,sometimes at nite,you cant see clearly you see!”

11. #11 by ch on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 4:17 pm

Dear All,

I thought Malaysians had in fact mature above such politics. Politicians in Malaysia are normally perfect at giving out sugar-coated words, praising people till they are led to a stairs of false accolades. False accolades is something where you got praised for something which they don’t actually mean. It thrives in the hearts of those heedless of its dangers. False accolades is a thief in your mind and sub-concious, robbing you of courage and zapping away your bravery, while your detractors stand mocking, cackling in laughter behind your back. This is what exactly happen BN is trying to lead Perakians to, particularly the Chinese and Indians. We are now being led by 27 UMNO warlords, who are now already planning as to how to consolidate each of their own positions, 1 MCA Chinese, two alleged corrupted politicians from Keadilan and one Chinese lady who had nothing to serve but her own self-interests.

Perakians and in fact all Malaysians were euphoric over the possibilty of a big change in the democracy process in Malaysia after “308” but we were short-changed, robbed and our hope dumped by no one but our own politicians. Therefore, I would like to remind everyone that one should be reminded that we tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have. To be content just think how happy you would be if you lost everything you have right now and then got it back again. Just imagine how happy Pakatan Rakyat in Perak will be when all who defected return to them.

12. #12 by One4All4One on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 4:23 pm

“MB” for ALL Perakians? What a self-proclaimed tall order and posturing!

Most of the people of Perak do not even recognize the “new” state government as legal and legitimate. Hence there is not even an iota of basis to lay claim to the chief ministership, let alone forming a state government.

The wresting of power behind closed doors and clandestine dealing and wheeling instead of constitutionally, rightfully, ethically and openly through the august assembly house smacks of highhandedness and is construed as intentionally by-passing the rakyat’s will and aspirations. As if in the equation of power, the rakyat is not a factor to be considered and could be neglected by the powers that be at their whim an fancy.

The authority, no matter how high its proclaimed status, could only truly exist because of the goodwill and pleasure extended by the rakyat together with the electoral rights and voting processes.

There should not be any claim of God-given authority. If there is, and what if many among us lay claim to some kind of God-given position and authority? And the question of why someone else’s is recognised as claimed and why not the others’ would definitely arise. How could any claim of God-given authority by any normal human being be legalised, protected and constitunalised? Is it not for self-interest and the propagation and perpetration of a culture and tradition practised by one? History is replete with many such examples, some failed and some even succeeded to exist until present day.

The rakyat felt let down, unappreciated and ignored in the process where they expect to be part and parcel of. That they were marginalized and sidelined in such a rude and uncaring way is most undemocratic and unjustified. Perhaps even immoral and uncivilised.

The people cannot be blamed for rising to the occasion and demanding righteousness and voicing their displeasure. And certainly it should not be made into an issue as if they are going against any authority. The rakayt is only claiming their rightful place in the structure of civil society.

And who are those out to deny that right? Instead of reflecting and trying to understand the whole issue in a sensible and justifiable perspective, they are even out to stoke racial sentiments and to fan social strife. Taking sides to make themselves seem favorable and friendly to the authority and ruling party is indeed immature and futile. Such unfettered condescension is unhealthy and politically incorrect.

All the rakyat wants is for good sense to prevail and any wrong to be corrected. They wish to go on with their lives in normalcy and peace.

13. #13 by k1980 on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 4:26 pm

The Tragical History of Doctor Faustus who sold his soul to the Devil is a play by Christopher Marlowe. It is about Faustus, who was born of lower class parents. Faustus’ tale is likened to that of Icarus, who flew too close to the sun and fell to his death when the sun melted his waxen wings.

A devil named Mephistopheles appears before Faustus who tries to bind the devil to his service but is unable to because Mephistopheles already serves Lucifer, the prince of devils. Using Mephistopheles as a messenger, Faustus strikes a deal with Lucifer: he is to be allotted twenty-four years of life on Earth, during which time he will have Mephistopheles as his personal servant. At the end of which, he will give his soul over to Lucifer as payment and spend the rest of time as one damned to Hell. This deal was sealed in Faustus’ own blood.

After 24 years, Mephistopheles comes to collect his soul, and Faustus’ dismembered body is found by his friends and colleagues.

14. #14 by shortie kiasu on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 4:31 pm

Zambry Abdul Kadir is nowhere near President Barack Obama. Comparing himself with President Obama is to ridicule himself.

Will the BN federal government use ISA again to put all the PR leaders in jail if the issue cannot be resolved?

Many of the rakyat in the country would be wandering and worrying that ISA will be called into action again finally to ‘resoleved’ the impasse in the forming of Perak state government.

15. #15 by ringthetill on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 4:45 pm

No point getting too emotional over this setback in *ERAK. It is hoped that PR and its components will take a lesson from this unpleasant and unprecedented incident. Time to look inwards, strengthen the cooperation, think of the longer term issues but do not lose sight of minor issues that can cause internal dissent. The BA coalition has to be better formalised and leadership structured, to ensure internal bickering can be consulted quickly and resolved amicably. Finally, make sure you have quality people who are STABLE and is TRUSTWORTHY.

16. #16 by dawsheng on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 4:53 pm

Anwar must admits his strategy of forming government through defections is a failure. The Rakyat wants clean government.

17. #17 by dawsheng on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 5:00 pm

But those who were swayed by Anwar cannot put the blames on him alone, it takes two hands to clap.

18. #18 by Blue.kinetic on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 5:16 pm

Hi Kit,

is it true that Kapal asked DSAI to step down as PKR leader? I hope not. Not by this call out.

http://oneluggage.blogspot.com/2009/02/dap-karpal-asks-anwar-ibrahim-to-step.html

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 5:25 pm

Has Zamri the legitimate mandate? Of course not. There were no state elections. State government was formed via political defections of 4 who crossed in betrayal of their constituencies’ mandate on 308. There is no moral legitimacy. Here legitimacy is a reference to acceptance based on a process lawful, authentic, genuine as verified by votes and hence credible. We know all this.

There is however a complication when discussing complicatedb issue of moral legitimacy. The BN says what is sauce for goose is sauce for gander. No double standards here! Last year PR’s defacto head Anwar Ibrahim claimed that he had the numbers (31 defectors) to form a new government on Sep 16th! His capability is backed by impressive resume. [In 1994 Anwar, at TDM’s behest, brought down the PBS government via massive party-hopping. He started the ‘frog hopping’ culture, and is called the “king of Frogs” by Dr Koh Tsu Koon]. In Perak, the King of Frogs lost his frogs to the other side.

If Anwar had suceeded on Sep 16 on vote of no confidence on PM via kataks, would LKS ask, as he does today of Zamri, whether Anwar had moral legitimacy to rule as PM without general elections?

LKS/DAP then tried to reconcile Anwar/PKR’s position. Kit said PKR would not accept crossing over to the opposition if “Kataks” were driven to do so by money and power. They must prove crossed over on the principle of wanting to bring about change to improve the lot of the people.

This is fiction: if Kataks were principled driven, would they have won their seat under BN’s ticket? How do you prove money and power versus principle? One can no more prove Kataks hopping to PR are driven by principle as those hopping to BN for power and money. Lets get real.

This is summary is BN’s argument : the sword cuts both ways. No double standards. Those of us who condemn Najib’s coup de grace in Perak and who say Zamri has no legitimate mandate are “double standards” – no escape from that fact – because had Sept 16 succeeded, many here would not, for a second, raise the same argument of moral legitimacy/mandate to rule on Anwar’s part as PM.

We are all educated: we cannot deny the undeniable. The strangest part is that civil societies NGOs would too the same double standards. Anwar/PKR can do it – but not BN. There must be a rational explanation why normally rational people would in the face of double standards, refuse to admit so – why in normal circumstances double standards is not Ok but when dealing with BN, it is OK. My next post will deal with the “whys” as it relates to issue/true meaning of “moral legitimacy” and mandate.

20. #20 by wanderer on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 5:35 pm

Hahaha! We have a Tyrant-in-waiting in a PM to be. Watch out for more dubious events to unfold. This bloke I observe, always present an innocent face in public but, a devil in disguise! If you think Mahathir have abused the use of ISA, you have not seen it all, when he claims absolute power to rule the nation.
    His meeting with the Sultan to form a new govt was was just a display of wayang kulit, rather, to give him directives, how the PR govt to be removed.
    Having said that, did’nt you think BN is well prepared PR will take the last course of action, that is going to the court. How confident can we rely on the court for a fair judgment.
    PR only hope is to wait for the court decision on the two China Lovers and forced the highest paid wh#re in Perak to resign from the Assembly.
    To get the Sultan to reverse his decision and Najib to contest in fresh elections will not happen and empty talk!

21. #21 by Loh on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 5:37 pm

We know that Article 16 (7) of the Perak state constitution forbids the removal of the Mentri Besar other than by dissolving the state Legislative assembly. The MB cannot be dismissed, and a declaration by the Sultan that the position of MB was vacant was ultra vires of the state constitution.

His Highness has appointed a new Mentri Besar known as Zambry; when the incumbent MB Nizar has not resigned, and cannot be dismissed based on state constitution. Would someone check the constitution to confirm whether a second MB is allowed, and whether they should be from the same or different government.

UMNOputras including Rafidah Aziz claimed that action should be taken by Perak government against Nizar and his excos for disobeying orders by His Highness, the Sultan of Perak. Rafidah Aziz did not clarify whether the disobedience relates to matters which have clear legal protection such as involving their service in the state government as provided by the state constitution, or just His Highness’ order on issues relating to Malay customs. Obviously, if His Highness asked Rafidah to resign her position as Wanita chief of UMNO, she would not oblige.

22. #22 by Blue.kinetic on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 5:54 pm

DAP, pls stop the blaming game on DSAI. I do not agree too for party hopping, but pls communicate this internally as a team with PKR and PAS and try to convince DSAI. What Kapal done is not appropiate. The same for his statement to sue Sultan. Can Kapal discuss with team fist before cry out like this. Pls do not add fuel further more. Let’s focus to bring back Perak to people and STOP THE BLAME game.

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:07 pm

Contiuning from earlier posting : The position of The Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (BERSIH) summarizes the sentiments.
    BERSIH basically contends that the opposition parties might have won the elections on 308 outright if it was in fact clean, free, fair and transparent with no vote buying, no gerrymandering, no phantom votes, no disenfranchising young voters partial for change going to vote, no using of tax/public funds to buttress BN election machinery to finance campaign, selective deployment of development funds from public purse to induce votes etc…Most important there won’t be a level playing field in election unless it is perceived that we have an independent Election Commission, and when there is a dispute, an independent judiciary as well!
    In the political game/process of elections to ascertain the “mandate” the field of contest must be even or else the results do not reflect the truth about where that support truly lies.

So if we’re talking about Moral Legitimacy & Mandate to rule as determined from results of election, to many opposition supporters/civil society/NGOs the BN has no moral legitimacy to rule based on even the 308 election results because of the validity of BERSIH’s claims!

Of course besides claims to moral legitimacy to rule based on elections in last 50 years, the BN also stakes also ideological legitimacy, institutional legitimacy and functional legitimacy.
    A brief explanation: Ideological legitimacy includes the idea of power sharing between races/NEP etc; institutional legitimacy, a reference to check & balance within system such as independent referee/judiciary and functional legitimacy, a reference to how ministries civil service/local authorities perform.

These legitimacies – ideological, institutional, functional – are also questioned by BN’s detractors as, in their perception, race/religious schisms got worse, rampant corruption shown, “political eunuchs of those who purportedly represent minorities, judiciary independence shaken by Lingam’s video clip revelations and draconian laws and selective application, not to count abuse of power….

So there must be change because there is no more moral, ideological, institutional and functional legitimacies left for defense of status quo.

For this reason normally rational persons/NGOs/Civil society who would recognize double standards for what they are and condemn it, are strangely willing to overlook it if committed by the Opposition fighting for change. They are willing to tolerate double, triple and quadruple standards for the Opposition and none for the ruling coalition!

The basic reason is status quo position has no more moral and other legitimacies to many BN’s detractors, and change justifies double standards because the first Moral Legitimacy and mandate derived from electoral victory by ruling coalition from a contest – in an uneven playing field – has already been questioned and is doubted along same lines as BERSIH’s arguments and points. It is almost felt that the rulingh coalition side that has long lost the primary moral legitimacy has forfeited its right to question the counter party (Opposition) secondary moral legitimacy in relation to its double standards ibn looking at political crossings! :)

24. #24 by yeeyuket on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:08 pm

Pakatan Rakyat should focus on the following actions:
    1) Resolve crisis through legal means as soon as possible.
    2) Continuous Roadshow to gather support via “people power”. People power is the most lethal weapon for BN and those unfaithful assemblymen now.People power can undermine BN ability to governing Perak and eventually call for snap election. People will deliver PR bigger mandate in next election.
    3) Avoid internal crisis like Karpal calls Anwar to step down. I think Karpal should step down instead to reinforce Pakatan. “Learn from the mistake, but never give up”. This is the crucial time for unity.

by Larry Yee, KK

25. #25 by Godfather on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:17 pm

“We are all educated: we cannot deny the undeniable.”

Yes, we are all educated but some are more educated than others, and some even have a pathological desire to show off, to make lengthy postings in order to cover up their flip-flopping ideas. Limkamput was right on the nail in another thread, and I quote him – “…don’t ever trust people who can speak or write eloquently. They do not mean a thing. Strip them naked, they are prostitutes.”

26. #26 by k1980 on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:20 pm

Tunku – Bapak Merdeka

Tun Razak – Bapak Pembangunan

Tun Hussein – Bapak Perpadauan

Tun Dr Mahathir -Bapak Modernisasi

AAB – Bapak Mertua

Bijan- Bapak Katak

27. #27 by storm62 on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:20 pm

pilih yg mana satu yg berhak menjadi MB.

A) MB Nizar – Melayu PAS secara demokratik?

B) MB Zambri – Mamak UMNO secara Haram?

28. #28 by gofortruth on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:35 pm

I think its futile to court BN guys to cross over thinking that they are doing it because of principle for the good of the rakyat. ( Nasaruddin is a classic example). Truth is they are just exploiting the venue so that their BN boss will dash to pacify them with million $$$. This is the in thing now for them to get million $$$ quick & clean. Its a lot easier now that the gomen is pushing out Billion $$$ “stimulus packages”. So, don’t think too much of sky change in Negeri Simbilan. Those BN frogs can do a double leap back quicker than eyes can blink!

Far better for PR to concentrate effort on
    1) Exposing corruption issues done by the previous BN state goverment eg. land scams etc;

2) Exposing “lousy deals” like the ones reported by Tony Pua about the highway & water; Eurocopter deal; IJN; Labu airport etc etc….

3) Reaching out to the rakyat with all sorts of social programs, helping the poor & needy, especially in helping the poor Malays.

4) Programs to fight crimes.We just can’t trust the police to do it for us, at least not for now.

5) Bringing in foreign investments, we need lots of them.

6) Make public reports about the progress periodically so that we can help pass down the data to our relatives & friends who do not have access to internet.

29. #29 by Yee Siew Wah on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:36 pm

What a thick skin and naive new MB we have in Perak!!Comparing himself with Obama?? He looks more like mamak black to me. I couldnt bear laughing my guts out. What a clown. Amazing indeed!!
    To the rakyat he is just one of those greedy, unethical, immoral and selfish politicians in BN. In fact, a stooge and running dog for our Mr.C4. Just look at the Thaipusam festival. The Hindus in Ipoh welcomed Nizar by the thousands but gave cold reception to him at Hindu temples.
    How can he be MB?? Hope the Royalties will open their eyes.

Coming to that Hee bitch, the people of Jelapang must not let her in peace. She has betrayed all of you. Just keep up the pressure on all fronts to make sure she has no place in Jelapang for her. Jelapang people cannot have such a greedy selfish bitch in their state.

30. #30 by mother of three on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:49 pm

“MB Baru dikambinghitamkan”.None of other candidate in AMNO dare to face the “rakyat”.They sacrifice one black goat to see the reaction of “rakyat” and to prove that they’re not racist.Later when everything is cool they will change the MB again.Smart old AMNO political game.

31. #31 by PSM on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:51 pm

Bro Kit,

I have often wondered what Judas Iscariot felt like when he betrayed Jesus for 30 pieces of Silver.
    After seeing the pictures of Hee with Najib & the other “Kataks”, I finally know!!!!!

32. #32 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 6:56 pm

Kit,
    [deleted] Asking Anwar to resign at this time of crisis is plain idiotic. What ever disageement you have it has to be controlled.
    The BN media will go to town with the story tomorrow.
    Karpal is becoming a liability to the DAP.

33. #33 by Godfather on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:01 pm

There is no need to go through lengthy postings of the differences between moral legitimacy and legal legitimacy. We all know that the Perak BN government does not have both. The lack of moral legitimacy we can’t do much about, except to continue to shout at the top of our voices. The illegitimate nature of this state government is something that we can do about – and that’s to test it in the courts.

There is no need to say that PR does not have a case, then flip a few hours later to say that PR does indeed have a case, albeit with remote chances of winning. Now that Anwar has stopped Karpal (temporarily) from proceeding with a legal case against the Sultan, will there be another flip suggesting that there was no legal justification ? And maybe if Karpal gets his wish to institute legal proceedings later, there could be another flip to say that maybe there is legal justification ?

This case is straightforward. BN does not have the moral nor legal legitimacy to govern Perak.

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:02 pm

I admit I have not the efficiency of some to be able to compress their sense of inadequacy (demonstrated by a pathological compulsion to deride others comments) into fewer sentences. If they don’t like long postings/comments, they are of course at liberty to skip and not read them. They’re not meant for those whose mind is steel trap — always closed.

To find resonance with the expression “…don’t ever trust people who can speak or write eloquently. They do not mean a thing. Strip them naked, they are prostitutes” merely shows the person who says it and the other who reaffirms are of the same mental mindset.

I of course would not reciprocate with the expression “prostitutes” intended to cast a pejorative because to do so on some people would be itself an unfair insult to prostitutes.

35. #35 by mother of three on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:03 pm

AMNO symbolically telling Malaysian that they appointed Malaysian Obama to show us that we’re still a democratic country.What they failed to understand is this type of so called Obama is a traitor to their own race and want to be more malay than a malay.Just see what are they doing in Penang,creating racial problems.Another wrong choice heading straight to graveyard.

36. #36 by Godfather on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:04 pm

Karpal has gone rogue. He has clearly gone against the agreement that all PR issues must be discussed behind closed doors and not publicly. DAP must suspend him from the chairmanship of the party, or it will be curtains for the PR coalition.

37. #37 by Godfather on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:05 pm

Siapa yang makan cili dialah yang merasa pedas. Even OrangRojak understands this saying.

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:12 pm

After elaborate explanation if a person still ask a question like “This case is straightforward. BN does not have the moral nor legal legitimacy to govern Perak”, I am in a dilemma whether the reader is someone where information goes in one ear and out the other with nothing in between blocking the flow or whether there actually is some invisible opaque screen in-between through which light is not penetrable rendering further effort at assistance an exercise in futility. This is so when when a person is selectively listening to seize points to vilify and not to understand and it is a fool who will make any effort in good faith to explain he who will not hear.

39. #39 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:22 pm

Malang nya ada orang yang termakan cili pedas tetapi langsung tak sedar dan terasa!

40. #40 by Godfather on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:25 pm

Maybe some educated person can’t differentiate between a question and a statement, but I’ll go further than just making the statement that BN does not have the moral nor legal legitimacy to govern. Let’s wait for the court process. Chances are that PR will lose, but then we should lose gracefully. Learn from the fiasco. Fortify the other states under PR control. Wait for the next GE to put up more sincere and credible candidates. We waited for 50+ years for change, and we certainly wait till 2013 to make the change even more permanent.

41. #41 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:41 pm

If Karpal Singh asks Anwar to resign, it is because Karpal thinks Anwar’s fame in canvassing crossovers has basically undermined PR’s cause to morally condemn BN’s using the same method to usurp control of Perak’s state government….In other words PR could not effectively demolish the moral legitimacy of BN’s coup based on defections because Anwar first advocated this means and thus forfeited PR’s high ground.

So why do you think I spent two lengthy postings discussing the issue of the scope of ‘moral legitimacy’, the small and the big picture? It is to give a counter explanation to the direction Karpal Singh is proceeding in his thoughts.

But of course to some people who read but nothing goes in will describe my effort as “a pathological desire to show off, to make lengthy postings in order to cover up their flip-flopping ideas”.

Quick to judge – in the worst light – but slow to comprehend, a trait of the arrogant and the dogmatic (then) whose only flip flop and change now is just the reverse – dogmatic and arrogant!

42. #42 by lhslhv on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:45 pm

Malaysian history is considered very short.

China will have the same emperor lineage for thousands of years if they stick to the moto of pure obedience without questions. There would not be Han, Chin, Sung and other dynasties that had fallen one after another.

43. #43 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:55 pm

Instead of helping the PR Cause and leave marks of insight you have persistently littered the blog with stain of your irrelevant and abusive comments directed at personalities and the way they write, whether long or short, riding a high moral horse of calling Karpal a mad dog to be leashed or Mohd Nizar to throw back his honorific title with absolutely no understanding of the dynamics of the situation or its implications and just shooting from your mouth that filth which from the pit of your stomach cannot restrain with no time for filtration from the upper part of the mouth .. What can I say? I really don’t know who is the mad dog here.

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 7:59 pm

Sorry I don’t mean “filth”, it should be “foam” to whioch rabids are identified with!

45. #45 by sotong on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:00 pm

There was hope for BN to win back the people…..but not this way. This is the biggest mistake out of desperation and for short term gains.

The next election will be a down hill battle for the Opposition to form government.

46. #46 by gofortruth on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:07 pm

I’m shocked by Uncle Karpal’s open remark on Anwar.

Uncle Lim, this is the very internal issue that should have been kept INTERNAL. Go and kick doors & bang tables or what you like but keep it closed door. Uncle Karpal may think this is the honorable thing to do in the open but it only gives BN ammunition to whack PR and rock public’s confidence. It does absolutely NO GOOD to PAKATAN RAKYAT!

We know when great leaders come together there will be no shortage of arguments, otherwise it will be a dictatorship (Like Dr. M). But keep your argument & debates behind lock doors. Once you have struck a common cord, then only have your press secretary or hold a joint press conference to release your common view. This will avoid giving the public the impression that PR’s leaders are all flying off at different tangent and how do you expect people to trust PR?

Meanwhile we are interested to hear what good has PR done for Perak over the last 11 months. Show the public your good report card to give us confidence.

47. #47 by monsterball on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:11 pm

Zambry and Najib are not elected by Malaysians as MB of Perak and PM respectively.
    But knowing UMNO…..they have no morals nor ethics…corrupted to the core…onion faces. ..schemers…actors.You name them..they are that.
    Karpal and Hadi Awang are the problem personalities in DAP and PAS.
    Karpal speaks his mind out…Hadi loves out-dated.. religion politic.
    Right now……Karpal…thinks he speaks for DAP and Malaysians….sounding off Anwar.
    Whatever it is..he does practice true democracy….and speaks without fear nor favour.
    UMNO may take advantage. Anwar may not respond…out of respect for Karpal.
    Bottom line….does UMNO dare to talk like this??
    It’s cover ups up cover ups and defending each other like band of gangsters.
    PR is a band of democratic politicians.
    Everybody make mistakes.
    Karpal speaks as chief.
    That is his rights…not necessary wrong to speak his mind up.
    He is showing UMNO how to behave like true sincere.. politicians..

48. #48 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:15 pm

What is a point of keep on repeating the statement “BN does not have the moral nor legal legitimacy to govern (in Perak).

Who does not know? Are we supposed to be entralled by your amazing grasp of the trite and the obvious?

The Question is how do you counter the allegation that PR has forfeited its right to condemn the moral or legal illegitimacy of BN’s action in Perak.

Do you use your brain to think? The inability of Karpal Singh (the lion of Jelutong) to reconcile the ‘double standards’ – he being a straight joe who speaks his mind when he cannot reconcile what he thinks is irreconcilable – is the main reason why he is chastising YB Kit/DAP in acquiescing with Anwar’s plan last year to poach defections and nhow suggesting Anwar to step down – all to the detriment of PR’s cause/unity to be exploited in full in TV 3 tonight!

I have explained laboriously in 2 lengthy postings why that “double standards” can be reconciled because BN has lost first moral legitimacy vis a vis BERSIH’s contention. It is in direct address to where Karpal is going.

Do I get any appreciation – no just abuse that i am writing an essentially subject in lengthy posting because of
    “a pathological desire to show off… to cover up their flip-flopping ideas”.

With blind supporters like you Godfather, why would PR needs enemies? You don’t understand what you read, where others comments are going, and whether they are relevant, and you just shoot from your mouth like a rabid dog as if it helps the PR greater by concerntrating on attack on the commentator than what he actually is trying to say!

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:20 pm

Whilst I am trying my best to counter what Karpal is doing and saying, our friend Godfather is trying to attack me (stip naked prostitutes) for lengthy postings to show off and cover up flip flop. . Calling you stupid/pedantic/arrogant would be an insult to stupid /pedantic/arrogant people! You don’t understand what you read – and as usual, what is at stake here when Karpal goes to speak his mind!

50. #50 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:35 pm

Just like the last time when I urged Kit to quickly capitalise on window of opportunity to call a Perak snap elections instead of pandering to Nga/Ngeh’s dithering around with legalities of two by elections and lobbying for it through Nizar. What do I get Godfather but your stupid remark that I was talking nonsense, since you thought there was a lot of time?

You don’t even have the grace to admit that you had recommended another course that wasted time – and even asked asked me where you said it – until I have to refer you verbatim to your quotes, to which then only you kept quiet.

I am not exaggerating : it is all on record if you care to deny!

Can I then be faulted for repeatedly saying that your vision is only a measure between your nose and the tip of your nose though your spit at others may be much farther?

You are the type who will have to reach the river bank and then only howl no bridge and whose merit is not to try constructive comments but only how to disrupt the flow of constructive discussion in this blog by your selective vituperative comments at commentators whose style of writing or tenor you somewhat don’t like. This is very petty and small minded. All fair minded people will know my comments about you are fair and borne out by what is said in various threads of this blog.

51. #51 by monsterball on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:37 pm

One said ….it takes two to clap a hand….how true.
    Karpal is also exposing he is putting all the blaming on Anwar…..right now.
    For weeks …he said nothing.
    Had Anwar’s predictions succeeded….I guess he will be the first to praise Anwar….sky high.
    Is he on medications….or yearning to get attention??
    Whatever it is…Malaysians love and respect him….as he is totally uncorrupted and a true Malaysian.
    It is family business…he speaks out against Anwar.
    Just do not compare.. out spoken Karpal with Mahathir.
    Mahathir is a real cunning crooked man telling us ..it is.. morally wrong and unethical to sue or speak against the Sultan of Perak
    He forgot…he was the person confronting royalties….to cement his dictatorship rule. What a sick old jerk he is.

52. #52 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:41 pm

It is a sure insult to Obama by having his name mentioned with this guy. You can use LGE, which is already good enough to compare with this unknown guy.

53. #53 by Mr Smith on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:44 pm

Jeffry,
    Please stop pontificating for heaven’s sake. This is not your blog and its none of your bloody business to teach others what to write and how to write. Did Kit appoint you his moderator.

If you want to display your megalomania, go and start your own blog and impose your own rules.
    This blog belongs to Kit and it for him to admonish us. You are a sickening soul.

This is my first and last response to your megolomaniac rantings.

54. #54 by Ling Mazen on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:54 pm

All wise men are intelligent, but not all intelligent men are wise.

55. #55 by peter sng on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:58 pm

Uncle Kit

Is it true what Ms Hee said about her differences with Perak’s DAP Leadership of Nga n Ngeh and you are aware of it but do not do anything to narrow their differences for the common good of Perak’s DAP? How can someone of 20+yrs standing in DAP all of a sudden choose to leave DAP? Obviously the problem has been brewing for quite some time and she really can’t TAHAN anymore; not that she purposely and dramatically choose to bring down the PR govt.

Can you ensure the loyalty of the remaining ADUNs that they will not crossover?

Pls as a elder stateman, more so MP of Ipoh Timor, you must now ensure that whatever differences amongst the DAP Aduns, it should not blow out of proportion EVER again. TQ.

56. #56 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 8:59 pm

Mr Smith,

Am I trying to teach others what to write and how to write? I thought someone was trying to teach me how and what to write. Can you see the difference before you butt in?

It is not my blog – neither is it yours : so don’t pontificate to me. Thanks.

57. #57 by Godfather on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:08 pm

If there’s a stain on this blog, it will that of the crapshooting lawyer pontificating between “on the one hand it is this, and on the other hand it is that” and then he ends up holding his teeny weeny stuff in both hands ! Doesn’t help PR at all….

58. #58 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:13 pm

Godfather, come out with something more substantial, then I’ll think whether to respond.

59. #59 by Godfather on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:16 pm

2 lines only from the crapshooter! I’ve achieved my aim, no more questions.

60. #60 by alaneth on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:20 pm

If there are no good leaders like Kit & Karpal, DAP will not be able to stand strong today. We, the younger generation should respect our elders. I respect Karpal as our Chairman.

61. #61 by chengho on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:25 pm

With the outburst of DAP chairman Karpal singh today LKS and LEG have to do a soul searching thinking outside the box otherwise DAP will split between LKS and LEG faction and Karpal with DAP rank and file faction ( Karpal said he secured DAP rank and file support)
    The best way now for DAP is to leave Pakatan and Anwar and join BN why not for the sake of the country nothing is impossible this is the window of oppurtunity to work with the devil that you know Anwar is the angel that you never knew
    Do a case study ask Nizar ,Pas and Adil to resign let see whether they can win by election as Anwar claim the court of the peoples..

62. #62 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:31 pm

I think we don’t have to be too harsh with Karpal. It is ok – it shows openness and sincerity. Most of all, it shows leaders are not always right or beyond criticism. Perhaps after 50 years of feudalism and third world mentality being rammed into our heads, we would consider Karpal’s outburst as unacceptable. To me, PR’s culture should be built on openness and I believe PR can survive this. Another name for hush-hush behind closed door is hypocrisy. Another name for not being able to show open disagreement with leaders is subservience or being docile. Didn’t we have enough of spineless politicians in the country? Unlike UMNO and BN, PR leaders must learn to accept criticism in the open.

The chengho from China a few centuries ago was an admiral. The chengho in blog is an eunuch.

63. #63 by Godfather on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:34 pm

Chengho’s suggestion will be parrotted by the spineless mainstream press. Any perceived discord between PR parties will be magnified by the thieves (sorry, Limkamput, I just gotta use this term) while any wrongdoing by the thieves will be swept under the carpet for sure. Why do we have to continue to provide fodder to these idiots ?

64. #64 by jfl on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:35 pm

YB, please ask Karpal to explain his bouts of irrational comments. We need a cohesive and cooperative Pakatan Rakyat to wrest the control of Malaysian Government from the corrupt bn.
    If Karpal cant keep his useless remarks to himself, then discipline him!
    Also serious steps must be taken to safeguard the other 4 PR states from bn’s corruption.
    Since najib [deleted] and [deleted] sultan has condoned party hopping to stage the coup of perak why don’t Pakatan do the same thing now!
    Long Live Pakatan Rakyat! Long Live DAP! Long Live Party KeAdilan Rakyat! Long Live PAS!

65. #65 by limkamput on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:47 pm

“…don’t ever trust people who can speak or write eloquently. They do not mean a thing. Strip them naked, they are prostitutes”….. merely shows the person who says it and the other who reaffirms are of the same mental mindset. Jeffry

Please don’t insult me for nothing. That was what I wrote and it was not meant for you or godfather. If you are smart enough, you should know who I was referring to. Please don’t be too presumptuous that you can write eloquently. On second thought, I do feel that you talk too much – just like OrangRojak.

66. #66 by I Malaysian on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:48 pm

Before one problem settles, we have another one, Karpal’s outburst against Anwar. In all fairness, Karpal has his valid reason. But being a senior politician and Chairman of DAP, Mr.Karpal should always choose a proper forum within DAP or PR to air his grievances. Karpal knows very well our politicians far from perfection, and whatever we are going through is a mere progress for betterment to face mighty BN.
    Hence, any public outrage against their fellow member would only disrupt the very unity they have been painfully building thus far, and it must be remembered that it is still at infant stage.
    Please PR leaders, don’t destroy as it is the only hope of Malaysians for better future.

67. #67 by taiking on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 9:48 pm

68. #68 by ablastine on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 10:07 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

I think it is completely unacceptable for Karpal to put the blame on Anwar for what happened in Perak and he being a senior politician and Chairman of DAP uttering such nonsense is even more upsetting. When things do not go on as expected or when they take another turning for the worse we should not go around looking for scapegoats and indulge in this blame game. After this debacle the three parties in Pakatan should even come closer together to tackle and analyse the problem and learn from it so that they become more cohesive and stronger to fight another day. Really the setback in Perak is just temporary and the backlash on the BN ,UMNO and Najib can be so severe that they may wish it never took place in the end. It may end up a blessing in disguise for Pakatan and also the people of Perak because now you know who the traitors are and your new team there will definately be stronger and wiser after this. With such razor thin majority and without a mandate from the people who felt cheated how long can the BN hold on to power in Perak [deleted] The longest will be the next election but I have my doubts.

I personally and sincerely belief that if Karpal continues to shoot off his mouth hurting comments like this he should not be allowed to continue as chairman of DAP. What he said about Anwar was not only inaccurrate, incorrect and divisive but really open the door for BN to attack Pakatan. Without Anwar I don’t think we could have a coalition let alone the political tsunami of 308. So lets learn to work together and stop this stupid habit for blaming your allies for anything thing which goes wrong. I find this most disgusting. In any case we should have learned here that we should never encourage this frog hopping nonsense. Now Pakatan has the higher moral ground. Do not waste it.

69. #69 by taiking on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 10:13 pm

I think the power grab incident is a positve development for pakatan. I think it would unite the people further if not for pakatan then at least against umno and najib. So it must be capitalised fully. Create as much legal fuss as possible. Whip up as much sentiment as possible. It is a serious mistake by najib and umno. A completely wrong move. And he has no way out. The consequences would be very bad for him and umno. Make sure that the full impact of the consequences lands on his lap and that of umno.

70. #70 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 10:13 pm

DAP leaders should pay more attention on filing a petition to the Ipoh High Court against the Sultan in order to set a precedence in Malaysia that there is indeed a rule of law beyond any interference or intervention by the Monarch.

Someone commented in “Malaysia Today” blogsite that the Malaysian political structure is being built upon several pillars, namely
    1) Judiciary
    2) Legislature
    3) Executive
    4) Monarch
    5) Democracy (people’s rights)

The court should be made supreme among all the pillars of the Government. Therefore, DAP leaders should plan properly in order to get the High Court to decide on the following matters:
    a) the limit of the prerogative power of the Sultan in relation to appointing and dismissing a Menteri Besar ;
    b) the limit of the Executive power of the Menteri Besar in relation to making a request for dissolution of the State Assembly;
    c) the limit of the implicit or explicit power of the Speaker of the State Assembly in relation to suspending, barring or terminating the service of a member of the State Assembly in event of receiving an undated resignation letter from the said member.

In the court case, it is no point for DAP to ask for complete restriction on the power to appoint and the power to dismiss an MB by the Sultan because sometimes things may happen in such a way that a BN MB has been voted out of office by majority of the State Assembly persons in the motion of no confidence against the BN MB and therefore PR needs to request the Sultan to dismiss the BN MB in order to lay path for the appointment of a PR MB.

DAP must also be careful not to ask the court to rule in such a way that the Speaker will be given absolute power to determine the resignation status of a member of the legislature since the absolute power sometimes may cause misuse or abuse of power. The BN Speaker of Johor may misuse or abuse the absolute power by saying that DAP’s Dr. Boo Cheng Hau has tendered a resignation letter which has been given to the Speaker through the hand of Najib and therefore Dr. Boo is no longer the member of the State Assembly, without going through the process of verifying the authenticity of the resignation letter.

DAP should also ask for a ruling from court that the Executive power of the MB to request for the dissolution of the State Assembly shall not be denied by the Sultan because the Sultan is just a constitutional monarch who has no power to unreasonably delay dissolution of the State Assembly after a request for the dissolution has been made by the incumbent MB.

71. #71 by Yee Siew Wah on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 10:24 pm

This Zambry mamak kutty wherever he goes is $$$$$$$$$$$$$$. This proves that most politicians in BN care only about $$$$$$$$$$$$$$. All these guys see is $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.
    Seems that whenever there is a election, BN will flaunt their ill gotten $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ to buy over the rakyat.
    Only happen in Bolehland.

72. #72 by orang_cina on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 10:31 pm

I think if you look into the loophole in our constitution, you may looking things from only what side. BN is well prepared and perhaps well-versed than any lawyer about this.
    I rather look at this incident as a human, not a lawyer.

Karpal is a senile, like Dr M… But he got a point… I have been waiting for the 916 to come true but * sigh…
    I try to console myself by saying, “Maybe Anwar knew the global economic recession will worsen, therefore he let Najib to take all the shit so he can clean up in next GE and claime ‘ah haaa, I am the hero who save Malaysia’….”

Nizar himself has already expected the court decision is not favourable to him, so if that happens, life goes on… State secretary, police, MACCs, judges, even royalty now listen to only BN, since they had been around for 50 years.

I heard myself very cleary that Tajol Rosli said ‘Saya tidak berminat’ – referring to the possible of him being the new MB. I guess PKR can start lobbying on this veteran politician, because the way he expressed it, I think he felt Najib is way too much in this…

But it’s good to have Karpal roaring around. I think he’s one of the very few politicians UMNO is afraid of. Bring this case to court! Make it to international news headline!!!

“Jangan Main-main dengan saya”

73. #73 by Outcasts on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 10:48 pm

When Zambry went to CNY celebration yesterday he offered RM30,000 and today during the Thaipusam visit he offered RM100,000. In both occasions he said he wanna be the MB for all.

So here’s the BN doctrine: $$ solves ALL problems.

If Zambry can become the MB for all through $$, then Bill Gates can also become our PM for all huh ?

74. #74 by NextNoName on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 10:53 pm

Karpal Singh is worthy as the chairman of DAP. He certainly has my support because he embodied the role of DAP in Malaysia’s political landscape, that is speaking the truth.

Anwar has to censured for causing PR to lose the government of Perak. Even while in BN’s Malaysia truth is not valued much but we do. If we do not censured Anwar, we would be no different from any other party.

I am glad that Karpal’s son Gobind is at his side. You are the role models of Malaysians. Happy Thaipusam Day.

75. #75 by chin on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 10:56 pm

Dear fellow Perakians,
    Felt sorry to witness that prostitutes are the ones who rule over your states. With much of cash, thrust, principals, human value & dignity can be bought. Never have though that the cripple lady can fetch a high rate. Congratulations to the pimp, he did a good sales job.
    The price = Fellow Perakians thrust !

Now ! Our DAP big brother is against DSAI throat, What next ? The Sultan becomes the MB ?

Frankly, most Malaysian are pretty confused right now. Don’t blame BN can perform dirty magic, it is because our PR is still weak. We are easily bought over, that’s all.

After all, money still talks !

76. #76 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 11:01 pm

The Perak Sultan wants PR to file a law suit against HRH himself because HRH is a legal professional who believes in the rule of law.

Tun Dr. Mahathir also agrees that PR can sue the Sultan.

Mr. Karpal Singh is right to say that PR will win by taking the Sultan to court.

This is the best opportunity for Malaysia to establish the guideline concept that the Judiciary Branch of the government is more supreme than the other branches of the government such as the Executive, the Legislature, the Monarch and the People.

It will be regrettable if the PR leadership is too ignorant and naive about the implications of the current constitutional crisis and be unproductively bogged down by Umno’s stupid accusation on Mr. Karpal’s belittling the Monarch by taking the legal action against the Monarch.

Please bear in mind about this fact: Sultan Azlan Shah was the Yang Dipertuan Agong who put his approving signature on the Constitutional Addition of the Special Court Clauses.

If the Sultan himself also wants you people to sue him so that he can better establish the rule of law in Malaysia, why do you people still want to argue among yourselves that whether Mr. Karpal should or should not sue.

His Royal Highness realizes that Malaysian Monarchy has taken over the legacy from the feudalism before Malaysia’s Independence. Therefore there are still many rulers who don’t understand very well about the limit of their power as a constitutional monarch. Since it is almost not possible for the State Assembly to convene a session in order to pass a new law which interprets the limit of the ruler’s prerogative power, getting the High Court to rule and set a precedent case will be the best way to establish the new law by way of case law.

If there is still anyone of PR leaders who doesn’t agree with filing a law suit against the Sultan, then he/she will be the person who has chosen not to include his/her name in the glory of Malaysian History. In other words, this guy will be despised by history for being an incompetent political leader in handling the matter of constitutional crisis.

77. #77 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 11:08 pm

Anwar was not wrong. But he has made a mistake. He revealed the strategies to the enemies before going out to the battle field. That is why it is better not to talk before actually doing thing

78. #78 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 11:16 pm

“Please don’t insult me for nothing. That was what I wrote and it was not meant for you or godfather” – Lim Kam Put posting February 8th, 2009 at 21: 47.48 .

I owe you an apology notwithstanding you think I talked too much. I wasn’t presumptious I wrote eloquently: I was just presumptious that Godfather could ever represent anything true or accurate as when he made reference to your statement. I should have known better.

79. #79 by Jamesy on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 11:25 pm

‘Hopping is legal and constitutional’

http://anwaribrahimblog.com/2009/02/08/hopping-is-legal-and-constitutional/#more-5351

from Malaysiakini

Feb 8, 09 9:20pm

DAP chairperson Karpal Singh came under quick criticism today just hours after he called for Anwar Ibrahim to step down as the head of Pakatan Rakyat alliance.

Constitutional expert professor Abdul Aziz Bari said that Karpal’s grouse against Anwar over the latter’s policy on party hopping was weak and flawed.

“Hopping is legal and constitutional,” he told Malaysiakini.

He said that switching sides may even be approved by the voters.

“In any case come election they will decide whether it is moral or Otherwise,” he added.

And on the test of morality attached to these defections, Abdul Aziz said: “Simple. Don’t bribe, kidnap or intimidate members of parliaments or state assemblyperson.”

“Let them decide on their own freewill,” he said.

He also said that a law to stop the hopping, as espoused by Karpal, was unconstitutional as it would breach someone’s right to association.

“There is even a case to stress this point – the Supreme Court ruling in 1993 in the Nordin Salleh case,” he said.

Abdul Aziz was referring to Karpal’s outburst earlier today, blaming Anwar for the disarray Pakatan was in at the moment, especially in Perak.

The DAP politician also urged Anwar to step down as the chief of Pakatan, stating that Anwar had created enough trouble for Pakatan with his open calls of enticing defectors from Barisan Nasional to form the federal government.

Last week, defections from Pakatan resulted in the collapse of the Perak government, with BN taking over, with the support of the Sultan of Perak.

Although the state was led by a PAS leader, DAP was seen as the biggest loser in the collapse as the party had dominated the state assembly with its members.

Karpal told reporters today that Karpal said that party-hopping can never be justified.

On another matter, Abdul Aziz also said that it was time for people to stop criticising Sultan Azlan Shah for asking Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin to step down and then hand over the powers to BN’s Zambry Abd Kadir.

At the same time Mohd Nizar has refused to resign, stating that he will do so once a vote-of-confidence is taken at the state assembly, or with the dissolution of the assembly.

This situation has resulted in Perak having two menteris besar at work.

And the sultan has been widely blamed for causing this situation, over his refusal to dissolve the assembly so that the people can decide on who the want to lead them through polls.

“I think we got to be fair to the sultan and suggest ways to solve the problem,” said Abdul Aziz.

He added that it appeared as though the BN has realised the critical state the matter has come to now and perhaps not knowing how to solve the situation.

“Zambry seems to have realised the difficult position he is in. BN have stopped the ‘uncivilised’ approach taken by the state secretary and Ipoh police chief early Friday morning. Now the new MB says Nizar can take time to vacate the official residence,” he said.

He however added that neither the federal constitution nor the state constitution provided any remedy for the prevailing situation.

However he said that in constitutional law theory there was a view which allowed the head of state to take drastic measures to handle such a situation.

“This includes what is known as reserve powers. And apart from this power, I believe the sultan can act on the state authority vested in his office.

And he suggested that the two things the sultan could do now to solve the impasse are:

* To revoke the appointment of Zambry and restate Nizar (though this may not be necessary as revocation is enough to allow Nizar to continue), or

* To use the reserve powers to dissolve the assembly so that a state election could be held.

He added that in the meantime, the Nizar government could be retained as caretaker government.

Alternatively, the state secretary can be asked to undertake the routine administration of the state.

The sultan can do either of these to empower and enhance democracy.

80. #80 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 11:32 pm

“It is almost not possible for the State Assembly to convene a session in order to pass a new law which interprets the limit of the ruler’s prerogative power.”

I make the above statement because a constitutional amendment that has been passed in the State Assembly will still need to secure the signature from the Sultan of the relevant state in order to become law. Some Sultans who don’t believe in the rule of law may refuse to sign this kind of proposed constitutional amendment which sets the limit on the ruler’s prerogative power. Therefore, we need to establish a precedent case in order to ask the High Court to determine the limit of the prerogative power of the ruler. The precedent case will later become the case law for all Malaysian commoners and the Monarchs to abide and comply in the future.

Therefore, please do go for it. Don’t miss the good opportunity to take the constitution crisis to court in order to seek judicial review!

81. #81 by Blue.kinetic on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 11:34 pm

Next No Name, i totally agreed with you but Karpal’s message sent to PR or within DAP has to be in proper method instead of burst out like that in the media. Another sandiwara. A wise Chairman will not do so, i guess. This is not defending the DAP, but destroying it. I can’t beleive the Chairman acted without thinking the consequenses eventhough he is right, but let the method be right too.

However, i urge Kit do not make thing worse with Karpal and try to work out nicely with him. He now looks wild to me as if he will do anything and speak anything regardless of consequences.

82. #82 by alaneth on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 11:37 pm

I see we are split in this blog about Karpal… How can we be strong if we inside Kit’s blog can be split on opinion on our own Chairman???

I urge everyone to respect our Chairman.

83. #83 by shah pinang on Sunday, 8 February 2009 - 11:38 pm

As many have been pointing out “YB Karpal is becoming a liability to the DAP” . Actually he is now A LIABILITY to Pakatan’s cause. I am still shocked and dismayed by the extent of Karpal’s ‘blitzkrieg’. It was uncalled for. And to a certain extent very irresponsible. This is not about ‘sticking to your guns’ anymore. It’s a political vendetta against everybody and everything. From hudud to Malay rulers to even his own party….*sigh*

Perhaps Karpal, you should have vented your anger at DAP traitor Hee, instead of yet again acting like ….sorry to say this- a ‘jerk’ and warning everybody who dare to sue you of the ‘consequences’. Even more embarassing, your ‘cheap’ shots at DAP and Pakatan leaders, in particular YB Lim and YB Guan Eng-

Remember Karpal -NOBODY IS BIGGER THAN THE PARTY. If Karpal’s ‘removal’ will be to the benefit of DAP and Pakatan-so be it. But then again if DAP is too eager to placate to this ‘old tiger of jelutong’- then all the hard work will be undone.

Again I wish, there will be a silver lining in the cloud after this latest ‘setback’ for Pakatan. Long live PAS,DAP and PKR!

84. #84 by ringthetill on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 12:00 am

Noww is not the time to throw blame on one another. Resolve all issues quietly and tame the ego. Otherwise you are playing into the hands of the opponents. This is a test of PR resilence and maturity.
    The journey has just started, and need to put forth common principles, ideologies and the structure to withstand the test of time. Only then can you achieve the aim on becoming an alternative choice for the people of MalaysiaLand.Learn from mistakes, sacrifice and fight when you know you are right.

85. #85 by One4All4One on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 12:24 am

chengho in suggesting that DAP leaves PR to join BN is far fetched and totally untenable.

He does not understand the principles and aspirations of the DAP and that of its members. The DAP is not and will not be a “katak”; their consistency and actions speak for itself, need no explanation at all.

Differences among individuals is healthy in so much as it opens up avenues for discussion and probing. What good to keep one’s ideas to oneself, no matter how good the ideas are, if they are not spread on the table for all to see and think about?

Can’t we tolerate differences and new ideas to the extent that whenever they crop up, some kind of suicidal action and/or punishment has to be meted out?

Let’s accommodate diversity and variation in our quest and search for something better. We do not live in isolation. What should not be compromised are principles, integrity, accountability, etc., etc.

Democracy and meritocracy should always be encouraged, not stifled.

86. #86 by dawsheng on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 12:27 am

“Resolve all issues quietly and tame the ego.” – ringthetill

Is it possible?

87. #87 by distantmalay on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 12:29 am

the rakyat want an independent judiciary, they want an effective police force that is focussed on tackling real crimes, they want an end to corruption that enriched a handful.

the rakyat is optimistic this can be achieved if bn is replaced. This is the rakyat’s aspiration, and the big picture.

for the sake of the rakyat’s aspiration, pas, pr and dap have to go beyond party lines to see the big picture.

since dap, pr and pas cannot do it alone, they are letting down the rakyat if they eventually break-up.

it was due to the big picture that pakatan was formed, never lose sight of that.

88. #88 by I Malaysian on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 12:31 am

According Malaysia Today, YB Arumugam the EXCO and assemblyman of Kedah resigns due tremendous pressure and intimidation from BN agents.

89. #89 by NextNoName on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 12:53 am

In Malaysia, most politicians are disappointment. People are disappointed otherwise they would not want to bring down BN. We are looking for change. In Abdullah we had hoped for change eventhough you might criticize him for whatever reason, but after him, who else is not a disappointment? This is why I support Karpal. The Indian community and Malaysians in general need a leader to be proud of and Karpal is absolutely the person.

90. #90 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 12:55 am

The Chinese philosophy never specifically restricts a couple from getting involved in some form of quarrels throughout their whole marriage life.

However, the Chinese ancient wisdom does encourage a couple to forgive and forget after a quarrel. Like the old saying goes, “As soon as the fight that has happened at the front side of the bedsheet, there must always be an immediate orgasm that is to follow at the rear side of the bedsheet!”

However, just don’t get addicted to the fight as a way of seeking excessive orgasm. We all still have to get back to work in order to get food and get charge of energy before we can start another fight, or preferably another harmonious foreplay. Of course, there are also people who would prefer getting orgasm in a peaceful way without having to do something or say something that hurts!

Therefore, Mr. Karpal may need to save his energy for a good fight against his opponent in the High Court and not be overwhelmed by the temporary defeat in a battle at Perak. PR should focus tactically and deploy strategically on the whole war and not just be impeded and geting bogged down by a small defeat in Perak.

Shall there be a CEASE FIRE for all PR folks?

91. #91 by ktteokt on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:12 am

No more Pure Breed Malay Talents in UMNO kah? Why need a Mamak to fit into the Perak MB’s position? Better change to UNITED MAMAK NATIONAL ORGANIZATION (still UMNO)!

92. #92 by dawsheng on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:13 am

This is Pakatan Rakyat not BN, quit if you failed to lead.

93. #93 by computation on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:44 am

whats so great about anwar?
    don’t forget he rose to become deputy
    prime minister whilst a member of umno.
    how do you rise to that level without the
    kind of culture and mentality that umno has?
    i’m not convinced that he is interested in
    helping all the races get together.
    i think hes doing this because he felt he was
    treated unfairly. i think its time that the
    opposition gets a new figurehead who genuinely
    cares about everyone.

94. #94 by gofortruth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:46 am

Hava you ever seen a chairman of a football team roaring down a demand to remove the captain of his team after letting in a silly goal to their opponent in the 1st 5 minutes of a game? There are 85 more minutes left to turn the match into victory. The match is not over yet! A good chairman would advise calm & focus that everyone should double up their effort to play a good game.

Perhaps Uncle Karpal should be reminded that he is not playing a badminton single match like Lee Chong Wei. This is a team event & he is in a TEAM! There are 13 states to win over. So stop charging into the field to demand your captain out while the battle is still underway. Change is still a long way to go sir. You are only helping the opponent by striking at your own team mate in the open field. Grrr…..

95. #95 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:49 am

YB Arumugam’s tender of resignation letterresigning from the Kedah State Assemblymen seat is a shocking news. What kind of fallen world are we in now? How vile is the sin being committed! I feel like crying out God’s name for help…

We are in a desperate and despair situation now?

Treat or trick? Candy or poison? Money or bullet? Make your choice now. Otherwise…

Whose turn is the next after YB Arumugam? Is the world still safe for us to live in? God bless us!

96. #96 by computation on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:51 am

of course there are a lot of sick
    hypocrites in malaysia.
    anything you say or do that expresses
    disagreement with the actions of decisions
    of a sultan is taken as sedition.
    i think this is not right. diasgreeing with
    the so called royalty is not improper.
    royalty are not gods. show me a sultan who
    does not need to eat or sleep. show me a sultan
    who is perfect. we are no longer
    living in the past where the sultans where
    actually involved in the day to day running of the
    country and who had to command the loyalty
    of the army and people to protect their territory.
    there is nothing seditious with nizar refusing to
    step down just because the sultan “ordered him to.
    Lets SUPPOSE the sultan had ordered him to kill someone
    and nizar refused. would disobeying the sultan be
    sedition? nizar in this instance refuses to step down because
    he believes the sultan to be in error. nizar has
    not led any revolts to threaten the safety and
    position of the sultan. umno youth is sick.
    they are liars and damn hypocrites.

97. #97 by gofortruth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:05 am

Unless & until some form of anti hopping law is in place, this “katak” business will forever be an on going concern for all parties. You use it to your party’s advantage. I was made to understand that only hours after the 308 result, BN was already busy engaging PAS about Selangor, right? So please don’t blame anyone for playing the katak game.

It was the same that years ago Badminton players were using the Sidek serve (spin serve) to achieve unfair serving advantage. You can cry foul until your face turn blue but it was legal & allowed. So everyone quickly mastered the art of spin serve until it was ruled illegal.

So until katak business is ruled out, every party should polish their katak fighting skill – The art of getting people to jump over to your side and at the same time preventing your own people from leaping over to others.

98. #98 by liangyuh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:07 am

dear mr. lim:

why is okay for Pakatan Rakyat to form a federal government with defectors from BN (think september 16, 2008) and not okay that Barisan Nasional to form a state government with defectors from PR? I don’t understand the logic.

99. #99 by liangyuh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:09 am

do you remember the days leading up to September 16, 2008 when the Barisan MPs were shipped off to taiwan and the Pakatan MPs were following them? anwar also told abdullah that he had the numbers. why was it okay back then and not okay now?

100. #100 by computation on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:10 am

“government with defectors from PR? I don’t understand the logic.”
    liangyuh

heh heh heh
    :D

101. #101 by sheriff singh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:17 am

Why don’t they just call for a no confidence vote in the State Assembly?

PR is sure to lose by 28 to 29 courtesy of Ms Hee.

And BN will take over legitimately.

102. #102 by Jeffrey on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:36 am

Reference to Jamesy’s posting February 8th, 2009 at 23: 25.48 on Constitutional expert professor Abdul Aziz Bari’s remarks that “Karpal’s grouse against Anwar over the latter’s policy on party hopping was weak and flawed.” Professor Abdul Aziz Bari’s remarks/arguments are themselves not free from weakness and flaws. For examples:

His test of morality draws a line at “Don’t bribe, kidnap or intimidate members of parliaments or state assembly person.” This misses the whole point.

Even there were no bribing, kidnapping or intimidation – and all that is involved is just a change of heart or twitch of conscience – the fact is that he was voted in by majority on ticket A, so how could he cross to B in betrayal of those majority supporters/voters supporting A and without standing for re-election under B for fresh mandate?

The other fallacy is the assumption that one could divine and prove motives – that they are prompted by change of heart and not (say) financial inducement or other gratification. Can he prove (for example) the 4 kataks that crossed over to BN in Perak was motivated financial inducement or other gratification and not change of heart favouring BN? One can suspect, talk about probabilities but in the absence of proof it is just unproven suspicion.

“Hopping is legal and constitutional,” he told Malaysiakini. Whilst true, this begs the question.

The Supreme Court ruled in 1993 the Nordin Salleh case in favour of hopping because then it was PAS’s guy hopping over to BN. If it were BN hopping to PAS would the Supreme Court followed the same decision? Supreme Court could depart from its own decision made in 1993. Law is not immutable, cast in stone : it changes.

Here the PAS guy had an agreement with PAS (his political association) not to hop but when he hopped, the court ruled it was OK because it violated his constitutional right of association.

If one thought his constitutional right of association would be violated by PAS’s agreement, he shouldn’t have joined it in first place. Who’s forcing him to do so? After joining on that basis upon PAS terms and taking benefit to win on PAS’s ticket, could he be later allowed, at his convenience, to renege on his agreement with PAS, whether for gratification/change of heart? What about sanctity of his undertaking/agreement with PAS? Can we freely enter into employment agreement that restricts our joining another company, take benefit and when there is a better offer, throw the agreement away and plead it restricts our constitutional freedom of association?

In addition whilst (currently) legal and constitutional by that decision, does not make it moral or justify its continuance just because its legal . If it were immoral and contravention of democratic principles, then there should be a move to enact an anti hopping law to stop it – by proposing a change in law/constitution as what Lim Guan Eng does.

103. #103 by Jeffrey on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:54 am

Karpal Singh is calling a spade a spade. He is putting principles of what he thinks is right well above political expedience. He won’t condone double standards as what liangyuh raised in posting February 9th, 2009 at 02: 09.47. On that basis, he made an open criticism of defacto leader Anwar Ibrahim.

It is likely former vice-chairman of Transparency International’s Board of Directors Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim who has joined the DAP as the DAP’s vice-chairman will associate with and support the statement of Karpal Singh, the DAP national chairman.

You can question their method of voicing political stand for the DAP – or dissent – that is too public (not behind closed doors like BN component parties) and convenient for BN to exploit.

However we have no basis to question their integrity and principled stand : certainly not call them “mad dog” as blind extremists will do.

104. #104 by shah pinang on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 2:58 am

After reading this piece from our respected ‘Raja’- you are left either speechless or with a surreal feeling – Both in my case.

Anyhow here’s the link to those who have not read it or would like to revisit:
    http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/17783/84/

I am pasting here some parts of the article for us to sit back and reflect on it – Karpal, you should do that more often. Take a deep breath and count from 1 to……as many numbers as you need to calm yourself down!

“Whenever things go our way we are full of praise. But as soon as the decision does not favour us they are ‘haprak’ Rulers.”

“And they argued about party and racial quotas just like Barisan Nasional. Pakatan Rakyat is as racist as Barisan Nasional. It appeared like there is very little difference between Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional”

“What took 52 years of transformation has been destroyed in a mere days. Today, we are back to an entirely Malay government in Perak. And a DAP State Assemblywoman helped achieve this. A Chinese made the restoration of maruah Melayu (Malay dignity) possible. She should be given the next Ma’al Hijrah award and be accorded Bumiputera status.”

“What happened in Perak is good. I hope it will teach Pakatan Rakyat that it has to get its act together.When personal interests and racial issues override everything else, you deserve to fall”

last but not least- the sucker punch “If she(HEE) had been given a new car she would not have sulked. A mere car brought the Perak government down”- how I really wish it was NOT as simple as that…

I say ‘hail Raja Petra’!

105. #105 by Jeffrey on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:02 am

YB, whatever happens, Karpal Singh reflects the principles – and the straight talk of the unvarnished truth fearless of the consequences – that the DAP has (and you have) always stood for over the years and defended above the imperatives of political expedience.

106. #106 by computation on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:29 am

“YB, whatever happens, Karpal Singh reflects the principles – and the straight talk of the unvarnished truth ….”
    Jefferey

i think so too.
    we shouldn’t get too uptight over disagreements.
    nor should we get too uptight over disagreements
    voiced out openly.
    not at this stage anyway

107. #107 by shah pinang on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:15 am

Jeffrey, isn’t this a case of ‘principles clouding your judgment’ scenario. I believe many will not dispute his call for an ‘alternative’ leader to Dato Seri Anwar…. or even the strong objection towards ‘katak game’.
    but to say -I quote- “I regret that I am not able to get support even from my party leaders. Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng should support me, not give statements supporting Anwar Ibrahim…..I am the chairman of DAP. And I warn my party leaders not to push me too far. I have been patient all this while, don’t make matters come to a head in the interest of PR and DAP,” I have said before that DAP should seriously consider getting out of the coalition and I repeat my stand once again today”.

-that’s just not palatable, to me anyway, in the context of DAP and Pakatan’s long and hard fought struggle. This is akin to Brutus conspiring to kill Caesar- in the name of Rome.Admirable.Fearless of the consequences. In the end his actions had in actual fact caused the fall of the Roman Republic.

It undermines everything YB Lim and other DAP leaders including himself had worked so hard over the years. It makes a mockery of DAP’s willingness to change and adapt for the sake of establishing a viable alternative for the rakyat. Would Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim joined or be able to join DAP if not for this ‘progressive’ change? Would I have voted for DAP in the last general election if not for the reconciliation of PAS and DAP and PKR working towards a common goal of good governance?

Well in the end, it’s always us the rakyat who is suffering. Perhaps I need to learn to have ‘reduce’ expectations of Pakatan’s readiness to govern at the state level let alone at the federal level.

*I am sorry. I do think am being too ‘passionate’/obsessive about this issue.Must cut down on the coffee.*

108. #108 by passerby on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:16 am

I think everyone should settle down after they have said their piece. All these continuing yelling and howling will not serve the cause of toppling the existing gov.

I think we should all realize that it is the opposition’s duty to unseat the gov. with whatever legitimate means and likewise, it is the the duty of the governing party to protect their position. There are no good or bad methods. The only good method is the winning method. If anwar can topple the gov. with crossover, everyone will be praising him as a great leader. So let us not be too harsh on him since this is the same method najib used to topple the PR.

As to the call for Anwar to step down, let us not be too hasty in your demand and let ask ourselves if we have anyone who could lead all the three parties together into a united front against the BN. Let be realistic. So far Anwar is the opposition only hope of toppling the gov. We all know very well the chinese will not trust the PAS and the Malays are not ready to accept the chinese to be their leader. In the mean time, let stay united to wrest back the Perak gov.

109. #109 by gofortruth on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:36 am

passerby Says:

February 9th, 2009 at 05: 16.11
    I think everyone should settle down after they have said their piece. All these continuing yelling and howling will not serve the cause of toppling the existing gov

110. #110 by lcclck on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:45 am

Dear YB LKS, you had been a great DAP leader and experienced worst humilation in 1999’s General Election. I believed you could still remember that. Then, DSAI was arrested and imprisoned. When the voters perceived the comprises made, they all switched their confidences and voted you and Karpal out for the first time in the history of DAP, both of you were out in cold.
    In 2004, you were back to the Parliament. Back through the Perakians!! Voters of Ipoh forgave you and gave you the chances to be back again in 2008. Voters in Ipoh are not idiot I believe!! Voters in Penang in 2008 are not fools.Voters in Selangor are not stupid!!!More Malays are better educated now, not as to the wish to TDM as most the educated Malays had learn to understand what is right from wrong. They even bite the hands which feed them for the sake of able to understand what is right from wrong!! Malaysians are not stupid and neither they are fools.They are MOST tolerant breed amongst the world!! I experienced the injustices and tolerated them while I could be the chosen school captain or sent oversea to do complete my tertiary education if the equlity was there to send bright students to overseas, I would be more qualified than most of the Malay students who had been sent to learn what is right from wrong, I was sacrificed, and many more sacrifices had been made by you and your dearest son, YAB LGE. My sacrifice is insignificant if compared to those days you and your son were jailed in Kamunting jail before. I am 51 year soon. I wish I have no need to prepare for migration to Australia or New Zealand as many amongst those friends I had done. The most important question raised by Karpal is who is most possible succession after DSAI?? You or Hadi??Tok Guru??? Are you PR ready to accept LGE as possible next in line in case DSAI is being locked up again?? Are you all well prepared??? Do you have such a structure to sustain the killer blow to restrain your leader like DSAI?? Just like when a captain of a football team was injured and sent out by an umpire who may be unfair to the school captain, do you have the next in line to lead to the victory?? Do not run away from the possibility of even heaven could call DSAI too in a sudden way!! What si next?? You have YAB LGE, and PAS has someone in line, most probably we had another return of Wan Azizah or Nurul the daughter of DSAI,…. are they good without DSAI?? Come on, all Malaysians, we are lucky lots than many others to have foods on our dining tables, and so much and so plentiful for some amongst us to waste to create big bellies, we are the spoilt lots amongst some of us to waste our precious time to moan, groan, and even write nonsensical remarks to show off. Go to the field, and be counted. Be with the victims of earthquake of in Sichuan of China, and sleep in the cold winters without proper clothing, …… more could be done meaningful than keep chasing ghosts of fame, power to govern without LOVE and CARE, perhaps, we should learn more from Premier Wen of China as how he could provide food for 1.4 billions of Chinese in China, and stop talking BIg when we are so small as compared to China!! Hence, apply your common sense, my dear YB LKS, while you could, just listen for once, your true and real friend is Karpal Singh!!! Though he roared, he must have fear of God, as he was able to see the devil in making!!! Step a step further, and use you little common sense before you forget what had happened before, history repeats!!! I pray for all of you and I hope you all will be professional to put the public interests above all your selfish interests!! World financial crisis will give us all the challenges beyond your imaginations!! Get ready and be prepared for the worst to wash all us off feet, get enough food and get ready to go to the basic only, or all of us could argue till cow comes home!!! God bless you all!!

111. #111 by Taxidriver on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:45 am

At one time when Mahatir was down, UNMO members called him a mamak and …………….. Then when this same mamak was at the zennith of power and successfully cut the rulers to size, they did not show any unhappiness on the contrary shouted “HIDUP MAHATIR” This is Melayu UNMO!!

112. #112 by yhsiew on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:57 am

True, Najis is in charge of finance and Perak will have enormous advantage in terms of getting federal assistance for development when ruled by BN. However, that should not be the basis of favoring a BN government as it will stifle the democratization process in Perak.

The previous PR government must first be lawfully dismissed through a no-confidence vote before a new government can be considered.

113. #113 by monsterball on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:00 am

The pro MCA spinning wheelers are happy to apply their agree to disagree art..concerning Karpal Singh outburst over Anwar.
    The fact is…Karpal was totally wrong with his facts.
    LKS and LEG will keep quiet…..because they know Karpal is wrong.
    One said Karpal calling a spade is a spade.
    Jeffery loves to argue half truths matters….as if he does not know..Karpal is wrong.
    Karpal is brunt and truthful…and very brave too..like LKS.
    But if he wants to make a fool of himself….telling truthfully what he thinks…which are wrong…he has himself to be blame…and not drag LKS and LEG into the picture…based on him being the chairman on DAP.
    We just witness the unpopular decision of Sultan of Perak.
    Is he wrong? Certainly not….yet very wrong….ignoring the feelings of his subjects…..and the feelings of vast majority Malaysians…especially hearing him teaching others…morals…ethics and other values.
    The Sultan just advise Malaysians be lawful…that’s enough.
    One writer name Lee Kuan Yew…from Singapore…wrote out straight and blunt….on a petition letter put out by blogger Nathanial Tan…a welknown independent NGO man.
    Go read….what Lee Kuan Yew and more than 3000 wrote in that petition letter to the Sultan.
    Once you understand the whole picture….you will know….the Sultan is morally and ethically wrong….with a touch of a racialist…favoring UMNO.
    Karpal is 100% wrong about Anwar.
    Calling a spade is a spade…when his eyes are blind and blaring out nonsense….does not get Malaysians support.
    He wants to make a fool of himself..go ahead.

114. #114 by Loh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:06 am

///He ( Abdul Aziz) however added that neither the federal constitution nor the state constitution provided any remedy for the prevailing situation.

However he said that in constitutional law theory there was a view which allowed the head of state to take drastic measures to handle such a situation.

“This includes what is known as reserve powers. And apart from this power, I believe the sultan can act on the state authority vested in his office.

And he suggested that the two things the sultan could do now to solve the impasse are:

* To revoke the appointment of Zambry and restate Nizar (though this may not be necessary as revocation is enough to allow Nizar to continue), or

* To use the reserve powers to dissolve the assembly so that a state election could be held.///– Jamesy Says:

February 8th, 2009 at 23: 25.48
    ‘Hopping is legal and constitutional’

http://anwaribrahimblog.com/2009/02/08/hopping-is-legal-and-constitutional/#more-5351

If Zambry had been duly appointed according to proper procedure, then he could not be dismissed, according to article 16 (7) of the state constitution. Zambry can resign, and then Perak Legislative Assembly could be dissolved. Once resolved, it would not matter whether the LA was dissolved on account of Zambry’s resignation, or on account of a belated action by His Highness to pick up the option avails to him under Article 16(6), in connection with Nizar’s government.

Najib can settle this. He who bells the tiger has to be responsible.

115. #115 by Taxidriver on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:11 am

YB Kit,

I saw this picture of people burning the photograph of the assemblyperson, Hee, in front of DAP office. Persona
    lly, I don’t think this is is right because it is not our Chinese culture to do such. Additionally, we value and want to see democracy as practised. In similar fashion we should be seen to be practising it.

Having said that, your DAP members should by now leave the poor woman alone for her to do some soul-searching. The people harrassing her parents and family members reminds me of the way of the Ah Longs-when the borrower defaulted on payment, they go after the family members.

116. #116 by kerishamuddinitis on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:27 am

Let Zambry do his job the best he will and can. YOU HAD YOUR CHANCE. DAP, PKR AND PAS HAD YOUR CHANCE AND YOU BLEW IT.Worse, check out the quality of your own people first.

Don’t talk about the new MB from BN when all it took was a little lady from DAP unhappy about a silly new car to BRING DOWN A STATE GOVERNMENT! BUT RM25 million helped ease the decision as well.

This is what Raja Petra wrote about how PR – just another convenient collection of RACISTS fighitng over the spoils:

Then we began to hear grumblings. This State Assemblyman was not happy and wanted to resign. That State Assemblywoman was not happy and wanted to resign. Barely one year into the marriage and the marriage appeared to be breaking up. The Indians complained about not having enough Indian quotas. The Chinese grumbled about having the most number of seats but not being able to become Menteri Besar. The Malays grumbled about the ‘Chinese’ government not looking after the Malays.

It was all about race and about so-and-so being neglected and not being looked after better. Suddenly it was no longer about the rakyat. It was about your personal interest and position and about the quotas your race is being denied. Pakatan Rakyat was nothing but Barisan Nasional by another name.

What happened in Perak is good. I hope it will teach Pakatan Rakyat that it has to get its act together. The DAP lady’s crossover was triggered by something very trivial and goes to show she is more concerned about herself than about her party or about the rakyat. Everyone got a new Camry except her. So she sulked (merajuk) and left the party. If she had been given a new car she would not have sulked. A mere car brought the Perak government down.

If this is what brought the Perak government down, then it deserves to fall. The Pakatan Rakyat government in Perak used to be a non-Malay majority government. Now, it is an almost entirely Malay government. 27 of the 28 State Assemblymen are from Umno. Even if the three ‘independents’ join the new government it will be 29 Malays against only two Chinese. And there is not a single Indian State Assemblyman/woman in the new government.

What took 52 years of transformation has been destroyed in a mere days. Today, we are back to an entirely Malay government in Perak. And a DAP State Assemblywoman helped achieve this. A Chinese made the restoration of maruah Melayu (Malay dignity) possible. She should be given the next Ma’al Hijrah award and be accorded Bumiputera status.

I can only say that this serves Pakatan Rakyat right. They had it coming. When personal interests and racial issues override everything else, you deserve to fall. And there are many low quality wakil rakyat still in Pakatan Rakyat — DAP, PKR, as well as PAS. Expect more to cross over. The RM25 million dangled in front of their faces is just too difficult to say no to. After all, not everyone is in politics to serve the rakyat. Many are in it for their personal interests. And RM25 million is an attractive proposition.

————————————————————–

If that is the best Pakatan Rakyat can do for the RAKYAT, then the CHANGE will not happen. If Pakatan Rakyat cannot agree, accept and implement something radical (because it’s been unheard off in Malaysia for the last 30 years) as the MB’s decision to appoint the best candidate (a Chinese) to head up PKNS IN THE RAKYAT’S interest without MALAYS screaming blue murder that ALL HEADS of GOVERNMENT BODIES, QUASI GOVERNMENT BODIES and GLCs MUST be headed by MALAYS, then PR is doomed, the people have no hope and the change will will happen. Malays will continue to be the ‘ketuanan race,’ Chinese will never have their status changed from being pendatangs’ and the Indians will forever be the lost minority no-one listens to but instead uses as punching bags for the ills of society. GOD HELP MALAYSIA – we have racists in PR willing sell out at RM25mil and over trivial matters offering the RAKYAT hope of change to replace another corrupt gang of racists.
    HOBSON’S CHOICE!

LEAVE ZAMbRY ALONE.

CHECK YOUR OWN PEOPLE AND MAKE SURE THEY WILL NOT SELL THE RAKYAT OUT OVER A CAMRY AND TAKE RM25MIL TO THUMB THEIR NOSES AT YOUR PROMISE OF A A MALAYSIAN MALAYSIA!

HALLELUIAH! MALAYSIA IS BACK ON THE SLIDE TO SELF-DESTRUCTION.

117. #117 by 1WenCai on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:41 am

PR has to take the 1st step to return to the RAKYAT.

1) All the 28 ADUNs to resign, one by one, forcing by-elections every month. That will keep BN busy tarring all the roads in the 28 areas for the next 2 years. This will keep the anti-BN fire burning.

2) Every win in the by-election will further strengthen PR’s claim to the power of the people.

3) Do it now and not waiting for another issue to crop up. STRIKE WHILE THE IRON IS HOT.

4) I bet if there is any by-election in Perak, some top UMNO officials will not DARE to come and campaign there, like the CNY disappearance.

118. #118 by yhsiew on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:41 am

Although political defection is not the best method to effect a change of government, Anwar’s intention of overthrowing the government did carry some weight because he could not allow rampant corruption to go on in the government, let innocent people suffer under ISA abuse and leave the national economy go to ruin when Abdullah did not seem to care after 308.

The situation in the country was chaotic immediately after 308. There were quarrels and blaming among BN members and the country was virtually on “auto-pilot” mode. Being a responsible opposition leader, Anwar had to do something to save the country.

I personally prefer political parties follow the rule of law and abide by the country’s constitution if they want to change government.

119. #119 by yhsiew on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 7:51 am

Ooop! Error!

“leave the national economy go to ruin” should be “leave the national economy to ruin”.

120. #120 by Godfather on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:10 am

Taxidriver wrote:

“I don’t think this is is right because it is not our Chinese culture to do such. Additionally, we value and want to see democracy as practised. In similar fashion we should be seen to be practising it.”

Democracy is about the right to express oneself, and if it involves the burning or stomping of a picture of the turncoat from Jelapang, then so be it. If the family has indeed been harassed, then they can always take their detractors to a court of law.

The Chinese culture of doing nothing while the neighbour’s house burns is over.

121. #121 by Godfather on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:19 am

Kit:

Karpal isn’t going to listen to anybody, and I think he will try to rachet up the anti-Anwar rhetoric. The CEC should either suspend him or strip him of the Chairmanship.

122. #122 by undergrad2 on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:31 am

“Democracy is about the right to express oneself, and if it involves the burning or stomping of a picture of the turncoat from Jelapang, then so be it. ”

Burning pictures is an expression of free speech too.

But if it goes beyond and into physical assault, then that’s something else.

This woman is seen by many to have brought down the PR government in Perak singlehandedly. That’s quite a feat! With the benefit of hindsight LKS should have looked after his flock better than the did. Then perhaps it could have been avoided.

123. #123 by Bigjoe on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:45 am

There is something wrong with Zambry. He apparently got his PHD from Temple U in Philly BUT what I have noticed is his English is attrocious. I know Temple U and it may not be a great U but it still require a decent level of English to get a PHD from it. There is something very fishy about this. I have also read some of Zambry’s writing (which are all in Malay) and it shows a decent understanding of Islam but not the other subjects he relates to like economics or business. What is clear is he is Islamist with very traditional UMNO tendencies. He tries to stay positive for the people he is aligned to and never criticial of his party OR those that criticise it.

What I suspect of Zambry is that he looks competent but really is not as good as he think he is JUST LIKE Najib. In other words, he is a mini-Najib and its a good bet he has the same weaknesses – too full of himself and in secret will indulge and his beliefs are NOT strong.

The way to challenge Zambry is then to ask him the hard question – what about the freehold title for new villagers and Chinese schools AND religious schools? What about charging the two assemblymen for corruption? How does MCA feel about making Nee Exco insteand of MCA? Hit him on the contradictions and he will dig in but eventually contradict himself the same way Najib has done on money politics and corruption with the two corrupt assemblymen.

124. #124 by Godfather on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:47 am

You mean like the UMNO Putera guy who said he had a degree from Princeton, only to be revealed later that his degree was actually from Preston ?

125. #125 by Bigjoe on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 8:51 am

And one more thing, something someone else pointed out, like Najib, Zambry will spend and will not take a hard stand in any difficult issue, that is for sure.

126. #126 by computation on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:19 am

perhaps undergrad2 might check up on that
    morons phd qualifications.
    probably obtained in an underhand manner…

127. #127 by limkamput on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:29 am

Some of you have always said, “let the court decides” on the impasse in Perak. My say is – high hope lah.

Politics without principle and business without ethics – didn’t M Gandhi say this long time ago? Why is it so hard for us to understand? Didn’t PR and the people fight the present government because it has no principle and ethics in every damn thing they do? And why are we behaving exactly the very behaviour we despise and affront? Look, we shouldn’t be in the hurry to gain power, after all the stealing has been on-going for the last 50 years. Another few years will not make the difference. Be patient and stick to principle and I am sure when the time come the people will support PR to form the government. Right now, what I see is PR can’t wait to gain power, and in the process is willing to sacrifice principle and ethics. If PR starts to compromise before gaining power, what can we expect after they gain power? Please don’t let our thinking clouded by our desire to change. We must know what we change into. We must fight the present government with moral high ground because PR can’t match BN in underhand tactics and financial resources.

128. #128 by melurian on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:50 am

go look at all frontpage of major newspapers with the picture of him shaking hands with gerakan members and old perakians and dining in chinese dish. it’s so touching and moving, i think the mb is true to his heart as mb for all perakians regardless race…… syabas!

didn’t see nizar did this during cny and deepavali pula….

129. #129 by Bigjoe on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:52 am

One other thing, did anyone notice that Zambry who has been quite busy with many degrees and books and only 47 have 5 kids and the oldest is nearly an adult.. The man has his proclivities…Sensational journalist and papaprazis go do your work….

130. #130 by limkamput on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 9:55 am

You see, UMNO and UMNOputra will never change. Umno vice-president Ali Rustam is now asking Karpal Singh be detained under the Internal Security Act or have his citizenship revoked. Is this not seditious, demanding one’s (particularly a non Malay’s) citizenship be revoked. Why didn’t he demand that Nizar’s citizenship be revoked. A racist is what a racist does. He is blue blood racist.

131. #131 by Godfather on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:06 am

“…PR can’t match BN in underhand tactics and financial resources.”

Financial resources I agree, but then that’s because they continue to steal from the rakyat. Why can’t we engage them in “underhand” tactics as long as we are smart in the use of such tactics ? How many people can they put under ISA ? How many jails are there ? We play strictly by the rules, and we will be forever trampled by their dirty tactics. 50+ years is enough.

132. #132 by jfl on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:09 am

maybe it would do some good if karpal is detained under isa. as it is he doing so much damage to Pakatan with his uncalled for immature remarks and rebellious nature. karpal is a mole for all we know, so if he is thrown into prison under isa, he could down as a matyr for Pakatan. at least karpal could actually serve some purpose to Pakatan rather than harm it……

133. #133 by Godfather on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:10 am

Ali Rustam is engaged in a fight against Muhyiddin for the UMNO No. 2 post, and as March draws nearer, we will hear more and more racist comments. Not just from the clown from Melaka, but everyone who has a position at stake within UMNO. They have to shout loudest to “prove” their worth to the Malays and the unfortunate thing is that UMNO votes in those who shout the loudest.

After all, the PM in waiting shouted some time ago that he was going to bathe the keris in Chinese blood. Has the younger generation forgotten ?

134. #134 by ablastine on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:13 am

Karpal advocate DAP leaving the coalition because he cannot stand Anwar and some here categorise this outburst as the unvarnished fearless truth. They are nothing more than charlatans probably planted by the BN here to do just that – break up the coalition. The tiger of Jelutong is lending his level best to help them of course. Who stands to win when DAP pulls out of the coalition? Najib and his gang of course. We have learned how devious he can be in Perak. Do we need to see more of his work here? I personally think that Karpal is a complete liability to DAP and Pakatan being chairman of DAP. I think he should step down as soon as possible before he creates more trouble for everyone who aspire to kick the BN out in the next election for a new Malaysia.

135. #135 by drngsc on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:19 am

Hi Kit, I dont know where to post this.
    Can someone ask the old horse Karpal to shut up? This is not the time to divide. This is the time to stand together to overcome an adversity. There is a proper forum to air his views. but surely not to the ” PR hostile press “. He maybe partly right. I think that we should stop party hopping. But there must be some party discipline. Try and make him see the ” bigger ” picture.

136. #136 by Loh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:22 am

///There is something wrong with Zambry. He apparently got his PHD from Temple U in Philly BUT what I have noticed is his English is attrocious.///– Bigjoe

I think he is not the exception. Thaksin, the former PM of Thailand also has a PhD from USA, and his English is bad too.

137. #137 by limkamput on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:34 am

Godfather, if what you said is true, i.e. all party aspirants will shout louder as UMNO party poll draws nearer, it only goes to show that it is we the people – Malays, Chinese, Indians and others – who are racists. It is simple; politicians will resort to racism only when they think most people are racists. I am not sure this well trodden path still works. May be it is still effective to win UMNO party election, but these politicians may not win when they face the people. I feel that the people in general are becoming less racist. It is scumb*g politicians who are trying their level best to reinforce racism in each of us. We must not succumb to racism and be forever manipulated and made use of by scumb*g politicians. With regard to justified use of underhand tactic, again I want to quote Gandhi – two wrongs do not make one right.

138. #138 by taiking on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:42 am

For decades umnoputras has been robbing non-bumis of their rice bowl through the perverted application of NEP. But non-bumis by and large can still accept such perversion because it is only a matter of money which can in any event still be earned back. Now umnoputras have grown greedier. They go for land grab and power grab. Power grab within umno, although every bit concern us for the successful grabbers would go on to hold important positions in the government, we are nontheless not bothered for fear of being branded as interfering with umno internal affairs.

Now they decided to extend the grab outside umno. They do it to a whole state. Not merely jostling for position but actually robbing the elected ruling party of power to govern. This affects not just non-bumis but bumis as well. This affects the whole polulace of perak state. And worse. ulike NEP, robbing the ruling state government of power is like robbing the people of their land.

Umno has grown far too arrogant and have ignored one important fact. They actually did no lose by a slim majority in perak during 308 as the numbers in assembly suggest. They unfairly and illegally reduced their lost to a slim majority by improper use of government machinary, MSM, public money and corruption in that election. If the playing field was flat, they would have lost severely. In other words, a clear (and not a slim) majority of perak people actully do not want or support umno.

Grabbing power in such circumstances without seeking a fresh mandate by holding a new election is stupidity of the first order. Anyway it is good for now umno has whipped up people’s sentiments against them in a big way – in a way where every perakians and malaysians can stand up and speak with united voice. It is now a case of umnoputras vs non-umnoputras.

139. #139 by Godfather on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:42 am

I also agree that two wrongs don’t make a right, but who do you tell this to ? Anwar ? Najis ? It has reached a stage where the first to blink loses, and both of these guys know it.

140. #140 by sheriff singh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 10:54 am

An “illegal” Exco is going to be sworn in tomorrow. How is PR going to react to this?

Will Najib or Pak Lah show up?

141. #141 by chanjoe on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:12 am

I really dont know WHY???? This is the time for consolidations and not separation. Karpal should keep his comments to himself at this time or express it out when in the PR meeting with Anwar present.

I bet he never gets any views from DAP leaders esp LKS & LGE. He always like to blah blah at the wrong time. BN welcomes his silly outburst and will use it as another unsoilictited weapon to kill PR.

We are seeing internal fighting in PR when everyone should be solidly together to fight BN.

I know Karaly is calling a spade a spade but the timing and occasion is not right…not when you are fighting a BIGGER war in which everyone is pooling their resources together. Did Karpal make his presence in Perak the last 3 days to lend his support?

I bet DAP will not lift a finger to censore him as no one dares and if they do…a bigger earthquake will happen in DAP and will lead to the fall of Penang and Selangor too. Karpal should know where he stands but please…please…please not at this time.

142. #142 by vsp on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:20 am

Kapal is calling Anwar to step down as the Pakatan head. Miserable Kapal: he wanted to sue the Sultan of Perak and Anwar was against it. I think Anwar is doing the right thing to focus the attack on Najib and the new Mentri Besar and to leave the Sultan out of the picture. But no, Kapal does not see the big picture. Like a raging bull he will charge into the china shop and smash everything into smithereens. I don’t know why this blind bull when he sees the “misbehaving royalty” or the “PAS hudud” red flags he will suddenly loose sight of all good judgements and charge out blindly to his death.

Kapal, kapal wake up, this is the new reality: the people don’t care whether you succeed to bash the royalty or not, but they want all races to exist together. Before the 2008, nobody has ever dreamt that this reality would come true if not for the sheer determination of Anwar. Whatever his fault, nobody is perfect, everybody makes mistakes, I will still bet on him.

Kapal, you have not grown up politically. You are still a childish brat who only likes to throw tantrums if you do not get your way. Yesteryear, the people tolerated and cheered your childish ways because they knew that your party have no avenues to dent the mighty BN colossus. But now, your party is part of the ruling coalition in 5-states. You have to ditch your gutter politics and adapt to to a more civilised and sophisticated mode. Your first salvo during the 1st Parlamentary session is no different from what Bung Moktar and other rude BN MPs are doing.

Kapal, just to satisfy your disgust for the royalty, go ahead and sue the Sultan and give ammunitions to the BN to divide and rule. Do you want that to happen? [deleted]

143. #143 by computation on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:23 am

“After all, the PM in waiting shouted some time ago that he was going to bathe the keris in Chinese blood. Has the younger generation forgotten ?”
    Godfather

NO!! NO!!
    :D

144. #144 by limkamput on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:31 am

Naj!b reiterated that the welfare of the Chinese community in Perak would be looked after by the Barisan government.

You are right, which means you are wrong! For 50 years the Chinese new villagers can’t get the land titles to their homes. The PR government did it in less than one year and you have tried to sabotage it. Lest you forget but we don’t.

145. #145 by alberttye on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:37 am

KOTA KINABALU: Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin’s refusal to resign as mentri besar as directed by the Sultan of Perak is an act of treason, said Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar.

Syed Hamid is talking nonsense again after threatening to use ISA against those who oppose the pirate Zambry gaverment.

146. #146 by Thor on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:42 am

Please ask our Malaysian \Colonel Sanders\ to keep his mouth shut again.
    Last time, it was about the hudud law and now he’s pushing Anwar.
    How come he always speaks at the wrong time when there’s a crisis.
    Is it because of his old age?
    Don’t you ever make things worse even further, Colonel!
    We just have to learned from mistakes.
    We voters are not giving up and why are you???
    Are’nt you suppose to be great and wise?

147. #147 by alberttye on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:47 am

Pls read what these top Umnoputra leaders talked:

Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muh- yiddin Yassin said Pakatan Rakyat’s legal advisers should tell Nizar to respect the Sultan’s decision.

Muhyiddin, who is International Trade and Industry Minister, said Pakatan’s legal advisers should not allow Perak to have two mentris besar as it would only cause confusion and hinder administration of the state.

He said it was important for Pakatan to respect the Ruler’s decision as no one would want to see Nizar commit treason against the Sultan.

Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam, meanwhile, said DAP chairman Karpal Singh should be detained under the Internal Security Act or have his citizenship revoked.

Instead of running the country, they are now bringing Umno election campaign into the Perak controversy.

148. #148 by Thor on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:47 am

Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin’s refusal to resign as mentri besar as directed by the Sultan of Perak is an act of treason, said Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar.

Says who???
    Wanna get some shoes thrown at your funny face?

149. #149 by computation on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 11:50 am

“Says who???
    Wanna get some shoes thrown at your funny face?”
    Thor

after the shoes have walked all over najis…

150. #150 by alberttye on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 1:01 pm

I think it is a very good idea to throw a shoe at those Umnoputra leaders who talk nonsense and act despicably !

151. #151 by alberttye on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 3:47 pm

Umno youth hot heads held demonstration today.

?????????????????????????????????????

KJ suggested Sultan to expel YAB Nizar from Perak !

He brought shame to Oxford University with such a childish proposal.

Obviously, Umnoputras are the ones who are guilty of dragging the Sultan into the controversy. They do not care about ethics or morality at all !!!

152. #152 by Loh on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:09 pm

///KJ suggested Sultan to expel YAB Nizar from Perak !///

How then can MB Nizar rule from outside the state? MB Nizar cannot be sacked, based on Article 16 (7) of the consitution.

153. #153 by alberttye on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 4:37 pm

In a statement issued in Kuala Lumpur, Cheras Umno division chief Datuk Syed Ali AlHabshee, reiterated his call for the Home Ministry to strip Karpal Singh of his citizenship.

This is how Umno warlords behave !!!

The last time it was the Bukit Bendera division chief

154. #154 by alberttye on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:04 pm

IPOH, Feb 9 — Deputy Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin called for Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin to be stripped of his citizenship as he led protests by the Barisan Nasional (BN) faithful here today as part a campaign to label the Pas man a traitor.

My god, what kind of leader is he ???

Should Oxford consider strip him of his degree ??

155. #155 by alberttye on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 5:09 pm

Khairy J is behaving like samseng as the following reports shows:

KJ also called on Umno Youth members to guard the gates to the state secretariat tomorrow as Nizar and his executive councillors are expected to continue to try to report for work.

“If you see the illegal government coming, I order you as deputy Youth chief to do what is necessary,” he said.

Later, when pressed on what is “necessary” by reporters, Khairy said that as the Ipoh police chief had assured him that they would not allow the PR men to enter the premises, Umno Youth would stand down.

“I hold him to his promise. But if they are not able to deliver, then I cannot guarantee their actions due to their anger,” he said

156. #156 by Jong on Monday, 9 February 2009 - 6:23 pm

“The PR government did it in less than one year and you have tried to sabotage it.
    Lest you forget ” – limkamput

That’s right, Najib is truly devil in disguise! [deleted]

157. #157 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 February 2009 - 5:38 pm

///KOTA KINABALU: Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin’s refusal to resign as mentri besar as directed by the Sultan of Perak is an act of treason, said Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar.///

Did Hamid suggest that the police would offer Nizar personal protection under ISA, like he did to a reporter?

So Hamid would resign if asked to. Have Malaysians lost their right to be heard in court just because the constitutional monarch made a decision said to be in pursuance of the constitution. Is Malaysia returning to the days of absolute monarch, or is it just for non-UMNO members?