Perak political crisis – all options will have to be considered

The Election Commission has acted unconstitutionally outside its jurisdiction in refusing to recognize the decision of the Perak Speaker, V. Sivakumar on the vacancy of the Changkat Jering and Behrang state assembly seats and to hold by-elections.

As pointed out clearly by the former Election Commission Chairman, Tan Sri Rashid Rahman, the Election Commission’s constitutional duty is to act on the Perak Speaker’s official notification on the vacancy of the two state assembly seats and to call for by-elections to be held in the next 60 days.

It is no business of the Election Commission to act and usurp the jurisdiction of the courts to dispute the Speaker’s decision – as any such legal challenge should come from Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi and Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu if they want to challenge the legality of their resignations from their respective state assembly seats.

In this case, the Election Commission has even acted as a court of law – in a decision which is clearly influenced by the political interests and considerations of the Barisan Nasional.

With the further odds against the Pakatan Rakyat state government in Perak, all options to resolve the political crisis in Perak will have to be considered.

1. #1 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:30 pm

After losing 2 straight by-elections, umno will not allow itself to be defeated in 2 more

2. #2 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:35 pm

EC overrides the state government. Go to Federal Court for a decision.

3. #3 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:46 pm

It simply means that the EC has rejected the Speakers letters and accepted the two frogs letters. Is EC a court of law and the Chairman, its judge?

4. #4 by cheong on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:46 pm

Looks like the best option now is to go back to the rakyak again to seek a clearer mandate.

5. #5 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:46 pm

Frogs feature prominently in folklore, fairy tales and popular culture. They tend to be portrayed as benign, ugly, clumsy, but with hidden talents.

In Malaysia, the Bota, Behrang and Changkat Jering varieties have become the most sought-after froggies. This is not surprising considerinfg the fact that those froggies who leapfrogged from Pairin Kitingan’s PBS in 1994 went on to become rich beyond their wildest dreams

6. #6 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:49 pm

Did we not know whose man Lasit Lahman is?

7. #7 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:56 pm

PR should not fall into trap of exhausting their resources in Perak state election with Sarawak election looming. Remember that Najib is a book reader including Sun Tzu’s art of war. Its all possible his intention is to exhaust PR resources in Perak before the Sarawak election.

However, if Perak can be won with a huge gain AND there is enough time before Sarawak election to collect resources, then its worth it to go for it. A big win in Perak can build huge momentum in Sarawak which is enticing.

BUT if after a marginal win and then a Sarawak election is called very soon after, PR can be stretched to the limit of its resources and hence allow Najib to recoup his poor reputation….

Be careful!!!

8. #8 by Kelvenho on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 2:58 pm

The election commission belongs to BN. Why, because the chairman’s salary is paid by BN. So you don’t expect the commission is free and
    fair. I strongly believe the only solution for Perak is to have a fresh
    mandate from the people. So this time the people of Perak should choose a very strong state government base on transparency, fair,
    clean and corruption free Perak State.

9. #9 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:01 pm

Powerful figures (be they past or present) might have influenced decisions of the Election Commission.

10. #10 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:03 pm

Anyone of BN mentality should be removed from Pakatan Rakyat. It is a serious business. The YB of DAP who went missing and with allegation of defecting to MCA, should not be trusted as well.

So much money are floating around. The most expensive brands in the world are from boleh, the boleh politicians

11. #11 by sani on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:07 pm

YB

Isn’t the EC suppose to run Elections?
    Isn’t the House self regulated?
    Isn’t the Monarch, the boss of both the House + the EC?

I don’t think if Tuanku, give the nod for snap state election. The EC dare to oppose? Or do they. You see, Najib is a student of Mahathir.

12. #12 by k1980 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:13 pm

PR elected representatives must voluntarily sign fresh anti-hopping pledges, witnessed by judges who need to affirm that they do so under their own free will, and not under duress. The whole process needs to be recorded on tape so that no one can claim to be forced to sign the pledges.

13. #13 by Tonberry on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:16 pm

How on earth could the EC have the power to reject the speaker’s decision. The EC’s job is only to conduct an (by)election. It is clearly that the EC is trying to justify the 2 frogs crossing over to Umno.

14. #14 by localgrad on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:37 pm

walauyeh, since when the EC has become the court of law and even gave its own verdict over decision of the honourable speaker.

The most the EC can do it to delay the decision and ask the duo frogs to seek legal assistance before the EC has to make a final decision.

This one is worst than Rashit!

Yeh, Malaysia Boleh!

15. #15 by I Malaysian on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:38 pm

All options must be taken into account of course. But to end this instability and to ensure smooth administration of the state, a snap another state election will be the best solution. Crossover is not a good practice and therefore PR should abstain itself from it.

16. #16 by localgrad on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:45 pm

walauyeh, since when the EC has become the court of law and even gave its own verdict over decision of the honourable speaker.

The most the EC can do is to delay the decision and ask the duo frogs to seek legal assistance before the EC has to make a final decision.

This one is worse than Rash-it!

Yeh, Malaysia Boleh

17. #17 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:51 pm

dissolve state assembly is best solution. lets perak folk to choose again and make a more powerful state goverment for PERAK.
    I believe PR will gain more seat if state election again.

18. #18 by wesuffer on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:54 pm

this is just beginning of UNDER NAJIB ERA.
    AFTER MARCH 2009. ALOTS UNEXPECTED THING WILL HAPPEN.
    BEWARE PR. AND ALL MALAYSIAN..

19. #19 by ismailhakim on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 3:57 pm

Another blogger says Perak Sultan cannot this time keep quiet and must intervene in the crisis for the sake of the Perak rakyat

click here: http://malaysianunplug.blogspot.com/2009/02/disgusting-trend-in-malaysian-politics.html

20. #20 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:00 pm

I think the Sultan of Perak should zoom in to MAKE CLEAR his decision whether he wants by-elections, dissolving the state assembly or maintaining the status quo.

Any indecision will bring anxiety to the people of Perak and affect investment sentiments in the state.

Political uncertainty must be avoided, especially during a global economic downturn.

21. #21 by optimuz on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:15 pm

Kit,

I’m more interested to know if there is any credence to the Nga-Ngeh domination…could these guys be the reason why things are going south in Perak?

22. #22 by Thinking Two on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:17 pm

That two duly signed letters are VALID.

All cheque that was pre-signed and filled in the date later still clear through the baking system!!!!!!

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:17 pm

As I took pains to explain in earlier thread – “RM7 billion national economic stimulus package or RM7 billion BN economic stimulus package?” – EC’s decision is predictable, and it has always been a race (right from the start of Perak’s turmoil) between which is faster – (1) Nizar/PR’s immediate calling of a snap state election of 59 constituencies or (2) BN’s motion/vote of no confidence (with all “due process of assembly proceedings in the State Assembly” and emergency motion, short notice being factored in) to take over the state government from PR – as to which time is crucial.

By all counts whichever – whether PR or BN – secures majority of the Perak state assembly, this majority is so wafer thin that such a state government is inherently unstable.

The conditions are therefore favourable for a snap state election for a fresh ‘bigger’ mandate from Perakians, and therefore the HRH Sultan, if request is made to him for the dissolution of state assembly, will likely grant it.

So what is PR waiting for? Whether it can afford the campaign expenses in economic downdown?

If you believe that change is a thing whose time has come and cannot be resisted just by bulwark of large wads of cash, then you should have faith that supporters will assist financially to fight the BN Electoral Juggernaut/large campaign funds and voters will take the BN’s largese and still vote for PR. [To a certain extent this is vindicated in KT By Elections].

Does the PR believe in the strength of this wind of change? Is there any other option? That is the question.

24. #24 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:27 pm

I wonder if the Chair of the EC knows what he is doing? In view of the interests of the PEOPLE, the Sultant of Perak should decide if the interests of the State is served; otherwise desolve the State assembly and have general State election. This will certainly let the people of Perak make a firmer decision on the next Gomen!

25. #25 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:31 pm

I think it is time now for Perak MB to make a request to Perak Sultan for dissolving the State Assembly. Why does PR want to give Najib a chance to show an improved result in his report card to the Umno General Assembly? If the Perak State Election is to be held before the Umno General Assembly, the chances for PR to win a simple majority is high. People’s hearts are not by the side of Umno now. PR leaders should be brave enough to face the challenge from Najib. BN’s money politics may not work effectively to the advantage of BN at this point of juncture since people are more concerned about the natural justice of the victims such as Altantuya, RPK, the police brutality at Taipan Police Station and their Freehold Land Title status in the New Villages.

26. #26 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:57 pm

There is confusion and contradicting reports told and reported.
    But to get the Election Commission to decide is making nonsense out of law.
    Lawyers gave their views. Public opinions…plentiful in favour of by-elections.
    At the end of everything…the final say is by government and when have you ever seen UMNO is fair to PR?
    PR is still managing Perak State…with a razor thin one vote majority.
    Now lets wait and see if the RM50 million bribes given by Najib is true or not.
    Are we not feeling sick of our country’s politics…..so low class…so undemocratic..so childish?

27. #27 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 4:58 pm

Sorry to sidetrack.

Top Malaysia banker, Nazir Razak, the brother of incoming prime minister Najib Razak, wants review of race policy.

@@http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idINKLR27276020090203?rpc=611

28. #28 by mata_kucing on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:01 pm

It’s going to get a lot messier. There’s only one option and that is to call for a state election. Get the Sultan consent and go for it. Give Umno a piece of their own medicine. It will be another tsunami and this one will be the last nail in Umno’s and BN coffin. There is little doubt that PR will win with a much bigger majority this time round. You have nothing to lose and plenty to gain. Najib will wet his pants.

29. #29 by wanderer on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:03 pm

This is as good a time as any, to call BN bluff. PR should throw in everything, once and for all, to capture the State again convincingly. Malaysians appreciate fighters and not slimy characters which UMNO have many. PR should not miss this golden opportunity and will definitely, be rewarded handsomely…other States may want to climb on board.

30. #30 by Raja Chulan on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:07 pm

Dear LKS,

This is another clear example of the EC (its chairman !) showing his gratitude to his political masters for appointing him to this plum job after retirement last year.

In this country, you don’t need a good brain to become the EC Chairman. A good tongue, is all you need to give BN a good lick !!

I am ashame of this country, Malaysia.

31. #31 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:11 pm

All Malaysian laws have long gone down the lonkang since mahatir became the Pin 1974, and replaced with UMNO laws. Tun Hussein Onn who was a lawyer by training became very angry with mahatir because of this. Anyway, I think the best couse of action for PR is to seek HRH the Perak Sultan’s consent to dissolve the State Assembly to seek a fresh mandate from the Perakians who, I believe, will return PR with a very much stronger mandate. Forget about the EC chairman who must have already received a lot of gule-gula to break the law. HRH is still alert and wise enough to know that some people have disregard the laws of his State and to act as befitting his wisdom. GOOD LUCK PR AND ALL THE PERAK VOTERS.

32. #32 by ablastine on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:14 pm

There is not much point wasting time arguing with the election commission which of course is owned by UMNO. The best course of action I feel is to work towards a dissolution of the State government and call for a snap State election. The mandate coming from the people of the entire State of Perak will possibly crush UMNO and BN. An unassailable majority will put to rest any attempts by UMNO to try to use money and threat of prosecution to induce Pakatan members to hop over. In fact if the majority is significant enough it will simply just bury UMNO and BN as they will not be able to find anyone stupid enough to jump onto their sinking ship. Having lost the last two by election so badly despite so much of effort, I am incline to think the UMNO government will not dare to allow this to happen- the state election.

33. #33 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:16 pm

This is what umno/bn stood for.
    “We can do what we like unto you but we will not tolerate anyone doing the same unto us.”

There is no law in this country that can punish umno for all its wrong doing. The only way is by “PEOPLE’S POWER” through elections, no doubt it also faces many obstacles to fight them, but that’s the only way.

Pakatan Rakyat in Perak should dissolve the state assembly and call for fresh election. That is the only way to go, win or lose is another matter rather than holding to power on a thin line, worrying who next is defecting with no full concentration to run the state.

Let the people decide once for all who they want to rule the state.

The next important thing is the selection of candidates. I am sure this time there are going to be a lot of infighting for candidacy and PR must withstand this hurdle. The type that are money face, power greedy and those who like to threaten must go. Chose wisely, for if PR were to lose this state, all the hard work and struggle to change at the federal level will come to nought at the next GE.

Malaysia For All

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty one years.

34. #34 by localgrad on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:20 pm

Oh yhsiew,

But pls remember that Najb and Nazir have different brain set.

One is Cambridge brain, the other Keris brain….

35. #35 by hawk on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:33 pm

The EC can decide whatever they want. But that doesn’t mean their decision is binding on the Perak State’s Legislative Assy’s Speaker.

As far as the Speaker and State Leg Assy is concerned, the two seats have been declared vacant and the two donkeys are barred from attending State’s Leg. Assy’s sitting and to draw any SLA allowances. Pure and simple. Nothing to worry since, PR still holds a 1 seat majority.

Let the two donkeys take their case to court to challenge the Speaker’s and SL.Assy’s decision.

EC and its Chairman and their decision doesn’t bind the State of Perak which is a sovereign State with its own government and own ruler; although they are signatories of the Federation Agreement. Being part of the Federation of Malaysia doesn’t mean surrendering your sovereign lock, stock and barrel.

The EC has acted unconstitutionally and in excess of their jurisdiction which is to conduct fair and transparent elections.

36. #36 by somaris on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 5:42 pm

TO ALL PERAK PEOPLE,
    WE want Bn out of PERAk.enough is enough . We are happy with our new MB of Perak..
    YB LKS
    WE need strong DAP,PKR ,PAS, who work for the people not for BN or money.I do hope you well and happy new year to you and ur familly. God bless you and ur familly.
    Ireland

37. #37 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:21 pm

Najib, come out and face PR in the by-elections like a man!

38. #38 by grace on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:34 pm

Dissolve the stae assembly and call for fresh elections. Make sure that traitors are weeded out.
    Traitors have no place in PR!!!

39. #39 by sirrganass on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:41 pm

Siapa menderhaka kepada Sultan Perak???? Sultan telah memperkenankan adanya Pilihan Raya baru. Speaker telah setuju dan Menteri Besar Perak telah setuju. DAP/PKR/PAS telah setuju.

Siapa yang DERHAKA? Sebenarnya siapakah penderhaka kepada Sultan?

Thks a lot to all Perak Chinese that respect our sultan. Syabas!

And “Sial/Celaka” pada bangsa melayu yang derhaka kepada sultannya sendiri…

40. #40 by onlinejb on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:41 pm

PR will definitely win with two third majotiry if fresh elections are call in Perak. Do it PR we are fully behind you.

41. #41 by KennyGan on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:46 pm

Note: This is not written by me. I picked it up from Dr. Hsu’s forum posted by ‘Francis’

State seats to be lost by Umno in case of a snap by-election.

1. Rungkup in Bagan Datok: UMNO won by 454 (2,330 in 2004)

2. Sungai Manikin P. Salak Umno won by 1,374 (3,599 in 2004)

3. Kampong Gajah, P. Salak Umno won by 1,415 (over 5,000 in 2004)

4. Chenderiang in Tapah. Won by MCA by 50% reduced margin. PKR fielded an Indian in a pure Chinese base. Will be corrected.

5. Ayer Kuning in Tapah (Umno won by 3,252. Close to 7000 in 2004). However, research shows the Umno candidate got 74% of the 48% non-Malay electorate. Now those non-Malays will vote for PAS which fielded a candidate here.

6. Tualang Sekah in Kampar. Umno won by 1,500 (3,500 in 2004). PKR fielded an Indian in the majority Malay seat. Though he did well, fielding a Malay here will beat the pulp out of Umno. Non-Malays are 43%
    7. Sungai Rapat. Umno won by 636 against Pas. Hamida Osman, the DUN here is the one who called Indians snakes later after she won. Her majority in 2004 was over 6,000 but she survived by 600 in 2008. Pas will win outright here. Furthermore, PKR V.President is the MP here (Gopeng).

8. Belanja in Parit. Pas lost by over 1,800 (over 3,000 in 2004) due to non-Malay vote in 2008. With Umno taking a dig at the non-Malays and Pas accomdating them, and with Perak’s large non-Malay vote, Umno will lose every seat it won in March 08 due to the fear of Pas and the fact that PKR was unknown.

9. Bota is in Parit. The canidate defected to PKR and will retain his seat. Yesterday he said the pple who came to welcome him couldn’t be obtained even during his Ceramahas in March 08.

10. Pengkalan Baru. Umno won by 14 votes only. Yes 14 votes (over 2,200 in 2004). Pas swept the Malay vote but got less non-Malay vote. Today, Pas will retain malay vote and obtain non-Malay vote. That 14 votes for Umno will be 1,400 votes for Pas victory KT style.
    11. Bukit Chandaran in Kuala Kangsar. Umno won by 1,600 votes (close to 6,000 in 2004). With Rafidah Aziz on her way out (she won by 1,000 unlike 5,600 in 2004), Umno will lose here.

12. Manong in K. Kangsar. Umno won by 749 (2,353 in 2004). Pas will sweep Malay vote and get non-Malay vote as well while PKR can obtain its one ADUN here.
    13. Manjoi in Tampun. Umno won by 348 votes. Yet in 2004, it was close to 8,000 majority.

14. Lintang in Sungai Siput. Umno won by 1,376 (5,389 in 2004). PKR controls Parliament while DAP has the other DUN by a big margin.

15. Chenderoh in Padang Rengas of Nazri bloody racist Aziz. Umno won by 1,749 votes (4,771 in 2004). Note that Nazri survived by a whisker yet had a big win in 2004. Umno is losing further and further.The other DUN won captured by Pas ousting Umno.

16. Kamuting in Taiping. Umno won by 555 votes (4,571 in 2004). DAP has the Parliament seat here and Pas will cash on that apart from ISA is haram votes. Kamuting Prison is here.

17. Trong in Bukit Gantang (Pas captured the MP). Umno won by 916 votes (3,020 in 2004). It has a decent 30% non-Malay vote. PAS will win here.
    18. Alor Bongus in Bagan Serai. (PKR Malay candidate outsted UMNO MP here). Umno won the DUN by 95 votes (3,416 in 2004). PKR to easily capture the DUN
    19. Selama in Larut. Umno won by 355 votes (2,053 votes in 2004).

20. Kubu Gajah in Larut. Umno won by 66 votes (1,403 in 2004).

42. #42 by raven77 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 6:51 pm

Najib is basically saying, I am the law. Now all you goons and Altantunya lovers can do what you want. The message is loud and clear….how you gonna trap this wild creature. Brains or brawn…..

43. #43 by Thomas Lee on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:09 pm

I proposed that the DAP and other the Pakatan Rakyat parties adopt this sworn declaration for elected representative:

This document acknowledges and confirms that I, _____________________________________,
    MyKad No: __________________,
    hereby declares under oath that:

1. I am a candidate selected and nominated by the Demoncratic Action PartY (DAP) to stand for the general election / by-election on ________________ for the parliamentary / state constiuency of _______________,

2. I am at all time merely standing for the said general election / by-election as an official representatitive of the DAP and am not representing my own individual person.

3. I am therefore required and obligated to vacate the said parliamentary / state seat I won at the said general election / by-election as an official representative of the DAP to vacate and resign as the Member of Parliament or State Assemblyman if I resign or has been sacked as a member of the DAP.

4. This declaration under oath is made by me voluntarily, without any pressure or force from anyone, in the presence of three witnesses, namely

(a)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________),

(b)____________________________

and

(c)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________).

5. This declaration under oath constitutes my own personal legal action and obligation as a person with self-respect, honesty, credibility, accountability and integrity, and I will, at all times and under all circumstances, including in a court of law, affirm it without reservation as my free and true conviction.

6. This declaration under oath is duely attested, confirmed,and ratified by my own personal signature and thumbprint to be the true and final testament of my status as merely an official elected representative of the DAP and that I will be legally obilgated, without doubts or questions, to vacate my elected position the moment I cease to be a member in benefit of the DAP.

7. If I ever violate the terms and conditions stated in this sworn declaration, which I accepted and signed without force or pressure, I shall be liable to pay a sum of RM2,000,000 (two million ringgit) to the DAP.

Signed on this day of _________________

and accompanied by my thumbprint

in the prescene of:

Witnesss 1: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

Witnesss 2: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

Witnesss 3: _____________________(MyKad No:_________)

================================

44. #44 by Thomas Lee on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:25 pm

CORRECTED VERSION:

I proposed that the DAP and other the Pakatan Rakyat parties adopt this sworn declaration for an elected representative:

This document acknowledges and confirms that
    I, _____________________________________,
    MyKad No: __________________,
    hereby declares under oath that:

1. I am a candidate selected and nominated by the Demoncratic Action PartY (DAP) to stand for the general election / by-election on ______________ for the parliamentary / state constiuency of _______________,

2. I am at all time merely standing for the said
    general election / by-election as an official
    representatitive of the DAP and am not representing my own individual person.

3. I am therefore required and obligated to vacate the said parliamentary / state seat I won at the said general election / by-election as an official
    representative of the DAP if I resign or has been
    sacked as a member of the DAP.

4. This declaration under oath is made by me
    voluntarily, without any pressure or force from anyone, in the presence of three witnesses, namely:

(a)____________________________

(b)____________________________

and

(c)____________________________
    (MyKad No: ____________).

5. This declaration under oath constitutes my own
    personal legal action and obligation as a person with self-respect, honesty, credibility, accountability and integrity, and I will, at all times and under all circumstances, including in a court of law, affirm it without reservation as my free and true conviction.

6. This declaration under oath is duely attested,
    confirmed,and ratified by my own personal signature and thumbprint to be the true and final testament of my status as merely an official elected representative of the DAP and that I will be legally obilgated, without doubts or questions, to vacate my elected position the moment I cease to be a member in benefit of the DAP.

7. If I ever violate the terms and conditions stated in this sworn declaration, which I accepted and signed without force or pressure, I shall be liable to pay a sum of RM2,000,000 (two million ringgit) to the DAP.

Signed on this day of _________________

and accompanied by my thumbprint

in the prescene of:

Witnesss 1: _____________________
    (MyKad No:_________)

Witnesss 2: _____________________

Witnesss 3: _____________________

================================

45. #45 by ch on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:26 pm

Dear All,
    my view is that politicians in Malaysia now are too embroiled into their own survival than the longer term view of the economy ramifications the country would endure brought about by the global financial melt down. Further to this problem of financial melt down, Malaysia would face a precarious situation of increase in crime index, poorer lifestyle vis-a-vis boom time and perhaps people struggling to think of how placing food on the table for their family. These are real hard-pressed situation and I am rather amazed as to how ruling government members and opposition alike are still thinking as to how confronting each other to hang on to power. This is incredulous to say the very least! Politicians getting busy telephoning or smsing each other as to their latest allegiances. This goes to prove that politicians are at the end of the day interested for themselves and it is resolute ignorant for one to think if they are fighting for your rights! Let’s get real! In today’s society, unless you choose to lead a life of solitude and in seclusion, it is inevitable that either one tries to manipulate the thinking of others or one gets manipulated by others. Your thoughts and and your views on events are manipulated or influenced by events that you have seen or experienced by yourself, or have been tought by your parents, your peers or in schools. Similarly, I strongly believe that Malaysia will eventually face the vagaries of the global financial melt-down as much as the ruling government may try to believe. My personal take is that Malaysia will have to embrace with the inenvitable ie. to embrace meritrocracy and cut off the current approach along racial line. How long can you stop the rain from falling or better still, can you stop the rain from falling? Even in the most arid land of Africa, rain will eventually fall one day. It could be one month, one year or even 10 years late, but it would eventually rain. Are we as Malaysian, whether ruling government or otherwise ready to such eventuality? We are probably not, given the current situation whereby everybody are just interested as to clinging to power! Sad but the truth is we are only interested in power!. If i may, I think the Malaysian government under Dr. M has chosen the easy and logical path then, capatilizing on the needs and desires of both the major and the minor races of the time. What we are looking at are the after-affects of those short-term actions. Did the government at that time think through the eventualities of those measures? Were their assumptions too idealistic or unrealistic then? Or did they do a proper “cause and effect” analysis then? The Japanese are extremely good at this. But then again, Dr. m with his famous look east policy have consulted the Japs on this? Or perhaps he did but choose to ignore in favour of his self interest? All things considered, Malaysia is a no doubt a good place to live for a long long time to come. But then again, for this to happen the government of the day cannot broad-brush the various social issues that are crooping up today by saying they are irrelevant or temporary. Some may say that Dr. M had managed the country with a strong hand but one can argue that he had actually mis-managed by not putting in place systems that stand the test of time. He did not implace ior implement some of the less popular but perhaps necessary policies like a time table for the eventual dismantling of policies which are race-based. Baceause society which are in favour of segregration or divide is not durable. As correctly pointed out people will look out for scapegoat(s) to vent their anger. Malaysia has always be on the populist line i.e. to favour other over others in order to popularize. But the question is now whether this would be the right thing to do going forward.

My take is that politicians are now living for their own survival. Has anyone got a counter policy to spring board Malaysia out of this financial quagmire? Or has anyone be them from ruling government or ooposition has a policy apart from the double RM7 billion stimulus programme that would place Malaysia higher above board? As YB Kit Siang has correctly pointed out that the stimulus programmes could be for the good of BN politicians but has he or have us got something better on alternative. If yes, please table them to save Malaysia as we are living to fight for our own political survival rather that the longer term view of the country.

46. #46 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:30 pm

It is so blatantly clear that EC has acted like an extended arm of UMNO that they can even take the law (the legality of the letters) into their own hand (bulldozer) and made judgement against PR & declared no by election.

As espected this EC is holiding their stand
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/97517
    which makes PR’s 48 hours ultimatum look like a joke. Honestly do you really think with the backing of “you know who” this EC will back down to change their position??? PR’s time is better spent on other options and QUICK!

47. #47 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:40 pm

EC is now inviting PR Perak Government to contest their decision to buy time. If PR falls for it, this will give BN a lot of time to get in the 3rd frog to change Perak state government. More importantly this will not cause dalay or adverse impact in change of PM in March or April.

48. #48 by negarawan on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:53 pm

Nothing surprising. The EC has all the time been a puppet and running dog of UMNO. Anwar has opened up a can of worms for PR by accepting Bota’s defection. Now PR is playing into the devil’s hands. Good luck!

49. #49 by govinda on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:57 pm

I think the Perak government should dissolve the state assembly as soon as possible.
    Let the Perakians show who are the boss.
    Either rakyat or UMNO.
    Let the Perakians to represent all Malaysians to give no confidence vote to DPM Najib.
    Malaysia no need Najib to fulfill the RAHMAN prophesy.
    We Perak has so many candidates.
    Nazrin;Nizar;Ngeh
    Anyone of them will perform much better than Najib

50. #50 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 7:58 pm

Interesting to read all the suggestions of ‘voluntary’ statements that people will be obliged to sign in return for access to politics. Truly Malaysia. If those documents are intended to supplement, replace or circumvent some law, then what value do they really have? Would an undated resignation letter held by your employer as a condition of employment really be legally binding? Reason tells me not – either you can be sacked, or you can’t. If you can, no need for the letter. If you can’t legally sack an employee on a whim, it’s another example of ‘licence to break the law’ – what kind of law would be so easy to defeat?

I’m still wondering why Malaysians think these undated resignation letters are a good idea – they appear to me to be the product of a weak mind. Perhaps the problem is that there’s no clear superiority in the legal machinery, and no clear direction in the laws applicable to elected persons. A resignation letter is a tangible asset to wave at your opponents in the Malaysian political game of ‘tangible asset waving’.

I hope PR can produce a positive outcome from this mess. My worry is that their tangible assets won’t be as great when it comes to the waving game, and Malaysians with a keen eye for girth and gloss will be distracted into supporting the same old faces again. I still think PR need to do a much better job of shoring up the moral high ground and building something tangible (even if it is a public relations exercise) on top of it. I don’t see it happening yet.

51. #51 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:02 pm

The Commission has semi-judicial functions.

52. #52 by katdog on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:09 pm

I am not as optimistic as many here who believes PR will sweep Perak it a fresh state elections is called.

However, i agree that fresh state elections are necessary. It is the responsibility of DAP-PR to allow the people to decide once and for all whether they prefer to return to BN or remain with PR.

Continued instability of the political situation in Perak is bad for the people of Perak. PR should empower the people of Perak to make this important decision by dissolving the state assembly and letting them decide.

Win or lose, i believe that is the right thing to do.

53. #53 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:10 pm

Funny why I have to always refer to the Chairman of the EC as a SOB? Why do only SOBs qualify as EC Chairman when there already so many as IGPs and AGs?

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:15 pm

“Would an undated resignation letter held by your employer as a condition of employment really be legally binding?” OrangRojak

Clearly it is not legal. But one would have to prove that when issued it was un-dated. The presumption is that when issued a letter is dated. If you claim otherwise then you’d have to rebut the presumption.

Welcome to Malaysia!

It is a country like Nigeria where fraud is not the ‘privilege’ of the few but the right of the many. It is a country where you are required to check in your plastic bags and other bags at the entrance before you enter a supermarket or department store. The presumption is that as a shopper you are dishonest and you’d have to show your honesty at the door. Cheques are issued post-dated and sometimes undated. It may not be a legal instrument when so issued but becomes legal when a date is later inserted. So are letters. Passports are routinely forged and sold in the black market and so when you appear at the immigration counter in a foreign country, expect customs and immigration to scrutinise your document for tampering etc.

Welcome to Malaysia – where fraud is part of Malaysian culture.

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:20 pm

“Baceause society which are in favour of segregration or divide is not durable.” OrangRojak

Wrong!

It is doable and therefore durable. It is a country wherein racial discrimination is institutionalised. It has its roots in the country’s Constitution. Racial discrimination is legal in Malaysia.

56. #56 by melurian on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:23 pm

The EC actually is siding PR. The status quo favors PR, mind you, PR just has 1 majority provided the DAP DUN does not jump ship. If fresh by-elections will be called, PR for sure will lose, coz the non-bumis who voted dap felt betrayed when dap supported PAS which is minority to become MB, and it’s opportunity to ditch the PAS MB! And to think perakians are very senang for another election round, though it attracts goodies and spending from the deep pockets BN, all these spending are actually coming from taxpayer money and wasteful, surely this blame will goes to PR!

please stop this from becoming very very big issue….

57. #57 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:29 pm

“In this case, the Election Commission has even acted as a court of law – in a decision which is clearly influenced by the political interests and considerations of the Barisan Nasional.” KIT

Many such bodies have semi-judicial functions. Nothing wrong with that.

But a body like the EC is part of the government machinery and the chairman is a civil servant. Whatever happened to civil service neutrality?? Or are Malaysians too dumb to understand the doctrine of civil service neutrality and why it is important in a democracy.

58. #58 by drngsc on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:33 pm

February 4th is another blackday. I do hope that Saudara Kit and Saudara AI have a plan B. Looks like we have dissolve the state assembly and go for another Perak state election. What Rashid Lahman did is predictable. His wrongdoing must not be allowed to stand. Corruption is deep.
    God help Malaysia.

59. #59 by Thor on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:46 pm

Go for it PR!
    It’s your only hope.
    Now or never!
    Call for the state election now and let us “fry” those two frogs.
    Show them that we meant business.
    We can also kick out those BN goon as well.
    Just like “killing two birds with one stone”.

60. #60 by chiakchua on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 8:52 pm

1. Thanks Thomas Lee for the sample letter; it shows PR has many supporters awaiting to help to CHANGE the country for something better.
    2. Yes, I fully support the idea to dissolve the state assembly to go for a fresh mandate by the rakyat; this would turn the table on Najib and his cronies who had and are still cheating the kampong Malays to fatten their own pocket.
    3. I want to believe Nga-Ngeh are doing their job well. However, I’m surprised with someone saying that Nga (or Ngeh) had a hand in awarding a tender to his friend who was 8th highest bidder. Nga must call a press conference to clarify on this to clear his name; he must not only to be seen ‘clean’ but must be proven to be clean.
    4. Ahmad Zaid Hamidi is playing racist and religion extremist trick on the Herald’s ‘Allah’ issue. UMNOputras infringe Catholic’s right, when the Catholic fight back (AZH said the Catholics are requesting for ‘permission’; what a misleading word he used), he acted tough, later someone would solve the problem by allowing use of the word ‘Allah’, then they praise themselves of practicing Malaysian muhibbah spirit! Go to hell with all these idiots! I will cite this case to help PR to get more votes if a state election were to be held.

61. #61 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 9:00 pm

The EC’s taking upon itself to act as a court, a jury and a judge is not only most appalling and misguided, it is also against the nation’s federal constitution, and Perak’s very own laws.

The learned Sultan of Perak should be referred to on this point of law. Being the ruler of the state and the ex-Lord President, His Highness should admonish the EC or any other parties for attempting to hoodwink the rakyat and to usurp the powers and jurisdiction of the court of law and also that of the state assembly.

Such kind of rogue and bully tactics cannot be allowed to take root in the country and be a precedence to future administrators.

62. #62 by earthdweller on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 9:01 pm

Fight! Fight! Let’s show Najib whose the MAN. Even if PR lose, at least we did not hide behind any skirt of unlawfulness like Najib. But pray, PR members brace yourselves. Let’s not petty feelings and communal issues divide Malaysia. We are on the turning point, let’s proceed come-what-may. Give BN some lessons, show them we rakyat can not be stupid for eternity. Malays of Perak wake up!

63. #63 by katdog on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 9:03 pm

I also need to question why DAP’s V. Sivakumar was so in a hurry to reveal the letters of resignation. I wonder was the decision made by consultation between PAS-DAP-PKR leadership or merely unilaterally by the DAP leadership in Perak?

I notice that there is complete chaos in the statements made separately by each of the PR parties. No they are not missing. Wait yes they are missing. Hang on, now they just vacated their seats. No they are still with PKR. No wait, now one of them has quit PKR.

I have always had my doubts about the leadership abilities of DAP-PR in Perak and this episode has done nothing to but continue to reinforce my doubts in the ability of the leadership in Perak to deal with issues in a calm and intelligent manner.

Which is why i am not as optimistic as many that PR is sure to win in fresh elections in Perak.

64. #64 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 9:11 pm

“The Election Commission has acted unconstitutionally outside its jurisdiction in refusing to recognize the decision of the Perak Speaker, V. Sivakumar on the vacancy of the Changkat Jering and Behrang state assembly seats and to hold by-elections” KIT

It is time Malaysia undertakes a major constitutional re-structuring.

Malaysia left the way it is cannot be defined as a true federation of states. The states are not independent in any real sense of the word. It has no police force of its own and no courts of its own. And now a federal body like the EC has jurisdiction over a matter which affects a state. Shouldn’t this be left to the state to decide?

65. #65 by ch on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 9:14 pm

Dear All,

It is by the segregration and divide rule implemented or adopted by the current regime that will eventually ruin this country. Malaysia should embrace real meritrocracy by now at the latest unless if they wish to peer up with African nations by year 2020. The point which am trying to put forward is that people are less tolerant and charitable in times of hard-pressed economic situation. The on-going global financial melt down is not something which the ruling government or Pakatan Rakyat should try to avoid. The politicians of today, be them from opposition or ruling government are only interested in fighting for their own survival and this is a sad situation to be in as Malaysian. Malaysian politicians haven’t had the gumption or ability to move forward relinquishing their power to the winner as they lose the political battle. Corruptical politics rule the day with statutory declaration being declared in the open of vast amount of money to entice politician(s) to alter allegiance. The dual PKR politicians are as good as gone and PR knows the fact of it. Now is not the time to finger point or raise sensitive emotion in order to grab power but can we? We should group together and unite for the common good of Malaysia but the answer is that we can’t. Why? The simple reason is that we have been led in this situation of divide and rule for many years and lost the abilty of altering direction(s) when there is an urgent need to do so. Who to be blamed? No one but the politicians of today who are probably busy smsing or phoning around to check each other allegiances. Sad but this is the true situation that we are in. BN politicians are probably laughing at the way PR is handling the situation in Perak and likewise PR is trying or thinking as to the next tit for tat. Where are we heading next?

66. #66 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 9:27 pm

Where are we heading next?
    I don’t know. Easy question if we were in the UK: the pub.

67. #67 by sean on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 10:33 pm

From http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/97517
    ……….

Second set of letters – where did you get it from?

We got the second set of letters from the representatives of the two Adun.

Conclusion:- After reading all the questons and answers i find the above Q&A a little bit one sided.
    Speakers of State assembly are empower to inform the EC should a seat are vacated.Since that was done accordingly and officially, shouldn’t the EC needs to declare that those 2 seats are vacant and thus a by election date will be declared soon!!That wasn’t the case as everyone now knows that the “dacing” in this case the EC are a little bit unbalance.Why? Well, the Q & A above says ” we got the second set of letters from the representatives of the two adun”…….ok…….who is the representatives of the two aduns?

The question we must now ask is:-
    1. Did the EC verify the “representatives of the adun”?
    2. Why the 2 adun did not personally meet with EC’S officials due to the seriousness of this case?

Since the EC came up with a decision that there will be no by election after studying the two sets of letters arriving almost the same time, does that means that if there is a third set of letters ,EC will then have a different answers instead pertaining to this case?
    Well, all these sounds very childish it seems or rather an unbalanced “dacing” which were never fair from the start.

68. #68 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 10:50 pm

During the five years that I stayed in London, going to the pub is a tricky business. You might find the pub there closed during hours when pubs in Malaysia would be open. Pubs in Malaysia open throughout the day and night – even right to the early hours of the morning. Still nobody has been run over by a drunk driver.

If they were to do that in the U.K. drunk driving cases would rise overnight! There won’t be enough cops to wait for them to emerge from the pubs! There won’t be enough persons (who would be spending their evenings in pubs drinking coke) available to drive them home.

69. #69 by imranj78 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 10:53 pm

It has been a very interesting few days. The so called `King of Frogs’ aka Anwar seems to have been given a taste of his own medicine and is sulking. Its funny how PR can justify ADUN Bota’s `jump’ as acceptable and then make an about turn in policy when it came to their own assemblymen. Double standards? Hypocrites? Its Anwar so I’m not surprised.

Nevertheless the issue whether EC’s judgement is constitutional or not is a valid question. There are strong arguments either way and probably the best way to resolve it is to bring it to the courts.

Now lets look at it from the rakyat’s perspective. These two ADUN’s have been elected by the rakyat and its clear that these ADUNs have not voluntarily resigned their assemblyman posts. Validity of undated letters can be challenged to kingdom come but the fact is their intention at this current time is not to resign. Now can the Speaker decide to throw out these rakyat-appointed representatives against their will??? Is the Speaker more powerful then the rakyat? DEFINITELY NOT! That is what the Speaker is doing – trying to throw out the assemblyman of the rakyat… and I bet you Anwar is behind this political maneuvering to try deal a preemptive blow to prevent potential party hopping from PKR.

Someone asked where are we heading next? Well I don’t know but I hope for the better. I hope an anti-hopping law would be put in place. And I also hope PR and Anwar would once and for all stop of all this talk about trying to entice BN reps over etc. Do you think BN would sit still in the face of such tactics? Obviously not and because of that Anwar, you have brought us into the mess we are in right now!

70. #70 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 10:55 pm

Najib will fight tooth and nail to avoid the two by-elections or a state-wide snap election. He is in a no-win situation because right now there are so many factions within UMNO which will try to undermine any UMNO strategy. There’s the Badawi faction which is angered by the KT by-election. There’s the Muhyiddin faction which is angered by the Badawi faction’s support for Ali Rustam. There’s the Mamakthir faction which is paranoid about Badawi relinquishing his post as UMNO president but not as PM.

Any poker player knows that you throw in all your chips when you are able to squeeze the other guy’s b@lls.

71. #71 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:01 pm

imranj78:

How does the EC’s decision to treat the pre-signed letters as invalid constitute Anwar’s “political maneuvering to try deal a preemptive blow to prevent potential party hopping from PKR” ? As it stands, the party hoppers will simply say that they have turned independent.

If anyone were to prevent party hopping from PKR, it would be the reverse of the EC decision i.e. to treat the letters as valid.

72. #72 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:16 pm

“Any poker player knows that you throw in all your chips when you are able to squeeze the other guy’s b@lls.” Godfather

Be that as it may, you don’t have to be a poker player to squeeze ballz.

73. #73 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:17 pm

If indeed the EC has acted “unconstitutionally”, why hasn’t PKR or DAP or anyone with locus standi taken any legal action ? What are you people waiting for ? That the EC could change its mind following public outcry ?

PR parties should always hope for the best, but be well prepared for the worst.

74. #74 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:19 pm

“Do you think BN would sit still in the face of such tactics?”

I don’t know. But somebody needs to sit on Najib’s face.

75. #75 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:20 pm

I just read on Malaysian Insider that Perak has given the EC 48 hours to reverse its decision. Are little kiddies running PR Perak ? I actually can’t believe this.

76. #76 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:23 pm

Imranj78 writer have the thick skin to blame Anwar for all the mess in Perak.
    Simultaneously….he is applying how to agree to disagree…to ensure readers may agree with him.
    What a cunning UMNO balls carrier he is.
    You can never get imranj78 to blame UMNO for anything.
    That’s the making of a munafik.

77. #77 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:26 pm

When push comes to shove, PR has but this Hobson’s choice – dissolve the state assembly and LET THE PEOPLE DECIDE.

This must be yet another referendum on the people’s voice and feelings towards BN. If BN gets trumped in fresh state elections – and fails miserably – that wouldn’t be the death knell for UMNO and BN. That would be the last nail in its coffin.

Might as well. BN and UMNO deserves to R.I.P forever and ever. AMEN.

78. #78 by imranj78 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:26 pm

Godfather,
    Its not EC’s decision that constitutes Anwar’s political maneuvering. How do you think the `resignation letters’ got to the Speaker from out of nowhere when in fact the assemblyman did not resign? Someone must have called the shots for these letters to be `miraculously’ delivered to the Speaker. And I bet you the moment Anwar sensed that things were not going his way, he immediately dispatched these letters out.

79. #79 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:26 pm

monsterball:

Are you sure he is an UMNO ball-carrier ? I thought he is a Mamakthir ball-carrier.

80. #80 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:29 pm

I agree with Hornbill. The window of opportunity is NOW. Not 48 hours, not 2 weeks, not 2 months. Hit them the hardest when they are so factionalized. Help the economy with the strong stimulus that a snap election expenditure would bring to Perak.

81. #81 by Godfather on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:33 pm

imranj78:

You are so naive as a Mamakthir disciple. How do you not know that the Speaker is a PR person, and that he has ALL the PR ADUNs’ resignation letters ? When you want to spin, you have to spin credibly.

82. #82 by alberttye on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:33 pm

Election Commission Chairman, Tan Sri Rashid Rahman said, according to Malaysiakini, that the letters by the 2 ADUN were received after 8 am and the letters from the Speaker were received at 8 am !
    How can it be so coincidental ?
    How can the 2 separate letters from 2 different individuals be received at about the same time ?
    Can the EC legally consider letter from individual wakil rakyat ?
    By law, EC must only accept the letter from speaker at face value, isn’t it ?
    EC’s impartiality in this case has been called into question !

83. #83 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:33 pm

No Godfather….the lawless ..who even think they are above Allah..who are the loosers….and the brave law abiding winners are fighting.
    One ..for their party survival.
    The other …for freedom and democracy.
    The whole country vast majority.. is for freedom and democracy.
    So the evil doers are using MONEY..the root of all evils…to do their devilish things…..to keep Malaysia managed by devils..to be greedy for money…..like them.
    In this situation….sincere faith followers of all regions are growing and growing.
    They will conquer all evils.

84. #84 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:37 pm

Imranj78, are you implying that the letters are forgeries? Whatever your feeling, we all remember that politicians are no saints! It is their business to survive by ‘acceptable’ means.
    Of course, a law requiringan elected REP to resign upon changing the party he had agreed to respresent would be good for the country. Otherwise, the current situation will continue to promote corruption.
    It is the job of politicians to ‘sense’ every change in the society so that he can plan accordingly. Politics is unlike running a company just for profit; of course profit comes by other means. We as citizens seek that a good portion of the revenue should go for development; no way can we dream of 100% of it! We have to be realistic.

85. #85 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:46 pm

Imranj78 will carry that mamak and UMNO to make sure..of his true colour…so that both are happy..for his own future….and as a future millionaire …without working…..godfather.

86. #86 by imranj78 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:47 pm

monsterball,
    earth calling monsterball? I think its time you come back down to earth from your wonderland. I am NOT an UMNO SUPPORTER and DEFINITELY NOT A BALLS CARRIER (funny you mentioned that, have you done something similar before?) And who are you to call me a munafik???

Maybe you are right, its unfair for me to blame everything thats happening in Perak to Anwar. But I still do blame him for a big chunk of it. Tell me, who started all this constant open and public talk about soliciting jump-overs since March 08? Who has been continuously trying to scheme and weave his way through our nation’s political corridors of power so that he himself can get to power? Who has unshamedly declared countless times that the fed government will fall due to defections? And worse still, he does not even for a moment stop to think that such defections are not only unethical, but it is clearly undemocratic and against the wishes of the electoral/rakyat.

Hey man, I am not surprised if UMNO did all these. We all know they many of them are schemers and political gamers. But PR and Anwar won many seats in March 08 GE12 with the hope of many that they represent something different… something better which many hoped would bring the winds of change to Malaysia. But then when they got to power we find many of them playing the same games, weaving the same schemes and forgot that their main role is to serve the rakyat!

To be credible you must always uphold the principals of law and democracy unwaveringly even if it means you can’t get to power just yet. But when you start to compromise on such values, you loose your credibility. And I say Anwar HAS lost his credibility and he is slowly but surely dragging the whole PR with him.

87. #87 by imranj78 on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:53 pm

Godfather,
    I didn’t say the speaker is a PR guy nor did I say that he has all the ADUN’s resignation letter. I said that the letters were given to him by someone with a clear agenda. When you try to rebut me, at least rebut me with the right facts please.

waterfrontcoolie,
    No I am not implying that the resignation letters were forgeries. I am stating that such letters are not congruent with the ADUNs’ intentions at this time.

88. #88 by monsterball on Tuesday, 3 February 2009 - 11:59 pm

Imaranj78 is a soothsayer.
    He knows so much behind closed doors…all against Anwar.
    Mamak is smarter. He does not pretend to be a soothsayer.
    He is telling Malaysians…he is still the Commander-in-Chief..of UMNO….outside UMNO BARU.
    He promised to exposed corruptions in his blog..two months ago…never materialized.
    He can tell 14 times lies in half an hour..questioned by Royal Commissioners.
    And in his blog…smart to remove his false tittles with his stupid smiling face….knowing guys like imranj78 will be hypnotized.
    No one can come near to this kind of logics nor understand that….except those like Imranj78.

89. #89 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:01 am

UMNO’s downfall is a foregone conclusion.

90. #90 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:02 am

If I was the referee, I’d be giving imranj78 a free kick. Attacks on Anwar probably ought to be allowed on the same basis that attacks on all the badly-spelled UMNO celebrities usually are. I’m sure we’ll be having the ‘solidarity / unity’ team talk in a minute, but I think the observation that Anwar has been ‘hoisted by his own petard’ is unavoidable.

91. #91 by monsterball on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:06 am

Just look at how imranj78 twist his words.
    Stating…he clearly said Anwar was the person.
    Now he uses “someone”.
    I wonder what clear agenda …..this soothsayer have in mind..about Anwar.
    And if he KNOWS the agenda accurately…he must also know mamak’s….Najib”s clear agendas too.
    Spell it out…you nitwit.

92. #92 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:07 am

Give imranj78 a free kick ? I’d give him a straight red.

93. #93 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:10 am

monsterball,
    You definitely lost me there in your last post. Nothing specific to this thread, nor anything significant enough to respond back to. As such, as the night is getting late, I will leave you to your fantasies.

94. #94 by homeblogger on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:13 am

Have to agree with imranj78. Like it or not, I sense that bitterness and an overwhelming lust to take revenge has contaminated Anwar’s principles (whatever they may be). I also see that being a politician (leader as they call themselves) in Malaysia is NEVER about helping the rakyat. It’s ALL about me, me, me.

I don’t like Anwar. Never really have, never really will. But my other choice is BN/UMNO and I have seen that UMNO is the personification of wanton greed and lust for MORE.

So politicially, our poor rakyat have a choice now – to eat rotten meat or rotten veggie. It’s a question of which one disgusts us the least.

Sorry for being so negative. I know of people who have been retrenched (they are poor in the first place). They hope that these morons we call leaders on boths sides (BN and PR) will think about our economy helping the rakyat, but they hope in vain. The “rakyat” is merely a word to use in political rhetoric with the ultimate goal of getting to the top of the ladder.

Right now, I’m getting the impression that BN’s motto is “To hell with the rakyat. My pockets come first”.

But looking at the way things are going, PR will be NO different. If they come to power, their motto may very well be “My pockets come first. To hell with the rakyat”.

95. #95 by monsterball on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:19 am

And now he is calling me a lunatic….giving me a ..long lecture…which I am not that smart to understand.
    Actually..I refuse to read a toad like him…trying to teach me anything.
    I am a simple man…FOR or Against…no flip flop…no.. if.. buts and why.
    He said he is FOR change of government….yet he blamed Anwar for the problems in Perak..now changed .. to “someone”
    Hi imranj78…monsterball calling swampland slimy creature!!
    Are you there?

96. #96 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:24 am

homeblogger,
    You have got a point and some politicians are like that.. thinking that its all about them. But personally I do believe that there are good politicians out there; on both sides of the political divide i.e. in PR and BN. But these good and sincere politicians are being drowned out by more vocal politicians who are not necessarily good. And some of them are victims of their own party’s wrongdoing when in fact their intentions are good.

But as you have said, we the rakyat have no other choice but to choose between the two.

97. #97 by raven77 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:27 am

It’s really down to whether the Perak Sultan having more guts then the Sultan of Trengganu…..the people in Perak will soon know…if their Sultan is with them or otherwise……

98. #98 by monsterball on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:28 am

OK….under moderation.
    Trying to be diplomatic this time!
    Homeblogger and imranj78 can say all they want.
    Malaysians trust and respect Anwar….dead set to make him ..next PM…PERIOD!

99. #99 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:32 am

monsterball..
    I beg to kindly differ.
    SOME Malaysians trust and respect Anwar, not all, not even the majority. Don’t generalize as if you know most Malaysians have so much faith in him.

100. #100 by monsterball on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:53 am

hahahahahaha…Imranj78 IS living in a dream world.
    Now we know….whose side he is in.
    hi Imranj78..don’t be shy….fire up all you can on Anwar..and LKS.
    I bet you…no matter what..you will not say anything bad about PAS.
    It’s racialist like you…blaming everyone are racialists…twisting and turning…playing flip flop politics…that are getting less and less in Malaysia.
    Do not be too smart….to say.. Anwar does not have majority supports.
    Maybe not majority of one race….the UMNO malays..but put all Malaysians together..Anwar and LKS have more than a vast majority…and mind you….Malaysians of all races and religions.
    You are the one …with a fool’s dream.
    By the way..I thought you said “goodnight” to me.
    Ah..but then….you are trained to be like mamak..never keep a promise.

101. #101 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:54 am

“The Election Commission has acted unconstitutionally outside its jurisdiction in refusing to recognize the decision of the Perak Speaker, V. Sivakumar on the vacancy of the Changkat Jering and Behrang state assembly seats and to hold by-elections.” (YB Lim Kit Siang)

I learned to admire YB Kit by hearing the praise words about YB Kit from mouth of the barber to whom my mom sent me for a haircut since I was only a seven year-old kid. That was a long long time ago when Dr. Tan Chee Koon had just been given a nickname “Mr. Opposition”. I was never at once trying to show my dislove to YB Kit for so many years. However, in this occasion I find that YB Kit has not been able to realize the importance of upholding the concept of “separation of powers”.

I am wondering why YB Kit wants to waste time now to discuss about the issue of EC having acted unconstitutionally by rejecting the request from Perak Assembly Speaker for vacating the state assembly seats of Changkat Jering and Behrang.

I believe in the Separation of Powers doctrine in politics. If YB Kit and his political patners are not happy with the decision being made by the EC, it is much better for PR State Assembly Speaker to take the EC to a Federal Court and challenge the EC’s decicion in a judicial review by court.

In many instances, the American Political Structure provides us a good example on the concept of “separation of powers”.

The foundation of American’s republican form of government is the notion of “separation of powers”. In the legal field, this is called “the separation of powers doctrine”. The U.S. Supreme Court confirmed the purpose of the separation of powers doctrine in the case of U.S. v. Lopez, 514 U.S. 549 (1995):

“In Europe, the Executive is almost synonymous with the Sovereign power of a State; and, generally, includes legislative and judicial authority. When, therefore, writers speak of the sovereign, it is not necessarily in exclusion of the judiciary; and it will often be found, that when the Executive affords a remedy for any wrong, it is nothing more than by an exercise of its judicial authority. Such is the condition of power in that quarter of the world, where it is too commonly acquired by force, or fraud, or both, and seldom by compact. In America, however, the case is widely different. Our government is founded upon compact. Sovereignty was, and is, in the people. It was entrusted by them, as far as was necessary for the purpose of forming a good government, to the Federal Convention; and the Convention executed their trust, by effectually separating the Legislative, Judicial, and Executive powers; which, in the contemplation of our Constitution, are each a branch of the sovereignty. The well-being of the whole depends upon keeping each department within its limits. In the State government, several instances have occurred where a legislative act, has been rendered inoperative by a judicial decision, that it was unconstitutional; and even under the Federal government the judges, for the same reason, have refused to execute an act of Congress. When, in short, either branch of the government usurps that part of the sovereignty, which the Constitution assigns to another branch, liberty ends, and tyranny commences.”
    [The Betsey, 3 U.S. 6 (1794)]

For a much better understanding about the meaning of judicial review, I hereby insert some excerpts from Wikipedia as follow:

Both proponents of judicial review, as well as its opponents note that any government based on a written constitution requires some mechanism to prevent laws from being passed that violate that constitution. Otherwise, the document would be meaningless, and the legislature, with the power to enact any laws whatsoever, would be the supreme arm of government. The two sides differ only in which mechanism should hold that power, either the states or the federal government. This concept was laid out by Alexander Hamilton in Federalist No. 78:

“ If it be said that the legislative body are themselves the constitutional judges of their own powers, and that the construction they put upon them is conclusive upon the other departments, it may be answered, that this cannot be the natural presumption, where it is not to be collected from any particular provisions in the Constitution. It is not otherwise to be supposed, that the Constitution could intend to enable the representatives of the people to substitute their will to that of their constituents. It is far more rational to suppose, that the courts were designed to be an intermediate body between the people and the legislature, in order, among other things, to keep the latter within the limits assigned to their authority. The interpretation of the laws is the proper and peculiar province of the courts. A constitution is, in fact, and must be regarded by the judges, as a fundamental law. It therefore belongs to them to ascertain its meaning, as well as the meaning of any particular act proceeding from the legislative body. If there should happen to be an irreconcilable variance between the two, that which has the superior obligation and validity ought, of course, to be preferred; or, in other words, the Constitution ought to be preferred to the statute, the intention of the people to the intention of their agents.”

In 1820, Thomas Jefferson expressed his deep reservations about the doctrine of judicial review:

“ You seem … to consider the judges as the ultimate arbiters of all constitutional questions; a very dangerous doctrine indeed, and one which would place us under the despotism of an oligarchy. Our judges are as honest as other men, and not more so. They have, with others, the same passions for party, for power, and the privilege of their corps…. Their power [is] the more dangerous as they are in office for life, and not responsible, as the other functionaries are, to the elective control. The Constitution has erected no such single tribunal, knowing that to whatever hands confided, with the corruptions of time and party, its members would become despots. It has more wisely made all the departments co-equal and co-sovereign within themselves.”

In 1861, Abraham Lincoln touched upon the same subject, during his first inaugural address:

“ The candid citizen must confess that if the policy of the Government upon vital questions affecting the whole people is to be irrevocably fixed by decisions of the Supreme Court, the instant they are made in ordinary litigation between parties in personal actions the people will have ceased to be their own rulers, having to that extent practically resigned their Government into the hands of that eminent tribunal. Nor is there in this view any assault upon the court or the judges. It is a duty from which they may not shrink to decide cases properly brought before them, and it is no fault of theirs if others seek to turn their decisions to political purposes. ”

Lincoln was alluding here to the case of Dred Scott v. Sandford, in which the Court had struck down a federal statute for the first time since Marbury v. Madison.

In short, YB Kit should give advice to the Perak State Assembly Speaker to take the EC to court for purpose of seeking a judicial review on the EC’s current disputable decision for rejecting the Speaker’s request to vacate state assembly seats due to member’s resignation.

102. #102 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:21 am

Please, can anyone tell me if this EC chairman a legal expert? As a matter of fact, it is none of his bussiness whether he receives a letter at 10.00 am and signed at 11.00 am. This just isn’t his job. He should just leave it to dissatisfied parties to file their protest to the court. Anyone of average intelligence can tell he is UMNO’s puppet.

103. #103 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:44 am

AGAIN, I call on PR fight UNMO/BN in a State election. The benefit of winning this election will put PR in good stead in the next GE. Even if PR lost, there is little to worry because UMNO, as we all know, is a very sick party and will not get better. It can only get worse. Mark my word: From now until the !3th GE, UMNO is going to make many, many, many more mistakes to anger the rakyat. CHARGE!!!

104. #104 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 3:51 am

The Malays feel betrayed, the Chinese, threatened by the branishing of a keris and the Indians belittled and cast aside as if they are not part of the population; Only God can help UNMO/BN. BUT GOD is always fair. HE abhors sinners…………HE is on your side, PAKATAN RAKYAT. So, be brave. Don’t just target on winning 2 battles. Turn the whole of Perak into a battleground. Win this war and UMNO/BN will be as good as one paralysed.

105. #105 by js on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 3:56 am

This is so called “politic”. Very dirty….

Shoud spend more time to think of something which can benefit the people of Perak especially at this moment of time rather than power crazy movement.

106. #106 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 4:07 am

Godfather Says:

Today at 00: 07.10 (3 hours ago)
    Give imranj78 a free kick ? I’d give him a straight red.”

I’d give him a free kick in the backside.

107. #107 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 4:18 am

Will need to see the State Constitution to confirm if this is the kind of situation the ruling party could approach the Sultan to ask for the dissoultion of the state assembly. It could spark a deep and long lasting constitutional crisis. So you don’t want to go there.

Furthermore, it costs millions to hold statewide elections. Rest assured this will not be the only snap elections to be held.

Also you don’t want the sultan to be involved in a situation such as this. It may set a precedent for similar situations in the future. Today the sultan may agree with the request for dissolution to help restore stability. Next time another sultan may not agree. You are on the proverbial slope here!

Also it may destroy the royal institution as we know it. These rulers are constitutional monarchs and are above politics – certainly partisan politics.

108. #108 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 4:19 am

ooops ‘proverbial slippery slope’

109. #109 by computation on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 5:23 am

i think some posts are just way too long.
    most material seems quite irrelevant.
    reading a long essay or what not is
    really quite annoying. i suggest for example
    if onlooker politics has something to say
    to kit you should learn to express yourself
    in as little words as possible. its unlikely that
    kit is going to bother to read the whole
    chunk and look for important bits.

110. #110 by computation on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 5:24 am

not that i have anything against anyone
    or onlooker politics…
    :)

111. #111 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 6:52 am

Taxidriver Says:

Today at 03: 51.32 (2 hours ago)
    Only God can help UNMO/BN. BUT GOD is always fair…”

If God is fair, how come you’re still driving a taxi??

112. #112 by chiakchua on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 6:58 am

I have seen some posters citing the importance of ‘economy’ over the current political turmoil in Perak. Yes, its absolutely true. However, under the current ‘thin edge’ majority situation, and with ‘frogging’ being kind of nature (when carrots are dangling before them!) of some of the ‘hastily selected’ candidates during the last election, it is now becoming a big problem on the stability of the ruling government. The house must be put in order first before you could go for anything; just too bad, this is bit and parcel of life!

113. #113 by monsterball on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 6:59 am

hi Onlooker Politics…Why so Long winded ..with no substances and hero worship USA?
    Why same old stuffs keep churning out from you?
    Is this your one and only masterpiece message?
    Telling LKS what to do and what not to do….are you some kind of nut too?
    Since you know so much…take up politics la…and serve the country.
    We are here supporting change of government…not like you…so smart to teach old timer ….like LKS …making a bloody fool of yourself….showing balls carrying USA too.

114. #114 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 7:40 am

“I think the observation that Anwar has been ‘hoisted by his own petard’ is unavoidable” OrangRojak said in response to imranj78’s calling Anwar the “King of Frogs” (an expression borrowed from Dr Koh Tsu Koon).

As I said before, Anwar has already long fallen off his moral high horse/ground to criticise BN’s tit-for-tat poaching of political frogs when he was the one last year who “drew first blood” (to borrow the expression from Stallone’s “Rambo”“) and repeatedly raised hopes to topple the BN govt by the very same means – by over 30 crossovers! That this is trite and obvious cannot elude even the simplest minds.

Yet to many people here, let the truth – and any person who speaks it be equally damned: the mystique of Anwar cannot be sullied because he being the person who welds the disparate opposition groups together to be able for the first time in 50 years to pose a credible challenge to the moribund politics of BN represents the very embodiment of collective hopes for change…….

People are not interested in truth unless it is their truth or a truth that alleviates their quiet desperation and miseries.

And any icon of resistance (like Anwar) against the all powerful BN, which until 308, evinces a capability of surviving for ever in oppressing the multitudes, the disenfranchised minorities and the politically unconnected cannot be seen to do wrong even if he does a thousand wrongs or else the cause of the oppressed – to free themselves from bondage- will be perceived as somewhat compromised or undermined.

We are hearing the voices of the oppressed here. In a hope versus logic or truth contest, hope always prevails, the unvarnished truth relegated second place because it does not ameliorate the emotional pain, indeed often exacerbate it!

Many people from the ranks of opposition and civil society would support Anwar and by way of double standards turn a blind eye to his warts, shortcomings and inconsistencies.

They are simply using him as a vehicle to a destination, and it matters not if he is able to get everyone there, and upon reaching the destination- if he proves still susceptible to his “bad habits” (for the lack of better word) – then remove him! However, until then he is sancrosanct and above criticisms because he is embodiment of collective hopes, and those who criticise him will be vilified as the enemy of hope, if not country!

It is however amazing that in this relentless drive to rid the country off the Great Oppressor, people fail to grasp that the Opposition Cause is better served if underpinned, and guided by the moral compass.

This is because other than the moral capital the Opposition has nothing else with which it could compete on level playing field against BN’s powers of incumbency.

For the preservation of that moral capital, fair criticisms of the faults of the defacto leader of the Opposition should not be silenced or vilified.

115. #115 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 8:00 am

undated letter of resignation. all YB need to renew the letter in the beginning of each month month, with the date written as middle of the month.

116. #116 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 8:19 am

According to Malaysiakini (report by Andrew Ong | Feb 4, 09 1:52am) Perak MB Nizar said (1) Pakatan Rakyat (PR) mulling the possibility of dissolving the state assembly to pave the way for a snap polls and (2) seeking legal redress against the Election Commission’s decision not to recognise the resignations of Jamaluddin and Osman.

Don’t waste time with (2). Legal measures do not solve practical problems. The case can be maneuvered in a way by various applications postponements etc to be heard next year and whatever that decision, even if favourable to PR, may be appealed against by EC to Appeal court and then Supreme Court before final disposal in 5 years time after the next general election!

If you waste time with (2) you will lose the PR state govt to the BN in no longer than (say) 2 months!

What is there to mull? The fact is you have no option at all except (1), and the sooner, the better because time is crucial.

The only issue is campaign funds – how to raise enough funds to fight in 59 constituencies in Perak state elections and yet have enough – and not bankrupted – to face the other pivotal one, coming soon after in Sarawak!

You say money politics is wrong and should not be there when it is an elephant in a small room. Without money, how to fight elections as what PR is feeling now?

The problem is always money and its adjunct money politics. The BN could abuse, PR is at disadvantage because this country has yet to institutionalize a proper and viable way for both ruling and opposition parties to raise electoral campaign funds with the least abuse.

117. #117 by chengho on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 8:36 am

Anwar and the whole Pakatan ( with the exception of Karpal ) been trying to woo BN to xover since march last year since Taiwan trip
    now you get the the reverse xover why complaining and panic
    If you come to Perak you can see Nga and Ngeh is the facto MB Nizar only a puppet with a vertical transportation engineering degree who was frustrated in career development
    The behaviour of Nga and Ngeh almost racist to certain extend that will make the majority of Malay who supporting Pakatan will switch back to BN , in Perak Malay have no
    Some section of DAP women leaders and DAP Indian leader also not happy with Perak DAP leadership
    The Rakyat have enough of Nizar Nga /Ngeh antics…

118. #118 by taiking on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 8:40 am

What an irony! That pakatan is in a little Perak mess is to be expected. First, its a narrow majority they are holding. Secondly, the new coalition government is still raw and green. So politically, umno should be able to jump straight in and take full advantage of the situation. And jump they did. But it seems to me the advantage which they have hoped to gain will elude them. And worse, will backfire. It has a lot to do with way they jumped. They were clumsy and oh definitely awkward if not outright stupid. And unfortunately for them, electorates are not blind nor deaf. And because their jump was badly executed, it has given LKS this nice opportunity to hammer the message home to voters. Yes its politics we are talking about here. And yes of course LKS must go all out and highlight their clumsiness and stupidity. After all voters are entitle to be informed and want to be informed so that come the next election, they can make an informed decision and not one which is based on last minute pre-election road paving or promise of school buildings and more temples.

“The MV U.M.N.O.” is sinking faster than I thought it would.

119. #119 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 8:40 am

Money we can overcome with more volunteers and hard work. Maybe not totally, but supporters are willing to contribute to a just cause. DAP dinners can raise thousands of RM. Anwar can raise hundreds of thousands. Maybe not millions like the BN, which raise them from outright theft of public funds and which the MACC choose to overlook.

It is critical to go for snap elections now, because it will become very obvious that the two turncoats who are now claiming to be “independent” will be contesting under the BN banner.

120. #120 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 8:49 am

There is no need to slam Anwar the way Jeffrey has consistently done. We all know his weaknesses, warts and all. The key thing to note is that Anwar knows that he has only one chance to prove to his detractors that he is indeed different from UMNO, that he deals the cards in a different way from UMNO. He knows that if he ever behaves like UMNO’s “business as usual”, then we the rakyat will ensure that he is booted out the next time around.

Our priority is to get rid of the “Great Oppressor” and whilst there is every possibility with landing ourselves with another oppressor, we would rather take this risk than to allow the current Great Oppressor to anchor themselves even deeper in the ground. If we can get rid of this Great Oppressor, we can surely get rid of any oppressor.

There is simply no time to dot the i’s and cross the t’s. There is no perfect or ideal world in politics.

121. #121 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 8:53 am

Trying to teach the Malaysians on the Concept of Separation of Powers of the Government and the checks-and-balances in the system of accountability does not necessarily mean that a person is trying to carry the balls of the U.S.A. “Separation of powers” is the only viable way for the Malaysians to live honourably in a two-parties system. Power itself may corrupt, too much power in the Government will eventually turn to be the breed of devil. The same principle shall apply universally to both BN and PR, even though my political inclination is towards PR.

122. #122 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 8:56 am

A snap election now would allow all parties to do some housecleaning. DAP has its own problems with the Ngeh/Nga faction which appears to upset people within the Perak DAP hierarchy. PKR needs to weed out potential turncoats.

Now that Najib is the new head of Perak UMNO, it will be a good time for us to send him a welcoming present indeed. A Mongolian good luck charm perhaps.

123. #123 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 9:04 am

While I am in favour of PR taking the EC to court as I believe there is an overall plot of BN to exahaust PR so that they can’t focus on Sarawak election which will be likely called much quicker soon after a Perak state election, I have to point up that it may not be worth it.

The question is why did the EC overstep its boundaries given that in the past, assemblymen have won their case? Its about money. The two assemblymen do not have the resources for an expensive court battle they may not win in state courts in a contract dispute and UMNO will reveal their dirty hand if they are funded and helped.

By the EC overstepping its boundaries, UMNO don’t have to risk being exposed to be behind this but fund the two assemblymen in their battle, it forces the case to the High Court and likely in front of former UMNO lawyer CJ that it knows it will win.

Its why PR inevitably must go to a state election BUT in the mean time it buys time to plan so that it does not fall into a UMNO trap of exhausting itself and then unable to muster strength for a very quick call Sarawak state election.

124. #124 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 9:14 am

Faced with a choice between campaigning for positions in UMNO, and for positions in the Perak State Assembly, what do you think the UMNO bigwigs will do ?

125. #125 by PHUAKL on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 9:29 am

Dear YB Lim

As the Pakatan Rakyat component political parties get stronger and generate more hope in the hearts of the people who are hungry for progressive change in Malaysia, they will attract people of stronger principles and higher capabilities as potential Parliamentary and State Assembly candidates. This will allow the weeding out of the undesirable and the incompetent e.g.
    ex-UMNOputras who are now in PKR.
    (UMNO = Unprincipled Money-grabbing Non-representative Organisation. With more and more Malays supporting the PR,
    UMNO is fast becoming the party of the corrupt, the racists and the fooled)

Phua Kai Lit

126. #126 by mangofruit on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 10:43 am

imranj78 said:

“…Who has unshamedly declared countless times that the fed government will fall due to defections? And worse still, he does not even for a moment stop to think that such defections are not only unethical, but it is clearly undemocratic and against the wishes of the electoral/rakyat.”

Well said. Except for the facts that the BN govt was \elected\ through deceit, fraud and on an uneven playing field. When phantom voters rule the day, postal votes rigged to favour the BN, big moneys distributed to voters as if the moneys are collected from tree leaves, one could hardly say that the BN govt is democratically elected in a fair election!! Is unfair election is the wishes of the electoral/rakyat?.

If the BN govt came to power by unfair means, it is only fair to bring it down by defections.

127. #127 by homeblogger on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 11:25 am

PHUAKL Says:
    UMNO = Unprincipled Money-grabbing Non-representative Organisation.

==================

or how about :

– Uncouth Morons Needing Otak?
    – Uncivilized Monyets Needing Otak?
    – Untuk Money… No Objection?
    – Un-united Malay Nonsensical Organization?

128. #128 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 11:50 am

It’s like a football game, isn’t it ? One side plays dirty, buys off the referee and linesmen, the other side’s supporters still yell at their players to play fair.

129. #129 by Thor on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:22 pm

The longer you wait!
    The hotter it’ll boil!
    I believe there’re still some others in the PR who’re still lying low waiting for chances to come for them to jump.
    PR has no option but to screen each and every one of them and call for the next state by-election.
    Otherwise it’ll be a never ending story and will never have time to serve the people as well.
    If PR were to go to court to revoke the EC decision, chances are that it’ll be overturn, as history has taught us many things about our judiciary system here.
    We have no law here except that of Umno law, that favours them the most.
    Even lawmakers here are considered as part of their family so how are we going to challenge them in court?
    Time has come for us to fight against the “greed and evildoers” and let us voters do the battling.
    We are already mature now and we’ve confidence that PR will win big this time around.
    Your only job is to carefully select the right and trusted candidate for the showdown.
    Please do not repeat the same mistake again for chances can only come once a while.
    Also, if PR will to win big this time, najib’s gang will be doggone and his PM dreams would fade as well.
    Have confidence because not only we, the righteous ones, are with you as Altantuya’s soul too, is standing by to bash them to neverland.
    May all our force be with you!!!

130. #130 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:45 pm

Godfather said, “There is no need to slam Anwar the way Jeffrey has consistently done” – his posting 08: 49.08 (3 hours ago) – which I disagree because, as I have said earlier, the main capital that the Opposition has over the incumbent ruling coalition is moral.

To galvanise Malaysians to PR’s cause, we must be persuaded that PR’s moral compass is good for the long haul, that its principles and the principles of its defacto leader are good for all times/circumstances, good for all who would support him in the battle for a better Malaysia.

PR and especially its defacto leader must by speech, policy and action speak with that clear voice in order to set PR apart from the moral ambivalence of its rival, the BN.

But how to speak with a clear voice if the defacto leader carries on with the weaknesses, inconsistencies warts and all?

To give a specific example: supposing Perak MB now calls a snap state election and campaigning by both sides goes on full swing. As usual BN has the advantage of pouring in lots of money. PR has not this advantage. It will have to rely on the Perakians’ outrage against the BN for playing dirty to poach crossovers of PKR’s state assemblymen to destabilise Perak State govt. How does the PR’s candidate hammer this point home when his rival BN candidate retorts that Anwar is, on record, the King of all frogs based on his persistent claims last year to poach BN crossovers to destabilise the BN elected govt ? How do you answer that???

It is good and well to say that when Anwar manages to displace the Great Oppressor, he should behave himself then or confronts the prospect to being removed himself.

The issue is however not whether if Anwar comes to power he could be removed if he behaves like BN. Rather the issue is whether he could ever take everyone across the divide and successfully displace BN in the first place, if along the way and the path of struggle, he carries with him all these “weaknesses, inconsistencies and warts” of the very enemy (BN) that he seeks to depose, such as for example poaching of political frogs, playing to the gallery, talking different things to different audiences wirthout care for internal consistencies!

I therefore do not agree that in the focus to “rid of this Great Oppressor”, we can afford, as far as the “slayer” who does battle with the Great Oppressor is concerned, to ignore the dotting of the i’s and crossing the t’s.

There may not be a perfect or ideal world in politics. However basic adherance to certain powerful principles, like the way LKS has been comparatively consistent in upholding, should not be lost sight of.

So far PR is reaping the 308 momentum from negative antipathy towards the ruling coalition. Its more the push than pull factor. To cross the divide, it needs to garner the positive pull factor by moral example to inspire the many who are still politically indifferent and apathetic.

131. #131 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:56 pm

Instead of BOLEHLAND or BODOHLAND, I think Malaysia has become KATAKLAND!!

132. #132 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 12:57 pm

the other side’s supporters still yell at their players to play fair

Well, duh! Farish Noor could have gone shopping for some high-tech weaponry and supported his brothers in Gaza using the ‘when in Rome’ excuse. I’m sure he has a few ringgits to spare, could have mortgaged his house, maybe even called in a few family favours. He could possibly even have crawled there with his laser-guided minigun strapped to his back and taken out several dozen oppressors when he got there. But then whatever land he stood on would have been carpet-bombed into ashes.

He could have been more cunning and used his skill with words to convince a few UMNO ministers given to aggressive outbursts that the start of 2009 was time to divert the Malaysian Navy from their tour around Somalia, and demonstrate their ability to mount a naval barrage of their own, maybe flattening a few Israeli coastal towns in the process. But then the Malaysian Navy would suddenly disappear, destroyed by some really expensive and exclusively available to-surface missiles, followed shortly after by KL and JB, just to remind all in Malaysia that might really is right.

It is like a football game, Godfather, only the other side has far more players and far more money. What’s worse the referee plays for the other side, allowing fouls on his side and promising heavy penalties for the away team. I think an appeal to the moral sensitivities of the crowd is just about the last hope the away team has. I think the crowd have started booing the home team, but in my opinion it would only be wise of the PR players to avoid attracting any boos to themselves.

133. #133 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:07 pm

Wasn’t there a WWII movie where the Allied prisoners played a football game against their SS captors against all the odds, and won because the crowd assisted in the final escape ?

134. #134 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:14 pm

What, in a football game, when one side plays dirty, and buys off the referee and linesmen, you think the other side can win by also playing dirty?

In the first place how much money has the other side got to buy off the referee and linesmen as the first side?

Whilst its true that supporters’ yelling at their players to play fair may not be imediately effective, it must be asked what’s the difference ultimately between the two sides if both play foul to win only?

When you play dirty against dirty the idea is only to win at all costs but isn’t that goal scored a phyrric victory when your supporters/bystanders in the gallery except the most fanatical ones leave in disgusts of both sides and lost interest in the game?

We’re thinking about promoting the standard of the game (if game is compared to Malaysia) not winning no matter what the methods in destruction of the game.

135. #135 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:15 pm

How do you answer the question that Anwar is the King of frogs ? Simple. Just say the pot should not call the kettle black especially when Zaid Ibrahim tried to push for the anti-hopping law only to be shot down by his own cabinet colleagues.

Frogs will be frogs, and party hopping will always be there unless there are laws to prevent it. It’s not whether Anwar is the king of frogs or whether Najib should now be bestowed with this title. The only difference is that PR reps hop for one obvious reason, and that reason only – $$$.

136. #136 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:20 pm

No, Jeffrey, the other side should play smart, and should not play dirty “in the eyes”of the referee and linesmen. Otherwise it is futile to play the game knowing that you will have players sent off all the time. Do not worry about the colour of your socks. Do not worry about playing beautiful football. Kick the ball into touch all the time if you have to. You will win only one corner kick as compared to them winning 10 corner kicks, but make that one corner kick count.

137. #137 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:20 pm

In the WWII movie, the Allied prisoners played a football game fair to win against their SS captors – and spectators helped them to escape because they won playing fair, and the deal was they should be released if they won fair and square though SS Captors never intended to honour that deal. Would spectators have helped if they also played foul?

138. #138 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:21 pm

And of course when the referee and linesmen are distracted someone else, give an opposing player a kick in the b@lls. Fair game.

139. #139 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:21 pm

…sorry, “distracted somewhere else…”

140. #140 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:23 pm

I have no beef against playing smart : but playing smart is not the same as playing foul.

141. #141 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:26 pm

“Would the spectators have helped if they had played foul?” I thought they eventually did when the referee wasn’t looking, and they were definitely cheered on by the spectators.

That’s the scenario we face now. Play fair in front of the referee, take advantage of opportunities when the referee isn’t looking. No point whining to the referee, the clock is ticking.

142. #142 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:29 pm

And to accuse the other side (BN) of winning by foul means (poaching kataks) by trying to score goals by the same means that you accuse the other side is just aint smart but equally foul…And when the referee and linesmen are distracted someone else, give an opposing player a kick in the b@lls only shows your sights on what is standard of skills for such a game at the level of the lower regions of the b@lls. That’s all.

143. #143 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:31 pm

Then what’s your idea of playing smart, Jeffrey ? When the referee and linesmen are obviously biased. Strictly by the rules ?

My idea of playing smart is abide by the rules when the referee is watching, and kick opposing players in the groin when the referee isn’t watching. That’s smart play in a non-level playing field.

144. #144 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:35 pm

In the good old days when we were playing rugby and the referee was either blind or biased, we used to bite off the fingers and ears of opposing players. We knew how to hurt an opposing player without the referee or linesman even knowing. We would do it only if the other side was playing foul of course.

The standards of football and rugby then were higher than the standards now.

145. #145 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:36 pm

It’s only fair to say that we would not have Jeffrey on our team, except perhaps as a waterboy.

146. #146 by k1980 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:39 pm

Has Perak deputy state speaker Hee Yit Foong also turned “independent”, i.e. to say, joined mca? She might at this very moment be laughing “Heeheehee’ all the way to the bank(s)

147. #147 by shadow on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:41 pm

In future the leaders of the respective parties should choose their representatives carefully. This is what will happen when the monkeys and donkeys are chosen. Learn from the American President OBAMA choices to his cabinets. GOD bless the Perakians.

148. #148 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:41 pm

“How do you answer the question that Anwar is the King of frogs ? Simple. Just say the pot should not call the kettle black” pointing the finger at BN.

This is wrong. It is Anwar/PR that say they doing right and good and BN doing wrong/bad. To demonstrate that Anwar/PR have to show, by example, how they are different from BN, the wrong by doing the right and good rather than wrong/bad – just to catch BN at the b@lls, that you’re so fond talking about, and then turn around with pathetic excuse that if you can do wrong/bad (from this and that instances), so can I, and mine is even less than yours! Come on!

149. #149 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:44 pm

So far the score is PR 1 BN 3. Is Anwar really the king of frogs or should the title go to Najib who is the UMNO head for Perak ?

150. #150 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:54 pm

Godfather from what you said, playing foul is Ok (when the opposite side is playing foul) as long as one does not get caught (kicking theb@lls when bias referee not looking), so net net winning is of the greater importance than other values like integrity standards of the game etc that other times you wopuld speak about when it gives situational advantage.

This difference in where to put weightage – winning is all that counts to you more important than certain values in absolute terms – will go near to prove a measuring cast between you and me. Of course I would have nothing to do with any team that you’re in let alone lead – if you really have a team….

151. #151 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:55 pm

Dear Homeblogger,

Many people in this forum judge people base on political affiliation, not the act.

As Imranj78 said, Anwar got the taste of his own medicine. He really deserves it. He went on and on about Sept 16,2008 ignoring the truth that rakyah had spoken. They chose to give Pr 5 states but felt that BN stll rules Malaysia.

Why panic now about PKR ADUN leaving PKR. Anwar forgets that a knife can cut both way. He engineered all this rubbish and now it backfires.

I have no respect on politicians who switch side when they were chosen to represent opposite political affiliation. As for BN, it should now realize that what used to be its weapon 20 years ago will haunt it later.

As for Anwar, he has no credibility whatsoever. Now, you know how painful is the medicine, courtesy of your own greed . You are making fool of yourselves.

You may not want to hear this. Every Perak Malay whom I met is angry at Nizar. They feel betrayed( and indeed they are).

As for Jeffrey, stop justifying this nonsense.

152. #152 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 1:58 pm

“So far the score is PR 1 BN 3. Is Anwar really the king of frogs or should the title go to Najib who is the UMNO head for Perak ?” – Godfather.

So if the other side BN is corrupt by a measure of 3, it is ok for PR to be corrupt on a measure of 1 since the title pf Corrupt King still goes to BN – is that how you argue?

153. #153 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:07 pm

Football game is great when the umpire is a just and fair.The perak game is simply not fair as the umno appointed umpire judgement was based on umno boleh,tak umno tak boleh.This is true as I remembered the PBS Sabah case .The undated signed letter of resignation was considered okay by the then appointed umno or umpire ie EC but in this case cos it’s soothed them umno,it’s tak boleh. Well guys this is AAB’s boleh dream land.These two ybs should they have accepted the 50 million ,gone missing or hiding should be man enough to come out,meet the voters,tell the truth or else be executed.

154. #154 by monsterball on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:12 pm

Frog or slimedog..it is Najib..and not Anwar. DAP gave EC 48 hours to withdraw it’s useless….powerless decision.
    If EC wants to play politics to please…. slimedog Najib…he will get to know….who will have the actual… final say..in Perak.
    Out of respect for the Mr.Speaker….DAP defended his decision…as the said Mr. Speaker have the authority to declare by-elections..based on the copies of resignations letters he received…and based on commonsense…..he decided the right thing. The Mr.Speaker…is like the Head of all parliamentarians in the lawful house..
    EC..is just a paid salary civil servant….and may have some power…ONLY when election is on….and he can make some decisions. Not before an election.
    EC have no business to interfere at all.
    But in Malaysia…as long as it sounds good to UMNO…that’s most important…law or unlawful….not important.
    The State is still managed by DAP.
    Lets wait another 24 hiours.

155. #155 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:16 pm

The rationale that is hard to fathom is this.

BN is a given quantity : known to play foul, and must be diplaced for that reason.

Here comes new kid in the block (PR) who points an accusing finger at BN and cry foul and ask others to help in removing the BN noted for foul play. By so doing PR is staking a claim to supporters that it is a good alternative precisely because it does not play foul.

Then comes Godfather, the spokeman for the new kid who says that in the interest of removing the “foul” team on an unlevel playing field it is ok for PR to also play foul by kicking the other side in the b@lls when the referee is not looking and this foul can get away with it.

When you present yourself as a viable alternative to
    the side that plays foul – on a claim that you are different – and yet you commit the same foul act in order to win, then you are hypocrite most foul and you expect us to support a hypocrite???

I guess you choose the handle/nick “Godfather” because you admire the Sicilian MAFIA’s principles of Michael Corleone, but we’re not gangsters, and you should not pose a lawman as well!

156. #156 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:31 pm

157. #157 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:40 pm

YB,

I argued like hell via several postings in earlier thread – “RM7 billion national economic stimulus package or RM7 billion BN economic stimulus package?” – on why MB Nizar, should, when he met the Sultan, ask for dissolution of state assembly instead of mucking around according to your Ngeh/Ngah’s advice to have 2 by elections….I know time is of the essence even if Godfather abused me for talking nonsense….

You would have known by now that PR’s cause in Perak is 99% lost because of this senseless delay.

Malaysiakini reports (Feb 4, 09 12:12pm) reports, “Perak Menteri Besar Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin is expected to have an audience with the sultan to seek the dissolution of the state assembly…If the sultan accedes to the request, a snap state election will have to be called in view of the current political upheaval in Perak…

Isn’t this a little too late? I am sure he is unsuccessful even until now as otherwise it would be breaking news.

People won’t spend millions to procure crossovers if there were grander scheme to make a quick kill of PR in Perak though supporters like Godfather still [then] thought there’s a lot of time in the world to consider options …

Malaysiakini also reports “Deputy Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak is calling a press conference at 4pm in Putrajaya. It is speculated that he may talk about the possible takeover of Perak government.”

I think the PR’s cause is almost as good as lost at this point unless an audience with HRH the Sultan could be obtained….

I am sorry – really sorry -that it turns out this way.

158. #158 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:43 pm

Sorry typo omission rectified in bold “….People won’t spend millions to procure crossovers if there were NOT A grander scheme IN PLACE to make a quick kill of PR in Perak…”

159. #159 by sean on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 2:52 pm

Just my 2 cents worth…..

since we may have 3 independents…then all other remaining PR assemblyman/woman should also becomes independents.That way they still becomes the majority right.
    Again…my two cents worth…..

160. #160 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 3:08 pm

I am surprised there are not more independents in Malaysian elections. I imagine the inducements to join a coalition in a tied result could be marvellous. With no worthwhile media to cry foul or portray the expensive independent as a prostitute for life, where is the risk?

161. #161 by bentoh on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 3:39 pm

I think the party should really learn that it should not have endorsed its ally, PKR, in playing frog plays…

DAP is the biggest loser in this debacle, especially when rumor has it that 2 more kataks from DAP are moving…

I’m sorry to see this happening… but the party has to pay the price to learn, and to advance…

162. #162 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 3:51 pm

Come to think of it, they don’t even need to go through the procedures and motions of vote of no confidence in Perak State Assembly raised by Onlooker Politics.

All Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi and Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu – and the 3rd, 4th and 5th new defectors have done is to sign a declaration along with the other 27 BN assembly men and with 32, they are majority of 5 over PR’s 27.

They could then see HRM the Ruler to request a change of MB and formation of new BN Perak state govt.

According to malaysiakini, “it appears that the sultan will go for the second option by allowing a transfer of power without a snap poll”, and Najib will be calling a press conference at 4pm in Putrajaya. (It is speculated that he may announced the possible takeover of the state government).

Your DAP Aduns listen too much to legal advice of certain people : Law cannot work when politics work faster. Are these certain people trying to make money from legal cases, not caring for PR’s real interest or they are real political novice? You knmow who I am referring to…

And even then the law also is not that good for reasons that:

1. by Perak constitution, it is not Speaker but EC that decides on whether there will be by-elections pursuant to to casual vacancies from defections;
    2. article 10(1)(c) Federal Constitution on Freedom of Association based on Federal Court authority1992 of Dewan Undangan Negeri Kelantan & Another v Nordin Salleh & Another) override.

You may be mis-advised. Even on legal issues.

If the transfer of power were really on – Not just in respect Perak but KEDAH as well – Najib has reasons to pat/congratulate himself & his advisers for this lightning fast blitzkerg, he has caught the entire PR, its strategists, Aduns and supporters sleeping, and now he has something really really “solid” to take to UMNO general assembly.

163. #163 by Loh on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 4:17 pm

Yes, Najib can win Perak state and it is now fair game for federal government to change hand. Someody from UMNO other than Najib can work with Pakatan to gain a majority in the parliament and become the new PM when Najib is President of UMNO in March. Daydreaming?

164. #164 by Bobster on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 4:32 pm

Before claiming DSAI to be king of frog, do check out the history of this country, how many have hopped to BN due to hanky panky behind the scene. In fact Party Gerakan itself is a frog team after 1969.

Wonder how many laughing to the bank including some in the a*** in forum.

165. #165 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 5:37 pm

undergrad2,
    Are you insinuating that I deserve something better than just being a taxi driver? Thanks for the compliment, sir.

166. #166 by Godfather on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 6:57 pm

Jeffrey:

Where in my postings on this thread have I ever said that PR has all the time in the world to consider options ?

I have said all along that it is daft to even give the EC 48 hours to change its mind. There was always only one option, which is to have state-wide elections, something that Najib will try to avoid. He who hesitates when playing poker does not have a winning hand.

167. #167 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 4 February 2009 - 7:58 pm

Taxidriver Says:

Today at 17: 37.24 (2 hours ago)
    undergrad2,
    Are you insinuating that I deserve something better than just being a taxi driver? Thanks for the compliment, sir.”

I do think that you ought to be driving the taxi driver. Not be him.

168. #168 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:17 am

Godfather asked, “ Jeffrey: Where in my postings on this thread have I ever said that PR has all the time in the world to consider options ?”

Let me refresh your memory in blog thread:

First, when I suggested that PR/Nizar should go for snap state election of all 59 constituencies instead of 2 by elections, as time is crucial, you said in posting of February 3rd, 2009 (2 days ago) at 09: 25.38 “Stop talking nonsense, counselor” and followed up with the subsequent posting on February 3rd, 2009 (2 days ago) at 11: 20.52 in which you said, and I quote what you said:

“Is the EC the final arbiter of the validity of a document ? This will have to be decided by the courts and even on an expedited basis how long will the courts take to decide based on appeals and counter-appeals ? Months ? furthermore, even if BN goes to the Sultan and declare that it has a majority of one and that it should be allowed to form the next state government, the Sultan can still disagree and instead declare that fresh elections are needed. Irrespective of whether the Sultan has this right, do you think BN will go against the Sultan’s wishes ?
    Yes, we have time, and BN is going to blink on this one.”

I draw your attention in particular to the last sentence, “Yes, we have time, and BN is going to blink on this one.”
    Now do we have time? And who is doing the blinking?

169. #169 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:24 am

The blog thread I was talking about in “Let me refresh your memory in blog thread:” is the preceding one on “RM7 billion national economic stimulus package or RM7 billion BN economic stimulus package?”

170. #170 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 6:07 am

Godfather, I forgot, your remarks – “stop talking nonsense, counselor. If the undated resignations are found by a court to be invalid, then all that PR should do is to call for snap elections” per your posting February 3rd, 2009 (2 days ago) at 09: 25.38 under blog thread “RM7 billion national economic stimulus package or RM7 billion BN economic stimulus package?” – suggest that the legal issues on undated resignations be exhausted in court first – which takes time – and only after that if necessary, call for snap election.

This was repeated in your subsequent posting February 3rd, 2009 (2 days ago) at 12: 25.59 same thread in which you, and I quote: “If the pre-signed letters are deemed to be invalid – through the court process as many of us don’t have much faith in the EC – then I would suggest that the ruling state governments in Selangor and Perak (and perhaps even Kedah) immediately declare snap elections and this time around be more selective in the choice of candidates”.

Everyone knows how long is court process. It takes the fastest, months, and the longest, years.

Your advice (just like Perak DAP’s Ngeh/Ngah) that the pre-signed letters be subject to court process and adjudication of being invalid first – before resorting to snap elections – definitely assumes that PR had the luxury of time, and downplayed the urgency on its part to call a snap election, at PR’s peril!