Can you imagine that…

I was at the Institut Jantung Negara (National Heart Institute) waiting room today for my check-up when the door opened and in came the former Health Minister, Datuk Seri. Dr. Chua Soi Lek.

I asked Chua why he was not in China with the highly-publicised MCA top-level delegation led by the MCA President, Datuk Seri Ong Tee Kiat.

Chua said he was not invited to the MCA trip to China and he was in IJN for his check-up.

Well that is MCA’s business and none of mine.

Check-up ok, with cholersterol under control and other tests so far so good.

All fine to move on.

1. #1 by monsterball on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:06 pm

Great to hear LKS is in good heath.
    He is needed now….more than ever before.

2. #2 by dawsheng on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:17 pm

Mention his name, DVD comes to mind, it’s synonymous! Prolly a bestseller in China. Imagine that…

3. #3 by k1980 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:18 pm

Can you imagine that… the Deputy President of mca is being pushed aside and barred from accompanying the mca President on his China trip. Chua Soi Lek should take his followers out and form a new party, mcab. (mca baru)

4. #4 by dawsheng on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:21 pm

Good to know cholesterol is under control, your heart is important to us. Gong Xi Fa Cai!

5. #5 by Kathy on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:25 pm

YB, good to hear that you are well. Wishing you and family a happy Chinese New Year!!!!!

6. #6 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:32 pm

Health is wealth!!! Good to hear that you are well, Wishing you and family a happy Chinese New Year.
    Wishing all DAP, PR people a joyful Happy Chinese New Year and not forgetting (action speaks louder than words) those who are less fortunate at this time of economy recession!!! PR states should give out lots of Ang Pows to those who truly deserve helps irregarless of race or religion!!!

7. #7 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:39 pm

It is a “working” trip for MCA guys, only those who deserve should get this previlege, Dr Chua is not entitled to this because the reason is obvious; what if people in China saw him and start to ask him where to buy his signature DVD or ask him to sign on the DVD cover??? Aiyoyo, OTK will have to step aside because no one in China recognise him but Dr Chua!!!

8. #8 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 4:45 pm

Good to hear that both you and Dr Chua have the faith in our very own IJN!!!

9. #9 by Mr Smith on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 5:03 pm

Glad to know you are fine. May the Lord grant you a long, long healthy life.
    Chua is wasting his time in a half-dead MCA.

10. #10 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 5:07 pm

Why not asking Dr Chua to cross over to PR or DAP rather than wasting his life in Money Come Along!!!

11. #11 by hiro on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 5:09 pm

Uncle Lim, we’re heartened to know you’re in good health. Have a Happy Chinese New Year.

12. #12 by Gomen on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 5:26 pm

well, at least he has all the time to drum up support within the MCA will the other gang are busy holidaying here and there.

anyway, what makes them think china will help Malaysia, they’ve got bigger problems to take care.

13. #13 by k1980 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 5:26 pm

The Human Resources Ministry says 45,000 Malaysians could lose jobs over the Chinese New Year period alone. Another 400,000 Malaysians will lose their jobs by end of the year. In Singapore, another half a million Malaysians will be jobless as the republic buckles under the economic slowdown.

A lot of them will be heading to the IJN due to heartache. A good time for elections.

14. #14 by localgrad on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 5:30 pm

Dr. Chua is last right-minded person in MCA (politically and intellectually).

How can we trust those who did badly in their student day to lead the country? Ong Tee Kiat, Chew Mei Fun, Ong Ka Chuan, Ong Ka Ting all did badly in their STPM and thus got those irrelevant/useless degree.

If u cant even do well in a simple paper exam, then r not qualified to lead the people.

15. #15 by taiking on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 5:33 pm

Its a new lunar year ahead in two days time. What a good way to welcome the golden ox. Good for you and family and for malaysia as well.
    Happy CNY everyone.
    I am off now!

16. #16 by Yee Siew Wah on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 6:10 pm

Please help convey this info on one of the UMNO idiotic politician bum by the name of Datuk Z (z=zoo)to the whole rakyat by one blogger in MT:-

These sort of indulgence in pure stupidity and vindictiveness MUST BE disseminated to the people far and wide in order for them to be informed of the stupid policies and games that the government is playing AT THE EXPENSE OF THE RAKYAT.

Instead of trying to work together to alleviate the miseries of the rakyat, they choose to hinder progress and efforts of the state government to attain a better future for their people. When the global tsunami hits our shore hard, the rakyat will know who to point their fingers at and their displeasures will be translated into votes for the opposition.

The arrogance of the Federal government should be exposed and made known to all Malaysians to counteract their stupid behaviours. Publicity always works wonders especially when it exposes the stupidity and petty mindedness of our “leaders”.

17. #17 by All For The Road on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 6:10 pm

Good and heartened to know that Uncle Lim is in good health to lead the crusade against the present ‘rotten’ government. Our YB Kit looks 20 years much younger than his actual age. Fight and fight you must for the rakyat who has lost confidence in the present-day government!

On another note, the MCA leadership is very rotten to the core. The No. 1 and the No. 2 cannot see eye to eye. They are drifting further and further away to the dismay of many who are supporters of the Money Come Along party. Dr Chua is best left to defend himself and losing his way in the doomed party. He has no future and no role to play in the party as long as Ong Ta Kut is at the helm. Time for him to think of his political future in the lame duck party!

On another more auspicious and happy note, The Year Of The Ox is just a few days away. Let’s celebrate it with gusto and leave behind politics for a while.

GONG XI FA CAI to all our fellow Chinese Malaysians especially to the DAP and its loyal supporters and associates!

18. #18 by GreenBug on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 6:28 pm

Congrats YB Kit on your good medical results. Don’t worry so much about the MCA, enjoy your CNY with the family.

The more the MCA leaders continue to do what they are doing, the more irrelevant they become. Let them self-destruct!

19. #19 by lbl on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 6:35 pm

Hi YB,
    I am glad your check was good.Please do some sort of exercise and watch your diet. We all need and depend on you.

20. #20 by yhsiew on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 6:49 pm

If the Chinese in MCA are not united, how can they (MCA) unite the Chinese of Malaysia – let alone unite all the races of Malaysia.

21. #21 by lew1328 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 7:25 pm

Greeting! Kit, All & yours family

“Gong Xi Fa Chai” Happy Chinese New Year with prosperous and Healthy.

Regards.

22. #22 by gofortruth on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 7:36 pm

Congratulations to Uncle Lim for scoring good health & may God continue to strengthen you with wisdom & might to lead us to a better Malaysia.

Gong Xi Gong Xi, wishing you & your family a blessed & happy & prosperous CNY 2009!

As for Dr. Chua, he has better make a move fast before his group gets annihilated by OTK & company.

23. #23 by tjwork on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 7:44 pm

Happy new year Uncle Lim,

I think with new medical advances, you could live up to 140 years old & perhaps give the umnoputras a hard time.

Good that you are keeping up with health.

Take good care & god bless for the new year.

T.Jwork

24. #24 by monsterball on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 8:03 pm

If Dr.Chua believes in fate…then the sign is for him to resign from MCA and join DAP.
    An elected Vice President of MCA….not consulted…not included to a trip to China…what is he waiting for……next MCA election?
    If he wants to serve Malaysians….he has enough incidents …which are all been rewarded back to him…somewhat …by being elected as VP of MCA…so powerful in his party….yet treated like shit again.
    Why….because Dr.Chua speaks the language of majority Malaysians….and dare to confront his party to change for the better.
    UMNO had Zaid…resigned to be free…valuing his dignity and principles in life…more than anything else.
    MCA have Dr.Chua…why stick to the racialist party..that ill treats him?
    Selfishness and too clever to calculate the pros and cons…favouring himself…sometimes kill the good opportunities for a smart person…with the result to suffer and be humiliated again and again…until age catches up….too late…and be a useless politician.

25. #25 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 8:23 pm

Did you invite him to join DAP?

Boleh is in chaos with the murder of a citizen in the police custody. Do we remember what happened in Greece recently with the killing of a young man? The whole country was in revolution. Would we start a revolution as well?

26. #26 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 8:39 pm

With the other MCA people gone to China, Chua can now assure that no one is available to video tape him in the hotel!

27. #27 by k1980 on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 8:49 pm

The young man in Greece was shot by police while rioting, but the one in Malaysia was bashed to death under interrogation. Apparently, according to the police, he talked so much and gave the police so much info, that he felt thirsty and asked for a glass of water, which accidentally entered his lungs.

28. #28 by cemerlang on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 9:34 pm

The chai part in gong xi fa chai means luck and prosperity which usually means money. So, may be there are other more meaningful words which do not have to mean money but a better life, better health, better this and that. Though money is important too.

29. #29 by mother of three on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 10:08 pm

Good to hear that you are well.
    Wishing you and your family a Happy Chinese New Year.
    Wishing all Malaysian Chinese a Happy Chinese New Year.
    May God Bless all of us always and protect us from evil.

30. #30 by truthseeker on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 10:19 pm

???? YB Lim . I really pity this Chua, a capable man tainted by his unmoral activities and being sideline by his arrogant boss.

31. #31 by truthseeker on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 10:21 pm

Xin nian kuai le YB.

32. #32 by LBJ on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 10:25 pm

Happy Ox Year!

MCA is sharpening the knife, ready to sacrifice Chua Soi Lek.

33. #33 by OrangRojak on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 10:49 pm

恭喜發財!

Happy New Ox!

34. #34 by wanderer on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 11:20 pm

Come, come chaps, it is poor taste to keep on attacking his immoral past activity. The man made a mistake and have apologise, give him a break. Please remember what Jesus said, “He who has not sinned, cast the first stone”.
    Let us enjoy our Chinese New Year and no offense meant.

YB, Happy Lunar New Year and to each and everyone of you, May the New Year brings to all, good health and prosperity.

35. #35 by Sony boy on Friday, 23 January 2009 - 11:44 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

Happy to hear you are in tip-top health.

May the year of the ox bring joy, peace and happiness to your family.

Here’s the CNY ox bringing best wishes to all Malaysians too:

http://www.mylivingwall.com/v3/wall-of-cartoons/6253-cny2009

36. #36 by frankyapp on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 12:14 am

yeap ,happy chinese new year everyone.l l et’s share,care and enjoy sthis happy occasion. YB lim,u ok. please take care cos we love and need you to lead this nation to change 4 the good rof the people.Dr chua is a good man,although he has personal problem.who does not ? I think he is in the wrong party.there is nothing wrong if he is sincere to service the rakyat to join dap cos mca is a kind of a dead duck.

37. #37 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 12:55 am

Dr.Chua should resign from MCA and join PR..to be useful and have a purpose in life…to be an excellent politicians for Malaysians.
    Elected as VP for MCA…see how they treat him.
    What is he waiting for?

38. #38 by monsterball on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 3:10 am

Off the subject….May I take this opportunity to wish Lim Kit Siang….Lim Eng Guan….their families…good health …much happiness and a blessed Year of the OX.
    And my sincere greetings to one and all Malaysian Chinese visitors..for a Happy Chinese New Year.
    May all be well and good.
    Yamseng….yam yam yamseng!!

39. #39 by owlz on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 5:23 am

Huhu… Hye YB Lim Kit Siang… I just want to wish you a Happy Chinese New Year, Gong Xi Fa Chai… Hope you always health, happy and dont eat too much cholestrol food… May you enjoy in the new day with your beloved family, beloved friends and beloved Malaysians. Hidup YB Kit Siang. Huhu. UUPPSS!!! This Happy Chinese New Year, Gong Xi Fa Chai also I wish to all Malaysian Chinese, to the whole Chinese in the world and especially, to aaaalll my Chinese classmates at University of Malaya. Huhu. Errr… I read at Mr / Mrs cemerlang posting. He said, “The chai part in gong xi fa chai means luck and prosperity.” Then what is actually the Gong Xi means? Is it a “New Year” or what? UPPPSS!!! Sorry, Im a Malay… I dont understand Mandarin… Thank you… Wish you all guyz in health, wealth and prosperity also… I want to finish my tutorial first… Lecturer sudah bagi banyaaaaakkk kerja… Huhu… After holiday got a looottt of presentation and even system development also, the programmer… Okay, happy happy to you beloved bloggers and beloved commentators…

40. #40 by owlz on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 5:26 am

UUPPSSS… Forgot to say… Goodluck for the next pilihanraya (GE) also. Huhu… Im still young… 22 years old… Still much to learn from the elders like you YB Kit Siang… Selamat Tahun Baru Cina.

41. #41 by yhsiew on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 6:38 am

I am pleased to hear that you are OK. We do need good-hearted political leaders!

Have a joyous Chinese New Year.

42. #42 by chengho on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 6:39 am

Uncle Kit and Dr Chua ,
    gong xi fa cai …any open house this year since this is economic slowdown time…

43. #43 by penangboy on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 7:47 am

Happy New Year Uncle Kit. You inspired me since I was a little boy and today you continue to inspire me beyond. I am glad I have decided to walk my talk …. wish my dad was around.

44. #44 by evankoay on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 10:04 am

Happy Niu Year TO ALL

http://www.ekstock.blogspot.com

45. #45 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 10:30 am

I could not imagine that Wendi Wong married such an old guy.

46. #46 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 1:47 pm

Happy New Year YB LKS and family.Wish you good health and vibrance forever.Hope you will continue your long political career with perseverence until the formation of the new PR government.

47. #47 by k1980 on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 2:13 pm

//I could not imagine that Wendi Wong married such an old guy.//

That Old Guy
    happens to have
    tonnes of Gold Bars
    in his Bank Vault.

48. #48 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 4:39 pm

It is a disgusting public display of antagonism and in-fighting between MCA president and his deputy, Ong Tee Keat and Chua Soi Lek, despite its delegates’ endorsement in its last election.

MCA is heading to the grave with its No.1 and No.2 playing their individual manouvre trying to outdo the other, ignoring the voices of the members at large!!

What are they talking about re-inventing, reforming their party for the relevance sake?

It is a great pity that MCA is damned by the presence of these two selfish and myopic guys there each with his selfish agenda.

49. #49 by k1980 on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 5:50 pm

From RPK’s website, a parable about umno

A farmer named Lakbir Singh was overseeing his herd in a remote pasture in Bolehland when suddenly a brand-new BMW advanced out of a dust cloud towards him.

The driver, a young Malay man in an Armani suit, Gucci shoes, RayBan sunglasses and YSL tie, leans out the window and asks the farmer, “If I tell you exactly how many cows and calves you have in your herd, will you give me a calf?”

Lakbir looks at the man, obviously a yuppie, then looks at his peacefully grazing herd and calmly answers, “Sure, why not?”

The yuppie parks his car, whips out his Dell notebook computer, connects it to his Cingular RAZR V3 cell phone, and surfs to a NASA page on the Internet, where he calls up a GPS satellite to get an exact fix on his location which he then feeds to another NASA satellite that scans the area in an ultra-high-resolution photo.

The young man then opens the digital photo in Adobe Photoshop and exports it to an image processing facility in Hamburg, Germany. Within mere seconds, he receives an email on his Palm Pilot that the image has been processed and the data is stored. He then accesses a MS-SQL database through an ODBC connected Excel spreadsheet with email on his Blackberry and, after a few minutes, receives a response. Finally, he prints out a full-colour, 150-page report on his hi-tech, miniaturized HP LaserJet printer and finally turns to the farmer and says, “You have exactly 1,586 cows and calves.”

“That’s right. Well, I guess you can take one of my calves,” says Lakbir.

He watches the young man select one of the animals and looks on amused as the young man stuffs it into the trunk of his car. Then Lakbir says to the young man, “Hey, if I can tell you exactly what your business is, will you give me back my calf?”

The young man thinks about it for a second and then says, “Okay, why not?”

“You’re a graduate from Oxford and a Member of Parliament for Umno,” says Lakbir.

“Wow! That’s correct,” exclaims the yuppie with the customary Umno’s Wow Factor, “But how did you guess that?”

“No guessing required,” answered Lakbir. “You showed up here even though nobody called you; you want to get paid for an answer I already knew, and to a question I never asked. You tried to show me how much smarter you are, and you don’t know a thing about cows. This is a herd of sheep. Now give me back my dog.”

50. #50 by raven77 on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 7:24 pm

Chua should just leave and get into the condom buisness or something……….those who think he is good in health matters…should give him a helping hand and let him prosper……perhaps he can even give the Thai condom King who vied for the Bangkok mayor’s post a good fight……

51. #51 by whorng on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 9:09 pm

long live Mr Lim Kit Siang. We need you more than ever now.

52. #52 by negarawan on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - 10:22 pm

Dr Chua Soi Lek, I admire your ability and determination to make a comeback despite being embroiled in a situation that would have meant political death. You have been clearly elected as VP of MCA through a democratic process. Very unfortunately, this democracy is not respected and understood by Ong Tee Keat, who clearly has some personal agenda not in the interest of MCA. I would stronly suggest that you leave MCA and join Pakatan Rakyat where your experience and abilities will be highly appreciated and brought to benefit the rakyat. Ong Tee Keat is showing himself to be yet another slave and political eunuch of UMNO. A few days ago he granted scholarships to Muslim students in China. Doesn’t he know that there are many bright and exceptional Malaysian Chinese students who have been denied a government scholarship? Whom is he representing – Malaysian Chinese or overseas chinese? One wonders how he was ever elected, and that goes to show how screwed up MCA is!

53. #53 by chuchueey on Sunday, 25 January 2009 - 12:15 am

I join in the chorus in wishing you and your family, and Guan Eng’s too, a Very Happy and Productive Year of the Ox, with lots of good health and fighting spirit for a better Malaysia.
    Gong Xi Fa Cai

54. #54 by ablastine on Sunday, 25 January 2009 - 1:00 am

May I take this opportunity to wish Uncle Lim a happy and prosperous 2009 and may his good health stand him in good stead to champion the cause of DAP and Pakatan leading us to overthrow the corrupted and useless BN government in the next general election. Also I think you should have taken the opportunity to convince and bring Dr Chua into DAP or Pakatan to fight as ally and not opponent. I think he is one of the smarter ones in MCA and just like in UMNO being smart, liberal, patriotic and a performer will eventually earn them the boot.

55. #55 by jamestjc on Sunday, 25 January 2009 - 11:15 am

Dear YB, glad to see your checkup report is everything good.. :)
    You’re still like Long Ching Fu Mang… haha.
    Wishes you Cheung Mheng Phak Sui…
    The country needs you a lot…They loves you and respect your true fighting spirit for justice…

About Dr. Chua…. just my 2 cents…
    If MCA does not value you, pls consider tat u can always choose to contribute in DAP or Pakatan Rakyat… Not necessary MCA who hides behind BN & UMNO..

Wishes YB Lim Kit Siang and ur family, Kong Hey Fat Choy…

56. #56 by k1980 on Sunday, 25 January 2009 - 12:18 pm

Will Kogan’s enquiry go the way of Steve Biko’s?

On 21 August, 1977, Biko was arrested at a police roadblock under the Terrorism Act No 83 of 1967. He suffered a major head injury while in police custody, and died shortly after arrival at the Pretoria prison, on 12 September. The police claimed his death was the result of an extended hunger strike. He was found to have massive injuries to the head, which many saw as strong evidence that he had been brutally clubbed by his captors.

Due to his fame, news of Biko’s death spread quickly, opening many eyes around the world to the brutality of the apartheid regime. His funeral was attended by many hundreds of people, including numerous ambassadors and other diplomats from the United States and Western Europe. The liberal white South African journalist Donald Woods, a personal friend of Biko, photographed his injuries in the morgue. Woods was later forced to flee South Africa for England, where he campaigned against apartheid and further publicised Biko’s life and death, writing many newspaper articles and authoring the book, Biko.

The following year on 2 February 1978, the Attorney General of the Eastern Cape stated that he would not prosecute any police involved in the arrest and detention of Biko. During the trial it was claimed that Biko’s head injuries were a self-inflicted suicide attempt, and not the result of any beatings. The judge ultimately ruled that a murder charge could not be supported partly because there were no witnesses to the killing. Charges of culpable homicide and assault were also considered, but because the killing occurred in 1977, the time limit for prosecution had expired.

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission, which was created following the end of minority rule and the apartheid system, reported in 1997 that five former members of the South African security forces had admitted to killing Biko who died a year after the Soweto riots which rocked apartheid South Africa, and were applying for amnesty.

On 7 October, 2003 the South African Justice Ministry officials announced that the five policemen accused of killing Biko would not be prosecuted. This was because of insufficient evidence, and the fact that the time limit for prosecution had elapsed.

57. #57 by toyolbuster on Sunday, 25 January 2009 - 1:54 pm

Even the beast semi value doesn’t treat his subordinates like that, he just sack them and not like OTK pally pally pretending to be “Woh men ee jia ren” and screw you from the back when you least expect it. Thats been MCA style if you dont know already.

58. #58 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 28 January 2009 - 2:02 am

OTK is truly selfish and antinational. He should have taken CSL to China. Afterall, OTK and his MCA cronies were trying to promote Malaysia to China and to encourage Chinese business people to invest in Malaysia.

Who, among MCA members and leaders, is the best known salesperson internationally? Of course, it’s CSL, who is a high impact top brand and whose naked ambition is well known and Googled worldwide. People feel at ease with CSL because, unlike most politicians, he is transparent and has nothing to hide.

CSL is a national asset but was unfortunately left in Malaysia by OTK. What a shame, OTK!

59. #59 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 28 January 2009 - 3:10 pm

So why the hell does MCA bother to sing the song “TUAN JIE JIU SHI LI LIANG” (Unity is Strength) as the grand finale for all its functions when even the HEAD and DEPUTY HEAD are “looking in different directions”? Better still sing “FEN FEI YAN” (The Departing Swallows), it will be more appropriate!!!! Another case of “Gua yang tou mai gou rou” (Hang up a goat’s head but sell dog meat)!