Even an acting OCPD has become the victim of crime!

Imagine – even an acting OCPD has become the victim of crime!

In the past, former top police and government officers had been victims of crime, including a former Inspector-General of Police and a state Governor – with the former Penang Chief Police Officer killed in a burglary.

Now, for the first time, a serving Police district chief has become a serious victim of crime.

Is this enough to be a final wake-up call to the Prime Minister, the Home Minister and the Inspector-General of Police to break away from their terminal denial complexes to admit that time is long overdue to restore to Malaysians the two fundamental freedoms they have lost – to be free from crime and free from the fear of crime.

This is the breaking news on the Tawau Acting OCPD who has become a victim of crime:-

January 03, 2009 13:28 PM

Tawau Acting OCPD Stabbed
TAWAU, Jan 3 (Bernama) — Tawau acting OCPD Supt Ramli Ali Mat was seriously injured after being stabbed in his house in Taman Ria 5 at about 2am today.

Bernama understands that Ramli, who was alone in the house, was stabbed in the abdomen in an attack by a group of five men.

A police spokesman said he had been admitted to the intensive care unit of the the Tawau Hospital and was reported to be in stable condition.

Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Noor Rashid Ibrahim is expected to visit him later today.

— BERNAMA

1. #1 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 5:10 pm

I wish him a speedy and complete recovery, and the limited satisfaction of knowing the perpetrators are behind bars, when that happens.

I doubt it will have much effect on denial from the top. Presumably this fellow lives in a normal house like normal Malaysians, and just has to take his turn to be a victim like the rest of us.

I think

a serious victim of crime

should be a victim of serious crime, shouldn’t it? I can’t imagine anybody laughing off an abdominal stabbing.

2. #2 by vincent on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 5:24 pm

But according to IGP, Bolehland is still safe. Believe it or not.

3. #3 by tohca1 on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 6:33 pm

I wish him speedy recovery too. Just wondering what can be the motive of the attack. I’m sure it’s not robbery as there surely are easier targets.

Visit The Malaysian Explorer
    for more information about Malaysia.

4. #4 by Loh on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 6:44 pm

Only when higher-ups in the government suffer criminal acts might there be appropriate actions taken. It is hoped that the PM, DPM, Home Minister and Police chiefs get a taste of it soon.

5. #5 by carcinoma on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 6:52 pm

boleh land is safe for certain rich people only if their house is guarded with 2 canons with 10 bodyguards and beside the police station with 3 rows of gates and walls to reach them….not saving them when they are out.
    you guys know why we are not safe? becos our law towards the criminals is too lenient. the sentences are short term for the criminals for a short holiday stay in the holiday inns the gov built! second, thanks to our “efficient ” police forces that too busy guarding a VIP or dato when these people giving speeches! there are 2 rows of police patrol to escort a VIP during they storm across a busy street. so now we know why the policemen are so busy! police boleh! how about the mat rempits? no police man is brave enough to stop them. mat rempits= gangsters= crime= hurting US! simple equation, malaysians cant understand…..malaysia tak boleh la !
    why must we send our policemen abroad for training and spend luxurious pay for the high rank officers when end result still the same, we are robbed and injured and KILLED! cant we set aside our ego and just look at our neighbour singapore how their police work. ego kills! that’s y we are never safe in the safeland and bolehland!

6. #6 by Jamesy on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 6:57 pm

Actually the police has been very efficient in suppressing dissenting voices in public demonstration and arresting them under the ISA, but failed in the area on combating crime.

Oh yes, by the way, some people do not make a police report when there’s burglary in their house. They are fed-up with the attitude of the police in catching the perpetrators because the police just do not care. And that does not mean the crime rate has come down. People just do no report.

Can the IGP please give us some straight answers?

7. #7 by pathfinder on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 7:07 pm

Aiya all of you must know by now….they are very good in going after jerit boys…going after anti isa members with harmless candles, after those who sing Negaraku, going after Negarakuku, going after unarmed Anwar with a full battalion, going after unarmed MPs with full force, but but dare not go near Chow Kit, dare not go after those Tawau, Semporna…….really dare not……Hahaha…..its really no joke..we are unprotected because they claim to be very safe here…so that they can sit in their big fat ass and collect their monthly salary without lifting a finger….

8. #8 by vsp on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 7:14 pm

Hey! hey! you guys, haven’t our Home Ministers and Najib declared that the high rate of crime in this country was only due to the perception of some imaginative and creative people. There is no such thing as crime in our beloved Bolehland.

Everyone should be safe because our top police officer has spewed out statistics showing that Bolehland is even safer than Singapore, HongKong and London. It’s so safe that now his duty is not to go and catch thieves but to hawk multimillion contracts to the government.

An acting OCPD, you say? How can? He is Bolehland’s guardian of the law and how can this happen. It’s impossible. It must be perception then. He must have slipped on his kitchen floor and unfortunately a knife drop on him. Anyone will agree this is an anomaly.

9. #9 by rubini on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 7:15 pm

This could be a result of “CRIME PRECEPTION”, ascertain by our IGP. Maybe this fellow only preceived he was stabbed by 5 men. BY the way how come he didn’t die. Usually most people get killed when stabbed. Maybe the assailants “PRECEIVED” he was dead, or maybe he kena TIKAM olok olok, who knows?
    Anyway, how’s the investigation proceeding? Hopefully the case will closed soonest because the police can’t waste time investigating “PRECEIVED” criminals. There are more serious crimes such as targeting political terrorist in BICYCLES & so on.

10. #10 by monsterball on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 7:48 pm

Our universities have been graded so low,
    I wonder what grade will our police force be graded against others.
    To me…they are not policemen at all..even though… 90% of the majority are….they will not be so…as their leaders ..commanders……are playing politics…..pleasing UMNO…to stay rich…..no problems..as no whistle blowers. All are one group.
    They keep protecting UMNO to the extend…to irritate and bully Malaysians ….treating Malaysians… like animals…with tear gas and water cannon treatments…..not allowing Malaysians to walk peacefully…protesting against UMNO.
    The 12th election showed Malaysians…are for Malaysia Malaysian…..yet they still do not change one bit.

11. #11 by vsp on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 7:59 pm

Can you imagine, if the law cannot protect an OCPD, what will tourists think of Bolehland? It become a banana republic. Cannot lah, so it must be perception.

Remember the proposed Eurocopter helicopters project for crime prevention purposes and not for war? Criminals have to watch out because these helicopters will be equipped with the most sophisticated weaponry with the like of Excocet to blow them to smithereens.

So people of Bolehland, relax, our wise leaders and law enforcement officers have factored all this in.

12. #12 by juno on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 8:01 pm

This is definitely a contract on OCPD Supt Ramli Ali Mat . We wish him a speedy recovery. I’m still waiting for Albar to comment or maybe he is the 6000th law enforcement double at KT.Musa should have been retired long ago. To many Medusas bred by UMNO for their upkeep http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
    Many honest cops cannot function with the tainted culture in the inner temples of Power. One would find that the top man in any GOVT related organization is always safe because the parallel underworld is fused well. Think about it!!

13. #13 by Yee Siew Wah on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 8:37 pm

It is really amazing to have a up and coming PM and his pea brain, arrogant and racialistic HM toad comments that crimes in Bolehland are due to rakyat perceptions. Goodness, What a pair of dumb dumb a_seholes we have. Probably only in Bolehland we have dumb dumb like these two clowns.
    It will be real interesting to see our sleepy flipflop guy and his deputy get robbed. Anyway, its only perception.

14. #14 by chengho on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 8:43 pm

The crime was under controlled during the tenure of Rahim noor as the IGP. YOU need some character to to head the Police.

15. #15 by vsp on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 9:03 pm

Chengho:

Rahim Noor, the guy that beat Anwar Ibrahim to a pulp? This guy prostituted himself to the great Mahathir and this was the time when crime stated to explode.

I think you must have got the wrong guy. It must be Tun Haniff Omar, I am not mistaken.

16. #16 by cvl on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 9:54 pm

I do wish speedy recovery for the Tawau Act OCPD, and hope the goverment provides the best of care.

At this juncture, the IGP, the Home Minister or any other pre fixes Ministers in Malaysia should therefor take steps to remove or reduce their body guards / minders allocated to them, their families and their homes to prove to the Malaysian public their belief in the intact safety and law orderliness of the general Malaysian public. Perish the thoughts should they ever still insist for the public to not worry, and to blame this latest incident as a one off ‘incident’ rather than a serious crime indicators for Malaysia.

For, anytime any law enforcement personnel gets set upon [and stabbed, in this case], truly represents the apex of the ‘insecurity/ crime triangle’, where such apex is bedded upon the thousands and hundreds mini crimes to produce the one at the apex, similar to an accident triangle bedded upon the hundreds of lesser incidents. In other words, there’s so much blatant disregard for law, or indicative of the degree of crime prevailence already in place.

From an accident analysis point of view, the occurance of an ‘apex’ is seldom an ‘isolated’ case; i.e a happening by itself without co related to other cause and effect factors.

For a senior police officer in Tawau, Sabah to fall victim to stabbing, the root cause[s] to this type of crime must be rigorously investigated. Reasoned root causes here:

. ineffective law enforcement, coupled with
    . presence of law breakers

Large presence of illegal migrant in Sabah suggest the autonomic and lawless attitude of these illegals, but that law and order must have also been seen to be lax enough for the elements in criminals to boldly surface.

I think the IGP is conscience bound and announce ‘This has been a serious crime…’, with the Home Minister supporting the IGP statement in stronger words. The Malaysian public needs this show of care, and concerns.

Sabahan in particular, and all Malaysians should stand up to demand immediate steps from the goverment to tackle the associated crime propensitties of these illegal migrant population in Sabah. Unlike previous, this time around it should be voiced louder in organized mode.

17. #17 by Ramesh Laxman on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 9:56 pm

Not long ago in country far away from us there was a debate on who should be the next Mayor of the town. This town picked its Mayors from amongst the heads of department of the Town Council.

This time around there was heated debate as to who should take over.The Director of the Planing Department was convinced that as he was the brains of the council he should be the nest Mayor. The Director of the Administration Department also felt strongly that he sould be made the new Mayor.Likewise the heads of the finance ,engineering, environment, and public relations Departmenmts all felt that they would be the best choice for the post of Mayor.

This was all too much for the Directoe of the Waste Management Department. He spoke about the virtues of his department and why he should be the next Mayor. The other heads of department could not take it any longer. The thought of the Director of the Waste Management department becoming the next Mayor was revolting and the jointly made fun of him.

The Director of the Waste Management Department could not take it any more.So to make his point he shut down his department. After one week the rest of the Directors who were under growing public pressure because the town looked like a huge garbage dump reluctantly agreed that the Director of the Waste Management Department should become the next Mayor.

I hope that we are not using the same method to select our Heads of Depatrmrnts.

18. #18 by katdog on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 10:20 pm

Aiyaa, this is only an isolated incident that doesn’t happen everyday. Opposition trying to blow this incident out of proportion.

After all our country is safer than Japan and Hong Kong and just slightly worse than Singapore.

19. #19 by wanderer on Saturday, 3 January 2009 - 11:25 pm

Bolehland police are trained to target soft targets…cyclists, mothers and kindergarten kids, candle holders and politicians, especially the fairer sex and manning road blocks. Where have they the courage to take on hardcore criminals…like disappearing completely in Chow Kit area and other hot spots.
    When we have a HM and an IGP, glorifying themselves with distortion of events happening in the country and freely putting behind bars innocent citizens under ISA, instead of terrorists. This is Bolehland!

20. #20 by Rocky on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:26 am

well the pdrm will spin this….maybe this was a test run to see if the ambulance service is at par as police is doing such a great job as stats show we are better then Japan.

The cops at top level have their priority all wrong. And they don’t care of the rakyat suffering.

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:15 am

Naturally, senior police officers make tempting targets for these robbers. These are educated robbers who are smart enough to know that their victims could not report loss of more than several hundred ringgit in cash.

It is no indication of how widespread break-ins are. Crime rate in Malasysia is relatively low. The opposition just wants to make it look bad. DAP is merely fishing for votes.

22. #22 by k1980 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:20 am

The economy has become so bad that banking staff are forced to rob their customers

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Saturday/Frontpage/2442828/Article/index_html

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:11 am

YB Kit may politicize but it doesn’t mean that crime situation is not really worsening and is now grave as he politicised.

One assesses situation in part – and in my view quite unreliably – from official crime statistics [Here PM Abdullah on J an 08 said 2007 Crime Index Rose 13.36 Per Cent . Then latter part of 08 DPM/ IGP said crime rate measured against per 100,000 persons in M ‘sia was lower than Japan, Hong Kong, Rome Malaysia etc and that what was wrong was our own negative perception, which must change].

I say “unreliably” because statistics can be skewed/manipulated and anecdotal evidence, newspaper reports and recounting of personal experiences of one own self, relatives and friends contradict official statistics.

An example: according to Statistics Bureau of Japan, in 2007, the crime rate per 100,000 is 1,493.6. but 75% of these are petty “larceny” or theft (e.g., shoplifting etc.). Violent crimes like homicide, arson, rape, bodily injury etc., made up 3.8% or 66.6 cases per 100,000 in contrast to Malaysia 2007, in which violent crimes comprise 180.1 cases per 100,000. Who has not been victim of violent crime here one time or another? Not just acting OCPD – even YB Kit Siang! Read the newpapers esp Chinese ones, they may sensationlise but won’t report something that did not happen !

Our petty crimes like larcency is less because of under reporting. Maybe we’re not doing public duty but many of us think it is waste of time and hassle that yields no result.

That is not all. It depends on how you define “crime”. White collar crime – all those comprising insider trading, corporate fraud, CBT, bribery as defined under MACC, credit card fraud – I am sure are u nder reported, underinvestigated and so on. What about incest – who knows how prevalent? But it is often enough we hear of our friends/relatives being robbed, stabbed outside a pub, or pulled out of the car and taken to the ATM machine,have the house broken in etc

On the other hand it is in official’s interest to play down crime rate – just like dengue incidences : they don’t want to chase away tourist dollars. How can Southern Corridor take off if Singaporeans are further reinforced in their perception of rampant crime in Johore?

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:16 am

How to believe crime is not increasing when in part it is concomitant to population, increase in wealth but not equitable distribution of wealth, urban and rural drift, influx of migrants, all the factors sociologist would attribute to crime increase unless one really believes PDRM is so efficient to counteract the trend.

25. #25 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:23 am

OrangRojak Says:
    Yesterday at 17: 10.01

“I think a serious victim of crime should be a victim of serious crime, shouldn’t it? I can’t imagine anybody laughing off an abdominal stabbing.”

The difference is one between Manglish and Queen’s English – ‘manglish’ is short for mangled English.

26. #26 by wanderer on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:29 am

Mahathir said, Malaysia unlikely to become the Bolehland by 2020, we will likely become the BOHONG-land!

27. #27 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:31 am

limkamput Says:

December 31st, 2008 at 08: 45.03
    I am not saying the Malaysian police are saint. But if we care to read …. they are nothing other than unprofessional, lazy, not helpful, abusing power, lackadaisical, not IT savvy, apathetic …”

Does that mean a senior police officer deserves to be robbed and stabbed??

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:53 am

‘I think “a serious victim of crime” should be a victim of serious crime, shouldn’t it? I can’t imagine anybody laughing off an abdominal stabbing.’ – OrangRojak

Here I must come to the defence of Kit’s “manglish”. :)

The word (adjective) “serious” as intending to mean “of great consequence” and “importance” is intended by Kit to describe not the offence of stabbing – which by itself, is certainly serious enough if it were intended to so describe it – but the victim.

However if there are “serious” victims, does that mean Kit think that the rest of us who are al so victims are not “serious” victims?

Does it now suggest that the Supremo of DAP, a political party of socialist leanings, is no more egalitarian in treating crime victims into 2 classes, one serious/important and the other of little importance?

No. I read what Kit means is that the victim is an acting OCPD whose job is to curb and stem crime of which he is now a victim.

He is a “serious” victim in the sense that his victimization dramatises more than other ordinary cases by irony that crime is no respecter of persons and is at a stage that it could strike, as it has struck, even a crime buster, and who knows will be next, some one high up in the apex of powers (whose responsbility is to maintain the security of the nation) and who would normally think that he is shielded by security details.

29. #29 by k1980 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:54 am

The police will only take action when the pm is robbed and stabbed. Anyone else, sorry lah

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:59 am

If the PM himself got robbed off his wallet then in context it is a more serious case – and he a more serious victim – than you and I in similar predicament because his case dramatises the irony. :)

31. #31 by k1980 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:09 am

When you catch a thief, you must not wallop him. Instead, cuddle and kiss him with tender affection or else you will be arrested

http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=28853

32. #32 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:17 am

Jeffrey: “a more serious victim – than you and I”
    Oh I see. Apologies. I’ll save my foreign opinion for societies where ‘serious’ victims are children, pregnant women, the elderly, hospital patients and anybody else who might normally be considered vulnerable or inviolable. :-P

33. #33 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:15 am

Tawau is a frontier town in the Wild, Wild, East region that experiences extraordinary events like pirate attacks in Sandakan town, kidnappings by sea pirates etc etc.

The region is well known for its lawlessness and lack of law enforcement. Thats probably why a naval base is planned there and our submarines will probably be based there.

It is a region where the illegals (who somehow become legals), outnumber the locals. Many years ago, it was discovered that a Tawau town councillor who served for 20 over years, was actually an illegal.

The border there is very porus and given difficult times, the traffic flow intensifies.

It would be of interest if statistics can be revealed to indicate the crime rates for different states e.g. is the crime rate (especially serious crimes) much, much higher in Sabah (districts) than elsewhere?

34. #34 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:18 am

Jeffrey is crapshooting again. Kit intended the word “serious” to refer to the crime, and not the victim, and here we have a lawyer trying to deflect the seriousness of the crime to a lesson in English.

For those of you who don’t understand how Bolehland works, the stark reality is that if the PM is ever robbed of his wallet, there will be no publicity. The ruling party cannot be an embarrassment unto itself. If you expect transparency, go live in Lululand.

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:42 am

No one says Kit is diwnplaying seriousness of crime here. His whole article indeed emphasises its seriousness. In fact it is so serious that it also affects crime buster whose job is to curb it. That is the irony. It does not have to hit the PM to take crime any more serious. All these does not affect or preclude what I said about his use of the word serious to describe a serving Police district chief having become a “serious” victim of crime to dramatise the irony.

Godfather says I am “crapshooting” again. Either he is, as usual, pedantic or he cannot hold two variables in this thought at same time, in the sense that Kit can describe in the entire tenor of his article the seriousness of the crime situation and yet at the same time underscore that seriousness by highlighting the irony of a serving Police district chief having become “a serious victim of crime”.

To say I was “crapshooting” would imply that you agree that Kit has got his English mangled by writing “Police district chief having become “a serious victim of crime” when it should be, as OrangRojak pointed out, “a victim of serious crime”. Is that what you think?

What d id I ever say in my posting that attempts to “deflect the seriousness of the crime to a lesson in English”?

You have a problem in English or thinking process?

I’d give you the benefit of the doubt in the latter.

36. #36 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:56 am

A person does not have to spelled out “serious” crime situation when his whole article hightlights the seriousness of crime even by using irony by way of highlight, of a serious case involving a crime buster as used in the context of a ‘district chief also having become “a serious victim of crime”….Who here says that by describing acting OCPD as “a serious victim of crime”, there is any detraction from the general view that crime is serious in this country? What is Godfather arguing about ? Kit’s wrong usage of the word “serious victim of crime” or what? Now on second thought you have a problem in either reading attentiveness or plain faulty thought process.

37. #37 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:58 am

Sorry typo – “…to spell out..”

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:02 pm

To me crapshooting is blind interjecting without cogent reason or reasonable justification without following the thread and flow of arguments or thought developing through the postings here.

39. #39 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:07 pm

the most recent two cases:

1.a car park attendant was beaten-up by rubber hose n splashed with boiling water!

2.a sabahan’s forehead was hit by a policewomen,with a group of policemen,claiming dat he stole her husband’s handphone!

NO WONDER DIS POLICEMEN N POLICEWEMEN UNANIMOUNLY OPPOSED IPCMC!!!

40. #40 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:13 pm

On the one hand, Jeffrey is crapshooting, and on the other hand, he is trying to justify why he needs to go on a crapshoot. Typical lawyer doublespeak. They all end up holding only one thing in both hands.

41. #41 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:21 pm

Kit is trying to highlight the denial syndrome of the Barang Naik government, and is using the serious nature of the crime against the Tawau OCPD as an example. Now we have a lawyer jumping to the defence of Kit’s Manglish – stating that indeed Kit meant the thread to refer to a serious victim.

Not only is the lawyer crapshooting, he is clearly brown-nosing. The topic isn’t about the use of Queen’s English and this blog isn’t an avenue for one to show off his prowess of Queen’s English either..

42. #42 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:34 pm

As usual Godfather’s last posting contains no substance to vindicate what he originally alleged or rebut what I said.

To say I “crapshoot, trying to justify why he needs to go on a crapshoot, typical lawyer doublespeak, all end up holding only one thing in both hands”, all spilling the vehemence, without an iota of substance/rationale to establish how it is crapshoot in the first place, how does that advance what you first alleged – that I deflected the seriousness of the crime to a lesson in English?

In my earlier posting 8: 11.22 (4 hours ago) didn’t I make clear that “YB Kit may politicize but it doesn’t mean that crime situation is not really worsening and is now grave as he politicised”??

To alledge/accuse baselessly, without iota of evidence/substance is a deplorable trait, now it is matched in equal intensity by a total lack of grace to acknowledge a manifest error.

You should have better self respect than continuing such.

43. #43 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:43 pm

“To alledge/accuse baselessly, without iota of evidence/substance is a deplorable trait, now it is matched in equal intensity by a total lack of grace to acknowledge a manifest error. ” Jeffrey QC

Wow, what a mouthful of legalspeak. What about wilful misconduct, counselor ? What about gross negligence ? Whatever you are holding in your hands had better be big enough to hit me on the head !

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:48 pm

And nobody says that the topic is about the use of Queen’s English and that this blog is an avenue for one to show off his prowess of Queen’s English either..” However it is Godfather who implies that LKS has used word “serious” on the wrong noun, ie victim instead of crime. Show to me how that is so. Now no one here says LKS did not say crime is not serious. That is the thread focal point. The fact that he hasn’t used the word “serious” before “crime” does not suggest he views it less so esp when the whole focus of the article is directed to it.

I said he used the word “serious” victim in order to underscore the irony of rising crime respecting no categories o f person including crime buster…. . In my earlier posting 8: 11.22 (4 hours ago), I have said lived experiences and anecdotal evidence, newspaper reports contradict official statistics down playing crime.

So how in the above, have I, Godfather, “deflected the seriousness of the crime to a lesson in English” ?

Don’t talk crap here.

45. #45 by monsterball on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:49 pm

It is sickening to talk about the police force….when you have an all time corrupted PM like Mahathir for 22 years … encouraging corruptions..and to be popular..to be hero worshiped as the leader of the corrupted pack. Corruptions…from top to bottom…so strongly rooted….encouraged by Mahathir…to openly play race politics..to be a Dictator.
    UMNO instead of working…always talk politics or correcting their own faults. When all are corrected…they start all over again.
    We elected actors to fool us……..not politicians..to serve us.
    Police is one part of the whole government system…all corrupted to the core. Until and unless…real serious and sincerely.. to put corrupted big fish into jail….like few welknown Ministers…this charade…will go on and on.
    We all know..why UMNO dare not go all out on corruptions….don’t wwe.
    UMNO is gone case. They even openly made a crook.a Minister and decorate him with a ..Tan Sri..maybe Tun..now…protected to be jail at all.
    Talk police…judges…UMNO appointed M.Besar……get to the root cause.
    It’s impossible to correct things under UMNO…and why blame police…when the whole UMNO “country” is corrupted to the core?
    Yes..UMNO thinks the country belongs to them.
    So Malaysians choose….be UMNO lapdogs…or be free.

46. #46 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:54 pm

“The word (adjective) “serious” as intending to mean “of great consequence” and “importance” is intended by Kit to describe not the offence of stabbing – which by itself, is certainly serious enough if it were intended to so describe it – but the victim.” Jeffrey QC

Now, help us define the word “seriously”. Most of us don’t have English as our first language.

47. #47 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:54 pm

What legal speak, it is simple English that all can understand except you who refuse to.

“…Whatever you are holding in your hands had better be big enough to hit me on the head !”

I don’t need to hold anything because you always hit youself on your own head, and I don’t know why you always do that! :)

48. #48 by monsterball on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 12:59 pm

In every great and able company..it is the few disloyal cunning crooks that disrupt good management..to suit their low class characters.
    UMNO already have lousy or no management..but it takes….
    ..MCA…MIC and Gerakan…always trying to pull the 30% Malaysians to be the lap dogs of UMNO..be contented to be..second class citizens.
    These are the parties…the root cause to a disunited Malaysians…divide to rule.

49. #49 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 1:07 pm

Who here does not know the meaning “serious” and would require a definition as you would? How could one take an argument further with another who requires a definition of “seriously” on the pathetic ground that English is not our first language, apparently not satisfied with what I earlier said of serious meaning of consequence and importance?

Now you have committed the 3rd “sin” of besides (1) making baseless allegations without following thread of arguments in postings (2) not having grace to admit an error – and that is, to stretch the argument/debate to ridiculous direction requiring a definition of “seriously”, compounding the errors in (1) and (2).

If I were to dance with you to th at direction, it is not doing justice to this blog or readers.

50. #50 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 1:13 pm

Ah, but your hidden agenda is to make us dance to your tune of “UMNO is a lesser evil than PAS”, is it not ?

Since we are on this thread of serious crime, why don’t you come out and say that a PR government with PAS won’t be able to combat crime as efficiently as BN ? Especially since the PAS doctrine of Islamisation will always be at odds with constitutional law ?

51. #51 by monsterball on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 1:22 pm

vsp writer…..You are right. It’s Tun Haniff Omar. Rahim Nor was a gangster in Alor Gajah…all Malacca teachers know him well.
    cvl writer…..When UMNO is caught with their pants down….they always talk good news for Malaysians to hear…but no actions…after that.
    You see…crooks simply cannot catch their own crooks.

52. #52 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 1:39 pm

Now that is where the third “sin” is : in camouflaging (1) the making of baseless allegations without following thread of arguments in postings (2) not having grace to admit an error – which are indefensible – Godfather seeks to switch venue/forum of discussion (on OCPD , a victim of crime) to another forum of discussion ie that of whether “UMNO is a lesser evil than PAS”, in wh ich Godfather he could stand on firmer ground on that issue, and he tries to do that by trying to entice and draw me to a different arena of discussion by providing a link – that it is my alleged “hidden agenda” to make everyone dance to my tune of “UMNO is a lesser evil than PAS”, that I should just come out and say that “a PR government with PAS won’t be able to combat crime as efficiently as BN, is it not?

I have never thought ab out such a thing muc h less said it.

You must be thinking I was born yesterday to be drawn from one topic to another just to satisfy your need to cover (1) and (2) above said.

It is wrong of you to waste bandwidth here and waste other readers’ time here by drawing to draw a discussion on an OCB D being a crime victim to the Islamic state or which is worse UMNO or PAS, the only tenous link being the pretext of saying whether crime could be better managed or worse under PR, with PAS or UMNO.

This is not the subject of this blogthread. You are just trying to create this new sub-text of discussion for your own personal purpose of arguing under a different subject regardless of others’ interest here, which is why I say you should learn to infuse more integrity in your purposes and action.

That you should think I would, with alacrity, think for a second th at I would take such a bait (changing subjects) of dishonest argument is naive, to say the least. :)

53. #53 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 1:49 pm

This is really pathetic : Godfather, your attempts at deliberating subverting the topic (as distinct from the topic veering to another direction (to discuss or argue on a different topic that you think you are on firmer ground or could galvanise more sympathy of your position) which is quite different if it were otherwise veering away due to a natural progression of postings and interest of posters of comments here.

54. #54 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 2:16 pm

Ah, another double standard from the master of double-speak. You can preach correct English in this blog, and I can’t discuss the effectiveness of PR in combating crime, especially with PAS’ intention to Islamise ?

Integrity ? Which part of a lawyer’s brain does this reside ?

55. #55 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 2:28 pm

What another change of subject to integrity and which part of a lawyer’s brain does this reside??? :)

What double standard? Again you’re out of point!

Nobody says you “can’t discuss the effectiveness of PR in combating crime, especially with PAS’ intention to Islamise ?”. Go ahead and discuss.

I did’n’t say you can’t. I just said I won’t be drawn in discussing it here, where no one has raised the issue except you by your statement “since we are on this thread of serious crime, why don’t you come out and say that a PR government with PAS won’t be able to combat crime as efficiently as BN ?” the purpose of which I have already siad, and needs no repetition.

56. #56 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 4:18 pm

Jeffrey and Godfather
    Isn’t it time you two buried the hatchet (and not in each other’s head?)
    Why not let the matter rest and let LKS bring up more issues on his blog and not keep on going as if there is going to be a final conclusion.
    BTW we still need both your thinking prowess to help the PR government when it manages to gain power.
    PEACE

57. #57 by tuanlokong on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 4:34 pm

I must say that crime rates must have shoot up rapidly. When crime involved Police as a victim the rates should be double or even tripples. I am not sure how they calculate crime index. Maybe someone could highlight this…

58. #58 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 5:12 pm

Godfather Says:
    Today at 11: 18.10 (5 hours ago)
    “For those of you who don’t understand how Bolehland works, the stark reality is that if the PM is ever robbed of his wallet, there will be no publicity. The ruling party cannot be an embarrassment unto itself. If you expect transparency, go live in Lululand.”

Godfather,

On behalf of my client, Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the so-called lame duck Prime Minister of Malaysia, I hereby serve you notice that my client has demanded you to express in favour of him an open apology which is to be published in the major news media in Malaysia on the false accusation which you have made unto him allegedly blaming him for lack of transparency.

Your accusation is claimed by my client to be falsely made because my client did indeed announce to the public in an open speech during an official function about two years’ ago that several heads of his goats had been stolen from his farm shade located at Kepala Batas. He had genuinely showed that he possessed no intent to hide any secret about a criminal case such as theft, burglary or felony that had been done unto him, in which he had become a serious victim of crime. My client’s disclosure of this crime which he suffered about two years’ ago was deemed to be the sufficient proof of his good track record in transparency.

Immediately after my client’s making such an announcement, there were more than ten UMNOPUTRA goat farmers who had come up with an attractive offer of giving excellent and exorbitant breeder goats to my client as personal friendly gift. There was no need for my client to make further disclosure about these free gift offer because my client declined to take the offer lest the Anti-Corruption Agency might open a file to pursue this case, which would be deemed to be a waste of the tax-payers’ money.

Now, on behalf of my client, Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the so-called lame duck Prime Minister of Malaysia, I hereby serve you notice that unless you make an open unreserved apology to my client and duly publish the apology through the major news media in Malaysia within 30 days from the date of this mail, I have firm instruction from my client that a legal action will be taken against you for passing a slanderous remark unto my client and falsely accusing my client for lack of transparency.

59. #59 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 5:38 pm

An underemployed lawyer with lots of time to spare – or worse?

60. #60 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:04 pm

Onlooker Politics:

I will be happy to meet your client in court. Just make sure that he pays you your legal fees in advance.

61. #61 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:15 pm

HJ Angus:

Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately we are like chalk and cheese. He is all for the disbanding of PR, so I won’t be too hopeful of him campaigning in whatever shape or form for PR anytime soon.

62. #62 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:35 pm

Even the Prime Minister himself had been a serious victim of crime in Malaysia during his own tenure as the Prime Minister but the PM himself found it helpless and hopeless to get back his goats.

Why is the detrimental assault on the Acting OCPD deserved so much attention from Uncle Kit then? I guess it is because Uncle Kit values the human life more than the loss of a few heads of animals from Pak Lah’s farm shade.

If the PM himself could not even effectively protect his own property from grand theft, then what else good things could all you guys expect from BN Government? Why don’t you all just simply agree with me that Pakatan Rakyat should be given a mandate to replace Barisan Nasional as the administrator of next Federal Government of Malaysia as soon as possible?

63. #63 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 6:44 pm

HJ Angus, you see what I mean about “relevancy”, whilst we are discussing implications of an acting OCPD being a victim of crime, Godfather is mixing it up and bringing in a baggage from other threads on issues like “disbanding of PR” etc. That speaks volume of the objectivity he could bring to a discussion on any different issue raised in the blog. :) He in fact sabotages it by initiating irrelevant interjections based on such clouded judgment.

64. #64 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:32 pm

Perhaps people are more interested in the topic on whether Pakatan Rakyat can win in Kuala Terengganu by-election than the topic on crime, which is already a helpless and hopeless issue under the BN Administration.

It is too common for some Malaysians to do betting on the result of the by-election. Even though I personally do not encourage sinful games like betting or gambling, I find that the PR campaign participants should not overlook the impact of betting on influencing the electoral decision.

The current market bet is that the bookie would let go 1,000 votes to bet that PR would win by at least 1,000 votes’ margin. The PR leaders must be aware of the implication of this since the bookie himself can be the supporter of BN.

The core issues which the PR can rely upon for campaign purposes may be
    (1) The selective prosecution or non-prosecution in relation to a felony alleged to be committed in Terengganu by the next-of-kin of a Top Politician;
    (2) The livelihood issues such as the unleashing of the inflationary pressure into the market during June 2008 and September 2008 by deliberately allowing the pumped prices to go up drastically until the momentum of inflation cannot be impeded even with the downward adjustment of the pumped prices at the last quarter of 2008;
    (3) The unemployment issues as the factories in Johor and Pahang were allowed to hire additional foreign workers in order to replace the local workers (some of them are from the state of Terengganu) who were said to be inefficient, unskilled and lackadaisical by the factories owners.
    (4) Inefficiency of the BN Government in controlling the trafficking of farmed animals from Thailand until some wipespread infectious diseases such as Foot-and-Mouth Disease (FMD), Pneumonia or Brucellosis have been becoming common throughout the whole Malaysia in general, and getting more and more serious in Terengganu in particular.
    (5) Uneven distribution of oil income among the have and have-nots, since only the landowners were given the free ruminant animals such as goats, cows or buffaloes by MPOB or JPH Malaysia.

65. #65 by otl on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:34 pm

Dear YB Lim,

First of, hope that Supt Ramli will recover soon. I am sad to read this news and very disappointing with the national security of Malaysia.

Been stabbed, snatch, rob & etc, seem a norm in Malaysia, the friends beside us might be one of the victim.

Do we really study, what make this happen? Is the cops don’t do their job? Got statistic show that, most of the crime cause by illegal immigrant, are the immigration didn’t do their work? Or our Malaysia law is not strict enough to prevent that?

How come all thug so dare to do so? If anyone of you saw a crime, when you call up police, how fast can they reach the place?

If the enforcement officer take their work easy, this may the cause that the malefactor so dare & “brave”.

Wake-up all the enforcement officer, please help us to reduce the crime. We don’t like it… I think so they are.

The relevant ministries should answer for that, why our crime rate so high? If can make the minister remuneration link with the KPI of crime rate, I will the one who support, I believe others will support too.

Hope Malaysia have a better tomorrow.

OTL
    http://tinglip.blogspot.com/

66. #66 by katdog on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 7:54 pm

Crime involving members of the police isn’t really a rarity in Malaysia. I recall incidences of a police station getting robbed, and of a policeman getting robbed and killed at his home.

There are even incidences of successful robberies at public areas like our International Airports (KLIA and Penang Airport).

But don’t worry. It’s all just a perception problem. We are still safer in Malaysia than Hong Kong or Japan.

67. #67 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:03 pm

“Why don’t you all just simply agree with me that Pakatan Rakyat should be given a mandate to replace Barisan Nasional as the administrator of next Federal Government of Malaysia as soon as possible?” Onlooker Politics

For the answer to this question, you should cross-examine none other than our “on the one hand it is this, and on the other hand it is that” lawyer friend out there.

68. #68 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 8:09 pm

“Irrelevant interjection” is something for the judge to decide. What I say may be irrelevant to you but it is especially relevant to HJ Angus when he calls for you – a clear traitor to the PR cause – to help PR when it comes to power.

69. #69 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 9:27 pm

Stop your bloviating, Onlooker Politics.

“Barisan Nasional as the administrator of next Federal Government of Malaysia as soon as possible?” – Onlooker Politics

The party that wins the mandate to rule does not ‘administer’ the federal government. They get to control the government.

70. #70 by king cobra on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:10 pm

Onlooker

comparing PM’s goat being stolen & Tawau’s OCPD being stabbed , which case is more serious ?

Tawau’s OCPD was being stabbed , if not sent to hospital in time he may have lost his life…….

71. #71 by king cobra on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:17 pm

godfather suddenly switched subject from serious crime to between
    umno & pas who is the lesser evil ???

ah….godfather may have run out of ideas on how to rebut or counter jeffery’s viewpoints ????

72. #72 by cemerlang on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:20 pm

Bodyguards are not enough. Gangsters for bodyguards are more effective in Bolehtakbolehland. Heavenly Singapore again. Singapore police are also keeping one eye closed. Or else you think how their red light districts can flourish. If you keep going on this thing about Singapore, you will find that it is to your disadvantage. PAP is PAP. DAP is DAP, very Malaysian and very different. No doubt we can learn a thing or two about them. Going for courses does not make you a success overnight. It is whether or not you want to apply your head knowledge to the real situation. Or else it will come back to zero. Remember. We have first class infrastructure. But we still retain our third class traditional mentality. Unless we are brave enough to change. Or else it is only words. And we will not know if this slained police officer was a good guy.

73. #73 by Godfather on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:23 pm

what? someone switched from serious crime to English lessons and that’s apparently OK, so I can’t switch from serious crime – as to whether BN or PR is better at fighting crime ?

I’m just pulling the lawyer’s leg. Don’t take our “disagreements” too seriously. I love poking fun at long-winded dessertations in blogs.

74. #74 by HJ Angus on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 10:36 pm

I think the entire attitude of the PDRM towards crime is relevant as to why the crime rate is so high.
    We have allowed a culture of complacency and incompetence to flourish – I won’t mention corruption as I am sure it is still a big problem plus police brutality towards those arrested or OKT for various crimes. That is why some officers protested so strongly against the IPCMC.
    Just to relate an incident that involved an Indonesian maid who ran away some years back.
    She did not take anything valuable and just left after locking up the house.
    I made the police report and also surrendered her passport. What transpired at the police station was quite interesting. They took the report and her passport and that was placed in a box that seemed to be a collection of such documents.
    No police inspection of my house or the surrounding area. I told my friends that if had buried her in the nearby bushes of the drainage reserve, they would not have found her.
    Simply put, the attitude was one of “maids run away every day” so nothing to check out.”

75. #75 by AhPek on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:15 pm

Onlooker Politics bloviating?? Can’t be undergrad 2 you got to be joking.He may have mistakenly used the word ‘administer’ for ‘control’.Bloviating is the exclusive realm of someone else!

76. #76 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 4 January 2009 - 11:34 pm

The honor is now shared!

77. #77 by taiking on Monday, 5 January 2009 - 8:40 am

OCPD kena robbed??? Sure or not? I know. Its in the news. But sure got happen ah? Our umno goberman say malaysia safer than singapore and japan and hk. Such thing can happen one meh? I dont believe. Not possible. Malaysia is safest place on earth. Maybe OCPD got robbed in singapore and news misreported the incident. Like that i can believe.

78. #78 by ktteokt on Monday, 5 January 2009 - 6:29 pm

Anyone who remembers the Memali incident would have noticed that after the incident, police stations nationwide became “security areas” where the police themselves needed protection. Each police station was guarded by military personnel and anyone going in and out of the police station was required to surrender their I/C.

This goes to show how reliable PDRM is as far as maintaining public order is concerned. If PDRM can even protect its own personnel, how can the rakyat depend on them for their safety?

What’s more, after the official announcement by the Chief of Police that the police force is short of hand, criminals would definitely seize the opportunity. This is equivalent to providing criminals with an “assurance” that arresting them would be difficult as the police is shorthanded. Shouldn’t such shortage in police personnel be classified as “official secret”??

79. #79 by ktteokt on Monday, 5 January 2009 - 6:31 pm

Typo error, should be “can’t even protect its own personnel”.

80. #80 by cheng on on Monday, 5 January 2009 - 11:21 pm

They will blame uncle LKS for publicize this event, Maybe police will have reasons to suspect that the robbery / stabbing are planned by opposition

81. #81 by klaikw on Tuesday, 6 January 2009 - 12:25 am

Everyday in Malaysia especially in KL not safe anymore, Murder here Murder there, robbery here robbery there, snatch thief here snatch thief there, most of the police minium teh tarik at mamak there, all Malaysian get scared to go out here go out there bcoz of all the bad guy out there everywhere. Not safe here in KL nowadays. But they (Bolehland) still said , our country crime rate still maintain there compare to other countrys’ out there…………..
    When we really need help from police , they will never be there!

82. #82 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 6 January 2009 - 7:14 am

Red Light District in Singapore has been allowed to attract certain type of tourists. It is there for those who are interested. In Bolehland, such practice is everywhere if you know where to look for it. What’s the difference? Here the poor Ps are ‘regulated’ by the thugs with the ‘cognizance’ of the local, friendly law-regulators.
    No difference, except the Ps have to share their incomes with them!
    Down there people of all ages and sex walk about without the fear of being mugged! Here? just try your luck! Just look at those AH LONGs, their business is openly done.
    Hence, an OCPD getting mugged or stabbed, so what? My wife was mugged , even the policewoman told her she herself was also a victim! when she went there to make a report! So what’s the surprise?
    Just look at the number of police cars in most of the stations in Selangor. All parked at the compounds. Why? Is it because Proton could not sell their Wajas? Someone told me to stop arguing the issue if I believe in the DNA factor!
    Ha! Ha! Ha! If it is true, it looks like we have to live with the truth inherent in the system created by Nature!
    Anyway, such sites as these should be kept going, otherwise the DNA Factor could just take over, and we will have even more frustrations everyday!

83. #83 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 6 January 2009 - 9:07 am

Godfather,

Kit’s usage of \serious victim\ can still be right and Jeffrey’s interpretation correct. If the OCPD (acting) is dead serious after this incident and seriously clean up the PD’s act and eradicate such crimes, then he is indeed serious about crimes and serious about reducing the number of such crimes. We should all seriously consider the seriousness of such serious alternative interpretation.

84. #84 by Godfather on Tuesday, 6 January 2009 - 12:36 pm

The question is whether serious people can be subjected to serious crimes in this serious country. I think serious people ARE the perpetrators of serious crime, and that the serious victim in question is an exception rather than the rule.