Mukhriz has committed the offence of sedition in proposing closure of Chinese/Tamil primary schools

UMNO MP for Jerlun and candidate for Umno Youth chief, Mukhriz Mahathir has committed the offence of sedition in questioning one of the four “sensitive” issues entrenched in the Constitution which has no parliamentary immunity and on conviction, he can be stripped of his parliamentary membership, disqualified from taking part in parliamentary and state assembly elections as well as barred from holding office in any society for five years.

However Mukhriz twist and turn, there can be no doubt that in his press conference at the Parliament lobby yesterday which he repeated in his speech in the House last night, he was in fact calling for the closure of Chinese and Tamil primary schools, hence the following headlines:

• “Sekolah satu sistem – cadangan ke arah menggantikan pendidikan berbeza aliran” – Utusan Malaysia
• “Mukhriz: Scrap vernacular schools, one system for all” (Star online).
• “”Abolish dual system” (Star in print).
• “Mukhriz: Close down vernacular schools” (Malaysiakini English)
• “Mukhriz saran tutup sekolah vernacular” (Malaysiakini Bahasa Malaysia)
• “Mukhriz says vernacular schools should be abolished” (Malaysianinside)
• “Change all school medium to Bahasa Malaysia” – Nanyang
• “Abolish Chinese and Tamil primary schools to check polarisation – Mukhriz” – (China Press)
• “Standardise all primary schools with Bahasa Malaysia as medium of instruction” – (Oriental Daily)

My purpose now is not to discuss the merit or demerit of Mukhriz proposal for a single education system, the validity of his contention blaming the vernacular school system for the polarised society which allegedly caused the poor understanding of the “ketuanan Melayu” or Malay supremacy concept among the non-Malays and his view that the disunity in Malaysia arose from the different education system.

The Constitution Amendment 1971 entrenching four sensitive issues and imposing an absolute prohibition from any questioning, even removing the parliamentary immunity in parliamentary debates, by classifying them as sedition offences under Section 3(f) of the Sedition Act, does not allow anyone to propose the closure of Chinese and Tamil primary schools so long as Article 10(4) on the entrenchment of the sensitive issues is not repealed.

If Mukhriz wants to be able to publicly pursue his proposal of a single education system resulting in the closure of Chinese and Tamil primary schools, he must get the Constitutional provision on the four entrenched sensitive issues amended and repealed.

Similarly, no one can question the special provision for Malays and natives in Sabah and Sarawak in Article 153 such as asking for its repeal on the ground that the Reid Commission had originally proposed a 15-year sunset clause unless the 1971 entrenched sensitive provision in the Constitution is amended or repealed.

The same applies to the other sensitive issues – the sovereignty of Malay Rulers and citizenship rights of non-Malay Malaysians.

The law is very clear as there had been decided cases – Melan Abdullah v Public Prosecutor (1971) where Utusan Malaysia was found guilty of the sedition offence for its editorial subheading, “Hapuskan Sekolah Beraliran Tamil atau China di-Negeri ini” and Mark Koding v. Public Prosecutor where the Sabah Member of Parliament was found guilty of sedition when he spoke in Parliament in October 1978 calling for the closure of Chinese and Tamil primary schools.

As it is, anybody can lodge a police report against Mukhriz, and if there is a rule of law with independent and impartial administration of justice, Mukhriz would be charged and found guilty of sedition, stripped of his parliamentary membership as well as disqualified from taking part in parliamentary elections or holding office in any ociety for five years if fined RM2,000 or jailed for a year.

1. #1 by k1980 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:23 am

If charged and found guilty of sedition, stripped of his parliamentary membership as well as disqualified from taking part in parliamentary elections or holding office in any society for five years if fined RM2,000 or jailed for a year.

Sedition is only for those opposing ketuanan melayu. Nothing else

2. #2 by PureMalaysian on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:23 am

I dare the BN govt would do anything on Mukhriz!
    Even PKR is not taking any action on Zulkifli… do you think BN will do anything on Mukhriz?

Haha… not unless the sun rises from the west!

3. #3 by jennifer cheong on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:28 am

Dear YB Lim Kit Siang and YB Lim Guan Eng,

I hope that two of you will be brave enough to speak out loudly this time, to counter the statement given by Tun’s son. This is an insult to all the non-Bumi in Malaysia ! Today, Malaysia is almost like facing terrorist attack from it’s own leader!

4. #4 by Prasad on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:31 am

You must know that currently Mukhriz is playing the role of a racist.
    Remember what Najib said when he was Pemuda. Now he wants to do more to address the grievances of minority groups when he becomes Prime Minister in March.

If they want to make an English the medium for all schools then I agree.

5. #5 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:33 am

This by-product of Mamak kutty is trying to win votes from those Umnoputras on the coming umno youth chief post.
    Again, this bum works like his father using the race card again to garner votes. Trying to be the champion of malay race. However, he did not realise that he himself is NOT a Malay but a product of a mamak. In bolehland, the most trouble makers are the mamak who try to behave more than malays by stirring racial issues whenever it suits them.
    What a despicable and undignified bunch.
    As a matter of fact, this bum should be charge for sedition and kick out of Parliament.
    Of course, how to expect the pea-brain, arrogant, baldie toad take action. He himself is not a Malay.
    Real Bolehland.

6. #6 by Gomen on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:44 am

I say, walk the talk. a single party regardless of race before a single unify school… lead by example.

7. #7 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:45 am

Like father like son,what do we expect from this idiot? His father is the greatest hypocrite in the history of Malaysia and also the founder of Ketuanan Melayu.That old fox is by origin an Indian but shamelessly had claimed to be a Malay because of self interest and benefit.Hell of a highly despicable person.

8. #8 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:48 am

Is it any wonder that this son of that mamak who has renounced his Indian origin and gone all out to claim that he is more Malay than the Malays has come to use racism, just like his father did on his way up the political ladder of UMNO, to ensure his victory for the UMNO youth top post?It is a real bl- -dy cheap ploy which UMNOPUTRAS are so fond of using to attain power.Mukhriz, the real cause of polarisation is not vernacular schools,it is the policy of the UMNO dominated government dishing out NEP and Ketuanan Melayu.
    You UMNOPUTRAS are so fond of saying that Singapore do not have vernacular schools,but do you or anyone of you UMNOPUTRAS know about Singapore public schools.They have large pool of second language teachers (mandarin, tamil, punjabi or bahasa melayu),all well qualified and trained,to cater for the needs of all pupils.All various ethnic groups are well represented in the school staff and no practice of any religion is carried out,not so perhaps in private schools (it is their right since they are funded by various groups catering for own
    particular interest).
    Malaysian public schools are predominantly staffed by one particular race,not reflecting the ethnic make-up of the nation (53% Malays vs 47% non Malays)resulting in cases of overzealous teachers and heads carrying out bigotry practices.Hardly any qualified and well trained POL teachers available throughout the country.You only have to take a look at how well the teaching of maths and science in english is done.We have teachers who can hardly speak the language teach those 2 subjects in the language.
    YB I think the party should have a go at charging him for sedition.Never mind if you fail,at least it is an opportunity to test the independence of the judiciary now that there is a new CJ.

9. #9 by madmix on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:49 am

What sedition? Questioning Chinese or Indian “rights” is perfectly OK. Scoring UMNO points at the expense of Chinese or Indians is legitimate and highly applauded.

10. #10 by taiking on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:57 am

I suggest closing down all umno government schools and set up four alternative streams: malay, english, chinese and tamil schools.

11. #11 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:58 am

I am not sure which is the lesser of the three evils. If Mukhriz is disqualified for holding public office, then the choice is either KJ or Toyo for UMNO Youth chief. Hobson’s choice indeed!!!

Najib had said in the STAR today that component parties of the BN are compelled to speak out on the NEP and ketuanan issues because they have to “apparently” be seen to make noise. He went on further to say that they should have used private and internal communications to voice such complaints. Well, he should have told his own UMNO party members to practise what they preach. It is examples like Mukhriz’s public statement that will provoke angry responses from the component parties. Otherwise, if such statements uttered in public and if go unchallenged, will send out the wrong signals. Civil servants implementing policies will take the cue from such public statements and interpret them to discriminate against the non Muslims and that would make the situation worse. Najib should direct his own UMNO party members to make such statements in their own “private and internal communications” to avoid retaliatory statements.

12. #12 by monsterball on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:00 pm

UMNO parliamentarians can say anything….no sacking or suspensions.
    Want to touch Tun son..that M protects with his life?
    Useless to talk more.
    Off the subject…..
    If all the Sultans were to follow the fine examples of Selangor and Perak…subjects from all the respective States will be so proud.
    Sultan of Selangor said..not titles to politicians.
    What wonderful news!
    The ELECTED politicians are paid to do their job. They stand for elections…to serve Malaysians…and get handsomely paid.
    Why on earth do they deserve titles?
    In England..the Queen usually reward politicians with titles…AFTER they retired……or have served splendidly for a long long time…benefiting the whole country…and not one political party.
    Rewards in Malaysia…have been twisted..for past 30 years…by UMNO to belittle the public and brainwashed the idiots…they are Gods chosen few.
    The mastermind…Mahathir…is smart to give up titles in his blog.
    Like I said..Mahathir will accuse everyone first….to prove his clean and pure. That’s how weird …he is.
    Next to Micheal Jackson…who now have become a Muslim…both brains are weird and out of this world.
    I wait the day…all politicians should surrender their titles and then the various titles have so much meaning to civil servants..that deserve them…with real had work..recognised and respected by all.
    So many crooks in UMNO are dressed up with false titles…making Malaysia….a laughing subject.. to the whole world.

13. #13 by Navinda on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:01 pm

YB,
    Instead of crucifying Mukriz, let us look to see if there is any valid arguments in his call for the doing away with vernacular schools. WE do not have to agree, Neither do we have to take the same stance as the UMNO goons.
    The constitution has been amended umpteen times to accommodate issues of lesser importance. So can it be for improving the Education set up in Malaysia.
    From previous comments we gather that what most parents abhor about National schools is that the standard of teaching is below par and the curriculum does not meet the expectations of the parents. What if the government takes necessary steps to raise the level of teaching and ;earning in National schools, than wouldn’t it be acceptable to all send their children to schools of one stream; the pupils own language being part of the curriculum.
    What we should be asking Mukriz is to first start the ball rolling in getting the shortcomings in National schools rectified, including the removing of all bigots who double up as teachers.

14. #14 by newday on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:04 pm

I believe ALL Malaysians will agree to one school system if the Government can convince us that the school system is devoid of discrimination, religious intrusions and dominance of one religion over others, quality curriculum and teachers and the elimination of a host of other ills that currently plague so-called national schools. My opinion is this present Government does not have the political will neither the brains to do that. One school system that will be accepted by ALL Malaysians?….yeah right, when pigs fly !!!

15. #15 by pohsoon on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:20 pm

I had been thought that Mukhriz is quite different from other and could bring hope to Malaysian regardless of race and religion. However, it seems that he is not much different after all. He is also just a human being and also have the same bias and shallow mind.

I read in amused with Mukhriz Mahathir’s suggestion that the varnacular school should go, because according to him, the existing of different system are contributing to the racial polarisation. I feel amused mainly because the following 2 main reason:

1. I don’t think that existing of varnacular system is the main reason of racial polarisation. From my own experience, the racial polarisation is more of causing by the feeling of injustice/unfair treaatment, on top of the sensational statement by certain group of politician (UMNO mainly).

2. By simply point the finger to varnacular system, it give me impression that Mukhriz Mahathir is biased or selective. Do bear in mind if the rationale is that varnacular school were only attended by Non-bumi, then its obviously wrong. There are quite some Bumiputera or Malay study in varnacular school as well. So, how can then varnacular school contribute to racial polarisation? Furthermore, the so call varnacular school never disallowed other races from attending it. Apart from this, if varnacular school is being accused as causing racial polarisation, then how about MARA which only admitted mainly Malay? How about the religion school? Seriously, i don’t think MARA and religion school contribute to racial polarisation unless there were hidden agenda in its curiculum such as the case of Biro Tatanegara. What i want to point out is simply Mukhriz Mahathir’s bias in selectively targetting the varnacular school.

Thanks.

Regards,
    Poh Soon

16. #16 by bentoh on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:30 pm

I’m the product of 12 years Chinese education…

I, to some extent, do agree that I did not mix too much with other racial groups, but I’m happy enough to live and play with other racial groups then…

My 12 years of vernacular education taught me of tolerance, and embracing multi-cultural-racial-religion-ism… In my primary school years, we learned all about how great the country is, being a multi-everything country… we learned about races, religions and the differences between us, without anyone telling us ketuanan Melayu… We were taught to respect the others, not submit to the others…

Stop blaming the vernacular schools for the so called disunity… we might learn even more about the country than those who study only the twisted and spoiled Sejarah subject…

As for the case of Mukhriz… I disagree with especially the DAP to report against Mukhriz using the basis lies under sedition act, because sedition act is one of those draconian law that ought to be abolished or reviewed…

17. #17 by ktak on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:31 pm

The students intake of vernacular schools, which are partially funded by government, are open to all races (with no quota).

The mere suggestion by Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim in August this year on opening up 10 percent intake of non-Bumiputera and foreign students into Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), which is 100% funded by taxpayers money (not UMNO’s money), has angered the UMNO Malays.

Who is causing disunity ?
    Which schools/colleges should be abolished (or open up the student intake to all races) ?

To put his word into his mouth
    “You cannot have your cake and eat it too” .

18. #18 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:33 pm

So I think LKS has issued an invitation to make a police report. Did any of you online activists do it? Come on, it’s easy, just pull your trousers up, switch your PC off and get your car keys.

It’s a tricky report to make. No person who believed in the long-term unity and success of Malaysia could possibly believe state-supported vernacular schools are a good idea. They are not the sole cause of Malaysia’s problems, but the other causes are topics for another blog article. For the sake of LKS’ argument, a complainant would have to display outrage at this heinous transgression into a ‘sensitive issue’, regardless of the transgressor’s intentions.

I imagine the point LKS is trying to drive home is that the Law, as created and amended by 50 years of short-sighted government, is an ass. But wouldn’t it be marvellous if the Law would work for the common good for once! Convicted: no more Mukhriz – no great loss. Acquitted: a precedent for all those ‘sensitive’ subjects to be discussed openly, as they so reasonably should.

19. #19 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:46 pm

Like Father like Son!!! Same recipe is being used so that he could be elected to be the next UMNO Youth Chief!!!
    If he is elected, it is another sign that there’s no change in UMNO, no matter what UMNO leaders said!!!
    UMNO & BN are a gone case – good in acting infront of the Rakyat, makan puas puas behind the scene!!!
    My fellow Citizen, please dont be fooled by these power, money & woman hungry pretenders!!! Their objective is to get more APs, more contracts, more this and more that without efforts!!!
    Who will suffer at the end when every harga Barang Naik??? You and me will suffer most!!!

20. #20 by i_love_malaysia on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:54 pm

These UMNO and BN wolfs will come in sheep skins, once they have entered your house, it will be too late for you to chase them out bacause they will plunder every thing that you have!!! Not only that they will plunder every thing that you have, they will sell you to others as slave by working for others and no longer be Tuan!!!

21. #21 by melurian on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 12:58 pm

quite true also mukriz claim. take a peek on lky policy in city state island. while you ppl parroting to emulate singapore success and yet remain stubborn and hotheaded on vernacular schools. imagine puay chai and yuk chai to be called srk instead srjk, it will benefit more “malaysians” instead of certain race of its facilities instead of dilapidated srk in pj.

ask any banana and srk alumi out there how many of them have uncomfortable with cina-ed.

22. #22 by izrafeil on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:03 pm

Dear Uncle LIm,
    As a father to a school going child, my view for our education system would be one of merit and the spirit of competition must be nurtured. We lived in already borderless world, diversity must be embraced. Here is my proposal to Mukhriz;

a) Yes, we can have one single school system, its not ideal, but we can allow only certain subject to be mandatory for all school (may be up to 50% of the syllabus),

b) the rest 50% of the syllabus must be determined by the school themselves, what they want to include in their school system is up to them (eg such as foreign languages, add maths, computing etc)

Let each school dictates their uniform also, so students can identify uniquely to each school hence creating a culture of rivalry for excellence!!

c) by doing so, we create an environment of competitiveness and embraced diversity.

Thats is my thoughts, hopefully somebody can look at it and develop the necessary.

23. #23 by VampireBS on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:04 pm

first of all at least chinese & tamil school will not suffering like what I suffer in the normal sekolah kebangsaan, coz I’m not chinese school student. You get to learn about how teachers “berat sebelah”. I see these thing everyday in school since standart 1 till form 5. I hated it coz its unfair. example, when we make noise, we get public caning, when they make noise, they get verbal warning. God I wish I were in Chinese school.

24. #24 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:05 pm

UMNO through Mukhriz questioned chinese and indian rights ! Vow ! I sure glad he did.Now every body can do the same.right ?.He claimed that vernacular schools caused the disunity of the country.Here again,he has a confuse smart brain.I would like to ask him. What about malay supremacy,islamist supremacy,UMNO/BN policies and activtites causing the destruction of some hindus temple and the disallowing of the complete construction of the chinese Ma Tze temple in Kudat,Sabah ?.Can Mukhriz deny that these racial and religious descrimination of non-muslim citizens rights are the major causes of disunity in the country ?.

25. #25 by max2811 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:14 pm

UMNO is testing the waters. They are trying to see the response from the Chinese. So, give them the proper response. No action will be taken.

I would prefer the missionary-type of English schools to be brought back. Administered by non-Malays as the Malays will spoil the purpose by imposing all sorts of self interpreted Islamic values.

After 51 years of UMNO rule, Msia is way behind from where it should be.

26. #26 by lew1328 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:25 pm

Greetings!

The vernaculars school system will never ever create such a joker who throws out the irresponsible words.

We strongly support Kits to throw the Mukhriz or Monkey to jail under ISA. I personally think ISA shall be used in this case/way and not for the free speech innocent people lauded by them earlier.

Thanks.

27. #27 by melurian on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:32 pm

“when we make noise, we get public caning, when they make noise, they get verbal warning. God I wish I were in Chinese school.”

thank god you’re not in srjk coz if you did small tiny mischief, you’ll get ultimate humiliation punishment the rest of your life won’t forget! you know those teachers so happily employ ancient disciplinary punishments by citing without their strong “culture”, they can’t survive until today …..

28. #28 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:36 pm

I remember some 20 years ago Mark Koding made the same statement and he was found guilty and convicted on the Sedition Act.
    Well, lets see if justice is dispensed in half measures or UMNO MPs enjoy immunity.

29. #29 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:44 pm

son of a Mahathir is raising this old nut as the UMNO Youth election is nigh.

I studied in a new village chinese SRJK and then spent 6 years in a half funded secondary school studying in BM plus chinese subject

we were taught to love our country and fellow Malaysians.

Please-lah, politicians. Don’t shift blame on the state of national unity to vernacular schools. It is U GUYS, banking on racism as political capital that cause such grief. The university intake, government recruitment practice, award of licences, political speeches, keris raising, Ahmad Yusof got nothing to do with my SRJK(C). We were innocent, happy go lucky and slightly dumb little new village kids. We did not split hate speeches. We were more worried about getting a new lashes on our backside because we did not do our homework and went tree climbing.

Vernacular schools have their values. Malaysians are citizens of the world because we are multi-lingual. Why give up this international competitive advantage?

Go try something else for your election speeches like cleaning up corruption and chair throwing in UMNO, making UMNO Youth a respectable organisation to all and consider changing your organisation’s name because it is in English.

30. #30 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:47 pm

“I remember some 20 years ago Mark Koding made the same statement and he was found guilty and convicted on the Sedition Act.”

then we have a test case to see if our justice system has gone forward or backward in 20 years, over to you Zaki, former UMNO disciplinary chairman…oops cheif judge

31. #31 by Kelvenho on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 1:54 pm

His comment is stupid and I think he has no brain. I believe he should be charged for sedition. I hope somebody will make a police report against him. Anyway I doubt the police and the government of today will take action against him. What a pity.

32. #32 by sybreon on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 2:12 pm

Dear Uncle Kit,

According to the Sedition Act 1948, 3(1)(f):
    “A seditious tendency is a tendency to to question any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative established or protected by the provisions of Part III of the Federal Constitution or Article 152, 153 or 181 of the Federal Constitution.”

According to Article 152(1)(a) and (b):
    “The national language shall be the Malay language and shall be in such script as Parliament may by law provide: Provided that-
    (a) no person shall be prohibited or prevented from using (otherwise than for official purposes), or from teaching or learning, any other language; and
    (b) nothing in this Clause shall prejudice the right of the Federal Government or of any State Government to preserve and sustain the use and study of the language of any other community in the Federation.”

According to the MalaysiaKini article on the issue, Mukhriz said yesterday:
    “We can make it compulsory that the Chinese and Indians study their own language in their mother tongue while these two languages can be optional for Malay students to learn or we can make it compulsory for students to learn at least three languages.”

Now, if we look at the entire thing in context, it would seem that Mukhriz did not commit any sedition. In fact, what he suggested is to reinforce Article 152 in a sustainable manner. He is suggestint that we preserve and sustain the teaching and learning of the vernacular languages.

If we time-tabled vernacular languages in, alongside all the other language options available for SPM, in no way does it prevent anyone from learning them. In fact, it will open up all the languages to everyone who wishes to learn it, regardless of race. We can take Arabic if we’re interested to work in the Mid-east or take Mandarin if we want to explore China. This is all a good thing.

So, in this case, I believe that you are either misinformed, misled or trying to spin the issue to your own disadvantage.

33. #33 by kcb on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 2:17 pm

Ho Ho Ho
    Mamak Junior try to score political points,
    Party election is near!!!

34. #34 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 2:21 pm

I am begining to get fed up with most of the UMNO guys and the UMNO control BN government nowadays cause these fellows talked from A to Z are all about their malay supremacy,bullying everyone including MCA.MIC.GARAKAN,PBS,SUPP ETC not forgetting the oppositions.The sleepy police, the ok man judiciary.the yes tuan ACA and all the other ball and leg carriers departmental heads appointed by the UMNO top leaders.These UMNO top guys ,the young putras and putree or what ever they call themselves, can street demonstrate illegaly, can called the clossure of all vernacular schools, can closed down chruch publication,can tell me chinese to go back to China,called us babi .called the indian keling.destroyed temples and stopped construction of chinese temple.You guys out there, I can assure you NOTHING will come out to persecute these Ketuanan UMNO leaders and their cronies and culprists. Only GOD /ALLAH CAN PUNISH THEM.

35. #35 by syfq88 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 2:31 pm

You are just a sour grape. Seriously. When non malays, especially those from PR, questioning Malay’s rights, you people said “Oh we just wanted the same rights for all races. And it’s not a racist remark.” But we, the Malays can never ever questioning the non Malays. Your blog post is just the right example. Aren’t you people fight for Malaysia for Malaysians? So why the vernacular schools cannot be abolished? Practice what you preach please.

36. #36 by illuminati on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 2:37 pm

It’s obvious that Umno has lost the trust of most Malaysians. The election defeats in some states, the increasing racial discord over “ketuanan Melayu” and other ominous statements made by party apparatchiks are indications of a party losing touch with the reality of change in mindset among Malaysians of all races.

They are still hanging on, but look at the remnants of the Umno apparatchiks who are trying to win votes in upcoming party elections, one can see that none, whatsoever, is of the calibre that, we can safely say, makes a good future leader. Much less, can we trust them?

Is it a sign that Umno is on its last lap of maintaining its hegemony over all others? Will we see the party swept aside in the general election? No doubt we have seen party die-hards and other goons coming out of the woodworks to lash back at the growing ‘voices of dissent’.

One can understand where they are coming from but should they be given room to twist and turn their kind of polemics upon ill-informed people? Nay, we need people like LKS, Haris Ibrahim and others to continue to articulate in a civilized manner of the ‘danger’ we may face if the goons are not put in their proper place.

On the Internet, we see that there’s a growing discord among bloggers and commentators when it comes to socio-political issues that affect our lives, being citizens of this country. We want to see a country free from ‘apartheid’ and bigotry with equality for everyone.

I don’t sit in the coffeeshop with people talking politics, so I must admit I’m ignorant of what are their current topics of discussion regarding the state of the nation. But it’s obvious to have an inkling that these discussions are not far from those that are going on in the blogosphere today.

37. #37 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 2:58 pm

Sometimes we do get offended when people try to touch or question about our interest. However, we seldom ask ourselves, have we ever hurt or offended others. Perhaps, demanding others to strip their privileges might hurt their feelings as well.

Let us think about this rationally

38. #38 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:00 pm

sybreon,
    Do you think YB is not aware of the MalaysiaKini article on the issue? I am sure he is not that naive and gullible as you? Just ask yourself since when did UMNOPUTRAS been so magnanimous to allow diversity to flourish in this country.For example is throwing of government funded open houses during festivities of various groups really celebrate truly the diversity found in this country or is it an attempt to hood-wink visitors and the world that we a harmonious mix of diverse people.Malaysia truly Asia a beautiful piece of advertisement sadly devoid of substance in it!
    Isn’t this more likely a ploy to gain the top post rather than a genuine desire to close or eliminate the gap of polarisation?How is he different from other UMNOPUTRAS? Isn’t he a chip of the old block?
    If he really cares about polarisation he should eliminate NEP or better still make it needs-based.Eliminate Ketuanan Melayu?Do that and only then proceed to recommend the elimination of vernacular schools and build public schools somewhat like what Singapore is doing.If that can be done,i am pretty sure most of us who has objection will now support it.So tell Mukhriz,is he prepared to work along this line ?

39. #39 by tan chi nam on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:08 pm

it’s ok what about one school…what the big deal….but then some uneducated people will not agree here…

40. #40 by a-malaysian on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:19 pm

I Agree With You, Mukhriz, Close Down Vernacular Schools.

Malaysia For All

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty one years.

41. #41 by malaysia-united on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:24 pm

Ok, I agree with 1 system, how about all the schools in Malaysia only using Mandarin since Mandarin is the most spoken language in the world, how about that? Great idea???

Have UMNO goons studied what is Golden Rules? “Never did to that person the things that you don’t want others did to you the same way”

42. #42 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 3:30 pm

Why don’t the PR MPs pass some motion on him in Parliament?

43. #43 by ykltpm on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:16 pm

Another Boh Otak (Botak) politikus !

44. #44 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:30 pm

The Mark Koding case, which I mentioned earlier, can be read here:
    http://www.ipsofactoj.com/archive/1982/Part4/arc1982(4)-003.htm

45. #45 by wjlung on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:32 pm

Want to check polarisation? Simple lah; dissolve UMNO. Not much need ot be said or done except that.

46. #46 by bentoh on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:34 pm

Well, even though you did not say you are going to lodge police report…

and even though it’s been years for DAP to oppose to Sedition Act…

and more than that, the people had been mourning for the sedition charge that DAP sec gen suffered…

It seems that your party’s youth from Penang thing otherwise… They went to lodge a police report, that who knows, could probably lead a person into a sedition charge… is that what DAP wants? to have someone else suffered the same thing as the party’s sec gen and more recently RPK?

I believe everyone should be given right to discuss, over the “sensitive” issues, with proper care… and I don’t believe in using Sedition Act, which is by itself a draconian law set by the colonial Brits…

Now, can the DAP please explain what they’d done in Penang? Is the DAPSY leader, namely Yeoh Soon Hin trying to score some points for the oncoming DAPSY Congress? Did he even think before acting, to lodge for a police report that could lead someone into Sedition charge, which his party itself has been opposing for years? Did he realize that he is acting like the colonial British government in the old days, and that the people, the new Malaysians are not happy in seeing it happening?

Is the party going to do something on this? Or is the party secretly blessing this youth wing’s move, to charge or encourage the sedition charge against another Malaysian, which had happened on the Penang CM and RPK?

I believe Uncle Kit you have to be responsible on this…

47. #47 by chris chong on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:44 pm

let all of us go and make the polis report!!! united we stand; divided we fall! yes!!!

wait a second… the polis harrassment and violence
    better to stay at home and venting it thru blogs
    poor malaysians

48. #48 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 4:54 pm

The URL for the Mark Koding case did not come out complete in my earlier post. Include the “-003.htm” in the link.
    http://www.ipsofactoj.com/archive/1982/Part4/arc1982(4)-003.htm

49. #50 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 5:33 pm

I am with Bentoh!

50. #51 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 6:08 pm

Another big score and credit to the MCA again. If not for MCA’s “chickening”, would UMNO be so arrogant as to propose the closure of vernacular schools??

51. #52 by NewDAP on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 6:29 pm

I never like this guy, mukhriz, but what he said is true and correct.
    the fact is most of those racist chinese or indian are from vernacular schools.
    the reality is most of those chinese and indian who are unemployable and low income earners are from vernacular schools.
    vernacular schools did more harm than benefit to our people.

52. #53 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 7:02 pm

We would like to know what the big mouth Ong Tee Keat has to say? I suppose he knows where he stands in the scheme of things—just look at the way he distance himself from Chua Soi Lek–leave him to be gobbled up.This is what being a politician is all about.

53. #54 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 7:04 pm

The issue that different language will divide the population does not hold water so long that the current policy of divide and rule prevails. You can speak of one language but the slanted policy will not create a united nation. Hence we should stop the political aspects of hiding the issue. A positive policy of sincerity and honesty by the Gomen can bring the populace together than all the nonsense that had appeared in the Parliament! Don’t the Zimbabweans speak the same language? Politicians of any standing should stop pretending that the general public will continue to believe them on such issue!
    When a politician keeps harping on such issues, you know that they are bankrupt of positive ideas!!

54. #55 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 7:07 pm

I think YB knows of the result of such reports. BN has two standard policy. One for them one for the rest!!

55. #56 by chengho on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 7:34 pm

Let discuss the merit of what Mukriz said not to jump into seditious act. When you Q the Ketuanan Melayu in defination this is the Kesultanan Melayu is this seditious ?
    analyse what Sybreon said sound fair to negotiate.

56. #57 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 8:29 pm

Watching Mukhriz on the 8:00pm English news this evening I can certainly vouch this is indeed a chip of the old block.Real pakar in double-speak!!

57. #58 by mendela on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 8:30 pm

Many years ago I read an article about languages in the world and it said Bahasa Melayu was one of the easiest languages in the world!

Since it is one of easiest languages in the world, we should treat it as second language and make either English or Mandarin as the official language for Malaysians.

BTW, besides Malaysia, what is the advantages of knowing Bahasa Melayu? With so few books are written in BM, what is the use of knowing BM?

Globally, who else is using BM?
    In business world, is knowing BM helps?

Malaysia has made the most silly mistake in choosing BM as its official language. Malaysia will forever become primitive if Malaysians know only BM!

58. #59 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 8:42 pm

A simplistic view from a simpleton on racial polarization in the country, that do not deserve to be debated, by debating every one is giving credence to such simplistic assumption by a simpleton whose only ulterior motive and his agenda is to win his UMNO youth chief in the coming UMNO election.

59. #60 by znita07 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 8:44 pm

I beg to differ in this matter. Though I do not support UMNO/Mukriz but I think this is the only way fwd.

Show me which country has 3 different school systems? The US, UK, Australia, Spore and Indonesia and even Thailanf only have 1 school system.

If you want your children to learn local language then the scholl can have a similar system like Sgpore.

60. #61 by MY VIEW on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:01 pm

The son of Mahathiu. Like father like son. The similarity of Mukriz and Ahmad Ismail – Both are mamak tongkang. Apparently it is the mamak tongkang (NOT the Malays) who are creating problems for the non Malays.

61. #62 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:21 pm

He said he was only suggesting for the purpose of unity,not asking for the closure of vernacular schools.CAN YOU BEAT THAT!!

62. #63 by aje on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:22 pm

Mukriz proposed that there should be only one system of education in Malaysia.Do you think that when all Chinese and Indians enrol in national schools national unity will materialise?I doubt it.The govt needs to do more to promote national unity like opening up UiTM,matriculation colleges,civil service,GLCs,Feldas and the lists go on.Even with these do you honestly think national unity will prevail?So politicians please don’t touch on sensitive issues which are protected in our constitution.Think of ways to boast our economy.I love my country and I don’t want to see Malaysians disunited and chaos.I hope these politicians or Malaysians will think thrice before you say something.

63. #64 by znita07 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:26 pm

mendela,
    don’t say that, it’s not nice to despise other people’s language.
    Don’t be too arrogant.

Besides as much as the Chinese/Indian/Thai love their mother tongue,so do the Malays.

It is not the language issue here.

64. #65 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:32 pm

Even Samy has come out in the news to give Mukhriz (don’t forget he used to bodek his father in those days) his piece of mind.And Ong Tee Kiat?? A deafening silence.He prefers to throw Chua Soi Lek to be gobbled up by the ultraracists.It is more important to him than the dismantling of vernacular schools which Mukhriz says is for unity so as to terminate polarisation.

65. #66 by katdog on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:36 pm

Yeah Mendela,
    You should not bash the Malay language. There is nothing wrong with Malay language. You are arrogant and self absorbed in your own race’s ‘superiority’. You are no different than the UMNOputra’s. No wait, there’s a difference between you and the UMNOputra’s: they’re in power and you are not.

Malay is a unique language and we should not loose it. I know my friends from China find the language interesting and enjoy it when i teach them Malay words. If a Chinese from China can enjoy learning Malay why the hell are you who claim to be a Malaysian bashing it?

66. #67 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:47 pm

Is there any collection of data listing the children of ministers, their deputies, senior government officers, junior government officers, bumi tycoons and other successsful bumi businessmen or other bumi individuals ( bumi here = malay ) who had or have currently sent their children to schools ( local or otherwise ) where the medium of instruction is english or other languages other than bahasa malaysia / melayu?

All these people do not have any, to repeat and emphasise again, ANY, rights or justification at all to tell anybody else, be they the chinese, indians, or just anybody other than their own people, where to send their children to for their schooling.

Why bother about polarisation, unity, prejudice, discrimination, etc., etc., when one has NO moral basis or just any sense of mutual respect and acceptance of mutual existence towards other fellow human beings.

It is as if only their thoughts, well-being, interests, future, and entire existence matter; all others’ are secondary and could be brushed aside at their whims and fancies.

Blame it on the “KETUANAN” syndrome or malaise.

All those who are addicted or prone to abusing the “ketuanan” label for their own interest and positioning or posturing must be properly counselled and given a severe rebuke on their waywardness.

Where do we go from here?

67. #68 by MY VIEW on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:49 pm

Znita, closing down vernacular school will not unit Malaysians. It takes more than that. Read what Aje wrote. That’s a good example. We should know Mahathiu. And that happens to be his son. Like father like son.

68. #69 by MY VIEW on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:51 pm

I can’t blame Mendela for being racist. It all started from the top, the leaders and Membersof Pariahment

69. #70 by theeagle on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:51 pm

Mukriz claimed that his proposal was intended to promote racial unity at the primary school level. However, schools have never been a cause of racial disunity. It has been the racist and corrupted politicians that played the race card to gain racial support that had caused racial rivalry and distrust among the various races. To promote salvage the problem and to ensure Malaysia will have racial unity eventually, the Malaysian constitution should prohibit existence of race-based political party in Malaysia. All policies and activities organized by the government shall be for all races. All racial practices, speeches, activities, etc, shall be outlawed.

Politicians, can you do so?

70. #71 by Ray on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:55 pm

M & M \\Like father like son\\

71. #72 by aje on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:08 pm

Lets not vote MPs who are racists in the next G.E.Malaysians of all races please think,speak and act rationally at all times.Only then our kids will be safe.

72. #73 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:15 pm

But you got to understand it is a political move by Mukhriz. He is rallying and firing up his base in his Party in preparation for the elections.

Nevertheless, it has the potential of fanning racial animosity. It meets the definition of what is seditious. Police reports should be lodged and motions for censure moved in Parliament.

73. #74 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:23 pm

Show me which country has 3 different school systems? The US, UK, Australia, Spore and Indonesia and even Thailanf only have 1 school system.” Znita07

In the United States, ethnic schools are left on their own to operate. They are funded by their communities and are unpopular with the people.

In Malaysia, vernacular schools receive financial grants from the government.

Go from there and the only argument you could get to is that the government should have broad control over syllabus and teachers, that such schools must meet government guidelines and objectives. But abolishing them??

74. #75 by MY VIEW on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:23 pm

undergrad2, obviously he is preparing for the UMNO election. He is a racist son. So it is like father like son.

75. #76 by One4All4One on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:25 pm

To those who are so fond of defending the concept of “ketuanan” of a particular ethnic group in Malaysia:

Please stop behaving as if you are the only important ethnic group that matters in the country.

Yes, you are the majority community in the nation. BUT, does that warrant you to lord over others.

I had thought that you guys are a religious lot and are guided by a great religion which is impartial, magnanimous, noble, race-blind, righteous and promotes equality amongst the human race?

How come you behave so non-righteously and treat others with contempt and disrespect?

Where is the sense of fairness and equality?

Why can’t others voice out their cry of inequality or injustice?

If after 50 years of nationhood, the country is still filled with such cries of social injustice and/or miscarriage of justice and maladministration, something must be terribly wrong with the administration or system of governance.

Those in position of responsibility must work overtime to right the situation before it gets out of hand. Minority groups must not be denied their basic rights and fundamental liberties. Not at the expense of some alien “ketuanan” concept or ideology which is not even found in the federal constitution. Let alone to be propagated and perpetuated by irresponsible parties amongst the citizenry.

Hope justice and righteousness will prevail.

76. #77 by riversandlakes on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:31 pm

Playing the racist card again, aren’t we? Perhaps this move will be proven stupid. Slap him with sedition.

77. #78 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:33 pm

Mukriz,why are you so sure that vernacular school is a cause for racial polarisation? What about the 60,000 odd Malay pupils now studying in SRJK(C)?Are these Malay pupils and their parents fools?No,they are not fools definitely but they are very smart.Why don’t you ask Arif Shah(he studied in Chinese schools) who also has children educated in SRJK(C)? Maybe you can also ask KTK,OTK,OKT,they are all products of SRJK(C).Do not be a hypocrite and a pretender.In your heart and also in many of the idiotic Umnoputras’,the true cause of racial polarisation is the unfair and unjust policies and also extreme religious bigotry displayed by you bums.

78. #79 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:42 pm

Like what undergrad 2 says,likewise you can have private chinese schools in new zealand,australia,england,france etc etc but which group of chinese business would dare to fund such a project for this would certainly end in bankruptcy or school closure.Why? Not enough Chinese pupils for the schools to operate profitably cos Chinese populations in these countries are at most probably 3%,too small to attract enough to operate.There is no government decree probiting the erection of ethnic schools in the examples given above.So for the likes of people like Shamsul,Kasim Amat,cintanegara stop quoting examples for which you know nothing of!

79. #80 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:43 pm

chinese business should read chinese businessmen.

80. #81 by imranj78 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 10:48 pm

If DAP and PR is truly supporters of the principle `Malaysian Malaysia’ and want long term unity for Malaysians, a single education system for ALL is one of the solutions the country needs. While venacular schools may not be the only cause of disunity, it is WITHOUT DOUBT one of the perpetuating causes of a fragmented society.

Ideally there should not be any vernacular schools, MARA schools etc etc but only a single school system. This single school system will allow students of all races to learn their mother tongue if they wish to do so to safeguard the constitutional rights of all. No doubt that there has to be better control of the quality of national schools.

Those who are against this concept of a single schools system are hypocrites! On one side they talk about equality and unity but when it starts to hurt their irrational personal interest, they cry foul! Like what Mukhriz said, you can’t have your cake and it eat too!

81. #82 by shamshul anuar on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:09 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

Suddenly you are upset that someone finally has the gut to say on matter that is a mind boggling if not disastrous by world standard. I see nothing wrong on what Mukriz said.

He just said the truth. And the truth hurts. You are so vocal about questioning why should we fill out “race” column. But you stake a different stance on vernacular school.

You often compare Malaysia and Singapore, saying how great the latter is. So, what is wrong with following the latter. In this case, why separate children from tender age.

Why cant they mix together from formative years. Long lasting friendship will be created. Come Hindraf or racist politicians( including from your own party), but this friendship will prevail. That is why my childhood friend, an Indian, told me that whatever Hindraf said, he said that Malays are not that bad. And that includes Malay politicians from UMNO.

One school concept aptly signifies “Malaysian Malaysia” concept. Dont you think so, Uncle Lim. What is there to be afraid of? Learn Malay and English. Encourage Malay to learn Tamil or Mandarin. Encourage Chine children to take Tamil class. As for Indian students, they should be encouraged to learn Mandarin as well.

But let them mix together. Let them know each other. Let them understand that beneath the skin colour, every human iregardless of race has good point.

The Constitution guarantees freedom to learn and practice and use mother tongue. No question on that.

I notice suddenly Uncle Lim becomes upset. He claim how Mukhriz has raised “sensitive” question. What is wrong about that. I thought DAP always says that sensitive issues should not be wrapped . DAP always encourage debate say like BAr Council holding a forum on Constitution but could not be bothered to invite an authority among Malay community to give view.

Uncle Lim ridiculed the feeling of Malays, by giving lies that UMNO is behind it. The truth is that Malays are upset that none of respected authority among them is invited to speak.

As for Riversandlake, yes someone is playing racial politics here. And he is Uncle Lim. Mukhriz just said the truth. The only way forward is by encouraging friendship starting from tender age .

I thought Lee Kuan Yew is Lim’s mentor. Why cant we follow that stand from Singapore? What are we afraid of? That UMNO trying to abolish vernacular school. If that is the concern, UMNO would have done that 50 years ago. Remember at independence it controlled almost 70% of Parliament seats. It is a matter of choice.

Please do not try to prevent discussion by accusing Mukhriz trying to get voites for UMNO Youth Chief Post. I believe none in this lanet has mastered the art of reading into someone’s heart. Discuss what Mukhriz said.

should the Chinese community so afraid to mix together with non Chinese community, then shut up about racial classification in official document.

As for vernacular school, with due respect to Chinese community, it also has weak point. Not everybody excels there just like Sekolah Kebangsaan.

As for Mendela, there is saying “Vengeance is mine”. and I shall say “Love your enemy”. I mean nobody expects you to write befitting Nobel laureate , just as a minimum standard let us not ridiculing languages be they are Tamil, Malay, Mandarin or Arabic or what ever languages in the world.

Somehow, Malaysians fail to take advantage of our uniqueness. We have many languages that enables us to penetrate emerging markets like China, india, Middle East. But we simply argue.

I may defend UMNO but do not be surprise this is what Malay feel the biggest mistake by UMNO; that is allowing separate school system.

82. #83 by mendela on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:12 pm

I am not bashing Malay language at all.

My point is if we Malaysians know only Malay language and ignorant on other major languages like English or Mandarin, all of us would be doomed!!!

Even developed countries like Japanese and Koreans are placing high priority on foreign languages. Their kids start foreign language learning once they got into primary schools.

BTW, among the many foreign students in China, which country sends the most students to China to study d Chinese language?

It is the Koreans!

All people know the advantages of being bilingual or trilinggual.

83. #84 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:16 pm

imranj78,

There you go again calling people hypocritesafter throwing challenges to everyone to prove malaysia is unsafe and telling people not to poke their noses into things they don’t know.What’s next from you?

84. #85 by imranj78 on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:33 pm

AhPek,
    Referring to your last comment, whats your point? I would prefer rational and logical comments to my postings rather then just open ended statements above that do not mean anything.

If you think I am wrong to label some people hypocrites then please put together some comprehensible basis to back up your claim.

85. #86 by telur on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:49 pm

Hello Uncle Lim,

Why must you put things in a negative light ?

I think you know the ONE SCHOOL SYSTEM HAS MERITS in YOUR FIGHT FOR A ONE MALAYSIA.

So you avoided discussing this when you have a choice of discussing the positive or improving such ideas of having such a system.

Why not instead you pursue it the other way around. Maybe suggest a better way to do it ?

I think ideally ONE SCHOOL SYSTEM SHOULD BE ABOUT MALAYSIA AS A WHOLE NOT SEPARATE ENTITIES RACE OR GROUPS. All Malaysian Language should be taught be it Malay, Chinese , Indian after all we are all Malaysian. When you have such a school system why is there a need for separate school system ?

Stop promoting hatred and discontent. This will never stop. See the bigger picture and show us a better solution … be a real champion for all Malaysian.

And for mendela,

if you’re a Malaysian, you should respect Bahasa Malaysia, as the national language. Its part of being a Malaysian, the language that bonds us together.

Why is there a need for multiple school system that teaches us one thing and the other another ? We need one system that teaches us all about being Malaysian, NOT JUST being a Malaysian Malay, Malaysian Chinese or Malaysian Indies etc.. that has been outdated.

I think its high time for someone to initiate and pool our resources and start a system where all the curriculum should be combined into one.

86. #87 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:54 pm

imranj78,
    Don’t ask me to keep explaining things to you.Go back to Farish Noor’s
    “A Fatwa on Yoga?” when you say ‘I still don’t see your point how this fatwa will invade on the life of non muslims and then ask me to care to share how for which I’ve have down but when I counter by asking you to share with us how you can connect my views with that of the danish paper and whether the response by some muslims towards the publication necessary,I receive a deafening silence.
    So don’t ask me to put together some comprehensible basis to back up my claim.Go back to that thread to pick up where you left!

87. #88 by rubini on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:55 pm

I agree with the principle that we should have 1 schooling system like in Singapore. Why didn’t he mention MARA schools, did he forget ? 1 school system means MARA & UITM must also be become part of the single schooling system.

The fact it is not single schooling system or multi school system thats the issue. STOP DISCRIMINATION & treat everyone same and give equal opportunity.

88. #89 by AhPek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:55 pm

down to read done

89. #90 by 7even Sins on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:58 pm

Yeahh…right..!!! With all the Ketuanan and NEP shits it can unite the people. It is not the schools that not uniting the people, it is UMNO which single handedly destroyed the unity spirits among the people by segregating them to “1st class” bumi and secondary, non-bumi. It is so “Tak Malu” of Mukriz to make such an allegation. Way to go Shithead…!!!

http://malaysia.news.yahoo.com/bnm/20081201/tts-mukhriz-education-993ba14.html

90. #91 by HB Lim on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 12:59 am

It was the increasing discriminatory treatment against non-Malays in national schools that led to increasing racial polarisation and the decline in the standard of teaching in those schools that caused a rise in the popularity of national-type schools. Malay politicians like Mukhriz should understand which is the cause and which is the effect. National-type schools do not cause polarisation; they are a result of the polarisation caused by the discriminatory policies and practices carried out in the national schools. Where then do we start tackling and arresting the trend towards greater polarisation? First remove all discriminatory policies and practices in the national schools. The non-Malays will come back to national schools, standards will improve and eventually, vernacular schools will not appear to be that attractive anymore and will probably die a natural death. The issue of vernacular schools is not an issue of race but of fair treatment and standards of teaching.

91. #92 by BNseedell on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:15 am

I agree 100% with PureMalaysian when he said:

“I dare the BN govt would do anything on Mukhriz!
    Even PKR is not taking any action on Zulkifli… do you think BN will do anything on Mukhriz?”

“Haha… not unless the sun rises from the west.”

I am prepared to give up my citizenship if the sun rises from the west! Insyaalah ….

But I am just puzzled why Mahathir’s politically-ambitious son could suggest that the government should put an end to vernacular schools so that Chinese and Tamil schools can be streamlined into one ‘Malaysian education system’.

He went further to say: “We are one nation but we have so many systems. There is a need to induce unity.” May I ask him one simple question — Yes, we are one nation but we have Bumiputras and non-Bumipuitras. So how to induce unity then???

92. #93 by de_Enigma on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 2:10 am

Greeting to Malaysians,

Let’s imagine the proposed ‘Walk-the-talk’ action Malaysian Non-Malay can do on this issue:
    (1) Semi-private Chinese & Tamil Schools to be nationalized first.
    (2) Everyone waits and pray for event no.(3) to happen.
    (3) Government in turn Nationalized the fully tax payer funded religious schools, UITM & MARA?

The sequence will most probably just stop at no.(2) for various undisclosed reasons.

I strongly believed the constitution is there to prevent abuse.

93. #94 by rubenz on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 4:19 am

I suggest that the national main stream education system should include a compulsory pupil’s own language subject, just like Singapore, but the existing fully or partially govt funded vernacular schools should not be closed down forcefully.

With this, more parents would realize that since their kids could learn their mother tongue in national schools, so vernacular schools would eventually lose their niche and become extinct on their own.

94. #95 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 7:31 am

first you introduce policies which work to promote racial polarisation among the country’s races. Then you blame everybody else for it.

Now you look to blame the country’s so-called vernacular schools for what your policies did. How lame is that??

Mukhriz has taken the same road his father, and the others did before him and makes no apology for it. They beat the drums of narrow Malay nationalism for the consumption of their Malay supporters, rile up the support of their base within the party to win party elections.

These are politics of old. Malays today cannot be taken for a ride as easily as their parents were. This is not 1969.

95. #96 by GilaPolitic on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:07 am

Oops ! It sounds like father and son with same racist tune to drum up the hate, fear and anger in a peaceful multiracial nation. The true voice have been revealed out from their horses’ mouths and bad faith intentions from their dirty brains and evil hearts. All Malaysians have listened the unparliamentary words, sexist remarks, immature thinking, dirty callings, childish behaviours, etc came out from some less educated and kurang ajar ruling MPs in their debates in Parliaments.

Yes, the spectators and visitors visited and witnessed the on going parliamentary sessions shaked their heads disbelieved poor disciplined of some ruling MPs like shouting, bad body languages and bad names calling. Such bad ruling MPs really downgraded the standard, created mockery and great shame to the Parliament.

The biggest political ” bloodly bastard ” as mentioned by BN MP voiced out in Parliament should best refer to the current ex-former PM’s son who “kurang ajar” from his dad to behave rightfully and to be more diplomatic in his recent speeches to “Close down vernacular schools” deemed to get rid of other races’ rights and he shits on the Federal Constitutions and Education Act. Similar when the English medium in education system was abolised by the ruling parties for past 22 years, the standard of education in Malaysia has downgraded and worst than other neighboring countries in ASEAN. Many local graduates less educated in English are majority jobless people due to their poor command of English.

An irresponsible idiot like him is not suitable to become a national leader of all Malaysians today and in the future. All Malaysians are not stupid and silly to vote for him forever since he has a dirty mouth, evil mind, rotten heart and inhumane soul to lead the BOLEHLand. WHAT A BIG MALU / SHAME ?

96. #97 by Thinking Two on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:12 am

It was Mamak Tail who proposed that Lion Dance to be banned when he was in the umno election.

Mamak Tail can not fool all the people all the time.

Now, everybody is well educated and with full knowledge of what is happening. During mamak tail’s time, every news was witheld and every figure in the report was twisted.

97. #98 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:29 am

“This is not 1969”
    Are you sure? Ever since I looked up the “Wawasan 2020” that I read on the sun visor of a pimped Wira, I’ve been wondering what year it is in Malaysia. Soon after I read about that, Petronas sponsored a Merdeka supplement in the NST with black and white pictures from Independence, with stages packed with enthusiastic Malsaysians, recently returned from overseas education, wearing sleeveless blouses and knee-length skirts, glossy manes everywhere. The same enthusiasm for the future the world shared in the 50s. I wish I’d kept my copy of that supplement.
    I once was amused by the idea of Malaysia aiming at “developed nation”. If they were to draw up anything approaching a ‘plan’, they would have to specify a concrete objective, some testable criteria for success. I wondered what year they had picked as their destination in 2020. Logically, it has to be some year before the inception of Wawasan 2020, or how could they know what the standards were?
    Your government wields an enormous amount of domestic power, compared to other countries that I’ve lived in. If they wanted 1969, I fully expect they can arrange it – they appear to be masters of backward time travel. I remain doubtful that 1969 is in your country’s past – when was Malaysia’s Summer of Love? Perhaps it would be useful to arrange a “Wawasan clock” for Malaysia, much like the “Doomsday clock” by the atomic scientists in the USA, showing what year Malaysia is currently in.

98. #99 by Norime on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:35 am

AhPek can worship dear old Uncle Kit and twist words for him, but sybreon has a point, and like it or not it does seem that uncle Kit is sour because Mamakkuti’s son beat him in the game uncle Kit is supposed to be a champion.

“Hit below the belt” may not be the right analogy for Mamakkuti’s son’s latest move, “unnexpected left hook” looks like the case here.

Even more unfortunate, Uncle Kit rose back from the hit not knowing what hit him… and goes walking the other way.

Time for you to walk the talk Uncle Kit, or DAP will always be merely the MCA of Pakatan.

99. #100 by GilaPolitic on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:42 am

Read to “imranj78 says” – what a big shame ? Your thinking is worst than old Malay folk with narrow mind and never think outside the box to listen, read and see the true facts and figures.

Let me tell you the TRUE and READ and REMEMBER …forever.

I came from a poor Malay family and my parents have 10 children who lived in a Kampong China. Our brother and sisters are educated in a Chinese medium school since because we have no choice because the Malay school is far away from our house. Today, we thanked the Chinese, Malay and Indian teachers taught us about living in a muhibbah society that we have mastered Mandarin, English and Bahasa Malaysia from our multi lingual education system in Malaysia. All our brothers and sisters are professionals like lawyers, doctors, engineers and architects worked in MNCs and Chinese tycoons business empires because we, Malay came from poor family are well educated in multi-languages are hot demand by many companies. I thanked many Chinese Charity organisations and Chinese Education Foundations for giving out loans to us, Malay in our tertiary education in overseas. But we are very sad that our good results’ applications for Malay scholarships were turned down because we are educated in Chinese schools and declined our appeals that we are poor MALAY. We are non political connected is also reason for rejection. We dont understand till today the true reasons.

I am a true pure Malay who never understand the many reasons of our own Malay communities are easily been fooled, deceived and cheated by our own Ketuanan Melayu leaders. The past 50 years under the Malay leadership calling themselves Ketuanan Melayu have caused more Malay and Bumiputeras in deep shit poorly educated, jobless, hard core poor, high crime rates and living below standard than other Malaysian races.

Billion ringgits from natural resources, NEP policies, Bumi quotas, Malay privileges and rights, MARA loans, scholarships, ASN are abused by our own Malay leaders to benefit their own family members, cronies, non-Malay biz tycoons and building their own empires. The wealth generated by the nation failed to uplift the Malay people in rural and urban areas. For example: Kampung Melayu in the heart of KL remained an eye sores digraceful to Malay communities as compared with their neighbors with high rise buildings and modern technology towers.

I am a Malay who the first to protest against the former PM’s son for his called to “Close down vernacular schools”. He is playing a dangerous racist issue to win sympathies feeling of Malay people and try to garner more votes from many Malay voters in his party is very imoral. I sincerely hope brother imranj78 is not another stupid bodoh Malay is easily con by an imoral leader with his bad will remarks.

GILA POLITIC – ANAK MELAYU MALAYSIA

100. #101 by Valerie_Rosa on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 10:47 am

Fundamentally, having one school system is GOOD only with true meritocracy. Maybe if we stop making this a political agenda, the real experts in education can come together and devise the best education system for Malaysia. Sadly, we are just not ready. Meanwhile, teenagers are forced to do national services to ‘unite’ them and the standard of our Universities are going down the drain. This is how we are grooming our future leaders?

101. #102 by kenghuei on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 11:31 am

Haha..simple as this. Mukhriz has poor knowledge of the federal constitution. If he is aware this is one of the sensistive issues enshrined in the constitution, he would not have made such suggestions openly. Now realising the impact of his statement which have invited so many backlash, he is trying to twist around and said what he meant is to standardize the vernacular school systems to use BM as medium of instruction…

But what I find more interesting is, Samy Vellu is calling for legal action against Mukhriz =) So what now.. MIC vs Umno, MCA vs Umno and Gerakan vs Umno? The coalition is breaking lose.. let’s wait eagerly for the next government!

102. #103 by AhPek on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:15 pm

“Your government wields an enormous amount of domestic power, compared to other countries that i’ve lived in.” OrangRojak.

Not only that, our Prime Minister wields a bigger stick than the President of the United States,supposedly the most powerful man on earth.The Congress is always there as an effective check and balance on the Presidential powers whereas PM of Malaysia has almost unfettered powers.The President can be impeached like Nixon who has to resign to avoid the impending impeachment against him.Who would think of impeaching the Malasian PM? One can be ISAed!!

103. #104 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:17 pm

Yeah,great idea,only one system of education to unite the rakyats.Ban or close all schools . Introduce multi-languages system such as engish for globlisation ,mandarin for rising china as a super power,tamil for India rising technology and malay,kadazan,and iban for local consumption. Isn’t this a better idea to unite all the races in the country,Mr.Mukhriz ?

104. #105 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 1:20 pm

The reality of the true situation at the classroom level has not been addressed by the politicians, especially those from UMNO. If the implementation of the policy is not slanted to favor any community, the issue of language would not have arisen in the first place. Let us see if the Indonesian recently enacted policy of non-discrimination against any Indonesian would be up-held in practice!
    As indicated , why are so many non-Chinese opted to study in the so-called Chinese schools?
    It is so obvious that the education of this country has be politicized for so long that parents prefer to send their children to a particular school solely because they hope that the on-going environment of that school can be sustained until their children complete schooling. Just look at the so-called glamorous schools of some reputation in the country. The moment, the slanted mentality took over, it is kaput!! If schools can offer ‘liberal’ approach in allowing students to opt for the subjects they wanted to do in the first instance; a single national school system will surely prevails. the truth is at such schools the Head is already confirmed a Bumi, no matter what the caliber is!! These are some of the basic policy matter that deter others from accepting the so-called national system. Unless, the power-that-be can sincerely search their souls and ask themselves, this issue will never be resolved. With the issue of quality be slanted for political consumption, be assured that with the whole world wide open, many parents in the near future would either do home tuition or just organise their own classes!!

105. #106 by democrate on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 2:02 pm

Muhkriz,
    Why Marina Mahathir transfer her children to an international school if the national school is so good to unite the Malysian.
    To unite all Malaysia,all those policies that bias the non bumis should be re formulated and stop to use the word Ketuanan Melayu rather than to call yourself a true Malaysian.
    Restudy the History of Malaya and read and understand the national Constitution and if you have time do visit the Chinese and Tamil school to enhance your political knowhow rather than talking nonsense to capture your political capital.

106. #107 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 2:35 pm

Yes, Mufriz the muflis, one schooling system for all malaysians. But then how come there are 2 exam systems for pre-U, viz. Matrikulasi for malays and STPM for non-malays? One schooling system with 2 exam systems will never work, you mamak muflis!

107. #108 by NewDAP on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 3:42 pm

Vernacular schools have been the political agenda of this country used by DAP, MIC, MCA and etc to fish votes from racist voters…..

Mukhriz’s suggestion of one system is very right but difficult to implement as there are too many racist people and politicians, too much distrust among the different races and too many hypocrites people in malaysia.

Vernacular schools had produced most of those youth who can’t read and write proper English and BM in Malaysia. Most of those youth will ended up as low income earners, unemployed, robbers, ah long, illegal bookies and etc.

That explained why most of those white collar workers or professional chinese and indian are NOT from vernacular schools. BUT most of those low income earners, hawkers, plumbers, blue collar workers and those involved in vice activities are those from vernacular schools.

108. #109 by patchay on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 7:40 pm

I’m a Malaysian Chinese studying abroad and this is my first comment in YAB’s weblog.

The thing is there’s no confidence amongst the Chinese that their so-called “values and heritage” will be preserved when vernacular schools are gone, which is very important to many people who view Chinese culture as no1. It is the matter of CONFIDENCE and TRUST that the majority of Chinese doesn’t have if the govt takes over all vernacular schools and nationalized them alongside the present Sekolah Kebangsaan (SK). No offence, but in reality many Chinese parents will say “OMG Malay schools again.”

And then, perhaps all these years of booming China make more and more Chinese Bananas like me to say “God give me my Chinese education”.

Until today I was never able to convince my Chinese-ed friends that a bloke like me who came from SK are better than them, for instance in Maths. The only thing I could say to “better them” was actually not to say I was from “Pure National SK” ; rather to say soemthing like “Aussie SK” because many of the SK pupils, especially in PJ and city areas, are higly influenced to the so-called MTV western world. So somehow the preception of National SK, by some people, has been that bad, while they admired the likes of westernization Malaysian-styled amongst the Bananas.

In reality today, unfortunately, I think a majority of Chinese Malaysians across the country do not share the sentiment of one school one Bangsa system. In adition, many Chinese who went to SK also did not feel the unity thingy, so Dato’ Mukhriz’s approach may not be proven right afterall. Besides that, the ongoing National Service also did not improve race relations whatsoever.

The sad thing is many people relate vernacular schools as an essence of Chinese culture and heritage which is a very sensitive issue. Others would take easy chance, perhaps to gain some political mileage by pointing fingers to the Constitution. I dare say a majority of my Chinese friends want to remain as Malaysian Chinese rather than Bangsa Malaysia. In specific term, many Chinese cannot Trust the majority in handling their education affairs. Therefore, very unfortunately, the government cannot UNDO this differentiation that has been going on for last 50 years, at least in this generation.

But for the future of our country, and to reduce these racial tensions for the generation to come, we obviously need to forgo the vernacular system sooner or later. We obviously need to address the education divide as soon as possible. I, for one, strongly believe that one day Malaysians could all study together in ONE SCHOOL SYSTEM, ONE EDUCATION SYLLABUS, MULTI-LANGUAGE OPTIONS. For that day to come, we’ll be truly Bangsa Malaysia.

Whatever it may be, I strongly suggest the following to be done first:

1. The govt can perhaps stream everybody into STPM first and abolish Matrikulasi as a first step to gradually gain the confidence of the Chinese.

2. Then enforce pure merit at all levels of education especially university entry and placements.

3. Then improve the quality of teaching in SK and less seminars for SK teachers.

4. Improve the quality of English as a “neutral language” alongside the national language.

5. Then introduce Mandarin as a compulsory or elective subject in classrooms, not merely complimentary optional POL. Later, Mandarin usage can also be extended to Science and Maths to a certain extent to compliment English Science/Maths.
    (why not put 3 hours per week in some schools for a start? The language will benefit all races. As for Tamil we can put it as elective for Indian students.)

When all these are done and the quality of SK improves by leaps and bounds towards “equalling” the Chinese school quality (as in the perception of the Chinese), more Chinese parents will realise the importance of unity in ONE EDUCATION SYSTEM, thus sending their kids to SK instead. Eventually, the vernacular system will “die of natural death” when enrolment declines considerably. (now enrolment in SJKC is booming partly because the SK system is shun away by many Chinese, so the govt need to know the underlying reasons to it)

Even though I advocate ONE EDUCATION SYSTEM, I believe we cannot just remove SJKC like what Dato’ Mukhriz suggested. Rather, the govt need to buck up the current SK system and then, ultimately PROVING why SJKC is less relevant in coming years.

109. #110 by cvl on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 7:55 pm

Mukhris vernacular school item is really his maiden political speech. Nothing more nothing less. He needs to rise out of obscurity in the run up for the youth post.

And he knows there are many avid ‘fans’ he can rely on to just do that for him from LKS and M2Day readers. Mukhris is certainly dead right – and he must be thanking his Allah for answering his prayers in his 5 times daily prayers for providing people like you lot.

All that is needed to counter Mukhris is to bring him to a court of law, with dignified calm as was done at least in Mark Koding’s case.

You lot are certainly helpful

110. #111 by katdog on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 8:18 pm

To the Mahathir worshipper Imranj,
    As many here have pointed out, the issue here is not that we do NOT want one schooling system. The issue here is that, Mukhriz has blamed vernacular chools as the cause of racial polarization, which is a half-truth designed to mislead the naive simpletons.

Yes, without looking deeper we can say probably vernacular schools has contributed to racial polarization. But we all know that is not the REAL root cause.

In medicine do you treat the side effects of the disease or the actual disease itself? Treating the side effects may provide some false respite but in the end the problems will not be cured. The disease will just manifest in a different way.

Closing down vernacular schools will not solve the real root cause of the racial polarization in this country.

The real issue here is that Mukhriz like his father before him is once again playing the racial card bringing up side issues. In other words, he’s obviously not really interested in tackling the real problem, he’s just looking to score convenient political points.

Heck, he’s probably happy that the Chinese and Indians are making such a hoo hah over his statements as he can probably use that to score more points with the Malay voters and paint himslef as a Malay champion.

111. #112 by imranj78 on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 9:51 pm

katdog,
    Firstly I must admire your imagination for whipping up the `fantasy’ that I am a Mahathir worshipper. You must really have a `great’ mind to be able to come to such a fantastic twisted conclusion!

I stand by my past statement that existence of vernacular/one race schools is ONE of the reasons for racial polarization. I am not saying it is the only reason nor am I saying it is a side effect… I am saying it is ONE of the reasons. So to ensure long term unity, ALL such schools must be integrated into a single national education system. To ensure the constitutional rights of non-Malays are guaranteed, mother tongue languages must be taught in such schools.

If DAP/PR is so against this concept, then we might as well just forget about forging a united Malaysian Malaysia bangsa as I thought DAP/PR was serious in its effort to champion such a cause.

112. #113 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 7:18 pm

While you all argue the merit of having one system of schooling, please ask as to why parents are shying away from national schools in the first place. I was educated in the so-called English medium school of the past. there was no question of us ganging-up based on racial line. I came from a kampung and my immediate ‘gang members’ were my Malay friends. We ganged-up and fought with those blokes who happened to live near the town, consisting of some Chinese and a few Indians. Where we came from was our rallying point!
    Having spent a few years teaching in national schools, I left the service but was still in touch with my ex-colleagues who were still teaching then. From them, I decided to send my daughter to the national-type school though I was never educated in a Chinese national type school. The reason was simple, the slanted attitude of some of those teachers actually left me with no choice, at least at the primary level. Of course, at secondary level, my hiope was she would have learned something of live to take all the negative brain wash she would encounter then.
    So for those non-Bumis, you may be lucky that you live in KL and PJ where the impact of such policy may have not affected you too much because of the environment! Many of you would not have to face those psychological problems faced by the lower middle class non-Bumi families.
    I think the basic issue is so long that the current slanted policy is practised at all levels of the Gomen , the feeling of unfairness will remain and the ‘oppressed’ group will reject any change out of fear of further losses of their rights!.Period

113. #114 by katdog on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 8:21 pm

And again to Imranj,
    Vernacular schools are not the root cause of the problem. Therefore, solving only ONE of the (supposed, though i beg to differ) cause is not going to do anything and anyone who proposes such solutions is nothing more than shallow.

If DAP/PR were to openly support such a shallow and misguided ‘solution’ then they would be nothing more than either silly or naive.

Again no one is against one school system and it would be great the day we can have one school system that is trusted and preferred by all rakyat. But that day has not yet arrived. And that day will not arrive until the REAL root cause is tackled. To FORCE vernacular schools to shutdown today, in the name of national unity is the same as all those other hollow half assed national unity programs : BTN and the RM500 million a year NS.

114. #115 by batuputeh on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:44 pm

Uncle Lim,

Why against it? It is irony coming from someone that fight against NEP, ketuanan to be against the same proposal that would also eliminate ONE of the cause for our racial divide. For sure works need to be done to realize the proposal & conforms the needs – but the idea is of the same principle.

My 6-yr old daughter attended a respected preschool in my neighborhood. It is both BM & English based, but also has specific class to teach mandarin or agama. It receive a very good responds as it enroll almost 300 kids a year. And it has a good mix of chinese, malay & indian kids.

But as my daughter will be enrolling in a nearby SK nx year, it is sad to see she’ll be separated w/ some of her friends that the parents had decided to go to vernacular schools instead. 1 – 2 years of fostering & friendship that were started b/ween them now is lost. Imagine if 6 more years of that would do.

That where i fail to see the the uproar seen here in this blog. If we as a parent can accept such preschool system – why cant we agree to work on a UNIFIED ONE SINGLE school system later on. This is a precursor to more unified system to come. Dont kid ourselves here. There is nothing better to nurture our BANGSA MALAYSIA vision than to start them young.

We failed to see this because we’re the product of the system that polarize us. We & our leader grew up in this system & are so embedded to our own racial divide that without realizing, is promoting more & more polarizing policies as we go along.

If we fail now to understand & tolerate each other, let us lay the foundation for future generation to have better understanding & tolerance to make the right policy in making Malaysia truly the land of BANGSA MALAYSIA.

115. #116 by w2008 on Thursday, 4 December 2008 - 11:49 pm

I hope you all do not do any experiments here.

If ONE EDUCATION SYSTEM based in Malay, this country Malaysia is dead and lose in the world.

Why? Can anyone tell me how books in the world avilable in Malays?

Please do not be a fool to lead your next generation to dead end, with an education based in Malay.

Are you trying to send this country to doom?

If it is based in English then we all can consider.

116. #117 by w2008 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 12:01 am

Please do not talk rubbish here.

BANGSA MALAYSIA have nothing to do with education.

BANGSA MALAYSIA is something to do with equality in all races.

Vernacular schools is something all Malaysian should be proud of .

117. #118 by batuputeh on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 1:27 am

w2008,

Do you realize BM is our NATIONAL LANGUAGE? what is left to that status if we ourselves refuse to uphold that in our education system for our young ones?
    Do you even consider yourself malaysian if you dont be proud of your national language? Do we see schools in france based in english? Or does the schools in China based on english? arent China’s economy expanding >10% annually? is that a doom? Common, not excuses about book.

i dont see how having education system in our OWN national language can be a doom. But, yes we are doomed if we are not unified & stood on a common ground. Foundation has to be built – and it starts w/ our young ones.

Irony that you mention equality, but reject another idea of having a common base. If you against NEP & all those principles, why then against the idea. The gist of that idea is having one system. If we find vernacular schools has some great qualities that all Malaysian should be proud of, then why dont we agree that combining all those good qualities into a single system that can be offered to all of our kids? How can that be any worse?

30 – 50 years down the road when our kids time come, i wonder if BANGSA MALAYSIA still means Malaysian’s Malays, Malaysian’s Chinese or Malaysian’s Indian – instead of just MALAYSIAN. So where do we start? Dont we all want we can do away w/ filling out ‘RACE’ column in forms because we are MALAYSIA?

118. #119 by jartze on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 4:12 am

Dear Batuputeh,

Your concepts are conflicting so much that you started to sound like UMNO. First you say we should unite as Malaysians, I totally agree! But under 1 schooling system (which teaches ONLY Malay), that I can’t agree! Yes, I am proud to be a Malaysian because ALL Malaysians can speak at least 2 languages! That is what always makes me proud, and stuns other people outside the country. But under the unified schooling system, we strengthen our Bahasa Malaysia (which I am very sorry to say, has very limited usage once you step out South East Asia). And then what? We gonna lose other languages (don’t lie, this gonna happens eventually, like Indonesia), which is losing our most valuable advantages as Malaysians.

There are many ways to unite the country, keep bringing out racist issues definitely won’t help. The fundamental thing that we should build for next generation is NOT one language system, it is the FAIR and EQUAL environment that does not base on race or skin color. So every child can live freely and get reward for what they have put effort into. They don’t have to suffer like us, who still have to fight for our basic human right and a chance to learn our mother language.

If you want to unite all Malaysians, you should treat all Malaysians EQUALLY! That is the first step! If you can’t even do that, you have no authority to talk about uniting all races. And please open your eyes and see the facts clear. China is successful not because of one language system, but because of FREE COMPETITION. They have that, we don’t!

119. #120 by ringthetill on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 4:21 am

Mukhriz is but a bloody racist still living in the past, qutoting the Razak Report which is dated 1956. Yes, 1956. Has he no better ideas? Bankrupt of some original ideas of his own? The more he is trying to wriggle his way out of this self made hole, the more he is showing his lack of true worth and quality!

120. #121 by w2008 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 12:01 pm

Cinta negare,

don’t talk c_ck here.

Your interest in bumi is oppress others races in Malaysia many forced being accepted unwillingly.

Vernacular schools is not forcing anyone or any race to accept/enter it.

121. #122 by ctm999 on Friday, 5 December 2008 - 2:25 pm

What is written in this article is not about the merit or demerit of Mukhriz’s proposal. What is written here is about violation of procedure of bringing up this subject matter.

No doubt that Mukhriz made this comment to further his own political career but his suggestions is not without merit. I have seen similar suggestions in the comments in Malaysia Today a few months ago. What need to be done is to work out the details to be fair to all.