Still no PAC report on Eurocopter inquiry – will Azmi emulate Indian Home Minister and resign?

On November 11, Public Accounts Committee (PAC) Chairman Datuk Seri Azmi Khalid had promised that the PAC report on its inquiry into the RM1.6 billion Eurocopter deal would be tabled in Parliament “in two or three days”.

How can Azmi’s interpretation of “two or three days” be so elastic as to stretch to three weeks, and there are still no signs of the PAC report on its inquiry into the Eurocopter deal although it is now close to 50 days since Azmi first made the public announcement that the PAC would investigate into three scandals which had shook Parliament and the country – the Eurocopter helicopter, Bank International Indonesia (BII) and the high speed broadband (HSBB) deals?

I had intended to table a motion to debate the PAC report on its inquiry into the Eurocopter deal with Parliament having to make the final decision whether to accept or reject the PAC report and recommendations, but this PAC report must be tabled in Parliament latest by Wednesday, 3rd December 2008 so that I could give the necessary 14-day notice required for a motion to be debated on the last parliamentary sitting of the current budget meeting on December 18.

It is useless for Azmi to table the PAC report on the Eurocopter inquiry after December 3 because it would not be possible for MPs to give the requisite notice to debate it as a specific motion.

Can Azmi table the PAC report on the Eurocopter inquiry latest by Wednesday on Dec. 3? What has happened to Azmi’s announcement that PAC would be investigating into the other two scandals – the BII and HSBB scandals?

What about the new scandals that have surfaced in the past weeks like the RM50 million financial scandals of Tourism Ministry’s Pempena Group of Companies?

It would appear that Parliament would have to launch an inquiry into the manner the PAC is inquiring or not inquiring into the various government financial scandals and Azmi’s leadership or absence of leadership as PAC Chairman.

Is Azmi prepared to emulate the example and culture of responsibility as illustrated by the Indian Home Minister, Shivraj Patil who resigned over the three-day terrorist rampage in Mumbai that killed around 180 people, including a Malaysian, for his dismal failure as PAC Chairman?

(Media Conference Statement in Parliament)

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 12:24 pm

Home Minister Syed Botak must also emulate the Indian Home Minister and resign for blaming Hindraf for terrorism when the rael terrorists were frollicking right under his nose
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Monday/National/20081201094643/Article/index_html

2. #2 by jus legitimum on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:09 pm

YB LKS,this very abhorrent state of affairs caused by inaction to deal with the string of scandals is aptly summed up by the chinese saying ‘bu liao liao tze’.In other words,everything will remain unresolved and will remain so and later forgotten.Why?Nobody is going to be arrested and prosecuted and shot to death like in China.So the plundering and squandering will continue.

3. #3 by The Enforcer on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:24 pm

Well, these GOONS think that the RAKYAT will forget after the lull and then things get swept under the carpet!
    Uncle YB Lim, please remind them that the RAKYAT is recording all wrong and evil deeds that were hiddened from US all these while and the backlash will be felt by these MORONS during latest GE 13!

4. #4 by AhPek on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:30 pm

“Is Azmi prepared to emulate the example and culture of responsibility as illustrated by the Indian Home Minister,Shivraj Patil who resigned over the 3-day rampage in Mumbai that killed around 180 people,including a malaysian,
    for his dismal failure as PAC Chairman?”. YB Kit.

Where got such thing in Bolehland one,YB? Asking a minister to resign, you joking or what?

5. #5 by Godfather on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:49 pm

Azmi is merely emulating his boss who promised in 2004 to bring about reform and transparency, and who is now on his way out. So what’s the fuss about “two or three” weeks instead of two or three days ? It might even be two or three years before we hear anything of this matter.

Sabar lah. Wait for the next elections.

6. #6 by wanderer on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 1:55 pm

Is’nt it very obvious, the man is playing a cat and mouse game with the Opposition in Parliament or, he is simply, incompetent. If that is the reason, why are we tax paying citizens need to put up with this
    rubbish. Integrity is defininately very lacking in the UMNO-BN administration.

7. #7 by Godfather on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 2:10 pm

Samshul Anuar & melurian have been retained by UMNO to investigate the “promise” made by Azmi to reveal all in “two or three days”. They have come to the conclusion that Kit heard wrongly. Azmi said that he will reveal all in two or three years. This is the official UMNO position.

8. #8 by frankyapp on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 2:39 pm

I told you guys before,Azmi is the tool of the PM Or DPM. Unless you are a kind of nut,the very tool you use will hit your hand.PM/DPM/UMNO warlords are no nuts.But on a more positive side,you guys would agree in bolehland our Azmi might be the very such tool which will hit the very hand/hands which picked it.Just keep on dreaming and hang on to it a little longer.

9. #9 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 3:16 pm

In the very beginning this Azmi guy is NOT fit to run PAC. The way he dilly dally shows that something is real fishy on the Eurocopter deal. Big fishes are involved in this deal. And big $$$$$ too. He is trying to cover these corrupted politicians and swept it under the carpet, hoping that the rakyat will forget about it as time goes on. He is the same by-product of our sleepy flip flop lame duck guy. Promised to do this and that. But in the end NOTHING gets done.
    Uncle Lim, please keep up the pressure on this Azmi bum.
    The rakyat is watching and waiting for this bum next move. Currently, he seem to have disappeared in thin air. Hope he will not get blasted to smitherrins like the Mongolian lady with C4. Once again, keep the pressure up on this bum.

10. #10 by Johorean on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 3:31 pm

I think we can forget about getting any truth from these so-called investigations. Just wait and you will know that they will announced no foul play and case close. On top of this Eurocopter deal…what about the Port Klang FTZ issue which Ong Tee Keat promised to reveal? After saying that, we still have not hear anything.

11. #11 by pohsoon on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 3:49 pm

Hmm.. Will PAC report presented in parliment before Wednesday? My vote 99% NO.

Will PAC chairman resigned over this incompetency? My vote 99.999% NO.

Base on all the previous incident as an indication, it had proved that we shall not take the BN government’s promised seriously. As far as that i can remember, it seems that most of the promise never been fulfiled, especialy the report of all sort of investigation. Most of the time, it seems to be just a tactic of delay and then let the issue cool off.

12. #12 by hadi on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 4:04 pm

YB Kit, this is what they call “delay tactics” buying time so that everyone will forget. It is rampant and widely employed in the government, an extension of UMNOPUTRA. You scratch my back, I scratch you and you cover me and I cover you. So this is what happen and they will laugh together at the golf course and decide to plan the next move how to make more money.
    Keep the pressure YB, some heads must roll and the rakyat will not forget and they can’t simply ignore, pretending and get away from it.
    Ex Defense minister, Chief of Airforce and Ministry KSU, either one of them must take the responsibility for trying to cheat and shirking their duties in matters relating to national security and Malaysia is the laughing stock of our immediate neighbors. How can we trust these people who are irresponsible and incompetence in defending our national interest especially the security of the country and rakyat.
    This is what happen when the nation is run by mediocre and filled with personal agenda.
    Keep chasing them YB don’t let them take the people for granted.
    And if they think they can take the opposition for a free ride, the masses will not allow it.

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 5:58 pm

“How can Azmi’s interpretation of “two or three days” be so elastic as to stretch to three weeks, and there are still no signs of the PAC report…” KIT

It is not easy because they are not reporting on the facts but the ‘truth’ and the ‘truth’ needs thinking through! There are consequences.

14. #14 by sinnerconman on Monday, 1 December 2008 - 11:17 pm

Azmi Khalid is suffering from erectile dysfunction and he is not able to satisfy his young and hot wife and so he has to keep monitoring every step of her movement. He just does not have time to submit the PAC report to the parliament. At the same time he is hoping for .AJIT to upgrade him to the Cabinet so that he can show his trophy wife and leave her for .AJIT to ravish her. Kit you must be crazy to demand for the PAC report which could have been C4ed and mutual exchange i.e. trophy for cabinet, benefits each other. Let the people gossip and .AJIT is specialized in denying and swearing in his so call holy book. The only way to clean the g0vernment is to vote for PR in the next election, hopefully in a snap election.

15. #15 by taiking on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:01 am

Strange isnt it? Billion dollar scandal and investigation completed in a matter of days. But reporting on investigation is taking ages.

I dont have a PhD and I am a product of umno’s (-)meritocracy system. So I dont understand and cannot understand what is happening.

In fact all of us are stupid and so we should really keep quiet. Only melurian can understand. And he should not take the trouble to explain to us because we are too stupid.

My intelligence is low. My knowledge is limited to this: The scandal is about some overpriced helicopters purchased by the air force during najib’s time in office.

16. #16 by lee wee tak_ on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 9:08 am

Never before in the Malaysian politics that a minister resigned for reason of incompetency. Will there be a history maker? Will elephants meow? Will cats bark?

Our military spending do not reflect our military needs. Cougar is an attacking chopper. If we are having mass of tanks charging up our land then find, we need this chopper to unleash missiles but since RMAF is mainly involved, and should be involved, in search and rescue, mercy flight, well maintained but aging Chinook, Huey, Nuri should be adequate.

We have many pirates running around and submarines are designed to carry nuclear warship for strategic purposes. We should get high speed frigates or corvette instead. Heck, even a retired diesel escort carrier capable of carrying 5 choppers armed with machine guns and air to surface missiles is more relevant to our needs – answering distress calls and dispatching choppers to the rescue in Selat Melaka.

MIG-29 is a high performance air superiority fighter, meaning that we envisage getting into a war with a country that has a superior air force and we need to overcome their air force before sending in our infantry….er Najib, who are we invading? 5 1960’s F-4 Phantons of the 1960’s era would do fine in a Merdeka Day parade.

Better use the money for the sick, poor, needy and suffering.

17. #17 by jamestjc on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:32 am

Guess UMNO/BN/Badawi/Najib/Syed Hamid and team need more time to coverup their loopholes and twist the stories again

18. #18 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 2 December 2008 - 11:39 am

Except for Zaid, no UMNO leaders had ever taken responsibility and resigned for their lack of accountability since 1957.

In Malaysia, to quote Syed Hamid, we do things “our way” and that includes how UMNO defines “taking responsibility”. Their definition is simply “no responsibility” and if you, the rakyat ,is not happy with it, just too bad and if you are non Muslim, you are pendatangs and can go back to where your ancestors come from. The “tuans” do not need to be answerable to you.

The report must be damning and there is a mad scramble going on to window dress it. But when you have eight lids trying to cover ten dustbins it is difficult to control the stink getting out.

But what I still cannot understand is why the Deputy Chairman of the PAC, Dr Tan Seng Giaw, who is from the DAP, remaining silent on this issue. Is he in agreement with Azmi or he is marginalized from all PAC issues and does not have a clue what is going on? He must bear equal responsibility for making this report transparent to the public.

19. #19 by kenghuei on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 11:02 am

Uncle Lim, I think like you pointed out before, the PAC chairperson seems to be making unilaterial decision on the findings, that was why he needs to table the report in Parliament which are endorsed by all PAC members. Still, I think Dr Tan must exert his authority as deputy chairperson on this issue. Best still, the PAC chairperson should in fact be from the Opposition bench.
    Azmi has failed to honour his commitment of 2-3 days, he is proven a leader with no integrity and poor time management.

20. #20 by AhPek on Wednesday, 3 December 2008 - 11:05 pm

‘Better use the money for the sick,poor,needy and suffering.’. lee wee tak_

Like that ah I rugi lah,where got commission one?

21. #21 by Citizen Smith on Friday, 19 December 2008 - 12:59 pm

Why no response to whitewash that was the PAC report on the Nuri replacement? What do the DAP members of the Commission have to say for themselves? What is their report?