Will Abdullah again be humiliated at Umno Supreme Council meeting tonight?

Will the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi again be humiliated at the Umno Supreme Council meeting tonight or will he able to redeem dignity of his office after repeated battering in the past few months?

Abdullah will again be humiliated if the Umno Supreme Council ends tonight with a final modification of his original mid-2010 power transition plan, shortening it from June 2010 to March 2009 and then to December this year!

The mounting call led by Umno Vice President and Minister for International Trade and Industry, Tan Sri Muhyideen Yassin, and the Umno eminence grise Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad that the Umno party elections revert back from March next year to December is a subtle subterfuge to shorten Abdullah’s remaining five months as Prime Minister by another three months.

Will Abdullah be able to fob off the latest attempt in Umno to shorten his premiership and even to redeem the dignity of his office by getting full endorsement by the entire Umno leadership for meaningful reforms on the judiciary, police force and anti-corruption before he steps down as Prime Minister?

In his latest interview televised on CNBC last night, when asked about his agenda for reforms and what he could possibly do over the next five months, Abdullah said: “I wanted to reform; people liked the idea of reform. I was not just responding to them because they needed reform.”

The New Straits Times report on Abdullah’s CNBC interview continued:

The prime minister said that he too certainly thought that the country’s judiciary, police force and Anti-Corruption Agency needed reforms.

“I was not able to do it for the first four years (while in power).

“I was able to do it only after we had already been returned to power after the last election.

“So I want this reform in place and I can do it. Even in five months.”

If Abdullah is required to shorten his premiership further by retiring in December, that will be the end of his final fling with reforms.

Even if he is allowed five months before going into the political sunset, very few believe that Abdullah is capable of implementing in a meaningful manner the three reform measures which he had failed to accomplish in the past five years.

Can Abdullah secure full endorsement from the Umno Supreme Council tonight and the Cabinet on Wednesday for meaningful reforms for the judiciary, the police force and anti-corruption in the next five months – as no one, whether in the Umno top leadership and in the Cabinet, seemed really committed or even interested in ensuring meaningful reforms in these three areas, in particular the establishment of the long-delayed and much-maligned Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service.

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:07 pm

He was not able to do it for the first four years (while in power) because ____
    A. He was busy chasing after his elusive bride-to-be
    B. He was holidaying overseas 2 weeks out of every month
    C. He was happily snoozing when he should be working
    D. He was busy currying favour from the umno warlords

2. #2 by Loh on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:28 pm

The Cabinet and the supreme council will agree to what AAB proposes, but the reforms will not be effected before AAB leaves office, whether it is March 2009, or even June 2009. The new PM will reform the reforms, and we are back to square one.

AAB did not require the 308 election to tell him that the reforms were needed, and he could not honestly say that he did not know what the people want, though he meant as much with the statement. When he was returned unopposed as the President of UMNO, three years ago, about the time the reports on IPCMC had just been completed, he could have easily implemented all the 125 recommendations, against the opposition of UMNO Youth Chief. The 308 results would have been different, and some of those who oppose him now might not be around if the Police had attained the professional level, three years into IPCMC reform. He will not have to Gimme three months more (TDM’s words).

3. #3 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:41 pm

Geez… First it was 2010, then Mar 2009, now Dec 2008.

Kick the id1ots and bugger off… once and for all. No dilly dally. I cannot stand the “almost b4puk” look on the Id1ots face anymore.

Jib wants the top post? Muh-Din wants the second posts…. so be it.

Get it over and done with… in the mean time, will the PR just take over the fcuk’ ng fed gov? Those r3tads can slug it out later as opposition.

‘Nuff said

4. #4 by Damocles on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:47 pm

Uncle Lim, there will be reforms, but only when PR is holding the reigns of the government.
    So, folks, if you want reforms for a fair and just government, just give your votes to the PR!

5. #5 by monsterball on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:48 pm

MCA…Oh Kwei Tow and brother…GONE!!
    Ling Dynasty gone.
    There is hope…..MCA will pull out..or hundreds active members..resign.
    What did Dollah said..”UMNO never bully”..???
    Why this biggest low class liar is actually worst than Samy Vellu.
    Samy may at least boastfully say…to Indians…”It’s God’s will…that we accept UMNO as our master. We have food..no Indians are hungry. Why are you complaining?”
    Dollah…you say??
    I don’t think the Supreme council will humiliate him. They have an art..to humiliate…achieve the result..which they got..then unite to sort of give him face…protecting each other.
    After all…none of the Supreme Council members are saints.
    For… dirty politics..leave it to UMNO. they are the best.

6. #6 by merdeka on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:51 pm

Abdullah humiliated again !!! This is not the 1st time & will not be last….so why bother….since he himself don’t care. BAPA REFORMASI !!!!! HAHAHAHA!!!!!!

7. #7 by wesuffer on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:53 pm

Abdullah Great archievement in 5 years adminstration as PM

1) increase petrol from 1.42 to rm 2.70/litre
    2) successful tackled and marry jeanne within a year
    3) can fall sleep at anytime anywhere
    4) lose 5 Richer state to PR
    5) crime increasing
    6) food never decrease but keep increase
    7) promised reform but 5 years not enough
    8) fail to control and let his destroyer “semi value” to increase all toll

8. #8 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:27 pm

His not just being senile but denial syndrome…

Denying the truth infront whole cruise of members of MCA lol!

I was amazed by datuk OKT speech regarding ISA’d/Race/bully/dominate issues etc…

Sadly after the assembly, the tv interviews regarding ISA’d issue raised by OKT in the hall was being totally ignored and OKT can do nothing about it but sit quietly and listen side by side.

Seriously what is going to be the fate of our children as future nation if the UMNO leaders keep ignoring MCA/Gerakan/Mic?

Are they playing relevant role in the party as Liberal democracy and its constitution?

9. #9 by pathfinder on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:30 pm

At least have the cow sense to leave the petrol price to RM1.95 per liter la. Bodoh! Everytime need the rakyat to …then only take action. What kind of leader are you.
    On the bullying. Yeah of course it is not bullying. The rights of Malays is enshrined in the Constitution and agreed by MCA, MIC and all the other BN parties, the social contract allows for UNMoputras to be tuans. That leaves all non-UNMO members as slaves…..er..too bad if you call that bullying. So MCA, Gerakan,MIC…and all the BN component parties must respect the social contract and be a Malaysian slaves forever…..

10. #10 by Jan on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:45 pm

For a non performer like Badawi even if he gets humilated I’ll say padan muka. I have absolutely no sympathies whatsoever for him.

11. #11 by yuking on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:55 pm

I am currently in one of the top UK universities. Here, we have arguably some of the best minds from the younger generation of Malaysia; many of the top scorers from all over converge here.

Every year, around 40 of us enter the university, as undergraduates or postgraduates, and every year, around the same number graduate.

So how many actually go back to Malaysia to contribute their talent to the country? Safe to say, not more than 10 percent of the whole lot. Why? Because quite a number us are disenchanted by the system.

For those who have worked their guts out under the public education system, they just want to get out. This is especially true for those from lower and middle-income families who have to struggle beyond all odds, just because they are not ‘special’ punished by the system not because of their abilities, but because of their skin color.

Prospects for them to explore their potentials here in the UK after graduation are unhindered by any discriminatory systems.

What about the rest of the younger generation who are not so lucky? Many above-average Malaysian students are denied proper local tertiary education and end up being picked by universities from our neighbouring country.

Hundreds of talented students are there because they were not given the proper opportunity at home. After graduating, most of them have to work in that foreign country for a couple of years and chances are that a great portion of them will not be coming back.

I have talked to a close friend from in a similar situation recently and he told to me that it is very depressing; in his own words, he said that he feels – “like a destitute, unwanted by his own country” and yet he does not really feel as though he belongs where he is now.

Brain drain by the tank-loads is what we get. Every single year, Malaysia loses people who could potentially contribute to the country immensely.

12. #12 by kftang on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

PM AAB should show to those who want to oust him earlier than scheduled that he is made of sterner stuff, once and for all. Show who is boss and sack those who undermine or insubordinate him in the party! Enough is enough. There’s nothing to lose now.

13. #13 by abunsui on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 6:26 pm

Will Abdullah again be humiliated at Umno Supreme Council meeting tonight?

YES !

Abdullah may step down SOONEST and let the AGONG decide who will be Next PM as “he” did in Terengganu.

PM candidates :
    1. DSAI
    2. Najib
    3. Hadi Awang
    4. Kit Siang (Possible???) only miracle determine!!
    5. Ong Tee Keat
    6. Samy Vallu

The PMship goes to…….?????

14. #14 by ctc537 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 6:42 pm

He has been humiliated recently. He has only himself to blame for the situations he is in today.
    As a Chinese saying goes, ‘the longer the night, the more dreams (or nightmares) there will be’. So, it is little wonder why TDM and Tan Sri M and many others want AAB to leave the scene earlier.

15. #15 by kosmoalpha on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 7:08 pm

mahathir believes he would be able to grab tight over najis’ n muhyiddin’s balls by holding tracks on these two past records,particular those deeds that could only made known among themselves,that would mean he could be back on the throne behind the veil….build , erect n clear path for his son to be on track a the PM in line but time is not to his side;hence he needs it fast!5 months is even too long for him!
    for the nation?for the race?or even for the people???those are jus bunch of bulls to hoodwink their ‘intended political slaves’,the grassroot n their own race to made the kills on their behalf!this is only then umno.

16. #16 by chengho on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 7:13 pm

uncle,

you all Pakatan people only talk no action , look at the states rule by Pakatan not much change as promises in the pru manifesto??

17. #17 by ktteokt on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 7:58 pm

As I have said again and again, to have someone in a “superior” position, there must be some willing party who acknowledges himself as “inferior”. Superiority is but a comparative term. If no one allows these “superiors” to remain superior, then how can they be SUPERIOR?????? And it is not other than these BN component parties who have “spoilt” these UMNO idiots with this CRAZY SUPERIORITY CONCEPT!!!!

18. #18 by pangwl88 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 8:01 pm

OK. I AM VERY SORRY. I KNOW THIS IS NOT RELATED. BUT IT IS GOOD READING AND I THINK EVERY MALAYSIAN NEEDS TO KNOW.

19. #19 by wanderer on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 8:16 pm

All just ‘hot air’ with no substance and definitely no further actions.
    Abdullah’s skin has grown so thick that even Najib’s keris will not damage it. Expect nothing from him so you will not be disappointed.

20. #20 by luking on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 8:17 pm

Not unexpected that he would be asked to leave immediately.Big m cannot wait as time is not on his side.5 mths is a bonus and crusual to him to see that small m reach his goal for an old man.Lets c the fight after aab leaves.
    i guess both N and Mdin wants to stay on as pm for at least 22yrs each,total 44yrs.will big/small m allows that??

21. #21 by katdog on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 8:26 pm

“you all Pakatan people only talk no action , look at the states rule by Pakatan not much change as promises in the pru manifesto??” -chengho Says

Chengho, my advise to you is to bring the issue up to your state’s CM. Hold your state leaders accountable for your states needs.

LKS is a federal level MP. His job is to work on higher level policies and strategies. Unfortunately i haven’t seen much of that for the past 7 months. I sure hope its because he’s still busy completing the ‘master’ plan and can’t reveal it yet.

22. #22 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 9:13 pm

Humiliation is a strong word; rather a change that is inevitable and needs to be hastened is a foregone conclusion. AAB is weak, this everyone accepts within BN, but it is a blow for Pakatan who continue to support AAB, because they know that with him as PM, they have a better chance of retaining their successes and garnering more support :^)

23. #23 by human1 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 9:26 pm

His own cabinet members are already giving it to him, left and right. Nothing uncommon, betrayal has always been the culture of UMNO. They all know Abdullah is unable to do anything with them coming out boldly.

Sack them, say you. That will only arouse the grassroots.

24. #24 by katdog on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 11:13 pm

Its not betrayal. Its survival of the strongest. The weak deserve nothing and will be only fodder for the strong to feed on. Such is the culture of UMNO.

AAB from the beginning was a weakling who had no real political power. As can be seen by various acts of defiance by the smaller local warlords, these UMNO men needs someone strong and ruthless like Dr. M to reign them in and keep them under control.

As such, one can expect no true reform from UMNO. When power, strength and obedience is the primary philosophy of the party, can we expect fairness, accountability and responsibility from them? What can we hope to expect from a party that believes “might makes right” and “the end justifies the means”? Philosophies that Dr. M has practiced often for over 20 years and for which he continues to advocate.

25. #25 by monsterball on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 11:13 pm

Few are impressed with OKT..”Or Kwei Tow” last speech as MCA President……without realizing…spoken too late….spoken to hit Dollah….blaming for his downfall….spoken to help his brother{before MCA election}….and least of all…spoken to please Malaysian Chinese…as MCA never got their race support. He knows it ..too well. It was always the UMNO members…putting them….where they are for UMNO to play with.
    Best was Dollah’s response to his lap dog….trying to be naughty to the master.
    Go…think….why Oh Kwei Tow…..doggy of Ling.. speaks now?
    Why not…. years ago?
    MCA pulling out?….Go where?
    Members who have principles in life….should resign now..and stop behaving loyal to party.
    Please be loyal to a united Malaysia for Malaysians.
    Only way…..vote BN out.

26. #26 by Johnny Cheah on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 11:26 pm

AAB should call for a snap election. Names of candidates will be submitted to him for his approval to stand as candidate in the snap election. He knows who in UMNO is against him and now he can pay them back by omitting their names to stand as a candidate in the snap election. When he have done this, those guys from UMNO will crawl back to him and try to polish his balls. He have nothing to lose but plenty to gain. Those from UMNO who are against him will immediately feel the effect. With this strategy, ministers, deputy ministers, parliamentary secretaries and the whole lot of them will have no more position in the UMNO/BN government. As is well known, in politic if you are a person without any position in government, then you are dead and gone. The end winner could be Badawi. If I were in his present position, I will definitely do this.

27. #27 by Mark Foo on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 12:36 am

Come Guys ..the thing is Abdullah is ok …its Najib that I dont like ….I wonder if he still out for a killing spree……..The Murder Of Atlantuya …….
    I am even afraid for RPK…2 years man……I dont think I can still remember…poor guy…I have to pray for him……..

28. #28 by adam123 on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 1:58 am

YB Kit

I hope you will raise a motion to discuss the issue of RM5billions of our tax payers money in supporting so called “value cap” companies! We have our EPF, Khazanah and other PNB, ASN, etc funds used to prop up the various Government-Linked and distressed cronies companies shares. Where is basis? control? transparency? justification?

29. #29 by adam123 on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 2:05 am

Pretty sure Pak Lah will be humiliated. Even his party has no respect for him. I have never felt so embarassed as a Malaysian and feel pity for our PM who has become a laughing stock in the eyes of all Malaysians and all over the world. He has no sense of justice, fairness, integrity, compassion and his hypocrisy makes his Islam Hadhari a mockery.

30. #30 by Godfather on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 6:53 am

The UMNO Supreme Council discussed how to rejuvenate the party, in particular how to tackle money politics. To do that, they took the recommendations of a 3-person secretariat that included Idris “Monsoon Cup” Jusoh and Azalina “Sports Complex” Othman. That’s good news for the rest of us, for the recommendations would surely be on how not to get caught.

Hidup UMNO !

31. #31 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 8:57 am

That’s right Yuking~
    Everyone wants to leave this crap hole called Malaysia. Similarly, I went out of Malaysia very soon after SPM. Not worth wasting my time working like mad there to feed the blood suckers.
    I would rather contribute to some other country which provides me with much better facilities and opportunities even if I have to work my butt off.

32. #32 by lbl on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 - 8:25 am

We are judged by our actions and not just words. So far our PM has just given us his words only.