Challenge to MCA/Gerakan MPs – support parliamentary debate on ISA review

DAP MP for Seputeh and Selangor Senior Exco, Teresa Kok Suh Sim has given notice to move a motion deploring the Internal Security Act (ISA) detention of Sin Chew senior reporter Tan Hoon Cheng, blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin and herself last month and to call for the repeal of the draconian and undemocratic detention-without-trial law.

Teresa’s motion on the ISA is listed No. 41 on today’s Order Paper. Together with 33 other private member’s motion, Teresa’s ISA motion would not have a chance to see the light of day and being debated in Parliament unless the Barisan Nasional government agrees to amend the Order Paper to give it priority over all other parliamentary business.

Yesterday, the MCA’s 55th annual general assembly adopted a resolution urging the Government to review the Internal Security Act and establish a check and balance system to ensure that it strictly applies to terrorism and cases with subversive elements.

A week ago, the Gerakan’s 37th national delegates conference passed the resolution calling for the repeal of the ISA and the introduction of an anti-terrorism law in accordance with a proposal by the Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam).

The main burden of the speech by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in his capacity as Barisan Nasional (BN) Chairman at his last outing at the MCA general assembly on Saturday was to scoff at suggestions that Umno is the domineering partner in BN and to deny that UMNO is a “bully” vis-à-vis other parties in BN.

However, Abdullah’s denial totally lacked credibility not only from the rich catalogue of past instances of Umno as “bully in BN”, but in the summary and cavalier manner in which he rejected the MCA call for review of the ISA – stating categorically that there are no plans to review the ISA.

Are the other BN component parties “equal partners” in BN, or are they just supplicants or “beggars” to quote former Gerakan President, Tun Dr. Lim Keng Yaik after his retirement from politics to describe the relationship of the other BN component parties to UMNO after his retirement from politics?

If “power sharing” among the BN component parties is meaningful and genuine, and not just empty talk, then the considered proposals of the BN component parties, particularly resolutions adopted at their respective annual conferences, should be given serious consideration by the government-of-the-day.

If resolutions adopted at Umno general assemblies are virtually adopted as government policy of the day, while resolutions of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and the BN Sabah and Sarawak component parties are completely ignored and dismissed with contempt, how can Umno claim that it is not “domineering” and not a “bully in BN”?

As both the MCA and Gerakan national conferences have adopted resolutions calling for the review and even repeal of the ISA, this has become a test of whether power sharing in BN continues to be a farce, Umno continues with its domineering and bully ways in BN while MCA and Gerakan continue as supplicants and beggars – or whether the BN coalition is to be reconstituted on a more equitable basis to reflect a meaningful power-sharing concept.

If MCA and Gerakan MPs (including Ministers/Deputy Ministers) dare not support a parliamentary debate on review of ISA, what is the use of MCA and Gerakan passing resolutions on ISA in their national conferences?

I am raising this point as I am calling on all MPs, whether Pakatan Rakyat or Barisan Nasional, to support a joint call to the Prime Minister to give government consent to move Teresa’s ISA motion from No. 41 to the very top of the parliamentary business, so that it could be debated in Parliament.

Abdullah should not usurp the powers of Parliament and allow Parliament to decide whether there should be a review and repeal of ISA, especially in view of the resolutions passed by both MCA and Gerakan annual conferences making the very same call.

I have no doubt that the majority of the 13-party BN coalition would support the review and repeal of the ISA.

In fact, if a vote is taken in the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council on whether to review and repeal the ISA, allowing each component party to vote according to its mandate given by its national congress, the outcome could be 12-1 or 11-2 in favour of review and repeal.

Isn’t Umno behaving like the “big bully in BN ” in refusing to consider review and repeal of ISA when Umno is outnumbered by 12-1 or 11-2 in BN on this important question about human rights and democracy in Malaysia?

Furthermore, the call for the abolition of ISA has the support of the civil society as demonstrated by the endorsement of 363 organisations for the mass petition to repeal the ISA in a ceremony in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

The “Free MP Teresa Kok” parliamentary caucus will meet tomorrow and I will suggest that the caucus, apart from broadening the scope of its terms of reference to work for the repeal of the ISA as Teresa has been released after a eight-day ISA stint, endorse the campaign to get all MPs genuinely concerned about ISA and shocked by the gross abuses of the draconian law to sign a joint petition to the Prime Minister to bring up Teresa’s ISA motion so that it could be debated when Parliament reconvenes after the Deepavali holidays on Oct. 29.

This would be particularly significant as a debate on Teresa’s ISA motion on Oct. 29 could serve as Parliament marking the 21st anniversary of the infamous Operation Lalang in 1987 when four MPs at the time and who are still in Parliament were among 106 persons detained arbitrarily under the ISA – namely Karpal Singh, Dr. Tan Seng Giaw, Lim Guan Eng and myself.

1. #1 by merdeka on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 11:46 am

MCA & GERAKAN dare not go against UMNO. Why have another Deputy PM position held by MCA when all this while MCA President sitted next to PM in all BN meetings dare not raise his voice. NONSENSE !!!!!

2. #2 by ch on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 12:21 pm

Dear All,

The current power transition period from Abdullah to Najib had clearly demonstrated to us that the latter will do whatever he can to wrest back the lost of favour of UMNO to Pakatan Rakyat. I was informed that a full list of “to dos” has been worked out by his supporters in order to regain the confidence of the Malays towards UMNO. This “to do” list has clearly outlined the spirit of “Ketuanan Melayu” and the upholding of Article 153 of the Constituition. The newly installed regime of MCA has an uphill task to convince UMNO to move the opposite direction i.e. to endorse “Ketuanan Rakyat” or be fairer to the rest of component parties. Most BN component parties had been whipped into submission during Mahathir’s era and it was unfortunate that they became slightly vocal after the “308” debacle. UMNO has been so used to working with pliant MCA, MIC or Gerakan and it would take a lot of courage for the current leaders of BN component parties to stand up to the likes of Najib, Muhyiddin, Syed Hamid or even Sharir Abdul Samad. Sharir was quoted saying that there is no point in having another additional post of BN Deputy Chairmanship.

We hear no ramblings or grumbles from the newly installed MCA regime despite after their delegates went rattling the UMNO cage with a few downright comical demands. MCA leaders appear drifted away from reality and pragmaticism in their debates as none of their demands will be entertained. UMNO warlords will use the opportunity to unite the Malays with the rhetorical slogan that a weak UMNO will present a weaker Malay race. It has been played as old broken records for many years now. Do you really think that this will change overnight with Tee Keat and Soi Lek helming MCA? Kim Sai was rather a fighter in his younger days but he is more pliant today than he was then.

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin summed it up clearly with the statement which appeared on yesterday’s New Sunday Times that he commented if they attend meetings and choose to be quiet, nothing much can be done for their race. Was this statement clearly defines to us that MCA, MIC and Gerakan had been downright apologetical all these while. The wake up call came only after “308” debacle as they felt the rest of the races are moving away from them and started endorsing Pakatan Rakyat. Should the “308” tsunami didn’t take place, MCA, MIC and Gerakan will continue to obsessed themselves with power, fame, grace and false accolades. The most vocal of them all, Gerakan had also stop-short in pulling themselves out of BN. UMNO leaders continue to barrage Tan Lian Hoe and demanded an apology. She is now probably nervously stringing up the correct sentences and words for the reply. She should came outright defended and stand by her views if she has the gall and audacity standing up against UMNO. It is very unfortunate to note that she has yet to embrace such vigour and vitality. It is sad but this is the true state of affairs being presented to us.

Be that as it may, I do strongly advocate the spirit of sharing and open mindedness in order to continue living in harmony in plural society, Malaysia. The only thing is that it does appear to many Malaysians, particularly the non-Malays that they have been severely short-changed over the years by UMNO. The situation further exacerbated as Pakatan Rakyat cleverly took advantage of the given scenario and led the non-Malays that they are indeed short-changed. MCA, MIC and Gerakan came to terms with this reality but the hard fact remains i.e. UMNO has been so comfortable with pliant surbodinates.

Changing this actual scenario in BN is not just merely a few statements showing that the party (MCA, MIC and Gerakan) is now more vocal than they were before. Several pertinent questions have to be clearly answered i.e. will UMNO leaders accomodate such requests? how would MCA, MIC and Gerakan leaders react when their demands are being chuck out from further consideration? what if UMNO leaders strongly believe that years of testing and research have shown to them quite conclusively that BN runs better and more smoothly when other component parties are controlled by them? Have MCA, MIC and Gerakan leaders possess the answers and the blue-print as to the next step going forward?

The answers had been quite clearly answered by Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

3. #3 by aliew on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 12:44 pm

Now that MCA is rid of the “Old Ong Sdn Bhd”, we look forward to one new Ong to walk his talk.

Btw, MCA call for a DPM post is a joke and nonsense.
    What is the use of a post when your voice is not heard.
    Akin to a puppet DPM, isnt it?

MCA should call for a PM and DPM nationwide election..
    Perhaps is time to revamp the way we Malaysian choose our PM and DPM. It should not be decided by one party, but by us, Malaysian!

4. #4 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 12:50 pm

For MCA/MIC/Gerakan,whoever won in the recent elections, the rakyat especially the chinese DONT NOT give a damn anymore.
    You guys are irrelevant and goners as long as you work with the Umnoputras.
    You guys really got the cheek to ask for a DPM from these evil bums in Umno. Get real man and wake up la. Do not be like our sleepy flipflop lame duck guy. If you bums persist, you will be like him.
    I bet my last dollars, NOBODY i repeat NOBODY is interested listening whatever you guys blurp. DPM post, my foot.
    To me just talk big but no teeth la. Some may be conned by your talk, but majority are no fools anymore.

5. #5 by Mr Smith on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 12:59 pm

MCA is trying to project a mancho image to win back Chinese support. Its all going to be talk and talk. When it comes concrete action it will chicken out as it has happened all these years.
    MCA will never support this motion.
    Kit will have expose this party as a paper tiger so that community will not be deceived.

6. #6 by OrangRojak on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 1:01 pm

What’s an Order Paper? And why won’t this motion see the light of day?
    Oh ok, like this, maybe?

http://www.parliament.gov.sg/AboutUs/Sitting.htm

Is there any control over priority? Is it the same in the sg link, will the motion be carried over to tomorrow’s Order Paper, responded to in writing, or just forgotten? It would be very helpful to have some resources online to give a clearer picture of the machinery of Malaysia’s parliament.

I see the Order Paper you refer to at:

http://www.parlimen.gov.my/opindexbi/pdf/OPDR 20.10.2008 2008.pdf

But why was Teresa Kok’s ISA motion added so far down the list? It appears she has several motions in the Order Paper, higher up in the list.

The one that caught my eye was this one:

19. PR-1213-L15474
    Tuan Gwo-Burne Loh [ Kelana Jaya ] to ask the MINISTER OF
    FOREIGN AFFAIRS to state the Government’s stance on the
    ratification of the convention of United Nations and whether the
    Government intends to ratify as a member country and the Human
    Rights Council.

I would be interested to read the reply to that one! I notice there are no recent English translations of the Hansard. Is that policy? I thought I’d read something about English and proceedings of government in the Constitution … no quite wrong … Article 152 doesn’t mention proceedings. I never see anybody using English in parliament – is that by polite convention, or did ‘Parliament provide otherwise’?

Only asking, just want to upgrade my ignorance!

7. #7 by k1980 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 1:17 pm

Gerakan’s Koh TK & MCA’s Chua SL are busy begging umno to appoint them as senators. So how can they be expected to support the parliamentary debate on ISA review?

8. #8 by 318 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 1:33 pm

mca for mca members only most of the chineses don’t expect much changes on the new running dogs team why to has a dpm from other bn party just makan gaji buta tak tahu kerja so to those mca please don’t use the majority chinese when talking to the press use only mca chinese

9. #9 by taiking on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 1:34 pm

Asking umno to abolish isa is like chopping off umno’s legs. Never mind whether umno would listen, do you guys think mca & gerakan dare to do it?

10. #10 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 1:45 pm

To the rest, it may seems that the “Dogs on Leash” component parties are being more vocal and demanding more equality from their master (Erm-No), but to Erm-No’s ears it sounds like this:

“Bark bark woof woof bark bark woof woof!”

Dogs on Leash components parties are barking.

Erm-No’s accommodating their subservient pet dogs request? I think pigs can fly stands a better chance of happening…

11. #11 by frankyapp on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 1:47 pm

My dear New MCA Leaders. Happy to see,you now dare to dream .Let’s see,the first dream is the end of ISA. How about a bigger dream to have a chinese finiance minister or better dream a second prime minister. Before daring to dream of bigger things,why not first tell UMNO to stop bullying you and others. Just day dreaming is no use. We want you to walk the talk,ok guys.

12. #12 by pathfinder on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 1:47 pm

Yes la, talk cock la OKT and KTK. Review the ISA my foot. I think both of you don’t have the BALLS. Ooi! OKT, why you tell those bullies the wishy washy way. Tell them directly in their face that they are a big bully. And don’t sound like a nerd and say, sorry, you don’t mean this and that. Don’t need to appeal to them too. If they don’t like it MCA will just pack your bag and leave BN. Many chinese will return to support MCA.
    Of course that sleepy idiot will deny it. Their PARTY will claim that it is part of the social contract and all these are rubbish. Yes rubbish. This rubbish is seen to be created by MCA and Gerakan. So both of you must put this rubbish where it belongs.

13. #13 by Emily Pratt on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 2:02 pm

So the Mr Speaker of Dewan Rakyat Malaysia has rejected a motion on the ban of Hindraf by Ipoh Barat.

Shame on your Mr Speaker. You are showing the rest of M’sia your partiality.

I wonder how question #41 (A question by Seputeh) on today’s paper will go? Nevermind… I already know the answer.

It will go something like this: “Pihak KDN belum ada pelan untuk memansuhkan Akta Keselamatan Dalam Negeri buat masa ini”

14. #14 by k1980 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 2:06 pm

Why not a single sigh for the latest ISA detainee, arrested for alleged false reporting?

15. #15 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 2:14 pm

MCA/Gerakan are NOT Pakatan puppets and will NOT dance to their tunes. They share little of values with the fast becoming desperate opposition.

16. #16 by kftang on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 2:16 pm

Time to walk the talk for MCA, MIC and Gerakan MPs to lend support for Teresa’s motion in Parliament on the ISA detentions of Sin Chew senior journalist Tan Hoon Cheng, blogger RPK and YB Kok herself. It’s left to be seen if they dare to risk the ire of ‘big brother’ UMNO which is seen to be their ‘bully’ by supporting the said motion. They have to prove beyond themselves not just by talking big only but act bravely to justify their worth. The ball is at their feet, so to speak!

17. #17 by Thinking Two on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 2:21 pm

Yes. Not to be decided by one party but by all malaysian.

18. #18 by khch01 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 2:29 pm

UMNO is ” bully” . Why did Ong said it and denied it later. Weren’t MCA and other ordinary folk felt UMNO bullying tactics. Probably the word “umno” meant “bully” have been used before amongst some groups of people. “Please don’t talk like umno lah”, “Please don’t act like umno lah.” What does that actually mean ?

19. #19 by lim chui choo on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 3:03 pm

It will be an awakening for the new MCA line- up and Gerakan to support Theresa Kok ‘s ISA Motion and also to argue for their relevance after the 8 March political sunami. If these component parties in the Barisan National government cannot even walk the talk of what their delegates have resolved at their annual general assembly to review ISA and in Gerakan’s national delegates’ conference to repeal ISA, it will be a hard sell to convince anyone they are not being cowed and “bullied” by UMNO. It will be ludicrous to talk of asking for the DPM post when over a dragonian act such as the ISA which subverts basic human rights the voice of MCA and Gerakan cannot be heard to support a motion to debate an issue of public concern and import in parliament.

20. #20 by kluangman on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 3:10 pm

MCA dan Gerakan merapatkan bayang mereka kepada DAP dan Pembangkang untuk dilihat memperjuangkan hak kaum China tetapi hati dan cinta mereka (baca:tamak dan haloba mereka) masih untuk bersama BN.

Untuk sementara, ‘wayang purba’ ini akan terus diperdendangkan sehingga UMNO pulih dan kembali mengetuai dan menjadi pakar rujuk (bukan buli) kepada komponen lain lain parti BN.

Yang nyata, melayu kembali kepada UMNO dan kaum china yang rasional kembali kepada Gerakan dan MCA . DAP terus diungguli dengan perkauman kaum China yang tebal dan terus hipokrik kepada ahlinya yang nonchinese.

21. #21 by wanderer on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 3:26 pm

Yes, why not have a conscience votes taken by all MPs, immaterial which ever party they belong to, in regard to the call of either reviewing or repealing ISA.
    Sadly, we will not see Parliamentary democracy practise and another day gone by to waste. The component parties MCA, MIC and Gerakan will not have the ba**s to stand up to UMNO. All their resolutions made during their conferences were only for vote catching and false bravery…resolutions were still born before even reaching the delivery room.(Parliament)

22. #22 by Tonberry on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 3:39 pm

zak_hammaad Says:
    MCA/Gerakan are NOT Pakatan puppets and will NOT dance to their tunes.

This is not Pakatan tunes. It is common sense. MCA & Gerakan have been very critical of ISA lately. But whether they have the balls to bring their grievances to a higher level (in Parliament) will be a litmus test for them. This is to prove that they are not just talking cock at behind of Umno only. Do it in front of those racist Umnoputras!

23. #23 by js on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:00 pm

mca and gerakan should pull out from Bn and join PR to form a new gomen. Let BN be the history of Malaysia and totally disappear in Malaysia.

24. #24 by oknyua on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:17 pm

Until the day I see MCA and Gerakan stop begging for crumbs under UMNO’s table, I would never believe they can ever ever support this motion. Talk only is cheap in the assembly – see what can they do in real life?

Both MCA and Gerakan are just being obedient and silent partners in the administration; that’s an established fact. UMNO can’t and won’t change, so what the h**l are they waiting for in BN? Every promise of reforms had been shot down under UMNO. What hope for reforms are MCA and Gerakan waiting for?

SEE utusan, almost daily come out with racist comments – what is UMNO minister albar doing? Isn’t Utusan UMNO’s propaganda machine? Isn’t that enough proof that UMNO won’t change. No..never I would never believe MCA’s and Gerakan’s support for this motion.

25. #25 by oknyua on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:23 pm

zak, we are NOT interested in being puppet or not. The issue here is “doing what is right.” If your argument is along that line, ie doing what is right, you and I can ignore politics and look at the long term existence of this nation Malaysia.

Ignore Teresa, suppose that lady caught and jail was your sister, your relative or even your wife, I would still say it is wrong. I would still stand beside you to resist this ISA.

Enough of politics; do what is right first and foremost.

26. #26 by wanderer on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 4:44 pm

“In the kingdom of the blinds, the one eye is the king”
    This is the BN for you, Zax.

27. #27 by ctc537 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:17 pm

Expecting MCA/GERAKAN/MIC to support Seputeh MP Teresa Kok Suh Sim’s motion deploring the Internal Security Act (ISA) is making these BN component parties to look bad in the eyes of their members and supporters only. Being members of the BN, they have to toe the party line. For them to support the motion would mean the gradual disintegration of the coalition party, and also their roles as members of the ruling party.

It’s the rights of the Opposition to seize every opportunity to play politics in parliament but it is also natural for those parties to defend their interests. DAP and PR is overdoing something so obvious in order to score political points and try to destablise BN. That’s normal in politics, we understand.

MCA is not a fair weather friend, as pointed out by Wong CW in his column in the STAR. They have to stick to BN come what may.

GERAKAN’s position is the same. It was GERAKAN’s TUN Lim who proposed to the late TUN Razak on the formation of BN in the early 70s. BN without GERAKAN and the other component parties from Sabah and Sarawak would mean returning to its original form known as the Alliance Party. Many people are of the view that GERAKAN is one party other E M’sian component parties have high regard for and should the party pull out BN’s foundation could be further shaken.

The point is it is good that the PR is putting pressure on BN to come to its senses. BN may be losing support but it can rebound if big brother is prepared to make concessions to the other component parties.

What makes M’sian politics interesting is that the ruling BN always find it hard to garner both huge Malay and Chinese support at the same time. The other day TDM opined that if BN led by Umno allows MCA to hold the post of Deputy BN Chairman (hence potentially a Deputy PM post) then it wins back some Chinese support, but it also loses some Malay support at the same time.

It is interesting to see how the BN can do the balancing act this time around. It would be much easier if MCA/GERAKAN/MIC acquiscene to its demand. The reality in Malaysian politics is that from now onwards the ruling party, whether BN or PR, finds it increasingly hard to secure a 2/3 majority victory.

Anything can happen, especially when there are unknown factors at play.

28. #28 by yapchee on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:18 pm

Nothing will change as long as UMNO is concern.
    As long as the ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ mindset and ‘tongkat’ mindset they will be no change !

UMNO is buying time with MCA/MIC/Gerakan, once they regain Malay majority in UMNO from Pakatan they will be back to their same old arrogance.

29. #29 by Hue on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:19 pm

MCA and Gerakan are nothing but talk. The BN MPS from East Malaysia are probably in KL having a good time but not in Parliament. Some of them probably don’t even know what ISA stands for! As for MIC we all know they will toe the line. So, once again, it’s UMNO’s call! What democracy?

30. #30 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:22 pm

oknyua Says:

>> The issue here is “doing what is right.”

‘Right’ according to who; the desperate opposition? You do not speak for the whole of the rakyat and it arrogance (and ironic) that Pakatan is becoming what it accuses others of. This may lead them to fast become irrelevant like the schizophrenic Anwar.

>> Ignore Teresa, suppose that lady caught and jail was your sister, your relative or even your wife, I would still say it is wrong. I would still stand beside you to resist this ISA.

Let’s look at ISA as an exception rather than a rule. We all agree that mistakes have been made and this in turn has weakened the BN. However, the purpose and the need for ISA remains as relevant as ever, albeit in a different context of national security and social stability.

If the opposition sought some middle-ground to review ISA and to amend the rules of engagement, it would find a groundswell support and I too would support it. To ask for a complete abandonment of ISA is naive, impractical and hinges on emotion rather than the reality on the ground.

31. #31 by Godfather on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:25 pm

We should just ask the Mamakthir brown-noser Zak Hammaad two questions:

1. Zak, do you pray 5 times a day ?

2. When or if you do pray, do you tell Allah to ensure that your schemes to frame your enemies are successful ?

32. #32 by human1 on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:37 pm

Q: Are MCA/Gerakan MPs going to support a debate on reviewing the ISA?
    A: Not a chance. These MPs are bound to the BN’s disciplinary WHIP, ouch! MCA and Gerakan members can voice whatever on their minds during the annual general meetings. When talking about parliamentary meetings, they are bound to support all motions from the BN and reject all motions from the oppositions. To us, they are merely rubber stamps who succumb to the dominance of UMNO. No questions asked.

Q: Where is MIC not in the picture?
    A: MIC is uncontactable. The party is busy in brainstorming some harvard-business-school marketing gimmicks to rebrand MIC, to regain the support of over 30% Indians. The president is very confident about this.

Q: What about PPP and other BN components?
    A: Ignore them. Those guys are peanuts. Their voices have never been taken seriously.

Q: Why did Abdullah sleep through 7 months after the election; and wanting to push for judiciary, corruption and police force reforms within 5 months?
    A: May be he likes to sleep. Everyone likes to talk about the word “reform” these days. He would pretty much like to leave behind his leagacy of reforms before stepping down as prime minister. There is doubt in pushing these reforms, when tabling the bills in parliament in relatively short manner, do we have sufficient time to debate and scrutinize the clause?

Q: Why did Abdullah lash out at Mahathir, accusing him of cretaing disunity and hatred among UMNO members?
    A: Mahathir is a stubborn and dictatorial leader who would take things personally. Ever since reversing his legacies of a couple of mega projects by Abdullah who had taken office, Mahathir has been stepping on the tail of his successor.
    With his political power given away, he was deemed fighting as the lone ranger and Abdullah couldn’t be bothered less. Abdullah had an entire UMNO behind him when being verbally attacked by Mahathir.
    After announcing his plan not to contest the president post, he has woken up to the political reality to find his comrades alienating him, to see the once lone ranger Mahathir rides again. Abdullah should be angry.

Q: Where is the nation heading?
    A: The nation is in stalemate. MCA has shouted aloud they are preparing to play hardball. UMNO has been playing hardball all the while with critical resources on hand. To them, the harder the better because UMNO feels that would satisfy the community they represent. Therefore under the UMNO-led ruling coalition, all issues pertaining to this country will be divided into two, Malay and non-Malay. If UMNO give in, Malay are unhappy. If MCA or MIC give in, non-Malay are unhappy.
    Since the Malay make up 70% of the population, UMNO would think asserting pro Malay policies is vital to ensure gaining sufficient votes from general election, to form the government in control. Voices from other races, UMNO couldn’t care less. UMNO still think they have the support of Malay, believing the votes casted for opposition in 8-March election, the sign of protest in the high cost of living.
    The NEP had been effective for the first 10 years during its implementation in helping the Malay to close the gap. But as the Malay population grows, NEP is unable to hand out the candies to all individuals from the limited government coffers. Worse, the needs for Indians and other minorities have been given second priority. If UMNO keep instilling suspicion into our multi-racial society, the effort of the multi-racial groundwork will be hampered where the price is too hefty to pay.

33. #33 by baoqingtian on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 5:44 pm

Just forget it, Uncle Lim! These guys will never support such a motion. Even though the daring speech by Ong Ka Ting send a strong message to UMNO but it was delivered in a very soft tone for fear of offending the PM and DPM. Feeling unthreatened, PM then brushed aside the perception that UMNO is THE BIG BULLY in BN.

As for Koh Tsu Soon, he too said something unpleasant about UMNO in front of PM but in the end he glorified PM as ” Father of Democracy”.

These show that MCA/Gerakan leaders are inhibited by the presence of UMNO leaders.

34. #34 by teacher on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 6:30 pm

Asking the mca gerakan mic and other parties from sabah and sarawak to supprt the abolishment of isa is like seeing the sun rising in the west. All this talk in the agms is to stir up feelings to get votes.Now that the agms are over its back to old times and the ppl are forgotten.
    This is all a sandiwara played up for the rakyaat.
    It will never happen. Remember the guy from mic who spoke up in parliament and was taken to task.He had to run to the dpm at the airport and beg for forgiveness with his tail between his legs.
    Sorry lah this is how malaysia boleh is and UMNO boleh is!!!!!

35. #35 by OCSunny on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 7:06 pm

ALL THE MEMBERS AND LEADERS OF MCA, MIC, GERAKAN AND OTHER COMPONENT PARTIES SHOULD MAKE A FIRM STAND. PREVIOUSLY, UMNO HAD BEEN TALKING VERY BIG THAT UNMO WITHOUT MCA, MIC, GERAKAN, ETC CAN STILL FORM THE GOVERNMENT. THIS IS AN EXCELLENT OPPORTUNITY TO BRING DOWN UMNO BY DEPRIVING THEM THE MAJORITY TO FORM THE GOVERNMENT AND LET THEM TASTE HOW IT IS LIKE TO LOOSE POWER AND DORMINANCE!!!!

WHEN A NEW GOVERNMENT TAKES OVER, LET US PRAY THAT IT WILL BE FOR THE BETTER.

36. #36 by Jimm on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 7:12 pm

none of the bn component partyies are dare enough to go against umno. all these are plain crooks that abuse their given power for thie own interest and greed of wealth that driven them all to become animals.
    forget about them …. these animals are the worse in the animal kingdom.
    they are evil that dressed as human and cheat on mankind.

37. #37 by ktteokt on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 8:01 pm

Don’t forget that it was MCA, Gerakan and MIC who indirectly gave “guts” to UMNO to be so arrogant. So do you think MCA or Gerakan would be brave enough to go against UMNO? How can these EUNUCHs have BALLS???? They have been CASTRATED!

38. #38 by katdog on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 8:09 pm

Sigh! Even if MCA/MIC and Gerakan supported this motion there still wouldn’t be enough numbers to push it through.

Secondly MCA/MIC and Gerakan would never support a motion from DAP as that would merely damage their reputation. What need would there be for MCA/MIC and Gerakan if all they do is support other people’s motion?

DAP wasting time playing silly politics. Maybe you should work with MCA/MIC and Gerakan and come up with a JOINT motion or statement that would at least be palatable to the minority BN component parties.

The biggest hurdle are the UMNO MP’s, not the MCA/MIC/Gerakan MP’s. Calling out the MCA/MIC/Gerakan MP’s on this issue so prematurely is merely a cheap attempt to increase ones own popularity and reputation.

DAP, please get off your lame brained ‘opposition’ type tactics. We know a direct motion like this will never work. Instead, do the groundwork first by approaching the minority parties to obtain their support discreetly. Work out some sort of deal, then only come up with a joint proposal. Instead of constantly coming up with cheapshots like this that will achieve nothing. Your cheapshot on the eurocopter deal was extremely bad and i hope next time you do a bit more study before jumping to criticize everything.

39. #39 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 8:09 pm

MCA/MIC/Gerakan all talk about reviewing the ISA. But when Teresa brought this issue up for discussion, NON I repeat NON of the so called people representatrive MCA/MIC/Gerakan give any support. They acted like mice to their Umnoputras. Never knew such great cowards as they are.
    Their recent elections is a joke. The rakyat especially the chinese and indians are not interested or care a damn at all. Most of them consider them goners.
    One party even got the cheek to ask for a DPM. DPM, my foot. These guys are so naive and gullible. The whole rakyat laugh at their proposal. Come on, get real and wake up bums!!!

40. #40 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 20 October 2008 - 9:04 pm

Take some info from the horse’s mouth, so to speak:

drchua9.blogspot.com/2008/08/mcas-reform-real-politics-real.html

41. #41 by StevePCH on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 12:33 am

no balls , no need to challege.
    Flip Flop parties. Useless. I don’t think OTK , KTK will speak. Everything will be ochestrated by boss Ameno. Guess who the BeEnd whip ? CX

42. #42 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 1:38 pm

The new finance minister just announed a RM 10 billion to buy back under valued stocks to save guard the economy of the country and the people’s interest. I dare the MCA,GERAKAN,PBS,LDP,UPKO and others to challenge them to demand the new finance minister and prime minister in waiting to use a part of the money to help those poor Sabah Saham investors. Please prove to us that you mean what you say and say what you mean, Real dream not day dreaming my dear YBs.

43. #43 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 4:23 pm

Rm10b to buy “under valued stocks”.

BNoxford Dictionary:
    under valued stocks = cronies problem company stocks

44. #44 by shamshul anuar on Monday, 27 October 2008 - 10:18 pm

Dear Yee siew Wah,

‘they acted like mice to UMNO….”. I know Uncle Lim’s recipe for political success is whipping Chinese sentiments any political alliance with UMNO is manifastation of weakness.

UMNO is dominant in BN. It acts as dominant partner . Besides, other parties treat it as senior partner since independent. Nothing wrong about the fact. And UMNO is not ashamed about it. malays are not ashamed about that.

UMNO earns its dominant role in Malaysian politics by winning the most number of seats as compared to an example DAP.

UMNO need not to be apologetic about championing the rights of the Malays. It is championing the rights of the Malays. But it also does not hinder the development of other races.

UMNO allowed the mind boggling separate school system, something that no other natives in any part of the world would stomach. It allowed MIC, MCA to represent Malay majority areas despite decades of PAS condemnation as being “infidel” for alliance with non Muslim. Not believing me. You better as PAS even condemned DR Khir as “munafiq” when Dr Khir was the Menteri Besar of Selangor simply because because public holiday is Sunday instead of Friday.

UMNO tolerated chauvinistic Chinese dailies for decades. I never heard Uncle Lim who claimed to be so preoccupied to speak about rights of Malaysians to condemn practice of “Mandarin” only requirement.

The truth is that majority of Malays feel that Uncle Lim’s party, DAP does not care to champion the rights of the Malays. Where is Uncle Lim when Teresa dismantled Jawi road sign in Kula Lumpur.

To the Malays, this is part of continuous effort by DAP to remove any traces that indicates BM as National Language. Where is Uncle Lim when BAR Council organised a forum about Social Contract when no Malays were in forum except Farish Noor whom no Malays ever considers him qualify to speak about Malays.

DAP continuously whip Chinese sentiment by lying to Penangites about KHairy’s influence in choosing Chief Minister when everybody knows PM has right to choose anybody to be Menteri Besar in states that BN won.

Dr Kua lied to public when he did not tell about DAp’s role in May 13 but putting all the blame to Tun Razak, hence the Malays. All my Chinese friends were red faced when I told them what extremists from their community did in May 13.

DAP so vigilantly challenged supremacy of the UMNO in politics through spreading hatred. The truth is that Malay holds supreme in politics simply because they earn it; by winning election.

It continuously scare the Chinese about vernacular school , forgetting that is is unique phenomenon in the world. Relocation of Chinese school in Damansara was politicised to the hilt to blame UMNO.

And the resutl is disaster. That is one result why Tan Chai Hoe lost in Bandar TunRazak. Upset that one Chinese assembly hall daily reminder on relocation of the school , Malay voters punished Tan Chai Hoe( nothing personal) during last election.

Those who speak so much about UMNO’s trampling on other races right are actually the worst culprit.

So, my next question to you Uncle Lim is this: Why Penang DAP Chaiman was not offered the office of Chief Minister of Penang. As you go out loud telling the world on how powerful Khairy can be, what is your position on appointing your own son as Chief Minister.

And what is your reaction on Penang’s stand to “neutralized”position of Bahasa alaysia by putting road sign in Various language. I am sure you are aware that it is viewed as “diluting’ the position of Bahasa Malaysia as National Language.