The cries of Sabahans (2)

Don’t neglect Sabah, please

by Another Doctor

I refer to the Malaysiakini article Kota Marudu needs more than wireless Internet.

I read Dr Hams letter and cannot help but agree with many of his observations. I worked in Sabah for over seven years as a house officer and medical officer.

After my housemanship, I was sent to Ranau to serve in the district hospital. What Dr Hams described in Kota Marudu is not something isolated to that district alone in Sabah. It is an often repeated story in the whole of Sabah.

My first introduction to the poverty in Sabah came during my first months there, when a sweet 70- year-old lady from Kota Marudu was sent to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital with deep jaundice. She lived alone in a small village off Kota Marudu and noticed the jaundice about a month before.

She had no money for the taxi fare and so waited a month to sell off her chickens to have enough money to pay RM50 for the transport to Kota Marudu Hospital. She had to walk two miles to get to the road to get to the taxi.

Having been born, bred and educated in Peninsular Malaysia, I was shocked. When she arrived, she was septic and had a gallstone lodged in her common bile duct. The stone was duly removed but she was found to have a heart problem that required a pacemaker.

We arranged for her to get a permanent pacemaker but she refused. When I pressed her for her reason, she told me that she couldn’t afford to buy batteries for the pacemaker, having sold off her chickens. Once I explained to her that the batteries would last for years and we would provide them, she agreed to the pacemaker.

Ranau town itself has roads and is on the main highway between Sandakan and Kota Kinabalu. It developed primarily as a result of the Mamut Copper Mines in the district. However, highway in this context means a two lane road with frequent landslides and potholes, with a two-hour drive to Kota Kinabalu.

Outside Ranau, transportation becomes a problem as tarred roads disappear to become gravel or crudely marked logging trails.

Anyone who has worked in Sabah would have the same stories to tell, of extreme poverty and poor transportation. During my 2 years in Ranau, I’ve heard and seen it all, patients with cerebral malaria, a condition unheard of in Peninsular Malaysia, coming in after 48 hours to the hospital from places like Kaingaran and Karagasan, with relatives having to push the ‘pirate taxi’ through the mud, spending RM50 on fare during the monsoon season, the equivalent of 2 months income, this too when petrol was only around RM1.20 a litre in Ranau. Patients having to delay treatment for life threatening conditions because a bridge washed away along the trail (I won’t even call it a road) to Tambunan.

Emergency surgery such as caesarean sections, appendectomies and even ectopic pregnancies had to be performed in our little district hospitals by Medical Officers with little more than 4 months housemanship experience. Medical emergencies such as myocardial infarctions, which in Peninsular Malaysia would be managed in a Coronary Care Unit setting, had to be managed in the district hospital level.

I’m grateful however, that my staff in that hospital were the best I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with and were dedicated enough to want to make a difference in their patients’ lives. But poor transportation does not only affect the access to healthcare. Having no roads to be able to transport their agricultural produce for sale means that these people are stuck in a never ending cycle of poverty. At most, some of them get RM20 to RM50 by selling their produce to middlemen to be sold at the monthly tamu or market at prices that are perhaps only 10 percent of the value of the goods.

These innocent people are also preyed upon by traveling cloth merchants, mostly foreigners, who offer them ‘easy payment schemes’ to buy cloth for clothes, and when they cannot pay for the cloth and the interest accumulates, they end up having to marry their daughters to these men, who often have wives back home in Pakistan.

One of the cases I could never forget was of the family who came to Ranau Hospital just as I was leaving, a family who had failed crops, were hungry and unable to get food. The father collected some toad eggs and fed them to the whole family in a desperate attempt to stave off hunger. When they arrived at our little emergency room, one of the children were dead and two passed away within 10 minutes of arrival in our casualty unit due to poisoning.

Education is a problem in parts of Sabah outside major towns like Kota Kinabalu at the moment. Many children would be lucky to be able to get to a school or even afford to get to one. Most of my patients outside Ranau were lucky to even have a primary school education and a vast number of women marry in their teens.

I’ve had 14 year olds delivering babies in Ranau, most of them have never ever stepped foot in a school. The education level is so poor that many women feed their children condensed milk thinking that it’s better than breast milk.But at the heart of it all, these mothers want the best for their children but are not empowered with the knowledge to help them.

Major towns in Sabah have electricity courtesy of the Sabah Electricity Board, but smaller villages have either diesel generators or rely on candles or lamps when night falls. How can children study in these conditions?

Like many doctors in the districts, I had to learn Dusun to communicate better with these patients who could speak little else. Forty five years after the formation of Malaysia, the promise of a better life for these poor Dusun, Murut and Rungus patients in the districts of Sabah is a pipe dream at best.

How can our politicians claim to have brought development to the state and have neglected these poor people, many of whom still wear the cheap t-shirts and caps given free by political parties from many elections ago. How can I claim to be proud of Putrajaya with it’s beautiful bridges and lamp posts and the Petronas twin Towers when our fellow Malaysians in Sabah are so neglected?

The cycle of poverty and illiteracy one sees in the districts in Sabah brings despair to the heart. Eradication of poverty must tackle the real issues of education and transport and not just handouts to poor people.

By all means, declare Sept 16th a public holiday, but remember it in it’s real context, where we made a promise to our brethren in Sabah and Sarawak to treat them as equals in Malaysia, and give them the development they’ve been long denied.

1. #1 by tselau on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:27 am

It is indeed very painful to the heart to have read all these sad articles concerning the livelihood of our brethen in Sabah and Sarawak, when our BN goons here in Peninsula claim to have done so much for them.

The current PM had approved of nearly 1 billion of investment into both Sabah and Sarawak. Many will ponder over how much will ended up lining their own pockets, and peanuts reaching the people.

High time now for the educated lots to educate the locals of a need to change the government and thus need to give the PR a chance to prove themselves. Not an overnight change instantly, but a little along the way can make a big difference.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:38 am

Yes as I said in earlier thread, the root causes of Sabahans’ predicament – illiteracy poverty.

It would be the self-serving game of political leaders to maintain their power and dominance by neglecting to correct the cycle of poverty and illiteracy.

Come election time, it would be easier for them to get the votes by giving t-shirts and caps with their party’s insignia, packets of money and (for interiors, accessible only by rivers) diesel motors for boats etc which are considered little mercies worthy of their legitimacy to rule!

Can’t voters vote on principles? Dr Mahathir has just commented in his blog in relation to Zaid – that it is easier to afford principles when one has money!

Now what has greater development, literacy, prosperity and internet penetration brought to the table in West Malaysia?

Only more awareness of citizens’ rights and government abuse – and more rejection especially by the younger voters of the BN’s policies as evinced by 8th March election results.

Look at how dictators could easier rule in countries in Africa, West Asia and South America in which there are large swathes of illiteracy and poverty.

3. #3 by Freddy on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:31 am

Najib referred Sabah as FD.

In reality, UMNO treats Sabah as OD!!!

4. #4 by taiking on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 11:14 am

Yes Jeffrey. Illiterates can be swayed with chicken blood and the chopping of chicken head. It is even easier that swearing on the quran. So it makes good sense for umno to keep sabah and sarawak the way it is.

5. #5 by yeeyuket on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 11:49 am

Another Cry from Sabah
    Not only that my son was not allow to register in his birth certificate as “Sino” eventhough my wife can produce a valid Native Cerificate. I was told to apply for a change in Birth Cert. but was also turned down again. Why?
    In East Malaysia, whoever can produce NT certificate is deemed Bumiputra. I think a lot of valid “Sino” was also also classified as Chinese. Those who can help email at [email protected]

This is yet another case of a discrimination practice by immigration officials control by BN Government.

6. #6 by jacksojulian on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 11:50 am

Dear Another Doctor,
    You still lucky not being sent to Clinic Tonggok which is located in the middle of nowhere in Sabah. Extremely difficult be accessed (50 km gravel & muddy road further from Telupid), it was 4-5 years ago. There is no telecommunication in that small “town” (village). The Clinic was grantly built (16 million RM) in 2001with hospital facilities. The clinic also equipped its own diesel generator set. But sadly part was the government did not supply them enough diesel to run the electricity, the diesel provided by government only enough for 4 hours daily. The clinic did not even have full time medical officer there, only visiting MO from Telupid. The clinic was obviously under utilized and the monies spent did not served the purpose, not even the natives of Tonngok have benefited much from this clinic because it still lack of medical staff and lack of clinic maintenance budget. This is an example how Mahathir spend the our monies for nothing. I salute medical staffs like you who dedicate your life to the needy people in Sabah, but the ignorant of goverment always put us down.

7. #7 by jacksojulian on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 11:59 am

Forgot to tell you, the wooden clinic in Telupid town (the town which is much more civilised than Tonggok), if i value it, it’s about RM 500k – RM 800k

8. #8 by wanderer on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:15 pm

In the real world the poor always suffer the most…in silence. Malaysia boasts of the twin towers and many other ‘white elephants’ but, ignored the needy. It is common knowledge, when money is allocated, the greedy politicians will skin the top and leave nothing much for the purpose intended. This is a sad state of affairwe have endured for half a century.
    Sabahans and Sawarakians, you are now offer an alternative govt, drive hard and dismantle the crooked structure built by the coalition party…enter a new era of equality for all.

9. #9 by Bobster on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:24 pm

NEP has been abused all these yrs by the political goons, making few mega millionaires who can afford $30-40 millions worth of mansions. People like the late Datuk Z and D-end cronies etc. Rich getting richer. While contribution NOTHING to the nation growth, they rape the country and abuse the system.

Many of our rakyat and bumis continue to be neglected. The poor getting poorer so the average poverty level among the bumi continue to be low so that the rich political connected ones can continue to abuse the NEP system to pull down the nation average among the bumis.

Hope the people of this country can differentiate the Truth and Lies. Truth is many Malaysians, bumis and non bumis continue to suffer and neglected. NEP has been abused to enrich few political connected one. Giving another 50 yrs nothing will change. More will suffer as the country resource is drying up. The rich refuse to spend their ill gotten gain back to the society and to develop the nation. Their prefer to spend on own mega million ringgit mansions, holiday trips, BMWs, overseas property etc.

Poor ones will continue to be neglected and forgotten. That’s NEP aka D-End policy to rape and abuse the country and rakyat to the very end.

10. #10 by OCSunny on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:35 pm

As I have been working since March 1979, I can assure readers what the doctor narrated is certainly true.

While I was in Kalabakan at Imbak which is about half an hour’s drive to the nearest village town of Luasong where your handphone have connection, I was told by the people who were mainly estate workers and logging camps workers that the area in Imbak has the highest number of malaria infestion in the whole of Malaysia. Infact, the number of cases per month may have breach the level whereby quarantine should have been imposed! Are they fighting a loosing battle against malaria in this district?

This is also the place where the elephants’ dung can be seen on timber track roads and the wild banana being eaten by them including those oil palm seedlings planted in the field by the big estates. At one time, there were hundreds of them but the numbers has drastically dropped. Have they migrated to other places? But where?

There is a government clinic in Luasong but with only regular visit by doctors. During rain days, the roads cannot even be used by 4WD vehicles. Ofcourse, water and electricity is a very precious commodity. And food staffs are always higher than those in town like Tawau which is the nearest.

My dear Sabahan friends, I really feel pity for you all in the remote areas.

11. #11 by kchan on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 12:50 pm

this is especially true while BN built their palace in the putrajaya, major city in sabah – kota kinabalu, sandakan, lahad datu, tawau, kudat etc, is still suffer in condition like no water supplies, electricity break down, bumpy roads, traffic jam (no alternative route), low wages etc.etc..

Malaysia Image Board

12. #12 by chongs on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:01 pm

Most interesting, I did not know such atrocities existed. It’s knowledge to me.
    The whole lot of Sabah/Sarawak BN leaders should be sacked !! What have they done for its citizans ? Were their hands so tied that they cannot say or implement projects to alleviate the people’s sufferings.

God bless the people of Sabah and Sarawak.

13. #13 by ctc537 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:05 pm

Based on the account by Another Doctor, I think that what Sabah needed most is a good network of roads criss-crossing the hilly and mountainous state so as to enable rural people quick access to major towns. The state is rich in natural resources and there is no reason why the state and federal governments have failed to provide these basic infrastructures after 45 years of independence.

A Sabah economist appearing on a TV talk show said that it was mind-boggling why ship cargoes from ports like Hong Kong to Sabah ports have to go through Port Klang first then to Sabah. Couldn’t the cargoes be directly shipped to Sabah ports, and thus saving shipping costs and the goods ended up cheaper for Sabah consumers? It was only one example.

Unlike the States in Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak state governments have more executive powers. In fact, Sabah and Sarawak are respectively one of the three parts that make up Malaysia. If Sabah and Federal governments have done their jobs well, the state would not have plunged into this sorry state of affairs.

It’s time Sabahans woken up and choose a government that would give them a better deal when they go to the polls the next time around.

14. #14 by The Enforcer on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:53 pm

Fellow bros and siss in Sabah and Sarawak.
    It saddens true RAKYATs over here in the west to hear of your plight.
    Felt so guilty of the ignorance to know that our fellow bros and siss are in such deplorable state in the interior of the two states!
    It’s an uphill task to dislodge those ‘*****’ over there cos of the ‘illegals’ that were given citizenship so as to be able to vote for them.
    Read a report somewhere that after all these years, the ‘citizens’ over there are now more than the righful RAKYAT!

Uncle YB Lim and the PR team!

Please help our fellow bros and siss over there!
    Have a ‘think tank’ and see what can be done to get our fellow RAKYATs there out of their predicament!

15. #15 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:20 pm

“She had no money for the taxi fare and so waited a month to sell off her chickens to have enough money to pay RM50 for the transport to Kota Marudu Hospital. She had to walk two miles to get to the road to get to the taxi.”
    ==============================================

…..While In Selangor theres a YB who lives in a Castle like mansion that eats satay till he dies from heart attack! God bless Malaysia if theres any, take all these bunch of kleptocrat who cares nothing but their own dynasty away from us please. ;(

16. #16 by hadi on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:52 pm

There are so many sad stories yet to be revealed. Sabah though rich in natural resources, yet is the most backward and neglected. BN has failed to fulfill the promises and has betrayed the mandate given by the rakyat.
    The predicament of our brothers, sisters and friends must not be allowed to continue. The arrival of UMNO politics on the pretext of being the savior, only benefit the few mostly cronies. It is not a concoction, just look at those elected representatives. They are only protecting their own interest, only recently we heard them voicing their concerns and thanks to the recent political tsunamis that was taking place in West Malaysia but did not reach the East Malaysia.
    So brothers and sisters in Sabah and Sarawak, since we can’t trust our elected reps, lets us the rakyat leave them and join forces with the Pakatan Rakyat to make necessary changes. Only CHANGE can bring back the spirit and promises that were agreed by our founding fathers. Sabahan and Sarawakians must stand up and be counted, Everything must be equal and no more playing as second fiddle. I love you all there my friends.

17. #17 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:00 pm

@ctc537:
    “have to go through Port Klang first”
    No GOOD reason, a quick peep at wikipedia tells me Sabah has at least one container port. Perhaps the Sabah economist has never tried to do business in Malaysia. ;)
    The reason for the goods going through Klang first is probably that the ‘sole agent’ for the products is in West Malaysia. ‘Sole Agency’ is great for the Sole Agent, but a disaster for private enterprise and a disaster for the consumer. Most countries that Malaysians wish Malaysia was ‘more like’ have laws against sole agency. I believe Malaysia does not. I’m sure there’s at least one person here who can contradict me if I’m wrong!
    Someone in your government was talking about bringing in some kind of Anti-Trust / Anti-Competitive / Anti-Price-Fixing legislation sometime earlier this year, I thought. What happened to that? I suspect it’s the main reason why many goods come to Malaysia through Singapore first. Many, many products I have wished were more readily available in West Malaysia, at a more realistic price, have a ‘Malaysian distributor’ with an address in Singapore. Some of those products I’ve looked into are manufactured in the EU, where companies are often fined for anti-competitive practices.
    If these complaints of unfairness are to be dealt with, Malaysians must reject patronage in favour of equality of opportunity enforced by law.

18. #18 by humanly on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:02 pm

I agree with ctc537 that state govts of Sabah and Sarawak have more executive powers than the other Malayan states. But the Sabah govt in particular has abdicated its rights by referring everything to KL.

Unreliable water and electricity supplies come under state jurisdiction. With regards to power tapping and water theiving, it cannot happen if it’s not an inside job. Who are the workers and officers of these state agencies? Don’t tell me they are Malayans. It points back to Sabahans allowing the state of affairs to happen.

It’s the ordinary and powerless Sabahans that suffer the most. Not those with formal authority. Self-interest rules. This explains why they are so protective of their own turf by creating fear and prejudices of non-Sabahans.

19. #19 by observer_T on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:03 pm

“It’s an uphill task to dislodge those ‘*****’ over there cos of the ‘illegals’ that were given citizenship so as to be able to vote for them.after all these years, the ‘citizens’ over there are now more than the righful RAKYAT! ”

You know whatAasalUsulMalaysia, the last election, where, BN still won Sabah, is because this ‘illegal given IC for voting BN! This is still very much happening in area like Semporna, Kalabakan,Kunak,Tawau………this is proven because, most of them who were granted IC were barely from ‘seberang’ (Indon-Bugis,Philipine-Bajau/Suluk), even without pasport/surat lahir…….., this people, can’t even speak ‘proper bahasa malaysia!’… i have once managed to talk with some of these ‘lucky people’…..they did admit, they got their IC from the Project IC_Berjaya…(a lots of them were granted IC bah, …….vote BN saja…. i hate to mention that there is still religion discrimination regarding granting PR status to applicants todate, esp in Tawau, i would say…..)……where, those who are willing to convert to Muslim,…….granted Blue IC so fast, compared to those who are non-muslim……i have this friend, a christian friend,who still holding green ic (penduduk sementara) even after 40 years born and residing in Sabah…. , compared to a woman, came to Sabah,Without Surat lahir,only holding pasports, just 5 years staying in Sabah….and a Muslim, she were granted PR status!…….

and one more thing, did you guys notice that one of Sabahan BN Leaders….from semporna, were easily uplifted and ‘dilantik menjadi menteri bahagian tourism’ lately???????
    why he?? where go the kadazan-dusun-murut-rungus-lundayeh’ leaders???? why they are not appointed, in fact they are more elligible??….Hopefully this is not because of religion, or some Suluk Tribe claiming to be Melayu or Bumiputera…..

Dear brothers and sisters Malaysians…….
    can you see the unjustices happend here in Sabah, ?

20. #20 by happyhappy on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:08 pm

haHaha what a good bullshit story…
    with many silly … here to believe this joke….

21. #21 by Yee Siew Wah on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 4:30 pm

Sabah and Sarawak people must wake up to wrestle the power back from these Umnoputras. Dont tell me that there are no qualified Sabahans and Sarawakians who can run the NRD. Its not a big deal. The very fact that they are run by those Umnoputras for nearly 50+ years proves that there are sinister motives either to marginalise and wipe off the natives in a long run. Look at how EASY the immigrants from Indonesia, Philipines etc.. get to become citizens overnite.
    The current issues on genuine local natives losing their citizenship are just a tip of the iceberg. Thousands out there are also victims but helpless. Either these West Malaysians Umnoputras throw away their complaints or just completely ignore them. Hasn’t those natives currently in power lend them a hand or are they just there to enrich themselves and sold out their own people??
    Tremendrous injustice have been done to the East Malaysians brothers and sisters. Its time to take the power back and control your own future.
    Wake up Sabahans and Sarawakians!!!

22. #22 by bbpark on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:13 pm

after being achieving independance for so long (45years) its so backward. Went to Kota Kinabalu once(2007) . Need to improve alot. Especially rural areas. Its sicken me to read that the rural areas is so backward. How to achieve a developed states (2020). MP please do something.

23. #23 by mata_kucing on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:28 pm

Nothing new there. The situation in the Sarawak interior is exactly the same. The irony is that some of these people who depend on living on the land are having their very existence taken away by rich and well connected cronies of politicians without a penny in compensation.

Anyone who visit the Mulu caves in Sarawak can testify this. You have this 5-star resort owned by the Taib’s family. 10 minutes walk to the nearest village, you see natives so poor their children with runny nose and no clothes to wear. The adults look lethargic and scrawny. They survive by living on the land and selling local crafts to the few tourists who go there. The big crooks who take their land away do not bother giving them a helping hand. Now we hear their employees raping young tribal girls. The government fails them.

24. #24 by Dr.Ken on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:55 pm

In Sabah , Hospital is gateway to Death, There aren’t any experience Doctors & they are way underpaid by the Gov’t & therefore they work under frustration.so unable to perform well.Lack of Good Medicine , equipments & facilities.

water & electricity supply get interrupted frequently esp. during the First 3 days of Chinese New Year & other non muslim festivals.

Corrupted Police force , Corrupted NRD , Corrupted immigration Dept. corrupted JPJ , Corrupted Custom & excise & Corrupted local council in Sabah. Even ACA is corrupted too .

25. #25 by Dr.Ken on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:55 pm

In Sabah , Hospital is gateway to Death, There aren’t any experience Doctors & they are way underpaid by the Gov’t & therefore they work under frustration.so unable to perform well.Lack of Good Medicine , equipments & facilities.

water & electricity supply get interrupted frequently esp. during the First 3 days of Chinese New Year & other non muslim festivals.

Corrupted Police force , Corrupted NRD , Corrupted immigration Dept. corrupted JPJ , Corrupted Custom & excise & Corrupted local council in Sabah. Even ACA is corrupted too .

26. #26 by bclee on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 6:06 pm

“One of the cases I could never forget was of the family who came to Ranau Hospital just as I was leaving, a family who had failed crops, were hungry and unable to get food. The father collected some toad eggs and fed them to the whole family in a desperate attempt to stave off hunger. When they arrived at our little emergency room, one of the children were dead and two passed away within 10 minutes of arrival in our casualty unit due to poisoning. ”

my tear came out when reading this sad stories,please change the government can’t even wait for one min.

oh god please help us.

27. #27 by butul on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 6:16 pm

Thank you Mr. Lim for publishing this article and thanks to another doctor for his contribution.I am also happy that commentators are showing their understanding towards the plight of Sabahans.

It is easy, isn’t it, to deceive the kampung folks by giving a little hand outs during election time to obtain their votes as they are living in poverty. I think it is the BN’s policy to keep these genuine bumiputra villagers poor so that they can easily obtain votes during elections.

28. #28 by tiwasok on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 6:36 pm

HappyHappy, I wish I can put you in my kampung and see how long you can survive.

29. #29 by tiwasok on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 6:38 pm

HappyHappy, don’t worry, we won’t beat you but just to let you taste our life in rural Sabah and then you can decide weather this is a joke or not.

30. #30 by chiakchua on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:34 pm

I’m a businessman dealing with machinery such as power generator and have several dealers in Sabah. Having been in such business for the past 29 years, it is well known and an ‘open secret’ that the politicians and their cronies are siphoning big chunk of the government allocation for machinery (including power generator) by supplying ‘inferior’, ‘imitation’, products at ‘sky high’ prices. The generators supplied may only work for a few months with frequent interruption and finally go dead! Everything back to square one, cries of the rakyat will go unheard! My tear goes out to these helpless Kadazan Dusun; betrayed by their very own leaders, everyone with big tummies!

31. #31 by RGRaj on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:54 pm

The BN treats East Malaysians like thrash, and yet it’s they who made it possible for the BN to remain in parliament. Change will only happen, the day the East Malaysians get the courage to vote for change.

32. #32 by bystander on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:53 pm

come on lets get real. you really think these umnoputras/bn/musa care about sabahans? they only care about their pockets la. corek, corek and corek. only opposition, PR, can bring about total honest change to sabah. somebody pls get rid of all bn parasites once and for all for sabahans. where have all the brave and educated sabahans gone to? are they all in cahoots with bn like Dompok and kitigan?

33. #33 by parajurit sarawak on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:54 pm

To all BN YBs in Sabah and Sarawak. Lend me your ears. It is time for CHANGE.

34. #34 by Jimm on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:06 pm

East Malaysia ……. Easy Monies …for umno and elit group.
    they have been withdrawing funds years after years and put many of their ‘citizen’ to continue to control the ruling power.
    sad but true …. we just can witness this massive abusive of power.
    we are all , a bridge too far ……

35. #35 by ccjett on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:33 pm

Proud of our astronaut??
    Sabahan is starving while watching the BN “wasting” billions on “Space Seat Renting Programme”.

yeeyuket: For your “sino status” case, there is infact a solution now where you could obtain a letter of declaration that your children is bumiputra as long as you have proof of bumiputra parents/grandparents.. FINALLY…..

36. #36 by ccjett on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:37 pm

anyone having problem applying for sino/bumi status, pls do ask me. [email protected]

37. #37 by humanly on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:26 pm

To be a sino-kadazan, I understand you have to drop your Chinese surname.

38. #38 by humanly on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:56 pm

Whilst the natives in the interior are languishing in abject poverty, the ordinary Sabahans in the workforce must improve their work culture. They must have a sense of ownership of their community and be more competitive.

Many Sabahans are leaving their shore for greener pasture due to lack of job opportunities. One may blame the govt for not doing enough to make the economy grow. But without an enterprising spirit, it’s just being fatalistic.

I went to a locally owned hotel for a meal with friends at an offpeak hour. We were the only guests. The waiters saw us and were chatting among themselves. We had to shout at them to bring us the menu.

By walking around the town you can get a picture of the general attitude. If you go to Tanjong Aru beach in the early morning before the sweepers begin their work, you will find rubbish strewn all over the place even tho the bin is just a few paces away.

Before strict enforcement by the city hall, people would park their vehicles on pavements and double parked. If you parked properly and somebody blocked your car. You can honk all you care, he would take his own sweet time without apology.

This same behaviour is carried into their work pattern.

39. #39 by OCSunny on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 11:30 pm

AFTER READING ALL THESE STORIES, THE ONLY SOLUTION TO BETTERMENT IS FOR THE MPs IN SABAH AND SARAWAK TO CHANGE THE PRESENT GOVERNMENT BY SWITCHING OVER. WHAT HAVE THE MPS TO LOOSE? MAYBE SOME CONTRACTS HERE AND THERE. BUT THINK OF THE PEOPLE AND THE STATE. THAT SHOULD BE THEIR PRIORITY!! IF BY THE NEXT ELECTION THERE IS NO SIGNS OF BETTER ROADS, ELECTRICITY, WATER AND SCHOOL IN THE OUT SKIRT AREAS LIKE IN THE KAMPONG THEN CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT AGAIN !! IF NECESSARY CHANGE THE MPs FOR A CHANGE!!!

40. #40 by whattheheckman on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 1:14 am

The good Dr must have seen enough. Extremely sad situation.
    Thats how most parts of Malaya were 50 years ago.
    But hearing of Sabah makes you think that its a forgotten state since govt medical care in peninsular malaysia is easily accessable even to the remote orang asli if at all they are still in the interior. Yet most people from Sabah voted for the Barisan. What are their MPs doing.

41. #41 by ablastine on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 2:11 am

Little did we know, until these two letters, that Sabab/Malaysia has indeed now reached the level of Zimbawe. It is so sad but feeling sad cannot change the circumstances that allowed BN to win in these two States. True, lots of Sabahan voters are illiterate and probably cannot tell right from wrong and are therefore easily deceived. All the more Pakatan must act and now to establish itself in these two States They have to educate those who can understand and to give them a choice which they know will be many times better than the BN leaders who have betrayed them. The onus is not only on Pakatan and members but all of us here to spread the message and make damn sure that the majority understand their predicament and that help is only forthcoming if they tick the right box and kick those BN asses out of the system.

42. #42 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:30 am

I am at a loss of words.I pray that the Federal government look into the woes urgently.We must respect lives.Poverty is not a reason in this country anymore.Najib should take not of this.It is not a sob story.It is real!

43. #43 by frankyapp on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 12:42 pm

I am very disappointed,our YB in the BN have not got the message to switch to PR to formulate the change of the state and federal government at the same time. this is the one and only golden chance.I call upon all our current BN YBs to do it now.we will call you guys heroes .so be our heroes and champions for once. We will always cherish your action and forever be indebted to you guys.

44. #44 by voices on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:41 pm

some people blamed even criticised Sabahans for voting BN in the PRU12.

Our Malayan brethrens even criticised or MPs for not crossing over. Some even say Sabahans must help themselves first and go change to escape poverty and Sabah’s current predicament politically, economically or socially.

Truth is, we Sabahans dare for change in 1986, 1990 and 1994 when we voted against BN. When Malayans and Sarawakians didn’t and even in the PRU12 (winning 5 states not a win).

Sabah was punished severely them. Economic sanction especially and we suffered in silent. Development funds was until this year, controlled by federal govt. None of you in W Malaysia said anything against BN/Tun M at what they did to us. During those time, PBS did their best to bring development in Sabah including in rural areas, their focus, despite lacked of funds. PBS also voiced concern about the Project IC to legalise illegals. Nobody listened. Today and in the PRU 12, these legalise illegals did their ‘duty’ and vote for BN while majority of locals voted against BN. But we were outnumbered.

In 1994, Anwar Ibrahim was the dalang resulting in PBS lost the govt in a coup d’etat.

Now W Malaysian, because they felt the economic, political and social pinches, plus corruption, surging crime and so on, they pressured Sabah MPs to crossover and join PR. Not for Sabah interest but because W Malaysians are feeling the heat.

After more than 20 years, W Malaysians finally opened their eyes and saw what BN/Umno is all about. You want Sabah MPs to join Anwar? He betrayed our mandate in 1994. He responsibly brought Umno in Sabah and introduced racist politics. He hurt us economically, politically and brought in racist politics through Umno. How can we trust him that easily?

Anwar has to win our trust. But Sabahans have independent minds and we are always for change for the better. But we do not want to be used, abused and taken for granted just so Anwar could be Pm, PR the government and you in W Malaysia could have a better life and economy at the expanse of Sabahans.

We voted for changed in 1986, 1990 and 1994. You in W Malaysia did not and that’s why we are all in this sorry situation with Umno/BN raping the country.

Don’t take it out on Sabah for your wrongdoings and cowardice in the first place. The biggest cowards too are those MPs and rakyat of Sarawak.

But let’s forget this and work for a better Malaysia. I’m sure our MPs and Sabahans would learn to trust Anwar again. He better don’t betray us again!

45. #45 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 7:02 pm

sabah, negeriku jua : malaysia
    wakil wakil rakyat dari sabah, bangkitlah wahai pejuang bangsa janganlah berjuang untukku sendiri dan untukmu umno

46. #46 by hvpl on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 9:40 pm

Dear Voices,
    I’d like to believe that what Anwar did in 1994, was the ‘old’ Anwar. Now, we have ‘reformed’ Anwar. Even LKS and DAP is willing to give him a chance to redeem himself and his past.

To me, past is past. No point harping on it and prevent Sabah within Malaysia to go forward. We would be like the Palestinians fighting Israel. They keep harping on the past instead of looking what can be done, NOW and for the future.

One of the first steps is to get to know your fellow Malaysians from West Malaysia and for West Malaysians to know you. You have read all those comments of surprise of the situation in Sabah. These are genuine reactions from West Malaysians, who did not get to opportunity to know Sabah. And Sabahans to get to know their fellow West Malaysians, except those who get cocooned in MARA (now, UiTM) and see and hear one side of the story.

To me, there are 2 reasons, which I shall repeat, again:-
    1. In the past, Malaysian Airlines monopolised the air route between West and East Malaysia. They imposed such prohibitive fares that only the rich businessmen and Federal Goverment cronies can afford. Now, things have changed. Air Asia allow “Everyone to Fly” for a reasonable fare. Note: I have no shares or interest in Air Asia or employed by them. But I am a fan of their business model that has allowed me to fly at reasonable prices.
    2. The insular concept of restricting entry to West Malaysians. This unfortunate state of affairs has not changed. All the restrictions are still in place discriminating West Malaysians.

Now, how can we to be fellow citizens with a common destiny when Westies are NOT welcome to Sabah and Sarawak? Imagine telling people, “I want to be your friend but you have to undergo strict ‘strip-search’ before you are allowed to my kampung. Then, again, you cannot stay as long as you wish. You can only be just a guest in my kampung. You also cannot build a house and live in my kampung. If you happen to fall in love and marry with my sister, your children can stay in the kampung but YOU are still just a guest and must leave within 3 months”.

If this kind of division & thinking continues, I am afraid Sabahans/Sarawakians can never to true friends and fellow citizens with West Malaysians.

47. #47 by northborneo on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:21 pm

They sent a malay to space to play yoyo and throw stuff in the air
    but our rakyat still suffer and have to sell their chicken only for a trip to the clinic

48. #48 by observer_T on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:38 pm

Happyhappy…….this is not bullshit stories…..

49. #49 by aimoe on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 9:03 am

Reading this brought a jolt through me.

I am reminded that many people will not appreciate how it feels to be underprivelaged unless the shoe is on the other foot.

SO>…. this is the solution.

We frequently hear horror stories of newly qualified doctors posted to way off places but tend to brush it off by saying they will be back in a few years. I think maybe the problem may be largely us.

In any case…. they should force ALL POLITICIANS who have never been to East Malaysia to do their housemanship there. The same principle applies does it not? I am sure this is a darn sight better than sending them to Taiwan to observe Taiwanese planters. And what the heck happened after that little fiasco? Any recommendations? Any new planting tips?

Going one step further….. we all hear of the honest and principled cab driver who against all odds has returned property or money belonging to some forgetful patron. Every now and then we also hear of politicians doing the exact opposite. So…

for the politicians that cannot for some reason or other go to East Malaysia, we should make them drive taxis. Just to learn what it is like to serve.

And the taxi drivers… well… make them the interim ministers….

;-)

Just like we hear ever so often of the principled and honest cab driver who returns valuable items and cash left in his car.

50. #50 by riversandlakes on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 12:21 pm

Sabahans, win back your pride with us Sarawakians!

Down with tyranny!

Justice for all! Vox Populi!

51. #51 by frankyapp on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:00 pm

To all Sabah and Sarawak YBs/MPs I sincerely write and appeal to you guys to seriously consider taking the offer from PR for our sake and our children’s sake . Take this choice.we have suffered 45 years of discrimination,isn’t it enough ?. why must you guys still waiting for ? don’t you realised it’s enough is enough ?. PR especially with DAP as a major partner,what else you guys are worry for ? DAP Has been tested and provened as a relialable and loyal political multi-racial malaysian party. what a great golden choice we have now,please don’t let it goes without a very serious thought. Although YB Annuar has been unkind to us before but he has paid his price being unjustly sent to prison .we now know he is changed person.together with him and our brother or uncle YB Lim Kit Siang and the PR system/machinary,we can make Sabah and Sarawak a better place for us .our children and our children’s children inparticular and Malaysia in general. Let us for once and forever call among ourselves Malaysian.

52. #52 by rainbowseahorse on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 2:44 pm

I am appalled and amazed that my fellow West Malaysian do not seem to understand why Najib DARE to say Sabah is UMNO’s fixed deposit (FD). Najib knows that Sabah has over 2 million migrant voters who has been issued MyKads by TDM in the eighties. These voters outnumbered Sabahans 2 to 1 and they have, and will continue to, vote UMNO at every election. Effectively, Sabah is UMNO’s Fixed Deposit for MPs.
    This is the truth!

53. #53 by voices on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 5:28 pm

Dear hvpl,

If there is something about local Sabahans (not the many legalised illegals who roam the streets of Sabah esp in town areas), we are forgiving in nature.

We will not forget your wrongdoings ( as a reminder for us lest history repeats itself ) but we are always open.

If W Malaysians do not feel welcome in Sabah because of that immigration ruling (that’s our unquestionable State right under the Malaysia Agreement and Sarawak has similar ruling as ours and remember that we are supposed to be a country of our own then ), then you’ve closed your eyes to what Sabah is all about.

We have had many unpleasant encounters with W Malaysians who came over. Many of whom looked down on the locals, disrespect our local adat not to mention disturbing our girls/women and bringing in a culture alien to Sabah – racism. Even as far back as in the late 1970s.

But we Sabahans are also known for our hospitality (unless you mistook the illegals as Sabahans and many W Malaysians do not know the difference).

I must say, I have many W Malaysians friends who came here to work, fell in love with Sabah and stayed on. And they are welcome. Others who left would always come back for holidays. These people understand our culture and embrace it. If you want to talk about Bangsa Malaysia, Sabah is Bangsa Malaysia for we do not segregate.

Although I must say Umno ruined that harmony and like I mentioned earlier, Anwar has a big part in introducing racial politics in Sabah through Umno in 1994. You have seen what racial politics cost you people in W Malaysia and we do not want this manifest in our beloved Sabah.

From here, you can understand why we Sabahans are wary about W Malaysians politics, Tun M, Anwar and their likes.

We Sabahans and Malaysians as a whole, would like to believe that Anwar has refromed and yes, we Sabahans would give any leader a chance for the sake of change and a better Malaysia.

Would you believe it that Sabahans are always for change. Like we did in 1986, 1990 and 1994. If we make demands before we join PR it is because we are doing it for the betterment of Sabah. We had been used, abused and taken for granted by federal leaders and no one should fault us for wanting something that is rightfully ours. You yourself had read our economic situation.

Many of our local political leaders too are at fault for playing along with Tun M and Anwar, Umno/BN who have no real intentions of developing Sabah or care its people’s welfare except to stay in power, enriched themselves and make BN the country’s perpetual govt.

But here again, even you in W Malaysia who are supposed to be more educated, advance and intelligent than us Sabahans cannot change the government of BN and Umno politics. Any political change must first come from W Malaysia. We had tried in Sabah but without the help of you in W Malaysia, its doom.

We can assure you that next general election, BN would have to fight tooth and nail to get locals to vote for them because we Sabahans always remember.

And anytime you need a people who look not upon one’s race or religion and eat on the same table, we are right here in Sabah.

May we achieve what we all dream of.

54. #54 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 7:02 am

humanly Says:

October 11th, 2008 (3 days ago) at 15: 02.29
    I agree with ctc537 that state govts of Sabah and Sarawak have more executive powers than the other Malayan states.”

That’s stupid! What d’ya mean by “more executive powers”? Why are you talking of Malaya and Malayan states when what you mean is Peninsular M’sia or West Malaysia??

55. #55 by rainbowseahorse on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 11:34 am

“Voices”, I am extremely glad that, finally, another Sabahan is taking up the challenge and take up the task to expound and to enlighten our fellow West Malaysians on the humongous problem of legalized migrants besetting Sabah since the eighties. Quite a number of West Malaysian bloggers seem to be totally ignorant of Sabah (and Sarawak) politics and yet so much to say and advice to give. This resulted in (as some blogger wrote) “mud slinging” between East & West Malaysians and creating animosity among us instead of being united in the face of these very uncertain times.
    Like was mention, most West Malaysians were never aware that we fought and defeated strong despotic State government like United Sabah United Organization (USNO 1963-1975) under the banner of BERJAYA. When BERJAYA metamorphosed into another despotic and corrupt government, Sabahans once more united under the Party Bersatu Sabah (PBS) banner and defeated them in 1985. Enticed by Tunku Razali, PBS pulled out of the BN and Tun M punished Sabah by issuing over 2 million ICs to all migrants in Sabah at that time, and with the help of USNO stalwart Tun Mustapha (who later realized the implication and design of Tun M, left UMNO to fight it unsuccessfully to the day he died) Tun M allowed UMNO into Sabah (which they promised not to do to Sabah & Sarawak) and made all those migrants Bumiputras their members. From that time onwards, with these 2 to 1 voters over real Sabahan voters, the BN won in every general election and effectively became UMNO’s “Fixed Deposit” (as Najib said).
    Without a change of government at the Federal level, Sabah’s fate is sealed and it might take at least two generations (when all migrants accept that Sabah is their permanent home and are assimilated into the social fabric of Sabah society) before any form of true democracy of people’s power can be felt in Sabah once again. But, I strongly believe that our Sabahans, migrants and all, can and will prevail as one united people sometime in the future when once again the cry of “Berjaya” (not for that political party, of course) resounded throughout the “Land below the wind”, and we the people are the ones who vote for who we want and choose those who have our interest at heart. By then, whoever is the Federal government will once more look upon us as a renegade State with the title of “King Maker”. Wonder what the future “Mahathir” will do to punish Sabah then???

56. #56 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 4:01 pm

Please Cry For Me, Sabah.
    We sympathise with Sabahans for their pain & sufferings since 1963.
    We call out for Pakatan Rakyat to touch lives, save souls and bring out salvation & goodness to long suffering Sabahans.

57. #57 by Swarnabumi on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 5:52 pm

The article by Another Doctor on the plight of the simple Sabahan, our fellow Malaysians is a real eye opener. They trusted their MPs innocently and landed in this no hope situation. If we continue to support the present regime under TDM orchestra, all of us shall be living in extreme poverty in the near future. Just imagine while some MPs children are having a gala time with white girlfriends in UK , we have children dying after eating poisonous toad eggs here in Malaysia! And we are to believe we are prosperous ! We the simple Malaysians need to bind together into cooperative foundations in order sustain our future survivals.A corrupted government like ours will slowly wash its hand from fulfilling its responsibility.

58. #58 by sikunsikang on Saturday, 18 October 2008 - 2:54 am

happyhappy Says:
    October 11th, 2008 (6 days ago) at 15: 08.10

haHaha what a good bullshit story…
    with many silly … here to believe this joke…

===================================================

Dear happyhappy,

this is trully NOT a joke. this is a real situation here, in Sabah. Ranau is my hometown & i know that those situations written by Another Doctor is a damn true thing. do come visit us here if you have time, or should i say; IF YOU HAVE THE GUTS to do so.

although we’ve been neglected by the Federal in terms of development or whatsoever, we always welcome our Peninsula friends to Sabah with open hearts. So, do come to Sabah and I’ll be ‘happyhappy’ to bring you ‘jalan-jalan’ & explore many places in Sabah.

For the first few days, it will be in KK city. i’m sure it’ll be an amazing experience when u’re in KK. there’s no doubt about that. but for the next few days, i’ll bring you to my hometown, a place called Ranau. we’ll go to those places (Kaingaran & Karagasan) & you’ll see how true what Another Doctor’s had revealed here..

YOU BERANI KAH?

Come to Sabah la… don’t malu-malu.
    we’ll see who’s telling bullshit. or else, u eat ur own shit..
    hahahaha….. *wink-wink*

59. #59 by observer_T on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 11:03 am

sikunsikang….yaa…betul itu, mari la jemput si hapyhapy datang Ranau….i will be very happy to accept. let him experience the coldness unpolluted enviroment……..
    come la to my hometown Hapyhapy, to BunduTuhan……:-)

60. #60 by sikunsikang on Tuesday, 21 October 2008 - 7:19 pm

yeehaa…! observer_T..
    bah, satu kampung kita ni tau… hehe..
    bah, nanti kita suruh c hapyhapy beguling dari tnompok smpai sana siba k… then kita tinguk, dia masi hapy or inda. silap ckit trus dia tukar nama. dari “happyhappy” pi “sadsad” hahahaha..

61. #61 by observer_T on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 - 2:09 pm

Swarnabumi Says:
    We the simple Malaysians need to bind together into cooperative foundations in order sustain our future survivals.A corrupted government like ours will slowly wash its hand from fulfilling its responsibility.
    ==================================================
    very true, we need to bind together.
    corrupted gov, will never make any good to the rakyat….

62. #62 by frankyapp on Thursday, 23 October 2008 - 12:54 pm

Swarnabumi,you are absoludely right,these YBs in our government do not care for us the rakyat and have indeed washed their hands from fulfilling their responsibility ,like for example,the illegal immigrants,the issue of the mycard to so-called citizens, the Sabah saham etc,etc. These guys just talk,cheat,steal,rob and rape our state of all it’s resources,and build huge mansion or palaces in the state and overseas,like in australia,UK and even in the US.After having done all these corrupted things,how on earth we still voted them to power in the last general election ? Are we a part of these creedy YBs or do we have to kick them out in the next election. MY answer is to kick them out completely.Well fellow Sabahans,let’s just do it.ok .