Sean Connery, Catherine Zeta, Chow Yun-Fat, Ang Lee and Aaron Kwok also to be honoured for filming in Malaysia?

A reporter just phoned up, asking for my comments on popular Bollywood star Shahrukh Khan as one of the 77 new Malacca Datuks on the occasion of the 70th birthday of the Malacca Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Mohd Khalil Yaakob.

I was astounded and I said so. Are there no Malaysian film stars, artists or sports-people who have greater title to be honoured and encouraged as compared to Shahrukh?

I don’t think the reason that has been given for making Shahrukh Khan a Malacca Datuk would impress or convince many – that the Bollywood actor-dancer had “contributed to our tourism industry when he acted in a movie filmed in Malaysia”.

On this basis, shouldn’t Hollywood stars Sean Connery and Catherine Zeta Jones be honoured for their 1999 film “Entrapment” which first promoted the Twin Towers to the world shortly after they were completed when the Twin Towers was used as the film location – although the film was subsequently accused of “distortion” when images of Malacca slums were spliced with shots of the 1,482ft-high skyscrapers.

Or the 2000 Academy Award-nominee film “Anna and the King” (a remake of “The King and I”) starring Jodie Foster and Chow Yun-Fat (and our Patrick Teoh) which was mostly shot in Ipoh?

Or are Taiwan Gold Horse Award 2005/6 Best Leading Actor Aaron Kwok to be similarly awarded for his 2006 film “After This Our Exile” and world-famous director Ang Lee for his 2007 film “Lust, Caution”. starring Tony Leung & Tang Wei, as both promoted Malaysia as having been filmed or used footages from Perak?

What about other foreign stars in films which had used Malaysia for their location?

1. #1 by OCSunny on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:11 pm

Datuk or whatever titles doesn’t seem to have much value, crdibility or honour being awarded with one as even Shahrukh Khan can get one. What are the criterias??

2. #2 by ctc537 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:23 pm

I think the person who decided the award is a fan of Shahrukh Khan and Hindi films. Spur-of-the-moment decision, pure and simple.

3. #3 by max2811 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:33 pm

Maybe some big shot’s wife fell in love with him. It always happens in Msia. Some VIP’s wife like a certain thing, shoe polish would quickly act to make everybody like the same thing.

A ‘Datuk or Dato’, Tan Sri or Tun are worth 2 sen to me. No big deal. Who cares? Why the fuss, Mr Lim? No issues to write about?

Please tell me why the price of petrol is not lowerer?

4. #4 by max2811 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:34 pm

lowered

5. #5 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:40 pm

YB., I have realized long AGO that our Gomen and those involved with them are very good at organizing events that do not require back-up services or maintenance! In this case, giving Datukship to a popular Bollywood star is one of them. I wonder if the star is ever bothered.
    In fact I would like to propose that the Gomen have a MINISTER of OPENING CEREMONY and EVENTS in its Cabinet, so that other people will do the clean-up later! This has been our specialty; grand opening and then close shop!! Hence so much importance has been given to all these birthday ceremonies through out the year!as if the country has nothing esle to keep itself occupied with.

6. #6 by shadow on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:44 pm

RUBBISH!

7. #7 by pselvams on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:45 pm

To add on to max2811, please let the public know what is happening to the promise of allowing the price of fuel to be revised based on world price movements. Somebody on top please advise or are they busy with the current party affairs or meetings and want us the public to hold on to something till everything is worked out accordingly.

8. #8 by pselvams on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:51 pm

Fans of bollywood, good news is that there is going to be lots and lots of handsome and pretty faces in Malaysia soon to celebrate their birthdays and anniversaries at the expense of our gonement. New policy is first celebrate then look for the problems the RAKYAT faces daily. Offcourse probems will always be there, so lets celebrate first.

9. #9 by ramth on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:53 pm

i think the reason should be “that the bollywood actor is related to parameswara(iskandar shah)

10. #10 by counsel888 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 1:55 pm

It is a question of choice and nomnations that go before the committee that recommends to the ruler the award of that Datukship. It is not necessarily one that is based on the fact that someone filmed at a particular location alone or is part of an industry in which others have participated who are not nominated.

It may well also be a reflection as to how important India is to Malaysia’s economy and the ties that are developing in specific areas such as tourism. Sharuk Khan’s impact on the industry cannot be underestimated. Hollywood is not as big nor has it been as big and influential as Hollywood althouth they do portray that image succcessfully in the west.

BTW Sharuk Khan is more popular in Europe today and in many more parts of the world including the USA than Catherine Zeta Jones or Sean Connery. Suprised? don’t be.

The Indian film industry is not simply the largest in the world but also one with a wider appeal, influence and presence in many more countries than the one we consider better or more popular, Hollywood.

The former Soviet Union taught (and still does) Indian literature and poetry and history including the Bhagvad Gita and Tagore in areas as remote as Ulan Baatar in Mongolia, Taskent in Khazakstan and Sofiain Bulgaria and yees in China as well.

In other places like Ndgameena in Chad and Daar es Saalam in Tanzania they know Zeenat Aaman and the Kapoor brothers better than they know John Lennon, Spencer Tracey or Sean Connery.

So if it offends or creates a stir maybe you should nominate these others into a category that Sharuk Khan was nominated in and show the reasons and impact their contribution to that category has been.

11. #11 by whattheheckman on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:23 pm

To: RAMTH.
    Historically Parameswara never converted to Islam. It was somebody else. Parameswara from the Sri Vijaya Kingdom has linage to Raja Raja Solan. As we all know India controlled Hindunesia (Indonesia), Hindu-China (Indo China) and beyond. Much later we see the arrival of Hang Tuah and comrades from the Hung Li Po era to give protection to the malacca sultanate. I can email you the article.

To: MAX281,
    You are absolutely right on the Awards.

12. #12 by bolehlandor on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:24 pm

At the rate bolehland political leaders is going anonymous people with Datukship or some other honorific MY titles will outnumber those who do not hold such titles. Trust these stupid fools to insult the MY honorofic titles.

Now aren’t you glad that you are just a plain Mr or Ms?

13. #13 by Emily Pratt on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:25 pm

Datukships in M’sia are dime a dozen. It has lost its intrinsic values. Yawn…

14. #14 by La Pax on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:28 pm

next election bn can make use of SK to get votes

15. #15 by madmix on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:29 pm

But Lim Guan Eng also give dato to a certain badminton player. Maybe PR states should set an example by being very very stingy with the dato thing and give only one or two per state per year. Also create a new class of dato to underline its higher value and prestige. Maybe Dato Seri Rakyat?

16. #16 by azisirikit on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:30 pm

My name is Aziz. Born in Melaka. My hometown Alor Gajah. What is that Khalil doing! Idiot! And why that Mamak M send him to Melaka (to be YDP) instead he should stay put in Pahang!

17. #17 by La Pax on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:34 pm

The misuse of ISA and mishonour of Datukship are no different now..

18. #18 by bentoh on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:34 pm

# madmix Says:
    Today at 14: 29.12 (1 minute ago)

But Lim Guan Eng also give dato to a certain badminton player. Maybe PR states should set an example by being very very stingy with the dato thing and give only one or two per state per year. Also create a new class of dato to underline its higher value and prestige. Maybe Dato Seri Rakyat?

==================================================

The difference is… The badminton player is a Malaysian and a Penangite. Also, the badminton player once brought himself (and the name of Malaysia) to the first in world ranking, though now edged by China player Lin Dan, he still managed to snatch several championship from the super series, and scored a silver in the concluded Beijing Olympic games…

Now, tell me more about Sharukh Khan, whether he is a Malaysian or Malaccan, or whether what he did actually brought Malaysia to fame internationally… ;)

19. #19 by CJ 27 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:49 pm

Datuk means Latuk la. Tak tahu la apa itu. Chong Wei pun datuk, Misbun pun datuk, Mamak Malik who swam across a river few years ago also Datuk. Ask ourselves what had they contributed to the country compare to LGE who spent 2 years in jail just to protect an innocent girl.
    Don’t blame Shah Rukh Khan, I’m sure he did not ask for the title.

So stop the fuss, let us be more caution of what is happening in this global financial crisis. Singapore confirmed is in recession. Better watch out Malaysia.

20. #20 by wanderer on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 2:55 pm

YB;

You are a son of Malacca and with your proven track records serving this nation are indisputable, why no Datukship for you?!!

21. #21 by happyhappy on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:14 pm

everyone want to complaint`if give it to you/you also want…
    stop being a silly … here….

22. #22 by m.hwang on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:14 pm

A pathetic attempt to appease Hindraf symphatisers!

23. #23 by raven77 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:26 pm

Orang Melaka sikit pun takde malu ka……the peon and the bankrupt sudah kasi jual Melaka habis habis….MALU MALU MALU !!!!

24. #24 by Cinapek on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:31 pm

YB, don’t waste your breadth and your energy on nondescript matter such as these.

Let them demean the value of the datukship they are conferrng. If in their eyes every tom, dick and harry is worthy, so be it. It is not surprising anyway because Malacca was also the same state that awarded the huge number of datukships recently. So, what is one more? There will come a day when every other person in Malacca will be a Datuk.

25. #25 by Tonberry on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:31 pm

Altantuya should be given the Tunship bcoz she promoted Malaysia to the Mongolians.

26. #26 by abunsui on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:33 pm

Whether you DATUK or not, we prefer to respect or Not respect the “REAL YOU”.

Example Only :
    If a “criminal” or “person with RM” is conferred with Datukship and a person like??????… let say….er, er er so difficult to find one : Nik Aziz Zik Mat not being conferred the Datukship – who are you going to respect??

So don’t respect the “Datukship” per se.

27. #27 by kftang on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:42 pm

77 Datuks made in a year from a small state with the stroke of a pen. There are 13 states and a Wilayah Persekutuan having the prilvilege to give awards. So just count how many Datukships will be created in a calendar year? In 10 years? As a popular saying goes, just throw a stone among the crowd and you are most likely to hit a Datuk! The award of a Datukship should be limited, deserving and controlled so that it has the respect and value that it deserves.

28. #28 by kisfiu on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:45 pm

Used to be Datuks are a dime a dozen … that was not so long ago from Pahang. Now, ali & co. are doing the one-upmanship in Melaka where Datuks are a dime a baker dozen !

29. #29 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:46 pm

I have no problem with Datukship for Shahrukh Khan. But if Shahrukh Khan is conferred Datuk, then Jackie Chan should be honored with Tunship. Jackie Chan had contributed a lot to this country. :D

30. #30 by drngsc on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:47 pm

The Malacca state gomen has lost its direction. Just tells us that datukship is a joke. We need a change.

31. #31 by LALILOo on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 3:51 pm

The datukship is so worthless that SR Khan will not be coming to Melacca to receive it. He’ll collect it when he is free.

32. #32 by Raitman on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 4:01 pm

What about Jenna Jameson for a Datukship? She never contributed anything useful for Malaysia but since some Malaysians like her , why not honour her? :D

33. #33 by owlz on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:32 pm

Mamak!!! Mamak!!! Mamak!!!
    WIKIPEDIA
    ————————————–
    Mamak is a term (derived from a Tamil word meaning uncle) used
    in Malaysia to describe the Tamil Muslim community and culture.
    Most Indian Muslims consider this term to be pejorative.
    A mamak stall, also referred to as mapley, is a type of food
    establishment which serves mamak food. In Malaysia, the term
    mamak refers to Indian Muslims, who generally own and operate
    them.

————————————————————
    p/s: Even Im a Malay and a muslim, I think even Kit Siang
    deserve that Datukship. Shah Rukh??? EERRGGHH!!!Wut the
    FISH??? Wut the FISH??? Wut the Fish???
    And aaa… Mahathir is a mamak also… UMNO? What about UMNO??

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:37 pm

On Nov 14 2003, Rais Yatim said it was common knowledge that datukships (in some states) could be bought, a state of affairs even the PM described as ‘very embarrassing’. Many businessmen pay for datukship not only for themselves but your companies’ runners so that they would find it harder to resign!

Intermediaries had also been charged in court with cheating businessmen of payment meant to get the latter’s an award that somehow failed to be awarded.

We also know of the arrests of some datuks for criminal activities and corporate fraud, in some cases their title withdrawn. People below 30s also had been awarded datukship raising question as to what they could have possibly contributed to society.

Now a Bollywood Star (not even a national) for his contribution to the entertainment industry at international level when he acted in a movie filmed in Malaysia.

So why not Sean Connery, Catherine Zeta Jones, Jodie Foster and Chow Yun-Fat? Maybe unlike Shah Rukh Khan they are really not interested in receiving such a title.

The conferral of titles and honorifics is an integral part of the feudal political culture and patronage system that is alive and kicking here – whatever the motives, laudable or demeaning behind such conferrals.

Isn’t it a right on the part of our feudal lords to bestow on whom they are pleased with – so why should we ordinary rakyat complain?

If they want to “sendiri shiok” it is no beef on my back.

There is sense in what Cinapek posted Today at 15: 31.54 , “YB, don’t waste your breadth and your energy on nondescript matter such as these. Let them demean the value of the datukship they are conferring. If in their eyes every tom, dick and harry is worthy, so be it”.

Even Tun Dr Mahathir mentioned that one of the problems with titles in Malaysia is the numbers given out. He stated in an interview “Personally, I feel if you want to give value to anything, it must be limited…if you produce a million Ferrari cars, nobody will care about buying a Ferrari.”

Maybe our YB is a wee worried just in case he is being conferred a title, as rumoured….

Meanwhile the real ‘knight’ of Malaysian society – Glocal Malay – is presently in Kamunting having a sojourn in KL to defend a sedition charge brought by the State. The emblem of true honour is having entered the gates of Kamunting in defence of the Malaysian Cause!

35. #35 by owlz on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:38 pm

OOWWHHH!!! One more thing, is it true that Shah Rukh
    is a muslim? Anyone can answer me? I just heard a news,
    dunno whether its true or not. But usually the Indians
    that using the the Khan or Shah or Rukh or Salman or
    Aamir, or Abdul or Mohd and else, usually they are muslims.

36. #36 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:43 pm

At least this much you have to give credit to PM’s SIL Khairy Jamaluddin presently in a battle for the Umno Youth chief’s post with Mukhriz Mahathir. He is not a Datuk. You think he can’t get meh if he wanted? Ghafar Baba & Daim also shunned honorifics until they were ultimately conferred Tunship, which in today’s feudal society, is the coveted title.

37. #37 by pizi87 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 5:59 pm

stupid malacca govornment. SRK has done nothing for melaka or malaysia lah except what, belly dancing on TV!

38. #38 by taiking1 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 6:46 pm

I suggest eveyone here be made a dato or datuk or dato’ or oh whatever for having contributed to this blogsite. And oh one more thing. Because I love you all. You guys are just fantastic.

39. #39 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 6:53 pm

It is the perogative of the Rulers or the Governors in Malaysia to give out their own sets of titles like datuk to any one. They can give it to a dumb for all we care.

40. #40 by tc on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 7:13 pm

Can anyone tell me how many datos,datuks,dato seri,datuk paduka,datok wira or whatever datos are there in Malaysia today?
    I sincerely hope LKS,LGE and the other PR MPs will not accept anymore datukship,otherwise what is the difference the good,the bad and the ugly.

41. #41 by kftang on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:05 pm

In reply to tc’s query on the total number of the various types of Datukships around in the country today, just log on to the website of the birthday honours’ list of Malaysia’s rulers and governors for every year, then he can tabulate the statistics and give us an answer. Please do us a favour. Thank you and good luck!

42. #42 by wtf2 on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:12 pm

simply a cheap trick to earn indian votes and heart. If Sharukh is smart he should not appear to collect his award. Not worth his while to get embroiled in UMNO politiks.

43. #43 by yhsiew on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:15 pm

Kit,

There is no free lunch in this world. Obviously a deal has been sealed in Shahrukh Khan’s case. Anyhow, it is not for us to pry into somebody’s private affair.

44. #44 by whattheheckman on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:19 pm

Shah Rukh Khan is a muslim but his wife is a hindu. In india this is common and does not lead to any controversy.

45. #45 by parajurit sarawak on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:39 pm

Well done Melaka. Sarawak Datuship is for crony and RM only. They ignored Parajurit. Ask TM, how many general are made Datuship? Sorry for SP holders like Sarawak Warrior Kanang anak Langkau.

46. #46 by rider on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 8:48 pm

Since Sharukh Khan did not come to collect his datukship , I Rider Khan am offering myself as the head of a delegation to deliver the stuff to the Mumbhai Khan on behalf of the Malacca state and also reach out to Sarath Kumar who shot a tamil movie ‘1974’ in KL, S.V.Sekhar who shot ‘Wonderful Malaysia’ and many others before them since they shouldn’t be forgotten too.. after all to lead a delegation involves taxpayers money what? and I haven’t seen Mumbhai in a long while, please? How about Genghiz Khan? did he conquer Malaya? he could have provided some genes what?

47. #47 by Jimm on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:02 pm

We sell anything to anyone under the skies.
    Malaysia Boleh ……

48. #48 by cemerlang on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:29 pm

cute. As if Malaysians are not good enough for the titles. The truth is many Malaysians are boleh and very good but because of political manipulation, they will not receive any. Instead of exalting fellow Malaysians, foreigners are exalted first or is it that their money is being exalted ? Thank you for filming and for bringing in the revenue for Malaysia. If Datuk and other titles is so great, why is there a tsunami ? Poor Malaysia. Always having to be the copy cat. Just because England gives away ” Sir “, so she has to give away her titles. This tells you all that Malaysia is still not really, truely, genuinely independent.
    Shahrukh Khan is undoubtedly very talented and he should go to Hollywood like our Datuk Michelle Yeoh. Actually Datuk can be subjected to ISA. Therefore whether one has a title or not, the most important thing is Malaysians know what you are up to. Oh ! Don’t forget. God knows about you too.

49. #49 by kevchua on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:47 pm

In my blog, I wrote something about awarding an award and I’m still very very VERY sore that the government is still practising wastage by giving awards to undeserving people. Shahrukh Khan DOES NOT DESERVE to be honoured with a Datukship though he is an internationally acclaimed artiste and though he has done his stints in Malaysia.

My god, whoever included his name on the award list should be fired from office. I wonder why my beloved TYT didn’t bother to strike Shahrukh’s name off the list. Rhetorical question. You know the answer.

http://cubs-roar.blogspot.com/2008/07/awarding-award.html

50. #50 by CSKUEH on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:48 pm

Having any title or not such as datuk is secondary, the most important is our attitude towards others and how we lead our life.
    “Don’t do anything from selfish ambition or from a cheap desire to boast, but be humble towards one another, always considering others better than yourselves.And look out for one another’s interest not just for your own (Philippians 2:3-4)”. This should be our legacy.

51. #51 by carcinoma on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 9:59 pm

i totally agree with Jimm, we sell everything including our own datuks! next time sell the sultan title la! i tot datukship is for those people that will contribute and further contribute to the country. i am not anti shah gang, he is a talented person but it is our side that over doing it! no wonder there is a saying about selangor, if u throw a stone in a busy street, 10 datuks will OUCH! the datukship has to be revised and given to people that are important to our country. honor them, dont sell the title! for those datuks that really are good and willing to help the public, i feel pity for them. all datuks are grouped into ordinary people who just took out 100,000RM to buy the title. this statement is from the eyes of the public. we assume they bought thetitle! so please dont let outsiders think that our datuks are easily granted. it is easier than getting a doctor’s degree!

52. #52 by bongkk on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:09 pm

THey have just turned the datuk title from cheap to worthless. You probably have never heard of anyone being addressed as Encik, Mr. or sir, right? You will agree with me that there are more people in m’sia being addressed as a datuk than an encik, Mr or a sir, correct? Thats how cheap a datukship have gotten to be.

53. #53 by mohrafael on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:18 pm

what else can we say about malaysia leaders? it has been like this, what a crazy fool…

54. #54 by humanly on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:19 pm

Whattheheckman is telling us something. He said Shah Rukh Khan is a Muslim while his wife is a Hindu. Any possibility the couple kena tangkap basah in their hotel room while they were in Malaysia? If the rumour is true, the title was to make up with him. But then, it looks like the superstar is giving Melaka a snub by not coming to receive his award.

55. #55 by OCSunny on Saturday, 11 October 2008 - 10:28 pm

Anyone who has grand children is classified a datuk. So what is the big deal as I am also a datuk. It has become a big joke in Malacca about this datukship awards. What a shame!?!

56. #56 by otyew on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 12:10 am

desperate man, do desperate (err….stupid things most of the time) things. wan to get the indian supporters n then find an indian star to become datuk for the ‘recognitions’?

i think the national geographic, discovery, cnn n so on will have a lot of malaysia datuk. somemore, ppl tak kisah for tat…..buat malu sendiri n malaysia.

57. #57 by parajurit sarawak on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 12:22 am

In Sarawak we have the highest of the Datukship. DATU PATINGGI. Who create it….????? and for WHOM???

58. #58 by blur on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 1:31 am

I think the people who really deserve the datukship title are the voters of Permatang Pauh. They shoved the shoe into UMNO’s mouth and gave the country hope for a new future. Kudos – to those who really voted. For those who didn’t, I can’t really tell but please accept my compliments kalau tak malu.

59. #59 by rubenz on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:13 am

If I were Shah Rukh, I would say that I decline the award, as long as the Hindraf 5 (and other political detainees) are detained under ISA.

60. #60 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 5:34 am

Shah Rukh Khan is a Muslim so he is given.Others do not qualify.Mohan Das was not a Muslim so Mahathir did not recommend him for Datukship.Nicol had to be recognised by the DAP and not by BN.We have such dicrepancies in this country.We never learn!

61. #61 by counsel888 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 8:26 am

Sadly the vast majority of you have lost the point here. Instead of the Xenophobic innuendo bing promoted here, one should ask what Datukships are for first. Then maybe find out what the criteria is for a Datukship, then whether that criteria has been met.

It matters not whether it is given to Sharuk Khan or a Chinese badminton player from Malaysia which appears to motivate the bulk of the anger here. Very much a Theresa Kok type of mentality.

Datukships were for a very long time given to towkays whose contribution to the economy was to enrich themselves (quite often through dubious means) and in the process enrich select sectors of the community (being their own usually) who paid a contribution to a Sultan to buy themselves respectability. Hopefully that culture has changed if it is not already.

62. #62 by negarawan on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 8:58 am

Datuk, Tan Sri, outside of Malaysia people don’t care. Even criminals have these titles. In God’s eyes, these titles have no meaning.

63. #63 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 9:18 am

Have anyone asked why did Daim do this? Daim, throughout his career, has been actually a very focus person, so the idea he is doing this to promote Malacca? I find it fishy… There is deal in it for him somewhere and Khaleed Nordin probably have a piece of it.

64. #64 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 11:53 am

If this half naked Bollywood star is given a Datukship, then every Malaysian deserves to be on the Datukship list too.

Why?

When we are out of this country we always call ourselves as Malaysian, not a Malay, a Chinese or Indians or any other ethnicity. By so doing, we are introducing Malaysia to the world and be proud of our culture and traditions. I am sure we can do a better job than a foreigner who can’t even speak Bahasa Melayu or understand the history of Malaysia. Don’t you think we are more deserving than this half naked Bollywood star?

What about the trishaw men who guide tourists around town giving them their first hand knowledge about the place or city they are in. I bet these trishaw men know more about Malaysia than this half naked Bollywood star. Don’t you think these trishaw men are more deserving than this half naked Bollywood star?

What about our taxi drivers who would chauffeur tourists around town giving them free tour guide services. These taxi men definitely know more about Malaysia than a foreigner who can’t even speak Bahasa Melayu or understand the history of Malaysia. Don’t you think these taxi men are more deserving than this half naked Bollywood star?

How many Malaysians has this half naked Bollywood star helped when shooting a movie in Malaysia? While the rest on Malaysian is worrying how to feed their family we have the UMNO elite class getting entertained by this half naked Bollywood star.

This gomen under UMNO has lost its way… to the point of no return.

65. #65 by khoo19 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 12:25 pm

Indirectly it is saying the tourist department in Malacca is not doing their work. Should the budget go the Bollywood or tourist department.?

66. #66 by whattheheckman on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 3:52 pm

Even in India, when the No. 1 man, the President, gives an award to the actor, there were occasions they dont turn up. Even if they attend the ceremony, u can see some of them stupidly dressed.
    Popular South Indian actor, Vijay, from Tamil Nadu received an award from the then President, Abdul Kalam, dressed so shabbly and unshaven. It appeared like a disgrace for a public function with the President of the world’s largest democracy in attendence as the guest of honour. But then, that is India, where some famous super star actor and actress are so popular with the general masses they hardly care two hoots for politicians and statesman.
    So do you think Shah Rukh Khan has time for Malacca, leave alone the rest of Malaysia.
    The Malacca state govt should give the award to some local indian who has done excellent public service to the people of malacca.
    If I am not mistaken PPP President Kaveas once said that the Malacca CM did not nominate a single PPP office bearer for Datoship inspite of them having worked hard with the Malacca CM in rain and shine. Instead, he said 200 ppl got datoship and they dont even have an address in Malacca. I will apologise if I am wrong on this but I remember reading this in the press.
    This is Malaysia and this will always be the case.
    Incidently any malaysian actor or actress honoured in India?

67. #67 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:39 pm

1. jackie chan lagi layak dari siapa khan…
    2. datukship bukan diberi tapi dibeli…nak murah beli dari mindanao la…

68. #68 by OldManoftheSea on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:39 pm

Have no idea who to give liau. Cheapen the “Datukship” And Sharul Khan do not know where the hell is Melaka although filmed in A’Farmosa resort. He only remember the resort. Ha!ha! ha! as I read in the paper today.

(Cheau Kah Lak Chui kee) laught until my teeth drop- a Hockien expression.

69. #69 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 6:43 pm

1. melaka, bagi la datuk kat lim kit siang & lim guan eng. lim guan eng kena masik jail sebab gadis melaka…
    2. altantuya (may you rest in peace) pun layak juga sebab malaysia dah terkenal di seluruh dunia…paling tidak semua rakyat mongolia dah kenal malaysia kalau tak melaka…

70. #70 by ahkok1982 on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 9:12 pm

Reading in between the lines… why Shahruk? Of course to rope him to promote BN!!!!! Then he will be used to bring back all the Indian votes..

Whatever they do, it has something political.

Tell me that i am wrong.

71. #71 by riversandlakes on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:39 pm

This is so stupid. We make ourselves (again and again) the laughing stock of the world.

72. #72 by lopez on Sunday, 12 October 2008 - 10:58 pm

dont fall for it, it is bullshit , and it is just another publicity stunt as usual,
    BTW pls look the rear side before you reverse your loory.

you might hit something you know…..smay velo always not as famous. even he unable to get audience so who are you a lahtuk from yee dia.

soory man not selling lah….spent so damn much of money and cant even produce a dwarf of p lamle.

sad , sad velly sad, what happen something wrong with the younger generation or something wrong with the people in moi

73. #73 by rotihailam on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 1:05 pm

It’s a great shame that the BN government as well as BN controlled state governments choose to honour foreigners for their dubious contributions to Malaysian society but at the same time ignore or discriminate in honouring Malaysians who have done much to make Malaysia proud. The 2 Malaysians of ethnic-Indian origin who reached the top of Mt Everest is a case in point. They were indeed honoured with some national awards for their heroism but it fell short of a Datukship whilst other Malaysians who swam the English Channel, sailed around the world as well as trekking to the two polar ice-caps were duly honoured with Datukships. It is my view that such discrepancies in the issue of Datukships speak volumes of the discriminatory practices of the BN government. Perhaps at least one of the Pakatan Rakyat state governments, in particular Selangor, should right this ‘wrong’ of the BN government by awarding these two fellas a Datukship each in the near future.

74. #74 by sivasundram on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 1:46 pm

Interesting comments on awarding a title to SRK and not to other movie personalties. I is quite simple really! SRK is a muslim!

75. #75 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 8:27 pm

C_ntleer & Rectum must be the most stupid persons in our land for making such a decision.
    You can’t blame them because their brains had long been fossilized.
    Please continue to expect moronic decision from both of them.
    HaHaHa. Say Goodbye to your brains, C_ntleer & Rectum.

76. #76 by Kongseemik on Tuesday, 14 October 2008 - 12:45 am

Why are all the famous anak-anak Melaka being left out? To award Datukship to Shah Rukh Khan is sheer mockery, aptly described by the Malay peribahasa “Anak di pangku kelaparan, beruk di rimba disusui”!!!

77. #77 by kurt82 on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 12:07 am

Better him than some of our so called “Dato’ / Datuk”!!!

78. #78 by eyeopening on Sunday, 7 December 2008 - 7:28 am

Just curious, why Shah Rukh Khan ? What was the recognition given to our very own heroes Magendran and Mohandas, the two Malaysians who first planted the Jalur Gemilang on Mount Everest in 1997. Why have they not been given their long-overdue proper recognition by government and nation .
    Why ? We need the answer. Because they are Malaysians of Indian Origin? Come on guys – we are not naive. Everyone is watching the government and the racist Umno’s every blundering move.

It is sickening !