D-Day for Abdullah – honourable or dishonourable exit?

It was exactly seven months ago this day that the March 8 political tsunami struck the Malaysian political landscape, resulting in today as D-Day for Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi – whether he will defend the Umno presidency.

Yesterday was a day of utter confusion with conflicting news throughout the day that Abdullah had been persuaded to “fight it out” including against his deputy, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, with all the weapons available to him to defend the posts of Umno President and Prime Minister.

The general consensus, however, is that “sanity will finally prevail” and Abdullah will succumb to the Umno Supreme Council pressures for an orchestrated five-month exit as Prime Minister by not contesting for the top Umno post.

If so, then the two most pertinent questions are:

1. Is it going to be an honourable or dishonourable exit for the fifth Prime Minister? and

2. Will the five-month succession interregnum pave the way for an end to the worsening multiple national crisis of confidence in the past seven months or whether it will plunge the country into a deeper rut and rot?

When he was asked on Monday what would be his focus in his remaining days as prime minister, regardless of when he decides to leave, Abdullah said he would use the time to make good on his promises to the rakyat.

He said: “There are uncompleted things, such as reforms I promised the rakyat.

“I will undertake them. Of course, I have to do it because what I promised, I will deliver.”

It is sad and pathetic to see Abdullah end his five-year premiership in a mirage – cocooned in total denial.

If Abdullah cannot deliver his many reform pledges when he was at the height of his power as a result of the greatest electoral victory and mandate ever won by any Prime Minister in half-a-century in March 2004, what could he achieve when he is being forced out of office after suffering the most ignominous electoral defeat in Umno and Barisan Nasional history?

It is a million times more difficult for Abdullah to deliver his reform pledges once he has announced his exit-plan today than when he won the landslide electoral mandate in the March 2004 general election.

But this could still be done, if Abdullah is prepared to “do the impossible” and use his last five months as Prime Minister to honour all the unfulfilled pledges and promises of the past five years – but this must be evident from today’s Cabinet meeting as well as the first day of the reconvened Parliament on Monday, October 13, 2008.

This will be an honourable exit for the fifth Prime Minister. It will be Abdullah’s tryst with destiny.

Can Abdullah embark on such an “impossible mission” in his last five months as Prime Minister, when there will be a de facto Prime Minister who will immediately and increasingly be more powerful than the de jure Prime Minister?

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:31 am

The minute he announces that he is not going to run for the presidency, everybody will ignore him from that point on. UMNO will ignore him, and even the civil service will ignore him. The country goes into another spiral for the next 5 months, and the focus will then be on Badawi’s successor – whether or not the Mongolian millstone around his neck could weigh down on his performance as the next PM.

2. #2 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:48 am

The truth is that his hands are tied, and there is simply no honourable way out. Even if he leaves in March, he still has a number of loose ends to tie up – and I don’t mean issues like ISA, Hindraf, etc. By “loose ends”, I mean the uncompleted deals between SCOMI and others, between his son-in-law and others, between his cronies and others. Badawi has to work harder than ever before in the next 5 months to ensure that the “joint-ventures” are completed as promised.

3. #3 by ctc537 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:51 am

Whatever decision he made, the PM still has at least a few months in office during which he can make all-important decisions for the well being of all Malaysians. He still has time to spring surprises. Don’t write him off yet. Hopefullhy, Pak Lah will never ‘mengalah’, but will come to his senses and make the best decision for the country.

4. #4 by 5titlah on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:09 am

What can he try to reform or implement even if he stays till March..? He was running the country for these few years & ample time to do sooo…… much, yet he failed big time..!

The longer he holds on to power the more depressed the rakyat will be.

Currently these goons are looking after themselves & securing their own stronghold in the goverment.
    Hey…! Malaysia economy is going down the longkang & they’re busy wiping arses ! Serve the rakyat first…..

Once PM decides to step down… what makes you all think the next PM will be better..???

Be afraid…..
    Be very very afraid………………!

5. #5 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:38 am

The only way to get him to reform is for the BN parties to advise him they will leave the BN unless he completes some tasks like the “illegals” problem in Sabah etc.
    They should also demand the DPM’s portfolio as without the other BN components, UMNO cannot rule Malaysia.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/10/malaysiakini-reports-on-bn-farewell.html

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:41 am

The short, simple and obvious answer is NO of course. Its just ridiculous. When faced with tough choice, the man does the dumb thing consistently and the postphonement is a face-saving that is not.

But what is gross is not just this ‘time to finish’ indulgence is that it sets a worst precedent that will delay further issues within UMNO. There is the battle for no. 2 which will then lead to battle for no. 1. UMNO is a machine that indulges its leaders again and again. It is as if we are back in the 18th/19th century and the Sultans have to be indulged when in fact they are so wrong and have been wrong for so long…

7. #7 by wanderer on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:42 am

If PM does carry out his promises to the nation, his ‘vultures’ comrades, will take this opportunity, to serve him with a dishonorable discharge.
    “You make the bed, you sleep in”

8. #8 by wanderer on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:43 am

sorry mistyped, should read, ‘does not carry out’

9. #9 by king cobra on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:47 am

makes no difference ………..whether he cut short his tenure , so much damage been done to this country during his 4 yrs as PM…..so can he do wonders to heal this country with just a few more months to go before he makes way for his successor ?

so long as bn is still in power , this country no hope / chance of recovery………..

10. #10 by Jan on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:50 am

He’s not going to do it, his track record is proof of the man we are dealing with. He’s a proven liar, he’s mediocre, lazy, sleepy and afraid to make decisions that offends anybody. He’s simply not cut for the job and it amazes many how such a person could end up in the highest position of the land.
    His successor is no better going into the job with a HUGE albatross round his neck. Our future PM is already in a compromised position even before he starts his job and could be intimidated to do things contrary to good governance. The future of this country is bleak if Pakatan do not make a breakthrough soon.

11. #11 by ahoo on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:41 am

It just cannot be honourable for being the shortest serving PM. With a huge mandate back in 2004, there were hardly any good things going for the people then and what make us think that he can do great things in 5 months ? The much talked about reforms ended with the law minister resigning and what hope can we have from the current govt when premiership can be pass on like a relay team, passing of batons.

It can only be honourable for him IF he decides to have the will to reform the ISA and turn all detainees over to court and charge them in court with the rule of law. And not forgetting to have the will to allow the ACA to be directly answerable to a select committee tasked by Parliament. That will justify that ACA is with tooth and not toothless. Finally, let us remind him that one of the promised task is IPMC which is to prevent selective prosecution and the perceived guilty until proven innocent concept.

12. #12 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:45 am

It would be even worst for malaysia. The ‘appointed’ prime minister has so many scandals with him and has never proved himself other than the fact that he is a yes man. He used ISA against people who wrote about him and who met Saiful to plant charges against Anwar. His only hospitality is to have cared about some one who complained about painful anus. His credential is a major concern. I can only predict that malaysia will turn from worse to even worse. Abdullah, have your last breath!

13. #13 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:49 am

abdullah ahmad badawi biografiku
    1.0 ibubapaku
    2.0 abangabangkakakkakakku
    3.0 adikadikku
    4.0 anaku kamal dan bininya
    5.0 anaku nori
    6.0 menantuku
    7.0 cucucucuku
    8.0 saudarasaudara dekatku
    9.0 saudarasaudara jauhku
    10.0 ibu bapa abang kakak adik anak angkatku
    11.0 ahliahli umno yang menyokongku
    apalagi ha nak tulis….?

14. #14 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:54 am

pak najib, bila jadi PM nanti nak jumpa boleh? poket sakit lah…sebab ekonomi merosot sangat…ala tak kan tak bole saiful jumpa bila dubur dia sakit boleh…

15. #15 by newchief on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:59 am

BO WILL STILL CONTEST!!!
    Reason : bcs his ‘BEHIND THE SCENE MEN’ instruct and insist so. the ‘men’ who will lose out if bo calls it quit are especially his son who has a business deal for copter for a period of 30years AND khairy who wants to become the YOUNGEST EVER PM of Malaysia. another person who has the most influence to demand bo to stay on to become PM is HIS PRESENT WIFE!!! surprise or not??

not that his wife loves politics but she LOVES the attention and limelight of being in ‘RICH AND FAMOUS LIFESTYLE’ . whenever bo goes for official especially overseas, she would tag along (wasting the taxpayers’ money) . is it because she doesn’t trust her husband or it is because all expenditure paid are claim-able from the government. before her, when bo’s ex-wife (deceased now) was around, bo looks like a very caring and nice person for the rakyat and is a resposible PM. however, once this wife takes over, bo seems to have totally changed !!

bo will probably say ‘i will contest for the last time in march and leave IMMEDIATELY after I have done my homework (reforms) for malaysia on or before 2010 deadline . if can, i might exit politics before end of June 2009!!’

this will be another ‘tipuan’ on those eagerly to see him if this should come true !! for the rakyat, it is BETTER the whole of BN LEAVE politics and give PK the chance to prove that they can manage the country BETTER!!

16. #16 by oknyua on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:11 pm

After his “not contesting” annoucement, its going to be “battle royal” worse than the MCA mud-fight. The position determines the size of the spoil.

Sometimes we are just busy-body to look at the other side of our fence. But we can’t help it because they determine who our new PM would be. And if PR is not going to form the gov’t soon, these fighters would cont to form the gov’t. The way they fight each other reflects exactly the way they had and will rule the country. We have enough of this, a party of shameless greedy people.

It is too bad that we are constitutionally prevented from removing them. The next GE is 2012 – and before that date, God helps us that our economy won’t be wrecked further and all the good people don’t end up in Kamunting.

17. #17 by chinymin on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:21 pm

“”He said: “There are uncompleted things, such as reforms I promised the rakyat.

“I will undertake them. Of course, I have to do it because what I promised, I will deliver.”””

==================================================

It is indeed hearty to note that at this very hour AAB is still in eagerness to undertake to do uncompleted things that he promised the rakyat, which he had not been able to carry out during the last 4 or 5 years in full power. Let’s see what magical stunts he has in store for us for the next 5 months to really do the uncompleted things for us Malaysian.

God blessed.

18. #18 by monsterball on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:31 pm

I have seen idiots..become extremely smart…when the situation warrants it.
    This is more so…by a stupid selfish man…like Dollah is.
    And Dollah is such a man…that when.. concerning his own future and benefits……it will be the smartest thing for him to do….not to resign and let the fun begins.
    Most of the UMNO guys are playing cat and mouse with Dollah….perhaps..to test his will power and wise decision maker.
    Wise he is not. good decision maker he is not…but for personal benefits…he will be most wise and will make a good decision.
    He will let UMNO supreme council people….to create history…to actually shame themselves…by not supporting their President..to dare them…vote against his Presidency.
    I think he will do that….to shut all of the mouths……or pull them all to the dustbin…they have prepared for him.
    Like Tunku Razaleigh said…all of them are so corrupted…..how to you expect anyone to do the right thing?
    So Dollah should face them bravely…and not resign.
    When I put out this message…I have not heard his decision yet.

19. #19 by lee wee tak_ on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:59 pm

Jan Says:

He’s not going to do it, his track record is proof of the man we are dealing with. He’s a proven liar, he’s mediocre, lazy, sleepy and afraid to make decisions that offends anybody. He’s simply not cut for the job and it amazes many how such a person could end up in the highest position of the land.
    ————————————————————-

Come on now, he was handpicked by Mahathir and given a gentle handover of 18 months period.

A teacher’s competence should be judged by the results of his/her student.

20. #20 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 1:14 pm

Despite being challenged by Najiv and his associates, Abdullah did not use ISA and sodomy against them…..he is different from Mahathir? We really do not know what is going to happen. if Abdullah can get rid of these associates. As everyone knows, he may hold the tail of Najiv on the murdering of Mongolian women, sales of submarines,….dll . Is Abdullah going to do anything on these issues?

21. #21 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 1:27 pm

Abdullah can make use of RPK case now to switch to his advantage by letting RPK talk about the murdering of Mongolian lady and N involvement in the court. This would effectively black mailed N. Of course, this is under the assumption that he (Abdullah) controls the judicial system, as we all suspected?

22. #22 by abunsui on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 1:28 pm

AAB is well known as “SLEEPING PM”. But one thing that scared me so much is C4.

If Najib said he is “not” involved, why don’t he summon those who accused him in court to clean his name. Why just “SUMPAH”.

It’s really fearful to have him to be the next PM of Malaysia who is “It look like me (criminal) but i can’t confirm whether it is me (criminal) – correct, correct, correct”!!.

Why don’t he go to court to clean his name???
    WHY?
    WHY?
    WHY?????????

I need a VERY FIRM answer to this VERY IMPORTANT QUESTION.

23. #23 by Damocles on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 1:34 pm

“If Abdullah cannot deliver his many reform pledges when he was at the height of his power as a result of the greatest electoral victory and mandate ever won by any Prime Minister in half-a-century in March 2004, what could he achieve when he is being forced out of office after suffering the most ignominous electoral defeat in Umno and Barisan Nasional history?”

Uncle Lim, it takes a genius to squander away such an earth shattering mandate!!!
    However, you can bet on him and UMNO to be geniuses in this sort of thing.
    Just like they squandered away the national wealth!!
    The only credible & effective government that we will ever have will come from the PR!

24. #24 by Bobster on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 1:43 pm

Pak Lah is a gone case PM.

27 million population in this country not going to be sympathetic with him, whether he got sacked or sack himself. First 4 yrs as PM recorded 80+ overseas trips. Equivalent to 2 weeks disappearance from the country within a month for 4 consecutive yrs! This is too much. His flip-flop undecisive policies as well as mega billions ringgit corridors projects really going to bankrupt this country in time to come. Does he ever know ROI of the multi-billions ringgit investment as he keen to say ‘I don’t know?!’

Come on Pak Lah, your time is out.

But you still have a chance to leave a legacy and turn around the situation by abolish ISA or minimum release the innocent detainees, get rid of all the OSA, ACA whatever nonsense and earn yourself a good name as Bapa Democrasi. While you still have some time and power in hand, action before it is too late. When you get stripped off your power tomorrow, you will be remembered and recorded in the Malaysia History Book of Record of what you did before you step down.

Act before it is too late!

25. #25 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 2:20 pm

08102008 ntv7 1pm
    tengku razaleigh terang terang cakap pasal politik wang mencurah curah ke bahagian… politik wang=rasuah berlaku berleluasa di negara bolehland ini ? apa dah jadi dengan ACA ? polis memang dah tak boleh harap sebab depa pun mata duitan jugak. ACA pun rasuah jugak di negara bolehland ini ? budak darjah 3 pun boleh bagitau, tangkap aje tengku razaleigh bawah ISA toce dia sampai dia bagi nama/bukti kemudian tangkaplah orang yang mencurah curah duit yang entah datang dari mana….

26. #26 by newchief on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 2:27 pm

it looks like PK can’t rise to the occassion to oust BN out. even if they try to place a motion of no-confidence with majority, we don’t expect the speaker TO GRANT this motion (look at datin azizah case when she wanted a debate ONLY) and there is no laws to support such a motion. We also expect the worst result even if PK tries to go for the Agung because the Agung is not involved in politics AT ALL. the only way to press for a new election would be to have the consent and support of ALL SULTANS & AGUNG!! should bo still ignore as such, the Agung can INSTRUCT the Armies and Police to arrest ALL BN who rejected the decision of the Agung and All The Sultans!!

to really convince the royalties, there must be strong evidence of enough MP supports (not based on heresay) and strong reasons as to why BN should be dropped (poor management, corruption, lack of investors, rakyat facing un-controllable price hike of EVERYTHING, etc). there must even be solid alternatives and solutions to overcome what BN has done as well!!

from what i see, only some in PK are really trying very hard to come up with ideas to oust BN while the rest are like ‘waiting for the durian to fall’ . as a known fact, anwar is now FIGHTING FOR HIS LIFE on the court case and i doubt he has the time to topple the government.

come what may if worse comes to worst with no new dawn for malaysian, i have no choice but to accept bo as the reigning PM instead of nashit as this man is like a very dangerous man and will without hesitation, abuse isa more than bo!! there will be more ‘kamunting centres’ be built to please the demands of isa detainees!! by the way, can anyone tell me under whose authority can C4 explosives be taken from the shelf ???

though both are ‘crooks’ , one SLEEPS while the other HUNTS ! we only need to run for our life when the sleepy Awakes BUT we run Forever from the Hunter!!!

27. #27 by wtf2 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 2:29 pm

whether he stays or leaves he’s is not a respected, trusted or honorable.
    So is the current heir apparent.

So how does it matter?

28. #28 by k1980 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 2:45 pm

Hail to the sleeping mullah, Bapa Isa!

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 2:55 pm

YB Kit,

Why nudge the PM complete reforms on his own against backdrop of his own party’s warlords and power brokers seeking to push him out and obstructing him – when it is you, Anwar and Opposition Pakatan Rakyat with 88 MPs who hold the trump card to take matters in your hands and make things work?

We don’t need 31 crossovers from Sabah & Sarawak kataks to make things work.

16th September has come and gone and Anwar could not deliver. It is time to think out of the box when dealing with a strong political adversary like the BN, 50 years in power.

All you need – I suggest – are 31 UMNO & BN MPs desirous of Abdullah Ahmad Badawi “to stay” as PM until 2010 to replace – in substitution – of the 31 BN kataks who never jumped.

I suggest when Parliament resumes on 13th October, Pakatan Rakyat with its 88 members move a motion of confidence for Abdullah Ahmad Badawi “to stay” as PM until 2010 – whether or not he contests or give up contest, remains or not remain as President of UMNO.

82 PR MPs plus 30 + BN MPs on PM’ side will carry the motion “to stay” as PM until 2010 [whether or not he contests or give up contest of UMNO’s president post, remains or not remain as President of UMNO] – meaning also whosoever who subsequently becomes or gets elected as UMNO’s president cannot take advantage of the convention to be a replacement PM since the post of PM of government is governed by Federal Constitution as distinct from the post of UMNO’s president governed by UMNO’s constitution, and according to the Federal Constitution the PM’s position must be given to he who, in Yang di Perttuan Agong’s judgment, commands the majority of Dewan Rakyat, with no distinction whether they are BN or Opposition’s MPs or mixed combination of both.

I will suggest reasons for my suggestion in subsequent posts.

30. #30 by rainbowseahorse on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:05 pm

The honourable thing for Pak Lah to do in his final months in office?
    Hmmmm, that depends on the type of person he really is. If he really is as religious as he is made out ot be, then he should:
    1) Immediately release all ISA detainees.
    2) Throw out DSAI ridiculous court case.
    3) Revamp and Install credible Judiciary judges.
    4) Revamp the Police force with credible & (reasonable)honest personnel.
    5) As an added bonus, throw Ahmad Racist & the ex-Yemenis minister into Kamunting for two weeks with full “5 stars” food service.

After all, Pak Lah is STILL the Prime Minister of Malaysia and so he can STILL do what he likes.

31. #31 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:11 pm

I hope I will be able to say later today, “I told you so”. Abdullah will fight it out till the end. My take on Sept 25. http://mrsmith2.blogspot.com/2008/09/abdullah-will-not-step-down-unless-he.html

32. #32 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:14 pm

Yes that is a clever move.
    Even if the vote is defeated, it will demonstrate that whoever takes over the UMNO President’s post will have to pass the same test.

33. #33 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:16 pm

“I suggest when Parliament resumes on 13th October, Pakatan Rakyat with its 88 members move a motion of confidence for Abdullah Ahmad Badawi “to stay” as PM until 2010”. Jeffry.

But then what happens to the country during that period? Abdullah would have lost his legitimacy to lead the government if he failed to get the support of his own party, assuming he wins the confidence vote through Pakatan’s support.

34. #34 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:18 pm

· Unless you wish others from UMNO to take over that you think are better you’re giving present PM a reprieve to execute reforms within a longer time than 5 months;

· The move is consistent with rakyat’s wish that the PM is appointed direct by people through their MPs whether in ruling or opposition coalition ala American politics style which circumvents the conventional route of the issue being determined exclusively by power brokers within bthe ruling party of the ruling coalition;

· It is consistent with what Tengku Razaleigh said that it was time that the country facing a crisis as evinced by Global Financial Crisis and plunge today of all Asian Markets. If we cannot have a “national government” from both BN & PR we can at least have a PM supported by majority of MPs from both coalitions for a start;

· An unexpected move of motion confidence for the PM initiated by Opposition will throw all warlords vying for positions within ruling party into disarray and confusion as to what to do. Firstly they cannot oppose such a motion expressing confidence on their own leader; secondly if passed and unrevoked by subsequent motion – whereby at all times the PR with 81/82 MPs hold the card as “king maker” – it is PR 81/82 MPs with Pak Lah supporters MPs who will call the shots to determine who is the PM, according to Federal Constitution, rather than UMNo’s constitution as to who is president.

· Effectively it means that even if Pak Lah were to resign as UMNO president or is defeated in UMNO presidential elections, he can, in so far as the government’s post of Prime Minister is concerned, remain – per the Article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution – the Prime Minister of Malaysia with majority of Dewan Rakyat’s MPs support for so long as the Pakatan Rakyat deems fit. :)

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:18 pm

The MalaysianInsider reported that last night Pakatan Rakyat (PR)’s laders deliberated to move a motion of no confidence.

Now that is well and good if you really have the number of BN kataks to cross the floor and by majority carry the motion. However if not – if its hype – then I suggest you act opposite and move a motion of confidence for the PM instead, which with at least 31 Pak Lah’s MP supporters, it will have the requisite majority to carry.

Such a contrarian move has several advantages:

· Unless you wish others from UMNO to take over that you think are better you’re giving present PM a reprieve to execute reforms within a longer time than 5 months;

· The move is consistent with rakyat’s wish that the PM is appointed direct by people through their MPs whether in ruling or opposition coalition ala American politics style which circumvents the conventional route of the issue being determined exclusively by power brokers within bthe ruling party of the ruling coalition;

· It is consistent with what Tengku Razaleigh said that it was time that the country facing a crisis as evinced by Global Financial Crisis and plunge today of all Asian Markets. If we cannot have a “national government” from both BN & PR we can at least have a PM supported by majority of MPs from both coalitions for a start;

· An unexpected move of motion confidence for the PM initiated by Opposition will throw all warlords vying for positions within ruling party into disarray and confusion as to what to do. Firstly they cannot oppose such a motion expressing confidence on their own leader; secondly if passed and unrevoked by subsequent motion – whereby at all times the PR with 81/82 MPs hold the card as “king maker” – it is PR 81/82 MPs with Pak Lah supporters MPs who will call the shots to determine who is the PM, according to Federal Constitution, rather than UMNo’s constitution as to who is president.

· Effectively it means that even if Pak Lah were to resign as UMNO president or is defeated in UMNO presidential elections, he can, in so far as the government’s post of Prime Minister is concerned, remain – per the Article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution – the Prime Minister of Malaysia with majority of Dewan Rakyat’s MPs support for so long as the Pakatan Rakyat deems fit. :)

36. #36 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:36 pm

If he is going to contest, I would say ‘smart abdullah!’ He is not sleeping at all, doing it at midnight 3 am.
    once you said no, then your ticket is gone forever.
    but if you say yes, you can still drop out if the response will be bad.
    abdullah is definitely smart.
    now let those 5 who have declared to contest, go to contest against Najiv.
    we shall know the answer soon

37. #37 by abunsui on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:37 pm

Yes, you are correct Mr. Smith.

Look at India : Their PM is Manmohan Singh. Their governed political party Head is Sonia Ghandi. Their Constitution quite similar to Malaysian Constitution. Sonia cannot be PM of India because she considered “outsider” (Italian national if not mistaken).

Pak Lah can cling to the PMship until and unless he is voted out by MPs in Parliament included those 31 or more as mentioned by DSAI.

The fact is Abdulalh kicked out of UMNO! He afraid to meet DSAI and resume Emergency Parliament Session on 23.9.2008. May be today Abdullah also kicked out by BN Council?

May be his think thank “son in law” has other option to overcome this scenario. We don’t know.

Whatever it is, This is the BEST Live MOVIE I ever seen whole my life so far.

I hope Yusof Haslam will make it as Movie Film next time. The excitement of the movie may be more than “SEVAJI THE BOSS”.

Who want to offer themselves to act as hero team such as DSAI, KIT SIANG, HADI, ETC.

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 3:49 pm

Mr Smith you have responded by saying Abdullah would have lost his legitimacy to lead the government if he failed to get the support of his own party, assuming he wins the confidence vote through Pakatan’s support.

This is not true. It is Abdullah having greater legitimacy to lead the government with support from both coalitions (BN & PR), a sort of national coalition government that Ku Li talks of (earlier) with eloquence and inspiration.

His legitimacy to lead the country with majority support of his party UMNO is the old and conventional way but in light of present realities of 8th March political tsunamy is no more the tenable way because his party, in the views of rakyat, has already lost moral legitimacy to lead….

Whereas Pak Lah leading with majority of parliamentary support from both sides of political divide is the broad national way that has both legal constitutional and moral legitimacy, especially when country is facing crisises of all kind today, which is the greater reason for national consensus to rule as first suggested by Ku Li.

The advantage is Pakatan rakyat still holds the trump card as a king maker and to nudge and cajole the PM to complete his reforms that he has promised but has not delivered and in respect to which he has no more excuses such his being overwhlemed by opposition to reforms by his party’s reactionaries/power brokers because his rule now is underpinned by national bipartisan rather than UMNO’s support!

39. #39 by Swarnabumi on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 4:02 pm

YB LKS,
    It does not matter whether ever sleeping PM stays or remains awake.
    One of the paramount important thing TODAY is the families of ISA detainees. The multi-millionaire BN politicians have no time for this.
    Syed Hamid Albar signs and next he destroys an innocent child’s future. For him it is making a living! He cares not for the needy!
    At least you can get the ball rolling. An NGO set-up where Malaysians contribute at least RM1 a month. 100,000 caring Malaysians will easily come forward.
    This innocent people need to pay their bills while the sole bread earner is languishing in Kemunting speaking the truth. They can manage the first 6 months but not 2 or 4 years. Let the abusers know that , the families will be taken care by true Malaysians.
    You are in the position to organize this noble act. Please consider

40. #40 by docjitra55 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 4:03 pm

I contended that DSAAB will stay to defend his post. There are many issues at stake and he cant afford to lose any. In additon his challenger is in his grip. He has the upper hand and the final say. Nobody is at present capable of unsitting him and that is the most powerful ammunitation that he has currently. He had many options to deal with his challenger/s and the only challenger that may dent him is only from the opposition. Let us see how the opposition plays the card. In the mean, fellow Malaysians please brace for the worse in terms of economy and malaysia future direction. This is the time of ‘war’ in during war time everything else is not important, what counts is survival.

UMNO is currently very weak and fragile, there are many new camps emerging and many young aspiring leaders are emerging and that is very healthy for a democratic country but not during ‘war time’. MCA is just another party that is as corrupted as its’ big brother. It cant do much to rebuild the country or salvage its’ dignity. The party will be doom in the next PRU and so the MIC. It is time for other component party to wake up and do something to save our country. There are many party out there that share the same idealogy as the opposition and even some of the BN MPs are aware what is currently good for the country.
    DSAAB should realise that it is too late for him to carry out any reforms. He has ample times (since 2004) and to do it now is a very intricate matter. Will he expose all the wrong doings of his family members? The way they acquire their wealth? It just cant happen and will not happen.

41. #41 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 4:06 pm

It’s never easy now for me to resign
    Without finishing big plans in my design
    Haven’t you all seen my early warning sign
    What you actually get is what I personally assign

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 081008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Wed. 8th Oct. 2008.

42. #42 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 4:19 pm

“the SMS that is flying out from the room at the PWTC is that Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has informed the heads of the component parties that he is not defending his Umno president’s post. He also told them that he would step down in March. Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak will take over.” – New Malaysia 3:53pm
    ———————-
    Looks like AAB is going down tamely.

43. #43 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 4:44 pm

If PR = ABB MP’s supporters support AAB as PM via motion of confidence passed, indirectly it means no successor as UMNO president can be PM just because he is elected UMNO president since he would necessarily lack majority of Dewan Rakyat’s support.

Which effectively means an MP – whether it be AAB or Ku Li or Najib, or Muhyiddin or anybody, even Ong Ka Ting – as long as his individual MP supporters from BN plus all of PR’s MPs exceed more than 50% of the total number of parliamentarians in the Lower House, this person would meet the criteria of appointment as PM as per article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution.

This means the president of the dominant party within the ruling coalition may have less support in Dewan Rakyat than another (say) AAB if he from BN has PR’s full support……

This also means a person can carry on as Prime Minister even though he concedes or loses the president’s post in UMNO, and that for the first time the convention of UMNO’s presidency being equal to Prime Minister’s post is severed…..(which was not the case beforee because BN always had two third majority) but now it is not the case where Pakatan Rakyat’s 82 MPs voting as a bloc are the real king makers as to whom qualifies as PM!

Think of this implication whether PR is moving a motion of no confidence against or a motion of confidence for any particular MP in Dewan Rakyat!

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 4:46 pm

Typo error in beginning of posting – ” If PR + ABB MP’s supporters” – not “=”.

45. #45 by melurian on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 4:58 pm

if aab to step down i’ll say god will help malaysia ……..

46. #46 by monsterball on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:01 pm

He quits March next year!!
    He has no balls!!!

47. #47 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:06 pm

He can’t quit if motion of no confidence of his deputy went through.

48. #48 by Bobster on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:43 pm

Good suggestion Swarnabumi. If BN does’t care less to act, we the rakyat will gather resources to help. Give a BIG tight slap to this bodol bn policy makers.

May I suggest not just family of ISA detainees. All the hardcore extreme poors in the PR states will get help from state government as well as contribution for fellow rakyats who care. BN doesnt care less for the country, all goons only worry for own pocket. Time for PR to work hand in hand with the rakyat to help the family of ISA detainees and extreme poor in PR states.

Let’s gather strength and give a BIG tight SLAP to this D-End gomen once and for all.

Swarnabumi Says:

Today at 16: 02.10 (2 hours ago)
    One of the paramount important thing TODAY is the families of ISA detainees. The multi-millionaire BN politicians have no time for this.
    Syed Hamid Albar signs and next he destroys an innocent child’s future. For him it is making a living! He cares not for the needy!
    At least you can get the ball rolling. An NGO set-up where Malaysians contribute at least RM1 a month. 100,000 caring Malaysians will easily come forward.
    This innocent people need to pay their bills while the sole bread earner is languishing in Kemunting speaking the truth. They can manage the first 6 months but not 2 or 4 years. Let the abusers know that , the families will be taken care by true Malaysians.
    You are in the position to organize this noble act. Please consider

49. #49 by Loh on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:36 pm

///Now that is well and good if you really have the number of BN kataks to cross the floor and by majority carry the motion. However if not – if its hype – then I suggest you act opposite and move a motion of confidence for the PM instead, which with at least 31 Pak Lah’s MP supporters, it will have the requisite majority to carry.///–Jeffrey

Only one snag; AAB would have the support of all the MPs in BN if he remains the President of UMNO. When he does not, his erstwhile UMNO supporters will be endearing themselves to the new UMNO President because they look beyond one term as Ministers. That goes with MPs of other BN component parties too.

50. #50 by kosmoalpha on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:59 pm

one of the honorable ways to quit for dollah would be dissolve the parliment n call for a snap election….let najis proves that the rakyat really trust him at the helm!!at this juncture in time,he is too tainted with ‘dirt’ n ‘scum’,to the extent that he is virtually left without any image that fit him the least to be adressed as leader!

51. #51 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 11:24 am

Loh’s comments on the ‘snag’ is not really, in my view, the real snag.

Loh’s premise is that AAB would have the support of all the MPs in BN only if he remains the President of UMNO, which I think what he implies is that the BN’s MPs’ main allegiance is not to principles but the benefit of loyalty to the position of Prime Minister that dispenses the largese and patronage benefits (a fair comment, in my view).

However Loh, what I am saying is that the convention of UMNO’s presidency = Prime Ministership no more holds true today if 82 PR’s MPs solidly support en bloc a BN candidate like (sau) Ku Li whose 30+ or 40 MPs (assuming he has such support) could still support Ku Li when he is not UMNO’s president precisely because notwithstanding not being UMNO president, he could, with PR’s support, become the Prime Minister, remaining still the fountain of patronage to them…

One of the real snags is basically the unchangeable mindsets of people (both in BN & PR) who are unable to dissociate the leader/president of dominant party in the ruling coalition in party terms from that of prime Minister in government terms…..And yet many people – at least in this blog – are complaining why should UMNO be final arbiter of who is Prime Minister when UMNO may have lost much of its legitimacy to rule! I am arguing here for a PM to hold its own from majority of parliamentarians as people’s representatives to circumvent the convention.

There is much to be said in favour of what Ku Li said about the need of a national coalition govt constituted from both BN and PR to forge consensus to lead the country forward against the threats and travails of the challenging economic environment ahead.

If this is not immediately possible, the next nearest is some one (say) hypothetically Ku Li who although could not summon sufficient support within his own party to be President could however summon sufficient support of MPs from some of his own party as well as other BN component parties which together with 100% of PR’s MPs (assuming that is the case) would aggregate the majority in Dewan Rakyat to meet the constitutional criteria of holding the post of Prime Ministership better than any other contenders in UMNO.

The other real snag is that that cannot happen – even assuming it is good for the country – because PR’s Anwar would also want to realise his ambition as PM in competition with Ku Li even if in Anwar’s case, he could not get the 30+ BN MPs to defect in support of PR’s motion of no confidence on BN, whereas in the other case of Ku Li, he might be able to get the 30+ BN MPs to support notwithstanding he is not UMNO’s president.

52. #52 by Swarnabumi on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:15 pm

Well there is nothing much to feel about Pak Lah finale.He had enjoyed himself, messed-up billions of ringgit and made the rakyat life miserable with his ” super” administration skills. And his appointed successor , another 2 x 5 . The rakyat don’t have much hope on him either!
    For the politicians it is very easy . Just pick-up an A4 paper and write “I have sacrificed for the nation 35 years. I resign”. The future generation must foot all the billions that went down the drain! Anyway they don’t thank the rakyat for the 35 years of perks and luxury they were enjoying at the expenses of the rakyat in their resignation letter.

53. #53 by Loh on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 2:20 pm

Ku Li will be waiting until 8 November 2008 to decide whether he would ever be PM through UMNO before deciding to seek alternate route. Anwar should be happy to be DPM with Ku Li as PM comes December 2008.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 4:34 pm

It may be true that Anwar might have to accept being DPM with Ku Li as PM comes December 2008 in case where Anwar does not have the numbers to fell the govt.

Otherwise whoever takes over as PM with whom there is no deal or understanding with Anwar, it implies Anwar is vulnerable to arrests thereafter well before the next elections 4 years down the road.

So Anwar & Pakatan Rakyat really haven’t a choice (if they have been bullshitting on having the numbers of BN defectors that they don’t actually have).

The only way is to strike deal with one UMNO PM aspirant like (say) Ku Li and proceed on basis of article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution to support that person as PM with understanding that when such a person becomes PM, he would work to form national government, bringing in Anwar/PR into the power equation – or something along those lines.