Abdullah – Flip-flops to the very end

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi flip-flops to the very end!

This morning, the grapevine was abuzz with his latest flip-flop that he has decided to defend his positions as Umno President and Prime Minister after a three-hour meeting with some 200 of his supporters at his Putrajaya official residence which started at about 11 pm last night and dragged into the wee hours of the morning.

This was blogged by three-term Umno MP for Parit Sulong and former Backbenchers Club, Ruhanie Ahmad at 3.32 am.

If so, that was the penultimate flip before the ultimate flop, which Star editor-in-chief Wong Chun Wai blogged at 3.53 pm that SMS flying out from the ongoing Barisan Nasional Supreme Council meeting at PWTC was that Abdullah had thrown in the towel and succumbed to the Umno Supreme Council pressures for an early exit in March next year.

There was a pathetic last stand by a handful of Abdullah’s supporters at Putrajaya this morning and PWTC this evening, urging him to remain steadfast to the mid-2010 power transition plan instead of being forced out 15 months earlier in March next year.

The die is cast. This die was actually cast seven months ago in the March 8 political tsunami.

Abdullah has told the BN Supreme Council what almost everyone had expected, that he would not defend his Umno president’s post and will quit in March next year, to set another dubious record as the country’s most short-lived Prime Minister.

The political landscape has not materially changed with Abdullah’s enforced exit but new configurations will surface with the rise of a new curtain, with new characters taking the centre stage.

Malaysia is in for “interesting” times.

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:26 pm

Are we sure we are going to hear the last of the Sleepy Head ?

Is he going to spend the next 5 months governing, or is he going to spend the time “fixing” up loose ends for his relatives and cronies ?

2. #2 by zheng on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:41 pm

Although Our PM YAB abdullah is not a good PM, but in my opinion his personality is quite good. I just hate so much about his son in law Khairy….this fellow think that he is very smart but for me if without his father in law, he is just a piece of shit.

3. #3 by prelude3372 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:47 pm

Uncle Kit,

What is Pakatan’s next move? We are waiting.

4. #4 by nyghtsky on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:57 pm

Paklaaaaaaa’s so pathetic that I’m glad the end of his ‘kena-ketuk’ is finally coming to an end!

5. #5 by EricOng on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:00 pm

Will Pak Lah even remain till March is still a question.
    What is Pakatan’s next move?

6. #6 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:05 pm

From Rocky’s blog AAB will take 2 months leave prior handing over his job to Najib, so that leaves him only 3 months to complete the promised “REFORMS”. Can he do it?

7. #7 by chai on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:07 pm

it is good news to every body, we are waiting for a better malaysia.

8. #8 by sweetiec on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

let us decide for him, ok?

9. #9 by jjireh99 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:22 pm

people have got to make up their minds once in a life time. By that, I don’t mean on pm BUT the rakyat. No point or no use putting up banners asking him to leave one time and the next minute ask him to stay! Make up your minds, people! As far as I am concerned, I DO NOT WANT EITHER TO BE PM ESPECIALLY NAJIB! How can Malaysia or the rulers ever accept a pm for Malaysia who has been tainted with such grave controversy whether it is true or not (yet to be proven)?? Even if you say DSAI is tainted, prove it then! When all’s out, then RAKYAT WILL CHOOSE WHO THEY WANT AS PM OF MALAYSIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!

10. #10 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:29 pm

These are the true color of pirates, when u stand strong above all you’ll be adores and respected. Today situation turns soar after the last GE, some of the minions had turn side ways for solution to protect their coffer.

AAB was smart, using RPK as stone in his slingshot. If the Najis dare to step-out declaring his interest over the PM seat, AAB gonna make RPK win the the trial. Is this transperancy and democracy nor Islam Hadari preaching in Malaysia? :(

11. #11 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:30 pm

Better Malaysia under the economic “expert”? Wake up guys!

12. #12 by kensball on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:31 pm

Why only umno get to elect the next pm?Are malaysia only run by 1 party?

13. #13 by sweetiec on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:35 pm

seems and actually it is a fact that majority of umNO leaders are/were tinted with all sorts of corruption and other negative cases. therefore, the rakyat MUST kick-out the entire umno, not only the president.

just an idea: we malaysian must isolate umNO, and form a unity government as proposed by razaleigh. since umNO is so corrupted now, like a almost doomed patient, we must let ‘nature takes its own course’ and let her DIE soonest…a blessing to all Malaysians!!!

14. #14 by kisfiu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:50 pm

Saya pantang dicabar. Famous last words. Now he wants to do in 5 months what he couldn’t do in 5 years ! I hope he’ll release the military intelligence report on the altantuya

15. #15 by Bobster on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 6:53 pm

Good news and bad news.

Good news is the empire of sleepy head who have no goal no vision for the country who is costantly surrounded with his SIL and goons finally coming to an end.

Bad news is the fellow who is taking over being tainted with C4 explosive powder and military extravagant purchase and commission is taking over. Gosh, cannot imagine the consequenses. Better start digging a bomb shelter tonight at the backyard!

16. #16 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:08 pm

17. #17 by Loh on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:23 pm

AAB has announced that he will not stand for President. What if the Divisions decide to nominate him, and if he qualifies with 58 nominations?

It should be interesting to watch UMNO nominations during the next four weeks.

18. #18 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:47 pm

5 YEARS AGO…
    “Badawi scored the highest mandate in the history of Malaysian politics who managed to win such a huge share of the public’s votes.” – By Farish A. Noor

=============================

5 YEARS AFTER…
    Abdullah says, he will implement three initiatives before submitting task to his successor.

“Three initiatives that were commission establishment judicature installation, prevention of corruption instruction Malaysia, special complaint commission to enhance integrity and enforcement agency effectiveness.” – Adullah Badawi

LAWL?

19. #19 by kosmoalpha on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 7:51 pm

malaysia will be scum with najis sitting on top!

20. #20 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:02 pm

I cant imagine the worse if ALi came to DPM, he had put MELAKA from ZERO to 11BILLIONS in DEBT after his 2nd terms in power for a small state. What could MALAYSIA be if he comes to power as DPM?

21. #21 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:08 pm

Abdullah’s announcement in English of quiting the UMNO presidential post in March 2009:

http://www3.pmo.gov.my/?menu=news&news_id=2334&news_cat=4&page=1729

22. #22 by ctc537 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:13 pm

Yes, Malaysia is in for “interesting times”.

What do you mean by “interesting times” is opposition takeover of government? Hope that it would be peaceful should it happen. Get over this political turbulent times fast, and get on with tackling the impending economic problems which will affect every country on earth?

23. #23 by Richardqed on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:36 pm

Mr Flip-flop got what he deserves. For a joker who claimed that he was “pantang dicabar”, unfortunately for him, he was not “pantang ditendang keluar”.

24. #24 by LBJ on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:36 pm

One down and one more Khairy to go.

UMNO people. I am sure you dont wont this guy around anymore.

25. #25 by lopez on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:55 pm

you cannot unwrinkle a dirty underwear,

let go, set him free and who knows it may be even better for him to leave…we do not know the future but with the cash he has he sure can influence his future..so dont worry he will do fine maybe even better.

sounds familiar….these are rhetorics of HR suckers.

on other hand i sure dont like to have someone who likes see four and has a fondness for weapons and akin oneself to mediate other peoples war or advocate the nations young to sacrifice for their lives for his personal search for glory and destruction.

26. #26 by melurian on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:01 pm

you ppl miscalculated, there’s still 1 more day for the nomination, today’s 8-oct not 9. who knows he changed his mind at very last minute….

you should pray hard that aab continue to fight. if bijan becomes pm seat, who knows he’ll:

1) ban all party and make umno the only party.
    2) abolish common law
    3) isa all oppos
    4)

and you’ll wish if aab still the pm….

27. #27 by Hishamuddin on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:01 pm

Pak Lah quiting is actually bad news for Pakatan.

With him sleeping and fumbling on the job it would make the Pakatan job easier in the next election. With his exit, Pakatan may need to find another “hantu”.

28. #28 by katdog on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:21 pm

“interesting times”?

Interesting times!!?? We don’t need any further interesting times!!

Stop harping on AAB. He’s a deader. Why don’t you start focusing on practical issues? Like the poor state of readiness of our health authorities to tackle health epidemics and their lack of transparency in dealing with it.

The outbreak of HFMD in Perak. The inability of health authorities to get foodstuff tested for toxic melamine in a timely manner.

29. #29 by wanderer on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:26 pm

The only person that will be celebrating is TUN M. He has a puppet PM where he can twirl his fingers on him and move the directions of his liking and a DPM his nominee.
    It hard to rid this old bloke, is’nt it? So fellas, eat your hearts out!

30. #30 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:36 pm

Amazing, well he sure doesn’t really know whats going on actualy…
    http://www3.pmo.gov.my/?menu=news&news_id=2334&news_cat=4&page=1729
    ==========================================

FOR “5” YEARS!…

He had fails to amend all this initiatives, TODAY he still wants to talk about implement this before he leaves?

Feels like DejaVu, he think his trying to trick the Nation like bunch of chicken by feeding them into a cage again and again or something. -____-”

31. #31 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:52 pm

Forget Pak Lah. He is history. Do not waste any more time and energy on him.

Shift all focus to the new leadership whoever they may be to re-strategise on how to kick BN out in the next GE.

32. #32 by human1 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:17 pm

Standing ovation II

Clap, clap.

… and a sense of achivement …

unless there is a change in March transition deadline.

33. #33 by BloodSucker on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:21 pm

Yes, what happen to Pakatan 916 sandiwara ? It is a Pakatan flip flop plans to take over the govt from Pak Lah post with all broken promises to the rakyat.

Today Pak Lah early retired from politic is a good news but Pakatan failed to honour 916 change of the fed govt was bad news to all Malaysians. What is the next moves to remove Pak Lah from his sit to replace by DSAI ? Rakyat is waiting patiently to know the 31 lompat MPs going to move out from BN and form the next govt with Pakatan teams. What happen to DSAI now? Are he too busy with his sodomy case and self interest come first rather than the rakyat. Maybe DSAI claimed the 30 BN defectors ready to jump was untrue but the caused Pak Lah forced to quit and throw out from UMNO.

Tun Dr M and Pak Toyo are the most happy torn in the fresh of UMNO after Pak Lah willing to quit before March 2008. Both of them are laughing to a disgrace PM removed out by its own people. Simple answer: No more lucrative contracts from UMNO cronies and unable to feed them money politics. Pak Lah is broke with so many blood suckers ever ready to suck his blood dry. Sad to say Pak Lah is gone with the wind forever and ever.

Pak Lah can sleep in peace of mind after his announcement. Congratulations ! “WORK WITH ME” MY FOOT !

34. #34 by dap-for-pj on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:22 pm

my god! out of the boiling water and into the frying (c4) pan. when will this end?……god help malaysia.

35. #35 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:25 pm

The best scenario for PR would be:

Najis as PM,
    Rusty Ali as DPM, and
    Kera Jantan as Youth Chief

With this “explosive” combination, all the other BN parties will be driven out of the coalition.

36. #36 by Godfather on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:28 pm

I don’t think that Najis will be able to get rid of the Mongolian millstone around his neck. It will be open season for those hunters who are seeking for photos or videos of the man with the Mongolian, and it will be great if a foreign country’s secret service (Singapore or France or the UK) has photographic evidence.

37. #37 by hiro on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:33 pm

I think it’s not interesting times that’s coming, but back to the old repressive Mahathirian times.

Don’t expect any of those JAC, Anti Corruption Commission or Special Complaints Commission to take off because if they are worth any salt at all, UMNO would reject them, and if they are not worth the salt, Malaysians would reject them anyway.

The least Malaysians should do, pending an eventual Pakatan takeover, is to show support for Tengku Razaleigh. At least he is the lesser of the two evils.

38. #38 by trashed on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:34 pm

Abdullah Badawi’s greatest legacy to the Malaysian people would be the repealing of the ISA.

Ohhh, wake me up. That was just a dream !

39. #39 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:38 pm

He did it in a very simplified kamikasi way. He admitted his poor record. So it is a honourable discharge for him. He should not take the blame alone. Everyone from UMNO, MCA, MIC and all the component parties in the Barisan Nasional have to admit to making mistakes. Now that he is leaving us, but the fact remains. BN is still around. Remember. Not just newer, younger leaders. But energetic leaders who will lead the country with clear sightedness. Not point having young leaders but do not have any direction.

40. #40 by riversandlakes on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:38 pm

My Singaporean colleague walked over and we discussed about AAB. I actually said that this guy could easily flip-flop by saying to resign and then renege that.

I WAS RIGHT.

But I also told that colleague of mine that he can flip-flap whatever because Malaysians are no longer paying him any attention. He has long become irrelevant.

Then we talked about Obama.

41. #41 by raven77 on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:49 pm

Badawi said that he hoped the person who will take over from him would be Najib…if he wins the elections…Badawi wil fix Najib now well and good with Altantunya…….it’s MAD…Mutual Assured Destruction…UMNO will have a horrible death…and all Malayisa will rejoice….

42. #42 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 10:55 pm

anak melayu yang pantang dicabar telornya tergantung di dagu…ada 5 tahun tak buat nak buat dalam 5 bulan…55 bulan sebelum ini sibuk korek emas untuk anaknya berniaga di luar negeri…

43. #43 by limkamput on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:06 pm

I think it is enough. Let him go quietly and let him do whatever he said he wanted to do. It is pointless to keep belittling him. He is ineffective but he is not wicked as far as I can see. The system is wicked. UMNO BN philosophy and policies are wicked. Unless opposition is able to take over the helm of the government, do you people seriously think the country will turn for the better whoever among the existing UMNO leaders becomes PM? I say you people can dream on.

44. #44 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:06 pm

kalaulah aku ni si dolla aku akan letak jawatan segera 24jam dari dipandang hina – tak dipandang – dipandang serong – takda orang hormat (yang hormat pun kaki bodek). si dolla pulak kata, biar pi la orang nak kata, 5 bulan banyak aku boleh kaut untuk anak aku berniaga di luar negeri. aku kaya, rakyat papa lantak korang la…bila pas ke najib lagi haru…anak dia dah besar ke ? dengar kata kat luar negeri juga, playboy bukan main.ala, bapa borek anak rintik macam dolla borek najib rintik (peribahasa baru).apa nak jadi dengan bolehland jadi la janji aku kaya

45. #45 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:08 pm

As long as Abdullah is still the PM his game is not over. The next target after him will be his deputy, who is already politically half dead, and may be completely buried in six months. Guess who is still the Prime Minister?

46. #46 by Jong on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:28 pm

“…. but he is not wicked..” – limkamput

Hey, who slapped ISA on RPk and Hindraf 5? Who sent them to Kamunting Detention Centre? Don’t tell me as No.1 CEO of country, he has no power?

47. #47 by Jong on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:28 pm

Don’t be deceived by his smiles, he is wicked!

48. #48 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:31 pm

aiya we all keep saying dolla=pm, najib=dpm when dolla balik kampung najib=pm…dolla ke najib ke sama je…dari umno.cakap limkamput ada benarnya, sistem dalam umno yang tak kena. siapa siapa dalam umno jadi pm ke dpm ke akan hancur bolehland ini. muhyidin ? koh tsu koon kata dia lah pengamal rasuah tersohor masa jadi mb johor dulu…ali dari melaka ? haru biru la makin bankrap… zahid hamidi ? makin ramailah ahmad ismail…rais yatim ? dari umno jugak…mat taib ? wah kalau dia ni bukan 2 3 beg berisi duit ke luar negeri,2 3 kargo kapal terbang… ada ke calon yang bukan dari umno ??

49. #49 by limkamput on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:45 pm

Jong,
    I know it is difficult for me to defend him. Sometimes, exercise of power is not as simple as we think. If it is that simple, he wouldn’t be resigning. May be the previous PM can do whatever he wanted (that is why he was called the dictator). Pak Lah is “weak” precisely because that is what the PM ought to be. As PM, you can’t always have your way. He was shackled by the party, bureaucracy, vested interests, etc. We can blame him for being ineffective, but I think the greater culprit is the system and policies he inherited from the former PM.

Everything is relative. You may think he is wicked. But I would venture to say that, with him going, RPK and hindraf five may be in for longer than shorter. As I said earlier, unless the opposition has the mean to take over, this country will be getting worse. The reactionary forces (many racists and fascists) with UMNO are just waiting for this moment.

50. #50 by OldManoftheSea on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:57 pm

Many and some here feel that Pak lah is not a bad person. That I agreed. He is just powerless and not in control. His deputies and minister runs monkey over him. And what can he say? I was not informed of the actions or decisions. Off course not, it will further reflect to the public of his impotency, so he will just keep to himself. TDM has achieved his objectives.

51. #51 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 11:59 pm

PL , NTR etc … Ameno . whoever takeover also useless. We don’t have someone like Zaid Ibrahim anymore in Ameno. Ku Li … questionable but better than rest of them.

Anyways, Malaysia is doomed for the next few years in this “interesting” political and economic situation.

I also saw many banners hanging along LDP Puchong attacking YB Gobind Singh. Pathetic acts of cowardice ! Furthermore, it’s not election yet for those stupid BeEnd supporters !

52. #52 by The Enforcer on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:14 am

As was evident in the GE 12, the tsunami was not only meant to sweep PM AAB alone. He is a nice and good guy but not of leadership quality. That’s why so many things he promised in GE 11 was never carried out!
    There are also a number of good men/women in the BN still and they knew after the results of GE 12, the RAKYAT is not particularly against any individual but against the BN government as a whole!
    Then only the narrowing of targets into particular individuals are carried out.
    The incoming ’shit’ is even worst then the current inept PM!
    Now the target is him and just watch the BRUNT of the RAKYAT would be even HARDER on HIM!

So YB PM AAB, please grab the credibility of being the ‘PM for MALAYSIANS’ before you leave us by doing the following:-

1. Abolish the ISA and set ALL DETAINEES free asap!
    2. Get the JUDICIARY back in the RIGHT PATH to enable them to carry
    out their duties without FEAR OR FAVOUR!
    3. Set up the Independent Police Commission to eradicate the ‘dark’
    side of the force (corruption, misuse of power and what not)!
    4. Revamp the ACA, empower them further and make it a completely
    INDEPENDANT entity!
    5. And RID of all the wrong doings that YOU as the current PM can
    see!

PLEASE DO IT FOR THE RAKYAT AND YOUR FUTURE GENERATIONS!

53. #53 by OldManoftheSea on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:17 am

DAP reaction: ‘He was forced out’ (updated)
    Karpal Singh said:
    GEORGE TOWN: DAP leaders expressed their disappointment in Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s decision not to defend his Umno presidency, saying the leader was “chased out of office.”
    DAP chairman Karpal Singh said the move was against the mandate of the people.
    —————————————————————-
    What Lim Guan Eng comments:
    In a statement, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said Abdullah was always seen as a man with good intentions.
    “Ironically, the public respected Abdullah more than his party because he was seen as a well-intentioned man who is probably one of the few clean leaders left in Umno.
    “Unlike his predecessor Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Abdullah was forced to retire against his will at a time not of his choosing.
    “The abrupt and undignified nature of his departure is a sad reflection of his weakened political position,” Lim said.
    —————————————————————-
    Elder Lim comments:
    DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang, who said in a press statement that Abdullah should still leave a legacy of change and make an honourable exit as the fifth Prime Minister.
    From today’s Star
    By ANDREA FILMER

And I agreed with them all. Happy and sad at the same time. The next PM will not be easy, like the former TDM.

54. #54 by Jong on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:37 am

Limkamput,

I will describe him as stupid, wicked and bodoh sombong! Eversince he took office from day 1, he has proved nothing except incompetence!

Has he delivered any of his election promises? To me he’s just ‘tidak apa’ and earning buta gaji and we taxpayers are paying, our money damit! He could have been an effective leader but that idiot opted to play safe and just wanna enjoy the cushy life of PM with perks that comes with it.

He could have sacked that Botak Al-Blur for embarrassing the government and country when Sin Chew’s journalist Ms Tan Hoon Cheng was hauled in under ISA, but did he? No, he did not and that mamak pendatang from Bukit Bendera who uttered racist slurs is still on a free run?

Raja Petra called for Mr & Mrs C4 to be sent to hell and see what happened? Raja Petra himself was slapped with ISA! Practically the whole nation calls for abolishment of ISA and release of RPK and Hindraf 5 but this PM chooses to be stone deaf. That’s wicked!

If the PM is not the most powerful position in the country then who else is? That’s it, he allows those around him do as they wish and now they in Umno have stabbed him by the back, not the Opposition!

55. #55 by JeyS on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:38 am

Well people, C4 will be on sale come March 2009, hahahahaha….and we will have licence to blow up anyone who threatens???

Instead of moving forward looks like Malaysia took 3 steps (and more) backwards.

God bless this country and the RAKYAT who cannot take nonsenses anymore

56. #56 by bclee on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 1:25 am

najis oh no..no please. better still pak lah..
    c4 case no settle yet where is the bala.gone with the wind ha.

57. #57 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 1:45 am

Do not fear Najis…

58. #58 by The Enforcer on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 1:53 am

Dear uncle YB Lim/moderator,
    Why is it that after 1.5 hours my comment’s still having the remarks, awaiting moderation?
    Would like to improve further if there’s mistakes made.
    Thanks.

59. #59 by rider on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 2:23 am

This is the mother of all flip-flops, the poor old sotong wants to rest

60. #60 by calvin_ngan on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 2:27 am

since he is a flip flop like what u said, he might flip flop during the last few weeks, probably he has the so called ‘report on najib-altantuya’ as claimed by RPK.

If the DPM is gone, who is going to replace him? well, extension extension… either way, he wins.

61. #61 by disapointed86 on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 4:11 am

uncle kit..maybe u can start a new post on the effect to our country if NAJIB takes over in March 09?..i wonder if he can bring any good? as far as i am concern, i dont think he is the right person for the post ….

62. #62 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 8:58 am

yb lim kit siang,

we all know that yab abdullah badawi will not contest in the umno elections. at least it is announced officially yesterday. right or wrong he had done , he is stepping down in march as reported. so , there is no need to give another blow to a fallen guy.

i appeal to you as a great and consistent leader ( i trust you more than dsai ), that there are other greater issues that need your kind attention and raise it up in parliament.

1. the continue teaching of science and mathematics in english language for the year 2009.??? please do not allow another generation of children future be toyed.

2. national service, and the death reported. what have been achieved and what can be improved so that teenagers are not “dead” when in camp or after camp.

3.the reported rape and abuse of the penans children by the loggers, should not be swept under ” further investigations”. sexual abuse of young penans girls , some reportedly being pregnant must be condemned and justice demanded.

4.what have the taiwan agrotrip achieved by the mps and if any, and the cost incur. someone must have to foot the bill. not me.

5.pkftz scandal was real hot, now it is on the flop side,with no follow up investigations. just as you hated flip flop, i dislike hot and cold news too.

6.mr.lingham is of course another hot and cold event, that will eventually be forgotten. the appointment of the next chief justice of malaysia require some fire up from your goodself.

7.how many illegals from sabah have been deported and the update of the affectiveness of the operations and future “invitations ” to overstay have to be addressed.

8.can bank negara assure us of our own banks, that they can withstand the current economic tsunami that have struck from the usa to europe. or, we are “fundamentally strong” . i cannot believe we are shield from the after quake effect. the insurance coverage is only rm60k per pax, per account, per bank.

9.the crude oil has dived below usd90, what are we waiting for to revert the pump price to rm1.60 per litre. ? another 22 days. !!please share the drop in oil price among the raayat so that my roti canai can be bought at 30cents as before.

10. with all the cctv and horse riders, snatch and kill is still news. what is the core reason. poverty? or enforcement?

thank you. SIR.

63. #63 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 9:08 am

There are still several months to go. You never know what is going to happen. N may end up with under ISA or police investigation, etc. You never know as everything is possible and dramatic in boleh.

64. #64 by taiking on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 9:08 am

Badawi is unfortunate for having to succeed a dictator of many years. Mahathir’s style of leadership for 20+ years had effectively hardened up politicians in umno. As a result they became accustomed to the tough and rough way (or crude and arrogant way) of doing things and dealing with opponents within and without umno. They are driven purely by personal objectives and are totally devoid of feelings for anyone.

Seen in this light, Badawi clearly has been a square peg and it is hardly surprising that he found those idiots in umno hard to handle.

Can najib do a better job? Can a fence sitter (who is surrounded by controversies) be better than an oscillator? Badawi had five years to prove his inability. I will give najib less time.

65. #65 by wesuffer on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 9:10 am

sleepy pm gone, C4 pm come

66. #66 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 9:11 am

yb,
    btw,
    i am not too worried that najib will be the prime miinster. we know what he did last summer.

i am worried who the deputy pm will be?

mr.jong, abdullah is just not a leader. futher adjectives are not necessary. quote and unquote ” he who have no sins cast the first stone” i concur with mr.limkamput.

thks.
    old.observer will give me his piece of mind.

and i think undergrad2 must have been affected by the usa crisis, miss his postings.

Sir Jeffrey good points should be noted by yb lks. PLEASE.

67. #67 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 9:18 am

dear taiking.

very good points indeed. quite similar to the one who took over from suharto. a chinese saying, how to straightened an old tree that is bent, this is a fifty years old tree.

BUT. did abdullah really tried hard enough with the strong mandate provided for by the raayat in 2004 ?

68. #68 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 9:32 am

I am more concern about what the exact shape of his final agenda, the judicial, corruption, police commission looks like. I don’t expect any of them to be in perfect shape BUT they should be in a shape that is either workable or can be improved upon. The problem with ‘final agenda’ like these is they tend to end up looking like crap and not workable or improvable in the future.

What we don’t need are half-baked legislation that does not gather momentum. Better to let the half-baked legislation die to be restarted again in the future.

69. #69 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 9:59 am

Three unfinished businesses that AAB should do before he steps down, and the whole of Malaysia will be eternally grateful to him:
    1) Call a snap election soon.
    2) Release all the ISA detainees.
    3) Speed up the Atantulya trial and nail the real culprits.

70. #70 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 11:17 am

Abdullah has nobody else to blame for his undignified exit except his own incompetence as a leader. It will be relief to every citizen that he leaves the soon the better before more investors leave the country with their funds and venture.

Whether his successors will make a difference or not is now a big question we face. He can be more mediocre than Abdullah. If that is the case our suffering will continue. More investors will leave.

Unemployment will rise. Illegal immigrants will have their field days ransacking the country and the citizen. Crime rate will go up.

71. #71 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 11:43 am

Talking about shortie kiasu’s “undignified exit” posting at 11: 17.36 (10 minutes ago), yes, incompetence of leadership is certainly one relevant factor but perhaps you may want to consider for address another overarching major factor, that is the political culture (BN/UMNO) nurtured through the decades by which only the most ruthless, the illiberal, the authoritarian, the draconian, the hypocritical and Machiavellen of character types – not the nice guys with conscience or flip flop types – can hope to remain effective and long as a leader!

In other words, the problem lies more in a poisoned political culture and system more than the personalities….Put another way, no do gooder can reform or do good within constraint of such a bad system…

One of the first steps to counteract this systemic problem is (perhaps) to try to sever the leadership/presidency of the dominant party from that of leader and prime ministership of government, which latter could relate back to consensus of the rakyat based on greatest numnber of support in Dewan Rakyat transcending party and coalition lines, something I have been strenously arguing for in the preceding thread .

72. #72 by walao on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 11:57 am

why need to wait till March?? To do what? OK OK…If Paklah need to reform or rectify or see thru certain “good” changes to our country before retire, pls, pls bring the real culprit/murderer of the Mongolian girl to the hanging galore. It is so malu everytime my foreign frens ask me this issue .

73. #73 by walao on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:08 pm

By the way, all ppl around the world knew who dunnit in the mongolian case. And we are not doing about it….so sad. This is Africa country?

74. #74 by CSKUEH on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:14 pm

Not only to bring the real murderer of the Mongolian lady to the hanging galore, but please, Pak Lah, also repeal the ISA and set free RPK, Hindraf and the other detainees.Charge them to court to determine if they are guilty otherwise release all the innocent ones.
    If PL carries this out before he leaves office, he will be remembered as a compassionate PM.

75. #75 by ctc537 on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:41 pm

During the 5-month succession interregnum we can expect TDM to continue saying unkind words for the outgoing PM. Will somebody please ask TDM to ‘diam’ and say no more bad things about AAB from now on? We are the younger generation and not in a position to scold our elders.
    Since there are no outstanding candidates contesting for the top posts, we can expect a very fierce Umno elections in the coming months, which would mean important national economic problems will continue to not receive due attention from the Ministers who are contesting.
    It’s not an honorable exit for the PM since his party members do not respect him anymore.

76. #76 by abunsui on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:48 pm

UNCLE YB KIT,

PAK LAH PREVIOUS 5 YEARS IN OFFICE, WHAT HE DID?
    1. HADHARI
    2. CORRIDORS

PAK LAH HAS 5 MISSIONS IN 5 MONTHS. POSSIBLE??

SLEEPING PM CAN DO THAT??? WITH NO MORE MANDATE FROM UMNO/BN???

ANSWER : MORE THAN MISSION IMPOSSIBLE!!!!

RAKYAT : MENYESAL TAK SUDAH!!!! KENA TIPU OLEH BAPAK PENIPU.

77. #77 by k1980 on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 12:53 pm

The FIL is out, now it’s the SIL’s turn to go

78. #78 by teacher on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 1:20 pm

This AAB character was the greatest disappointment to me and many others.We had so much hope esp after Mamaks misrule. However don’t blame this guy. It was umnos and their warlords that ruled. He was too soft a man and in this dog eat dog world only the cruel can survive. Anyway its goodbye to this mr. flip flop. 5 years to do so many things but he slept on the job and collected his fat salary and perks at the ppls expense. Enjoy yr retirement and please don’t give us this shit about going to change judicary aca etc. Could’nt do anything for 5 yrs but going to do it in 5 months….Tell it to the marines.
    Even the next guy will lead us down the muddy trail what with all his skeletons in the cupboard. It will be a free for all in umno and mca mic gerakan ppp and the rest will be lending their helping hand to finish off this blessed country.
    Only a totally new govt can save us. We, Our children and grandchildren are doomed. God help us!!!!!!!!!
    If AAb wantsto remembered 1) call for fresh elections 2)repeal isa

79. #79 by AhPek on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 1:57 pm

The ouster of Badawi, is it not to be expected?Why are there some people harbouring hopes that he might do something for Malaysia in the coming next 5 months?
    Just take a snapshot view of this man’s track record since being a PM for this country.After helping to serve out Mahathir’s term of office, he started his own on the back of the biggest electoral win ever by any Malaysian PM.And what has he accomplished??He allowed Mahathirism to continue by keeping just about lock stock and barrel Mahathir’s cabinet, and in so doing squandered all the goodwill and trust invested in him by the people of Malaysia.He simply hasn’t got the guts to form a cabinet made up of his own men.Is it any wonder that he can’t get anything done since his ‘yes’ means no and his ‘no’ means yes.He prefers to be a smiling PM smiling his way through his stewardship hoping Allah will smile on Malaysia too.Result is a total mess he left behind at the end of his administration.
    No country needs a smiling and Mr. Nice Guy for a PM.A country needs a man who has guts to decide, not a PM whose stated modus operandi is based on consensus since there are things that the nation’s CEO and only he must make
    and nobody else.

80. #80 by Loh on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 2:44 pm

Not too long ago before the 308 election AAB was talking about serving till 2020 and beyond. He mentioned his vision for 2057, and was aiming to be PM till earliest 2027. He saw TDM’s formula and wanted to emulate his staying power. He believed that when NEP with a 20 year term could be extended at will, it costs him nothing to promise all the reforms on whatever ills TDM had created, but he retains them to his advantage.

Time has changed. The vast amount of government funds have produced more thinking Malays than they would want to admit, for the sake of keeping NEP. At last, pride among the Malays as the late Tun Ismail anticipated has descended on true Malays. They realize that those who masquerade as members of their community have exceeded their bound of decency, and they want change.

AAB should have decided right after taking office whether he wanted money, or a good name in history for releasing Malaysia from hell through reform. He should realize that when he is in heaven with his money in banks, he will not get to use them. But with his name well remembered in history book, he will be in people’s fond memory when he is in heaven.

Could he have stayed longer than the five years if he had started reform since 2004? He might not stayed longer beyond December 2008 when there was no transition plan to effect the three month extension, but he would have finished all the reforms needed, rather than giving another empty promise on the eve of his departure. Besides he will be remembered as one who chose to do the right thing and lose the position, than one chased out by his predecessor who did not even have official position five years after his departure.

81. #81 by CJ 27 on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 8:31 pm

I really do not care whether this AAB alive or not now. What I care is how is our fate of RPK and Hindraf ISA detainees.

By the way did anyone of us care about the global financial crisis ahead ha? I don’t see our leaders talking about the measures on to handle this crisis. Honest speaking we will be in [deleted] if no one care about our economy. Pls wake up all brothers and sisters. We should think of our way on how to survive in this crisis. Our BN goverment, pls forget about them. Useless!!!

PR you are our only hope. Pls do something to help us.

82. #82 by localgrad on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:37 am

morever, who say the PM post is for sure guranteed post for UMNO? really ridiculous. (pointing my middle finger at UMNO putras)

83. #83 by localgrad on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 10:45 am

hm… why my earlier post is missing. nvm type it again.

AAB should holds his PM post even he will not be the president of UMNO.

Uncle Kit, pls advise the dumb head that PR’s 82 MPs will support him as PM although he will not be president of UMNO.

AAB just need 30 MPs from his clan to support him…

Then later on, AAB could pass on the PM baton to DSAI.

Sorry to tell u na-jis, you dream to become PM will be blown off in pieces

84. #84 by Loh on Friday, 10 October 2008 - 4:13 pm

///Could’nt do anything for 5 yrs but going to do it in 5 months..///—teacher

If he had started to do what he said he wanted immediately after 308 election he would have shown some progress, and he might be believed to require more time. But he was concerned with safeguarding his position in UMNO. Through cheat and bluff from either side, the 2010 deadline was agreed. His deputy got the option to gain party position, and AAB broke the inertia of losing his staying power.

AAB claimed that he wanted to give an undivided party to his deputy, and thus decided that he would not defend his party position. The premise was there should be no election on the top two positions in the party; both President and deputy president should have no contest. But the moment AAB announced his defeat there were at least four serious contenders to the Deputy post. AAB would still be handing over a divided party in March, except that he was not involved in the election. It is clear therefore that if his current deputy decides to go for the position of president without AAB giving up, the only difference would be that all positions in UMNO are contested, and the contest for the position of the deputy post will not be any more intense. Is AAB suggesting that he and his current deputy have not the maturity to stand in an election and accept the results gracefully? Otherwise, it is clear that AAB has been trapped by his stubbornness or stupidity in adhering to TDM’s quota system.

It is clear that AAB was not concerned about the effect of the UMNO election, but he had to save face to create the impression that his exit was a variation of his transition plan. A transition plan would have involved certainty of outcome, where the current deputy will inherit the post without a contest. But all posts are subject to contest now except that AAB has not the courage to stand, and Ku Li might not be qualified for short of the required quota of nominations. So AAB is clearly forced out of his position without a contest.

AAB claims that he needed 5 months to do what he could not do in five years. Had this been said by people who responded to the election results and acted on reforms, then the person might be credited with the knowledge and sincerity to respond to accountability. As it is, sound bites and actions are divorced, and the only reasons he wanted to stay till March 2009 is summed up as gimme three months more (in TDM’s words)