5 reasons why Najib’s apology on behalf of Ahmad inappropriate, inadequate and unacceptable

There are at least five reasons why Umno Deputy President Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s apology on behalf of Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail for the latter’s derogatory, offensive, insensitive and racist reference of the Chinese as “squatters” and untrustworthy Malaysians is inappropriate, inadequate and unacceptable.

Firstly, why is there no public response from Ahmad Ismail himself, who have shown no sense of contrition or remorse whatsoever in the past nine days for his racist slurs of the Malaysian Chinese? Is Ahmad Ismail fully confident that he has the mainstream support of Umno leaders and members, encouraging him to show contempt for the nation-wide furore?

Secondly, how can Najib’s second-hand apology on behalf of Ahmad Ismail be acceptable when Ahmad continues to be defiant and unrepentant? Even if Ahmad Ismail tenders an apology, the question of its adequacy will arise, following the precedent set by the Cabinet in the Wee Meng Chee case over his “Negaraku” rap video-clip last year, when the Cabinet rejected Wee’s apology as inadequate.

Many police reports have been lodged against Ahmad for violating the Sedition Act. Is Najib’s apology meant to be a message to the Police and the Attorney-General that Ahmad should get off scot-free instead of having to face the full weight of the law?

Thirdly, Najib should apologise on behalf of himself and not on behalf of Ahmad as Najib had failed to take immediate or prompt action to reprimand Ahmad for the latter’s racist and seditious speech at a Permatang Pauh by-election ceramah on August 24 which was attended by Najib.

Fourthly, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi himself should make a public apology for trying to protect and excuse Ahmad Ibrahim for the racist and seditious speech, with the totally unacceptable claim that the Bukit Bendera Umno division chief had not meant what he said and that he would “tell him not to do it again”.

The Prime Minister’s attempt to condone Ahmad’s racist speech caused outrage among right-thinking Malaysians especially as it is the latest example of a series of extremist, racist and seditious outbursts by Umno leaders, such as Umno MPs shouting “Balik Cina” in Parliament and a keris-wielding Umno Youth leader-cum-Education Minister.

Fifthly, the bona fide of Najib’s apology comes into question when this news is blacked out in the Malay mainstream newspapers owned and controlled by UMNO, in particular Utusan Malaysia and Berita Harian. A check with Bernama online shows that Najib’s apology is reported in Bernama’s English news but blacked out in Bernama’s Bahasa Malaysia news.

With such media manipulation of his apology, how much is one to believe Najib when he said that Ahmad’s statement did not reflect the position and attitude of Umno or the leadership of Umno?

If Najib is fully sincere and serious about this statement of the stand of Umno and Umno leadership in dissociating from Ahmad’s speech, why is his statement only allowed to be reported in the non-Malay mainstream media but not in the Malay mainstream media?

1. #1 by PureMalaysian on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 9:45 am

We dont give a damn whether they apologise or not. Our concern now is whether DSAI really has the 30 cross over MPs by 16 Sep!! That’s more important now! As we all already know that UMNO/BN is totally hopeless and there’s no way we can make them change anymore.

2. #2 by lkc57 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 9:56 am

AAB is still in a daze as a result of March 8th political tsunami. The impact is compounded by PP by-election disastrous defeat. Or worse still, we may simply assume that he suffers critical lack of leadership to understand what is needed for maintaining racial harmony and progress in the country! He doesn’t even know how to apologise!

Najib has never delivered anything all these years. As Minister of Education, he had, together with Mahathir, “developed” a system that has been responsible for the low standard and quality among all students. Obviously, UMNO has purposefully promoted mediocrity to ensure that they can stay in power “forever”. They are inferior, consciously feeling threatened, so scared to be challenged. As DPM and Minister of Defence, he has produced no performance worths mentioning.

Neither is sincere in serving the nation. Both have not embraced change – what the people are expecting. They will drown by their own doing, thinking that they can still fool the people.

3. #3 by wantonhead on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 9:56 am

Read this article to find out why

http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/12085/84/

4. #4 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 9:58 am

Ahmad Ismail is using Najis as a shield to save face.

5. #5 by Jong on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 9:58 am

Where is Ahmad Ismail? – Brave enough to utter such racist remarks/slurs but not MAN enough to make face-to-face apology?

Apologies from his ‘master’ deputy PM and UMNO deputy president is accepted but it’s not good enough! Ahmad Ismail should be the one to apologise and be punished to ensure there’ll be no more future occurrence of this sort against another Malaysian.

6. #6 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:05 am

To be honest, I don’t want too many BN politicians to cross over. many of them are simply opportunists. I also hope the two major party system will exist. When one is not doing good enough, the other shall take over, etc. That is a perfectly healthy system in the democratic world

7. #7 by vincentwee on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:09 am

8. #8 by malaysia-united on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:16 am

vincentwee,

please stop to write like that, later MCMC will have another task to do…

It’s too late to appologize… They want to appologize or not, not much different cos their days will over very soon… By the way, this kind of speech keep repeating, so why bother? (shaking my head)…

9. #9 by Damocles on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:21 am

The question of apologies does not arise at all.
    If any PR members were to make such remarks, they will immediately be arrested for sedition.
    The same must go for any UMNO/BN member.
    No ifs and no buts.
    Why have exceptions where they are concerned?

10. #10 by vincentwee on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:25 am

11. #11 by homeblogger on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:43 am

I see Malay teenagers who walk in the middle of the road because they feel that “ketuanan Melayu” gives them the right to do so. And what about the almost weekly kenduris that happen and they feel they have the right to place their tents ON and block a main road – damned be anyone who dares question that their actions infringes on others’ right and causes inconvenience to others.

Again in my childrens’ school, the Hari Raya holidays have been planned almost six months in advance (and a letter already issued 2 months earlier) informing that the whole week has been declared holidays. The chinese don’t even get one day off on the eve of Chinese New Year so they can go back to their home town.

We are now experiencing the fruits of an education system that teaches “ketuanan Melayu” right from year 1.

And so are we REALLY surprised that Ahmad Ismail feels he has a God-given right (by virtue of his skin color or religion or our racially biased Government) to spit on me and other Chinese? I dare say that Ahmad Ismail is silently being given a pat on the back by many others who wished they had the audacity to do the same.

12. #12 by Tickler on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:46 am

It appears that Ahmad Ismail is a big time Umno warlord in Penang.
    Ahmad Ismail was cleared of bankruptcy by the Insolvency Department in 2006. Ahmad Ismail is the figure linked to the controversial PORR project in Penang. He is the director of Peninsular Metroworks Sdn. Bhd., the concessionaire for the project. Ahmad is an influential Umno divisional leader and former Penang Chief Minister Koh Tsu Koon was beholden to him for support. That was why Koh was powerless when Ahmad Ismail a mere Umno division leader could wield so much influence over him and accused him of not paying attention to the Malays in Penang.The CM’s former constituency of Tanjong Bungah happens to be in the Bukit Bendera division.

It gets more interesting here, The Scribe discovered that PM Abdullah Badawi was named as a director of ……….

http://margeemar.blogspot.com/2008/09/real-reason-why-pm-badawi-doesnt-want.html

13. #13 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:48 am

Haha, if we talk about Penang, I don’t know who should be considered real Penumpang, if one has to use that term.

14. #14 by Tickler on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:49 am

That’s the reason why PM Badawi, Na_jib and the rest of the BN/Umno leadership are just giving Ahmad Ismail a slap on the wrist over this seditious remark. Don’t be surprised if Liow Tiong Lai, Ong Ka Ting, Ong Ka Chuan Ng Yen Yen, Chor Chee Heung, Koh Tsu Koon, Chia Kwang Chye et al will come and say to the Chinese community to accept Na_jib’s and Umno’s apology while heaping praises on the Umno leadership for their ‘courage’ in apologizing.

– Margeemar blog

15. #15 by Elwin Heng on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:53 am

If HE is fully sincere and serious responsible, second-hand apology on behalf of A.Ismail; will he so MAN apologize on behalf of himself and not on behalf of family.party.country upon MONGOLIAN murder case?

“I will never-ever forget-&-forgive! Let’s my son-grandson-generations understood and memorize BN corruption, cronyism and racial policies…”!

916, Malaysian Unity, Pakatan Rakyat(PR)!
    Sabah, Sarawak, Johor, Melaka, and Seremban MPs, what is your opinion upon those corruption, cronyism and racial policies? Are you agree or accept PR’s policies of democracy, justice, freedom of religion, rule of law and transparency? If so, to disenchanted and dissatisfied leaders, you’re welcome to join Pakatan Rakyat 916!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

16. #16 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:59 am

Because the apology is meant for the Chinese alone. The Malays need not be told about the apology since a Master does not apologize to the Servants.
    It is a right to ridicule the servants and the master being the superior race has no reason to apologise.
    This is a bull-shit apology. Just words.

17. #17 by Freddy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:01 am

malaysia-united Says:

vincentwee,

please stop to write like that, later MCMC will have another task to do…

====
    when i read in the Star that Malaysia Today was unblocked, i rejoiced for a moment only to find out that it is still blocked!!!

hence, that took the title of my blog just now …

Block – Unblocked – Goblok

hahahahahahahaha

18. #18 by AhPek on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:05 am

What nonsense,Najib apologising on behalf of this ar..h..e, Najib himself has not apologised when he threatened to bathe his kris with Chinese blood back in 1998!
    The thing to do is to go ahead with this sedition charge against him.Just teach these fanatics who think that Malaysia belong to them only a lesson,they have long tested the patience and tolerance of non Malay citizens of this country.These Ketuanan Melayu Malays have to be put in their place.

19. #19 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:06 am

There is an article in S’pore’s ST today (03/09/08) at the ‘review and forum’ section entitled “Anwar: A third alternative?”

I don’t agree with much of it, but would make an interesting read for the ‘Pakatanis’ :^)

20. #20 by Freddy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:06 am

can everybody help to compile a list of racist remarks made by UMNO throughout our 51 years of Merdeka? Let’s make it perpetual for every generation of Malaysian, now and future, to see.

contributions gladly appreciated. i am now compiling and will post in my blog. and yes, the racist remarks will include those made when Singapore was part of Malaysia!

kindly send your contributions to freddyt | at | gmail |dot|com

thank you!

21. #21 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:08 am

Now that Bijan has apologised on behalf on Ahmat “Squatter” ‘Mael, will he next apologise for Razak Bagindo, for Sodo Saifool, ect

22. #22 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:09 am

One must be responsible for one’s own words and action
    There must not be any third party involved in retraction
    Otherwise there will be wrong signals for any attraction
    With wrongdoers not doing enough deep personal reflections

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 030908
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Wed. 3rd Sept. 2008.

23. #23 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:12 am

Make sure that we understand there are many good and nice Malays who have nothing to do with the remarks. We should not hurt them in words. Because of irresponsible remarks by some UMNO leaders, the nice Malays are hurt as well. Remember that the illegal wealth of UMNO politicians are at the expenses of these very nice Malays. The Chinese have the duty to protect and help the nice Malays or any persons who need help, while fighting for our freedom and justice from these UMNO politicians

24. #24 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:19 am

Yes the DPM’s apology is not appropriate and the police should do their job properly and check out the reports.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/09/sorry-is-wrong-word.html

25. #25 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:22 am

Ahmad Ismail is probably on the 4th floor as K. Jamal.

26. #26 by allen_msia on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:29 am

Reply Jong

Where is Ahmad Ismail?

At home with his wife in bed lah !

Why worry ? he just make some racist statement only mah !

If he sodomised some1 then he will be arrested by the Special Action Force (UTK) immedietely !

so what Ahmad Ismail has done is not critical enough for the federal police to take any action !

27. #27 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:47 am

pulau_sibu, your statement has a whiff of insult and arrogance about it. I doubt the “nice Malays” would accept protection; This is something they must learn to do themselves, unless they fall for Pakatan’s ‘divide and conquer’ strategy.

Ahmad is not a nice Malay and by seeking help from other unsavoury Malays brings the proverb “birds of feather…” to life.

28. #28 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:48 am

My take on this issue:

When is an apology, not an apology?

Malaysiakini’s captioned thus, “Why is Najib apologizing?”.
    I will tell you why. Because Ahmad has refused to do so.

If Najib apologized for the transgressions of Ahmad is it called an apology?

My hunch is that Ahmad has been asked by his party bosses to extend an apology to the ‘squatters’ and my educated guess is, he has rebuffed them with a ‘Come what may’ stance.
    It is for this reason the UMNO President came up with a ‘He didn’t mean it and I will advice him not to repeat it’ reply.

When this failed to quench Chinese anger , Naijib steps forward with an even more bizarre statement, “We hope that the non-Malays will not be too disturbed with the statement (by Ahmad) and we apologise if it has incurred the sensitivities or unhappiness over the statement.”

Is this an apology? The Oxford dictionary defines ‘apology’ as ‘ a regretful acknowledgment of an offence or failure.’

Would Najib’s statement qualify as a ‘regretful acknowledgement of an offence’ when he chose to use to say “the non-Malay ill not be disturbed” and worse still when he qualified his so-called apology with the use of ‘if’.

If there is regret why was his apology not carried by the Malay newspapers and the BM version of Bernama? Is it fear that an apology will dent Malay pride?

So if a son rapes someone’s daughter, can his father tell the victim’s family, “If you are offended I apologize for my son”?
    Does it mean the police can now close the file with NFA stamped on it?

29. #29 by Toyol on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:49 am

Sedition Act is only for the Opposition…not for UMNO. Its consistent with the rest of the application of the law and the use of the police to curb Opposition activities. Thats why we must end this once and for all. The ruling coalition has ruled for too long and arrogance has set in to the point of no return.

30. #30 by nge ralph on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:50 am

Did AI say the same thing about Chinese should go back to China
    some years ago when he was the DPM ?
    Has he ever apologised ?

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:51 am

The Chinese Community should treat Najib Razak’s apology as adequate for the time being – and move on.

Who is after all Ahmad Ismail? He is just an UMNO division head. If he were to apologise today, what is there to stop another UMNO division head to utter another racist remark later?

Najib’s apology meets the first prerequisite condition of public apology to assauge hurt feelings in being succinct, specific, and unconditional. It is not like Hishammuddin’s apology over his wielding of the keris. It reeks of doublespeak in which he apologised not only to the non-Malays but also to the Malays.

Now you may say Najib (himself accused of racist remarks when he was UMNO youth leader) could not be sincere. After all Ahmad Ismail made those remarks in his presence in Permatang Pauh BN’s campaign, the racist overtones of which would be imputed to Najib’;s responsibility. However who cares when he is apologising for UMNO?

Najib’s apology is on behalf of UMNO, the proclaimed party representing the Malay community. His apology is UMNO’s apology and by extension the apology of the constituency it represents, dissociating and rebuking the errant remarks of Ahmad Ismail.

The organisation is more important than its individual member. When such a public apology is offered, it benchmarks that such racist remarks are unwarranted and is not reflective of position and the attitude of Umno or the leadership of Umno.

It means that in future such remarks will not be tolerated amongst its members. Of course sincerity of such public apology is subject to proof, whether when the next time such a thing recurs, it would take action.

One may ask why not take action now? Sack the guy. Short answer is that all along UMNO has promoted Ketuanan. To UMNO it is already a big thing and concession for its Deputy president to apologise on its behalf in direct or indirect contradiction of Ketuanan! Such an apology would not be tolerated if BN were not haunted by spectre of cross overs by its non Malay component parties courted by Anwar!

To punish its own (before it was made clear that such remarks were wrong as UMNO deputy president just did by public apology) smacks of overkill – from Ketuanan’s perpectives!

32. #32 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:53 am

Ahmad should apologize, not Najib. Maybe they will wake up only when one day, all the talented, capable, highly skilled, well educated, non Malay leave Msia.
    Msia will then pay foreigners (some could be ex Msian), to do even jobs like teaching English, overhaul bus engine, maintain building Mech. & Elec. system, build road flyover etc. operating a district hospital, build a 20 storey hotel etc. Maybe they like this way.
    then, “Betul lah orang asing menguasai ekonomi Msia”

33. #33 by despin on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:55 am

This is just a good cop-bad cop game that Najib-Ahmad Ismail played. Najib’s apology cannot be sincere. He, like Badawi, has lost all credibility as a responsible leader. Seriously, do we have to play Umno’s childish and desperate game?

34. #34 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:57 am

cancel lah if it is offensive !

35. #35 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:08 pm

Continuing my post under moderation what about Nik Aziz’s remarks that Muslims should not back parties that are non-Islamic? Did we ask either Nik Aziz or PAS to apologise for hurting non muslims’ feelings? Lets not be too sensitive or we descend to the level of those who throw racist remarks at us. As I said in my earlier post (under moderation) it’s already a big concession – and benchmarking of parameters of what may not be said – in contradiction of UMNO’s ketuanan ideology for Najib to give such a succinct and unconditional apology on UMNO’s behalf. And an apology from the ruling party is more significant than an apology of one division head going awry that does not prevent another division head to repeat same offence. To demand more is an overkill that may persuade the Malay community not to support Pakatan Rakyat which rise to power may be misinterpreted as facilitatitive of a concomitant surge in Non malays’ arrogance. UMNO leaders have to ‘wean’ its members from this ketuanan sentiments which explains why his statement was reported in the non-Malay mainstream media but not in the Malay mainstream media. So what? In the wired world what happens in one media gets to the other but it takes the edge from feeling of effrontery on the part of those accustomed to rhetoric of racial supremacy.

36. #36 by Ken G on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:09 pm

Blacking out the “apology” in the Malay papers is disgusting and shows that the “apology” is not sincere. It may mean that the racist remarks are secretly condoned.

37. #37 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:12 pm

Continuing my earlier two postings (still under moderation) I would urge the Chinese community to be restraint : we have made our point, so be maganimous in victory and don’t go overboard. For multiracial harmony we can be maganimous and don’t have to go for the jugular.

38. #38 by Richardqed on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:15 pm

YB LKS,

Those are very good points that were raised in your article. Ahmad Ismail has to show his disgusting face and apologize himself, and it has to be made known in all mainstream media, and especially in Bahasa Malaysia.

The Bukit Bendera Umno division chief must be punished very thoroughly: stripped of his Datukship, made to apologize to the same people he insulted (and this be made known to his own people), and sacked from his post and party.

Anything less than that would just be a sandiwara, and if that is the case, voters should again know how to punish Ahmad and his protectors at the ballot box again.

It’s time Malaysians learnt not to be fooled by insincere apologies.

39. #39 by wanderer on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:21 pm

Is UMNO cabinet reconsidering abolishing ISA?
    Now, one of them (many more, using Ahmad Ismail as a test case) face the sedition act. I doubt, just curious.
    UMNO and MCA GEs are just around the corner, the despicable leaders of these both parties, will like to be seen as doing something to justify their actions, to be elected for the position they are seeking.

40. #40 by Ken G on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:25 pm

Freddy, it doesn’t matter whether MCMC has unblocked Malaysia-Today or not. The site can still be accessed at:

http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com/2008/

41. #41 by oct on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:30 pm

Police reports has been made. Any reason why Police is not calling Ahmad up to have his statement recorded and charged him accordingly? What are they waiting for? If report is made against LKS or Karpal, they will be requested to report to the Police the very next day. Come on Police, please do your work!!!

42. #42 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:31 pm

OH WOW…

http://margeemar.blogspot.com/2008/09/real-reason-why-pm-badawi-doesnt-want.html
    ——————————————–
    erm…. im totaly flabbergasted. now i wonder why koh tsu koon denial on pinang properties.

43. #43 by ipohMali on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:32 pm

No one should accept Ahmad apologies in any form. He should faced the law. This kind of remark is no joke and should not be taken lightly. Imagine similar remark is made by someone from the opposition and the police will visit them immediately.

44. #44 by joonsing on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:33 pm

wtf, is only reported in non-Malay newspaper but not Malay newspaper?

Najib is a mofu.
    Batawi and Ahmad are !@#$%^&

45. #45 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:44 pm

YB Kit, we cannot even begin to equate Ahmad Ismail’s wrong doings with Wee Meng Chee’s. Wee is just an ordinary citizen posting a creative satire on the NET whereas Ahmad’s speech was made in an election campaign as the head of an UMNO division and where his intentions was clearly to be racist to gain votes. This is a dangerous act. Ahmad is no ordinary citizen but a head of an UMNO division and his words carries a lot of weight while Wee is just a young man with little or no influence over the people he is trying to reach.

AAB and Najib has tried to cover up for Ahmad for reasons best known to themselves by claiming that Ahmad made these seditious remarks on his own. If so, all the more reason Ahmad should make the apology on his own and not Najib making it for him. Why is Ahmad shying away from his own responsibility? If he has the guts to make such a statement and now his bosses are saying he is wrong, he should have the balls to come out in the open and either agree with his bosses and say he is sorry or, if he disagrees with them, tell them he is not sorry and his bosses are wrong and he meant what he said.

Hiding in some hole is the act of cowards and certainly not the qualities of a person who claims he is a leader, albeit a small one. Anwar calling him low class was an apt description.

46. #46 by Freddy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:46 pm

# Ken G Says:

Freddy, it doesn’t matter whether MCMC has unblocked Malaysia-Today or not. The site can still be accessed at:

http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com/2008/
    ========

thanks Ken G. I know about this mirror site. just that when the Star published a story to say that Raja Botak Petra’s blog is unblocked, i thought they came to their senses only to feel being had by the Star. hence, i decided to blog about it to such an effect as ‘Which goblok blocked unblocked this blog?’ but i simply shorten it to ‘blocked-unblocked-goblok’

hahahahaha

47. #47 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:52 pm

Now let us see if Najib and UMNO did really apologise or merely did a “LKY” (that famous “apology” by LKY to Pak Lah last year or so):

“…we apologise if it has incurred the sensitivities or unhappiness over the statement.” Bernama.

The emphasis is on “IF”, so it is conditional as per Hishamuddin’s conditional “IF” keris “apology” to Malaysians’ for wielding the keris.

If you want to apologise, just apologise in a straight forward and clear manner. Have the bolas to do so. No ifs, buts, when, how or whys.

Might I suggest the Penang state government seriously consider withdrawing Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s Datukship if his title was awarded by the State? He is not worthy to have that title for causing all these tensions, disharmony and unhappiness.

48. #48 by wanderer on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:52 pm

Mr Syed Hamid, you are always very quick to make stupid statements, I will like to hear your statement as a Home Minister, on Ahmad Ismail’s racist remarks…I like to be amused because, I can almost anticipate, what will come out from your distorted mouth!
    Please entertain us.

49. #49 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:57 pm

Syed Hamid, crime in this land has reached titanic proportions!
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/National/2339491/Article/index_html

50. #50 by smashchye on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:01 pm

ahmad shud apologize by walking around the country and apologize personally to each and every one of the chinese community…. without chinese, where will the malaysian be today…do not deny chinese credibility. whereas non bumis like us cannot apply for certain things, only the bumis can. so bumis tend to be lazy and chinese tend to be more hardworking to work to support their living because they hev no help from the govt. as for syed hamid, i tink he likes to make stupid remarks because he wants to be popular…sometimes the things do not concern him at all oso he likes to comment..buzybody and my dad said his mouth like chicken mouth..

51. #51 by 7even Sins on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:04 pm

If Ahmad Ismail were to make to apologize, who is going to do their dirty job in future for UMNO kanninneh?? Najis miscalcuated that his apology did not make him look good with 2 massive Douroucouli’s sparkling eyes (blink..blink) but stink like his own najis..!!!!! People like Ahmad Ismail are non progressive, selfish & KUNO. Malaysia would have no much hope with these extremists around.

52. #52 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:08 pm

Such racist and possibly seditious remarks have been quite frequent of late and steps should be taken to stop all this.

Consequently, stern action is warranted and indeed necessary to discourage reoccurence.

It is not sufficient, I think, to just accept this “apology” and “move on” as some suggests. Even the UMNO President treats it very lightly and frivolously when he said he will “speak to Ahmad Ismail and tell him not to do it again” and “Ismail Ahmad did not mean it”.

The news blackout in the Malay mainstream media only shows that many Malays are not aware of the “apology” and they still go about thinking that it is all right to repeat those seditious words.

53. #53 by chinymin on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:56 pm

Why is it so difficult for Ahmad Ismail to apologise? Is he not gentleman enough to do it? Even small children know how, when a mistake is made, be it intentional or otherwise. Is this what we consider still a learning curve for him or is it what we call pure hyprocrisy? Your guess!!

54. #54 by k1980 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:56 pm

Ahmad “Squatter” Ismail knows that without the Chinese, this land would have been like Yala and Patani provinces today, annexed by the Siamese and ruled from Bangkok. But, on a brighter note, sabah and Sarawak would had been independent wealthy countries like Brunei

55. #55 by max2811 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 1:59 pm

There are so many Ahmad Ismails in UMNO. What apology? You think they care? Najib is doing it on his behalf bcos he has his own agenda. But behind the scene, this same Najib will curse and #### all the Chinese if he can.

56. #56 by newchief on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:07 pm

i don’t think nashit apology is sincere on behalf of this ahmad and it is not acceptable AT ALL !! if he shows sincerity , he should have done it ON THE SPOT during p44 campaign!! luckily the p44 didn’t react vigourously but pay them back by voting AGAINST THEM !! I SALUTE P44 VOTERS OF PK!!

wether action be taken against ahmad or not, it does not matter because action should be taken intead against bodowi,nashit and hamid for not being BOLD enough to DISCIPLINE his own ‘anak’ Ahmad!! so we just let these anaks to go around insulting other races and these 3 stooges will either say ‘he didn’t mean it, nothing to do with me or umno’ or just keep quiet ?

i hope those who still back bn will now realise that bn cares for no-one but themselves though they claim otherwise. wake up please to bn supporters no matter you are of what color or race and not be sweet talk by these crooks / gangsters or whatever with promises that only you and i can dream about .

57. #57 by aje on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:08 pm

The Chinese dont want Najib’s apology.What we want is Ahmad Ismail’s apologies.He should have the guts to make a public apologies becaiuse he has offended and infuriated 6.5 millions Chinese in this country.Anything less than this is unacceptable.With such frequent racist statements by UMNO members I predict more non-malays will not support BN candidates in future elections.I believe if he apologises sincerely the chinese in Malaysia will forgive him.There are so many important issues in the country that needs to be tackled.Please all the MPs and politicians reduce your politicking but concentrate on how to develop our country further.Onwards Malaysia.

58. #58 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:08 pm

Sdr Ahmad Ismail,

Please do not apologized, please I beg of you, please continue to show your contempt of No-Bumi M’sian.

You are doing what is expected of your kind (aka UMNO-putra type), your silence and arrogance is the fuel that will drive BN Component MPs out of BN unto PR.

Thank you.

EP

59. #59 by taiking on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:13 pm

Look. Look.

Look at how clumsily Najib handled the apology. He is totally unfamiliar with it. And he obviously thought that apologies could be delivered vicariously. He is mistaken. Umno has never done it before. That is why he is so uncertain.

This is one clear evidence that UMNO is arrogant and has never undertaken any damage control measures. Yes. Not even the simple measure of muttering a little apology.

60. #60 by oknyua on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:24 pm

Jeffrey, we must be magnanimous, which I don’t agree with this particular case. With the police report made, the sedition act must now apply. I also think we have to act likewise in the case of Nik Aziz. A few reasons:

1. Had that statement was made by non-UMNO people, the person would have been handcuffed.

2. Unbridled tongues are getting far too common, not only from UMNO. Remember Zulkifli.

3. In the case of Ahmad, he is getting both prominence and notoriety and I have a feeling that in UMNO he is also getting more popular. What leadership would he exhibits if one of these days he gets into the national leadership and become a minister? Our multiracial nation can’t afford not to solve this at the bud.

4. Far too long, we associate UMNO=Malay and Malay=UMNO. This is even seen in the comments made in this blog. This is far from reality. I personally don’t want to see our dislike (or hatred) towards UMNO to cover Malays. I have many good Malay friends. So take action against Ahmad and not to allow this issue to simmer further.

5. Similarly we must be able to separate political parties from the Malay race – as others must see Chinese or Indians away from MCA, DAP and MIC.

Just my opinion.

61. #61 by alancheah on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

PureMalaysian Says:

Today at 09: 45.14 (4 hours ago)
    We dont give a damn whether they apologise or not. Our concern now is whether DSAI really has the 30 cross over MPs by 16 Sep!! That’s more important now! As we all already know that UMNO/BN is totally hopeless and there’s no way we can make them change anymore.

=======================================

I can understand your frustrations, and you are RIGHT..!!!

62. #62 by Yee Siew Wah on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

I hope this racialistic idiot will “SWEAR” that he did not mean it. Anyway this is their trend with our BN scumbags now.
    We do not need police and laws to get this idiot, if he “SWEARS” he did not do it, then all Umnoputras, MCA, MIC, Gerakan etc… will beleive him.
    Remember this is Bolehland.

63. #63 by kanthanboy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

The sixth reason why Najib’s apology is unacceptable:

He did not mean it.

Do you think Bernama would blackout Najib’s apology in its Bahasa Malaysia news without order? Who ordered it?

64. #64 by I Malaysian on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 2:38 pm

I have been following the NTV7 and TV3 prime time news since election this year. Both are owned by same group but if we closely watch the news contents we will know both have different agendas. Whilst NTV7 caters for the English speaking groups mostly non-Malays, the TV3 which is meant for Malays usually splash news mostly to propagate Malay issues that include racial remarks which are aimed at stoking hatred for non-Malays

So when LKS points out Bernama’s strategy to black out Najib’s apology to Chinese in Bahasa version it speaks the volume. It is evident how the MSM and BN have been manipulating the rakyat for the benefit of their political masters.

Yes, I agree Najib’s apology must be rejected.

65. #65 by just a moment on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:03 pm

I really like this “I don’t care what else these scumbags says or do.
    Just get in the New Goment!!”

For all you know this Ahmad is now squatting at some high ranking’s jamban.

We are merely or simply asking Ahmad to say “Sorry”
    The most basic moral teaching we all incalcute to childrens
    and as human beings. You make a mistake, admit it then move on
    and hopefully you learned.

This Step 1. Simple straight forward manner lesson requires the entire Umno to debate, ponder, plot, organised, then perhaps rope in the entire Goment networks to spy, track, stop bloggers, ISA [deleted]
    What other big mega, international plans you were mentioning Umno or BN and how much more the rakyat have to fork out?
    Give it up! We doubt the Goment can ever do anything right let alone all these garbbage about being productive and progress.

66. #66 by Richardqed on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:09 pm

“Make sure that we understand there are many good and nice Malays who have nothing to do with the remarks. We should not hurt them in words. Because of irresponsible remarks by some UMNO leaders, the nice Malays are hurt as well. Remember that the illegal wealth of UMNO politicians are at the expenses of these very nice Malays. The Chinese have the duty to protect and help the nice Malays or any persons who need help, while fighting for our freedom and justice from these UMNO politicians.” — pulau_sibu

Very well said, pulau_sibu. In fact, everyone has a duty to make sure everyone else is aware that they have been bullied and conned and played like fools by the thieves, and that these despicable acts should not go unpunished.

67. #67 by ghinna_lm on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:16 pm

YB,

I would like to draw your attention to the case that this statement was a common statement made by government during the compulsory “Training Camp” of government servants for newly recruit professionals, such as doctors, dentist, pharmist….etc.

Please take this issue seriously, as this statement was thrown to the campers openly, of course 80% of it were Malays. Organiser was trying to input to all campers that all of those non-malays are out-comers of Malaysia, non-malays just TUMPANG in this tanah melayu. They trying to brain wash all the campers, and of course this statement gain silent support from Malays… and non malays cant voice anything…

Would appreciate those non-bumis who attended such courses/camp can stand up and voice it out…. pls pls… we need to correct this…

YB i sincerely hope that you could go into the field and look into this issue.

Rgds
    Ghinna_lm

68. #68 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:18 pm

The apology should be directed to all Malaysians, not the Chinese alone. Uncle Lim should demand him to apologise to all Malaysians. By making such stupid remark, he (a bad Malay) hurt the many nice Malays as well.

69. #69 by just a moment on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:20 pm

O ya, why did najib apologised?

I say, this apology will also include all the rest of his sins, eg- personal, national, home, or international as well. He just hope
    to tumpang on Ahmad case so he can be pardon and its cheaper.Sure can,afterall being doing it all the time. It work.
    He has make his stand.
    Don’t believed?
    He can swear if you want to,
    you know.

70. #70 by ghinna_lm on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:20 pm

Again i do hope YB open up a forum or any platform for those who were being brainwashed with this statement before to voice this out, i trust most of them are from professional field, as those around me involved before are doctors and pharmist, this was critical case…. please please… would appreciate anyone could bring this to surface….

Rgds
    Ghinna_lm

71. #71 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:26 pm

From Malaysiakini:

“Navy overspent RM114 mil on jetty HQ
    Rahmah Ghazali and Syed Jaymal Zahiid | Sep 3, 08 12:12pm

The Auditor-General’s Report 2007 said the project was poorly planned and managed from the beginning.”

Hey, stop! Isn’t the navy from Najib’s Defence ministry? Oh, stop! Isn’t the Razak Baginda’s submarine + Mongolian mystery also from Najib’s Defence ministry?

And Pak Lah thinks Najib is prime ministerial material! Shcocking. Is Pak LAh as stupid as Tun M in the choice of a successor?

You answer that for me.

72. #72 by just a moment on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:31 pm

can anyone help?
    Does anyone knows why our comments are being held back for moderation?
    By the way, are there certain criteria one has to conform before posting?
    If there are, what are they?
    Finally, not least – Who does the moderation?
    What duration one has to wait?
    I notice some are also being [deleted]? by whom?
    Thanks in advance for any info given.
    Cheers

73. #73 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:32 pm

Amongst the racist rants and dirty politics, LKS is plotting to be the first Chinese, non-Muslim DPM.

Only time will tell how this will go down with the Malays.

74. #74 by TKC on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:36 pm

On behalf of all Malaysians (except the UMNO members), We reject the apology by Najib.
    Umno members seemed to be a privileged group to utter any race and religion-sensitive remarks and got scot-free. This is absolutely UNACCEPTABLE.

75. #75 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:37 pm

Richard, it is not one section of the community’s monopoly over who they consider is being ‘bullied and conned’. One of the negative effects of the NEP is that it has sanitised the minds of those who are scrupulously benefitting from it. Telling someone that they are being bullied while they are given the benefits of NEP is nonsensical.

76. #76 by william62 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:43 pm

Hello, YB Lim K S, Dap seharusnya kerja lebih kuat sekarang di Sarawak dan Sabah. Kemukakan isu-isu berikut untuk menyemarakkkan semangat berkobar-kobar orang Sabah dan Sarawak ”
    1. Isu royalty petroleum
    2. Isu tempoh geran tanah ditambah sekurang-kurangya ke90 tahaun dan ke atas.
    3. Isu bantuan dan pemberian tanah 1000hektar kepada Sekolah Menengah Swasta Cina.
    4. Isu tidak ada jalan raya yang menghubungi kebanyakan kampung dan bandar di bahagian pedalaman misalnya Daerah Baram dan Lawas.
    5. Isu Kemiskinan kaum pribumi di Sarawak dan Sabah
    6. Isu kemunduran Sarawak dari segi pembangunan dan ekonomi walaupun sudah 45 tahun berada dalam Malaysia.
    7. Isu kesusahan untuk mendapat permit membina tempat ibadat bagi penganut bukan Muslim.
    8. Isu kemunduran sektor perubatan di Sarawak . Tiada seorang Haemotologist pun yang ada di Hospital Awam di Sarawak hungga sekarang.
    Usahalah bersungguh-sungguh dan berikan lebih banyak galakkan dan sokongan supaya orang di sini berani BERTINDAKAK dalam usaha PR membuat CHANGE pada 16hb, Sept tahun ini.
    Berita terkini hari ini: Hampir semua lapisan masyarakat dari pelbagai kaum di Sabah dan Sarawaksedang hangat membincangkan isu 16hb Sep, tindak balas menunjukkan 99% menyokong DAP dan PR untuk memawa perubahan , jika DAP dan PKR teruskan usaha, yakin terdapat 40+ MPs sarawak dan Sabah akan pindah ke PR…… ************Dap pula harus mengambilkan peluang ini untuk mendapatkan sebanyak mungkin ahli MPs sarawak dan Sabah untuk menyertai DAP supaya DAP masih menjadi parti BESAR dalam aPkatan Rakayat …….. kalau semua MPs di sini masuk PKR, DAP akan jadi parti nyamuk!!!!!!!!!
    Come on, come on YB LIM KIT SIANG, , jangan lepaskan peluang keemasan ini, orang dari timur sedang menunggu!!!!!!!!!!!!!

77. #77 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:43 pm

Ahmad Ismail, either apologize if you feel you had said some wrong thing OR if you feel what you had said is correct, then go on repeat what U said every week in the newspapers, repeat it in every meetings, repeat it to foreign journalists, whenever you address any crowds, to ‘you tubes’ etc, to stress your points.
    You must be brave to stand by your words (if your words are correct)

78. #78 by lakshy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:44 pm

Go for the Sedition Act. Let him be charged, and let DPM be implicated too since he was present during the incident, probably even sharing the same stage!

If only the Police was free and FAIR!

79. #79 by william62 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:46 pm

Berita baik:
    Ramai Menteri dari Sarawak dan Sabah telah bersuara untuk menyokong cadangan LKS untuk menjadikan 16 Sept sebagai Cuti Umum, nampaknya peluang 916 PR menubuhkan kerajaan Persekutuan semakin cerah , teruskan usaha LKS, jangan mudah putus asa!

80. #80 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:47 pm

Zak: “LKS is plotting to be the first Chinese, non-Muslim DPM. Only time will tell how this will go down with the Malays.”

LKS is a bone-fide MP, he holds a M’sian Passport, he is a M’sian citizen, he has attain an age of 21 and above, he is not a bankrupt, I think he is technically allow to hold the position. Where is the problem?

EP

81. #81 by selvarajasomiah on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:50 pm

As a fellow Penangite, Ahmad,has disappointed me and all Penangites tremendously with the racist commentary about the Penang chinese.

The racist attacks on the Penang chinese are unfounded and downright mean to the core. If Ahmad want to support Arif Shah and UMNO, by all means, that is his perrogative and he certainly have the right to endorse Arif Shah if he choose. However, demeaning Penang chinese who have never demeaned him or his fellow UMNO chaps is truly unfair and speaks volumes about the unfair nature of his character.

I guess UMNO Bukit Bendera and all Penangites sees this as well, which is why many in Penang are so bitter.

Just because Penang is control by DAP and the Pakatan, Ahmad Ismail should not attack the Penang chinese with his racist statement.

Ahmad Ismail could never garner enough support at the coming UMNO Bukit Bendera divisional contest. This time he is going to lose his Ketua Bahagian in Bukit Bendera. The bulk of Penang Malays are not like Ahmad. Ahmad should channel his energies into his failing career and cease in attacking those in the political world who have never hurt him directly.

Very disappointing to hear a Penangite talk like that in his own hometown.

His refusal to apologise when facing the wrath of the Chinese community showed how arrogant and insensitive he is to the multiracial society in Penang.

No wonder Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, calls him a low-class politician who has no concern for the feelings of fellow Malaysians.

I thought I liked him and attended his Hari Raya open house last year. I didn’t know he is just another mean jerk who is a racist.

selvaraja somiah

82. #82 by lakshy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:52 pm

EP,

You should ignore such comments. You should be able to tell who is here to stoke racial sentiments, and who is here to serve their masters. Such persons are here to take the heat off their own masters. I dont even see how his statement finds a place in this particular thread.

Its all diversionary tactics, so dont get dragged into it.

83. #83 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:54 pm

Zak-ham, if no politician trying to brainwash the Malay, then what is wrong with a non Muslim DPM ?? Why must an “orang asing” also trying to brainwash too?

84. #84 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:56 pm

Emily, I never said there was a problem… yet. I do believe that any such intention on part of DAP would see the coalition crumble.

85. #85 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 3:57 pm

Zak-ham, are U trying to suggest U are more kulitfied for a DPM post than LKS?? even though (admitted by you) you are not born here?

86. #86 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:00 pm

i came to believe Zak might not be what he claims(decoy), are you marina the mamak daughter? lol

87. #87 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:02 pm

cheng, why don’t you ask the Malays. I do not think it is an exaggeration to say that the Malays would rather die than to give up their political powers; that too to a minority race and/or non-Muslims.

Brings the whole argument back to the issue of secularism and it’s general rejection in Malaysia.

88. #88 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:07 pm

As far as I’m concerned, the more Ahmad Ismail we have, the faster we’ll get a new government.

89. #89 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:10 pm

cheng, you sure have a vivid imagination as if to think ‘if you can’t say something worthwhile, say anything’. I covet no position within the demagoguery of Malaysian politics.

Good day.

90. #90 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:12 pm

Zak, I am a eligible Malaysian voter, and I voted for a non-race based future, if you claim you are a foreigner, then … off, I am the master of my own destiny, and I want non raced based future based on meritocracy.

My forefather can tolerate the old regime, I would not.

If LKS or whoever meets the criteria based on merit, by all means, let him/her be.

EP

91. #91 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:12 pm

Zak-ham, you may be right, as many of the Malay (esp. the village ones) had already been brainwashed all these years (at least 30).
    This must be the only country in this world where a majority race (>57%) is constantly brainwashed by their politicians to be afraid of minority races.

92. #92 by wanderer on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:18 pm

ZAk; The position of a DPM can fall on any MP or Malaysian who is qualified and clean…capable to lead the country. Do you still have the ‘old’ mindset that only a malay must be appointed? Surely by now, we have passed that phase… reserve for malays only!
    Building a better nation by appointing suitable leaders is much better than playing politics. This is also one of the reasons, we are crying for Merdeka II. Why do we fear Change if change will benefit the nation.

93. #93 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:20 pm

Anybody remember this Naji as a keris wielding man in 1987 threatenening the Chinese, never hear him apologize??

94. #94 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:25 pm

Spot on Cheng. That’s why so many of the older generation are so afraid of CHANGE.

95. #95 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:27 pm

Zak it is the same Barack Obamo was fighting for today! SAME SAME!

96. #96 by badak on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:27 pm

Zak Haammad please define what is KEKUATAN MELAYU and how it benefit us MALAYS in general.Must we be only in UMNO to see its benefit.
    Hard working MALAYS can never go far if they don,t play ball with UMNO.

97. #97 by swipenter on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:29 pm

Regarding the role of MSM in reporting Najib’s apology it is pointed out that malay language newspapers did not report it .My opinion is that no MSM should be owned or controlled by any political party then news could reported without fear or favour and the local media would ” fulfil its solemn duty as one of the most important institutions of a democratic and civilised society. Rather , the local media appears to be merely pliable propagandistic instrument of the political power that be.” I am quoting the late Rustam A. Sani in his book “Failed Nation? Concerns Of A Malaysian Nationalist”

98. #98 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:29 pm

In Ahmad Ismail apologist mode:

“When Sdr Ahmad Ismail mention Chinese are immigrants/pendatang, he actually meant those over-stayed Chinese Passport holders whom are here working as GROs, Masseuse, VCD/DVD peddler.”

I think this is just a case of misreporting by the media. That is why we must censor undesirable alternative media, as only well regulated media will report the truth.

EP

99. #99 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:31 pm

well regulated media means state controlled media…

EP

100. #100 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 4:32 pm

i mean Barack Obama* sry…. “liberated democracies” not “Communism”, We fought and won that WAR long ago! And now its back in political form!

101. #101 by jjireh99 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 5:08 pm

why do we have to go on and on and on and on about this issue??? Knowing full well that even if he apologises, it’s too late and not sincere! So, let’s just for once and for all, KICK THE WHOLE UMNO FELLAS INCLUDING MCA ESPECIALLY OUT OF THIS COUNTRY!!!!! DON’T FORGET ALSO, TDM AND GANG ARE ALSO NOT WELCOMED TO RULE OVER US!!!! PLEASE GUYS, THEY ARE HISTORY, WE CANNOT TAKE BACK GARBAGE. I’M SERIOUS!!!!! LET’S GET DSAI AS OUR NEXT PM-IN-WAITING!!!!!

102. #102 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 5:33 pm

This is Bulan Suci Ramadhan. Should we expect people not to tell lies, not to be insincere, not to cheat, not to practice corruptions, not to lock up innocent until proven guilty people, not to ……?

103. #103 by tonysam18 on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 5:47 pm

It is very obvious what the DPM is doing. It is very simple. DPM Najib is the mastermind . He said I am the boss and tell Datuk Ahmad Ismail the runner to go and do it. If no repercussion, very well said . If have any repercussion, the boss will come and apologise . Just imagine if the boss said that and when the rakyat object and there is no more superior to cover up. Wnat will happen.

The DPM is not too stupid. But this trick has been used too many a time.

104. #104 by badak on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 6:32 pm

UMNO is doom.Heard about the”” RAHMAN FACTOR.””
    1st PM Rahman
    2nd PM ABDUL RAZAK
    3rd PM HUSSIEN ONN
    4th PM MAHATHIR
    5th PM ABDULLAH
    6th pm NAJIB….. I don,t think so . The next PM is NIK AZIZ. All BN leaders beware

105. #105 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 6:33 pm

Im sure Zak(the beever) was having sushi-salmon while pleasure his climax by pissing off ppl in here, and good day.

106. #106 by cheng on on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 6:49 pm

Ahmad Ismail, since you dont like the Chinese, dont trust them. etc.
    Pls then you and yr family members, have nothing to do with Chinese (include all Chinese outside Msia), dont buy anything from them, shopkeeper, dont deal with any chinese doctor, engineer, house builder, car repairer, electrician, plumber, transport provider, hawker, wiremen, make sure all the parts in yr cars, all yr household aircond, etc, all yr kids toy, computers, handphones, utensil, TV, etc etc, nothing from China, Taiwan, HK, Spore or Macau (all these places hv many Chinese). Even if you buy something made in Msia, ensure it is not made by Chinese.
    Ensure your eggs, chicken, vegetables, rice, fish, cooking oil, cakes, bread, ice cream, etc are not produced by Chinese, your RM100 or RM50 bill not produced or touched by Chinese hands etc etc, OK ?
    You should also urge all yr friends to follow you!

107. #107 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 6:57 pm

If BN was so eager to pass the DNA Bill due to its urgency (for use on DSAI), they should also consider this as an emergency which needed an “instant antidote”. Shouldn’t they pass a Race Relation Bill now???

108. #108 by Godfather on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 8:02 pm

As far as Zak the foreigner is concerned, no one is good enough for him to be the PM of Bolehland. He thinks very lowly of Badawi (thank goodness for that), but then he also thinks very lowly of Anwar, Kit and Karpal.

As far as Zak is concerned, the only appropriate PM is his hero the Mamak.

Emily, good for you to tell this foreigner to … off. We are in charge of our own destiny, not some brown-nosing foreigner who got his break from the criminal mamak.

109. #109 by lchk on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 8:10 pm

zak posted:

“I do not think it is an exaggeration to say that the Malays would rather die than to give up their political powers; that too to a minority race and/or non-Muslims.”

Your statement is an attempt to discredit the legitimacy of non-Malay rights in Malaysia.

You aren’t a Malay – hence you do not speak for the Malays.

A self-proclaimed “foreigner” like you have no say whatsoever in the election of politicians in this country – you aren’t eligible to vote.

110. #110 by Malaysian Mummy on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 9:48 pm

Malaysia had achieved 51 years old but many uncivilised BN politicians especially UMNO veterans like Ahmad Ismail still think that playing racist issue to hurt other non-Malays will influence Malay voters to change their mind to vote for UMNO candidate in Permatang Pauh.

The by election result breakdown showed 62% Malay and 77% non-Malay voters voted Dato’ Seri Anwar but minority less than 30% voted for UMNO. This result proven Malaysians are matured and smart to believe UMNO is corrupted with money politic and nepotism and cronisym. Listen , read and see what happen when chairs and tables are flying and fighting over UMNO division campaign in Seremban. How greedy a 60 years old UMNO veteran division head with few term ADUNs still fighting over the division head position? Similar Ahmad Ismail is an oldman from UMNO Bkt Bendera divison head wants to become UMNO Hero to insult non-Malay people to proof his point that he has bad evil mind to cause UMNO appointed candidate to lose badly and destroy Dato Arif, another UMNO leader who understand Chinese language and cultures. Ahmad dengki and jealous Arif will control UMNO division election this coming UMNO campaign if Arif wins the by election in Permatang Pauh.

The insider UMNO members war campaigns will cause more political instability in BN and potential more racist remarks will be uttered by irresponsible UMNO division heads or members in order to insult non-Malays to proof their arrogance on Ketuanan Melayu. Their bad faiths in using corruptions, slanders, money politics and racist remarks shall continue to win more UMNO members votes.

As we see, read and write it !

Melayu Mudah Lupa – said Tun Dr M critised on Malay community. Even Tun Dr M always to criticised the foreigners. But why cant a foreigner critised Malaysia if BN is a corrupt government today- said Tun Dr M too….so…grow up babies like ICHK and others! Dont you know another 4 more years – Malaysia will celebrate its 55 years old retirement plan. It is time to let Pakatan Rakyat to replace old racist ideology of BN with more dynamic multi-racial society and better social contact regardless of races or religions.

Sept 16 is a Dooms Day for BN if Pakatan Rakyat shall rise and walk tall into PutraJaya soon.

Hidup Bangsa Malaysia.

111. #111 by kerishamuddinitis on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:22 pm

Cheng On is SPOT ON. Yes, let’s dredge the past for similar insults and threats to Chinese in Malaysia, made by UMNO leaders. Let’s remind the Chinese community what second class citizens we are. For the past 50 years! Most of all let’s remind the absolutely irrelevant MCA and near-defunct GERAKAN that they stood by and condoned the actions of these Malay leaders as they spewed RACIST threats and insults at the Chinese. MCA does not know it is now DEAD. It doesn’t realise it is DEAD! They are so filled with self-importance to the point of being delusional that they still represent the CHINESE community. Man, they have no idea that a great many Chinese would gladly spit on them! Look at them playing their stupid party games for their party elections.

The Malay leader who made the threat to ‘soak the keris in Chinese blood’ in 1987 – he must apologise! His current apology ‘on-behalf’ is invalid until he makes clean himself over his own seditious remarks. Kerishamuddin wielded the keris and threatened, then subsequently tried to insult the intelligence of the Chinese. Now, Ahmad ‘immigrant’. How many more of these idiots are there left in UMNO?

I tell my kids this is how Malaysia regards them, 4th generation Chinese born in this country. When the leadership of this country is UNWILLING to come down hard and punish such idiots, then the leadership is saying to us, Chinese, we are SECOND CLASS CITIZENS. [deleted]

112. #112 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 10:56 pm

Cheng and Emily, I want you to name me THREE countries of the world where a citizen from the “minority race” came the leader for the majority race.

Obama is not president yet and strictly speaking is not Black enough in the traditional sense of the word, however I will let you include him in your list for the sake of argument.

113. #113 by AhPek on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:06 pm

“LKS is plotting to be the first Chinese non-Muslim DPM.Only time will tell how this will go down with the Malays.”. zak-hamaad.

I am completely taken aback by the reaction of many commentors. Worse still quite a few even went to the extent of putting words in his mouth and using it to criticise him for things he didn’t say!!
    The above statement made is his observation of the Malaysian scene which to a large extent I find it could be true.The racial and religious polarisation has become very much uglier over the last 5 or 6 years.When I was a schoolboy back in the fifties and sixties many of us can count Malays to be some of our good friends if not our best friends.We can quite freely pop into their kampong house and they into ours and even have food with us.Today throughout the country there is no more such scene and right from the start of school children have been segregated. This was first started somewhere in the mid-seventies and today a significant number has already reached voting age plus those from the Malay schools during the British time will make a sizable number who will vote based on race and religion.Is it any wonder if zak cast his doubt whether the Malays (51% of Malaysia’s population) would accept YB as DPM? Zak did not question the suitability of YB KIT. IT IS A FAIR QUESTION.

114. #114 by zak_hammaad on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 11:06 pm

lchk Says:

>> Your statement is an attempt to discredit the legitimacy of non-Malay rights in Malaysia.

It is less about legitimacy and more about acceptability. In the face of social demographics, the minorities should be happy with equal and just representation.

On a further note, the truth is that Malaysia hasn’t had 100% ethnic Malay PM for years, not since the time of Tun Abdul Razak. This shows that Malays of Malaysia are happy to be ruled by other ethnicity, as long as they practise “Malay culture” and are Muslim.

Mahathir’s father came from Kerala. Hussein Onn’s stock came from Turkey and Badawi’s from China. Of the three main leaders in Pakatan, who do you think would be most acceptable as PM?

Abdul Hadi Awang wouldn’t be acceptable to Malaysian Chinese and other non Muslims. Lim Kit Siang wouldnt be acceptable to the Muslims and the Malays. Anwar has the Malay street divided and there is a big ? mark over his head.

In short, only a “Malay” can represent a Malay and by association, a Muslim at that. I personally believe that Malaysia will not see a non-Malay Prime Minister or DPM in this century; such is the stupidity of identifying race with religion.

I wonder however what would happen if Dr Wan Azizah declared her candidacy? Could she became Malaysia’s first ethnic Chinese PM? Interestingly thought indeed.

115. #115 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 1:21 am

WOiiii!… “Zak the beever” who are you to say they(OUR LEADER) were not acceptable or NOT? You dont know us, we dont even wants to know you so beat it!.

SHOO!~ stfu before i threw my kayak piddle on your face and make you chew with it.

Good day!

116. #116 by Malaysian Always on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 2:03 am

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/9/3/nation/20080903161006&sec=nation

i wonder how come they never get special SWAT team police to go arrest him like they did Anwar

117. #117 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 4:20 am

“Secondly, how can Najib’s second-hand apology on behalf of Ahmad Ismail be acceptable when Ahmad continues to be defiant ….”

I think Najib should swear on the Qur’an that he is really sorry.

118. #118 by cheng on on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 9:27 am

zak_hammaad Says:

Yesterday at 23: 06.33
    l
    (I personally believe that Malaysia will not see a non-Malay Prime Minister or DPM in this century; such is the stupidity of identifying race with religion.)
    Wa ! Aren’t you greedy, you want to predict event for even 2nd half of this century ! Most of us in this blog would not be arouind by 2051 ! Things may move faster than you believe.

119. #119 by erik on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 11:20 am

Uncle Lim,
    A friend of mine attended a dinner in Bangkok on 28/08/08, which was hosted by the Sepak Takraw Assoc, (our national team took part in the Kings Cup). This [deleted] ahmad ismail is one of the officials for the takraw team and in the dinner, he said that he’ll never apologize for the remarks he made. My friend was seated at that table and is very furious about it. Apparently he didn’t realized that there’s a ‘pendatang’ at that table!

120. #120 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 1:36 pm

Zak said: “Cheng and Emily, I want you to name me THREE countries of the world where a citizen from the “minority race” came the leader for the majority race.

Obama is not president yet and strictly speaking is not Black enough in the traditional sense of the word, however I will let you include him in your list for the sake of argument.”
    ==============================================

1) Alberto Fujimori of Chile
    2) Dr Mahathir Mohd of Bolehland
    3) Barack Obama of USA (coming soon)

What is your point?

EP

121. #121 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 1:39 pm

Erik said: “A friend of mine attended a dinner in Bangkok on 28/08/08, which was hosted by the Sepak Takraw Assoc, (our national team took part in the Kings Cup). This [deleted] ahmad ismail is one of the officials for the takraw team and in the dinner, he said that he’ll never apologize for the remarks he made. My friend was seated at that table and is very furious about it. Apparently he didn’t realized that there’s a ‘pendatang’ at that table!”
    ===============================================

Better he does not apologize, it makes the decision easier for the BN component parties to leave BN.

EP

122. #122 by AhPek on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 3:43 pm

Alberto Fujimori is the former President of PERU and is sentenced to 6 years jail for abuse of authority.

123. #123 by Emily Pratt on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 4:06 pm

Thanks AhPek for the correction.

EP

124. #124 by akarmalaysian on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 4:45 pm

now u knw how arrogant some of these umno idiots hv become.they think they own malaysia.and the think they rule this country.i dun condemn umno but these are the sort of people dats causing disharmony among malaysians.people like this wont and cant go far in achieving watever vision of harmony or porosperity for this country.people like this we can do without cause they are a hindrance to nations stability and harmony.they will only talk abt their own race for their own benefit.we are the “pendatangs” dats been bring full load of cultures into this country.we are the “pendatangs” dats been making this country special with various cultures.we are the “pendatangs” dats been giving a lot of people opportunities for greedy people like u to be whr u are today.we are the “pendatangs” dats been helping malaysia to grow to where it is today.and we “pendatangs” eat our meals fr the mouth unlike ahmad ismail who eat fr their sssss.and umno leaders cant even do a thing abt this stupid ahmad ismail.suckers!

125. #125 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 5:33 pm

Emily Pratt, you can cut no. 2 out for a start.

>> What is your point?

The point if that here are not even 3 states you can name where a citizen from the “minority race” became the leader for the majority race. This is because it is a bizarre and unacceptable proposition to almost all nation states.

The example of Peru actually justifies my point further, where his methods drew charges of authoritarianism and human rights violations. He is alleged to be responsible for a number of human rights abuses during his presidency, for which he is currently facing trial. Fujimori is currently serving a six-year prison sentence for abuse of power. The rest you can look up on authoritative websites.

Now it could be that Fujimori who is Japanese by race and held dual citizenship, was unfortunate and that his macroeconomic success in Peru has been over-shadowed. Nevertheless, it is an example that shows a corruption-ridden 10 year premiership. A poll conducted in March 2005 by the Instituto de Desarrollo e Investigación de Ciencias Económicas (IDICE) indicated that 12.1% of the respondents intended to show support for him.

Good day.

126. #126 by taiking on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 6:35 pm

Star Online today, 4th Sept 2008, reported this:

“A visit by The Star to his house in Taman Robina in Butterworth showed that his luxury bungalow, complete with a swimming pool, had been torn down.”

One would need to expand quite a bit of money to build a bungalow. And more if one wants it luxurious. And to add a swimming pool? Oh that would be an extra (at least) RM100,000 one would need to bear.

And then tear all that down?

There are only two reasons for doing this. One, the existing bungalow is too old and is full of problems – usually leakage. Two, to upgrade the luxury bungalow to another level of luxury.

Leakage problems can always be remedied (just dont engage the same contractor who repaired the parliament roof) unless the leakage is due to ground water seepage (i.e. high water table situation).

I am not saying or implying anything. Just thinking aloud.

127. #127 by LBJ on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 8:24 pm

Do Not Worry. Najib’s and Badawi’s apology is invalidated. So now MCA and Gerakan can leave BN with clear conscience.

Reported in The Star:

Bukit Bendera Umno division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail has refused to apologise over his alleged racist remark calling the Chinese community “immigrants who do not deserve equal rights”.

“Why should I apologise? I didn’t do anything wrong. Those who do wrong should apologise but I haven’t done anything,” Ahmad said, when met outside his Bayan Baru office Thursday.

128. #128 by billykbk on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 8:26 pm

Now, this Ahmad guy dares all sane M’sians. He has refused to apologise saying he had done nothing wrong. So, Najis & Sleepyhead can both go and fly kite!

129. #129 by mareshian on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 9:55 pm

This is bloody ridiculous. It’s the 21st century. We just celebrated our 51st year and now a chief of a political party is calling the party members of a component party and millions of tax-paying Malaysians ‘immigrants who do not deserve equal rights”… disappearing for days and later coming back saying NO apologies are required because he did NOTHING wrong.

NOTHING.

NOTHING.

This is NOTHING to him.

Apparently, Millions of people are in the wrong not him.

Yet something tells me (sadly) that he is going to get away with it.

Ni example “Masa election “kawan”, Lepas election “lawan”.” BN will no more have a reason to gain the trust of the Chinese if they do not fix this … this… for the lack of a better word, “imbecile”.

130. #130 by ktteokt on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 10:19 pm

Does that mean Ahmad is starting a mutiny? If Najib as VP of UMNO has openly “apologised” and Ahmad who is just a small-fry in UMNO can ignore “instructions” from above, it simply amounts to MUTINY within UMNO!!!!!!

131. #131 by fish-warezmasterz on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 10:48 pm

hello Malaysians…read this,from our ex-PM,Dr Mahathir.he knows lot more than us..read only if you are Malaysian,understand Malaysia language..dont BLAME UMNO for a mistake done by 1 single people..ALL MALAYSIANS never blame chinese people when NAMEWEE sang stupid lame song!!! or indian when stupid actions done by HINDRAF!! be fair,or you are true racist!!!
    ———read this fellas…

“Pohon Maaf”

1. Baru-baru ini Kerajaan dan Timbalan Perdana Menteri serta Menteri-Menteri sibuk memohon maaf kepada orang Cina dan India kerana apa yang dikatakan kata-kata yang dianggap sebagai terlalu perkauman (racist) yang telah disebut oleh beberapa pemimpin Melayu.

2. Sebenarnya orang Melayu sekarang amat takut jika mereka diberi label “racist”. Mereka menulis dalam akhbar yang orang Melayu bukan racist. Demikianlah ketakutan mereka sehingga apabila hak mereka di buruk-burukan dan diserang, mereka tidak berani mempertahankan diri mereka.

3. Malang bagi TPM dan Kerajaan Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi setelah memohon maaf secara terbuka permohonan maaf daripada pemimpin tertinggi Umno ditolak oleh pemimpin-pemimpin kaum berkenaan. Mereka menuntut supaya orang yang perkatakan perkataan yang dilabel “racist” sendiri memohon maaf.

4. Satu lagi peristiwa yang memalukan ialah apabila Kerajaan hantar seorang Menteri untuk minta maaf daripada Kerajaan Cina kerana kononnya wanita rakyat negara Cina telah ditelanjang oleh polis dan ini direkod dalam video.

5. Kemudian didapati wanita itu bukan rakyat negara Cina dan bukan pun Cina Malaysia. Dia adalah seorang perempuan Melayu.

6. Sebaliknya, apabila orang yang bukan Melayu mengeluar perkataan atau catitan yang boleh ditafsir sebagai racist, orang Melayu tidak pernah tuntut supaya pihak berkuasa memohon maaf.

7. Dalam Memo Hindraf ke Perdana Menteri UK banyak perkataan yang terlampau dan racist terdapat didalamnya. Contoh:

a) Kerajaan dikatakan dibantu oleh “Islamic Extremist violent armed terrorists” (orang Melayu)

b) Mereka berkata Kerajaan Malaysia melakukan “Ethnic Cleansing” iaitu Kerajaan sedang membunuh dan menghapuskan orang Tamil.

c) 100 orang keturunan India “ditetak dan dibunuh oleh Kerajaan yang dikuasai oleh UMNO.” Perbuatan ini kononnya adalah “mini genocide” (pembunuhan beramai-ramai mini)

d) Tiap tiga minggu kuil Hindu diroboh.

e) Kerajaan yang kononnya dikuasai oleh UMNO telah lancar serangan bersenjata dengan 600 anggota polis, polis simpanan, pelampau Islam dan pengganas (terrorist) bersenjata (orang Melayu).

f) Pegawai Bandaraya dan Polis dikatakan membaling batu dan menyerang orang Hindu dengan pisau, kayu dan batang besi. Kononya 20 orang Hindu mengalami cedera parah.

8. Tulisan dalam memo Hindraf ini bukan sahaja racist tetapi juga “seditious”(hasutan).

9. Seorang penuntut universiti Wee Meng Chee telah perlekehkan Negaraku dengan mengguna lagu Negaraku tetapi dengan lirik yang mempermainkan sembahyang dan azan orang Melayu (Islam). Azan dijadikan duet lagu cinta.

10. Apakah mereka dikehendaki memohon maaf? Apakah pemimpin mereka dikehendaki memohon maaf? Jauh sekali. Sebenarnya Wee dipertahan oleh pemimpin-pemimpin parti Cina dan anggota Hindraf dibebaskan daripada tahanan dan ada yang dengan bebasnya bertanding dalam pilihanraya dan menang menjadi wakil rakyat.

11. Mereka menuntut supaya tidak ada diskriminasi oleh Kerajaan. Tetapi nampaknya mereka bukan sahaja bebas malah mendapat kehormatan dengan dipanggil “Yang Berhormat” setelah berkata perkataan yang amat keterlaluan bahkan merupa hasutan.

12. Soalnya kenapakah Kerajaan berat sebelah, menyembunyi kata-kata racist Hindraf tetapi melapur dengan meluas apa yang dikatakan oleh pemimpin Melayu. Kenapakah Menteri keturunan India atau ketua-ketua kaum India tidak dikehendaki memohon maaf?

13. Sesungguhnya keadaan hubungan antara kaum bukan lebih baik hasil PRU 2008, tetapi ia menjadi amat buruk. Mungkin saya dituduh sebagai menyumbang kepada keadaan melalui tulisan saya. Tetapi pada saya amatlah tidak adil jika satu pihak dapat kebebasan sedangkan pihak yang ditohmah tidak boleh buka mulut.

132. #132 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 4 September 2008 - 10:57 pm

LBJ, MCA and Gerakan together hold 17 seats in parliament. If they decide to join Pakatan, this would bode well for Anwar. However Anwar can not bribe everyone with guarantees of positions and promotions. It would be moreso a cross-over of convenience rather than any real acceptance of the opposition’s vision.

133. #133 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 12:06 am

zak_hammaad Says:

Yesterday at 22: 56.01
    (Cheng and Emily, I want you to name me THREE countries of the world where a citizen from the “minority race” came the leader for the majority race.

Obama is not president yet and strictly speaking is not Black enough in the traditional sense of the word, however I will let you i…….) Well Mr Zak,
    Papua New Guinea, Prime Minister Julius Chan (Chen Zhongmin), 1980-82, 1994-97, Chinese
    Guyana: President Arthur Chung (Zhong Yase), 1970-80, Chinese
    Jamaica: Edward Seaga, 1980-89, Ethnic Lebanese,
    France: Sarkozky, current, Ethnic Hungarian
    Thailand, Chuan Leekpai & Thaksin, Ethnic Chinese
    Philippine, President Mrs Aquinos, Ethnic Chinese,
    Singapore, President, Devan Nair, Benjamin Shears, Indian, Eurasian
    Only wan 3 countries, give you 7, (exclude Obama)

134. #134 by AhPek on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 12:57 am

Julius Chan is a mixed blood, Chinese father and Papua New Guinean mother> In fact his mother’s gene is more dominant making him look more native than Chinese!

135. #135 by AhPek on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 1:07 am

In a strict sense,President Arthur Chung’s position is one of ceremonial position and when it was turned to executive in 1980 he was replaced.So are the various people who sit as Singapore President.Strictly they are not ruling their country ,that function is in the hands of the executive,the Prime Minister of Singapore.

136. #136 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 12:16 pm

cheng, I knew it was a matter of time when someone was going to rush headlong towards answering my question without reading the question! Now let’s dissect and analyse your post:

>> Papua New Guinea, Prime Minister Julius Chan (Chen Zhongmin), 1980-82, 1994-97, Chinese

He was PM from 1980 to 1982 and from 1994 to 1997. Like the previous example of Fujimori, you better brush up on your history re: Sandline affair. Immense public protests and a 10-day mutiny by the underpaid national army prompted him to resign. Their political system makes it easy for many to stand for election. Britain remains heavily involved in PNG.

Have you seen a picture of Julius Chan? Does he look like an ETHNIC CHINESE to you!?

>> Guyana: President Arthur Chung (Zhong Yase), 1970-80, Chinese

He was President of Guyana from 1970 to 1980. He was the first ethnic Chinese (Hakka) president in a non-Asian country. During his time as President, the office was that of a CEREMONIAL head of state, with REAL power in the hands of Prime Minister Forbes Burnham. This example is unnacceptable!

>> Jamaica: Edward Seaga, 1980-89, Ethnic Lebanese,

Was PM from 1980 to 1989. He was born to Jamaican parents of Lebanese and Scottish descent. Therefore not “ethnic Lenanese”!

>> France: Sarkozky, current, Ethnic Hungarian

His mother was french/greek descent. French people refer to “The legal residents and citizens of France, regardless of ancestry”. For a legal discussion, see “French nationality law”.

>> Thailand, Chuan Leekpai & Thaksin, Ethnic Chinese

CL had half-Chinese parentage like most Trang locals (therefore not 100% ethnic Chinese). Chuan’s second government enacted several economic reforms for which it was severely criticised. Please also see “Raluek Leekpai scandal”.

Don’t even get me started on Thaksin. Thaksin’s great-grandfather was a Hakka Chinese immigrant from Meizhou, Guangdong. Independent bodies, including Amnesty International, who also expressed concern at Thaksin’s human rights record. Human Rights Watch described Thaksin as “a human rights abuser of the worst kind”.

>> Philippine, President Mrs Aquinos, Ethnic Chinese,

Born in Tarlac, a member of one of the richest Chinese-mestizo families in the Philippines – mestizo is a term employed in the Philippines to denote Filipinos of mixed indigenous Filipino (Austronesian) and foreign ancestry. Therefore she was NOT an “ethnic Chinese”.

>> Singapore, President,

Do not insult the readership’s intelligence. Everyone knows that the President office is purely CEREMONIAL. The president holds no real power!

My question was: “I want you to name me THREE countries of the world where a citizen from the “minority race” came the leader for the majority race.” – A leader is someone who rules a country and holds executive powers! You have also wrongly used “ethnic” label very incorrectly as none of your examples are “ethnic” of one race at all.

This would be no different than Mahathir’s paternal lineage hailing from Kerala or Badawi’s from Hainan!

You should be ashamed of yourself for your lack of researched answers!

137. #137 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 12:42 pm

Zak, if u wan to get personal, I’m not going to join u,
    In case of Jamaica, A Jamaican of Lebanese/Scottish descend, got any different with say a Malaysia of Chinese/Eurasian descent??
    , if you like twist & turn, carry on ! The word ethnic also means a person original from his/her ancestor, thought u know I dont means original nationality.
    If U wan to be so specific, you should perhaps write, a technical specification in an engineering project or a legal document on your intention / definition!! Anyway, I had to work for a living not like you already amassing more than perhaps many millions of USD to be “goyang kaki”

138. #138 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 12:55 pm

President got power or not depend on country, diff contry had diff rules / laws, too lengthy to discuss,
    Sorry, I means, “should write like a technical specification in an engineering project document” or a multi million RM contract to be signed between 2 companies. Ok?
    To this Zak, even a person look is important, a PNG of Chinese father / local PNG mother also cannot ? So if ever, a Msian of Chinese father/Kadazan Mother also cannot?
    In the modern world (most country), only the citizenship, capability, maturity, sanity, of that person matter, not religion, race, look of face matter for a top political post, Only an outdated person will look for such things.

139. #139 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 12:56 pm

Add, honesty, integrity that matters

140. #140 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 2:14 pm

Fujimori of Peru count or not , Mr Zak?
    R U sure Britain still involve in PNG, thought it should be Aussies!

141. #141 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 3:18 pm

cheng on Says:

>> The word ethnic also means a person original from his/her ancestor,

Here are some official definitions:

1. pertaining to or characteristic of a people, esp. a group (ethnic group) sharing a common and distinctive culture, religion, language, or the like.

2. referring to the origin, classification, characteristics, etc., of such groups.

3. being a member of an ethnic group, esp. of a group that is a minority within a larger society: ethnic Chinese in San Francisco.

4. of, pertaining to, or characteristic of members of such a group.

5. belonging to or deriving from the cultural, racial, religious, or linguistic traditions of a people or country: ethnic dances.

Your use does not fall into any of the above.

>> thought u know I dont means original nationality.

Nationality is not a race and I did not misunderstand your words!

>> Anyway, I had to work for a living not like you already amassing more than perhaps many millions of USD to be “goyang kaki”

LOL, is this the best you can throw at me? Not only are your assumptions incorrect and offensive, they smell of envy and a lack of appreciation for your own incompetence.

>> President got power or not depend on country, diff contry had diff rules / laws, too lengthy to discuss,

BUT the examples YOU gave have presidents that have NO real power to make executive decisions, their roles are only ceremonial and this is not a secret!!

>> In the modern world (most country), only the citizenship, capability, maturity, sanity, of that person matter, not religion, race…

If you think this is the reality of today’s world, you are very naive indeed. Geo-social politics remains one of the most powerful determinants when electing a leader.

>> Fujimori of Peru count or not , Mr Zak?

Please refer to my answer to Emily above.

The only thing you have succeeded in is WASTING TIME here with no real answers and no desire to actually learn when facts are presented. In your desire to see an “ethnic” Chinese as PM in Malaysia, you are looking for incomprehensible examples.

My closing thought is that the closest Malaysia may ever get to having a ‘Chinese’ PM is Badawi. After all, his maternal grandfather, Ha Su-chiang (also known as Hassan), was a Chinese Muslim who came from Sanya in Hainan.

* This is my last post on this thread *

142. #142 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 4:34 pm

Zak, said (In your desire to see an “ethnic” Chinese as PM in Malaysia, you are looking…)
    I never said I wish a Chinese to be PM of Msia.
    To me any Msian citizen, (even U, if U are one), who had the necessary, capability, maturity, honesty, integrity, sanity, unbiased, antiracist, etc can be a PM of Msia, whether that person is a half blind (Gus Dur), bald head, Orang Asli, female, Indian, Kadazan, Iban, Eurasian, or Thai etc does not matter.

143. #143 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 4:50 pm

In a country, like India, whether, they would said, their PM or DPM, must be (or must not be) a Hindu, or Buddhist, Christian, Muslim, or a Tamil, Gujerati, Bengali, Assamese, Bihari, Punjabi, Malayalam, Nepali, Marathi, Oriya, or whatever????

144. #144 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 5:01 pm

In Canada, can the French Canadian be PM?
    In Switzerland, can the Italian, or French, or the Romansch Swiss br their leader?
    In Russia ??? Ukrainian, Estonian, Belorussian etc, Can?
    In Belgium? How? I rest my comment here.

145. #145 by cheng on on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 5:02 pm

Also, a country like Brazil, so many different type of races? How?

146. #146 by ktteokt on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 8:48 pm

Stupid excuse by Ahmad the racist in the press. He claimed that he was referring to the pre-independence days! Come on, prior to independence, Malaya was a British Colony and all of us were on British Land, making all of us – Indians, Malays or Chinese – squatters on British land!!!!!!!

147. #147 by lopez on Saturday, 6 September 2008 - 6:32 am

what about that person with surname lee who tells the chinese community to sent their children to brain washing camps and cause some to die.
    Added grief and sorrow , hardship and more sadness into the chinese community lives in a nation whom their forefathers fight, died and denied to have done so.

148. #148 by lopez on Saturday, 6 September 2008 - 6:37 am

if ADMIRAL CHENG HO did not bother to come, we could be talking Siamese now.

Some people forgets easily.

149. #149 by Emily Pratt on Saturday, 6 September 2008 - 1:08 pm

Hello Everyone,

Please keep your anger in check…provocation is what was intended by that racist man, please do not fall into his trap.

Some MPs (from DAP, MCA and Gerakan) have lodged police reports against him. Let the law takes its course, no need stir up more negative sentiment. Sticks and stone may break my bone, but name calling is just that.

916 is less than a fortnight away, keep our cool… Makkal Shakthi will prevail. Keep our cool please.

Thank you all civilized brothers and sisters.

EP

150. #150 by justice4allraces on Monday, 8 September 2008 - 10:23 am

Why should Datuk Ahmad Ismail be defended for calling Chinese Malaysians “squatters”? To defend and make up excuses for him is like claiming a badly behaved spoilt brat is just being a kid and will grow out of his behaviour rather than deal with him. Ismail should have the guts to stand up and say his apologies to all Chinese Malaysians. Wait…a public apology is not enough. He should be stripped off his Datukship, be stood down, be barred from every political party and also serve his punishment as a lesson for everyone that incurring racial sentiment does NOT pay especially in a multiethnic society like Malaysia