Surprised to be topping party polls

Bridget Welsh asked me last night whether I had ever topped party polls before. Not that I could recollect.

Was actually surprised that I came in first in the DAP’s triennial Central Executive Committee (CEC) election at the DAP Congress in Kuala Lumpur yesterday.

I had expected to be somewhere down the list, not as bad as in the previous CEC election in 2004, but not leading it.

As Party Secretary-General and later Party Chairman, I had at times to take unpopular decisions in the interests of the party as the challenge as party leader was not to win a popularity contest but to do what was right for the party and the political struggle for a Malaysian Malaysia, even it meant stepping on toes in the party.

For that reason, I had expected to be trailing in party polls and not be topping them.

I had not been focussing very much on the likely outcome of the CEC polls yesterday and was pleasantly surprised that I had topped the list. This must be the result of stepping less on party toes as I am no more actively involved in the day-to-day executive duties of the party in the past four years when I was no more party secretary-general or chairman.

I thank all party delegates for the support. It definitely makes it more difficult to think of a retirement mode.

The newly-elected DAP CEC will meet shortly this morning before resumption of the party congress to elect the new party leadership as well as to co-opt new CEC members.

There is likely to be a “surprise” announcement at the resumption of the CEC congress.

The DAP CEC election results are in the press today, as in the following Star report:

Lim Kit Siang – 624

Lim Guan Eng – 620

Tan Kok Wai – 571

Fong Kui Lun – 504

M. Kula – 500

Teresa Kok – 495

Dr Tan Seng Giaw – 492

Chong Chieng Jen – 476

Karpal Singh – 471

Ngeh Koo Ham – 455

Anthony Loke Siew Fook – 452

Ahmad Ton – 448

Tony Pua – 446

Chong Eng – 434

Teng Chang Khim – 417

Ngah Kor Ming – 417

Chow Kon Yeow – 410

P. Ramasamy – 340

Boo Cheng Hau – 332

Gobind Singh Deo – 305

———————————–
* You are invited to join my Facebook Supporters Page. Thank you.

1. #1 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:11 am

“As Party Secretary-General and later Party Chairman, I had at times to take unpopular decisions in the interests of the party as the challenge as party leader was not to win a popularity contest but to do what was right …” KIT

That’s right!

2. #2 by penangboy on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:34 am

Congrats Uncle Lim. Holding the fort back at Permatang Pauh.

3. #3 by Cinapek on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 9:06 am

Yep. Sitting at the top has its downside unless you are one of those that sleeps on your job.

I remember my subordinate who took over my position paid me the best compliment when he told me ” I understand now some of the unpopular decisions you took. The top seat is a very lonely position….”

It is good to be nice but you cannot be nice and be good.

4. #4 by Elwin Heng on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 9:20 am

Congratulation to all DAP CEC!

Glad to have an internal party election without any argument or unfairness or misunderstanding or ‘hardcore fight’! That’s will be excellent sample to prove and showing BN watchdog – UMNO(PM & DPM), MCA(Ong), MIC(Sammy) & Gerakan(Dr.Koh)! As a good politic party should be treat voters as 1st priority, and not party-&-personal interest or minister-&-deputy minister or money-corruption! Dirty politic party should be disallow, disable, bail-to-jail, boycott, destroy and affirmative disappear everlasting!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 9:25 am

Firstly Congratulation. I believe the result is interesting. You said to the press that the result is a mix of old and new faces.

To me the result has some impressive feature. What is shows is there is a transition plan that is agreeable by the party. You can almost see and unspoken agreement in the result. There is not a lot of contention of the result and future. It bodes well for the future of DAP.

Now the time is to plan ahead and execute, execute, execute..

6. #6 by oknyua on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 9:45 am

YB Lim, now that the W Malaysian DAP is in good hands, may I suggest that you re-focus on the DAP in Sarawak and Sabah – particularly in Sarawak.

I had a week-long journey throughout Sarawak – just returned last night. There is a “general dissatisfaction” no doubt, but it is not the level we see here in the penisula.

Another surprise is the acceptance of the state admin over the problems of the rural poor. The poor state of infrastructure in the state is not so much on the state’s inability to implement; its more on the inability of the ADUN and MPs to forward the paper to the State Rural Dev. office as well as the Federal Rural Dev Ministry.

What is DAP doing in the State? I am afraid to give the answer – not much. DAP hasn’t projected itself beyond the “Chinese Party,” and from being one of the opposition that makes noise but no action. The locals; the Ibans, Kayans, Bidayuhs etc have not neglected DAP – its DAP that ignored them.

That said, I cannot see BN MPs there jumping ship and join force with DAP. I hope I am wrong, YB Lim.

7. #7 by monsterball on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 9:49 am

Congratulations!
    Everyone knows….without you..there is no DAP…and your members are again showing how grateful you are.
    I am sure…you will bethinking..without you…there will always be as DAP..like a good unselfish member.
    Last but not least…I really hope DAP can get more Malays Indians and other races.
    I think other races are afraid to join DAP…because they feel out of p[lace and perhaps not that smart or qualified to be active.
    As such..I hope the current elected leaders do give a little patience and preferences to other races…to feel at home.
    I can feel other races are feeling uncomfortable joining DAP……so it is up to DAP leaders….to find a formula.
    We accused MCA as Chinese stooges to UMNO.
    Let us not in the future…accuse DAP as stooges of keDAILan.
    Malaysian Malaysia must be from parties that prove to be non racialists.

8. #8 by Jimm on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:17 am

A man that walks most of the extra milesto bring Malaysian together and build a real world of harmony to all.
    That one dream, one vision journey that many of us can never understand the amount of pains and suffering not to mentioned sacrifies that comes along with it.
    There are many unsung heroes that journeyed with him too.
    As for all of us that surfed in this blog, say as much as you like about this man …talk as good as words can be shared … support him in all due respect as he really walked his talks.

9. #9 by manusia ada akal on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:20 am

The time is right to promote DAP agenda widely so that its reaches every nook of the country. Ensure the rakyat knows that “perlembagaan negara” will be upheld. Islam will always be the official/national religion. Those who professed it will be allow to practise it to his/her heart content but not reaching the fanatical level or force others to comply to their ways. With that, I am sure there is still a glimmer of hope for Malaysis to progress in the future. In politics, advertising/promotion is also crusial.

10. #10 by black crow on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:39 am

First of all congratulations to you LKS for coming first in the DAP CEC election.
    However the number of non chinese who stood or were elected does not reflect the multi racial outlook the party stands for.
    If one compare with PKR, DAP lacking in this deparment is glaring. This is not the first time the subject in question has been raised.
    I wonder whether the DAP has plans to do more to change the composition before the next General Election otherwise it may fall the way of GERAKAN.

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:40 am

I was wondering if Sdr. Lim, as senior leader, give some guidance on the future of dealing with PAS and Islamic State.

I do not feel that it is enough for DAP to just reject the theocratic state and reiterating it stand on secularity. Its a glaring opportunity for BN to tear PR apart.

In the end, it may not matter if the founders really never intend this country to be secular. Any country constitution is a living breathing document that is subject to change. The current one as we have seen can be beaten almost helpless.

In the end DAP must concede that if PAS can prove that the Malay Muslim majority want an Islamic state, it cannot deny it. Over Karpal Singh dead body can be even be justified if its true.

So the question really is in bridging the gap between DAP and PAS, the only practical thing is to agree that if such an important thing should happen what is fair and what is fair is that it must reflect the desire of the people who are well informed of the issues for the long term – open, transparent debate, a full national referendum would be desirable. What DAP must give as an olive branch but insist that it must not be decided by a group of people in untransparent way and a public that is not well-informed. In other words, it must be above the weakness of politics – the underhanded and irrational passion that it sometimes is..

12. #12 by Damocles on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:03 am

Congrats, Uncle Lim!
    You have a really great team in the top hierarchy of the DAP.
    I dare say that the DAP, together with its partners in the PR, are on the verge of forming the next Federal government.
    However, always bear in mind that the PR must not allow corruption, inefficiency, bigotry, racism etc to have any place in it; that’s the way of the BN which we all abhor!
    To this end, the DAP as well as its partners, must be ever vigilant to guard against any of these undesirable elements from germinating.
    Such unsavoury behaviour must be nipped in the bud.

13. #13 by shadow on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:08 am

Congrats and GOD bless the DAP. Your motto always must and should be Malaysia for Malaysians and don’t you dare sideline. You’ll ultimately will achieve your goal. We want clean and fair government and that we hope PR can provide us.

14. #14 by taikohtai on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:19 am

Uncle Lim,

Keong Hee and Congratulations.
    Yes, we shall soon witness the ascent of DSAI as the deserving PM of Malaysia.

And all thanks to your perseverance and dexterity.

15. #15 by Damocles on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:48 am

“In the end, it may not matter if the founders really never intend this country to be secular. Any country constitution is a living breathing document that is subject to change. The current one as we have seen can be beaten almost helpless.” – Bigjoe

Well, Bigjoe your statement seem a bit naive.
    Do you realise that the concept of a Muslim state is anathema not only to many Malays/Muslims but even more so to the non-Muslims?
    Do you realise that many crucified Uncle Lim even for joining the coalition which includes PAS? He was made to feel that he has betrayed the trust of the non-Muslims.
    And now you are practically advocating that he plays along with the concept of accepting a Muslim state?
    Isn’t it better to voice out one’s true beliefs rather then trying to lead the other party down the garden path and be found out later that you’re deceiving it?
    I felt that it’s always good to put one’s cards on the table; that way, no one can say that you’re cheating.
    How do you feel when you learnt that PAS was having talks about forming a new party between them and UMNO three days after the General Election on 8th March?
    I’m sure that you don’t like it!
    Also, in areas under PAS rule, the people have to form three queues at supermarket pay-out counters. One for female, one for male and one for family!
    And that could be just the begining!
    If they have more power, the restrictions will be sure to be increased.

16. #16 by NewMalaysia on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:51 am

It is good to see members of DAP, especially the young and old are now coming to sense and willing to put personal agenda aside and to sacrify and work as one for the interest of the party. One idealogy, and one vision for a New Malaysia for the people of Malaysia. We can do it if we are willing, no matter how small we are, we can be like ant, ants can bring down a giant scorpion in less than 5 minutes. If we put personal agenda aside and think and fight as one, we certainly can bring down BN in 50 years. Yes we can! Perhaps it is time for DAP to consider changing its logo to a more friendly approach and acceptable to all Malaysian.

17. #17 by Godson on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:59 am

VERY SIMPLE ….. DAP I LOVE YOU & I WILL BE WITH YOU ALL THE WAY.

18. #18 by k1980 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 12:03 pm

If Arif Shahknew the Phd. from Edision was bogus but yet continued to pursue it, he must be a person of the lowest level of integrity who would be willing to deceive the Rakyat with his phony Phd.
    If Arif Shah got into the Phd. program without checking the University’s background (Remember, you have to pay a lot of money to get a Phd.), then, he must be the biggest oxymoron around. In other words, he is not fit for public office
    http://wrlr.blogspot.com/2008/08/yb-ariff-pernah-disamantadi-yb-azmin.html

19. #19 by AhPek on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 12:07 pm

Congratulations YB Kit.You are just like wine that gets better as it ages.

20. #20 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 12:28 pm

Congratulation to YB Kit and all DAP members.
    Thanks for this memorable moments –
    An ocassion to be proud yet humbled.

To have Tunku Abdul Aziz is new DAP vice-chairman
    goes a long way to demonstrate the honesty of its
    party’s mission, a caring party indeed, unlike the
    others who are just NATO and Single race party.

Next two days will be the real test.
    Pls YB and the rest, like our wise Kapal puts it:
    “Don’t let power go to your head”

The rakyat will be with you all, so march on!!!

21. #21 by wanderer on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 12:34 pm

My family and I have always supported DAP. I hold the fond memories
    in Seremban which was almost a birth place of DAP. YB Lim, it was an honor for me to be able to share the my experiences with the party that fights for fairness and justice. I wish you and DAP more successes in future GEs.
    Again, congratulations for the recognition by the members of your services to DAP and to the nation.

22. #22 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 12:36 pm

“Malaysian Malaysia”? Where different races are reluctant to even socialise with one another, how on earth can any sane person actualise Malaysian Malaysia!? MM is a red-herring that is a by-word for anti-Islamic secularism where the minorities are trying to stake a bigger political claim in the country in spite of previous social contracts.

DAP is simply an extension of PAP in the early 1960’s and if they reject any proposal to turn Malaysia into an Islamic state, so shall the Muslims reject turning Malaysia into a secular state! An aspiring minority can not dictate the terms of engagement for the majority. Be grateful that you live in a stable and secure country because the alternative is very ugly indeed!

A 3rd way must be found!

23. #23 by js on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 12:39 pm

Congratulations!
    By the way, DAP please proceed to help in Permatang Pauh By-Election for PR. Rumous said that Anwar’s popularity has dropped in these 2 days and BN has confident to take over this seat.
    PR need a big ceramah to gain more supports.

24. #24 by swipenter on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:02 pm

Malaysian Malaysia and not for any particular race and religion. Congrats to DAP for a smooth CEC election.Zak hammaad what is your 3rd way? Let us hear it or else cease your mouthing of the “3rd way”

25. #25 by MyPeoplePower on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:03 pm

To All Pakatan Rakyat and DSAI Supporters,

The issue of Swear on Quran and personal attack on DSAI from ex-PKR members have strongly affect some of voters support on DSAI.
    Besides, BN play the race sentiments and manipulate the Main Stream Media caused the odd in Permatang Pauh by election change to 50:50 fight.

The BN UMNO ministers keeps on emphasize DSAI not dare to swear on Quran to prove his innocent.
    And many Malay voters had been influence by this.

So, if you have relative or friends who are the voter or your friend who have friend who are the voter, pls call them personally and try to explain to them based on below argument to those voters in Permatang Pauh. Ask them to convey the message to others.

1. Whoever commit the crime and then swear on Quran or bible to prove innocent, this meant this person is innocent?
    In this case then just ask Bodohwi to destroy the Palace of Justice la!
    2. If DSAI swears on Quran to prove innocent, then who the nations should believe?

Tell them the case is now in Court and a person is innocent until the guilty is being proven!
    Ask them to pay attention on the current worst economic situation of the country.
    If DSAI become the next PM, there will be massive developments in Permatang Pauh!
    Don’t be fool by Arif Shah about the development he can do! And also don’t be fool by these UMNO ministers and BN!

BN is so desperate now! They can do whatever dirty tricks regardless of the price!

And we PR and DSAI can’t afford to lose in this by election!

This is the time for the Malays, Chineses, Indian and other races to stay united and show our support to DSAI by votes!
    Besides SMS, pls try to practice the below as a token of contribution to the whole Nations!
    Cold call to any telephone no in Seberang Jaya, Penanti, Permatang Pasir. Explain to the voters the real situation if they have no access to the internet but only get the news thru MSM. These people also have the family member, relative and fren who are also the voters. Ask them to pass the message to others.
    You may dial any of the tel no in Permatang Pauh from 04-3900000 to 04-3999999.
    We are running out of time now. Pls, do something for the benefit of the whole nations.

Our aim is not only WIN, but a BIG WIN for DSAI! Every vote does count! Pls request them to come out to vote for DSAI. Just take leave regardless of whether paid or unpaid if the location is too far.

People Power

26. #26 by js on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:13 pm

Great! YB Lim Guan Eng declared 26/8 as Penang Public Holidays. It will allow the Permatang Pauh voters to go and vote. A good decision made. Thks.

27. #27 by just a moment on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:15 pm

zak_hammaad Says,
    “Malaysian Malaysia”? Where different races are reluctant to even socialise with one another, how on earth can any sane person actualise Malaysian Malaysia!?

You’re right, question is: What are you gonna do about it?
    Form an Islamic State?

By the way red-herring has nothing to do with religion,
    it basically means a form of ‘Distraction’ or more accurately
    “Self-denial”. Ok lah ususally used in financial area, you’re an
    accountant?

Its not as simple as Majority vs minority thing. Yes, most ppl
    understand how ‘rulling’ work but this is Malaysia, right?
    We all regardless of races, fought for Independent, right?

Where again, did you get this notion:
    Non Islamic State means being Secular?
    or do you mean
    Islamic State means being Non Secular?

Zak, this tiny fragment of fear not becoming an Islamic State
    is truly red herring.

28. #28 by wanderer on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:33 pm

The only thing this bloke Zak have in mind is using threat. Get out from your binatang world. You are simply not fit to live in a civil society….a frog in a well!

29. #29 by ctc537 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:35 pm

Congratulations to all DAP members.
    While celebrating the party’s unprecedented success in the March 8 12GE, DAP members must not be carried away and must bear in mind that our country is Malay majority. Should PR come to power non-Malays would have to make some sacrifices because the new federal government’s priorities have to be helping the people in rural areas first. Non-Malays, especially Chinese, have to help Malays and other natives in Sarawak and Sabah to uplift their standard of living and education. What I mean is genuine cooperation among fellow Malaysians of all races.
    I know it is premature for us to prepare for all this, bur I think the earlier we reconcile ourselves to this thought, the better it will stand us in good stead when the day comes.

30. #30 by oknyua on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:38 pm

Hmm… 9.45 am oknyua posting hasn’t been approved; they are in church or having a rest or all are in Permatang Pauh helping Dato’ Anwar. I would like to have YB Lim’s response to my comment therein.

31. #31 by aje on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:44 pm

Congrats YB Lim.Please continue to speak up against those who discriminate the non-bumis and bumis as we are Malaysians.I am confident that if you continue to speak for ALL Malaysians you will be accepted by Malaysians of all races.I SALUTE you for your bravery and determination in facing other MPs who make noises during the debates in Parliment.Bravo and keep up the good job.Happy Independence Day.

32. #32 by humanly on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:49 pm

YB Kit,

Heartiest Congrats to you, esp for topping the poll, and all elected to the party leadership. The lineup bodes well for the DAP.

You always do the right thing tho not everyone may agree with you. Collecting the highest vote is testimony of the delegates’ gratitude of your lifelong perjuangan.

I am touched you never seek popularity at the expense of truth and justice. What goes around comes around. You were willing to suffer for your political convictions. You did not give up in the face of adversity and rejections.

Malaysians owe you a debt of gratitude. With much joy, I observe the fruition of your political journey with the capturing of Penang. Who would imagine such a day could arrive.

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:52 pm

Congratulations. You have earned the right to top party polls.

We sigh a relief your statement, “it definitely makes it more difficult to think of a retirement mode”.

More than ever now, the country is at the cross roads with three different road signs.

One, the UMNO/BN wayof divisive communal politics based on Ketuanan and feudal capitalistic cronyism reeked with corruption that it could neither free nor reinvent itself; two, the PAS’s way of an Islamic theocratic state promising to bring the country back to medieval times; and three, the promise of pluralistic democracy and multiculturalism that PKR in conjunction with DAP hold.

To neotiate and navigate betwen the pitfalls of UMNO/BN’s institutionalised racism and that of PAS’s theocracy within Pakatan Rakyat, we need a leader of vision, courage and commitment to what is right within the DAP to put a brake on PAS’s aggressive adventurism in promoting its theocratic agenda as well as a morally authoritative voice to cajole, nudge and guide DAP’s office bearers from giving too much concessions and compromise to PAS’s extremist demands in compromise for the benefits of power and public office.

Anwar too is also facing within Pakatan Rakyat (PR) complex choices and manifold pressures and needs an ally to help him in long range as well as tactical political issues challenging PR.

It matters not that you have no day-to-day executive duties of the party and no more party secretary-general or chairman.

Deng Hsiao Ping held no party positions but was acknowledged as paramount leader of moral authority that brought about China’s economic and social transformation!

What is needed of a leader – besides not caring for popularity but doing what was right – is the ability to measure intangibles, grasp nuances and preparedness to speak up for and show the way for a Malaysian Malaysia.

This is not something one learns overnight : it is the distilled experience and wisdom of decades of public and national service of how the tread carefully and in right direction in the mine field of Malaysian politics, where one mis step one gets blown off.

Though a rest is well earned, to soldier on, and telling off the extremists in Parliament would be a duty.

Besides we know you – politics is in your bones and the very air you breathe, and God willing, with good health, may you serve the nation for many years to come. :)

34. #34 by zak_hammaad on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 2:43 pm

swipenter Says:

>> what is your 3rd way?

If you’re a regular on this blog, you may have seen my previous entry on this issue on another thread. Far from the decadent UMNO rot we have experienced in the last decade and the Pakatan rot that you are promoting, there is a another way; a middle path between the 2 extremes that are not only acceptable to the majority of the rakyat but also a uniting national force.

What it is, is for the whole nation to determine and I am glad to see a plethora of Malaysian blogs that give opportunities for ordinary citizens to air their views and come to common terms. UMNO and PR do NOT provide this uniting force nor the common terms that are acceptable to a majority.

If you love your country (and I’m sure you do), then you will be working towards healing the fractures faced by Malaysia and not hastening it. DAP with it’s unacceptable secularism and PAS with it’s wholly Islamic agenda can not be reconciled no matter how much you shout about “shared values”. It is a marriage of convenience that has a time-limit. UMNO on the other hand tried to strike a balance between the 2 (secularism and Islam) and failed miserably, consumed by their own corrupt and incompetent leadership and double edged policies.

35. #35 by mauriyaII on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 2:44 pm

YB LKS,

Congratulations to you and your new team. But if your cherished goal of making Malaysia a truly Malaysian one, then you and your CEC members need to surmount the herculean task of bringing in more and more open-minded Malays and Indian members.

As the CEC stands today it is a predominantly Chinese party with only 20% non-Chinese members in its decision making body.

DAP should go on a nation-wide membership drive to recruit more members from the other races as well to make it a truly Malaysian party. Malaysians from Sabah and Sarawak too should be wooed earnestly to join. Suffice to say that DAP should go all out to bring in all the disillusioned members from the other has been parties as well as the fence-sitters.

The 13GE should reflect its Malaysian identity by fielding more of the other races in both Peninsular Malaysia and Sabah/Sarawak.

DAP should not rest on its laurels and become complacent. It has about 4 years to make its presence felt in the Pakatan Rakyat and in the Malaysian political scene.

36. #36 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:21 pm

“zak_hammaad Says:
    Today at 12: 36.33 (2 hours ago)

…..

A 3rd way must be found!”

third way? separate politics and religion

religion is pure and between humans and their creator

politics is dirty and about power struggle between human beings

37. #37 by Richardqed on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:31 pm

“UMNO on the other hand tried to strike a balance between the 2 (secularism and Islam) and failed miserably, consumed by their own corrupt and incompetent leadership and double edged policies.”
    — zak_hammaad

You are being over-complimentary to Umno. It actually does not try this nor that. It just does whatever it needs to do in order to divide and conquer the people to maximize the votes going to them.

When they feel like it, they will tell people to balik cina and balik india, and balik wherever. However, when LCW brings back a silver medal from the Olympics, they are not singing the balik tune to him, but instead hijacking him in a helicopter to their PP campaign.

Before GE12, they are trying to instill fear and doubts into voters. Now, 5 and 1/2 months later, PR is still doing well. So well, that some people have to try to frame the Perak Exco members, frame Anwar.

This is not the time to talk about a so-called middle way or third way, when you have people who are prepared to do anything to hang on to power, by hook or by crook. The key here is what is the FASTEST way: And that, clearly, is the PR way.

38. #38 by justiciary on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:54 pm

Congratulations YB LKS,you and your party have really gone through a long and hard way before reaching the current height.All true and right thinking Malaysians including myself will continue to support you and your party.Your continous and untiring fight against racism,corruption,religious bigotry,cronyism etc is highly commendable.Hope to see a better Malaysia after 26.8.2008.

39. #39 by Damocles on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:58 pm

Did any one noticed that those who frequently harp on religion are those whose real motive is to use it to subjugate others!!
    Religion is used like to weapon, albeit an unseen weapon, to stir up its followers to put fear into those who refused to be subservient.
    It is not used to spread goodwill and kindness.
    But the exact opposite!

40. #40 by swipenter on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:22 pm

Zak why dont you form a new political party and come out with your “middle path” manifesto to heal and unite this country and her people since PR (and others) are just “rot” to you. I am sure all Malaysians are waiting for such a political party and its public declaration of the policy and aims ” that are acceptable to the majority of the raykat but also a uniting national force”

41. #41 by justiciary on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:27 pm

Richardqed,those idiots and hypocrites will grab you and praise you sky high like what they shamelessly did to LCW.Other times they will forget about you and call you ‘babi’ and ask you to ‘balik China’.They are real brainless and retarded.Imagine this type of half baked stuff can even rule for decades.Actually they should be aware that the China today is different from the China of yesteryears.They are quick to tell the Malaysian Chinese to go back to China because they still think China is still poor and weak like during the Ching dynasty.China is a super world power now.Do not strain our relationship with the super power by telling the citizens of chinese descent to go back to China again.Anyway Malaysia is our homeland and we were born and bred here.Therefore to the racists please stop uttering nonsense.

42. #42 by yhsiew on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:42 pm

Kit,

You deserve such level of support as you have been working hard for the party, or rather, for the betterment of all Malaysians.

43. #43 by devilmaster on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 5:24 pm

Proud to be a life member of DAP.
    Voted in 3 GEs, and each time when i put a cross beside the DAP logo, i sensed justice, truth & honor.

44. #44 by adoionline on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 5:27 pm

BRAVO, KIT SIANG! TOTALLY DESERVED!

My love, admiration & respect to a Great Man of Malaysian Politics who has not only survived more than 40 years of battling against all odds – but who has emerged glowing, victorious, and more human than ever.

Your greatest reward must be to have a son who does you proud as the CM of Penang!

Long life & Unbounded Joy to you & DAP,
    Antares
    ~^@^~
    http://magickriver.blogspot.com

45. #45 by IloveDAPforever on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:38 am

Justiciary is right. Those who had uttered the words babi balik Cina must have been awed by the achievements of today’s super power China in all areas. Most recent is the best Olympic ever, held in Beijing with China the host country leading all the way & finally bagging 51 golds!!

Must be full of envy what China is today. Not only are the Chinese in China proud of their great achivements, but Chinese all over the world feel happy for them. So those racist idiots must now look up to China & maybe had secretly wished they were Chinese instead!!

46. #46 by m.hwang on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:07 am

Dear YB Lim,

The last time you did badly because you danced with PAS and it didn’t turn out as expected in ’99 GE. That was the time before PKR and bloggers.

With the sterling performance of DAP in 2008 proofs that your decision to be united with PAS in ’99 was a correct one but a bit ahead of time. There was also the Anwar factor missing then.

So seize the day I say. If the rakyat wills PR to rule via defection then it is in fact immoral to hold the higher moral ground in questioning the morality of defections.

47. #47 by BNseedell on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:14 am

Dear respected YB Lim Kit Siang,

Congratulations! You really deserve this honourable position. Your continued endeavours in your strugle for a Malaysian Malaysia are so consistant that educated and civiliased Malaysians are owing you a debt of gratitude.

It is too early for you to step aside at this moment. DAP should continue to appoint you as an Adviser cum Mentor, just like a position currently still holding by Mr. Lee Kuan Yew of Singapore.

Malaysians need you in the parliament and all of us want to see the Pakatan Rakyat taking the over the day-to-day administration of this country from the present BN government. You should stay on to witness this happening and be part of it for the betterment of the nation and its multiracial rakyat.

I wish you good health and good luck in all your future endeavours. By the way, why not bring all the newly elected CEC members to Permatang Pauh to campaign for Anwar? This may help boosting his chance of winning with a bigger majority. Cheers!

48. #48 by IloveDAPforever on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 1:41 am

Agree with Adoionline that your greatest reward must be to have a son who does you proud as the CM of Penang! Congrats that you have always been held in high esteem by supporters of DAP.

My family & myself have always believe in you & DAP and rest assured that we have been & shall always be behind DAP.

As DAP has many new capable leaders in its stable, they have to exercise patience as the CEC has only limited seats. Unlike the scramble for positions in MCA & UMNO, we supporters of DAP are happy that all the leaders, delegates & members have been united & rationale during the party elections!

An united force is a force to be reckoned with…so the first step to win the people’s trust is to stay united!!

49. #49 by lhslhv on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:27 am

Hero Lim Kit Siang, you have suffered and been jailed in politics and yet you triumped in adversity. Unfortunately we have racist politics and your effort and sacrifice are not recognised.

You battle is not won yet. The road ahead is still very rough.

However I believe there are not many people like you in Malaysia. You are a rare breed. My salute to you!

Congratulations for your achievement recognised by DAP grassroots!

50. #50 by k1980 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 8:24 am

Haiya, you idiots, if gua can get a PhD via correspondence courses, why can’t lu? Never mind if the PhD is not recognised lah

http://media1.malaysiakini.com/138/cfba6fcb5a2fa7cc5d9771529b1cbfd7.jpg

51. #51 by ALLAN THAM on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:06 am

Hi YB Lim, congratulation for topping your party poll. This indicate that the party still need your service to steer them into any horizon at this very difficult period our Malaysia history. I believe it also reflect the wishes of majority of the Malaysia who wish to see a Transparent, efficient and corruption free government. It also reflect the people wish to reject race based political struggle and moving toward Malaysian based a party for all Malaysia regardless of races and religion.

It is our hope that DAP will move forward towards achieving its goals of keeping it promises of promoting transparent, accountability and corruption free governance.

The announcement that Tunku Aziz has finally joint DAP as member will further enhance DAP political struggle towards your goals.

It is also also wishes that DAP will not lose it direction along the way.

52. #52 by lew1328 on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:58 am

Greetings!

I would like to take this opportunity to cheer for new elected DAP CEC committees from this congress especially to Kits & Kepong MP Dr. Tan.

Let’s DAP set the right examples to lead to a complete new era & brighter future for Malaysian. One nation, one dream…

53. #53 by PHUAKL on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:00 am

Dear YB Lim

If you stay faithful to the principles of
    social democracy and to
    multiracialism/multiculturalism (coupled with
    affirmative action for the poor and for disadvantaged
    ethnic groups such as indigenous peoples),
    history will vindicate you!

Phua Kai Lit

54. #54 by badak on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 2:38 pm

Zak Haamad We truly had a MALAYSIA MALAYSIA before Tun Dr M announce that Malaysia was an ISLAMIC STATE.Back then all MALAYSIANS were comfortable with one another.
    We never heard of body snatching, All this moral squad being form.
    A few of my friends who looked like malays were run down by this Moral squard for having a good time in a pub drinking.
    Now most non muslim will not want to invite their Muslim friends over for lunch or dinner.
    Firstly ..They are fed up of being turn down ,Secondly they do not want to be question if the food is halal or not. ( All non muslim will go out of their way to see that the food served is halal ) Before this there was no problem.Yet UMNO is say non muslim,s are being racial.

55. #55 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:09 pm

Congratulations to YB Lim and all who made it to the CEC!!! More hard works are required of you now than before as it is not just the party, SA, MP and also the state govt posts!!!

The fruits will tell of the tree that bears it!!! Sometimes, it takes a long time to bear the fruits to show what type of tree that it is!!!

56. #56 by mendela on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:37 pm

Kit sure is a towering Malaysian, may be I should name him as a towering Asian!

Kit is in the same league with great people like Gandhi, Mandela, Mother Teresa and Lincoln!

Nobody in Malaysia is as hardworking as Kit!

Kit should be nominated as a candidate for Nobel’s Peace Prize!

57. #57 by badak on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:00 pm

It takes lots of will power to be an opposition .But it takes tons of will power to be leaders of opposition.Keep up the good work made sure all DAP leaders not to be carried away power.Have their foot solidly on the ground.
    Most of all not to be trapped by the BN bigots.

58. #58 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 10:59 pm

Dear YB Kit, Heartiest congratulations. Your path has been a life-long struggle for justice, fairness & equality. There have been many obstacles along the way & we must thank Al-Mighty God that because of His grace & mercy our beloved country is beginning to see some fruits of your efforts & sacrifices. We need to continue to pray to Him for divine justice & intercession. We need Him to guide us & for bestowing upon you His great wisdom & discernment.
    YB Kit we are thankful for your great sacrifices and you have been consistent & persistent in this quest for a better Malaysia for all of us & our future generations.
    We are indeed very happy that YM Tunku Aziz recently joined DAP. I hope that you will work hard with YM Tunku Aziz & other kind souls to get more Malays & Sarawakians & Sabahans of all races & creed to join DAP. Multi-racism & embracing people of all religions & beliefs is the key to the future of our beloved country as well as DAP.
    YM Tunku is indeed a good man to work with. In 1971 he joined Bank Negara as Advisor (now Assistant Governor) from Guthries. I was then a new officer & it had been uplifting & gratifying for me to work under a fine & fair gentleman.