A week to 51st Merdeka anniversary – completely devoid of National Day enthusiasm

A week to go for the 51st Merdeka anniversary on 31st August.

Never before is the country so devoid of National Day enthusiasm.

This the point I tried to make during question time in Parliament on Wednesday but it ended up in a pandemonium. (video)

The Sun report on the parliamentary proceeding as follows:

Uproar over Lim’s words
The Sun – 21 August 2008
At the Dewan Rakyat
by Husna Yusop

OPPOSITION stalwart Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur) came under fire from Barisan Nasional MPs yesterday over his remark that the government was focusing more on Malay unity rather than Malaysian unity.

Lim made the comment after he was not satisfied with Deputy Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Teng Boon Soon’s answer to his question.

In his supplementary question, Lim said the national integration programme had failed as the BN government was emphasising more on the Malays rather than Malaysians.

“Especially in the last six months, there have been pressures over racial issues, Malay supremacy, Malay sovereignty and Malay unity which should actually be about Malaysian unity, not Malay unity.

“And there were extreme reactions towards the Bar Council’s forum on social contract and conversion to Islam. And recently, in Permatang Pauh, we found bunting saying Melayu Ditindas, Mana Keadilan? (Malays oppressed, where is justice?)

“Is the MCA agreeable to this? What about Gerakan? There has been talk that they wanted to leave BN? Aren’t these signs that efforts to create national integrity have failed?” he asked Teng.

Teng said the issue of national unity needs the commitment of everyone, especially political leaders. “If we do not incite the rakyat by provoking them and together we honestly and fairly tackle the problems that the country and people are facing, I think we would be able to enjoy a more comfortable situation,” he said.

Lim was not satisfied with the answer, saying it was only 11 days before the 51st National Day celebrations but the feeling or atmosphere of national unity is still lacking “as the government was only focusing on the Malays”.

This created an uproar among the BN MPs led by Datuk Tajudin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak), who shouted that Lim was being racist, and voices were heard telling him this is not China and asking him to go back to Singapore.

However, it was not long before Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia managed to get the situation under control and the proceedings continued with the next question.

Earlier, Teng told Datuk Mohd Jidin Shafee (BN-Setiu) the government is satisfied with the effectiveness of the national integration programme but efforts must be continued to instil the spirit of unity among Malaysians.

“Everyone, including the politicians, must cooperate and work towards uniting the people by giving priority to national interest and not being too enthusiastic over individual aspirations and party agenda,” he said.

At least RM100 million was spent last year to commemorate the 50th Merdeka anniversary – all gone down the drain without fostering any greater sense of national unity or Malaysian nationalism!

———————————–
* You are invited to join my Facebook Supporters Page. Thank you.

1. #1 by Emily Pratt on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:12 pm

YB Kit,

51st Merdeka celebration will be the last Malay Centric Unity;
    52nd Merdeka celebration will be the first of many Malaysian Centric Unity.

Hidup Pakatan Rakyat, Hidup Selama-lamanya.

EP

2. #2 by bystander on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:13 pm

there is absolutely no reason to celebrate 51 merdeka anniversary. yes, the nation is in turmoil and distress. common people alike of all races are suffering. no reason to rejoice. everything is rock bottom. if there is any reason its only if AI wins on 26th and kicks umno out of govt. even mca admits mca is the servant to umno for the last 51 years. so pls wake up and boot umno out to save nation.

3. #3 by taiking on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:31 pm

Yes only days away and where are the roaring calls of the fighter planes in practice flights.

4. #4 by Emily Pratt on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:41 pm

I wonder if the Police Force will be boo’ ed at during the March Pass?

EP

5. #5 by Damocles on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:53 pm

One BN party admitted that it’s a beggar party while another admitted that it’s a servant party!
    So, why demean themselves instead of taking pride on being a equal partner by joining the PR?
    Anyone with an iota of pride and dignity would have left the BN a long, long time ago!!

6. #6 by solcroft on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:56 pm

Dear Lim Kit Siang,

I would like to share with you an anecdote my teacher told me when I was little.

“Tact is the art of making a point without making an enemy.”

7. #7 by devilmaster on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 5:58 pm

MCA porn-actor Chua Soi Lek said “I don’t think Umno politicians are unreasonable. I have worked with them before and they are pragmatic enough to see the need for change to survive. If not support from non-Malays will keep going downhill.

A lesson to learn for the racist Pasir Salak MP. Dont think you are very smart.

8. #8 by LightsInTheDistance on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 6:00 pm

“This created an uproar among the BN MPs led by Datuk Tajudin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak), who shouted that Lim was being racist, and voices were heard telling him this is not China and asking him to go back to Singapore.”

Who is being racist here are apparent for any right-minded person to see (i assumed this to be most of us). The mentality of all these racists asking their own ‘rakyat’ to leave their own country is just plain obtuse, for want of a better word.

National unity and whatever little that’s left is now being slowly destroyed by this BN regime in its quest to retain power.

They utterly failed to see the changing tides by imposing tighter control over the people and instead of adapting to change, they still cling on to weaknesses like institutional racism (education in particular), corruption, oppression.

This authoritarian regime MUST fall for real democracy to flourish. There is no turning back now.

9. #9 by malaysia-united on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 6:02 pm

After watching the video, really feel sad… KS Lim was asking a good question but the answer from behind the scene was like when you walk into the jungle, you will heard a lot of insects noice, or wild animals… Teng Boon Choon answer the question? He can’t, cos he is from MCA the begger party…

Really don’t understand why we had live together for a few hundred years, still can’t live in harmony, “balik China!” really caveman behaviour… What’s wrong with Malaysian unity? If Malaysian cant be unite, how we can face the globalizasion? Look ahead lah BN…

BN will never wake up… Let’s PR kick their arse out of government!

10. #10 by swipenter on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 6:48 pm

Come August 26 rakyat should start preparing to celebrate independence from Umno/BN rule in the near future. Come August 31 we celebrate 51st Merdeka.

11. #11 by Elwin Heng on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 6:57 pm

Malaysia
    Malaysian Unity!

Should BN continue emphasizing ‘Melayu Ditindas, Mana Keadilan?’ to jeopardy us? Aren’t we live under one roof, in harmony and peaceful and lovely country?

Malays, Chinese, Indian and others, don’t ever listen or influence by BN statements! Do you agree, no one or any race will ‘ditindas’, ‘keadilan’ will alongside all of us? You know the answer, don’t you!

BN, please stop playing racist politic threats to confuse or brainwash M’sian. Prove your creditability, by-election proceed in professional and transparency. Racist and money-buying politic strategies should be terminate soonest possible.

Victory is important, but ever misuse power and wasting money!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

12. #12 by hadi on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 7:02 pm

YB Kit if we are going to parade something that is superficial as what have been going on for the past many years-tell the government to forget it as it is wasting taxpayers money, time and effort. The meaning of MERDEKA does not inspire anything and we are only pretending and remain bystander as though everything is ok but the truth I think you know. So its now or never-CHANGE. IN GOD WE TRUST.

13. #13 by yhsiew on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 7:09 pm

A flip-flop Abdullah said earlier that there would not be any petrol price reduction this month. However today he said petrol price will be reduced to RM2.55 tomorrow. How to celebrate National Day when you have a flip-flop PM?!!

14. #14 by k1980 on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 7:23 pm

MCA porn-actor Chua Soi Lek said “I don’t think Umno politicians are unreasonable. I have worked with them before and they are pragmatic enough to see the need for change to survive…:

Actually, Chua SL is thanking umno for not showing his hotel pornomovie during the Permatang Pauh ceramahs to draw in the crowds

15. #15 by manusia ada akal on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 7:27 pm

Isn’t that a sign of desperation move to woo voters of PP. How obvious and voters of PP, vote with your “akal”, think of the future, and enjoy the present good fortune which comes your way.

16. #16 by m.hwang on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 7:36 pm

“Tiada perubahan harga minyak sebelum pilihanraya kecil PP.”

Petrol price to go down 15 sen from midnight today! Simple thing also cannot tell the truth. Habislah BN di PP.

17. #17 by yhsiew on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 7:53 pm

Annual inflation surged to 8.5 percent in July, well above expectations (YAHOO ASIA NEWS). Well, that is Abdullah’s gift for our National Day!

18. #18 by riversandlakes on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 8:33 pm

DSAI ’08!

19. #19 by justiciary on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 8:48 pm

Hahaha,solcroft,were you serious that you wanted to teach LKS how to talk?You must be making everyone laugh until they roll onto the floor.Who are you to say that?Real thickskinned.

Those UMNO idiots really behaved like beasts when they reacted to Saudara LKS ‘s speech.Until now one of them still had the cheek to say ‘sini bukan China’.What was the ‘si bodoh’ trying to tell us?Did he mean that this country is not for the chinese but only for the Malays?There is no future for Malaysia as long as there are stupid racists ruling this country.

20. #20 by justiciary on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:01 pm

MCA and Gerakan must leave Barisan Nasional after all their leaders already admitted that their voices were never heard by their senior and arrogant partner.Why do they still want to leech on?Maybe there is still gravy and honey to suck?

21. #21 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:04 pm

Dear YB Kit
    We can’t expect much if were have in UMNO such BLOCKHEAD Nazi Thug-cum-Racists of the Sewage Order like Tajuddin Abdul Rahman.

22. #22 by wanderer on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:06 pm

What can one expects, when we have in our Parliament crowded with BN monkeys. The only language they understand is using hands sign…A more comfortable place for them is the Borneo jungle. After 51 years, the behavior of these monkeys in Parliament remained the same. How pathetic.
    The Chinese can feel proud, our language, culture and civilization is more than a few thousand years old, we are too refine and classy to act like these so called MPs.

23. #23 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:13 pm

What can you expect from a politician (a minister) who has zero power in BN, which is under the full control of UMNO? These people cannot tell the truth. If you ask them to vote and say all Chinese balik China, and this kind of puppet ministers will cast a yes vote.

24. #24 by max2811 on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:15 pm

I filled up my car yesterday in anticipating a lower petrol price by the end of the month. Then suddenly, price to be lowered at midnight.

They/UMNO can lie with their eyes and mouth opened. How can I trust them? Real jokers.

25. #25 by solcroft on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:15 pm

To justiciary,

Yes, I’m teaching LKS how to talk. I prefer to say things as they are instead of just coming here to kneel down before LKS and …..as you seem to be doing. Maybe you’re living in a dream world where Pakatan Rakyat is already the government. Newsflash: it’s not, and BN still holds the majority in the Parliament. If you want to convince them to agree with your point of view, you speak with tact. On the other hand, if you’re just out to score points and act lansi, then you talk like LKS. I don’t know what doing the latter is supposed to accomplish, though, other than to get cheap cheers out of syok sendiri people like you.

26. #26 by boleh-an on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:16 pm

MCA and Gerakan will never leave BN ‘cos those in MCA and Gerakan are shoe-polishers. Their masters will always have tips for those shoe-polishers. Any person with conscience will never join MCA or Gerakan.

27. #27 by boleh-an on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:21 pm

Bodowi’s words should never be taken seriously. When he said “Petrol price won’t be adjusted before Sept 1”, we already knew it would.

When he said “This is not politically motivated”, we knew otherwise.

When he said “Najib didn’t do it”, we knew otherwise.

When he said “The govt is not behind the sodomy case”, we knew otherwise.

Can someone help me with the list?

28. #28 by Mr Smith on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:26 pm

The enthusiasm will come when Anwar wins on Tuesday.

29. #29 by cancan on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:28 pm

The traits of the Malaysian politicians

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

30. #30 by yhsiew on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:47 pm

SORRY TO SIDETRACK.

another SD come up..
    these are like missiles that BN cannot shoot down..
    always hitting them on the groin..

Thagarajoo,
    Please arrange food for your pets.. David Copperfield is going to swing into action to make you disappear. Be ready for the long Journey.
    Send our regards to PI Bala & Dr.Osman,if you happen to meet them.
    You cannot swear on Koran.Forget about that option.

http://malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/11629/84/

31. #31 by dapforever on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 9:52 pm

something happen this year……i hardly see any CARs with BENDERA MALAYSIA FLAG on their car this COMING NATIONAL DAY…..i guess most of us either can’t afford to buy the flag due to rising of cost living and at the meantime also very very dissapointed with the current BN/UMNO government…

32. #32 by peterchiang on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 10:04 pm

“Tact is the art of making a point without making an enemy.” – Solcroft

———
    My Sifu told me this:
    “It is practically impossible to be tactful when there are over hundred individuals with various preconceived mindset.
    Also, people take offence as a norm in political arena irrespective of how you deliver your ‘tactful’ speeches or gestures.”

33. #33 by justiciary on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 10:28 pm

To Solcroft,

LKS was doing a good job by pointing out the various misdeeds of UMNO resulting in disuniting the people instead of uniting them.He cited the display of Umno’s banner of ‘Melayu ditindas’ during the PP by election campaign attempting to prove beyond doubt the never ending racist tactics manipulated by Umno.These racist tactics can never bode well for the future of a multicultural country like ours.I never dreamt that PR is in power now.But my answer is I don’t know if it will be in power in the future.

However I was perplexed by your silence over the barbaric outbursts of racist Umno MPs.I hope you are not their big xxxxs
    carrier.The word ‘lansi’ you used was very distasteful.Do you know how to express it in English?

34. #34 by KennyGan on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 10:57 pm

With all the racist talk spewing out from Umno politicians in Parliament and Permatang Pauh, where is the mood to celebrate National Day?

Let’s all boycott the Aug 31 celebration and let the leaders give speeches to an empty field. This is an act of civil disobedience which should drive home the point forcefully.

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 11:19 pm

I would like to ask him to provide one example of a truly open society that he aspires Malaysia to be like? In reality there is not real open society in the world where anything goes. One can still be charged and imprisoned for defamation in Malaysia as anywhere else in the world.”

What cock are you talking about?

In the United States, the police could not make illegal searches because it is unconstitutional. If they do, the results of that search would not be of any use to the prosecution since they could not admit it into evidence.

The police cannot simply stop you and search unless they have reasonable course to do so – and ‘reasonable cause’ is narrowly construed by the courts. The police would need a search warrant signed by a judge before they could search your house – and you cannot make a judge sign a search warrant because it would help the police go on a ‘fishing expedition’ to look for evidence so that they could charge you with an offence.

“One can still be charged and imprisoned for defamation in Malaysia as anywhere else in the world.” zak_hahamad

Never heard of ‘due process’?

In RPK’s case the police are looking for a piece of evidence not so they could use it against him in a court of law but to take it away so he could not use it in his defense!

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 11:23 pm

wrong thread??

37. #37 by cemerlang on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 11:25 pm

When Malaysians feel that they are seen as foreigners, of course, they do not feel like celebrating the National Day. Like in Johore when UMNO wants the Chineses to get out from Malaysia. They forget that it was not just a Malay, Tuanku Abdul Rahman who made independence happen for Malaysia. But there was a Chinese, Tun Tan Cheng Lock and an Indian, Tun V.T.Sambanthan. If there is no fairness and there is undeserving favour shown to the Bumiputras, why should non Bumiputras make it their business to care about the National Day ? The Malays, the Ibans, the Kadazans and others should see to it that there is celebration of the National day.

However, there is the National Day budget and it is used for buying flags and banners and decorations. The deco is up but it does not mean people are that patriotic. Sometimes small flags that stick on the cars come off and other cars drove over it like nobody’s business. Even wearing the flag on one’s body is considered disrespectful. We can celebrate the National Day like any other public holidays. People will just go and have fun, get drunk and act stupid. But it does not mean they love the country or they love the politicians in power.

National Day will be honestly and grandly celebrated when the Malays and Bumiputras stop thinking of themselves as masters and when the non Bumiputras stop thinking of themselves as the slaves. When discrimination is finally done away with, then the National day will be meaningful.

Wise man Naziran heard this somewhere ” Our country is not the only thing to which we owe our allegiance. It is also owed to justice and to humanity. Patriotism consists not in waving the flag, but in striving that our country shall be righteous as well as strong “.

38. #38 by young_malaysian on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 11:26 pm

In my opinion,

1st of all, try to be neutral side and justify this issue from the view of the malaysian (the rakyat)… from what i noticed from the video clip attached by uncle Lim, the respond from the MPs of government side are totally disgraceful and unprofessional… Uncle Lim is trying to question the kerajaan pusat regarding the atmosphere of National Day being too “cold” and asked whether the problem is happening because of the failure of national integration… well, uncle Lim is doing what an opposition party should do (to question the government about any issues or problems faced by the country). That is why it is good to have opposition in the parliament regardless of any countries as opposition will voice the issues that the current government might had paying lack of attention into or fail to solve a issue… Practically, as a 1st class minded citizen, the respond from the government MPs should be acceptable and reasonable… (that’s the professionalism i’m talking about in politic) but instead of a reasonable answer, MPs such as from PSalak is responding in a very improper way a MP should answer… but basically this is what we had in parliament of Msia nowadays…Although, the timbalan menteri (i forgot his name,sorry) is not able to satisfy uncle Lim’s question, but good thing is the way he answer is more to a MP should… answering by respecting each other regardless of different view in politic…

It’s good to have live television broadcasting of parliament meeting as the citizen are able to watch their rep closely and might think wiser to choose their rep in the coming G.Election… and i,as a young generation of Malaysian would like to see the day when professionalism can be practiced by all the MPs sitting in the parliament…

Regards, Msian

39. #39 by pwcheng on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 11:55 pm

If you go back to the history of Pasir Salak, it will remind us of a murderer turned hero and jalan Birch was renamed Jalan Maharajalela.
    If you can honor a murderer as a hero and at the same time telling the people not to take the law into your their hands, isn’t that confusing.
    So we know the history of Pasir Salak and this guy is possibly a descendant of the murderer.

40. #40 by just a moment on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:00 am

undergrad2 Says:
    Today at 23: 23.23 (33 minutes ago)
    wrong thread??

Yes pal,
    It should be the previous one
    “Fifth Police Raid..”
    Joker lah you, well, sorry you have to Q up after me.
    Boy do I enjoy this Zak fellow thinggy

41. #41 by just a moment on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:16 am

Oops, sorry undergrad2, you knew already.
    Time zone different. Cheers

42. #42 by badak on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:19 am

UMNO knows that they had lost the support of the chiness and indians.So they try to to show the malays .Only UMNO can defend the Malays and Islam.UMNO don,t care at all about the RAKYAT.Weather they are CHINESS , INDIANS , or even the MALAYS.All they care is to hold on to power anyway they can.All they want is to SODOMIZE Malaysia for another 51 years if they can…With their corrupted ways.

43. #43 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:24 am

Cheers!

44. #44 by Tulip Crescent on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:28 am

Damocles Says:

Yesterday at 17: 53.15
    One BN party admitted that it’s a beggar party while another admitted that it’s a servant party!
    So, why demean themselves instead of taking pride on being a equal partner by joining the PR?
    Anyone with an iota of pride and dignity would have left the BN a long, long time ago!!

Thank our lucky stars that one said the party is a beggar while the other said it is a servant. At least no one has admitted that they are mere slaves. Even worse, eunuchs!

45. #45 by voice on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:32 am

UMNO is actually pushing for wealth unity among them

46. #46 by sirrganass on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:33 am

Watched the clip and i feel bad about UMNO’s altitude towards National Unity. And the parliment looksounded so bad-mannered.

You people have lost hope on UMNO. What to do? But after this where are you going? The answer is… go to PKR and PAS?
    I believe PKR has clearified its stance toward the NATIONAL UNITY. Or else LKS won’t talk to Anwar. Seems to be a new hope there.

How about PAS?? For those who has never had any opportunity to hear this before, please be informed that under strict original / true ISLAMIC TEACHING, our prophet condemed ASSOBIYYAH. Assobiyyah means “racism”. There is no struggle on BANGSA in ISLAM. We only talk about “MUKMIN”. And mukmin means “THE BELIEVERS”. You can be BLACK, white, Chinese or Indian. Islam is not interested in your race. It concerned only on what is your spritual believe. But, wonderful enough, it is still alright if you don’t believe in the One God. We can’t even harm you for being the non-believers. A muslim leader must not observe RACE as an issue.

Why should you know about all this?

Because, where else to you want to go since in our parliment, many UMNO reps loudly talk about “Malay”, “Chinese” etc so loudly and clearly and LKS’s motion in the clip seemed to be laughed at.

So, where’d you go?

Yes, try PKR and also try PAS first. Hidupkan PAKATAN RAKYAT DULU and see how things go. PAS may fail because there are still members that talk like UMNO. PKR also has members that talk like UMNO. But, the ULAMAK from PAS knows that true ISLAM doesn’t appreciate “ASSOBIYYAH”. So, where’d you go? Go to ULAMAK PAS. Worth a try!!! Ask Haji Awang or Nik Aziz!

47. #47 by Tulip Crescent on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:34 am

solcroft Says:

Yesterday at 17: 56.27
    Dear Lim Kit Siang,

I would like to share with you an anecdote my teacher told me when I was little.

“Tact is the art of making a point without making an enemy.”

So, solcroft, what are you trying to say or imply? That Kit should be tactful or more tactful?

He was trying to make a point, and before he could do that effectively, he was shouted down, or at least they tried to shout him down like the bullies they are.

In the previous Parliaments, such gangster tactics might work. However, today, this no longer holds.

In fact, if such bully tactics continue, it will be to the detriment of the country and its political development. It is time for National Front MPs to behave themselves and learn how to listen … listen actively.

Active listening is actually an art. Then you become part of the solution. Otherwise, using such bully tactics especially, you are part of the problem.

48. #48 by Tulip Crescent on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:38 am

yhsiew Says:

Yesterday at 19: 53.08
    Annual inflation surged to 8.5 percent in July, well above expectations (YAHOO ASIA NEWS). Well, that is Abdullah’s gift for our National Day!

Great! This means that all EPF subscribers have been effectively robbed! What is the interest the EPF subscribers get? Less than the inflation rate of 8.5 per cent.

Any government must ensure that inflation is curbed and minimised. Anything less is a form of taxation!

49. #49 by voice on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:47 am

And, for the fact, there’s only 3 races in the world.
    Indian, Malay, Chinese, are ethnics.

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 2:35 am

They are not celebrating because they know they are going to see a lot of upside down flags!

51. #51 by aquaimplotec on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 2:44 am

Datuk Tajudin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak) acts like a villian, shouting uncultured rebuttals the likes of which will surely put to shame the Commonwealth upbringing of Malaysians. Surely the Queen of England will seriously doubt that his heritage is decended from British rule.

52. #52 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 2:59 am

I hope the those racism politician read this…

* Parameswara founded Malacca around 1400. He was a Buddhist Srivijayan prince.
    * Parameswara converted to Islam in 1414 and changed his name to ‘Raja Iskandar Shah’.
    * The prosperity of Malacca attracted the invasion of the Siamese, attempts in 1446 and 1456.
    * The development of relations between Malacca and China was at that time a strategic decision to ward off further Siamese attacks.

Recalling our history, siamese atk was crutial and the chinese had offered help, regardless of we win or lose, we are Malaysian today. “PembelaMelayu.com” should read more their History recalling Ketuanan Melayu. We should work best Interest for our future and Unite as a Nation to be proud of, and stands firm to show the world that we Malaysian are “ONE UNITED PROSPER COUNTRY”.

Most of the world hate America cuz they were strong! WHY?… cuz they were [B]”UNITED”[/B] STATES OF AMERICA and they are proud of it.

sincerely,
    Malaysian

53. #53 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 3:28 am

@ solcroft …

the tact thingy was very good idea and ill note that down really, but when it comes to ur 2nd reply to “justiciary”, the tact thingy was completely gone like it happens in the vids we saw… and trust me, it happens all the times in jungle like that lol.

peace.

54. #54 by monsterball on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 3:57 am

Yes…without brave Lim Kit Siang Malaysians may not be awakened so fast.
    Now…without Anwar….there is no unity.
    Combine them together….with millions of Malaysians supporting them….UMNO is exposed.
    At last…change of government is near and of all the people in the history of Merdeka…only Lim Kit Siang have done more than anyone dare to claim.
    He is rewarded by seeing his son is CM of Penang.
    His personal reward will come soon……with the new government…as he is so indispensable…to unite all Malaysians too.
    Anwar and Lim are hands and gloves to this unity.
    We ordinary Malaysians will stand by our men.

55. #55 by lakshy on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 5:02 am

Solcroft,

I agree with you. YB LKS’s style has to change too! Need to use more tact, and get the message across, without the need to shout or grand stand.

56. #56 by lakshy on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 5:03 am

At the end of the day, its about getting results, and not scoring points. Upmanship may not be of much use if it gets you no results.

57. #57 by lakshy on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 5:06 am

Emily Pratt Says:
    Yesterday at 17: 41.11

“I wonder if the Police Force will be boo’ ed at during the March Pass?”

I think thats an excellent idea to use nationwide to get the message across to the police. Lets boo at them at all parades nationwide, and see if they can get the message!

58. #58 by lakshy on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 5:09 am

When insults had class

A Member of Parliament to Disraeli: “Sir, you will either die on the gallows or of some unspeakable disease.”
    “That depends, Sir,” said Disraeli, “on whether I embrace your policies or your mistress.”

“I have never killed a man, but I have read many obituaries with great pleasure.” – Clarence Darrow

“Thank you for sending me a copy of your book; I’ll waste no time reading it.” – Moses Hadas

“I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.” Mark Twain

“He has no enemies, but is intensely disliked by his friends.” – Oscar Wilde

“I am enclosing two tickets to the first night of my new play; bring a friend…. if you have one.” – George Bernard Shaw to Winston Churchill
    “Cannot possibly attend first night, will attend second… if there is one.” – Winston Churchill , in response.

“I feel so miserable without you; it’s almost like having you here.” –
    Stephen Bishop

“I’ve just learned about his illness. Let’s hope it’s nothing trivial.” – Irvin S. Cobb

“He is not only dull himself, he is the cause of dullness in others.” – Samuel Johnson

“He has the attention span of a lightning bolt.” – Robert Redford

“In order to avoid being called a flirt, she always yielded easily.” -Charles, Count Talleyrand

“He loves nature in spite of what it did to him.” – Forrest Tucker

“Why do you sit there looking like an envelope without any address on it?” -Mark Twain

“His mother should have thrown him away and kept the stork.” – Mae West

“Some cause happiness wherever they go; others, whenever they go.” – Oscar Wilde

“He uses statistics as a drunken man uses lamp-posts… for support rather than illumination. ” – Andrew Lang

59. #59 by trublumsian on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 7:34 am

solcroft

what lks did is what oppositions do. he has been doing it for so many years, and obviously when u try to reason with monkeys, u speak monkey language! lks has always been the sounding board for the oppressed. if u don’t feel oppressed, u’r free to cross over to the dark side. hv a good weekend though.

60. #60 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 8:57 am

Seriously these people react to LKS like Pavlovian dogs. I think if Sdr. Lim stands up and just bait them with an open ended question, they come out yapping….

61. #61 by taikohtai on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 9:01 am

Uncle Lim,

Thank you for sharing this most illuminating episode of the going-ons in Parliament.
    It is amazing how MPs from BN defend themselves despite a shameful track record of underachievements of 50 years of gomen.
    However, human ego never fails to surface when challenged.
    If only all the energies expended can be channeled into solving all the problems facing Malaysia in unison.
    Yes, I do believe BN does have a place in gomen but only as an opposition! Yes, now that their majority has been greatly reduced but no change in behavior has been detected, their numbers NEED TO BE REDUCED FURTHER. Bring on September 16 and/or the next GE!

62. #62 by son of perpaduan on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 9:05 am

Enough is enough, PR, please kick these people out of parliment. Shame on him,who shouted at the parliment with such a abusive words. How and what will happen to our country if this umno MP rule the country????
    Oh ya, the BN candidate in PP is very talented actor but unfortunately he is not a good care taker…trust me. I like him because he is the type of malay that every malay should learn. PR should recruit him to join PR if there is a chance, don’t waste his talent.

63. #63 by Freddy on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 9:19 am

YB,

i think this could well be a blessing in disguise for Pakatan Rakyat. i’m confident that if PR wants to, they can always organise a 51 Merdeka celebrations in the states they govern. this celebration could well be a double celebration – 51 Merdeka and Anwar’s victory.

if bn spent over 100 million last year, i believe that PR can do better. as it is, there are many many supporters willing to contribute in cash and kinds. many of them will be willing to come out to join in the celebration although there will be lack of pomp.

and oh, please emphasise on the dark blue canton in our Jalur Gemilang that represents Malaysian Unity!!

64. #64 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 10:50 am

Out of extreme disappointment, if any of the malays were to vote to arif shah in permatang pauh, it indignifies them, why? you may ask. There was recent revelation that arif has claimed false academic qualifications, he claimed that he has a degree in civil engineering but in truth he only has a diploma from FIT and furthermore he claimed that he was doing his PHD at a university in the UK via correspondence, and that uni was found out to be a fake uni.

And so this is a man who is contesting to be a leader in this constituency and in terms of credibility he has lied about his qualifications, would he not lie about anything else. You decide!

65. #65 by k1980 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:22 pm

When the petrol price was raised by 41 per cent on 5 June, the price of Nymex Light Sweet Crude was around US$125 per barrel (on 4-5 June).

The closing price yesterday was US$121, not much different from then, and now dollah announced a cut of 5.6 per cent. Why such a big difference of 41%- 5.6% = 35.4%?

66. #66 by taiking on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:30 pm

I thought I saw Santa on the train the other day and Christmas is a good many months away. Perhaps he wanted to hand out the first gift of christmas early or he has some other reasons which I know not of. However, rather oddly, the reindeers werent anywhere about. Neither was the sleigh. In fact no one took notice of his appearance at all which was both sudden and mysterious.

He may be without the reindeers and his sleigh but he had the train and he seemed happy and cheerful riding in it, although he appeared to have mumbled something to someone along the way.

The missing reindeers and sleigh werent the only oddity. There are more. He came with a gift which was obvious for all to see. But he came dressed not in Santa’s usual red and white; beard and all. That was understandable, I thought to myself. For christmas is not even anywhere near round the corner.

Perhaps the most unusual of all is the name he was known by. A name I happen to overhear when that someone he had communicated earlier with a mumble, called out. Santa bean Abdullah. Santa bean Abdullah?? I repeated in my head. Isnt Claus Santa’s last name? I immediately wondered.

Ho-Ho-Ho he suddenly went; and ho-ho-ho he distracted my thought and the little puzzle that was begining to build up in my head. Then out came the gift, and to each passenger on the train he handed fifteen cents. Its only for malaysians he said and Ho-Ho-Ho he dissapeared as mysteriously as his appearance was.

The fifteen cents I had in my hands were by then already well mingled with the rest of my belongings, coins and stuff in my trousers pocket. I never knew that Santa has a middle name. He has always been Santa Claus for as long as I could remember. And now “bean”, “bean Abdullah”, “Santa bean Abdullah’!

I could by a stretch of my imagination perhaps accept “bin Abdullah” but “bean Abdullah” quite certainly lies beyond the reach of my imagination no matter how I stretch it.

But stretch it, I nevertheless did. I had to stretch it thin to further its reach. And then I had to puncture it in order to release the pull that was upon the edge so that I could reach even further. It was painful and difficult – certainly an exercise I would not advocate unless one is caught in extreme circumstances.

It was worth the effort. Well for me at least. And the answer, Mr. Abdullah, the malaysian Mr Bean in Santa Claus disguise.

67. #67 by just a moment on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:36 pm

Yo ppl, Flip Flop Circus are back in town!!
    Circus Ring Leader:
    1. Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi made the announcement today – two days after he reiterated that petrol prices would not be cut before Aug 31.
    2. Circus Entertainers : The authorities have reversed their decision to cancel a concert by Canadian pop-rock star Avril Lavigne, saying today that she can perform next week despite complaints her act is “too sexy”.
    3. Great values these ppl are showing the World. Never stop being amused and amased by these goons in Bolehland. Carry on goons.

68. #68 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:39 pm

Dear YB Kit
    Well we can’t expect much from these UMNO Putras in Parliament, State Assemblies or for that matter anywhere.
    This is because they have not been using their God-given brains for any useful purpose other than abusing their little left grey matter to concoct corruption schemes, plot political intrigues, hatch self-enriching cheating the Rakyat devices in the name of NEP, Ketuanan Melayu etc & display their arrogance & enslave & castrate & give orders to MCA, MIC, Gerakan, SUPP, LDP, SAPP etc.
    No wonder their brains cells had been fosillised. As such the UNMO Putras cannot now engage in civilised dialogue, intellectual discourse & friendly exchange of views and opinion. They little brain cells left make them only capable of shouting profanities, showing obscene signs, carrying out violent, gangster-like & brainless demonstrations, running amok, shouting racial taunts & making use of sexual innuendoes. They can’t talk in a civilised manner & only know how to show anger.
    Nobody can help them out of their malaise. They will soon go extinct as they cannot evolve to be relevant to modern day requirements of a civil & peaceful co-existence.

69. #69 by LINLIANI on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:58 pm

Slogan seperti ketuanan Melayu, kedaulatan Melayu, perpaduan Melayu hanyalah mainan UMNO. Slogan bersifat perkauman inilah yang menjejaskan perpaduan dan muhibah di negara kita.

Perayaan Hari Kebangsaan sememangnya tidak akan bermakna selagi ada orang-orang UMNO seperti Tajudin Rahman ada di negara kita. Tidak ada makna kerajaan habiskan berpuluh-puluh juta untuk rayakan Hari Kebangsaan dan menggesa rakyat kibarkan Jalur Gemilang jika UMNO sendiri api-apikan isu-isu perkauman.

Keputusan pilihanraya umum 8 March lalu telah membuktikan rakyat ingin bersatu-padu, menolak politik perkauman dan menentangkan penyelewengan dan penyalahgunaan kuasa. Malangnya orang UMNO masih tidak sedar dan tidak tahu bertaubat. Perjuangan politik di negara kita yang cuba berasaskan perkauman semakin hari semakin akan berkubur.

Sempena Hari Kebangsaan yang ke 51 ini, kita semestinya mahu Malaysia lebih berjaya dan bersatu-padu. Tetapi bersediakan kita menolak pemimpin-pemimpin UMNO yang kononnya mahu menjadi wira untuk kaumnya.

Sebenarnya selepas 8 March, pemimpin-pemimpin MCA, MIC dan PPP telah sedar bahawa perjuangan mereka telah terjejas angkara mainan UMNO. Sebab itulah slagi ada orang UMNO seperti Taujudin Rahman ini, selagi itulah MCA dan MIC akan tercalar dan tidak mampu berkata apa-apa.

Itulah yang kita lihat dalam parlimen, tidak ada seorang pun MIC dan MCA berani berdiri menyatakan pendirian. Senario seperti ini telah berlaku sejak zaman Dr. Mahathir lagi dan ia barangkali akan terus berlaku selagi membiarkan UMNO menjadi ketuanan dalam BN.

Itulah Malaysia kita. Perpaduan kaum masih gagal mencapai apa yang kita inginkan. Sktraktur BN barangkali sudah agak baik malangnya apabila ada pemimpin-pemimpin yang bermain api perkauman, menyalahgunakan kuasa dan rasuah, maka ranaplah seluruh parti.

Begitu juga dengan Pakatan Rakyat yang sama seperti BN yang berasaskan kompenan parti. Harapan rakyat ialah agar Pakatan Rakyat jangan seperti BN yang membiarkan sesebuah parti komponen di dalamnya terlalu berkuasa seperti yang kita lihat UMNO dalam BN sekarang.

70. #70 by One4All4One on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 12:59 pm

Excerpts from The Sun 21-08-08: At The Dewan Rakyat

” Teng said the issue of national unity needs the commitment of everyone, especially political leaders. “If we do not incite the rakyat by provoking them and together we honestly and fairly tackle the problems that the country and people are facing, I think we would be able to enjoy a more comfortable situation,” he said. ”

Comment:

Who and what normally incite the rakyat?

Racist politicians, bigots, and opportunists. Government policies, local authorities, arm of the law, and the legal system.

If there are no incitement, the rakyat would certainly not react in the manner they did. No fire, no smoke – common sense. The government should be able to sense all that. But what sort “honest and fair actions” (to quote Mr Teng) were taken by the government to address all those problems? And the rakyat are not feeling comfortable with the inaction or lop-sided actions.

Another excerpt:

” This created an uproar among the BN MPs led by Datuk Tajudin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak), who shouted that Lim was being racist, and voices were heard telling him this is not China and asking him to go back to Singapore. ”

Comment:

It takes a racist to call another person a racist.

It is a case of “a kettle calling a pot black”. “Siapa yang makan cili, dialah yang merasa pedas”. And the background voices of those “ultra racists”, and perhaps those devoid of any human intelligence, telling others to go to another place. Well, they should not be in the august house in the first place. They are perfect example of racist, bigots, and opportunist the country can do without.

Yet another excerpt:

” Earlier, Teng told Datuk Mohd Jidin Shafee (BN-Setiu) the government is satisfied with the effectiveness of the national integration programme but efforts must be continued to instil the spirit of unity among Malaysians. ”

Comment:

If the level of integration is satisfactory, then unity must also be satisfactory. One cannot be present without the other.
    The deputy minister’s statement is self contradictory.

71. #71 by Elwin Heng on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 1:11 pm

Will you-&-me boycott 318 celebration?
    You know the answer, don’t you!

Citizen of PR-(PKR, DAP, PAS) then we’re happy and enjoy with it!
    Surely I will absent or reject invitation which held or organize by BN!

Disappointed to BN MPs, waste resources and times for meaningless argument, naive and stubborn applying racist-&-money politic strategies! Live under one roof, because of mirror misunderstanding or different point of view then ignored those existed and proceeding contributions by other races? Forgive and forget, do they understood the exact or real meaning? Morality, ethics & etc.?

Such coincidences by adjusted petrol price (with no politic motivation) during 826 by-election @Permatang Pauh(P44)? Will you believe BN, as I/we knew otherwise? Sound like money politic strategy, do you agree?

Flags?
    x.NO BN flag!
    v.YES PR PKR-DAP-PAS!

P44 voters, since wish you will vote and support to PR En. Anwar by authenticating and authorizing him back to parliament.

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

72. #72 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 1:24 pm

Kudos to BARISAN NASIONAL government for allowing Avril Lavigne to hold a concert at Merdeka Stadium on August 29, 2008!

I WILL NEVER EVER SUPPORT PAS AGAIN! BECAUSE OF THIS, I WILL NO LONGER SUPPORTING PAKATAN RAKYAT EVEN THOUGH I LOVE YAB LIM KIT SIANG, RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN, & ANWAR IBRAHIM. AS LONG AS PAS IS WITH PAKATAN RAKYAT I WILL NEVER SUPPORT PAKATAN RAKYAT. I HAVE LOST HOPE IN THIS COUNTRY.

Many Malaysian politicians are a bunch of hypocrites! They act holier than others but the truth is Avril Lavigne is much much holier than many Malaysian politicians (especially those from UMNO & PAS). Make many politicians from PAS & UMNO will make Avril Lavigne look like a saint. Avril Lavigne never take bribe. She did not cheat other people of their money unlike many of our Malaysian politicians. Avril Lavigne works hard for her money while many of our Malaysian politicians only know how to take rasuah, cheat rakyat’s money, squandered our nation’s weath, rape underage girl, etc.

73. #73 by Richardqed on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 1:33 pm

With the Permatang Pauh by-election looming, obviously BN will use this as a gimmick. Letting Avril hold a concert costs them nothing at all. (Flying Lee Chong Wei in a helicopter to their function also costs them nothing at all.)

When they are asked to reduce petrol prices, they either say cannot, or not so soon, however, when by-election pressures them, now down by 15sen.

But it looks like all these gimmicks are not working, judging by the malaysianinsider.com’s report on Permatang Pauh’s voters opinions.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/8043-local-chinese-well-give-anwar-his-chance

74. #74 by trublumsian on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 1:33 pm

aab finds out about things in his own backyard by reading the papers. perhaps he read about former taiwanese president mr. chen n his usd 31 mil fat ass swiss accounts. take a hint, aab (yeah, that includes u najis, u agp, u, u, an u), paper can’t contain fire. sooner or later ur dirty undie will show, n u hv to face the music (cue theme from jaws). better get on with those zimbabwe immigration papers quick!

75. #75 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 1:55 pm

The only thing that could give BN a slight advantage and i repeat mere advantage with absolute no chance to win at all, is reduce the fuel price to what anwar claimed he would, that is a further 35 cents! HAHA good luck suckers!

76. #76 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 2:11 pm

Who is worse – racist like UMNO or facist like PAS?

77. #77 by James on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 2:24 pm

Hey there is actually absolutely no need to mark this. Why? The gomen is fostering disunity, racialism & confusion with the aim to distract the rakyat from their focus on the grave corruption in the BN machinery & civil service. It is also to exacerbate the undue sufferings of the rakyat. This Bodohwi is making cruel jokes against the sufferings by reducing the petrol price by a negligible amount & personally inspecting the useless & shameful public transport system. His comments obviously far from assuaging feelings are rubbing salt to injuries which I deeply believe is his intention.

Let us kick Barang Naik gomen out the sooner the better!!!

78. #78 by Richardqed on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 2:56 pm

The DIFFERENCE between Umno and Pas is that Umno has never ever had to pee in their pants like now. So we know that the rakyat is doing the right thing by voting them out, and CONTINUING to VOTE THEM OUT.

79. #79 by Richardqed on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 3:02 pm

From a malaysianinsider news report:

(http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/8047-najib-repeats-oath-about-not-knowing-altantuya)

Headline: “Najib repeats oath about not knowing Altantuya”
    “Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak last night was forced to swear in a mosque near here that he did not know murdered Mongolian model Altantuya Shaariibuu.”

Now, why can’t they understand that if they avoid appearing in court for a case where their name has been linked, then no matter how many times they swear in a mosque, it’s not going to help?

80. #80 by Anak_Penang on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 3:08 pm

Find some photos and youtube at votingmalaysia.blogspot.com

81. #81 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 3:36 pm

“….Datuk Tajudin Abdul Rahman (BN-Pasir Salak), who shouted that Lim was being racist, and voices were heard telling him this is not China and asking him to go back to Singapore.”

Tajuddin should consider ‘balik Indon’, since his ancestor came from Indon.

82. #82 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 3:41 pm

Cina======> balik China

India======> balik India

Melayu =======> balik Indonesia

Left alone are the real aborigines of Malaya -Senoi, Jakun :they would be lonely

83. #83 by Godfather on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 3:42 pm

… the Merdeka “celebrations”.

Every year, the den of thieves spend between RM 50 – 100 million of taxpayers’ money. They give contracts to fellow UMNOputras – for flags, for buntings and banners , for t-shirts, and for logistics. Then they look smug on TV on each August 31st, with smirks on their faces, as though they know that while they appear on TV, their relatives and cronies are stealing behind the scenes.

I won’t be celebrating until the thieves are removed from power and the pillaging stopped. I will be gone fishing. Let Shamshul Anuar and Kasim Amat celebrate with their bosses.

84. #84 by sirrganass on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 4:06 pm

BoycottLocalPapers? First i tot u want us to boycott Local Papers. Now i see you are trying to say PAS is no good and Umno is, of course, no good too.

Wat are left to you now? DAP only? DAP and PKR only? Chinese only? Chinese and Indian only? All Malay-based parties are NOT GOOD, right? Well, fine!!!

Where’d you go now? Build your own country, right?

Or is it because you love AVRIL so much and dissappointed because the show is about to be cancelled? If PR rules, can you ask Nik Aziz not to ban AVRIL’s concert? Tell him the show will be indoor and it will be properly monitored for any immoral bahaviour under close supervision because we know moral issue is also important. Can you try it?

PAS under islamic value, will not promote liquor, sex, sodomy, gambling etc but is selling liquor and pork totally banned in Kelantan? Are Chinese in Kelantan are totally deprived of everything? Can chinese in Kelantan watch sexy movies or open porn websites quietly at home?

Demanding excessive porn concert and free-sex is of course ridiculous to PAS. But actually having Avril concert as well as Siti Norhaliza concert is still “talkable”.

Who is worse – racist like UMNO or facist like PAS? Or rather build our own secular country and do whatever we want? No need to tolerate with others? DAP will stick on your Malaysian Malaysia plan. Well, it doesn’t matter much to Nik Aziz, after all, PAS actually is not a racial party (unfortunately most members there are Malays). PAS will not drop the ISLAMIC subject and PKR will also stick to its principles. And now we are supposed to work together under PR.

Can you do it? Can we work together? Nope? Don’t you know that you only have to choice now – BN or PR. Who is worse – racist like UMNO or “facist” like PAS in PR? What is your choice, you answer it! and write it down over here!!! Stick to BN?

85. #85 by sirrganass on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 4:29 pm

Hello everybody!!! THis year’s Merdeka Day is not at the right time. We Malaysian are in the middle of KELAMKABUT and so many bad things are happening now. Sodomy, Permatang Pauh, UiTM etc etc.

I am writing here just to say that something is wrong with my country now…

86. #86 by taiking on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 4:30 pm

To me, merdeka is an historical event which is by now completely devoid of any real significance.

In fact I am so dissapointed that sometimes I wished that it had not happened. And since that event cannot be undone, I constantly wished for a replacement to our current incompetent and inefficient government.

For years, I have been hearing the “balik china” remark. And for the remark to come from politicians who claimed to represent the country and respect her constitution, somehow, it seems to carry twice the dosage of venom.

I feel that the time is now right for another merdeka. The true and really meaningful merdeka.

87. #87 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 4:36 pm

PAS is as racist as UMNO. Look at their Malay cum Muslim unity talk with UMNO.

I hate these facists who are forcing their moral values on others. If you don’t like Avril Lavigne, then DO NOT GO to her concert. Why must force others to follow your moral code?

88. #88 by BoycottLocalPapers on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 4:39 pm

One more thing. You might be supporting Anwar Ibrahim just like me but these PAS are trying to have Hj Hadi to be the new PM of Malaysia. Hj Hadi is not as smart as Anwar Ibrahim. This is a fact.

89. #89 by rocketintoparliment on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 4:59 pm

Can Tun Uncle Lim keep a copy of this kind of racists remarks from the racist UMNO party and get it shown every day, every hour to all Malaysian’s. Can Tun asked MCA if they agree to also ” balik China ” as they best buddy UMNO is calling all Malaysian Chinese to Balik China, dun bother asking Gerakan as they are totally lost at what to do and will just follow UMNO anywhere. I’m very interested to see what would be the MCA response to this or they will continue to do they best to skip this and pretend nothing happen. Malaysia under UMNO and Bodowi is becoming a very intolerant country if compare with the era of Tun Mahathir and today everything from UMNO is about Melayu this and Melayu that… Thank goodness we now have Tun LKS & Tun Anwar to save us from this racists UMNO crooks… I will celbrate Merdeka next year.. this year will be a merdeka funeral as long as UMNO is in power

90. #90 by dapsupporter8888 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 5:15 pm

Couple of weeks back, in this very site, I had predicted that BN would reduce the fuel price just before the Permatang Pauh by-election, to be precise, I predicted that the fuel price will be reduced at the eleventh hour prior to the by-election. And true to my “prediction”, the fuel price was reduced today.

TO THE PEOPLE OF PERMATANG PAUH : I hope all of you will wake up and realise that it is just a gimmick by the desperate BN to win your heart in hope that you will vote for them this coming 26th. PLEASE!!! This is just a gimmick by BN – it is like a con man giving small kids some sweets to lure them away from the truth!

You need to look at the bigger picture of the whole thing. Some of you voted BN into power on March 8th, and see what you get in return. Just because of some idiot candidate who knows how to speak Mandarin, hokkien, etc does not mean that he will champion your rights!!! TO THE PEOPLE OF PERMATANG PAUH : WAKE UP!!! Since when BN had ever champion the cause of Malaysians???? You tell me?? Day in and day out, we hear and read in the news the BN keep on harping on Malays, Melayu, Ketuanan Melayu, Malay rights, etc. THE BN PEOPLE ARE NEVER SINCERE IN ANYTHING THEY DO OR SAY!!!

I read in the papers today that AAB said the fuel price had to be reduced because the inflation rate had risen to 8.5% last month. WHAT NONSENSE IS THIS??? Cakap tak serupa bikin!!! Sudah nyanyuk kah?? Hello Mr PM, Wake UP!!! Before you do or effect any changes, THINK….. THINK!!! Think of the consequences to the country and economy. It doesnt take an economist to tell you that raising fuel price will automatically trigger inflation in the country!! Now, because of your stupid decision to raise fuel price last month, the price of everything else had incresed, now that you lower the fuel price, you think people will lower the price of food, transport, etc??? NEVER!!

SO TO THE PEOPLE OF PERMATANG PAUH, PLEASE WAKE UP, LOOK AT THE BIGGER PICTURE WHEN YOU CAST YOUR VOTE ON 26TH!! DO NOT BE ENTICED BY THE SWEETS GIVEN BY THOSE CON MAN!!! THINK OF THE FUTURE OF THIS COUNTRY. ITS NOT ABOUT ANWAR, YOU OR I. ITS ABOUT THE COUNTRY!!

91. #91 by taiking on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 5:40 pm

PAS is an old political party like umno. Through the years it became stuck to certain political ideals and worse, it gained support based on those ideals. After a while it becomes difficult for the party to unstuck itself from those ideals.

Its like taking a bet when the party picks its ideals. There is no guarantee that those ideals they picked would be well received and would result in more popular support.

PAS like UMNO chose ideals with narrow scope. Those ideals are generally based on islam and the interests/rights of malays. DAP’s political ideals are more broad-based. They are targetted at the nation as a whole without any particular reference to race or religion.

As it happens, DAP’s ideals are more enduring and can be adapted easily to meet new situations and the demands of modern politics and economy. KeAdilan is using the same approach.

Both UMNO and PAS are now facing a difficult time. Unlike DAP, their political ideals are less flexible. Drastic changes would result in loss of popular support and would be a political disaster for them. At the same time they cannot remain still and not change for the writings on the wall clearly demand changes to be made.

For this reason, we on the outside became impatient with them. We would see them as out of date and inflexible in their ways. We are eager to move on, remove inefficiencies and incompetencies within the government machinery. We are anxious to see that we as a nation will not be left behind by other countries.

Their very inability to change and to meet challenges would eventually kill them politically. I can see it coming. A political party that is in decline and losing popular support is never ever able to turn things around. The decline will continue till death of the party is reached; that is when the remaining party members will decide whether to re-group or to disband themselves altogether.

UMNO and PAS must realise that, in the long run, the only way for them to preserve their ideals of looking after the interest of malays and islam is the DAP/KeAdilan way. They must open up.

92. #92 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 5:43 pm

Indonesia don’t want Nazi Racist Thug Tajuddin Abdul Rahman. He would infect the Indonesians with the same racism & thuggery as he is currently doing to our beloved country.
    The right place for him is HELL where he can join his “Sifus” such as Adolf Hitler Henrich Himmler, Adolf Eichmann & Dr Josef Mengele. God loves him more than we do so HE is bringing Tajuddin Abdul Rahman home to HELL soon!

93. #93 by gofortruth on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 6:19 pm

dapsupporter8888 Says:
    Today at 17: 15.52 (54 minutes ago)

………….. I read in the papers today that AAB said the fuel price had to be reduced because the inflation rate had risen to 8.5% last month……….
    ———————
    Very well said.
    Where in the world can you find another government mindlessly hurting & rocking its own economy by putting up fuel price at an idiotic level, only to lower it a little because of the negative consequence of run away infaltion???
    Our PM is really making 27 millions of us a big joke in the international community! You can copy “sodomy” & you can use ACA on oppositions; you can use EC but you CANNOT play the fool with your nation’s economy!!!!!

This must be CHANGED!

94. #94 by just a moment on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 6:21 pm

Dear BoycottLocalPapers Says:

Today at 16: 36.22 (1 hour ago)
    I hate these facists who are forcing their moral values on others. If you don’t like Avril Lavigne, then DO NOT GO to her concert. Why must force others to follow your moral code?

Incidently, these tribes do not have moral code, what they have is “morse code” Its blurry, fuzzy, no standards, out of date,can be apply in any damm ways they choose to fit their convenient and benefits.

Hope this explain why they simply just ‘force’ people into submission.

95. #95 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 6:48 pm

Dear LIm,

Yes. The Merdeka 51st celebration is rather “muted”. No need to be surprise about that. The truth is that the indiferrence is partly due to effect of global oil price.

But more importantly, the unsettled political situation in Malaysia. No thanks to life ambition of your friend, Anwar, who cant accept reality that BN still rules Malaysia despite some gain by opposition in the last election.

Of course for those fanatical about Anwar, there is nothing wrong about what he is doing. There is nothing wrong( from their perspective) about running to a foreign embassy from imaginary death threat.

If Anwar is so ambitious to become PM, wait for next election. And at that election, go and fight the PM at his constituency.

MrGo for Trith fails to understand the significance of swearing in the name of God and asking for divine punishment as per Islamic tradition. It is something taken very seriously. One may cheat in court, twist the word, blame media, accuse the Govt on political conspiracy . But they would not have wanted to be subjected to the time tested method in Swearing in God’ name if they have something to hide.

Swearing like what Saiful did is a rare phenomenon. Why? As it is considered “point of no return”. It is done to emphasize one’s honesty in a particular issue. Generally Muslims are more willing to use other method like court procedure as swearing is last resort method. Muslims understand that it is a very serious matter. We believe we are doomed if we lie after asking God’s punishment .

GRANTED that Saiful lied. But what is stopping Anwar from swearing? What? If Anwar had not committed the act of sodomy( I am not accusing him), why not swear.

What is he is afraid of? As goes the saying.”berani kerana benar”.

96. #96 by kerajaan.rakyat on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 7:02 pm

People in Permatang Pauh,

Give NO vote to BN

VOTE Vote vote for Parti Keadilan Rakyat.
    VOTE Vote vote for Anwar Bin Ibrahim.

Pakatan Rakyat will give us a better MALAYSIA.

http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/

97. #97 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 7:04 pm

Khairy jamalludin has the nack to give speeches with regards to anuar ibrahim, has he no shame? everyone in the nation knows that he puppets pak lah in every matter in the country and he has everything to do with the mishandling of the country. even mahathir has lots of bad things to say about him. some people just have no shame!!!!

98. #98 by aquaimplotec on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 7:23 pm

ReformMalaysia,
    Tajuddin should consider ‘balik Indon’, since his ancestor came from Indon.

AAAh, now the puzzle falls in place! Tajuddin Abdul Rahman (TAR)must have been formerly with PR! Just like the former speech writer, the former coffee boy and now the former jaga pintu that can only bark, bark and bark.

Why must have been? TAR must first be a Permanent Resident (PR)before getting citizenship.

99. #99 by Richardqed on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 7:38 pm

“Swearing like what Saiful did is a rare phenomenon. Why? As it is considered “point of no return”. It is done to emphasize one’s honesty in a particular issue. Generally Muslims are more willing to use other method like court procedure as swearing is last resort method. Muslims understand that it is a very serious matter. We believe we are doomed if we lie after asking God’s punishment ”
    — Shamshul anuar

Rare phenomenon? You must be kidding. How rare can it be when both Saifool and Najis are both swearing just before the by-election? If you offer to Kajang Prison inmates that provided they dare to swear, they will be released from jail immediately, the prison will be empty.

“Last resort”? You must be kidding again. Saifool can wait for Anwar’s court case to be over, and Najis can wait for the Altantuya case to be over as well, but why are they in a hurry to swear? Doesn’t take a genius to figure out that it would be too late after the by-election, right?

But then they claim that all this swearing has nothing to do with the by-election. Who are Saifool, Najis and Shamshul anuar kidding?

As my Malay pals tell me: “Berani kerana benar (tak payah buat apa-apa), takut kerana salah (lalu buat berbagai aksi, termasuk sumpah kepada All@h.)

100. #100 by AhPek on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 7:51 pm

Why all the happenings in at around almost the same time …Saiful’s swearing that his ar.. has been forcibly violated not once but eight times by a 61 years old man,police abetting the 300 strong mob to gatecrash and stop Bar Council forum,UiTM protest against Khalid’s suggestion of admitting 10% non Malay students with VC threat of suing Khalid if he does not apologise to students for such suggestion,ACA detension of the 2 Perak assemblymen alledgedly receiving RM 125,400 each to expedite application for a RM180 million housing project in Seri Iskandar in Perak,15 cents reduction in petrol price and using Lee CW the Olympic silver medalist and DPM swearing in the mosque he does not know Altantuya? And all this happening just prior to PP bye election so the timing has to be perfect and clinical!

101. #101 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 8:05 pm

——————————————————————————–

Quote:
    The prosperity of Malacca attracted the invasion of the Siamese. Attempts in 1446 and 1456, The development of relations between Malacca and China was at that time a strategic decision to ward off further Siamese attacks.

CHINA help Sultan Melaka strives off Siamese attack, attempts in 1446 and 1456, read this clear!…
    Siamese are “buddhist”, China are “buddhist”! Still they HELP Melaka as muslim country! Today this brat call us go back China as none Muslim?…
    Nice way expressed ur GRATITUDE indeed.

102. #102 by StevePCH on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 9:08 pm

i’m confused with Malaysia, how to celebrate when there isn’t anything to celebrate ? every year also waste money.
    Better use money to give to the poor rather than “bang,bang,bang” 30 minutes and waste few millions.

Good grieve … Balik mana mana also tarak guna lah brothers and sisters. when you die, what can you bring back ? you become fertilizer to the land mah.

Better be righteous and not regret in later days. truly ‘ forgive but not forget ‘ ‘ forgiven and not forgotten’.

103. #103 by StevePCH on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 9:48 pm

also… what do you expect from a govt that book nearly the whole Pearlview hotel for it’s operations. i think it’s just a waste of taxpayer’s money.

104. #104 by One4All4One on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 10:35 pm

I cry for Malaysia.

After 50 years, there is still so much antagonism and suspicion among her citizens.

After 50 years, there is still no clear cut direction of where we are going.

After 50 years, we are still divided over religion and race.

After 50 years, there are still claims and counter claims over who is the more supreme ethnic group in the country.

After 50 years, there is still no single education policy which could be the pride and pillar for all.

After 50 years, there are still so much doubts and suspicion about the fairness and transparency of national economic policies.

Where are we heading to?

A natural-resources rich nation with a talented pool of people staring blankly, and not knowing what to expect of the country even as of now.

Flips and flops, here and there.

A penchant for swearing on this and that.

Overzealous and insincere political party members, high crime rates, corruption infested agencies, bigots, racists, opportunists, plunderers, etc., making a mockery of the nation.

What can we expect?

The mood and air are one of despair. What can the rakyat make out of all these?

And we are on the verge of the 51st anniversary of the nation’s birth.

I cry for our beloved nation, Malaysia.

May God The Almighty bless all.

105. #105 by same chong on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 10:42 pm

uncle lim, just to voice my support for you. the change is taking place …….. and it would likely benefit the generations to come.

106. #106 by chin on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 10:56 pm

Lets face it, racism will never dies. Not even the next century, as long humans with different backgrounds, this will continue forever. Only time can tell, & god knows what.

107. #107 by sirrganass on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 11:13 pm

shamshul anuar juga tak pandai membaca? pandai menulis dan bercakap sahaja? Tak tahukah apa yang semua orang dah tulis kat sini = pasal sumpah, pasal “anwar” jadi PM… Sama macam Kassim Selamat, pandai tulis benda-benda bodoh sampai kita kat sini semua kata dia mmg bodoh. Ini sorang lagi.

Anwar jadi PM kah tak jadi kah, itu pilihan RAKYAT. Dia menang undi bukan dia rampas kuasa. Yang tu awak tak faham kah?

Berpuluh-puluh ulamak dah kata cara bersumpah macam SaiFOOL bukan ajaran ISLAM. Islam ada mahkamah syariah dan ada undang-undang sendiri. Awak guna undang2 apa? Dengan bersumpah nama awak terus jadi baik? Saiful bersumpah tapi nama dia tak baik-baik juga, org bertambah benci padanya dan menggelarnya SAIFOOL. Kemudian awak nak Anuar pun menjadi bodoh macam saiful? Nak anuar pun sama-sama mempermainkan ugama islam? Bagaimana kalau najib pulak bersumpah – bererti kes dia terus selesai?. Lepas tu dolah sumpah. Lepas tu Mahathir sumpah. Cukup? Semua orang mulai sekarang bila dituduh buat jahat boleh terus bersumpahkah?

Malu dengan kaum cina dan india. Minda mereka tak macam awak. Jangan tunjukkan kebodohan kepada orang lain, OK?

Sekarang bukan soal Anuar nak jadi menteri. Tetapi soalnya ialah, mengapa dah 50 tahun merdeka BN GAGAL mengujudkan keharmonian kaum, gagal membantras rasuah yang hari-hari kedengaran, gagal itu dan ini. Ujud pulak budaya SODOMY, budaya bersumpah di MASJID (dan di KUIL?)

Kalau BN tak pandai jaga negeri, cukuplah – mengaku sahaja “kita telah GAGAL”, suruh Anuar cuba pulak. OK tak? Sudah 50 tahun merdeka, di parlimen pertengkaran perkauman masih berlaku hingga hari ini. Melayu sama melayu pun habis bercakaran tuduh menuduh jatuh menjatuh. PAS dah tutup pintu terus dgn BN.

APA ERTI SEMUA INI? Sesama melayu pun kelamkabut dengan bangsa lain mcm mana pulak? Masih tak tahu lagikah isu sebenar?

Sorry guys, guna bahasa melayu sebab kalau tulis bahasa inggeris ada orang melayu yang tak faham dan tak minat nak faham…

108. #108 by katdog on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 11:28 pm

True racism will never die.

It just like corruption. As long as there is money there will be corruption. So what do we do? Just sit there and say so what? Don’t care because we can never trully get rid of it?

Of course not. We need to realise racism is a shameful despicable thing much like stealing or corruption. We must not stand aside and let it continue unchecked. We must have measures to discourage it.

109. #109 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 11:36 pm

“GRANTED that Saiful lied. But what is stopping Anwar from swearing? What? If Anwar had not committed the act of sodomy( I am not accusing him), why not swear? What is he is afraid of? ” shamshul anuar

I wish Anwar would!

But then the issue will then focus on how he is prepared to sell his soul to the Devil so he could achieve his life long ambition to be Prime Minister!! You see, it will not end there!

You sound so naive!

110. #110 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 11:40 pm

katdog Says:

Today at 23: 28.57 (7 minutes ago)
    “…racism will never die.”

You cannot stem racism. But you can racial discrimination – and like Chin says racism will continue to exist for as long as there are people walking this earth who look different, talk different and behave different!

111. #111 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 11:42 pm

Racism is an attitude and its outward manifestation is racial discrimination.

112. #112 by StevePCH on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 12:18 am

i am also getting more confused with the latest SD….

http://malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/11688/84/

can anyone tell me what’s going on ? so many SDs and AIDS. better i go to sleep.

113. #113 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 12:44 am

“It is one Rajoo who wants his 15 minutes of fame!

If true this is one more outrageous claim i.e. he who swears on the Qur’an has been caught dabbling with Hindu religious rites. The question then arises if Na*jib’s recent swearing on the Q*uo’ran is worth anything

114. #114 by Elwin Heng on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 1:10 am

100%++ hesitate to vote and support BN candidate and disappointed to dirty politic campaign “Money-buying – Defamation attack – Racist”!

Country development is needed, but most demanding and welcoming Pakatan Rakyat(PR) En. Anwar become excellent PM bringing us more economic stability and country peaceful!

Do you agree BN will be looking after you for 51 years? Time to help us, sit down and discuss his/her capability only? Multitasking and CAT MP is highly demand, for the purpose of country development and citizen benefits; not for the purpose of sitting down and discussing what he can do for us! Hardly unconvinced myself, more issues might more money into pocket!

Threatening us, if there will be nobody who will look after us! Should PM emphasize the above (might for) to gain more votes during by-election? Yes, I/we want and highly demanding PR to look after us in order live under misuse power BN!

What is your opinion or comment or response or feeling that petrol price of diesel and petrol that had been reduced between eight and 22 sen a litre? Is it too much or little? Is that all BN can do with it?

You-&-me will not forgotten about the RM625 rebate given to us, as I/we deserved it! Back to calculation, even I/we collected the rebate, still needed and forced to over-spending more than thousand RM a year for petrol fueling! Motion of threatening us again, “if the people do not appreciate the rebates, it is better for BN not issue any more in future.”? Should a deputy chairman emphasize and command with those statement?

Please bare in mind, P44 voters
    BN candidate admitted “money-buying” politic strategy? However, one-or-two days later, 360degrees turnover try-to cheat or lie or react as his prediction and personal opinion only! What’s a shame statement and irresponsibility reaction! This type of MP, will you elect him to be your MP? You know about the answer, don’t you!

P44 voters, give a chance to En. Anwar of PKR.
    You-&-me must disable, disallow and boycott “$money & racist” political in Malaysia!

Your kindly votes to En. Anwar are highly appreciate!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

115. #115 by parameswara on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:11 am

klu klux klan of asia

116. #116 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 4:35 am

Why Malay (UMNO) are so nasty toward Malay (Pakatan Rakyat)? Is this the end of orang Melayu?

117. #117 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:13 am

No. Just the end of some UMNO leaders.

118. #118 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 9:19 am

OK. Bashing aside, there is a serious matter here which is the exact state of national unity. What is the noted here is that last year when they spend an ungodly sum of money, there was a lot of enthusiasm but when no money is being spread around, you sense the level. Basically if the govt does not spread around money, we could not care to come together.

So what happens when we are in a crises and there is NOT enough money? If we do nothing, we would be very lucky but there should be enough pain around that something would be done but what?

Will those able to step up and help those in need OR will they run and leave the helpless to tear each other apart? We Malaysian by nature are tolerant lot but not generous or highly idealistic. There will be those who will step up, those with strong character and ideals but its limited what they can do.

So basically if the crises is only moderate, the situation will not be bad and survivable. But in a severe and/or prolong crises, where those in need far exceed the resources of those who are generous and idealistic, we are finished.

It is because we have been lucky to have certain advantages like rich resources and productive tolerant minority that we have been able to be exploited by BN/UMNO in its divide and rule policy. Those advantages are not perpetual without reinvestment and proper management. Granted its still many years before a crises becomes imminent but its also not another 50 years as BN/UMNO is proposing.

So on this merdeka day, we have to ask ourselves, how much more prodigal do we want to be before we decide its time to take responsibility for the future of our children?

119. #119 by lovemalaysia on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 9:38 am

what is the Merdeka about? while Rakyat being divided into Bumi and Non Bumi, you see what UMNO and Mara principal did? they are protesting and seems like if open 10% to non bumi, the Malay will be threatened, the thinking of such pessimistic can become a principal of higher education institute? if could not fight with non bumi in Malaysia, when u will grown and to fight with the rest in the world? only 10% also scared, what type of world top listed university to have? they have all races from all countries, and they are listed top in the world because of that. Chinese is not threatening the country but to contirbute, what kind of attitude of that? if saying that, why chinese or Indian need to fulfill quota in unversity, 30% shares to bumi in company, hv to be bumi company to get govt project? sikh!

120. #120 by Jimm on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 10:24 am

UMNO at now worrying about their power struggle with DSAI, do you all think that they are really serving Malaysian andthe country ???
    Fat hope ????
    They even dare to use their Holy Quran as weapon to bring down their same faith followers and challenge them to do the same to the world.
    Frog brains UMNO leaders .. you all have just waken your our faith believers about the real intention of you all in holding on to power.
    RM2.55 will be the unlucky number that brings all of you down including your cronies and family members ..
    We will use the subsidies to build a bigger prison to house all of you there…
    Musa Aman have plenty of ill-gotten land that we will engaged contractor from Class F to build.

121. #121 by blablowbla on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 3:07 pm

tajuddin of salak is an dumpest beast,talking about china,it has 1.3 billion population,and,56 type of ethnic groups,and still be able to live in peace n harmony!(except for some extremist monks frm tibet and extremist muslims frm sinjiang)

u BN go to the so called communist country to learn frm them!stupid ediots!!!!!!!!!!

taliking about “ketuanan melayu’,i cant see any of the malays qualified into the preliminary round of Olympic for the events such as wrestling,boxing,taekwando,judo,…………maybe thy are more expert in playing “wayang-kulit”!

rily pathetic!only know how to shout,saya pun bolehlah!

122. #122 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 7:31 pm

Budget to focus on the people – The Star, Sunday August 24, 2008

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad said – The Budget 2009 is likely to concentrate on easing the burden of rising inflation and on improving facilities for the people. “I feel the phase of focusing on the building of roads and bridges is over. We don’t need that many more roads. “Now, the focus will probably be on managing the facilities to ensure the benefits reach the rakyat.” The benefits could even come in the form of an improved public transportation system.

Easing the burden; doesn’t mean preventing inflation. Looks like they are going to let inflation take its course.

An improved transportation system will never become a reality no matter how much they spend. It has always been a case of having improvements done too late; a problem of lack of foresight.

Finally who the hell is he to be dictating how the government spends our hard earned money. By Budget day, they will no longer have any say!!!!!!!!!!

123. #123 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:10 pm

Parlimentary debate on the Budget will need to effectively weed out massive misuse of funds for worthless ideas and mega stupifying pseudo do good projects called the New Economic Policy; the name is a Non Economic Pseudonym as it has a hidden agenda and that agenda is not based on economic fundamentals!!!

Come August 26, Pakatan Rakyat will set this straight once and for all and pursue an effective economic policy, not a pseudo NEP that throws good hard earned money after bad, short-sighted, mega collosal failures, year after year for 51 years.

124. #124 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:22 pm

AAB,
    If you don’t have a clue how to formulate effect economic policies, go and have a consutation with Mr Greespan; and don’t do the silly thing again like MM when he consulted the Pope during the asian financial crisis!

125. #125 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:25 pm

Alan Greenspan:-
    Alan Greenspan (born March 6, 1926 in New York City) is an American economist and was from 1987 to 2006 Chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve of the United States. He currently works as a private advisor, making speeches and providing consulting for firms through his company, Greenspan Associates LLC.

First appointed Fed chairman by President Ronald Reagan in August 1987, he was reappointed at successive four-year intervals until retiring after a record-long tenure on January 31, 2006, at which time he relinquished the chairmanship to Ben Bernanke. Greenspan was lauded for his handling of the Black Monday stock market crash that occurred very shortly after he first became chairman, as well as for his stewardship of the Internet-driven, “dot-com” economic boom of the 1990s.

126. #126 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 8:39 pm

AAB, If you think you can handle this coming budget alone, don’t fool yourself. Your degree in Islamic Studies does not qualify you to go it alone. Alan Greenspan currently works as a private advisor, making speeches and providing consulting for firms through his company, Greenspan Associates LLC. Some of the Permatang Pauh money that is said to be confiscated by the Hong Kong customs amounting to RM216 million would be better spent so that you may learn some new tricks in order that you may heckle the Pakatan Rakyat governing party come the Budget 2009 debate in parliament; albeit as the minority opposition parliamentary representative for Pekan and sitting in the freshly vacated seat of YB Lim Kit Siang, still hot from his presence…….see the picture, so go go go with haste less Alan Greenspan cannot reserve an appointment for you before September 16.

127. #127 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 9:50 pm

Sorry for the addendum:
    albeit as the minority opposition parliamentary representative for Kepala Batas and sitting in the freshly vacated seat of YB Lim Kit Siang, still hot from his presence…….

Kepala Batas .. haha what a name!

128. #128 by alaneth on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 11:06 pm

With the Permatang Pauh by-election,
    With the Olympics ongoing & closing,
    With the political turmoil,
    With the economy slowing down & inflation rising,
    With the KLCI down <1100pts,

I didn’t even know Merdeka day is near…

129. #129 by blablowbla on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:17 am

not many has the mood to celebrate merdeka!

UMNO forever racist,it’s gangs MCA,MIC,GERAKAN,PPP,BERSATU and most of thm,remained silent!

Yes,we know DSAI once being racist,but atleast he changed!UMNO also changed,.but becoming more corrupt and racist!

Najis accusing LGE destroying the state economy by giving a holiday for re-election,but the BN gomen gives 52 day-off of Saturday to the gomen servants is not damaging the economy,what nonsense is that???

yes,merdeka only for the goons,blood-suckers,racists,nincompoops,corrupters,cronies,and the BN’s associates!

130. #130 by ktteokt on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 9:46 am

I would be very ashamed of myself, not to mention celebrate, if my “child” cannot even “stand up on his own feet” at 51!!!

131. #131 by Mr Tan. on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:17 am

Yes! there is no reason to celebrate Malaysian Unity, as UMNO has failed to unite all Malaysian for the past 51 years.
    All they talk about are Malay unity and Malay rights, UMNO is the only culprit behind the racist issue, their tactics of special rights of Malays to woo for support is not working anymore, people wanted true unity without bribes , racist.
    This UMNO bunch is really insulting the Islam, Islam do not bully other races just to be superior, they are really sinful for the rest of their lives as they have made used of their own religion to woo for support for the past 51 years.
    Let’s us talk about developing the country as Malaysians and not as Muslim, Chinese or Indians. What religion you believe in does not develop the country, it is how everyone contribute their knowledge and work that develops a country.
    UMNO is bringing the country down as they have no direction at all to develop the country other then their religion and their rights where it is the main cause of National disunity.

132. #132 by One4All4One on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:30 pm

Merdeka!, Merdeka!, Merdeka!.

The clarion call that every Malaysian can relate to.

But in the current political, social, and economic scenarios, how many of us are in the mood to celebrate?

Respect – we do have for our beloved nation.
    Love – we do have for our beloved nation.
    But what about hope?

What is in store for the rakyat? For the laymen who are struggling to make ends meet? The “high and mighty” have no worries come what may – they have contracts and businesses that can take care of them and their cronies and connections for generations to come; they have unending access to whatever you can name.

For the wage earners, for the uncles and aunties, for the petty traders, for the displaced, for the farm workers, for the general labourers, for the factory workers, for the rank and file of uniformed forces, for the middle income groups, for the poor city dwellers, what is in store for them?

Income levels in Malaysia is not in tandem with the country’s economic achievements. The board and management have their remunerations and benefits far, far above the lower rung staff. They get to enjoy the unthinkable, while the workers struggle to make ends meet. Something is not quite right here. “Do more – earn less, do less earn more” seems to be the order of the day.

Can’t income levels be adjusted to a fairer and more equitable level? For the amount of time and effort spent on their jobs, Malaysians workers do deserve more. Even as companies continue to report higher turnover and profits, only the the management segments seem to be getting the lion’s share of disbursements. The peanuts go to the workers who slog to improve on productivity and efficiency.

Merdeka, merdeka, merdeka!

A large segment of the rakyat wished that they would be “merdeka” enough so that they could afford to enjoy some little luxuries, such a taking their families on short local holidays, or even just an evening out to enjoy a decent meal in a modest restaurant. But alas, it is remains just a wish for many.

The ordinary folks just do not care much about what the leaders of political leaders or the little napoleons do or say in “ceramah” after “ceramah”. The mudslinging and badmouthing and politicking cannot bring food to their tables. In fact that have become much of a nuisance to them. What they want are opportunities to work and earn their daily bread an butter.

What happens after an election? Before the election and during campaigns, the so-called leaders can promise the sky, or can be seen moving around to preach their stuff. A little of this and that are dished out to pacify the electorate to win their votes. But what happens after the election and during normal days? Not a soul of those who are so hard at work making their campaign rounds could be found or seen. The losers are always the rakyat.

The rakyat truly need “merdeka”. But how do they go about obtaining it when it remains so elusive?

Patriotism comes from the heart. We can love the country all we could. But it is the duty of elected leaders to have the commitment and integrity to make it make it easier for the rakyat to come forward to show their hearts’ content.

They could then afford to fly the Jalur Gemilang and to brighten up their homes to celebrate the nation’s birthday.

133. #133 by HJ Angus on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:39 pm

Alan Greenspan’s promoter here?

AG did not do much to solve the USA’s basic economic problem:
    The Americans are consuming more than they produce thereby creating disruption in the ecology.

And the government encourages them to do that by borrowing.
    Basically all the future generations will have to pay for this wanton consumption.

134. #134 by One4All4One on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 12:45 pm

oops.. should be:

The ordinary folks just do not care much about what the leaders of political parties or..

135. #135 by boh-liao on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:57 pm

How to celebrate Merdeka? Not even sure the number and date are correct! Is it 51st (from Malaya – why do people from Sabah and Sarawak want to celebrate Malaya’s independence?) or 45th (from Malaysia) Merdeka? Is it 31.8 (Malaya) or 16.9 (Malaysia)?

No wonder we are in such a mess! Even historical events can be twisted!

How to celebrate Merdeka? Now the OCBC ‘pek moh’ is out to cheat voters again. Hey, voters, kena cheated once by OCBC ‘pek moh’ on 308 is already bad and shameful enough; don’t lah, kena conned again the second time!

OCBC ‘pek moh’ claimed to think like Chinese (OK, granted he speaks Hokkien and Mandarin) and to have Chinese and Penang in his big heart, and to be a honest person too!

In reality, OCBC ‘pek moh’ is just the opposite: he is true blue Umno racist (check out what he did after 308) who championed the interests of Umnoputras and demanded the Federal government to punish Penang. Arif Shah Omar Shah knowingly enrolled as a PhD candidate with Edison University of Technology as a short-cut to buy a PhD degree, to have the title of a Dr to siok himself and to fool the gullible! Arif Shah Omar Shah pandai pian ciak! And this is the kind of State Assemblyman we have and aiming to be an MP as well!

How to celebrate Merdeka? Wear balck armband lah!

136. #136 by cheng on on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 6:13 pm

PP voters, don’t put a “cross” bside bn candidate’s name, the “cross” look like a christian symbol, haram to bn!

137. #137 by One4All4One on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:45 pm

The PP by-election this coming August 26 2008 will indeed be a watershed in Malaysian history. It will be remembered as the point where Malaysians of all ethnic and religious backgrounds made a bold and definitive decision to move forward to bury their differences and to be identified as MALAYSIANS. Except, of course, for those die-hard who still cling desperately unto the old school of thought for reasons known only to themselves. Perhaps it is time to exorcise the ghosts of yesteryears and begin a new leaf where we can catch up from where we step off.

Let’s set a new benchmark for the country. Let’s begin anew. Let’s chart the path for the nation where all will have a place under the bright Malaysian sun.

In the very first place, there should not have been enmity, suspicion, hatred, ill-will, and all that are negative between one another. To harbour such sentiments is not only unhealthy, it also negates everything that the nation has achieved in its 50 years of existence. Not to mention also all the good things and relation building that had happened way before ‘merdeka’. Certainly our fore-fathers would not have wished for such disastrous and unthinkable future.

The nation is blessed with abundance of resources and spirited individuals which could contribute toward prosperity. We pride ourselves as being a melting-pot of diverse people with their very own rich past and cultures. We even tagged the nation as being “Truly Asia”. Sloganeering alone would not bring forth the desired results. Anything short of honesty and true hard work would not move the nation forward. It is the concerted effort by all quarters, irrespective of who they are, as long as they are willing players, partners and contributors, which can make a difference to the progress and development of the country.

To those who are sincere in wanting the nation to move forward from here, there is no room for unfounded doubts and suspicion about everyone else. There must a common desire to cooperate with one another to contribute towards nation building. There must be a sense of brotherhood. Differences and variations are to be expected, just as in any diverse situations. Mutual respect and recognition should be ever present to bind the people as one. With that unity would not be difficult to achieve.

Let’s “buang yang keroh, ambil yang jernih” and move forward from here. Let the 51st year be the point where our nation forget its ills and endeavour to get healthy again.

God bless Malaysia.

138. #138 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 7:51 pm

We have no future if we dont compete ourself, as i see we had future from now on, its just the beginning of the end.
    Thank you PM Badawi for that, his trying defused Era Mahathir but sadly he cant control some retarded pm’s.

UNITE MALAYSIA “DSAI” we have Faith in You and PKR.
    Crush those Corrupted/Racism goofy pm outta Malaysia!

Bless You!

139. #139 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 11:16 pm

It is the UMNO Putras who are really the villains not the other Malays. The UMNO Putras have been terrifying & frightening the Malays for 50 years.
    They crippled the minds, soul & brains of Malays & made the non-Malays the bogeyman. This brainwashing has been their greatest evil inflicted on Malays.
    The truth is revealed now. The UMNO frausters & charlatans have no place in this country.

140. #140 by AhPek on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 1:33 am

‘Alan Greenspan’s promoter here?’ HJ Angus.

Your bewilderment is understandable.You see this ‘syiok sendiri’ syndrome is prevalent here for which the mere mention of somebody from America would seem to sound erudite although one doesn’t really know what that person really does.In fact Alan Greenspan is beginning to be viewed by more and more people as a maverick!

141. #141 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 - 8:59 pm

If Cina balik China and India balik India, who is there left to bring back the “SILVER” from the Olympics??????