MARA is progress not fascism

by Azly Rahman

Mara means “to advance (forward)”. It is the opposite of “retreat” and the declaration of defeat. It does not mean Undur.

Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) must live up to its name. So must its younger brother Maktab Rendah Sains MARA. It is in the interest of the public to suggest good ideas for reform – and to advance.

In my lifetime I have been affiliated with both organisations. I taught in the former institution and I was schooled in the latter. Whether a product of historical accident or not, I am proud of my experiences in both. There is a reason for things to happen. I came from a poor family and was given the chance to have an education I wish many more Malaysians, my parents included.

But I wish to share my view on this troubling phenomenon that is plaguing a certain segment of the Malays. My argument will be largely linguistic.

What is the Malay view of the recent protest of UiTM student – of those young “men-in-black” whose are mourning and calling for the death of reason and rationality and for critical sensibility?

I think Malays in general are angry at the protesters. I think they are embarrassed that those few thousands of Malay students were displaying their ignorance of what Universiti Mara means.

While other universities have advanced (sudah mara ke hadapan) and are proud that they are embracing diversity and sharing resources for the benefit of deserving children of all races, those protesting UiTM students are experiencing the opposite.

They are yelling with pride the word “defeat” and “retreat”. Instead of Ayuh Mara they are actually saying Jom Undur. While thinking needs to advance, these students are saying that they need to digress (Ayuh… mari mundur ke belakang). Mundur is the derivative word.

Should a university embody the philosophy of mundur rather than mara? Should it even be proud of being and embodiment of that philosophy? I doubt it. Only a misguided leader will be proud of being a guide to ‘defeat and retreat’ while the world around ‘advances’ and moves.

But these students are not entirely at fault. It is the ideology and perpetrators of the ideology of undur itself that’s at fault. It is the leaders implementing the retrogressive ideology that are at fault.

It is the systematic indoctrination programme of ketuanan Melayu run over the decades that are advancing this UiTM philosophy of retreat.

It is an overdose of the work of government-sponsored Biro Tata Negara (BTN) that is making the mass retreat and defeat possible. It is the work of Malay-dominated agencies like these that are imprisoning the minds of the Malays. This is an anti-Malay-progress establishment that is using deformed arguments on race and ethnicity to pursue an educational ideology that has gone bankrupt.

Docile Malay intended

This is an anti-Malaysian mode of thinking that is still allowed to shackle the mind of the Malays. The idea is simple: make the Malay mind docile and afraid to think and you will divide and conquer them.

UiTM students need to instead protest against the continuing oppression they are experiencing through the work of their own institution and through BTN. They should demand that multiculturalism instead of blind nationalism be made the foundation of their college experience. UiTM students are more intelligent than those who protested against the suggestion.

In the 1980s UiTM’s (then ITM) orientation programme used to be conducted using the tactics of sheer humiliation and stupidity; meant to stupefy the young, bright Malay minds.

The ROTU (Reserve Officers Training Unit then) was part of the week-long organisers of the orientation to create an awareness of how ITM students must learn to live in a tough and challenging environment.

Senior students would prey upon the incoming freshmen to make them ‘tough’ through humiliation – name-calling, physical threats, psychological abuse, etc. Minggu Orientasi (Orientation Week) is a week for the seniors to have control over the mind of the Malays; oftentimes in a gangsterish way.

Of course, it is also the time for the senior boys to show toughness to the young girls in this ‘big brother-little sister’ game of tough love. Many of them fell involved with each other in this ‘Master-Slave’ relationship. Even senior girls prey upon young boys, acting rough and tough on them. Pathetic paternalistic philosophy in progress.

At times the freshmen would be roughened up by students in army boots and told to just follow instructions if they are to survive in ITM. They will be screamed at for trying to speak up. This is the ideology of ketuanan Melayu at work; how to enslave the mind of the young Malays and continue to do so through the hidden curriculum designed by those who wish to have control over the mind of the bright young and eager-to-learn Malays.

Instead of teaching the in-coming students how to take good notes, listen to lectures, speak up in public, pay extra attention to English Language, and be open to new ideas, respect each other, and learn from other cultures, the Malay students are subjected to humiliation in a place that called itself a university.

Retrogressive ideologies

In MRSM as well, a predominantly Malay-elite secondary institution for the best and brightest young Malays, similar things have been happening since the 1980s as well. Kursus Kesedaran (Self Awareness Courses) are conducted to instill the questionable idea of Ketuanan Melayu, making the children afraid of “Malaysian boogeymen and boogeywomen” and their own shadows.

Open-mindedness is rarely encouraged and students take control over each others’ lives transplanting retrogressive ideologies into each other’s head, with the help of ultra-nationalist and anti-multiculturalist teachers.

Even if these children survive the ideological ordeal and experience ‘tough love’ and go on to get their degrees from top American and British universities, they will still be Malays with a shallow understanding of multiculturalism or become more sophisticated Malays with more complex arguments on Ketuanan Melayu.

They will then design policies to affect the needed sustenance of ideology in order to protect the interests of the few. Neo-feudalistic cybernetic Malays are then new creation of the political-economic ruling class. They run the country and many are now running it down.

As an educator wishing to see Malays progress alongside in peace and prosperity with other races, I call upon us all to put a stop to all forms of indoctrination held especially by the BTN; an organisation that is of no value to the advancement of the Malays they claim to want to liberate.

It should be taken over by progressive Malaysians and replaced with a systematic effort to promote not only racial understanding through teaching respect and deep reflection on the cultures of the peoples of Malaysia, but also teach conflict resolution and mediation through cross-cultural perspectives. All must question the presence of BTN on campuses. All must reject BTN’s programme for indoctrination.

Let us no longer allow any government body of that sort to set foot on our campuses or our schools. As Malaysians we have to demand an end to the further dissemination of racist ideologies.

Open up, not only UiTM and MRSM but also Umno to more cultures. We will have a great celebration of diversity and respect for human dignity in decades to come. I speak as a silent reproduction and capitalised human of both MRSM and UiTM; a product of the human capital revolution of the Mahathir era.

MARA means progress. Malays are now sick of contradictions and doublespeak. They do not wish to Undur. Let us all protest against the stupefication of the Malays. Let us dismantle racist institutions.

1. #1 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:51 am

MARAH

2. #2 by Tulip Crescent on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:06 am

The activities of those guys at Biro Tata Negara (BTN) bear plenty of watching.

I hear tell that they are propagating very partisan views among the senior civil servants, to the extent that the neutrality of the service may well be compromised.

3. #3 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:12 am

Let it be, should not bother most of the middle class non malays as most of them have forgone the very notion of sending their kids to local unis or institutions and most of their hard earned savings are for their kids education overseas and thereafter they encourage their kids to stay on and establish themselves there on grounds that the very country they were born in treats them as second class citizens in obtaining an education and joining the workforce.

4. #4 by taiking on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:28 am

Twenty five years ago when I was just an undergrad in singapore Lee Kuan Yew remarked that singapore could not afford to stand still because in the fast moving world standing still means falling behind.

How true and as expected how correct the old man was. So for one to make a conscious and deliberate decision to retreat is suicidal. Nothing less than that.

Since then the world has become smaller. Pizza and pasta are no longer a novelty in this part of the world. Nevermind if the students could not open their eyes and see the world for themselves, UMNO should really take lead to change things for them.

But UMNO has failed them by advocating retreat as Azly has correctly observed.

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:41 am

With due respect to Dr. Rahman, when he gets into his wishing act, I know its a pipe dream.

What is going on in UiTM is not fascism exactly, its more military autocracy – its closer to Burma and Cuba than it is Nazi Germany.

If what is going on in UiTM was jut fascism, its them against the world, sooner or later it will collapse and we just have to wait it out. Its more a military complex because its supported by much more than just UiTM on a finite amount of resources and audience and incapable of growing beyond a certain level before it collapse. What is going on in UiTM is a larger complex of the govt that include UMNO politicians and even Biro Tata Negara of the PM dept.

No freaking way UiTM can be changed without BN govt changing first…

6. #6 by limkamput on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:52 am

I think the demonstrations by the students are orchestrated. The biggest culprits are the bankrupt leaders who will resort to any mean available to stay in power. They will do whatever it takes to rejuvenate that racist support that they once used so successfully.

Condemn not the students. It is the leaders and the state apparatuses.

Please understand, the non Malays are crying out for a more inclusive Malaysia. It is not about a few university places. It is about who we are as people of this country. It is about inculcating cosmopolitanism and tolerance. It is so sad to see so many of our young minds being poisoned for the sake of power and positions of a few.

Tan Sri Khalid is a true national leader and a Malay leader. He wants to see the mentality changed among the Malays. It is for the survival of this nation. If this country is to progress and achieve greatness, the Malays must be efficient and dynamic. The non Malays as a percentage to total population is dropping fast. Many of the brighter ones are migrating. What hope do we have if we continue to see parochialism and backwardness among the biggest population group of this country?

7. #7 by limkamput on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:59 am

BigJoe, do you know the difference between “its” and “it’s”? It is a torture to read your posting sometimes.

8. #8 by hadi on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 10:08 am

What do you aspect when you have that kind of VC running the institution.You give peanuts you get monkeys anyway. As I have stated before if you run thru the lists of people running the organization in this country than you know la YB Kit. Majority of them are of 3rd division team and below. I wonder how they were selected only GOD knows. Too much being compromise and yet we want to boast that we are the best. I think this morning Teh Tarik will make me more comfortable and cool. So sad….. been in MARA and been in BTN and both are places where dreamers wish a bad dream for MALAYSIA KU.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 10:16 am

What are the academic credentials or landmark achievements of the VC of UiTM? How many academic papers have he authored in refereed journals? How many postgraduate students had he personally mentored and gradauted? Or is he just an administrator and a puppet of the BN?

10. #10 by NewDAP on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:43 am

UiTM aka University Mundur Malaysia

11. #11 by taiking on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:53 am

U i T M = University ini Tetap Mundur.

And it is hardly odd to see that the Mundur status is actually a deliberate political design.

My sympathy goes out to all students of UiTM. And when I see them demonstrate, my sympathy furns into tears.

Wake up you silly things. Wake up. All of you. UMNO is deceiving you people.

12. #12 by cheng on on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:02 pm

Can bet, for the next 7 years or so, for any non bumi, UiTM will be the last choice, even if it take non bumi. now.

So, don’t bother lah, let it be a 100% bumi there til 2020, n see how good it become?

13. #13 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:19 pm

When BN decided to turn the national Universities into commodity production units, out goes quality and accountability! In particular, UiTM has been lowering the quality of its education year by year over the last generation. When its diploma graduates failed to pass another international diploma examination, the SO_CALLED BRAINS will demand recognition by the international bodies, otherwisethe Gomen will not recognise that particular diploma!!
    If you go through the syllabus drawn up for the course, it looks very impressive but it is only syllabus; the actual teaching content is another matter. It is obvious that the syllabus is drawn up with extended time, so that the lecturers will be paid for the time recorded! The only measure is the time allocated to the course, but the products or the graduates is another matter altogether!!
    So basically, one should not be surprised by the behaviours of students from such institutions!! They have nothing to offer to the society! Maybe DEMONSTRATIONS!!

14. #14 by max2811 on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:22 pm

I don’t care or bother about the protests. But I do mind the UMNO leaders are willing to create trouble thru racism and bigotry. Their willingness to use youths and young adults and poison their minds with dirty and racist politics is very dangerous and distasteful.

For the country to progress, UMNO has to go. So does TDM and his family who has packed and getting ready to go on exile just in case what DSAI has been claiming about forming the next Gov comes trhough.

Msia is going down very fast. Our markets are down. Inflation is up. I haven’t seen or read any real progress for the past year.

I worry if my next pay check will be in the bank(I’m a teacher). I worry if I will have my pension. By the rate UMNO/BN has been plunging on the nation’s coffers, the Gov of the day will have to declare bankrupt.

15. #15 by Emily Pratt on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 12:59 pm

UiTM is excellent for producing “Jaguh Kampung”.

Put these so called “Hero” protester in the real world and they will go mush like tofu.

Ask them to go for interview with MNC for executive position and what do you get… Embarrassment for the IPTA itself.

UiTM: Truly Local, Truly sigh…. I give up.

EP

16. #16 by StevePCH on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 1:43 pm

MARA – in certain language (sanskrit or pali ) literary means DEVIL, but no it’s not in the name but those top management Ameno, BTN and VC. The students are just victims of politics.

Past, now and future if the policy remains.
    What is so great about UiTM other than the last bastion of racism ?

Emily, the Jaguh Kampung now is not from UiTM but rather UPSI , UCSI, UTP etc. UiTM grads are still outcast for the moment. Just Kampung Grads. some GRADS need to work as supermarket cashier , go back kampung , drug couriers , massaeurs , etc.

17. #17 by mybangsamalaysia on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 1:45 pm

UiTM Melayu punya? UiTM Bumiputra punya?

I am very sad to see and hear this statement, worst it is coming from students themselves. What kind of education has UiTM cultivated, i wonder….. shame on you UiTM.

18. #18 by Adolf_Napoleon on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 2:26 pm

DEAR YB & ALL

Seriously I quite enjoying to see the UiTM student protesting
    and the Non-Bumi are all doing the right thing just to remain silent
    and observe. They think they are the Cream of the Cream and
    a job waiting for them after they graduate. And that their degrees
    or qualification will be well sought after internationally.

Let them continue to think that the Malay Supremacy will bring them far.
    Let them continue to think that the Special Right will take care of their
    future and they dont have to work for it.

We as the Non-Bumi, must INSTEAD continue to support the Malaysia
    Boleh concept. We are wiser now, we will NOT dispute in anyway BUT
    to support the Ketuanan Melayu and the Special Rights.

I hope to live to the date and see……….how they will distribute this
    “Special Right” equally to all Bumis and how they will appease those
    Bumis that they failed to help. But that time when they practice Meritrocracy will be too late.

19. #19 by Toyol on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 2:43 pm

If such students can demonstrate their immaturity, how can they contribute to your stakeholders wealth. If they are such racists, do you want them to meet your international clients. If they graduate with a degree, please check the individual papers, don’t be surprised to find half of the subjects irrelevant to their degrees! Do you seriously want to employ them?

Its unfortunate that the majority of the students have to bear the burden of the minority. Its up to them to make a change or suffer the consequences.

20. #20 by Captain on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 3:17 pm

The suggestion of giving or rather adding another 10% seats to non-malays is extremely wise idea. Regretfully, some people have their brains at their knees. So they automatically go demonstrating without thinking what is long term benefits to them.

I am still in shock seeing Noraini, the Puteri leader who spoke on TV prime news saying Tan Sri Khalid, MB Selangor is ‘KURANG AJAR’ for suggesting the 10% thing. I cannot overcome my grief remembering her facial expression when uttered these words. It was awful, dreadful and atrocious.

My heart bleeds everytime the scene playbacks in my mind. SHE WAS SO VERY VERY WICKED.

So very unlike malay. She is a the one who was kurang ajar. He parents did not teach her manners. She is so unbecoming for a Deputy Minister. If I were an Islamic Hadhari exponent, I would sack her immediately.

She must come from very inquitious family. First, she is talking about a person who is old enough to be her father. Second, he is a Tan Sri, far greater than her Datukship. Next he is a Menteri Besar and she just a Deputy Minister. So very arrogant.

Thats why UMNO must never be given any chance. They are rearing gangsters and nefarious personalities. They must be eliminated from the World.

21. #21 by cancan on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:10 pm

The Umnoputras are living in a state of constant fear and as such,they will never ever progress.

These protesters are an insult to the intelligence of the true Malays.

I have many Malays friends who are equally hardworking and intelligent than other races.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

22. #22 by Bobster on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:25 pm

UNMO must GO…

They more they trying to stir shit … the more shit will be thrown back at them.

People are getting smarter … UNMO masih MUNDOL … Go back to jurassic age.

23. #23 by Malaysian Always on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:26 pm

Reading Malaysian news nowadays brings me nothing but heartache and tears. What happened to a country that held so much promise, hope and potential?

As a Malaysian who has moved abroad for work, it is a task everyday defending our country from criticisms by foreigners who read our news. The only incentive for moving venturing beyond Malaysian shores is money, my heart and soul still remains with Malaysia.

But yet, we, the non-bumis, are treated as though we don’t belong. What is it that we have done? Have we condemned this country? Have we robbed the bumis of their rights and interest? It is terrifying to watch how our majority fellow countrymen have been so grossly misguided to formulate the perception that we, Malaysians, albeit of a different race, but still Malaysian in all sense of the word, are the enemies. We are friends, we are allies, we are brothers and sisters who would stand up and die for the country if the need arises!

The world in its magnitude (USA excluded) is promoting world peace and unity. And yet our tiny country can’t even grasp the concept of unity, harmony and tolerance within our own country, despite the relative peace we enjoy!

Therefore, I wish to tell all Malaysians now what I always tell these foreigners I work with: BN does not represent Malaysia! Malaysia is still a wonderful country that holds all the hope, potential, warmth and beauty that warrants the envy of every other country in the world! Remove BN, and we will rid ourselves of the one and only menace that has plagued the country for 50 years! Long Live Malaysia!

24. #24 by badak on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:35 pm

All this UITM bruhaha ,Don,t blame all Malays there are a lot of hard working Malays who are looking beyond their race.This Malays are ashame on how UMNO are using them for their political survival.
    Its utter rubbish that the MALAYS need UMNO TO SURVIVE.It is the other way round.Its UMNO who needs the Malays to survive.
    It is this dinosaurs in UMNO who refuse to give the youngers members to climb the ladder. Just take a look at the way PAK LAH is holding on to his seat.His plans had stop anyone who want to challeng him.Even wanita had followed his plan ….Maluuuuu lah

25. #25 by MPSPK on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:36 pm

limkamput Says:

I think the demonstrations by the students are orchestrated. The biggest culprits are the bankrupt leaders who will resort to any mean available to stay in power. They will do whatever it takes to rejuvenate that racist support that they once used so successfully.

Condemn not the students. It is the leaders and the state apparatuses.

Lim, you are definitely right… they were orchestrated. All campuses received a circular (which was not circulated to all staff) ordering to organize demo by students. These students know nothing.

The infamous VC back in January publicly declared to staff in one particular campus at an event that he might be a candidate for PRU12…. However he was not chosen..

Thus, the statement given by MB Selangor gave him an opportunity to shine…. He is eyeing a candidature for PRU13!!

He is an “academician” with political agenda!!!!

26. #26 by taiking on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 6:57 pm

Demo by students over an issue raised by politicians.

Edging dangerously close to the prohibited arena of politics arent they?

In fact they might be well within the arena.

Shouldnt the UMNO garment do something?

The demo is illegal and the students appears to have breached some universities and colleges act havent they?

27. #27 by badak on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:40 pm

Rocker Lavigne,s concert Scrapped.Reason bad influnce .We want only good role model.s.Pas youth even ban our own female artise from performing.
    Is Malaysia going the way of the TALIBAN.Heyyyy since we going in that direction ..
    1. Lets ban all women from driving .We will have less traffic jams.
    2.Stop women leaving the house after 7 PM.less rape cases
    3.Stop women from studying.
    4.All TV programs with women in it be ban.
    If you guys got more suggestion write to PAS or the UMNO led BN GOVERMENT they will be happy to hear from you.
    I AM JUST FED UP WITH THIS “” HOLIER THEN THOU “” attitude of this bigots.

28. #28 by Loyal Malaysian on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 8:54 pm

Perhaps under a new federal government, DR Azly’s vision will be realised.
    It is this manner of discrimination that has kept the UMNOputras in power.

29. #29 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 9:26 pm

How mara can you be if you only compete with your own kind but cannot with others ?

30. #30 by allen_msia on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:10 pm

No wonder UITM standing is dropping faster than Saiful’s pants !

31. #31 by badak on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:11 pm

Most malays are FED UP with the title “” JAGUR KAMPUNG””.Most MALAYS want to compete with the Chiness and Indians on a level playing field.
    But UMNO is the one who is holding them back.As far as UMNO is concern “” Politically They Will Always Be JAGUR KAMPUNG “”
    51 years and we are still talking about races.When are we going to grow up.How far down the line must we go before we see each other as Malaysians.
    As long as UMNO is around this can never happen.As far as men on the streets are concern UMNO is the one who are being very racial.Kick UMNO out maybe then we can the ” light at the end of the tunnel “”

32. #32 by cintaaman on Wednesday, 20 August 2008 - 11:21 pm

Why Ko Han ( MP Perak ) raised the keistimewaan bumiputra issue at this critikal time? This will give chance for UMNO to manipulate the issue in the PPauh. May be Ko Han was paid by UMNO to raise the issue so that this will give oppurtinity that pro UMNO.

33. #33 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:34 am

I say let it be!

34. #34 by cina on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 9:51 am

UiTM = University Termundur Malaysia

UiTM produced the most unemployed graduates in Malaysia.

Chinese Schools produced the most unemployed chinese in Malaysia
    Chinese schools produced the most chinese ah long and hawkers in Malaysia.

35. #35 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 3:05 pm

Only the Truth will set the people free!!! Forgive all the UiTM students’ action for they didnt know what they were doing!!! They could not see and know the Truth because they were blinded by the evil ones!!! Pray to true God to set them free, to remove the chain of bondage forever from them and may the true God use them mightily in our country Malaysia and the world!!!

36. #36 by ktteokt on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 4:48 pm

MARA only makes the non-Malays MARAH!!

37. #37 by ChinNA on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 3:02 am

Cina … don’t whack the Chinese schools without facts. Where then is your evidence? Pure fiction is what I say it is.

38. #38 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 3:13 pm

ChinNA,

Please look around you, most of the hawkers and ah long are chinese educated.

Most chinese working and holding high position in the bank and established organisation like Shell, IBM, HP, BHP, Morgan Stanley, HSBC, Citigroup are those english educated chinese.

In malaysia, most of those chinese educated chinese can’t read, write and speak proper english are not employable and most of them ended out become hawker or unemployed.

39. #39 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 3:25 pm

It is reality and fact that only 20% of chinese educated chinese are able to read and write proper english. 80% of them failed to master english and became unemployable.

one in four of those chinese who went to chinese school failed to complete their education and ended up as a school drop-out.
    most of the lower income group of malaysian chinese are those from chinese school.

Most chinese prefered not to accept the reality and pretended that there are no such thing…..maybe due to pro china or hatred towards the malays….

This is the real dilemma of Malaysian Chinese

40. #40 by cina on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 3:31 pm

UiTM agreed to open up 5% intake for foreigners.
    UiTM totally not agreed to open up for malaysian non malays, not even 0.5%.
    They prefer and love foreigners more than malaysian non malays.

41. #41 by Loh on Saturday, 23 August 2008 - 11:45 pm

///But these students are not entirely at fault. It is the ideology and perpetrators of the ideology of undur itself that’s at fault. It is the leaders implementing the retrogressive ideology that are at fault.

It is the systematic indoctrination programme of ketuanan Melayu run over the decades that are advancing this UiTM philosophy of retreat.///

All these are meant to prepare UMNO victory at the ballot boxes. The Malays from the tender age are made to believe that their easy way to life would suffer if they did not continue with UMNO’s racist struggle, and they choose to believe that all non-Malays are their enemies who should be enfeebled at all cost. In the process, they resist change. UMNO national leaders tell them that they are fighting to nurse them forever because they are weak. As beneficiaries, they consider it their duties to play the complementary role to prove that the community is weak. So NEP continues, and with that the nation becomes an endengared species.

The root cause of Malaysia’s sorrow is Article 153 and NEP. Cancer cells fight the body, and they get killed when the body dies. The nation suffers because of racial divide in the country.

42. #42 by lopez on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 6:58 am

There is a generation of educated stupid men in the malay education fraternalty,
    for one is that knowing that you need internationally acclaimed standards to be called a UNIVERSITY, why the those in the board approves and advocates an institution which is structurally unsound to accept a University undertone.
    Worst case, even ealrlier gra-duit can and are entitled university standings.
    Why more lies and miseducation do you need, to believe you are and only get disillusioned when one enters the private sector.
    And why private institition of the same classification but much less equipped and disadvantaged do not gets such treatment and support …all these years.

So stop bright lighting the failures of our money which we must contribute but not benefit and volley sympathy and support.
    if it is a kindergarden let it be one and not play with names, you a fooling a crowd who are now in the campus who might just beleive you.

43. #43 by lopez on Sunday, 24 August 2008 - 7:31 am

If word comes around that you are a fanatic you better believe it, you are lying yourself and your friends kids future.

You are accessory to the creation of a stupid population of bolihland, you are wasting everybody time and money,

Your garduates are light years away from graduates who return from Petronas scholarships.

Go see the profile of the GLC, and the board of directors too.

These arrogant nkp have not even dirtied their hands before and can afford to own and drive bmw and merz at a young age.
    Live in big houses in high ends of the nation.

Fly here and there, golf here and there, and your grad rushing in to try become their pets.

44. #44 by zheng on Monday, 25 August 2008 - 5:38 pm

Im quite agreed with one of the commentor…Cheng on’s comment. Let the UITM 100% for malay. And let all their Uitm graduated and jobless. Poor quality’s certificate is just like toilet paper. Let them study there and graduated with toilet paper certificates…