PM Abdullah abdicating from good governance

By Dr. Chen Man Hin

PM ABDULLAH SHOULD NOT ABDICATE FROM HIS DUTIES OF GOOD GOVERNANCE – REVOKE THE SODOMY II CONSPIRACY IMMEDIATELY AND INSTEAD LEAD THE COUNTRY TO UNITY, PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY

MARCH 8TH – A DEFINING DAY FOR NEW MALAYSIA, A DAY OF GRIEF AND BLOW FOR BARISAN NASIONAL AND UMNO.

The latest Merdeka Center Research report found that only 28 percent of registered voters polled in July felt encouraged by the country’s direction, a severe fall from 68% in late February.

Briefly, the causes for this rapid loss of confidence in the present Barisan government, are outlined below.

UMNO SHOCK DEFEAT ON MARCH 8TH

The prime minister was deeply upset by the poor performance of Barisan Nasional at the elections, when Barisan lost its two-thirds majority in parliament and only obtained 52% of the popular vote.

It was a body blow for Umno, causing it to be embroiled in self recrimination and loss of morale.

The PM was so upset by the loss and the resulting turmoil in Umno that he forgot his duties as head of government, which was to govern and bring development for the country.

Mired by factional splits, the Umno leadership could not decide on the reforms necessary to rejuvenate Umno – the key problem of whether to adopt a global policy of meritocracy, multiracialism or to revert back to old ways of ketuanan melayu and racial economics with its corruption, cronyism and medieval politics.

Hence, the country is bogged down and unable to improve in political, economic and social development, causing much social tension and frustration.

THE RISE OF ANWAR IBRAHIM

The other factor causing Abdullah’s prevarication and abdication of national responsibilities is the resurrection of ANWAR IBRAHIM, who led a loose coalition of opposition parties – PKR, DAP and PAS to an astounding victory on 08-03-08 by capturing control of five states and 48% of the popular vote.

The three parties quickly formed PAKATAN RAKYAT with a platform based on the winning formula for the general election – democracy, justice, multiracial unity, freedom of religion and transparency.

With 82 seats in parliament, Anwar formulated a plan to take over the government by attracting 30 MPs from Barisan to form a new government.

RATIONALE FOR QUICK TAKEOVER WAS TO CARRY FORWARD THE MOMENTUM FOR CHANGE MANDATED BY THE PEOPLE ON MARCH 8TH

It was necessary to push forward the clock for change, as a wait of four to five years for the next election would mean more grief for the people due to incompetence, corruption and cronyism.

This provoked immediate panic within UMNO, and they reacted without thinking the problem through. instead of accepting Anwar’s challenge with democratic strategies, PM Abdullah took a lesson from former premier Tun Mahathir.

SODOMY 1 CONSPIRACY BY DR MAHATHIR.

In 1998, Tun Mahathir also faced a serious leadership challenge from Anwar and he trumped up a charge of sodomy against ANWAR, who was found guilty and jailed for six years.

SODOMY II CONSPIRACY BY PM ABDULLAH BADAWI

So a conspiracy was concocted – a conspiracy of an accusation of sodomy. the objective was to remove the Anwar threat of taking over the government with his plan to attract at least 30 Barisan MPs to cross over to Pakatan Rakyat.

Unfortunately, the copycat Sodomy II was seen by all to be a conspiracy, and evoked loud protests from the people and from international government leaders.

Famous leaders of the World Bank, IMF and the Canadian prime minister called for the charges against Anwar to be dropped immediately.

So did the Human Rights Watch who commented that the charges of sodomy were trumped up and not true.

So did Washington government leaders like Condoleeza Rice, US Secretary of State.

So did critics from home who said that 90% of the people know that the sodomy charges were false.

So did the reputable Merdeka Research Centre which found that a poll taken from registered voters showed that only 11% felt that the sodomy charges were true while 90% indicated that the accusations were trumped up – not genuine.

It would appear that the whole government machinery – cabinet, judiciary, attorney general chambers, the police, civil administration, medical hospital and the media were used to promote Sodomy II conspiracy in order to ‘fix’ Anwar and put him in jail.

The political wrangling within UMNO and the focus on neutralising Anwar have brought much negative effects.

Political unrest, economic downturn, inflation, slowdown of economy in all sectors and suffering of the common people have occurred because the prime minister and the Barisan have dithered and have no positive policies and strategies to bring about changes for the betterment of the people.

The DAP and PR want the Prime Minister to wake up and stop the wrangling and turmoil within UMNO and concentrate on new strategies and solutions for a sufferring people.

The DAP and PR also demand that the conspiracy to entrap Anwar on sodomy charges to cease immediately, as there is not a shred of evidence to support the charges. The Hospital Puswari medical report stated emphatically that there was no evidence of sodomy – no anal injury, no mention of semen stains.

We the people and PR urge the PM to fulfill his responsibilities to govern well, reform UMNO and cease the sodomy II conspiracy against Anwar immediately.

1. #1 by Godfather on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 8:27 am

Badawi never governed from Day One, and he will never ever govern. Some unseen hands are governing the country, and they are really screwing it up.

These unseen hands “gave” Badawi the Finance Ministry and the Home Ministry during his first term. Their plan was simple: use the country’s chequebook to buy political patronage, and use the country’s jails and prosecutory organs to keep opposition at bay.

2. #2 by Godfather on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 8:28 am

Badawi never governed from Day One, and he will never ever govern. Some unseen hands are governing the country, and they are really scr*wing it up.

These unseen hands “gave” Badawi the Finance Ministry and the Home Ministry during his first term. Their plan was simple: use the country’s chequebook to buy political patronage, and use the country’s jails and prosecutory organs to keep opposition at bay

3. #3 by Godfather on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 8:34 am

Oxford University has obviously taught some people in the use of the “stick and carrot” approach to governance.

4. #4 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 8:36 am

Very well said, Dr Chen!

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 8:51 am

The man is a freaking idiot – when asked about the case, he said he told the prosecutor to prosecute if they have proof otherwise drop it, grinning with a silly smile as he says it.

Have no one coached him about involuntary response?????

The man idea is clearly plausible deniability. This thing has gone way beyond just simply about a case – its about his administration and reform. This thing has to be won with high standards or its not worth prosecuting – just the same kind of standards that globalization and technology changes is bringing to all of us now and the future.

Look what happen when he lets his SIL waste billions over the last few years, the lastest being Maybanks 500mil lost on a stupid deal… Has he learned nothing about abrogating to wrong people???

6. #6 by laufuzhe28 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:09 am

Please read the posting in the following site;
    http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/opinions/comments/former_minister_wins_uncivil_war.html
    The P.M. should take a greater interest in taking punitive action against those responsible for the MRR2 repairs than to be so involved in commenting on Anwar’s sodomy charge.
    The above link gives it all.
    I quote below part of the report by Halcrow Consulting Ltd .

‘The solution adopted by the Works Ministry to repair the original cracks that appeared on the Middle Ring Road II (MRR2) flyover in Kepong on Aug 9, 2004 was “not recommended” by Halcrow Consulting Ltd.

“I would like to emphasise that although Halcrow conducted detailed investigations into the original cause of the cracks, the government went against our advice not to use pre-stressed carbon fibre to strengthen the pillar heads because of its limited ductility (capacity to deform before fracture),” Halcrow engineer Roger Buckby said.’

7. #7 by laufuzhe28 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:21 am

On MRR2 cracks, please also read the following link.
    http://www.dapmalaysia.org/english/2006/marc06/lks/lks3843.htm

8. #8 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:27 am

Time again to play the bogey game
    To pick on the duck considered lame
    To prevent it from achieving any fame
    By taking over the seat left vacant by dame

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 070808
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Thu. 7th Aug. 2008.

9. #9 by oknyua on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:36 am

Abdicating from good governance, Dr Chen?

I have problem with the word “governance” because neither BAD or GOOD is present in Abdullah’s administration. He is what YB Lim Kit Siang says “somnambulism,” or sleep-walking.

That is explained by the numerous “fire-fighting” eposodes that expode each month.

10. #10 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:48 am

Thank You Dr Chen. We need man with conscience to speak up. Wonder why those in BN are keeping quiet.

11. #11 by smeagroo on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:55 am

The PM and his goons of scumbags have gone too deep into the abyss of darkness to be able to see any light on both ends.

Asking them to do the right thing now is like asking them to hang themselves with ropes to spare!

Save ur breathe!

12. #12 by Elwin Heng on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 9:59 am

No offensive.
    How many percentage you give to ‘blue’?
    What’s your answer (rate%)? You know the answer, don’t you!

In a corporate, good in leadership is highly priority! A good leader will higher rate of bringing victory and profit sharing or beneficial back to team members! Unfortunately, eye-on ‘blue’ administration after ten-of-years, especially to newly or closely years (not mistaken started on 2003), is he/she or his/her members deserve ‘proud’ from public or qualified citizen, or opposite?

(2003-Aug08)Confident to ‘his’ outlook, gentleman or polite or sincerity, then support and vote for his team! What’s the ending (or results)? Talk about benefits or our treatment by them; I/we worried-&-in suffering zone, how about ‘blue’, in comfort zone by traveling or ‘crazy’ shopping or spent such amount$ around the world?

Last but not least, talk about ‘title awards, millionaire, or even billionaire, can easily encounter or found in ‘blue’ team members! Why they are so lucky? You know the answer, don’t you!

To you I not sure, but myself sure regret and disappointed to ‘blue’! Why? Cause I care about my next coming generation, I love my son-&-daughters!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

13. #13 by wanderer on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:41 am

These Umno scums just cannot accept defeat gracefully. They are overgrown thugs of yesteryears!

14. #14 by yhsiew on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:46 am

Human Rights Watch said that Anwar’s previous trials for sodomy and corruption, which landed him in jail for six years until 2004, “raised serious concerns about judicial independence and fairness.”

“Pursuing this case will only undermine the credibility of the police, the prosecutor and the government,” said Adams.

Amnesty International also expressed grave concern over the charges and said they appeared to be an attempt to prevent the 60-year-old opposition leader from re-entering parliament. – YAHOO ASIA NEWS.
    —————————————————————-

AAB is a bad leader who is willing to sacrifice the country’s international standing for power and personal gains.

15. #15 by moomin.ng on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 10:54 am

BN popular vote is 52% and PR is 48%. All it need is 2% swing for PR to win popular vote and more seat in Parliment and States.

If the GE is held now instead of Mar 8, the swing will be more than 2%, and PR will win popular vote and federal and state govt. Reasons:

1. Many people were unaware of the possibility of change of govt. They are aware of that possibility now and will exercise their vote with effect.

2. The many happenings since Mar 8 by BN govt, ie from bad to worse, increase of petrol price, TNB, corruptions, Trengganu Merz, MRRII, sodomy II.

3. Instead of learning from Mar 8 tsunami, and change the governance, it is worse now.

If there is referadum now, BN will lose the government.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:20 am

“We the people and PR urge the PM to fulfill his responsibilities to govern well, reform UMNO and cease the sodomy II conspiracy against Anwar immediately” Dr Chen

There is no reason why Abdullah Badawi would want to do that. His responsibilities are to his own Party, family and cronies. It is time Malaysians wake up and smell the coffee!

What say you??

17. #17 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:23 am

From today onward no matter how much anger Abdullah creates in public, I’m not going to lose my temper but going to see things from different perspective.

My question is, why is Abdullah doing this when he knows too well with all these malpractices and mismanagement public would hate him to hell. Think!

I believe he is deliberate. He has a hidden but noble agenda- to destroy UMNO and BN and make sure they lose power in the next GE. UMNO is too corrupted that he with Zaid Ibrahim on his side can’t possibly achieve much to make this government credible. Hence to Pak Lah, Anwar is an effective tool, simply because he is well liked by public at large with so much influence he has on them. In another word for every beating of Anwar, the government would be reciprocated with multiple beating to its death. Think again, no PM in the world would do whatever Pak Lah is doing now unless he is mentally sick.

If at the end, Anwar makes it despite all odds; Anwar would still become a PM with his tested team for a New Malaysia. Abdullah will then be the real hero- Mikhail Gorbachev of New Malaysia.

This is called “THE HATE ME, HATE MY GOVERNMENT STRATEGY”

18. #18 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:30 am

How idealistic can we be, Dr. Chen, to “urge the PM to reform UMNO and cease the sodomy II conspiracy against Anwar immediately”. Are we not wasting our time?

19. #19 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:31 am

Anwar and PR have to seize power before he is found guilty, period.

It is simple: if Police, AG and Judiciary are found wanting as most of you said, then the livelihood of him being found guilty is almost a certainty. So what strategies does PR have if Anwar is found guilty and sentenced to jail. There is almost a vacuum. And that is why you find UMNO-BN have only targeted Anwar and no one else. It is almost like telling all Malaysians that UMNO-BN can almost write off all other PR leaders. To me it is also reawakening and “soul-searching” for many other PR leaders.

The alternative is for Anwar and PR to take control of the Federal Government and revamp the Police, the AG and the Judiciary before the completion of the trial. That calls for strategies to take control of the Federal Government before the completion of the trial. Has PR got one yet?

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 11:58 am

‘The alternative is for Anwar and PR to take control of the Federal Government and revamp the Police, the AG and the Judiciary before the completion of the trial. ” limkamput

With the changing of guards, charges against Anwar would be dropped if not dismissed. Clear case of prosecutorial misconduct. AG should be charged for prosecutorial misconduct and tried. If convicted, Anwar should then commence civil proceedings against him for damages and make him bankrupt.

21. #21 by ktteokt on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 1:20 pm

They say, “Doing it the first time makes one a genius, repeating it makes him an IDIOT!”

22. #22 by m.hwang on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 2:15 pm

I cannot believe the PP is so stupid to charge DSAI under 377B of the Penal Code. It’s a charge of carnal intercourse (CI) with consent. If both parties consented and CI is a crime, shouldn’t both parties be charged?

DSAI is absolutely right to pose this simple question which begs an answer. Let’s see when Saiful will be charged if ever or will the PP say Saiful is not charged in return for being a material witness against DSAI? If so they would have created more doubts in the public. I cannot help wondering whose side the PP, police or Saiful is on or are they just making blunders after blunders.

23. #23 by boilingmad on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 4:06 pm

I Malaysian, that was what I thought and told my other half, that all these actions could be deliberate. After all, DSAI was released by him. By doing what he (AAB) is doing now, he cannot be called a traitor by UMNO and PR’s win in the next election would be legitimate after all. So no one can actually ‘blame’ him. I think he knows that he is unable to combat the corruption that is so rampant in his party and the only other person who can is DSAI when he comes into power.

24. #24 by zak_hammaad on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 4:56 pm

I don’t think AAB is abdicating from good governance as such, but rightly or wrongly he wants to be seen for the due process of the law to be followed. It is Najib that many people should be questioning and suspecting.

On the other hand, Anwar is known to have high level links within the country’s medical industry, so an impartial observer should alo question the extent to which these contacts are realised to influence reports and medical examinations in the same way that the government can.

As I said before, politics in Malaysia has taken a very dirty and immoral turn, so anything is possible and no politician is imune from it in the current dangerous climate. One thing is for sure, Malaysia’s reputation is the single greatest thing to suffer.

25. #25 by aimoe on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 5:21 pm

Bigjoe says… “”The man is a freaking idiot – when asked about the case, he said he told the prosecutor to prosecute if they have proof otherwise drop it, grinning with a silly smile as he says it.

Have no one coached him about involuntary response?????

The man idea is clearly plausible deniability.””

I couldn’t agree more. THen again. Can you imagine if our government publicists and politicians became skilled orators? What would we have left to entertain us in this dark era?

As for our leaders……And how much bullshit do you have to smell before you realise you are standing in it?

Years from now… kids will be looking at video blogs and youtube archives and wondering how on earth these specimens came about.

I used to laugh at the US president. WE ALL DID. But then again that is a country with a justice system that makes the President answerable to Congress.

Can you imagine who our leaders are answerable to? When they talk, do you hear answers or excuses?

Have they forgotten they are public servants and work for us?

Sigh.

26. #26 by alwaysfair on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 6:46 pm

petition to Agung for justice in courts at:

http://www.petitiononline.com/6ai18u26/petition.html

27. #27 by limkamput on Thursday, 7 August 2008 - 8:43 pm

Anwar should then commence civil proceedings against him for damages and make him bankrupt. undergrad2

Like this many should be made bankrupt. The former dismissed judges should make many bankrupt too. In fact the morre we think, the more UMNO-BN must hold on to power no matter what! It is all about their money and life that they love so dearly.

28. #28 by zak_hammaad on Saturday, 9 August 2008 - 1:13 am

29. #29 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:37 am

It is not suprising to know the response from AAB, students and the VC etc of proposal to open UiTM to non-bumis because they dont want competition and afraid of competition, just imagine that once UiTM is open to 10% of non-bumi, the management needs to cheat by changing marks and to do a lot of hanky panky works in order to award the bumi with first class (they admitted openly in the newpapers that they cannot take competition and still requires protection as they still cant compete with non-bumi, they loss the war even before started it, on paper qualification, they scored as many As as the non-bumi, so does this prove to us something that their standard of As are not the same As as the non-bumis??? ). It is not just UiTM, this happens in all sectors in Malaysia, at the end of the day, these graduates from UiTM are only “good” for incompetent, corrupted public service and loss making GLCs without competition except among themselves not in terms of improvement for the Public Service and GLS but in terms of positions, power and money!!!
    Do you dare to let these graduates who are incompetent to handle the Nuclear plants??? Read my lips, the govt is going to do just that to give them jobs!!! Singapore or Thailand will protest if the Nuclear plant is going to be built near them!!! What does this mean???