PR status & citizenship for foreign spouses

(The following is the reply given in Parliament by the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar yesterday to my question on the long-standing PR problem. Lets have your reaction as to whether you find the answer satisfactory or not. It was given as a written answer as the question did not come up for oral reply during the 90-minute Question Time. It was placed No. 49 out of 95 questions yesterday, which saw only eight questions answered on the floor during the Question Time.)

Tuan Lim Kit Siang minta Menteri Hal Ehwal Dalam Negeri menyatakan hasil langkah-langkah untuk mempercepatkan pemprosesan pengeluaran (i) TarafPenduduk Tetap (PR) dan (ii) kerakyatan kepada pasangan asing rakyat Malaysia; mengapakah ujudnya aduan mengenai kelewatan yang keterlaluan dan sila berikan bilangan PR dan kerakyatan yang dikeluarkan dalam tempoh 20 tahun ini.

Jawapan: Pemberian taraf Pemastautin Tetap Malaysia merupakan ‘satu anugerah dan bukan hak’ yang boleh dituntut oleh warganegara asing. Dalam mempertimbangkan permohonan untuk taraf Pemastautin Tetap (PT), Kerajaan memberi keutamaan kepada aspek keselamatan negara dalam membuat keputusan. Berdasarkan kepada faktor ini, kerajaan sangat berhati-hati untuk membuat pertimbangan dan keputusan. Oleh yang demikian, setiap permohonan di WAJIBKAN melalui proses tapisan keselamatan oleh pihak Polis Di Raja Malaysia (PDRM). Di samping siasatan yang dijalankan oleh PDRM, pemohon dan penaja juga akan ditemu duga bagi memastikan bahawa maklumat yang diberikan adalah benar, dan juga untuk mengelakkan sebarang penyelewengan yang mungkin terjadi. Ini juga adalah bagi memastikan bahawa pemohon adalah tulen.

Kesemua langkah-langkah ini adalah amat penting bagi memastikan pemohon adalah seorang yang bebas dari gejala-gejala yang tidak sihat yang mungkin akan mengancam keselamatan negara. Hasrat kerajaan adalah bagi memastikan supaya hanya warganegara asing yang benar-benar ingin bermastautin di negara ini diberikan taraf Pendudukan Tetap. Di samping itu, semua syarat-syarat dan prosedur yang ditetapkan bertujuan untuk meminimumkan kebarangkalian berlakunya penyalahgunaan kemudahan yang disediakan seperti “marriage of convenience”.

Keutamaan kepada faktor keselamatan ini merupakan salah satu daripada sebab mengapa terdapat kelewatan memproses permohonan Penduduk Tetap. Selain daripada itu, terdapat juga faktor-faktor lain seperti kegagalan oleh pemohon untuk membuat ‘follow-up’, pemohon bertukar alamat dan tidak dapat dihubungi, maklumat tidak lengkap, penaja tidak dapat dihubungi dan sebagainya.

Dalam mempertimbangkan permohonan taraf Penduduk Tetap, Kerajaan sentiasa memberi keutamaan kepada pasangan asing rakyat Malaysia. Pertambahan dalam rakyat Malaysia berkahwin dengan warganegara asing telah meningkatkan permohonan untuk taraf Penduduk Tetap oleh warganegara asing. Kerajaan juga sedar bahawa terdapat rungutan-rungutan dan rasa tidak puas hati di kalangan pemohon di atas kelewatan memproses permohonan untuk taraf Penduduk Tetap. Oleh yang demikian, kerajaan sedang dalam mengkaji semula syarat dan prosedur yang ada untuk mempercepatkan proses pertimbangan dan keputusan untuk kategori pasangan asing kepada rakyat Malaysia.

Berhubung dengan kelewatan pemprosesan keputusan permohonan taraf kewarganegaraan Malaysia, setiap permohonan kewarganegaraan dikehendaki melalui beberapa prosedur seperti yang termaktub di dalam Perlembagaan Persekutuan.

Permohonan kewarganegaraan secara masukan di bawah Perkara 19(1) Perlembagaan Persekutuan contohnya, memerlukan pemohon bermastautin di Negara ini selama sekurang-kurangnya 12 tahun, berniat hendak bermastautin tetap, berkelakuan baik dan menjalani ujian bahasa. Setiap permohonan kewarganegaraan akan diteliti dan diperbaharui supaya pemberian taraf kewarganegaraan hanya diberikan kepada mereka yang benar-benar layak.

Dalam tempoh 20 tahun, sehingga Mei 2008, jumlah pemegang Kad Pengenalan Pemastarutin Tetap Malaysia adalah sebanyak 371,281, manakala sejumlah 19,511 bukan warganegara telah diberi taraf warganegara Malaysia.

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 8:18 am

A review of the rules and procedures ? Looks like the cheque’s in the mail with these incompetents.

Far easier to go to Sabah and buy an IC.

2. #2 by taiking on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 8:26 am

I thought the process is a simple and quick one.
    I had the chance to meet some indons workers in a friend’s business premises.
    They had malaysian PR ICs.
    “Senang saja” was their reply.
    “Cepat” some said.
    “Cuma ujian Bahasa Malaysia” seems to be the only hurdle.
    I did not realise that Malaysia has for a long time already progressed to a developed nation status.
    Like UK and Australia, Malaysian immigration policy favours labourers and not professionals.
    You know, construction workers, cleaners, etc.
    That explains why highly qualified foreign spouses could not get their PR ICs.
    “YOU ARE NOT WANTED! GET IT? NOW GO HOME.”
    Now with all rules and regulations, there are always loopholes.
    Next time try this.
    I know that you may be a consultant this and that.
    Or professor this or that.
    Or nobel prize nominee for what and what.
    Never mind all those.
    Want to be malaysia PR.
    Easy. Just get yourself a job as a cleaner in one of the public carpark anywhere in the country.
    In your application form, remember to state your job as “CLEANER”.
    That will score you some good points.
    Happy applying.
    Remember. Its not that difficult.

3. #3 by pinkdolphin on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 8:39 am

Gibberish! With the same old BN-UMNO mindset, review of the rules and procedures will take forever or just cakap kosong, not to mention the implementation. Menteri Hal Ehwal Dalam Negeri is hopeless under BN-UMNO!!!

4. #4 by zona_marie on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 9:27 am

at least a 12 year PR holder prior to getting citizenship?? my mum waited 13 years before she even got her PR!

sir, i think your question should have been – how many applications are awaiting processing to obtain a PR in the last 20 years? vs how many APPROVED applications there have been in the last 20 years? that way you can likely see how ineffective they’ve been. i don’t remember any bahasa malaysia test for my mum nor police checks either. does it take 13 years to get a police check?

5. #5 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 9:29 am

They should be reasonable, and humane, say those who hv stayed 4 years, and had raised, Msian child(ren), be given PR status.
    look like they only want general labourers, cleaners, who are Muslim, & speak only, BM or Bahasa Indon.
    look like , Msia Immig will not grant PR to ppl (qualified) who applied officially, but can sell PR to ppl (muslim) who go for backdoor, or bribe the right person etc.
    So anybody seriously interested, just get a Muslim name, can pretend to be a Muslim, and can learn to speak BM, then it should ok to go to Sabah to buy one PR.

6. #6 by raven77 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 9:39 am

PR???? Di Malaysia senang sekali pak.

Bung Sokarno mungkin terburu buru mahu serang Malaya……tidak sama sekali ini caranya. Caranya yang tulus masok Sabah ikut Kalimantan dan isi borang. Dan yang penting sekali pak……musti diberi makan buaya buaya tembaganya disana yang amat besar sekali….yang peliknya buaya semua ni pakai baju biru dan digelar imigresen……

7. #7 by sammychong on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:11 am

the rules are quite strict which i think is good enough to both for the foreigners and the rakyat in malaysia…but do the authorities really following the procedures by the rules?for the past 3 years, i saw the amount of foreigners is going huge..crowding in our big cities like kl, shah alam, klang, putrajaya and so on. how about the crimes commited by the foreigners which are killing, raping, robbing, and whatsoever…we citizens are now becoming more afraid and worried about the population of foreigner would be outnumbering us in 5 to 10 years ahead…what say u?is this about the rules made or about the lacking actions of the authorities?

8. #8 by kun9999 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:16 am

Well I guess the delay for getting PR is because of incompetence government officials or they want applicant to give them coffee money. In developed country like Singapore, it will only take approximately 3 month for the applicant to know their result for the PR application (source:http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150). In Malaysia it would take 6 month for the applicant to know the result (source: http://www.imi.gov.my/eng/perkhidmatan/im_PermitMasuk.asp)

If you look into Malaysia Immigration website http://www.imi.gov.my you can’t really find a clear guideline to apply for PR. But if you look into Singapore Immigration website http://www.ica.gov.sg you can find a very clear guideline on how to apply for PR.

I wonder why can’t Malaysia govt be as competence as Singapore govt. As a citizen of Malaysia, I really ashame of competency level of the govt.

The answer given by Home Minister on applicant can’t be contacted / didn’t follow up also didn’t make much sense as most applicant are very serious in their application.

Delay/reject in the PR application also cause professional spouse unable to work and i guess this is what the government want in order to protect their own “lazy” people.

9. #9 by UnkerLai on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:30 am

I know of a few foreigners who have been here for the past 20 years, running successful business, yet unable to obtain PR, simply because they refuse to bribe their way through.
    All this talk of screening and procedures are bollocks. Money is the BeeEnd’s only criteria, if the applicant is a non-muslim.

10. #10 by Tulip Crescent on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:35 am

I have a sister-in-law who applied for permanent residence. She is a university graduate.

The last time I knew, she was back in her country after having raised her two children from her womb till they managed to get their degrees overseas.

Both the Malaysian children are now working overseas as well. As for the Malaysian husband, who the United Nations used to call on to do some work overseas while he was working in Malaysia, he is working overseas as well.

Of course, she never got her permanent residence after more than 20 years of apply. She remains an applicant, I guess, in the grand tradition of the Barisan Nasional.

This is the kind of hanky-panky that our politicians teach our bureaucrats to do. Why do you think even our bureaucrats have had enough of their nonsense?

11. #11 by unknowngrouse on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:47 am

If you have the proper kulitfication its no problem getting PR status. One Indon I know even got a blue IC ! No matter have qualified you are if you are not Muslim and do not have the right colour you can forget about it. Got a Malaysian friend whose wife is Singaporean teacher (of course she can’t teach here). His kids are born here so they got their citizenship. However the wife who’s been living with him for over 20 years here still has no PR status although she has applied countless number of times until she gave up Wanna guess race?

12. #12 by kun9999 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:49 am

No point in applying Malaysia PR with such a lazy or money thirsty govt, it would be better to apply for PR from neighbouring country for which they very welcome foreign talent & entrepreneur etc that can contribute to their society.

13. #13 by limkamput on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:51 am

Kalau Kerajaan sangat berhati hati dari segi tapisan keselamatan bila meluluskan taraf Pemastautin Tetap (PT), mengapa pula ada begitu ramai mendapat kelayakan sedemikian di Sabah? Ada kah PT di Sabah semua mematuhi kehendakan tapisan keselamatan seperti yang dinyatakan. Atau pun, piawaian yang ditetapkan berbeza di Sabah atau bagi orang orang yang tertentu?

Saya berpendapat jabatan kerajaan suka memberi sebab sebab yang tidak masuk akal. Boleh kah Menteri Dalam Negeri memberi peratusan dikandangan merekan yang memohon tidak membuat “follow up”, kerana pertukaran alamat dan tidak dapat dihubungi, tidak mempunyai maklumat lengkap dan sebagainya. Ini semua kalut lah ikut pandangan saya.

Ya, seperti kami sering dengar “kerajaan sedang dalam mengkaji semula syarat dan prosedur yang ada untuk mempercepatkan proses pertimbangan dan keputusan untuk kategori pasangan asing kepada rakyat Malaysia”. Kalau boleh, kita nak tahu bila kajian mula dan bila ia akan akhir. Sila beri satu tempoh masa yang tetap supaya semua dapat tahu bila pertukaran syarat dan prosedur dapat diumumkan. Sdr Lim, sila catit dalam rekod dan kemukakan soalan ini sekali lagi di Dewan pada masa hadapan. Ramai menteri kita suka buat janjian tanpa niat untuk menunaikannya.

14. #14 by badcliq on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:51 am

This is no excuse for incompetency of the Government!

Look at how long the process take for other countries! Aus, NZ, etc

Are they saying other countries have crap PRs that will threaten the national security, just because their regulations are not as “strict” or “good” as M’sia?

He mentioned people changed address, etc…couldn’t be contacted…well, not strange! If the process took nearly 2 decades!!

15. #15 by dr suresh kumar on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:59 am

Dear YB Kit,

I have only this to say to Syed Hamid:He is just wasting his ink in writing the above reply.

He could have saved his time by just saying that non-muslims and non-malays are not welcome.

The policy of this government is designed to discourage non muslim migrants,thats how I see it.Not only they welcome Indonesian labourers ,they have also indirectly contributed to increase in crime in the country.All these just to increase the number of malay population in the country.

The government doesn’t seem to realize that one of the yardsticks in measuring the development of a country is the actual increase in the population of her minorities and not decrease like what is happening to the Chinese and Indian populations at home.Look here in Australia,they have a crsytal clear and transparent policy on the issues of emigrants.Its just a breeze thru to become a PR or a citizen if one meets their immigration law requirements.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:04 am

Qualifications to become citizens:

Malaysia

1. Continuous physical residence for a minimum period of 12 years;
    2. Intention to reside permanently;
    3. A person of good moral character, and
    4. Proficient in the Malay language.

United States

1. Continuous residence as legal permanent resident for at least five years preceding the date of application
    2. Physically present during that period totaling at least half the time
    3. A person of good moral character
    4. Understanding of the English language( ability to speak, read and write) and the fundamentals of U.S. history, principles of government of the U.S.

*It is harder to naturalize and become U.S. citizens. But then why are there so few qualified applicants who have been granted Malaysian citizenship when it is easier to naturalize?

17. #17 by kun9999 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:04 am

I wonder how long Malaysia govt can remain ignorant toward foreign talent; especially oil will run out soon.

18. #18 by dr suresh kumar on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:04 am

In Malaysia there is no definite policy on this issue,and there will never be,as long as the govt practises discrimination.Hence they have lost so many professionals and they dont seem to bother about it too.This what you call `bolehland’ ,sad though.

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:06 am

Granted citizenship is a privilege and not a right.

20. #20 by oknyua on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:08 am

YB Lim, don’t believe him. Though I don’t read the full reply (my bahasa is pasar bahasa), I know many Acheh and Jawa PR who has no skills other than being construction workers. PDRM’s check? No way. Check along the coastal areas of W Malaysia – all those Javanese and Acheh who has PR and Red IC.

Who wants PR? I can name you the agent in Kampong Jawa (where) who does this for you. She is of Acheh descend. Pay money lah.

21. #21 by oknyua on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:16 am

Undergrad2,

one missing qualification: You must know who.

22. #22 by limkamput on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:20 am

Now this is the difficult part! Who in Malaysia are the ones who have this addiction to foreign workers, particularly the cheap ones from Indonesia, Bangladesh, Pakistan and India. We talk, but we can’t walk the talk. Soon there will also be more from China. You see, when private vested interest and corruption in government collide, the national interest is thrown out of window. We will not be able to recognise this country in 20 years. Mark my words.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:20 am

Oknyua,

Duly noted.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:31 am

YB Kit,

Please ask the Minister to provide a statistical breakdown of applicants according to:

1. Country of origin
    2. Religion
    3. Sex
    4. Educational background

Approvals according to
    1. Country of origin
    2. Religion
    3. Sex
    5. Number of years resident

Rejections according

1. Country of origin
    2. Religion
    3. Sex
    5. Number of years resident

25. #25 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:35 am

Some said there will be more workers from China, dont think immig msia will ever allow this legally.

26. #26 by oknyua on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:36 am

Limkamput, yeah.

Example: I was doing some work in a state owned plantation in Sarawak. I noticed a group of labourers – you recognise foreigners easily. The following day I remarked this to the minister in charge. His reply is exactly that. “You don’t see them, I don’t see them.”
    His constituency. Lately I heard some clashes between locals and import in that plantation. Imports can work with RM15 per day. Locals refused. So workers now 100% imports.

27. #27 by swee_ann_tweety on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:54 am

I have a friend who is 30 over years old. He was born in Malaysia. His father is Indonesian. His mother is Malaysian. He doesn’t believe in corruption. He doesn’t give in to bribe demands. He dislike corrupted people. Since his father is an Indonesian, his IC, is a “Red IC”. He has applied for a Malaysian Citizenship countless number of times. He is married to a Malaysian gal. He still does not have his citizenship. According to him, after submitting his applications, his applications apparently go missing somehow.

Don’t give eligible people NONSENSE answers. It really is disgusting to read and listen to NONSENSE answers

28. #28 by mauriyaII on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 11:59 am

Whenever any issue, even as a routine thing as applying for a PR status, is brought to the attention of the Home Affairs Minister, what we hear is that everything is based on the security of the nation.

How are foreign wives of Malaysian citizens a danger to national security? Does the minister think that those wives who might have a number of children have nothing better to do than to plant C4 and blow up people?

The country faces brain-drain. Why not attract qualified people with the promise of PR status within a reasonable period of time, say 3 years, to bring in more brains to the country. What BN is doing is to allow the influx of Indons and Bangladeshi as well as Rohinyas because they are muslims even if they are not assets to the country.

BN and the UMNOputra mindset will never change. The world might change and move forward but not these idiots who are afraid of change. This is what happens to people with ‘crutch’ mentality.

29. #29 by clearwater on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:32 pm

The Home Minister’s reply is pathetic eyewash. It sounds like non-apologetic excuses for the current deliberate discriminatory practices in granting PR and citizenship to foreign spouses. Police checks do not take years; marriages of convenience are rare and not difficult to detect; applicants give up rather than fail to follow up after a cynical silence of 10 years or more in their applications. There is a lot of truth in the suspicion that certain ethnic and religious groups are more welcome than others; non- provision of vital statistical information on approved cases [as pointed out by undergrad2] invites such speculation. So does opaque and poorly written rules and guidelines. It is a fact that Malaysia’s immigration policy is human capital and skills deficient as well as selectively blind to its citizens’ well being. It is also a reflection of how badly this country has been run and how poorly policies are implemented.

30. #30 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:59 pm

Yada yada yada and more yada. Bulls..t, bulls..t and more bulls..t.

Many already qualified under the procedures and guidelines mentioned above but they are still “in process”. They are not told why and what they appear to be lacking, so they can’t rectify if necessary, so they wait in vain for years.

Only 19,511 in the past 20 years and more? This paltry figure speaks for itself.

But don’t forget to include the 800,000 that have gone through the easier Sabah route in the same period. The Sabah people are more “efficient” beating the government KPI by over 40 times. Less agony and despair there and more speedy too.

31. #31 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:59 pm

Sry guys. This does not relate to the topic, is it true below

All petrol kiosk in Malaysia will reject credit card usage for petrol.

-Well this will benefit the robbers (Social Impact)

32. #32 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 1:30 pm

The minsiter should give the racial and religious breakdown of the successful applicants.
    Perhaps also their educational levels.

33. #33 by sotong on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 1:35 pm

Many people lives are made difficult or ruined for various reasons and national security and interest affected by backdoor processing……..any responsible Minister/s would have the decency to resign immediately.

34. #34 by max2811 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 1:46 pm

Malaysian Immigration laws favours their cousins from next door. Doesn’t matter if they are killers, robbers or snatch thieves. As long as their names have a ‘bin’, no problem.

35. #35 by pamelaoda on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 2:20 pm

Saved your breath Undergrad. You can ask them for all the info you want, but can you believe it or not? Even murderer also can go scots free!

Uncle Lim, dont waster your breath on the PR issues la, the reason the government make the all process look so blur and grey, is because they dont want “you people” to come here!

36. #36 by Captain on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 2:35 pm

My wife got her PR after 15 years. In between, the Immigration lost her files 3 times and new files were created, with reason they lost due to change of offices.

I have a friend who has stayed in this country for 55 years, married a local, produce 3 children , all of them professionals, own huge plantation properties. His appilcation for citizenship was rejected 3 times in 35 years including 3 appeals with the Ministers personally.

In contrast , I used to know of so many Indonesians in Segambut who get PR, some even citizenship , within 3 months of arriving in this country.

Thats Malaysian Govt. Policy ? what rubbish.

I have written in this blog about Pakistanis easily going to Sabah and getting Citizenships, even lately.

37. #37 by taiking on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 2:54 pm

They thought the other races in the country could be flooded into insignificance by sheer numbers.

So they devise the simplest and the quickest of fixes they could think of to augment the population size of malays here.

They import them straight from indonesia.

Indonesians in Indonesia call themselves Orang Indon. And Indonesians in Malaysia likewise call themselves Orang Indon – not orang melayu.

Them Indons in this country do not regard themselves as melayu. For they believe that they are superior to orang melayu.

Now there are a good 2 or 3 million of them here. Maybe more. They are not melayu. Not chinese. Not Indians. Not iban, kadazan nor orang asli.

How could a government allow an alien race to take root in the country and grow in numbers so rapidly?

I am shaking in my boots. We all ought to be shaking in our boots.

38. #38 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 2:55 pm

We are facing serious SOCIAL IMPACT today, ATM been carted away from petrol kiosk.

Pls do not frequent bank, goldsmith, money changer, and petrol kiosk too often to minimize risk of been victim of robberies due to high cash content. Petrol Kiosk has now become ATM for the robbers where they can easily rob the cashier and the police will come 1 hrs later.

39. #39 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 3:11 pm

Maybe to immig. ppl, non bumi citizens who marry foreigners are unpatriotic, “Kenapa guna produk asing, tak guna produk tempatan?”, so they hv to take 15years or more to “kaji terliti”

40. #40 by yog7948 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 3:21 pm

To get PR. easy what! Try the successful entrepreneur behind KOTA RAYA shopping complex. they can help you out but the only problem is you need to know how to read this ?????????????? or ?????.

That’s what downtown KL has become. “Little Dhaka and Little Kathmandu” not to mention Chow kit or Kampung subang’s “Little Jakarta”

If you guys go to FT Labuan, ” Little Manila” is waiting for you.
    With corrupted leaders, “enforcement” is toothless.

41. #41 by ProMalaysiaNotBN on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 4:58 pm

C’mon you guys our process to grant PR is very efficient. And it stops there – the efficient part I mean. What follows is very different. And that is, the efficiency has created an increase in crime rate – a violent one, one might add. And it is very much less than efficient what the police is doing to curb the rising crime rate. Now it is Malaysians applying for PR overseas just to live a more peaceful life without the crime, break-in and threats of bodily harm. Fair exchange?? I don’t think so.

42. #42 by min8008 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 7:46 pm

It is time for Malaysian Government to
    revamp the outdated citizenship law
    The present Singapore Prime Minister, Lee Hsien Loong, commented that if Singapore continued with the old procedure of giving citizenship, Singapore would become an old folks’ home for the PR holders.

So he started offering PR to professionals who had completed two years’ work in Singapore. It is therefore possible to get citizenship within five years. Thus the new Singapore citizens could sever their umbilical cords from their old country and give full loyalty to Singapore.

To become or to be labeled as a professional in Malaysia, after graduation with a recognized degree from a recognized University, we must have at least a few years of working experience. Doctors must have five years’ experience before applying for a job in Malaysia. Then after passing stringent rules and regulations, and sometimes even special examinations set by the relevant authorities in Malaysia, those professionals are accepted to work here.

And they are eligible to apply for the PR only after five years.
    Usually only after a dozen years of struggling, normal foreign professionals are accepted as Permanent Residents and receive the RED ICs.
    Only exactly twelve years after getting PR, those Red IC holders are eligible to apply for citizenship.
    The process could take at least another a dozen of years or more again, and most of the first generation migrants usually died before they were accepted as Malaysian Citizens.
    In most of the developed countries, migrants could get a Green Card or PR within two years and citizenship after five years.

PR holders or new citizens cannot even sponsor their parents and siblings to follow them to migrate to Malaysia, not like other countries around the world.
    And PR children are totally ignored or never considered at all for government scholarships or government loans.
    We wish to request the Malaysian Government to review and totally revamp the Permanent Residency (PR/Red IC) and Citizenship (Blue IC) granting process.

Permanent Residency (PR/Red IC) should be automatically approved, after 10 years of stay in Malaysia, to all the professionals and those who are espoused to Malaysians unless they are in breach of clearly written rules and regulations, e.g. having criminal records, pose a threat to national security such as having links to terrorists or underground gangs, etc.

Citizenship (Blue IC) should be automatically approved after 20 years of stay in Malaysia, to all the professionals and those who are espoused to Malaysians on condition that they have not contravened the abovementioned rules. After 20 years of survival in Malaysia, they should be exempted from the Bahasa Malaysia test.

In Malaysia, because of the some Indonesian militants in Bali bombing were holding Malaysian PR using Malaysian issued Certificate of ID (in lieu of Passports), the Malaysian Immigration has even stopped issuing these travel documents to the PR holders of all the countries, in effect asking all PR holders to reconnect or reattach the severed umbilical cords to the countries which they had left. The Burmese Embassy is so happy to collect backdated income taxes (obviously double taxation for all the Myanmar PP holders), various exorbitant fees, donations to Buddhist Monks and to build Buddhist Pagodas (which is a sin for the Muslims to donate to, but no one dares to refuse as we are afraid of reprisals even when we are out of Myanmar and in Malaysia) and political obedience.

We wish to look forward and prepare for the future of our whole family, especially for our children. We don’t want to look back over our shoulders with fear nor maintain the umbilical cord with the country we left. As it now stands, we cannot plan for our future because of the Malaysian government’s very strict policy of citizenship rules. Our wish to give undivided full loyalty to our adopted new home, Malaysia, currently cannot be fulfilled.

Please give us and our children a future, a hope and a chance of planning for our future. Kindly liberate us from the past shadows by granting independence from the land we left. Please change and expedite the present very slow process by offering full citizenship and Blue Identity Cards. Then we all could give undivided loyalty to our new land, Malaysia, and work for mutual progress and prosperity without looking over our shoulders.

Malaysia’s unity in diversity makes the present Malaysia progressive and peaceful. And though we Burmese migrants including Burmese Muslims may each resonate differently, most of us are Malaysianized. Although we may differ a little bit only but I am sure we all are sharing the Malaysians because our heart and mind is filled with love for all things Malaysia.

Our children should be given a chance to share the Malaysian dreams and should not encounter any depressions in their lives. We hope that granting Malaysian citizenships would improve their dreams. Malaysia should not single out and exclude them or shutting out all of them from all the opportunities to contribute to improve the its nation building.

Acceptance as the citizens would be our migrant children’s turning points of their lives. We had left the ruthless régime that had shown us all the animosities, have shown us and our children rejection and have ultimately failed all our children’s future. As our children journey into an uncertain future in this new adopted country, they will struggle and grapple with their sense of their rightful place in this new found host nation, Malaysia.

Our young migrant children’s every early moments would be yet under another hammer blow, tempering or compromising their fantastic visions into listless and endless compromise here in Malaysia if they are not welcome or accepted as the beloved adopted children.

We could guarantee to all of our Malaysian friends that we are all Malaysians in our heart and we have no intention or imagination to even support the ‘foreign country’ happened to be our old homeland we have left, even if Malaysia is at war with them, Burma or Myanmar.

Please kindly consider to give our young tender innocent children at least a chance to dream a Malaysian Dream. Please do not shut off their future. Please give us and our children a future, a hope and a chance of planning for our future. Kindly liberate us from the past shadows by granting independence from the land we left.

Please change and expedite the present very slow process of offering full citizenship and Blue Identity Cards. Then we all could give undivided loyalty to our new land, Malaysia, and work for mutual progress and prosperity without looking over our shoulders.

http://sanooaung.wordpress.com/

43. #43 by min8008 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 8:15 pm

Rule of Law
    should take over
    Rule by arbitrary Law
    for granting citizenship

Malaysian Citizenship Law should be reviewed urgently from the present unjust law that practice discriminations to the law that respects Equal Human Rights in compliance to contemporary International Practice and according to true Islamic teachings.

Malaysian Home Ministers and their Deputy Ministers used to proudly claim in the newspapers that granting citizens is not the migrant’s right but the privilege granted as rewards or sympathy.

This concept is basically wrong. The highly qualified migrants who could contribute to the progress of Malaysia are deserved to be accepted and should be granted citizenship without delay. Malaysia should make the new citizenship law by granting a right to the qualified migrant, of course only if he is entitled according to the law and is free from any crimes.

Even the Malaysian MPs are openly complaining that it is very fast and easy for millions of some neighbouring citizens to get Malaysian Red or Blue ICs. But for the Burmese / Myanmar it is very difficult and any few of us who even got the PR feels as if they had won the lottery!

Although it is a top secret but every Tom and Dick knows that the present Law is arbitrary and subject to the discriminations and abuses. The Home Ministry officials and Immigration department are doing what they want by using this Law. It could lead to abuse of power and corruption.

Please refer to the following modern concepts of Good Governance:

“That government is best which governs the least, because its people discipline themselves.” Thomas Jefferson.
    Decentering British Governance: (from Bureaucracy to Networks, Mark Bevir , Assistant Professor of Politics University of California Berkeley and R.A. W. Rhodes Department of Politics University of Newcastle.)
    The New Governance: Governing without Government (R. A. W. Rhodes, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne.)
    Devolution. (It is the statutory granting of powers from the central government to the lower authorities.)
    Decentralization (It is the process of dispersing decision-making governance closer to the people or citizen.
    Decentralization is the policy of delegating decision-making authority down to the lower levels in an organization, relatively away from and lower in a central authority.

A decentralized organization shows fewer tiers in the organizational structure, wider span of control, and a bottom-to-top flow of decision-making and flow of ideas.

Malaysia should make a new law with definite terms and conditions, rules and regulations and time ceiling to approve the various applications not only for this Citizenship Law, but in general every where at all the levels of authorities.

Let there be Rule of Law. Let the pre-written Regulations Rule and decide for every application in all the places. Then there would be clear transparency and could reduce the corruption.

It is better for the ordinary people without cables if all the local and federal permissions or granting of all licenses are automatically approved until and unless it is against the clearly written rules and regulations. If the approval authority is left with any officer it would open a chance for corruption.

Delaying the approvals invites the applicants’ desire to grease the hands of the persons who handle his application.

Recently, one of my friends sadly say early good bye to us because one Home Ministry official told him that he is not a Medical Doctor and could not be regarded as professional and is usually not entitled to get PR.

May you kindly allow me to present his credentials:

He is in Malaysia for TWENTY years.
    He is working as a contract professional for Malaysia Information Ministry for 18 years.
    He was a Buddhist, converted to Islam. (He registered at PERKIM and even studied Islam with the visa approved by Pusat Islam.)
    He got three degrees; a bachelor degree and two post graduate degrees.
    His wife also got two degrees; a bachelor degree and post graduate degree.
    His only son is also a graduate and is now registered to marry a Sarawakian non Muslim graduate girl who converted to Islam officially to marry him.
    That future daughter-in-law is a Malaysian citizen and got a diploma.
    He had helped the police and courts involving Myanmars on numerous occasions and he had attached the recommendation letter from ASP from PDRM.
    He had even helped to set up the Myanmar Language Classes in UKM Bangi Because he is working in RTM, he could not give full follow up support to UKM. ( So the classes were abandoned.)
    He had written about two dozen books: Malay Myanmar dictionary, Myanmar Malay dictionary and many books teaching Myanmar Migrants how to speak and communicate in Malay.
    He had no criminal record and has an unblemished character.
    MCA Datuk Michael Chong wrote a supporting letter to the previous MCA Deputy Home Minister. That Minister wrote a letter again to the relevant high ranking officer. But all are gone with the Wind of Change that blew on 8/3.
    His family has no political problem with Myanmar Junta as his son is helping the Myanmar Military Attaché by translating Malay newspapers into Burmese.
    And he is not dismissed nor retired but as RTM is facing financial problems and wish to cut the budget and is planning to close Myanmar, Thailand, Tamil etc language programmes only.

If he is not fit to get the citizenship in Malaysia, we should made this a benchmark for granting citizenships to Malaysia’s most favored Indonesians, Pilipino and Thai Muslims also. If we look at those millions of migrants who are already accepted would fail that Litmus Test.

I hope KDN dare not make this Myanmar PR applicant’s credentials a benchmark for accepting other PR applicants from Indonesia, Thailand and Philippines.

ASEAN Charter would allow the free flow of capital and man power in ASEAN. Even Tun Dr Mahathier had predicted recently that ASEAN could issue common passports.

There are a lot of ex and present Malaysian Ministers and PMs who were the children of migrants. Actually all the previous PMs up to the present PM and many UMNO Secretary Generals (so BN Secretary Generals) are mixed blooded people. Malaysians should discard the usual xenophobia and appreciate their tremendous contributions to our country.

It is the time to withdrawal of arbitrary law and replace with a clear new law that is not Xenophobic and treat all the nationals, races and religious persons around the world. Malaysia must make a clear point what kind of person with which qualities would be accepted as its new citizens.

With the increasing Globalization and the comming ASEAN Chater, allowing the integration of all ASEANS, Malaysians should be more generous and open hearted to review and totally revamp the present Xenophobic Citizenship Law and open its arms to welcome the new migrants.

44. #44 by robert wong on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 9:20 pm

Come to Sabah , it’s the land of opportunities to have a new citizenship ! that’s of course if you are muslim. Or else just wait for your next life !

45. #45 by yog7948 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 9:39 pm

Been in sabah.. more than 10 years.. nice place to be, still miss the hospitality of the people there.. i mean the actual locals.. still miss the place. But if we travel to the major township, say Sandakan (pinoy), Lahad Datu (pinoy+Indon) or Tawau (Indon).
    If you think back how come all this people are around, then the answer is BN. They tried to make sabah a Muslim majority state, they bring in all their international kin to sabah even providing Mycard. As gratitude, all fill up the BN membership form..
    Just look at the CM and some Federal ministers from sabah.. do you know their origin.?
    Few years back, when most of our citizens still applying for MYCard, i met few Pinoy GRO in Labuan, just arrived the day before from Tawi-tawi having MyCard..

46. #46 by kingkenny on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 12:00 am

Dear YB Kit,

after reading the above reply from the ‘homie’ minister, all I can say is every country has its law. The reply he gave you has it’s ‘rights’ (hak), from the country’s legal point of view & “keselamatan negara”. But the question is:

1) Is the law enforced?
    2) And is it done in the way it should be done?
    3) Who is qualified? Professionals? Expats? OR contract labourers?

In this instance, I believe Malaysia prefer more contract labourers who can vote for BN. Muslims preferably!

Anybody here remember the Hulu Langat & Balakong case? It was in the mid-nineties, mainstream media reported (uncovered) about a ‘foreign village’ hidden in the bushes and jungles of these 2 areas mostly populated by Indonesian labourers. What is ‘best’ about this case is, when RELA members & police stormed their ‘village’, it has basic amenities like water piping and electrical cables supplied to them!!! Whether they are paying for these luxuries or not is still suspicious!

Anybody who come to this area Hulu Langat, Balakong and Tanming Jaya today, especially at night, will find a different world altogether. Even locals dared not come out anymore.

And now Burmese & Nepalese are ‘building’ their own village in Kepong. Come saturdays & sundays, they even have their own disco party! (Don’t their employers provide them with accommodation since they are foreign workers? Why are they allowed to ‘build villages’?!)

But, the thing is, we Malaysian, and I for one, have nothing against them. They have the right to earn money (legally or illegally) and they have a right to ‘live their lives’. I believe that crooks will be handled by ‘our police’ farely well!

So, if the above reply from the ‘homie’ minister seems so rigid and ‘water-tight’ (or foolproof), the original tax paying citizens shouldn’t be unnecessaril
    y disturbed in their own housing area and their daily livelihood. And what constitute disturbances? Please read below YB Kit:

1) My mother was robbed twice on the way to pasar malam just outside our home not far away, incidentally my son was with her, LUCKILY my mom and son are not harmed!! Just lost a few gold jewellery and cash! No more pasar malam for us!

2) YB, you should ask the ‘homie’ to come to Tanming Jaya and see for himself the situation there – the place is filthy to the core, take a look at the drain & surrounding area man! Maybe MP Teoh Nie Cheng and MP Yap of DAP can give you some report.

3) Indonesian kids running ‘along’ our cars, sometimes jump in front of our cars, we suspect some kind of ‘syndicates’ thing – “YOU KNOCK MY SON YOU MUST PAY UP THINGY” (Everyday we must be alert and think of ways to avoid them)

4) Public transport here is shameful. Please ask ‘homie’ to take a bus ride from this area, not only will he find that the buses that service the routes here got faulty airconds, he will never ever find more than 5 locals in a bus at the same time!! (are we truly heading towards ‘developed status’ * ‘2020’, aiyoh, YB, I know I can get an honest answer from you regarding this matter!)

5) From batu 11 Cheras right up until Serdang Raya, there is not a single police beatbase or balai. The nearest balai is Sungai Besi separated by RM1.30 toll & Serdang Lama (I doubt got officers here). For the past 21 years we, as citizens can’t even be afforded a balai, until today, I saw one small balai is being set up 5 months ago in Tmn Sungai Besi Indah, until today it is still not operating yet, from what I look at it, the only thing lacking is furniture. How long will this take?

6) My dad goes to Cheras Jaya pasar malam every Wednesday to buy beef for the dogs, on 1 occasion, 2 people on motorbike pretended to ram his car, my dad say they came out suddenly from some nearby bushes along the road and shouted for him to stop! He sped away of course, after a short chase, they give up! The next day, my dad went to the Sungai Besi balai to check whether there was a police report against him and his car registration – the officer told him there was none and as to fulfill his “Piagam Pelanggan” motto, he told my dad to be careful and ignore any such case in the future, they are mostly operated by Indons!! Wow! (But I am not surprised though!)

So, you see YB, if ‘homie’ minister always let bankers, doctors and lawyers become citizen here, do you think myself and other citizens here living in Seri Kembangan will have to face such unnecessary disturbances everyday?!

And if all existing regulations were enforced in the matter of hiring foreign workers were adhered, such like providing humane accommodation for them since they come from afar, don’t you think they will happily live in their flats than in the jungle?! What is thisssssssssss?

2020?!

So, the summary is: the homie guy is talking c@ck laaa! :)

47. #47 by ChinNA on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 3:48 am

Again, good policies with bad execution.

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 5:44 am

pamelaoda Says:

Yesterday at 14: 20.07
    “Saved your breath Undergrad. You can ask them for all the info you want, but can you believe it or not?”

I agree but it is the role of MPs as people’s representatives to get information, answers to our questions. Would we get some real answers from the Badawi administration or is it going to be a bunch of misinformation and disinformation, lies and deceit etc. We wouldn’t know unless we try. The failure to provide information or the unwillingness to do so speaks volumes about the integrity and transparency of this administration.

49. #49 by 318 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 8:31 am

syed hamid apa demi keselamatan negara? Sudahlah sh lebih punya cakap mengapa orang yang masuk tanpa surat sah dapat PT dengan mudah sahaja manakala dilahir di sini pergi balik ke jabatan immigesen masih lagi di proses atau gagal

50. #50 by saiful on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 8:44 am

Perhaps Lim Kit Siang have a China lady wife and that’s why he is so concerned bout this matters….tq Kit Siang as i also wanted to marry a russian lady ;)

51. #51 by lupus on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 9:23 am

I think you are missing the point here. Take your average JI terrorist from indonesia, He got the proper kulitfication and probably have a PDRM file on him/her. Probably does not even pay taxes, is give the NEP benefits and make plenty of bribes/fraud inorder to fund criminal/terorist activities . Hence, it is earlier to process and give them a PR quickly. Home office knows them well.

Your average foreign citizen who pays taxes, gets not NEP benefit, contributes to the Malaysian economy in significant way and does not have a PDRM record anywhere (hence PDRM does not know about them).

See the difference……..BN does not want upstanding foreigners.

52. #52 by cheng on soo on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:12 am

Aiyah, Sye.. Ham.. cakap terang terang lah, dasar kita untuk menerima orang yang beragama dan berkulit yang sesuai sahaja, yang lain kita tidak boleh timbang, selain dari jika dia boleh menyumbangkan cukup RM…… kepada pihak yang betul.
    Hei, Saiful, jangan menuduh LKS tanpa bukti, mahu kahwin perempuan Rusia, kahwin sahaja lah, kenapa nak tuduh ??

53. #53 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:17 am

Stop wasting time on this useless officialdom & BN govt. Change the racist, incompetent, corrupted, power crazy BN govt and all its similar minded useless govt servants once and for all!!!

54. #54 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:26 am

Saiful,

You talked nonsense, no wonder your are still washing the trousers for people!!! Ask your Cantonese speaking friend if you have any!!!

55. #55 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 10:34 am

BN govt ways is not to do things the legal ways, unless you have the same kulitfications & religion!!! else, you need to do things the illegal ways i.e. through corruption, lies etc. !!!

56. #56 by khooi on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 11:31 am

I know a lot of taiwanese ladies who married M’sian is having problem to get the PR status even applied for it since more than 10 years ago.
    It kind of sad in this situation where there is not clear guideline on the procedures of the PR application. It will introduce corruption if the approval procedures is not clear and it’s by case by case basis. It’s true that it will end up with have to ‘buy’ the PR status by spending a lot of $$ to the person in charge.

57. #57 by yog7948 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 12:47 pm

The government is to embark on operations to flush out and deport illegal immigrants in Sabah, after severe criticism of its inaction to date-malaysiakini

Pity in sabah, if you see less people in town areas that means goverment is going to ANNOUNCE about some “Ops” in another FEW WEEK time. Thats how fast any confidential BN news reach those illegal immigrants!

By now, most of them which yet to get MyCard are having a nice payed holiday in their home country. Those with MyCards.. enjoying a nice Kopi “O”.

58. #58 by 318 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 6:28 pm

hello saiful kalau encik Lim ada isteri dari cina dan awak ada isteri dari russia cuba pohon pt untuk isteri masing masing awak fikir siapa yang akan dapat kelulusan dulu awak tentu faham maksud saya kalau tidak pergi selidik dahulu

59. #59 by rainbowseahorse on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 8:44 pm

One of my friends married a Philippino woman some 16 years ago. As advised by our Malaysian Immigration, he took her back to Manilar to conduct a wedding there, got papers from the embassy, declaration papers that she was still single before marrying my friend, etc2 spending more then rm10k in the process. Back in Malaysia, my friend went through all the formalities and submitted documentations to the immigration department. After numerous enquiries and six years later, he was informed by the immigration that his documents have been ‘misplaced’ by some immigration people in KL and he has to re-submit all the documents again. He did that and now, some 16 plus years and three children, he is still in the dark as to the fate of his wife’s PR status.

Why all the hussle and difficulties in getting that elusive PR?
    Oh, simply because they are Christians!

60. #60 by The Enforcer on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 9:57 pm

Can you peace loving M’sians remember that this is what the old TDM wanted during his reign, that M’sia should have a population of 70 million!! So their criteria for a quick PR status is kulitfication!!!
    So their defination of ‘demi keselamatan negara’ is to increase the instanceses of crime in the country. How many of the crimes todate are committed by these ‘legal’ illegals??? Of course these GOONS have bodyguards everywhere they go cos’ they can afford it with the ill gotten money so easily available by the millions. Dare them or their family members to move around without these guards.Tell the GOONIE minister to stop talking rubbish. Corruption to the highest level!!!

61. #61 by Anak Malaysia on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 1:03 am

The invasion of illegal migrants from neighboring countries to become legal citizens in Malaysia are very rampant nowadays. The legitimasing of foreign invaders are very TRUE story but hard to denial the whole Truth but nothing, the Truth in Malaysia. If you dont believed it or not, try asking a Muslim taxi driver and a Muslim hawker at Chow Kit road. Both of them speak fluent neighbourhood of Bahasa Bapak Indon but non Bahasa Melayu.

Simple remarks given by those Filipino guy on real permanent resident (PR) issue and the legitimated Indo-Malaysian will tell frank comments. They secured the PR red IC with local authorities help on conditions that they will rent their local licences in doing hawker businesses or driving taxis for better living in Malaysia. Malaysia is a heaven compared with their own Hell country. When huge bribes in the corrupted cronies’ administration is also part of the blame for the increased of illegal migrants to become legal PR in Malaysia Heaven as compared with their own Hell countries.

The Chinese said “Paper cannot cover up a Fire”, but the Malay saying ” Mana ada Asap kalau tiada API ” means “Where Smoke Come From If Without Fire”.

The above local proverbs are to remind all Malaysians that our GOONs – Big Foots and Big Monkeys have failed their tests on good governance and their poor leadership skills in controlling the public orders of the day.

Many true rich and intelligent foreigners and spouses were turned down on their applications for PR status here because of damn few good reasons:-

(a) they are non-Muslim faith;
    (b) they are too smart and intellingent for a real security threats,
    (c) they opposed to our good governance faiths;
    (d) they are too rich to buy all nation properties and companies are dangerous for cronies and corruptors.

Last but not least, PRs and Foeigners will never love to stay longer here and wll reject the super packages from Second Home campaign because of poor public delivery system, high corruptions and cronies, poor 3rd class education standard, poor political stability, high living costs, high personal taxes, high fuel prices and etc. Nothing more to comments.

Regards,

PR Malaysian Today

62. #62 by KS R on Friday, 27 June 2008 - 2:05 am

Hi YB

Unless you convert to muslim then it is easy or you go to Sabah and Sarawak. But noN muslim it is not easy to get PR please ensure that the Govemrnent should set up a rule rather talking story

63. #63 by dr suresh kumar on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 12:30 am

I read in horror recently that 40,000 Indian Malaysian children mainly from the estates are without birthcertificates.Since they were not admitted into the national schools,some of them were accepted by Tamil schools.Recently those schools were ordered by the education minister and its officials to dismiss these poor kids.

What a cruel govt is this?Instead of helping these kids the govt chose to deprive them of basic education.What more can those helpless foreign spouses expect?Isn’t this racism to the core as championed by the Maharacist Mahathir?

64. #64 by badak on Saturday, 28 June 2008 - 11:33 pm

With all the unnecessary red tape ,That is why corruption is so high in all goverment departments.
    Want building plans to be approve fast… No problem just pay coffee money
    want your medical report fast… No problem just pay coffee money.
    want police to give a good report … no problem… just pay coffee money.
    Things had become so bad , that even if you want the authorities to release your love one,s body …No problem just pay.

65. #65 by nilam on Tuesday, 1 July 2008 - 6:06 pm

Hello, YB…
    Kenapa kita sering mempertikaikan pemberian taraf Pemastautin Tetap kepada sesorang? Saya harap semua orang harus faham dengan isu ini. Di Sabah khasnya, ramai orang2 yang “teraniaya” dengan pemberian taraf Pemastautinn Tetap ini. Cuba tuan2 selidik berapa ramai penduduk Sabah yang memasuki Sabah semasa zaman kolonial British, namun sehingga kini mereka masih memegang kad pengenalan pemastautin sementara dan yang parah mereka masih berstatus PTI. Mereka langsung tidak diberi layanan yang baik semasa berurusan dengan Jabatan Imigresen mengakibatkan mereka rasa terhina diperlakukan seperti itu. Bertimbang rasalah sikit. Beginikah cara kita melayan manusia mengikut acuan Malaysia? Jangan terlalu prejudis… Saya sangat kasihan melihat kawan saya yang menjadi mangsa “kekejaman” ini. Bapa dia telah lama di Sabah, tetapi sehingga kini dia masih berstatus “Pemastautin Sementara” walaupun hakikatnya dia mempunyai Permit Masuk British. Manakah keadilan kita? Sudah hilang kah sifat PERIKEMANUSIAAN yang ada pada kita? Saya harap YB ambil perhatian aduan saya.

Regards,
    HAK MANUSIA

66. #66 by jaaacky on Wednesday, 9 July 2008 - 3:12 am

“TANAH KELAHIRANKU,AKU INGIN BERBAKTI KEPADAMU,BANTULAH AKU”

Saya mempunyai seorang kawan yang dikatakan kurang bernasib baik. Dia dilahirkan di Sabah dari pasangan warga Indonesia yang sudah lama menetap di sini. Pasangan ini telah masuk ke sini sejak berumur dalam lingkungan 20 an, dan berkahwin di sini.Bapa berkerja dalam sektor pembalakan and ibu hanya sebagai suri rumah tangga. Kehidupan masa lalu merupakan satu kenangan yang indah, terutamanya pada zaman kanak-kanak.Walaupun kehidupan yang sederhana dia cukup gembira berada di tanah ini. Masa itu, tidak terfikir lagi akan masa hadapan.Ibu bapa telah menghantar dia di sekolah kerajaan penuh. Pada waktu sekolah rendah, semuanya baik.Masuk ke peringkat sekolah menengah dia mula sedar akan masa hadapan yang akan ditempuhinya. Beban kewangan mula dirasai apabila kerajaan Malaysia mula mengenakan yuran kepada pelajar asing. Walau apa pun, ibu bapanya telah berusaha menanggung semua kos pembelajarannya. Selepas lulus kepujian dalam peperiksaan SPM dia malanjutkan pelajaran keperingkat STPM.Pada peringkat ini dia mula merasakan tekanan hidup dalam memikirkan masa depannya yang gelap kerana tidak mempunyai apa pun taraf kewarganegaraan malaysia, yang ada hanyalah sijil kelahiran. Pada tahun 1996 dia telah membuat permohonan untuk medapatkan kad pengenalan malaysia. Satu reset pengenalan sementara telah diberikan untuk menunggu dan merujuk pengeluaran kad pengenalan yang sebenar. Tahun yang pertama kad pengenalan belum keluar lagi. Tahun kedua, tiba-tiba reset pengenalan sementaranya diambil dan digunting oleh JPN. Dengan perasaan hancur dan kecewa dia pulang ke rumah memikirkan masa depannya yang bertambah gelap. Tidak tahu apa yang perlu dibuat, dia meneruskan hidup sebagai anak pendatang asing di Tanah Kelahirannya sendiri.Setelah tamat STPM, dia tidak dapat meneruskan pelajarannya ke peringkat universiti kerana masalah kewarganegaraan. Hati yang patah melihat rakan sekolah yang lain berjaya melanjutkan pelajaran. Pernah dia memohon melanjutkan pelajaran ke Kolej swasta dan ditawarkan kursus ” enviroment health” kerana dia sangat berminat dalam bidang sains tetapi dia diarahkan memohon pas pelajar dari imigresen terlebih dahulu. Namun,Permohonannya telah ditolak TANPA ALASAN YANG MUNASABAH walaupun semua yang diperlukan dalam borang permohonan telah dipenuhinya.Sungguh mengecewakan, sekali lagi hatinya hancur.Setiap hari sehingga kini dia masih memikirkan akan apa masa depannya, kekadang dia berasa geram kerana nasibnya yang malang sehinggahkan dia tidak dapat menahan air matanya. Pernah sekali dia hampir putus harapan dan memohon supaya hidupnya berakhir saja daripada hidup dalam kepinggiran.Penat sudah. Penat sudah.Itulah yang dirasakannya.Kalaulah dia tahu beginilah nasib yang menimpahnya apalah gunanya dia bersekolah sehinggah ke peringkat STPM? lebih baik setakat darjah 2 yang penting tahu membaca, menulis dan mengira.Walau apa pun hidup ini harus diteruskan. Dia tetap berusaha dan berharap.Kini dia telah membuat permohonan PR dan berharap kerajaan meluluskannya dalam masa yang singkat kerana kini dia sudah berumur 25 tahun dan banyak yang diimpikannya demi bagsa, raja dan negara.Ditanah inilah dia mula memijakkan kaki yang pertama kalinya, Ditanah inilah dia memulakan nafas yang pertama kalinya.Ditanah inilah juga bermula sejarah hidupnya.Di tahan inilah dia mengimpikan cita-cita, impian dan harapan menjadi kenyataan. Ditanah inilah dia mahu berbakti, berjuang, dan berjasa kepada kepada bangsa, raja dan negara sesuai dengan rukun negara yang selalu diungkapkannya semasa zaman persekolahannya. —
    BANTULAH MEREKA

67. #67 by nilam on Friday, 11 July 2008 - 12:05 pm

Ya ALLAH… Melalui forum ini, saya merayu kepada mereka yang berkuasa agar menolong mereka yang “teraniaya” ini… Bukan kehendak mereka akan jadi PTI di negara kelahiran mereka. Disebabkan kebodohan ibubapa mereka, mereka terasing di bumi tempat tumpah darah mereka sendiri. Berila peluang kepada mereka yang “TERANIAYA” ini untuk mencapai hasrat dan cita-cita mereka yang telah tersemat sekian lama. Mereka amat mengharap bantuan. Mereka ingin berbakti di Tanah Tempat Tumpah Darah mereka sendiri. Kebanyakan dari mereka mempunyai kemahiran dan tahap pelajaran yang Tinggi. Sekiranya mereka diberi peluang, mereka akan berbakti dengan ikhlas demi kemajuan negara ini selaras dalam prinsip RUKUNEGARA yang mereka selalu ikrarkan semasa di bangku sekolah. Jaaacky… terima kasih kerana simpati dengan penderitaan kawan kita yang “TERANIAYA” ini…..

68. #68 by zai_astanaunggul on Friday, 5 September 2008 - 12:26 am

Ketika membaca ruangan dan komen yang diberi perasaan saya bercampur baur..siapa yang hendak disalahkan dalam perkara ini..masing masing mempunyai agenda sendiri demi memenuhi keperluan dan kekurangan individu itu sendiri..Saya berterima kasih kepada ibu bapa saya yang menjadikan saya pemegang kad pengenalan biru.maka saya aman tinggal disini dan bebas bersuara.tapi apakan suara saya bersama suara yang lain mampu memberi perubahan kepada pemerintah diatas sana.mari kita cuba disini…
    apa yang menarik saya untuk masuk ruangan ini adalah kerana saya mungkin akan bakal menempuh nasib seperti yang kalian ceritakan.mungkin juga tidak.Saya akan berkahwin dengan warga asing dan kami mengambil keputusan untuk menetap di bumi bertuah ini..bakal suami saya berasal dari romania dan telah memeluk islam.kerana cinta sejati kami beliau bertekad meninggalkan kerjaya dan kehidupannya yang sempurna di Dublin sebagai engineer untuk berpindah dan berkerja disini. saya berhasrat agar dia mengendalikan perniagaan yang saya usahakan sebelum ini kerana saya berazam untuk menjadi suri rumah tangga sepenuh masa.
    namun persoalan telah mula timbul.Adakah senang bagi beliau untuk mendapat kerakyatan sebagai penduduk tetap? mampukah beliau menguruskan perniagaan mengikut acuan kita(duit kopi/money under table or under paper or some money have to include together just to make thing fast..or some persent for me when u close the deal)arggh..rumit..lemas..tertindas..sebagai rakyat malaysia saya sudah bosan ini semua.mungkin saya akan mendidik bakal suami saya pula selepas ini.Mungkin beliau lebih cekap dari saya siapa sangka..dan saya akan bersara diarena ini.arena yang mematangkan saya dalam perjuangan hidup dan memberikan saya degree in school of life.saya sudah mahir berurusan dengan mereka.mereka mendidik saya menjadikan saya pandai, cekap dan berjaya.urus niaga saya menjadi mudah.saya tidak anti mereka.saya mulai menyukai mereka.dan mereka menyukai saya.malah saya lebih suka berurusan secara telus dan bersih agar keadilan itu ada.kerana saya bersikap terbuka. setiap manusia perlu bersaing , rajin dan berusaha dalam mencapai kejayaan..mereka juga bersaing dan golongan yang demand ini adalah juga golongan yang ingin berkuasa dan memenuhi segala tuntutan nafsu mereka. mereka adalah sama seperti kita,Saya mengambil peluang ini dan bersyukur kerana masih mampu mengajikan pekerja saya dan keluarga mereka. tetapi setelah berjaya kita jangan mengenepikan nilai moral kita iaitu bersyukur dan bersedekah…rakyat malaysia pemurah,,pepatah melayu lama ada menyebut..orang berbudi kita berbahasa.orang memberi kita merasa. untuk hidup kita kena jadi sebahagian dan selicik mereka dalam berurus niaga. Hanya dengan wang kita mampu bersaing dan mendahului mereka yang lain.hanya nampak gah kita dikenali dimata dunia .walau berhutang berbilion (RM). negara sangup melabur untuk meraih kembali keuntungan dikemudian hari agar rakyat terus hidup aman dan sejahtera.diakui rakyat malaysia masih lembab dan pemalas..terutama bangsa melayu.mereka terlalu banyak kemudahan yang diberi oleh kerajaan. persolan nya adakah kita juga sanggup melabur.(give n get the profit) sedia maklum hanya wang yang mempu menjana ekonomi negara.wang juga menjana ekonomi kita..Dan bagaimana pula mereka yang tidak licik..dan mereka yang miskin atau (anti) tidak berperinsip bergitu..adakah mereka perlu menunggu dan bila peluang mereka akan tiba..so get up..jangan jadi dungu dengan remeh ini..mana yang belum dapat pr..terus kan usaha dan berjuang..why not kalau perlu tunggu didepan pejabat mereka setiap hari.Hari -hari tengok muka kamu tentu mereka juga akan rimas seperti kamu. cuba berkampung disitu seminggu mungkin kamu dapat PR kamu selepas itu.nampakkan kesungguhan kamu,,.atau belanja mereka secawan kopi dikantin.atau sebungkus rokok untuk mereka,mungkin ajak -ajak ayam juga sudah cukup memadai bagi mereka untuk nampak ketelusan dan kesungguhan hati kamu untuk menjadi warga malaysia ,mereka dengan senang hati menolong dan membantu kamu untuk memenuhi hajat yang kamu mahukan. adat melayu..orang memberi kita merasa ..orang berbudi kita berbahasa.dan u berurusan diatas sana juga dengan 99% orang melayu.mereka ramah tamah..suka dipuji dan diampu.politik lah sikit brother.puji akak imegrisen dikuanter, lipstick nya cantik mungkin turut membantu,..mereka akan terus untuk suka membantu kamu.(harap akak tu tak bad mood day sudah) jangan mudah berperasangka..bermula dengan negetif maka resultnya juga negatif.
    sokong dan support mereka ..kerana mereka bersikap begitu kerana mereka juga asal tertindas dan malang seperti kita..mungkin mereka melalui cara dan permasalah yang berbeza..kenapa indon itu mudah kerana mereka rajin..mereka itu pandai..mereka melabur sedikit hanya untuk kemudahan dan kesenagan pada kendian hari..kita misti pandai mengambil peluang ,jadilah warga yang peramah dan pemurah..walaupun rm 10 ringgit di poket tidak mampu membeli mereka cukup hanya dengan senyuman lantas hubungan terjalin..kenapa perlu takut dan risau kalau niat itu betul dan suci..mohon saja PR. biar lambat atau susah..perkara yang susah untuk kita dapat itu akan menjadikan kita lebih menghargai..mana yang telah dapat PR tahniah dan jaga lah kerakyatan tersebut dengan baik dan amanah,,berbaktilah kepada negara dan bangsa..mana-mana yang memang rakyat malaysia bersyukurlah..sayanglah malaysia kerana diluar sana berjuta warga asing yang impikan dan cemburui kita..dan untuk my darling Shaqiehuddin Florin Popa..we together will fight to get ur PR darling dont worry,,i promise u that, ..hidup malaysia..tanah tumpah darahku..malaysia.