Pakatan Rakyat Protest Oil Hikes Ceramah

Speakers: Anwar Ibrahim
Hadi Awang
Lim Guan Eng
Lim Kit Siang

Venue – City Stadium, Penang (Lorong Kulit)

Date: Sunday 15th June 2008 – 8.30 pm

1. #1 by kentutoyol on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 7:07 pm

Surely the rakyat would like to know PR views on this important issue.

2. #2 by StevePCH on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 7:44 pm

YB, It’s just crazy what this BN has done. It really does not make sense as a net exporter to do this while we are still able to absorb the subsidy. Can there be any more in depth investigations ?
    Also, I was in a BN stronghold when BN supporters voiced strong opposition to the price hike. These are common hardcore BN supporters talking in a local warung in Pahang with BN flags hanging all over. Well , it really seems like BN is DN.
    Please fight for us.
    It usually cost RM 110 for a round trip to Chukai, now it cost RM 180. Then the transportation cost etc…. it is impossible for BN to stop this inflation.

3. #3 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 7:46 pm

Will be there. All Penangnites who love Penang must be there.

Blood-Suckers

GE 13 – No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for the past fifty years.

4. #4 by robert wong on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 8:13 pm

BN has mismanaged our most important resources “our people and oil” for 50 years. The only way to turn back the time is to solidly bring the BN down . Once the oil-sucking leeches suck out all the oil , they will start sucking blood from the rakyat.

5. #5 by isahbiazhar on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 8:37 pm

As long as the PR does not control the Federal government it is just futile holding all these ceramahs.Anyway it gives an outlet for the people to hear.Please give justifiable reasons and do not be carried away.All these meetings are a victory for the PR and make full use of them to popularise your ideology.These times are god sent.

6. #6 by Damocles on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 8:41 pm

We are not just paying for more expensive oil.
    Once the price of oil goes up, everything will follow.
    Worse still, when the price of oil goes down (if it were to go down), the price of everything that was affected by oil will still remain unchanged.

7. #7 by humanly on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 8:54 pm

Sorry for out of topic.

Hannah Yeoh’s interview at MKini very impressive. She deserves recognition by Marie Claire for being a woman of style and substance.

Her humility during the interview speaks volume.

8. #8 by mickey01 on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 10:08 pm

As the result of oil hike, overall price increases of all goods and services exceeded the total cost of subsidy. Morever BN could have inflated the total cost of subsidy without giving public concrete proof of audited and accurate account.

9. #9 by lakilompat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 10:56 pm

Today there is a Malay snatch thieves come into the restaurant Jade Blossom at Krystal point. At that time, the restaurant if full house. Once we heard shouting “pak chio” mean “robbers” the restaurant manager ran out, with the victim’s husband who is also a patron of the restaurant. Both managed to bring down the bike, managed to catch the accomplice who is a lady.

Things like this already happening in Penang, watch out all Penang ladies with bags around their waist. Bad times like this, is very dangerous.

10. #10 by yhsiew on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:03 pm

Natural gas is also heavily subsidized apart from petrol. Having been through this round of inordinate petrol price hike, the government should learn the lesson and take early actions to pre-empt foreseeable problems caused by future natural gas hikes such as high electrical energy costs (originated from gas-turbine driven power plants), expensive cooked meals sold in restaurants and exorbitant charge for laundry service in hospitals and hotels.

11. #11 by lovemalaysiaforever on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:17 pm

Petrol hike has cause lot of difficulty to all of us, lower income group have the most impact..

Not only with limited income but also limited time to go for others part-time job. One word – The employer said you have to “Work Like Hell!” So everybody will have to work like hell in order to stay on their job otherwise will be kicked out…without basic salary increase, cut down incentives or maybe allowances also may need to work more overtime. These people already facing so much stress in their daily working days (Mon to Sat) somemore AAB want them to queue up number in order to get back their rebates..what a chaos..

Blame to those who simply votes for BN in the GE13, not only BN are blood suckers to Rakyat’s fund but also time rapist..

12. #12 by fighter on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:22 pm

As a net exporter of oil, consumers should be charged “cost plus” and not on market price. Assuming cost is RM 0.16/litre, charging the old price of RM 1.92, Petronas was making a profit of RM 1.76/litre i.e 11 times its cost! So why the Govt. is talking of heavy subsidy to the consumers when it is making such a huge profit and increase it further by another 41%! If it is net importer, then market price is applicable.

The Govt. talked of subsidy to consumers of oil when in fact it squandered the oil profits by for example building the double-tracking rails from Rawang to Ipoh at a cost of RM 3 billions.Just imagine after completion at such high cost for more than a year, it still have no trains to run on it! As if, if this is not enough it had awarded another double-tracking rails without tender from Ipoh to Kayu Hitam at a cost of RM 13 billions. Even if the train traffic is to multiply by more than 100%, no way will this exorbitant cost be recovered! This will be the biggest white elephant!

13. #13 by lakilompat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:23 pm

Well, guys i was thinking to meet YB to discuss there is actually another option which is the biodiesel, we can collect all the used cooked oil from all the fast food chain, hawkers, mamak then recycle these cooked oil into bio diesel. Contact me if anyone interested to meet up and discuss on this.

Because in US, there are no people took to the street even though petrol per barrel is forecasted to go USD 250 per barrel next year, as they already maximize the use of biodiesel for truck, and tractor.

First of all, fuel price increase is not the end of the world, the end of the world are the domino effect it brings all of us living in Malaysia.

I do hope DSAI can quickly reform the cabinet on September 16th, 2008. Then quickly implement alternative fuel, like biodiesel for all trucks, buses, and heavy vehicles. If all Malaysian use Biodiesel or Natural Gas (NGV) there will be 0 pollution on the street.

14. #14 by lakilompat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:27 pm

By the way, after DSAI clinched to power, the 1st priority is to make Penang a FREE PORT, where foreigner can come to invest, we have 700K of people living in Penang island, that’s 3 times less than Singapore capacity, we can do a better job than Singapore by opening up free port.

Remove or consolidate all the tolls, create government tolls, which govt. will earn income from tolls rather than sub contract it.

Privatization is evil, if it is managed by cronies, hence please console all the power.

15. #15 by lakilompat on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:28 pm

From today onwards, all stop pump from Petronas.

16. #16 by OCSunny on Saturday, 14 June 2008 - 11:58 pm

The finance ministry appears like a rojak, with so many things being implemented which do not seem to alleviate problems. Finance minister is not well versed in finance. Probably just follow what is being advised. Maybe the senior advisors are not really good enough and cannot see things in perspective and farsighted in so far as finance of Malaysia is concerned. Therefore, the finance minister and should give way to someone more capable and can manage the finance ministry.

A Prime Minister should concentrate being PM and do well. Why the additional minister of finance and at one time also the home ministry. You cannot be in two or three boats at one time.

17. #17 by blablowbla on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 12:22 am

we blame ourselves,we let the BN rules the country for so long!

our gomen r very smart,they employed 2 million (1)SERVANTS (dun listen to the 1 million they said,teachers,police,army,nurses,dbkl,PBTs,bomba,customs,immigrations,FRU,PGA,navy alredy surpassed 1 million mark!),quite a big numbers are getting (2)PENSIONS,(3)HOSPITALS , TREATMENTS AND MEDICINES,(4)MOSQUES,(5)SCHOOLS,(5)POLICE STATIONS,(6)GOMEN OFFICE EQUIPMENTS,APPARUTUS,MAINTENANCE,RENOVATIONS,(7)SUBSIDIES,(8)ROYAL FAMILIES INCENTIVES…………..everyday,these expenditures are tearing our fund apart for the past 50 years,ppl said,where got free lunch in this world,but,the worst thing ever happened is,majority of our country rakyat are lazy (pls study the GDP),so we are now facing the consequences!right?

i think this sudden increment of petrol price is a strategy!!!
    samy has used it many times (for tolls)!

believe me,later they will lower it back to around RM2/litre,then a big gomen medias will do propaganda saying that,see,our gomen is very humanizing,loves and cares the ppl(unless the price hit above USD180/barrel,they cant do it!)!!!!!this is to prevent DSAI to topple the present gomen around september this year!

18. #18 by blablowbla on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 12:33 am

just like playing poker,the last card is not allowed to be revealed!the BN will do whatever it takes to prevent PR from becoming the gomen,once the card is unveil,it’s the smallest ‘2’ there,then their shits will hit the fans,most of the BN leaders will be prosecuted.

19. #19 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 1:07 am

>Sarawak Housing Minister and PBB No 2 Abang Johari could be appointed deputy chief minister to represent the Malay community in the impending cabinet reshuffle.

How many of Malaysians know that Malays in Sarawak are in fact marginalised? Malays are not marginalised by Ibans/Dayaks or Chinese, but by a small group of population called Melanau. Ever since the ‘sacking’ of the then Iban/Dayak chief Minister, Sarawak fell into the hand of Melanau kingdom. It started with Rahman Yakob, and then transferred to his niece, Taib Mahmud (and Taib made his uncle the governor). Since then, Melanau have been holding some high positions and posts in the government. This is clearly a case of minority controlling the majority, like former South Africa.

I am not sure how long this empire will last, if it will be longer than the Brooke’s family. Brooke’s empire ended with the third white Rajahs handing power to the British (confirmed the Chinese saying that the power and wealth will not last for more than three generations)

20. #20 by cemerlang on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 1:33 am

Not just the petrol hike but management of finances by the government.

21. #21 by dawsheng on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 3:21 am

Case is closed. UMNO is going down!

22. #22 by dawsheng on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 3:25 am

Will Najib be the last Prime Minister from UMNO? Anyway, who needs a Prime Minister that always reminds you of murder?

23. #23 by TurboDiesel on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 5:14 am

@blablowbla

Please get your Facts Right. Governmant Servants salary if you compare with private sector is very low by a handsome margin. Due to this it is compensated by allowance and perks such as Gov Loans, pensions schemes, cheap medical service etc etc. Bear in mind that Goverment staff dont have EPF and they also pay taxes.
    And dont you ever say all those perks Government staff/ Civil Staff is a waste of Tax payers money or tearing up our funds. Any Governement Servant around the world is having the same Perks in fact in some countries, their welfare is much more better taken care of.

A Waste of Tax payers money is spending policy by BN REGIME such as useless MEGA PROJECTS, “PROJEK GULUNG TIKAR” By Cronies” and overpriced procurement by GOV, commisions in every purchace etc etc..

24. #24 by penang308 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:51 am

The time is now to change the “RACIST BN GOVERNMENT”!

Why wait?

25. #25 by cvl on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 12:51 pm

I think this ceramah should empower the public at large to surface their latent power block which the government has all this while taken for a ride. But, that the public should also recognize the need to be incisive, and to take the higher moral grounds when expressing the so called people’s power so as to avoid being a nuisance in itself.

As I see it, there should be a review of the Malaysian macro and micro fundamentals, and a set of economic tweaks to be embarked to bring the economy level with most progressive Asian or for that matter SEAsean countries.

From this building block, the ceramah should describe the various incisive measures the public can take without further adding on to the chaos of everyday life gone price hiking. For one, the public should be offered a number of actions they can embark of their choice. One obvious action case is for the public to express their resonance with Petronas, their national oil company. As I see it, the best leverage available to the public is to shift the fulcrum in such a way Petronas can be won over the public side.

The government WILL listen, and listen pretty quickly, if Petronas takes the side of the public.

Please do not exacerbate public resource already thin and scarce on the ground

26. #26 by johnson chong on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 1:27 pm

As the bible said we are nearing doomsday and the day is already here with UMNO & his cronies pushing the people to the corner.

27. #27 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 2:33 pm

What have been happening and what the BN government has been doing lately, wittingly or unwittingly, one wonders as if there’s divine intervention coming down hard on misdeeds and corruption as retribution.

When the BN government hiked up the fuel price it was hoping that through ‘info’ of BN media and the impact of the move would be diluted by the global hike and protests and it went for broke. But seems like the the rakyat, again through the alternative media are not buying it and they are fighting back.

An intersting piece of news, – one of the organizers for GERAMM made a statement before the demonstration at Kpg Baru mosque that the police would not disturb the demo but in fact would help because they themselves feel the pinch from the fuel price hike!

28. #28 by ktteokt on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 3:14 pm

Don’t wait for GE13 to throw out BN, do it with GE12.5! The sooner this group of blood suckers are thrown out, the better for the nation and the people!

29. #29 by blowfish on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 3:52 pm

First, they told a lie that it was a subsidy. Look at the prices of other oil exporting nations, we’re the highest.

Not many people know this but the Malaysian oil grade, Tapis, is the highest grade in the world and is evident in its price, being the highest in the world. What they didn’t tell you is that the export the expensive stuff and import the cheaper stuff for local consumption. There’s a profit here and they claim it’s a subsidy???

It looks like a negative subsidy. We’re overpaying for oil that is…

30. #30 by k1980 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 4:19 pm

Who is going to leave BN before the end of the month?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/National/2268162/Article/index_html

31. #31 by Godfather on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 4:25 pm

Kit:

When you guys continue your protests, do so professionally – with facts and figures. Don’t speculate, don’t bring up anything that could be proven to be false or misleading or downright wrong.

I notice that Guan Eng has called for the gas subsidies to the IPPs to be abolished. He must have been advised by that clown Jeff Ooi. I kept trying to tell Jeff Ooi that there is no such thing as “gas subsidies to the IPPs” but he would not listen. He thinks that he knows more about the subject than anyone else. He thinks he is on to a major “scandal”. Petronas is not subsidising IPPs – they are subsidising TNB because fuel is a pure passthrough under the PPAs, and whatever Petronas charges the IPPs, the IPPs pass this cost straight to TNB. The IPPs don’t make any money from fuel, so to call for the end of subsidies to the IPPs is simply erroneous.

Don’t let Jeff Ooi’s blind arrogance get you guys into trouble. I tried telling him that I am one of the pioneers of the IPP structure in Malaysia (and several other countries in Asia) but Jeff Ooi simply banished my comments and clarifications to outer space.

32. #32 by Damocles on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 4:27 pm

“Don’t wait for GE13 to throw out BN, do it with GE12.5! The sooner this group of blood suckers are thrown out, the better for the nation and the people!” – ktteokt

You’ve said it!
    There’s not a moment too soon!!

33. #33 by k1980 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 5:12 pm

In Article 43 of the Federal Constitution — and it says that it is the “…Yang di-Pertuan Agong shall first appoint as Perdana Menteri (Prime Minister) to preside over the Cabinet a member of the House of Representatives who in his judgment is likely to command the confidence of the majority of the members of that House…” – it is the Yang Di-Pertuan Agung that appoints the PM – not the current PM who decides on the next PM…

http://sloone.wordpress.com/2008/06/14/abdullah-najib-team-insults-the-king/#more-1311

34. #34 by citizenwatch on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 6:32 pm

Dr Chua Soi Lek was talking of trimming the govt’s fat. Yes, get rid of the BN leaders!

35. #35 by k1980 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:12 pm

Malaysians didn’t even know that the prime minister got a monthly entertainment stipend of RM18,865, his deputy RM15,015 and his Cabinet ministers RM13,320 a month each.

Malaysians also didn’t know that their ministers and their families were entitled to one all-expense paid holiday annually to any destination.
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/home/42-lead-stories/396-abdullahs-fuel-hike-move-falls-short

36. #36 by rainbowseahorse on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:37 pm

Dear Godfather,
    I can very well understands your sentiments when good advice fell on deaf ears and out amplified by some loud mouth “advisor” who claims to know it all. I am out of politics and will not get back into politics precisely for reasons such as yours. I don’t know why good politician tends to favor and listen more to unscrupulous and untrustworthy so-called advisors! It’s all so very frustrating and disheartening when you know the truths and facts, but yet they are discarded over some smart aleck who claims to know it all! In the end, we sadly see that good politician takes the fall over very bad advice.
    Nowadays, I just do politicking in my own ways by going to the grass roots and “slow talk” our rural people into voting for the right party. No more pressure and not that much hassle!

37. #37 by bernadette on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:40 pm

“Don’t let Jeff Ooi’s blind arrogance get you guys into trouble. I tried telling him that I am one of the pioneers of the IPP structure in Malaysia (and several other countries in Asia) but Jeff Ooi simply banished my comments and clarifications to outer space.” God father

pure arrogance on his part! not good for the image of DAP.

38. #38 by k1980 on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 7:42 pm

Look at the 2nd jobs civil servants such as soldiers are taking
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/NewsBreak/20080615182033/Article/index_html

39. #39 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 9:35 pm

But what about IPPs’ agreements with TNB. Was TNB given the free hand to negotiate those agreements? Remember why Ani Arope (sorry not sure how to spell) was asked to leave TNB?

I don’t think it is so straight forward. If agreements are lopsided, TNB must be subsidized and in this case the national oil corporation is of course the best candidate to shoulder the bill.

40. #40 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 9:40 pm

Out of RM50 to RM55 subsidies being bumped around in 2008, direct subsidies to be paid out of the Federal Govt Consolidated Fund as reported was about RM30 billion. The balance was Petronas’ subsidies to the energy sector (i.e TNB because of IPPs) and industrial sector.

41. #41 by Godfather on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 9:54 pm

If there was anything lopsided in the IPPs, it was the quantum of the capacity payments which were admittedly over the top. However, we have to understand that the first IPPs came about as a result of the Peninsular blackout of 1991 which upset Mahathir no end.

In every country, the first generation privatisations would inevitably be regarded as one-sided in favour of the private sector – we have seen that in Indonesia, Korea, Philippines, Thailand. What is important is that we must move forward and successive privatisations must move towards a more balanced risk-reward structure. I think in the IPP sector, we have done that – the last PPA with Jimah Power is miles better than the first PPA with YTL Power.

Gas is sold to IPPs at RM6.40 per million BTU. The IPPs pass the gas bills to TNB with no mark-up. If you change the gas price to be consistent with the international markets, the IPPs simply pass this to TNB who will inevitably have to pass the cost on to the consumers. Hence the RM 6.40 subsidised price benefits the consumer, not the IPPs and not TNB.

42. #42 by Godfather on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:00 pm

What Guan Eng has done is to call for the removal of the RM 6.40 subsidised price of gas, thinking that the IPPs get it at this price, but charge TNB at the current market price, which is almost 4 times higher. This is erroneous. TNB can’t absorb this increase in gas price, and would have to pass any fuel price increase to the consumers.

43. #43 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:02 pm

I know all these, but people are arguing that IPPs, particularly the earlier ones, are doing business without risk and therefore certainly should earn a return lower than what they are enjoying now.

44. #44 by wesuffer on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:05 pm

i suggest we had a big peaceful protest on 31th of august lar
    or merdeka eve

45. #45 by blowfish on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:18 pm

Godfather, we need you as our next Energy & Telco Minister…

46. #46 by Godfather on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:19 pm

What they are saying is that the capacity payments – fixed payments irregardless of whether the IPPs generate or not – are too high. These may admittedly be so, but then do we ignore the sanctity of contract ?

47. #47 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 10:32 pm

Earlier IPPs have both input cost and output revenue fixed with no risk or variations. So how many % should they rightly earn. The last time I check the risk free rates was 3.5%, Malaysian Government security 10 year tenure 4 to 4.5%? How many % are IPPs earning now?

Please don’t misconstrue me. NO jealousy here. Just trying to be rational. I invest in IPPs, you never go wrong with well managed IPPs.

48. #48 by blablowbla on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:03 pm

@turbo diesel:

dun get me wrong!

wat i meant was the BN gomen over-employed servants,and who pay for their pensions,medical,perks,allowances,petrol claims,and their family welfares too?you and i lah,dude!

u tink i m an idiot dun noe all the countries in other parts of the world also hv gomen servants?

we dun require such a big gomen forces,everything is computerised and IT orientated,i gv u a clue,in terms of cost of effectiveness in business,in the banking sector,CITI group better or Maybank?ofcourse u wud say in terms of national’s economy,Maybank provides more jobs,remember,this is a very high risk strategy,cos they are not collecting taxes like gomen!

coming to the issue of taxes,maybe u still fall asleep!did i ever say tat the gomen shouldnt use our taxes to pay them salaries?again,it was wat i said,at the earlier paragraph!

and wat u said in ur last paragraph,the whole world is saying,who doesnt noe ur mother is a female?

dun get me wrong!

49. #49 by Godfather on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:04 pm

Don’t compare with risk free rates now. Compare them at the time the IPPs were done i.e. early 90s. I believe at that time, MGS was going around 8.5 pct. The IPP senior debt (rated bonds) were yielding 11.25 pct, so what should the equity be yielding ? 15 pct ? 16 pct ?

Of course these rates look excessive now, but hindsight is 20:20. We should not begrudge what people make if it is perfectly legal and enforceable.

50. #50 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:15 pm

Ok, noted. Despite the windfall tax announced, many are still holding on to IPPs shares. I guess it is still good after the windfall tax.

51. #51 by Godfather on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:28 pm

What is important is that PR must not advocate the reneging of government contracts or concession agreements. The rule of law must prevail.

52. #52 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:32 pm

i hope you are not working for one of the IPPs. I never under estimate their power of influence and lobby.

53. #53 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:38 pm

The rule of law must prevail even if contracts are lopsided, perhaps concluded with collusion, conspiracy to cheat, and excessively profiteering? What about toll roads also? Are we to wait till all these contracts serve out. But then I am dead for sure, but what about this country and its economy?

54. #54 by limkamput on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:39 pm

should be By then i am …..for sure

55. #55 by Damocles on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 11:42 pm

I’m no lawyer but I’m wondering whether contracts that are way lopsided can be voided.
    Can lawyer visiting this blog answer this question?

56. #56 by blowfish on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 12:54 am

How to void when both parties to the contract consented by signing it? Unless a clause within the contract says that it can be reviewed in the future due to some new developments.

57. #57 by bernadette on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 6:27 am

“You people must take note that the reason why there are so few LNG stations is because …” linkamput

Only an arrogant twat would refer to others as “You people…”

58. #58 by blablowbla on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 8:32 am

@turbo diesel
    And dont you ever say all those perks Government staff/ Civil Staff is a waste of Tax payers money or tearing up our funds. Any Governement Servant around the world is having the same Perks in fact in some countries, their welfare is much more better taken care of.

=================================================

my dear turbo diesel,another example,the PDRM.
    we have about 180,000 police personnels,and 50,000 of retired police,the gomen is using our taxes to wage them,now,coming back to your above stupid remark again,i will reiterate once again,it’s a waste of money!!!
    wat’s the point of spending rm500,000,000/month (180,000 X average@rm2500 + 50,000 X average @rm1000)to a so callled peace and security department and majority of Rakyat still feel unsafe?(indirectly,we are throwing 1000 rapid kl’s buses into a gigantic lake!)
    i wud agree if the police are as efficient as singapore police,even cud pay them double,infact,this is wat exactly the singapore gomen do,it’s worth it!

59. #59 by ktteokt on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 9:23 am

This is the most brainless move by AAB.

60. #60 by limkamput on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 9:47 am

Only an arrogant twat would refer to others as “You people…” bernadatte @ coward

Please tell me something new. Participate in IPPs discussion would be more useful. But I guess you have nothing in your empty head, other than making one liner here and there. YOu can say whatever you want against me, but some would appreciate what i do.

61. #61 by lakilompat on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 11:00 am

Malaysia don’t even have Neighborhood Watch Program

Recently, while dining at a restaurant, a snatch thief came in to snatch a patron handbang, luckily the accomplice was captured by the owner and the victim husband, and the bike was abandoned by the snatch thief. Unfortunately the male mastermind ran away, in the state, people will be alerted to watch out for runaway snatch thief, in Taiwan as well, because in Taiwan there are many cctv and hidden surveillance cameras. Any crime is watch and will be tip off by people by calling hotline. E.g. if u notice the dog keep barking that fugitive might be hiding or passing the alley.

The police came 20 minutes later, then they said can’t touch female fugitive have to wait for female police to catch it. This is very funny, such law existed. Mean if the robber is female the police can’t do anything.

62. #62 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 1:14 pm

It more productive to use the time to protest to plan, innovate and strategise how are we going on to live in a world of high energy and fuel costs.

One look at the city roads, the jams are worse off than before the petrol and diesel price hike. Most if not all the cars and vehicles are single occupancies, the lone driver inside. It is about 2 weeks since the hike, the jam on the roads in the city are deteriorating.

So, what does such scenarion portray and indicate?

They do not give a damn!

63. #63 by ablastine on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 3:33 pm

In my estimation the UMNO government under the Badawi leadership has done the one and only important thing for the country. The partial removal of petrol and disel subsidy is a necessary evil. Of course the sleeping PM does not understand fully the reasons and the repercussions on the country but that alone does not strip it of its importance.Just because Malaysia is a net exporter of crude does not mean that it has to subsidise it at as ridiculous a level as it has. This pain which we are all suffering from high petrol cost is not just being felt by us alone but by almost every one and every country which has some need for oil and that includes country like Norway which is also a net oil exporter. Let’s not get too emotional over this. We should concentrate our remaining time and effort on finding alternatives and changing our life style and the government of course has to be more prudent and be more serious on energy usage, wastage and public transport.

To spend all the revenue of our precious natural resources just to artificially depress the price of oil by ridiculously high subside is really robbing our future generations of the bounty of the country. When our oil wells run dry in a few years time what is going to happen. I would rather that we understand now what is going to happen in the not so distant future when Petronas no longer can contribute 30% of our GNP. What are we going to do about it? Demonstration on the streets, finding scapegoats, name calling and threatening the topple the government are the last things that can solve this problem.

Our neighbour, Singapore has never ever even thought of providing a single cent in oil subsidy. It can if it wants, subsidise oil for 100 years with its huge foreign reserve making motorist and oil dependant industries very happy. But what then when the foreign reserves get depleted. Are we expecting our our future generations then to go back and live with a medieval standard of living and start butchering each other as the Africans are doing now. So let us be realistic. What has come has to come. It is better we have more time to adjust to it than be stunt by it when the oil spigot just come dry in due time.

64. #64 by Kasim Amat on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 4:13 pm

I am trying to join the protest if there is one coming up soon. Can anyone tell me the place and date in advance? Thanks.

65. #65 by Godfather on Monday, 16 June 2008 - 5:41 pm

Kasim Amat:

Are you joining the protest in your Bentley ? Tell your masters not to worry, we will give the den of thieves as much advance notice as we can.

66. #66 by Margeemar on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 8:27 am

Some people like Joachim Xavier hold the view that in a democracy a party that wants to form a government must do so through the ballot box. These people feel it is unethical for any political party to form a government through the defections MP’s from other parties.
    However, what I saw and experienced on Sunday evening at the City Stadium in Penang only reinforces the belief that regime change in this country is at hand.

Thousands of ordinary people from all walks of life flocked to the Stadium to cheer and listen to the Pakatan Rakyat leaders that included Mat Sabu, Lim Kit Siang, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Lim Guan Eng. This was not an election ceramah (rally). This was merely an Evening by the Leaders of Pakatan Rakyat with the People (Malam Pemimpin Bersama Rakyat). Yet, thousands turned up at the stadium. Some were there as early as 6pm eventhough the first Speaker started speaking only at 9.15pm.

There were no announcements in the MSM as usual about the event but yet thousands turned up. This only cements the fact that the People have accepted Pakatan Rakyat and rejected the BN.

You can actually feel and hear the anger of the people against the BN/Umno regime. No one cares who Badawi picks as his successor. Going by the sentiments of the thousands of people who showed up at the Stadium, it is obvious that they had enough of the BN/Umno bullshit and want it to be flushed down the toilet through a regime change!

The anger of the Rakyat (People) cannot and must not be overlooked. The names of Badawi, Najib, Ong Kah Ting, Koh Tsu Koon, Samy Vellu and other BN leaders always seems to be preceded with some kind of profanity.

It was rather interesting to note that not a single policeman was in sight at the Stadium. However you can be rest assured the Royal Malaysian Police, the Special Branch were present, not to keep the peace but to find any kind of dirt that they can get to give to their Masters, the BN/Umno regime, to be used against Pakatan Rakyat.

67. #67 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:23 pm

The endless polemic of whether Anwar Ibrahim can lower the price of fuel, the crux of the matter is the availibility of money. Let us consider the virtually bottomless coffer of PETRONAS and other sleight of hands where our leaders, past and present had utilised to finance, bail out, cover up failed projects, wastage or mismanagement. Thus, Anwar can have access to money out there that other leaders did to make problems of their own making to vanish. Consider the following blog:

Those who are sceptical how Anwar Ibrahim could reduce the petrol price, perhaps the few reasons below could change your mind. The list is not even barely exhaustive as these are the ones uncovered – the tip of the ice-berg – if you want to put it! What lies beneath could be much larger:-

1.The Bank Bumiputra twin scandals in the early 1980s saw US$1 billion (RM3.2 billion in 2008 ringgit)

2.The Maminco attempt to corner the world tin market in the 1980s is believed to have cost some US$500 million. (RM1.6 billion)

3.Betting in foreign exchange futures cost Bank Negara Malaysia RM30 billion in the 1990s.

4.Perwaja Steel resulted in losses of US$800 million (RM2.56 billion). Eric Chia, was charged with corruption for allegedly steering US$20 million (RM64 million) to a Hong Kong-based company

5.Use of RM10 billion public funds in the Valuecap Sdn. Bhd. operation to shore up the stock market

6.Banking scandal of RM700 million losses in Bank Islam

7.The sale of M.V. Agusta for one Euro

8.Wang Ehsan from oil royalty on Terengganu RM7.4 billion from 2004 – 2007

9.For the past 10 years since Philharmonic Orchestra was established, this orchestra has swallowed a total of RM500 million

10.In Advisors Fees, Mahathir was paid RM180,000, Shahrizat Abdul Jalil (women and social development affairs) RM404,726 and Abdul Hamid Othman (religious) RM549,675 per annum

11.The government has spent a total of RM3.2 billion in teaching Maths and Science in English over the past five years. Out of the amount, the government paid a whopping RM2.21 billion for the purchase of information and computer technology (ICT) equipments which it is unable to give a breakdown.

12.The commission paid for purchase of Jets and Submarines to two private companies amounted to RM910 million.

13.RM100 million bill to compensate Gerbang Perdana for the RM1.1 billion “Crooked Scenic Half-Bridge”

14.RM1.3 billion have been wasted building the white elephant Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) facilities on cancellation of the Malaysia-Singapore scenic bridge

15.RM 100 million on renovation of Parliament building and leaks

16.National Astronaut Programme – RM 40 million

17.National Service Training Programme – yearly an estimate of RM 500 million
    18.Eye on Malaysia -RM 30 million and another RM5.7 million of free ticket

19.RM 4.63 billion, ‘soft-loan’ to PKFZ

20.RM 2.4 million on indelible ink

21.Samy announced in September 2006 that the government paid compensation amounting to RM 38.5 billion to the highway companies. RM 380 million windfalls for 9 toll concessionaires earned solely from the toll hike in 2008 alone.

22.RM32 million timber export kickbacks involving companies connected to Sarawak Chief Minister, Tan Sri Taib Mahmud and his family

Bailouts –
    23.Two bailouts of Malaysia Airline System RM7.9 billion
    24.Putra transport system, which cost RM4.486 billion;
    25.STAR-LRT bailout costing RM3.256 billion;
    26.National Sewerage System costing RM192.54 million;
    27.Seremban-Port Dickson Highway costing RM142 million;
    28.Kuching Prison costing RM135 million; and
    29.Kajian Makanan dan Gunaan Orang Islam costing RM8.3 million.
    30.Le Tour de Langkawi costing RM 3.5 Million

31.Wholesale distribution of tens of millions of shares in Bursa Malaysia to cronies, children and relatives of BN leaders and Ministers worth billions of ringgits.

32.APs scandal had been going on year-after-year going back for more than three decades, involving a total mind-boggling sum of tens of billions of ringgits

33.Alienation of tens of thousands of hectares of commercial lands and forestry concessions to children and relatives of BN leaders and Ministers worth tens of billions of ringgits

34.Wastages and forward trading of Petronas in the 1990s based on the low price of oil then. Since the accounts of Petronas are for the eyes of Prime Minister only we have no idea of the amount. Whatever amount, you bet it is COLLOSSAL!

In Time Asia magazine issue on March 15 2004, South East Asian economist at Morgan Stanley in Singapore Daniel Lian, figures “that the country may have lost as much as U$$100 billion (RM320 billion) since the early 1980s to corruption.”

68. #68 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 12:52 pm

“Le Tour de Langkawi costing RM 3.5 Million ”

What is this? where are the sponsor? OMG that’s USD 1 million

“Shahrizat Abdul Jalil (women and social development affairs) RM404,726 ”

She can blow better? blow = advise compare to Tun?

69. #69 by AquariosMuar on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 11:38 pm

Will Malaysia have the same condition as the Taiwanese? Or we are having it now? The case where previous President of Taiwan with his son-in-law and wife did. Malaysia’s Prime Minister Dato’ Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has the shadow of the previous president of Taiwan. In short, they use their power in politic to fulfill their own dream. Why there is no law to against what they did? Khairy Jamaludin why suddenly can be the holder of so many company after our Prime Minister take over the power from our Previous Prime Minister Dr. M? And that happened in a short time. Why nobody want to check on what he did? Nobody want to question about that? Are because he is the son-in-law of our Prime Minister? Nobody dare to check him? The people in Malaysia especially the non-natives are indignation of what the party in power done. Only the people that get the benefit from them are the royal support of them. Especially the one who drive the big car to the Parliament and the biggest party in the country. When they are holding the biggest conference of UMNO last year, our journalists take photos from the car park. You know what an amazing photo come out? There is a cars show. Almost over half percent of the UMNO officers is driving the famous brand of car. Mercedes Benz, BMW everywhere. Such a great scene!!! They were not going for the conference but for the road show. To show their power! To show their asset to the society. Our country economies are dropping. Why the officer of the ruling party still can drive the big car? Are not the government asks the nation to buy local products? What the great models of the nation it is. Until now our PM still not yet eradicate the low standard of living. They have the power. But they worsen the condition. They cancel the plan for subsidy of petrol. This causing the living cost of the people increase. Why don’t they continue the same plan? The subsidy plan can straight give the benefit to the people. But after the called off of this plan. The only one who suffering is the Malaysian. Not included the government officers. Since the petrol they use is all from the government .They drive the government prepared car to meeting to do the work government gave. They no need to care about the increase in petrol price. Or we can see how actually this plan gives the chance to the embezzler to graft. You will know what actually this plan gives benefit to the “government”. After called off of the plan of petrol subsidy, Malaysia Government announced that our country saved RM 17300000000. And this RM 17300000000 will be given to the different subsidy of oil, break or whatever related to daily use. For your information no work done is hundred percent. This RM 17300000000
    will not reach the different sector that government plan with the same value. Since there are embezzler in out country that can’t be treated with law. Because they are “over law”. If we assumed this value is planned to give to 8 sectors. And it is divided equally into 8 that’s mean every sector will get approximately RM2162500000. But since the efficiency of the transferring of money will not be 100 %. So I take the maximum efficiency is 90 % for each sector. This can be said is a high efficiency that I rate the officer of the country. That’s mean from RM 2162500000 the amount that will really give benefit is just about RM 1946250000 That’s mean RM 216250000 lost. For 8 sectors RM 1730000000 lose. Where will this big value go? The answer is at the car park of the coming conference of UMNO or whatever country important meeting. Let see the show!!! Or it might appear at your surrounding which is a new “palace” e.g. Zakariah Palace. (To be continue)….UFO