Sanusi sacked as UIA President – Abdullah not ready for “1st-world infrastructure, 1st-world mentality”

The sacking of Sanusi Junid, who was formerly Cabinet Minister, Kedah Mentri Besar and Umno secretary-general, as International Islamic University (UIA) president because he had left Umno together with former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad, is most shocking, deplorable and testimony that the Abdullah administration is not ready for a “first-world infrastructure, first-world mentality” culture to catapult Malaysia into the ranks of fully developed nations.

The UIA termination letter dated June 2 but which Sanusi received only yesterday (eight days later) did not give any reason for the abrupt sacking although his contract is not due to expire for another two years.

It would appear that quitting Umno has become a proper reason for the sacking of administrators and academicians in Malaysian universities.

Shouldn’t the authorities adopt a “hands-off” policy on the political inclinations of university administrators or academicians so long as they do not allow their political affiliations to intrude into their university duties?

An explanation is clearly called for from Abdullah for Sanusi’s sacking from UIA.

1. #1 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:29 am

Sanusi was there because of his UMNO connections, and he is no longer there because of his (lack of) UMNO connections. If you are a crony or a relative, you enjoy the perks. If you are no longer a crony, then it’s just too bad.

Why do you think that Badawi is fighting tooth and nail to prolong his job ?

2. #2 by novice101 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:39 am

I see this as a solely UMNO internal affair, let them fight among themselves and eliminate one another. Just stand aside and watch.

Are there not more pressing issues that deserve the DAP’s attention????

3. #3 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:44 am

This is the problem of UMNO – if you want this contract or position, you must be loyal to me and contribute to my coffer, or conversely, if you are loyal to me and contribute to my coffer, I will give you this contract or position. Hence 50 years of UMNO rule has created an unhealthy nexus between political power and industry, which threatens to bring the nation to ruin.

4. #4 by ahkok1982 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:46 am

So what if Sanusi was fired from his job? He did not get it based on meritocracy in the first place. He should have been sitting pretty in that position if not for his position in umno. I dont mind him being fired. Let them kill each other.

5. #5 by ckchung on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:46 am

AAB is fighting against Dr M, when Dr M disclosed the reasons why the judges were sacked, the Sarawak judge Ian Chin disclose his own kind of story, Sanusi is the scape goat for Dr M. More disclosure from Dr M will trigger more sacking, I think the next will be his son position in the Sepang International Circuit.

6. #6 by riversandlakes on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:46 am

Shameful, shameful.

Badawi has not listened to the people’s mandate, despite him saying so. Has anything at all changed in our Fed Gov after our Tsunami?

7. #7 by alancheah on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:04 pm

Support Pakatan Rakyat!!!

8. #8 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:08 pm

I think universities should not be related to the politics. All the university presidents or chancellors or whatever, including Jeane Abdullah, should be fired right away. In boleh, we have all these political parties associated with universities, such as UTAR, United College Sarawak, dll. It is very very unhealthy

9. #9 by Justicewanted on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:09 pm

All top positions in the GLCs, govt agencies, government owned universities and etc etc are exclusively reserved for BN cronies and yes men. If you talk too much out you go. For others, do not even dream of it….

10. #10 by JeyS on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:10 pm

Let them fight. Do we benefit anything from him being sacked? NO..

Lots more going to come…lots more going to happen..

In the mean time I am still cracking my head on how Lingam’s case, Altantuya’s case and others had vanished off our sight!

11. #11 by malaysia born on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:12 pm

Can’t wait to see all the farmers in the kampong showing their public support for the opposition. What then? Will UMNO confiscate their land then? Pathetic bunch of corrupted politicians.

12. #12 by JeyS on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:17 pm

Thats what they are…so fully corrupted that they reek of it!..Sick-la

13. #13 by Dr. W on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:23 pm

I enjoy seeing the arrogoant UMNO-BN doing their final struggle these days. I welcome and understand these series of desparate measures taken by these scumbags at their final moments.

The more they do, the wider is the path for PR to walk into the corridor of power. I hope what Anwar has said is true and I am certainly looking forward to see a closer work-together spirit among Keadilan, DAP and PAS for the benifits of the Malaysians.

Kit Siang and other DAP fighters, you guys rock! We are counting on you guys.

14. #14 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:34 pm

Who signed and sent the “sack” letter? Who has the authority to “sack”? The PM? The Cabinet? The Minister? Did the University’s Council, Senate or governing body meet to decide on the sacking? What have the other international governments who have a stake in the University have to say about this now that they are also implicated?

In a sacking, there must be “natural justice” i.e. for Sanusi to be heard. Perhaps the UIA does not practice this common law principle and applied another system of laws.

That this sacking come in the wake to Ian Chin J ‘s damning revelation just shows that Justice is hard to come by in this land. It is often fabricated, manipulated, concocted.

Do we still have the “feeling good” disposition?

15. #15 by k1980 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:36 pm

Ezam the former PKR vice prez will now be appointed by Dollah as UIA Prez so as to encourage more defections to umno.

16. #16 by Jong on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:37 pm

Let them fight among themselves, its their problems and let Umno implode, as if we care!

We should stay focus on more important issues facing this country – state of our economy, inflation and rising crime rate.

17. #17 by Jong on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 12:42 pm

Sherif Singh, In Bolehland, semua boleh! That gutter politician has proved it so and he is still blabbing! This whole lot of baboons have had 22+ years of good training under him, remember?

18. #18 by justice_fighter on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:07 pm

YB Kit,

Recently Najis asked Gerakan Federal Territories chairman Datuk Dr Tan Kee Kwong to resign from Gerakan for taking up a post with the Selangor State government.

Has anyone noticed that Najis’s wife Rosmah Mansor is still chancellor of UNIVERSITI INDUSTRI SELANGOR, which is wholly owned by Selangor State Government?!

http://www.unisel.edu.my/new/biography-of-the-chancellor.html

Who should resign then?! Why the double standard?! What a hypocrite!!

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:10 pm

Was it “first-world infrastructure, first-world mentality” culture to appoint Sanusi Junid as International Islamic University (UIA) president in the first place for his subsequent sacking to be an expression of lack of “first-world infrastructure, first-world mentality” culture ??? So far TDM has not yet been “sacked” as Petronas Advisor – may be they dare not yet – but if they had done so because he opposed the present administration, would such a sacking also be a “deplorable and testimony that the Abdullah administration is not ready for a “first-world infrastructure, first-world mentality” culture to catapult Malaysia into the ranks of fully developed nations”??? :)

20. #20 by k1980 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:16 pm

“I would like to stress that the mission to space was not a vacation, instead there was extensive research being carried out at the ISS…”

Excuse me, Muz, exactly what have you uncovered/discovered during your “extensive research at the ISS”? That teh tarik tastes better in space?
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Wednesday/National/2264369/Article/index_html

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:17 pm

Position of (UIA) president is a political appointment – not a commercial, academic or merit one – so political considerations will apply in respect of its continuance or termination. What common law rules of “natural justice” ought to apply here before sacking? The first question to Sanusi is whether he did or did not ask his political boss, the premier to resign in tandem with the demand from his ex boss the former premier. If he did, it is the end of the matter! One cannot continue to take the benefits and largese of a political patronage system and yet bites the hand that feeds him.

22. #22 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:17 pm

So based on the logic, BN, should not hv anything to do with PR, then all BN component party members, shall not send their children to Universiti Industri Selangor, now, those already in should also give up their studies, bcos this Universiti is owned by Selangor state govt which is PR.
    All lecturers etc from this Uni, who are BN component party member shall also give up their jobs

23. #23 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:27 pm

There are many UMNO guys waiting to take over all the positions left behind by those sacked who showed their support to TDM. This is a well refined rewarding system by UMNO-BN after many years as govt.

24. #24 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:47 pm

Possible future scenario,
    Universities in Msia, divided into 2 groups, those pro BN, those pro PR, so all students, chancellor, lecturers, professors hv to support one party or the other,
    Those who support the other party simply have to quit, then PR would be at a disadvantage!

25. #25 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 1:53 pm

There is no escape from politics
    Even in the arena for academics
    No transparency with use of plastics
    When some become victims of statistics

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 110608
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Wed. 11th June 2008.

26. #26 by beetleric on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:17 pm

The first ppl to “ubah gaya hidup” (change lifestyles) should be these fat, pompous, ruling-party double-talkers! It’s of course so easy for them to say “ubah gaya hidup” when they’re earning vulgar amounts on top of their Rakyat-sponsored pays and allowances. But what about ppl who earn just RM1,500/mth? After buying stuff for child, paying rent, bills, money to Dad and Mom, I’ve only RM200 left. What else they want us to change?

I’ve been skipping breakfast and dinner to supplement my child. So what should I do, Badawi? Sell my child?

27. #27 by donng55 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:19 pm

This is a classic example of – “He who lives by magister dixit dies by magister dixit. Amen.” Caveat canem!

28. #28 by PSM on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:28 pm

Bro Kit,

This proves that even our Universities are not free from UMNO’s interference!
    This also shows why our Universities are in such a pathetic state!

29. #29 by limkamput on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:29 pm

godfather, remember we highlighted issue concerning Rapid KL. Apparently, former PM has picked up the issue and now we have pictures showing all the buses left to rot at the yard. See, we know better than most PK MPs lah.

30. #30 by walao on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:33 pm

It is discrimination. I wonder US or UK allow this or not or whether the victims can take this case up to the court or not. But for sure, our leader chose his men not on the capabilities but base on party. Doom la like this. Must learn like Taiwan’s preisident Ma, he chose even his enemies into his cabinet . Even people who openly attck him before election, he took them in . I salute and respect him.

31. #31 by Mr Smith on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:35 pm

But hasn’t UMNO membership been the prerequisite even for a class F contract? Or to be ketua kampong or imam?
    Even titles are given to UMNO/BN cronies only. Many opposition politicians have sacrificed plenty for the country but have gotten no titles.

32. #32 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:36 pm

limkamput:

Yes, Mamakthir has highlighted this simply because the firm producing the buses is non other than SCOMI. Frankly, this is much more of an outrage than the Sanusi issue.

33. #33 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:43 pm

For those of you who want to know of another case of abuse:

Mamakthir put his cronies on the boards of various UMNO companies and we know generally what these companies are – MRCB, Realmild, MTD JV, etc. When Badawi came to power, he replaced the board members with his own cronies. However, the new board members found out to their dismay that the old board members had written into their contracts huge termination sums which these companies must pay to get rid of them. What did the new board members do ? They paid off the old board members, otherwise the new cronies won’t be able to enjoy the fruits of their labours. Then these new cronies also wrote huge termination sums into their contracts so that they will get bumper compensation packages in the event of Badawi’s ouster.

It is therefore not surprising that UMNO companies are always bankrupt. UMNOputras just keep on stealing.

34. #34 by madmix on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:45 pm

Posts like UIA president are given as patronage and reward for UMNO faithful. The post will be given to another UMNO stalwart who toe the line. Like many posts in GLCs etc, appointments are not based on merit.

35. #35 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 2:50 pm

Political affiliation is the main consideration, not meritocracy. It’s not worth debating this issue anymore.

36. #36 by limkamput on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 3:21 pm

Yes, it is time to go into specific. Who care about Sanusi anyway. Rapid KL is billions ok, not million. See how they use the excuse of providing public transportation but in actual fact was to suck this country dry. I mean how much worse and despicable can they be. Yet everyday they travel around portraying high and mighty, dispensing hollow advice to citizens on ethics, frugality and societal good. It is really nauseating.

It is time they are called to account. No more soft padding when dealing with thieves. They must go to prison for all these no matter how high the positions they hold. We must pass legislation to confiscate ill-gotten gains. Otherwise, out country can never get out of this quagmire. It will be repeated and repeated even if PK come into power. It is not just Scomi. Government agencies involved in approving and disbursing huge sum of money must be called to account.

37. #37 by khch01 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 3:29 pm

Godfather says, ” …. huge termination sums were written in Umnoputra contracts ……”. If that is true, NEP has certainly given rise to very innovative and creative ideas of distributing the nation’s wealth. That is why many contract are classified as OSA including Grand Saga.

38. #38 by shortie kiasu on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 4:20 pm

Oh yes, Abdullah, including all his predecessors, are far far from ready to be of ‘first world’ mentality. They light years away from that mentality.

We look at one of BN party, Gerakan. It could not accept the Lee Kah Choon and Tan Kee Kwong case where their wish to serve the people and country are classic case of fourth world mentality. They have become a fry in the political tussle of conscience of Gerakan members.

39. #39 by Godson on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 4:20 pm

K1980, Thanks for your update on our a$$tro_nut on NST. I’ve not been reading those umNO-BN rubbish papers for ages coz after i read LKS blog, MT and MKINI, i’m hooked to the real information.
    Actually i saved $$$ by not buying their rubbish papers.
    Hey, come to think of it…it does help me to save $$$.

40. #40 by sotong on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 4:25 pm

Political appointment……..political sacking!

Nothing to do with one’s capability, competency, hard work, potential and significant contribution to the people……this is a real concern with permanent and long term consequences to the country!

41. #41 by max2811 on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 4:33 pm

I don’t give a damn who is appointed. Why do you bother? Most of them don’t deserve to sit there in the first place.

But I’m a bit surprised at the new intakes to the matrikulasi programme, JPA scholarships and the selection of SPM students to study overseas leading to a teaching degree.

Many qualified Chinese have been selected! What a surprised! Did UMNO suddenly realised that we have been losing brains to Spore or are they trying to get back the Chinese votes.

Anyway,I totally agree with the new policy. Equal opportunities for everybody. Samy is still begging.

42. #42 by oedipus on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 4:33 pm

yeah i agree with most ppl here uncle lim, he lived by the ‘rule’, thus he will also suffer by the ‘rule’.

he got there due to political means, and without his political means he will be replaced. he is not complaining coz he understand the consequence of his actions.

sotong sums it up licely….

political appointment, political sacking!

43. #43 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 5:23 pm

Ha, ha – actually, there has never been “first-world infrastructure, first-world mentality” in Malaysia. Just a self-cheating castle in the air.

Well, a while ago Sanusi Junid was elevated to be UIA president because he was at that time a big shot in Umno and a close buddy of MM. Period. That’s his sole qualification: an Umnoputra crony. At that time he too, out of the blue, replaced AI as UIA president. AI was sacked when he was no longer the flavour of the month with MM.

Now, Sanusi Junid experienced the same ignominious exit that AI experienced previously. This game is called the Umno-sanctioned musical chair. Your buttock must have the Umno chop to sit on the hot musical chair.

This incidence and a whole lot of similar incidences (including the recent confession of one of our judges) show the naked sad truth of our nation. The entire nation is the playground and at the mercy of Umnoputras.

Umno only looks after and rewards Malays (and some non-Malays) who are in their good book. When a Malay is considered a buddy, he/she gets everything and is showered with titles, jobs, APs, contracts, loans, IPOs, commissions, opportunities, etc. Kaya raya!

Malays who are not considered friendly to Umno get ostracized and are not allowed to enjoy the various juicy gravy trains.

So, under Umno’s rule, only selected Malays benefit tremendously, while a large number of Malays either benefit a little or suffer the same fate as their fellow non-Malays.

This is how the nation has been ruled in the last 50 years – by Umnoputras for Umnoputras.

Tell me – how do we expect our nation to improve and to face global challenges when our nation is ruled by so-called ‘elites’ and ‘think-tank’ from Umno? We may have a population of 27 million but we are not tapping the talents of all our people to rule and serve our nation. Only selected people aligned to the ruling Umnoputras are given the task to do so and they are not necessarily the best, in terms of knowledge, capability, competence, and vision. Just look at how the so-called ‘elites’ and ‘think-tank’ from Umno handle the recent fuel increase!

So, the nation sinks further and further south!

44. #44 by voice on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 5:32 pm

Yeah, UMNO=UIA= any other universities in Malaysia,
    you against UMNO, you are out!

45. #45 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 5:58 pm

In summary, those who dont support BN should go and live in PR states and those who dont support PR should go and live in BN states!!! Time to move!!!

46. #46 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 6:01 pm

Not surprised…

Let us refer to history

1998 -UMNO Boss Mahathir Mohd
    -Anwar Ibrahim sacked from the post of DPM & finance minister
    reason: (lawan towkay). not obedient to Mahathir
    (not so ‘yes men’ can survive in UMNO)

2008 – UMNO BOSS -ABDULLAH BADAWI
    -Sanusi Junid Sacked
    -Reason : Criticised the UMNO boss(sided with Mahathir)

This is the continuity of UMNO & Barisan Nasional tradition/policies.

47. #47 by Bobster on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 6:04 pm

YB Lim,

Don’t waste time fighting for this Sanusi fellow lah. Sanusi aka Dr M Cronies & Co now tasting their own medicine. Dr M making big hoohaa as if whole world own him a living.

Let the dogs fight against the dogs. PR should look at how to straighten unity and integrity in preparation to take over the administration.

Rakyat look you up!

48. #48 by limkamput on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 6:17 pm

We have first world infrastructure? Please don’t be self condescending. What we have are: traffic jams, congestions and tolls everywhere; polluted rivers and smelly clogged drains; muddy tape water; zero public transportation system; LCCT terminal galaxy away from the main terminal; mobile phones services with pockets of nothingness everywhere; rudimentary garbage collection and disposal system and never ending floods each time the rain is a little heavier. Give me a break, we have first world infrastructure. Please don’t kid ourselves.

49. #49 by ZhouYu on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 7:17 pm

Yeah the sacking of Sanusi is none of the people’s interest. We have more things to worry than Sanusi.

50. #50 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 9:29 pm

Undeniably we have first class infrastructure. Our KLIA is one of the best in the world. People love to see the modern version of Angkor Wat. We have the single tower to compete with all the single towers all around the world. Our Putrajaya is a modern fairy tale version of something very grand and very scientific. Our Malaysians are very knowledgeable in information technology. But not all Malaysians have first class mentality. By their looks alone, they look very first class but their mentality can be very uncivilized. So if a university does not have good thinking brains, then the graduates would just be graduates and unable to think any further. They will be subjects to orders only.

Going back to money issue, I am shocked that for a holiday, a minister can be paid some RM 400, according to the news reported. A holiday means no work. Why can he or she be paid
    RM 400 for not working ? Referring back to slashing of expenses, this RM 400 paid for not working should be slashed to RM 0. I fail to see the rationale behind this no work but still can be paid to go for holidays. Malaysia is so rich. In this case, everybody, please submit your due claims.

51. #51 by bernadette on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 9:59 pm

“It will be repeated and repeated even if PK come into power.” linkanput

even if PK comes to power??? why visit this blog then?? stop insulting lks.

52. #52 by limkamput on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

bernadette, it is obvious you have no faculty to read and understand stuff in context. I suggest you go to some simpler sites first before coming here.

53. #53 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 11 June 2008 - 11:33 pm

Should I weep for Sanusi?Why, this man doesn’t deserve to be the President of IIU in the first place. So far, almost 2 terms as IUA president, he has hardly made any impact.

It’s just a waste of time to have Sanusi around. Besides, in a manner of speaking, Sanusi is more like Tun M’s poodle. So who needs him?

Sure, Pak Lah was high-handed in ‘sacking’ Sanusi. Pak Lah should be accountable. That is only a matter of process. He should have no difficulty coming up with a dozen good reasons for the sacking, I think.

54. #54 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 2:55 am

IIUM operates under the direction of a Board of Governors with representatives from the eight sponsoring governments and the Organisation of Islamic Conference (OIC). It maintains links with governments and institutions all over the world, such as the League of Islamic Universities,….” IIU

So has the PM and his government brought domestic politics into the running of IIU? Isn’t there a need to consult the other 8 sponsoring countries even though the host country can take certain measures on its own? What are the thoughts of the other 8 governments? Have they been consulted?

And why does the Sultan of Pahang feel obliged to sign the dismissal letter? Was he under pressure from the PM and the government to do so? Did he also not consult the other stakeholders? Did the PM on behalf of the government send an official letter to the Sultan asking for Sanusi’s instant dismissal? Will this probable unilateral action by the government affect good relations with friendly countries?

Something is not right here and alot of clarifications are needed. Not that Sanusi is such a great guy but he certainly has been screwed big time.

55. #55 by taiking on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 7:48 am

Infusion of politics into the civil service. Infusion of politics into education. Infusion of politics into business. Infusion of politics into judiciary. Infusion of politics into law enforcement.

Yeah.

That is pretty much what one should do for one to gain absolute power so that one could put into effect absolute corruption.

It all started 20+ years ago by the immediate ex-PM.

The practice has taken roots and turned into a culture.

The present PM is doing what he could to continue that culture.

Lets us isolate him and his team.

For it is clear that here in this country we have neither the space nor the time nor the energy for such culture.

56. #56 by chiakchua on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 7:50 am

Put suitability of Sanusi as President of IIU aside, his removal shows clearly the arrogance of UMNOputras. Sanusi’s removal only reveal that all the teaching and admins staffs in all government universities must be either UMNO or pro-UMNO members! No wonder our university standard is going down the drain because not all the UMNO or pro-UMNO are real talent! Go to hell with meritocracy! Its only a slogan to ‘shiok’ themselves! Stupid BN component party chiefs are co-evils, pawning away their racial rights for their self interest. Yes, this is the time to demand things to be put right or get out to join PR to form the government or at least become an independent 3rd. grouping to speak the truth for the future of all Malaysians!

57. #57 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 10:38 am

First world infrastructure – we are way behind it, after the same phrase is used again & again & again in the news and every where, it has become a truth in itself, time to find out the truth, how can we consider our infrastructure as first world!!! unless our own definition of first (class) is just a pass like in the public universities!!!

58. #58 by boh-liao on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 11:01 am

Don’t take the position of a President or a Chancellor in our public or private universities seriously. Anyone related to or in the good book of our ruling Umnoputras will have a chance to be appointed to the position and shiok themself as a glorified academic (eg, lording over faculty members, wearing some fanciful robe, gown, and mortar board or songkok, and giving advice [what kind, I don’t know and don’t want to know] too).

Don’t we all see the wives of our Ex-PM, PM, and DPM are already holding such position. Given a chance, their mistresses will be appointed as President or Chancellor too!

59. #59 by LohSH on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 11:08 am

Sanusi has been removed from his position for the same unknown reasons he was appointed.

There is no reason for anybody outside of BN or UMNO to applaud his appointment or lament his removal.

Asking for an explanation for Sanusi’s sacking unfortunately gives due credit to his appointment in the first place.

The sacking only serves to confirm that this event is only an act of cronism, from the beginning to the end. Why should Sanusi’s sacking be defended?

60. #60 by taiking on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 11:59 am

Nottingham University has got a certain prc chinese theoratical physicist as its chancellor.
    And they were very pleased.
    How foolish. What mad dogs they are!
    Obviously that university has a thing or two to learn from us.
    Idiots. Cant those mad dogs see that politicians can do a better job.
    Even politicians who are already past their “use by” date.
    Yes. Yes.
    We should capitalise on our experience.
    Teach the world perhaps.
    You know – our way. Yes our way of doing things.
    Ex-Minister as chancellor.
    Maybe, ex-MB as headmasters.
    The possibilities are never ending.
    ….

61. #61 by Richardqed on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 12:02 pm

Shouldn’t the authorities adopt a “hands-off” policy on the political inclinations of university administrators or academicians so long as they do not allow their political affiliations to intrude into their university duties? — LKS

Point taken. I have no doubt that everyone would agree on this, in general.

While the main intention of the posting was to highlight AAB’s ineptness, using Sanusi’s case was a bad idea, judging from the various responses in reply to your posting. The person being sacked in this instance got that position because he is a crony, and got sacked for falling out with his crony masters. And no one will believe that he has any merits to remain in that post. A lot of people would say he deserves the sack.

When the person is a crony, he deserves all he can get (including all the crap) for being that.

When they want to start throwing eggs at each other, the best that we can do is sit by and watch the fun without being pulled in.

62. #62 by lakilompat on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 3:29 pm

“When they want to start throwing eggs at each other, the best that we can do is sit by and watch the fun without being pulled in.”

While u’re watching the kids are yelling for food, better shelter and protection from increase in crime rate.

63. #63 by anak_malaysia on Thursday, 12 June 2008 - 5:43 pm

as long as the crook in umno still in power, there is no chance that malaysian will have 1st-world mentality leader. Even if we said 3rd-world mentality is already given them tones of credit which i dun think these crook worth it.

it is great to see AAB taking such steps – raising price for foods, raising price for petrol, sacking of sanusi from UIA, what else? putting the HINDRAF guys in the ISA, the FRU hitting innocent people and etc…giving the people more confidence that they are making the right choice by electing PR for the rest of the 5 states. imagine if AAB got another landslide victory again in the recent election. it could be even worst. petrol can straight go RM4 per litre!!!!!

64. #64 by kcb on Sunday, 15 June 2008 - 4:38 pm

“If we are friends, then your all friends are my friends;
    If we are enemies, then all your friends are my enemies!”
    That’s the behaviour of my primary school going nephew.

65. #65 by sadugudu on Tuesday, 17 June 2008 - 2:12 am

Please don’t waste your time over this sacking. It is not worth it.
    I remember there was a big hue and cry on his appointment. Dont’ worry some umnoputera will after all take his place…back to square one.