On “egg-shell” reputation and Parliament as “kangaroo court”

Seven years ago in December 2001, when Fong Po Kuan, as first-termer DAP MP for Batu Gajah, was suspended for six months without pay for publicly criticising the Speaker, I was in Europe.

I issued an immediate statement in London on Dec. 11, 2001 before the motion to penalise Po Kuan was debated and another statement on my return to Malaysia.

These two statements of December 2001 are reproduced below after the Malaysiakini report “Speaker warns Kit Siang over blog posting”:

Speaker warns Kit Siang over blog posting

Fauwaz Abdul Aziz | May 27, 08 12:14pm

Dewan Rakyat speaker Pandikar Amin Mulia has warned Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timor) to correct remarks in his blog which lambasted deputy speaker Ronald Kiandee for rejecting his motion on Sabah illegal immigrants.

Should Lim fail to do so, he could be liable to disciplinary action similar to that instituted in the past against fellow DAP parliamentarians Karpal Singh (Bukit Gelugor) and Fong Po Kuan (Batu Gajah).

They had been suspended after being critical of the speaker outside the House in previous parliamentary sessions.

Pandikar also told Lim to make corrections to his press statement on the issue, which was similar to his blog posting.

“If you do not correct your blog (post) and media statement, I will be forced to bring attention to the actions taken (against Fong previously),” Pandikar said yesterday.

Last Thursday, Kiandee had rejected Lim’s motion for an amendment to the motion of thanks for the royal address by calling for the establishment of a royal commission of inquiry into the presence of illegal immigrants in Sabah.

In dismissing the motion, Kiandee said it was irrelevant and disrespectful to the King: “It is most inappropriate to table this motion now because it is rude to say thank you but with a condition at the same time.”

However, Lim argued there had been previous occasions in which such motions of thanks were amended.

“Kiandee cannot be more wrong when he said that it was not proper and ‘tidak sopan’ to amend the motion of thanks,” he said.

Lim argued that Kiandee had “acted out of ignorance” of established parliamentary conventions in rejecting the motion given that an amendment to a motion of thanks for the royal address had been made by him on Oct 12, 1982, although it was voted on and rejected the next day.

Kiandee ‘misused and abused’ Parliament rules

Lim further claimed that Kiandee had “misused and abused” the Standing Orders and that he owes a public apology to the people.

Yesterday, however, Pandikar told Lim that there is a significant difference between the motion he tabled in 1982 and the motion he sought to table last week.

While the earlier motion had begun with the words dan dengan ambil ingatan (while remembering that), last week’s motion had started with the words “by adding the following words to resolve”, Pandikar noted.

In other words, said Pandikar, while the 1982 motion was ‘subsidiary’ to the original motion that Lim sought to amend, last week’s motion was “substantive”.

Lim disagreed, saying that nothing in his motion was irrelevant to the original motion of thanks.

Sabahans reduced into a minority

Kit Siang’s motion to debate the illegal immigrants issue last Friday, if allowed, would have been an acid test for Sabah backbenchers.

It came in the wake of rumours that some of the 24 of the ruling Barisan Nasional MPs in Sabah would defect to the opposition over their unhappiness on a number of issues including the lack of action in curbing illegal immigrants in the state.

Incidentally, both Kiandee, who is three-term MP for Beluran, and former minister Pandikar are from Sabah.

According to Lim, the 30-year problem has reduced Sabahans into a minority in their own home state.

There has been serious allegations that illegal immigrants from neighbouring Philippines and Indonesia have been given identity cards by the authorities to enable them to vote in elections.

There are conflicting accounts from official and unofficial sources on the exact number of illegal immigrants in the state. Most, however, agree that the number is around 750,000, outnumbering the local Sabahans.

(1) Media Statement in London, 11th December 2001:

Rais’ motion against Fong most unreasonable and doubly discriminatory – political and gender – and should be an eye-opener to Malaysians why it is necessary to demand reforms and democratisation of Parliament

(London, Tuesday): The motion standing in the name of the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim against DAP MP for Batu Gajah, Fong Po Kuan, is most unreasonable and doubly discriminatory – political and gender – and should be an eye-opener to Malaysians why it is necessary to demand reforms and democratisation of Parliament if parliamentary democracy is not to degenerate into a farce. ,

Rais’ motion is most unreasonable and palpably the act of a bully because he has no intention to allow for a full investigation as to whether Fong had acted in a manner which was clearly a breach or abuse of parliamentary privilege – for if so, then the matter should be referred to the Committee of Privileges for a quasi-judicial inquiry and finding – as is the established parliamentary tradition and convention in all other Commonwealth Parliaments in such cases.

Instead, Rais is only interested in a contest of numbers in Parliament, supremely confident that the brute two-thirds parliamentary majority of the Barisan Nasional will bring him victory in his game of parliamentary numbers as the BN MPs can even declare black as white and injustice as justice – but this is not just law but the law of the jungle!

Rais’ motion is also unreasonable because he made two false claims that the lawful way which should be acted on by Fong (cara yang sah yang patut dilakukan) was to move a substantive motion under Standing Order 43 to review the Speaker’s motion and not to make “baseless” statements on the Speaker’’s ruling.

Firstly, the Speaker, Tun Mohamad Zahir Ismail has rendered Standing Order 43 irrelevant, null and void in his 19 years as five-term Speaker as never once before had he allowed a substantive motion under Standing Order 43 to be debated on the floor of Parliament. Zahir should present a report to Parliament on the number of times notices had been given for substantive motions under Standing Order 43 to review the Speaker’s decision – and why there had not been a single time in the past 19 years since 1982 when he was Speaker where permission had been given for such a motion to be debated?

As Standing Order 43 is a dead letter, completely obsolete and meaningless, this reason cannot be used and held against Fong – for it provides no meaningful remedy whatsoever to review the wrong rulings of the Speaker.

Secondly, Fong’s criticisms against the Speaker’s ruling was not “baseless” but sound, objective and fair.

Or is Rais seriously asserting that the Speaker enjoys an immunity which even judges do not have – that his decisions just cannot be criticised, even if the criticisms can be proved to be right, just and fully justified? If so, we are establishing not a parliamentary democracy but a feudal oligarchy.

DAP can make out an iron-clad case that Fong’s criticisms of the Speaker’s ruling to reject her motion of urgent, definite public importance on the Certificate in Practice (CLP) examination marks-tampering was 100 per cent correct and justified.

The Speaker had rejected Fong’s motion on 4th December 2001 on the ground that the DAP Secretary-General and MP for Kota Melaka, Kerk Kim Hock had already tried earlier to move a similar motion which was rejected, but the Speaker was wrong as Kerk’s motion was because of the CLP examination paper leak scandal while Fong was referring to a completely different scandal – that of marks-tampering.

In her statement, which is now being used by Rais to suspend her for six months without parliamentary allowances, Fong said the Speaker had abused his discretionary powers in rejecting her motion.

Have the Speaker, Ministers and government leaders developed “egg-shell” reputations which cannot stand up to robust and vigorous criticisms, that they must resort to the brute parliamentary majority of the Barisan Nasioal to silence the Opposition?

Rais’ motion is doubly discriminatory against the Opposition and women MPs – as Rais had showed no concern whatsoever when BN MPs abused their parliamentary privileges and dishonoured Parliament by using four-letter words and showed indecent signs – and worse still, against women MPs.

Why has Rais allowed BN men MPs to get away scot-free with such unparliamentary and disgraceful conduct, which were clear abuses of parliamentary privileges – while coming down so harshly and unfairly on Fongt?

Is Rais prepared to commission a public opinion poll as to whom the Malaysian people think more deserving of parliamentary censure and discipline – whether it is Fong or the Barisan Nasional men MPs who used tfour-letter words or showed indecent signs in Parliament?

All women MPs, whether Barisan Nasional, Barisan Alterrnative and DAP should unite to protest against Rais’ motion which is the most palpable form of gender discrimination against a woman MP in Parliament since the 1999 general elections.

(2) Media Statement in Penang on 15.12.2001:

Zahir should personally remedy the gross miscarriage of justice in the Fong Po Kuan case where Parliament did not become the highest court but the highest kangaroo court of the land by taking steps to rescind the motion suspending Fong by six months without pay

(Penang, Saturday): I have been away from the country for the past nine days, in Oslo to attend the 10th anniversary celebrations of the award of the Nobel Peace Prize to Burmese opposition leader, Aung San Suu Kyi and the annual meeting of PDBurma – the international network of political leaders promoting democracy in Burma – and in London speaking to the LSE Malaysia Club 2001/2002 at the London School of Economics and Political Science and meeting Malaysians and students in London.

When I was overseas, I had maintained contact with developments back home principally through the Internet, especially the online media – and the biggest development undoubtedly was the vindictive and petty-minded motion by the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Dr. Rais Yatim on the last sitting of the 2002 Budget meeting on Tuesday, December 11, 2001 suspending the DAP MP for Batu Gajah, Fong Po Kuan for six months without pay for publicly criticising the Speaker, Tun Zahir Mohamad Ismail, for rejecting her motion of urgent, definite public importance on the multi-layered Certificate in Practice (CLP) examinations scandal.

However, I was truly shocked when I came home yesterday and read the print media which proved beyond a shadow of doubt of the gross miscarriage of justice in the Fong Po Kuan case, and in particular, the gross impropriety of Zahir in blatant breach of the most fundamental rule of natural justice of not being a judge of his own cause.

A day before Rais’ motion was debated in Parliament, and before MPs could independently and impartially decide whether the youngest, woman and opposition MP in Parliament had committed any breach of parliamentary privilege, Zahir had already prejudged the issue and trumpeted to the world that Fong was guilty of insulting him as Speaker and should be punished.

The Star of December 11, 2001 carried a report with the following heading:”Motion against Fong to deter abuse of Chair” which quoted Zahir as saying that the motion against Fong was “to stop other members from disparaging the Dewan and the Chair”.

Zahir told reporters that Fong was not the only MP to have questioned the integrity of the Dewan and accused him of having “abused my power”. He said: “That’s why we have to put a stop to them abusing the Chair. The position of the Speaker is equivalent to the highest court in the country and the Chair is like the judge.”

New Straits Times of the same day, under the heading, “Speaker defends motion to suspend Batu Gajah MP”, alleged that Fong’s criticism of him as Speaker was tantamout to contempt and said that Fong should be suspended if she refused to apologise to the House.

From Zahir’s public remarks, it was clear that he had stepped down from the Speaker’s chair and entered the parliamentary ring to accuse and pre-judge Fong of having committed breach of privilege which warranted an unprecedented six-month suspension without pay.

But Zahir has overlooked the fact that however elevated the position of Speaker, it does not confer on him the right, power or prerogative to be the prosecutor, judge, jury and executioner all in one.

It was precisely to prevent the tyranny of the Speaker that there is the parliamentary tradition, convention and practice to have a Committee of Privileges to inquire into any breach of parliamentary privilege, whether alleged by a Member of Parliament or the Speaker himself, after a full and thorough hearing.

But in Fong’ case, the Speaker had not only stepped down from the Speaker’s Chair and entered the parliamentary ring to be a “boxer” himself, he had arrogated to himself the powers of prosecutor, judge, jury and executioner all in one!

Rais’ motion did not allow for any parliamentary inquiry as to whether Fong had committed any parliamentary privilege, but was to stage a kangaroo court to show off the brute strength of the mindless Barisan Nasional parlamentary majority to rubber-stamp a decision which had been taken even before the parliamentary debate.

Zahir should ponder and personally remedy the gross miscarriage of justice in the Fong Po Kuan case where Parliament did not become the highest court but the highest kangaroo court of the land.

He should have the humility to admit his grave error in misusing his powers as Speaker, actuated by his own personal feelings, which has made December 11, 2001 a day of shame and dishonour for the Malaysian Parliament, as well as sullied his five-term Speakership, review what he had done and undertake to remedy the grave miscarriage of justice to Fong by ensuring that the first item of business when Parliament reconvenes in March is to restore justice and fair play to Fong by rescinding the December 11 motion suspending Fong by six months without pay.

1. #1 by badak on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:49 am

Because of the suspendtion Fong became famous over night..We voted opposition to parliament not to be cowed by this BN SPEAKERS..Way to go….

2. #2 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:58 am

Pandikar Amin Mulia ought to know that the situation of Parliament today is different than in 2001. Any act of intimidation against a wakil rakyat is not tolerable anymore. The rakyat are well-informed now. Any wrongdoing or misuse of power by the Speaker will send Umno-led govt tumbling down sooner than later. The Speaker himself had witnessed the political tsunami before.

3. #3 by lew1328 on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 1:14 am

Dear, YB Kit

“Miscarriage of Justice” is not any news here in Malaysia. Are they really capable to handle the issues you’ve table?? (They look like understand, sound like understand, but in actual fact they’re not)

What do you expect when we have a Joker sitting in front of the paliament. “Parliament Yang Mulia” Ini kata-kata dari Penagurusi Kampung dari Rembau sahaja.

Wonder why others PR members quite in this particular issue?

Best regards.

4. #4 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 4:51 am

I repeat……take away the band leader….and it will weaken PP’s position in Parliament.
    Don’t ever be surprise…..UMNO BN will do anything…by hook or by crook….to strengthen their position. They are wounded animals….and usually wounded animals are dangerous.
    Let all brave Malaysians be alert and continue..to tame them.

5. #5 by lupus on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 6:37 am

LKS, Please be careful, BN member can crack, they are very very soft inside – gutless and a bunch of cowards who hide behind their goons. They abuse the laws to arrest anyone who hurt their feelings.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 7:43 am

If Pandikar Amin suspend LKS, I suggest LKS could win even in a majority Malay area certaintly in Sabah. Let me do it but it would mean LKS cannot retire and must go on.

Pandikar Amin himself should be warned that he himself could lose his seat if he suspend LKS. He is clearly still ignorant of what is going on even if he reads blogs..

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 7:59 am

///But Zahir has overlooked the fact that however elevated the position of Speaker, it does not confer on him the right, power or prerogative to be the prosecutor, judge, jury and executioner all in one///- YB Lim Kit Siang.

I totally agree.

Parliamentary Speaker is the president & head of the House, Dewan Rakyat.

Dewan Rakyat is the main institution making laws in our country.
    Laws are made to be abided. Parliament therefore should do example and uphold law, legal traditions and precepts. If Parliament does not lead by example to do so , who amongst law public will have respect for laws that Parliament enacts?

If Parliament should itself respect the legal principle so too should its head and president, the Speaker!

And it is ever an established legal principle that no one should be a judge in his own cause. This is expressed in the latin maxim, nemo judex in sua causa: “no man is permitted to be judge in his own cause”.

So too the Speaker.

He ought not to judge a case against in making further rulings on criticisms his own ruling or that off his deputy’s.

It would violate the important legal principle stated above and expose the chair to accusations of misuse of his powers as Speaker, affected by his own personal feelings. The neutrality and impartiality of the Chair will be compromised.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 8:03 am

Correction – “He ought not to judge a case of criticisms against his own ruling or that off his deputy’s”

9. #9 by taiking on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 8:24 am

Want to know how fools react when they are caught in a situation?

10. #10 by PSM on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 8:29 am

Sabahans can see for themselves now what kind of MPs they voted for!

11. #11 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 8:40 am

I believe that the Speaker is under intense pressure from the top to take action against LKS.

Tun M has got it right: UMNO is no longer democratic, there is no more freedom in UMNO, even Lajip has been stopped from seeing me and members have to adhere strictly to orders from the top.

I certainly don’t want to be a “puppet MP” in a political party. It is a nightmare to think that our ministers and MPs are being controlled by powerful unseen hands in their ministry!

12. #12 by lextcs on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 8:45 am

all politicians (i mean ALL) are just like monkeys and dogs. Some giggling, some barking and in the end nothing ever happens. Meanwhile the world just passes us by. Look at what pro active steps surubaya and other indonesians cities are doing to woo investors, looks at suchow, shanghai, etc etc….then look at vietnam… then look back at our pearl of the orient…..instead of getting to work vigorously we are digging out old graves and harping on who did these and who did that….time to move on my friends….time to start implementation of projects and bring in investors to the benefit of the people…..in the end its the people’s pockets that must be taken care of.

Just like what our MB of selangor going to do…He is going to undertake multi Billion ringgit project…..just as he has failed during his days @ Guthrie (guthrie corridor) he is having a go again with issues of Bonds (not know whether the state or the people who is going to pay for this take over).

Co-incidentally KPS (Khaled Punya Saham) and KHSB (Khaled Hanya Suka Bonds or Khaled Holdings Sdn Bhd) is part of this deal. Talk about pot calling the kettle black….Leopard never changes its spots my friend.

13. #13 by catharsis on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 8:52 am

yES WE WOULD AGREE THAT Ronald Kiandee in rejecting the motion is within the confine of the standing orders-

But when he has not given Uncle Kit another option to bring his motion on Sabah illegal immigrants only goes to show the honouable speaker’s perception that ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS IN OUR COUNTRY IS NOT AN IMPORTANT ISSUE……………………………

IT ALSO OPEN UP FOR DEBATE ON THE CONNOCTATION OF HIS REJECTION – there must be a smoking gun- WOULD ONLY ONLY BE A REASONABLE ASSUMPTION

YB KIANDEE IS THIS NOT A RESONABLE PERSON APPROACH TO A DEDUCTION??????

14. #14 by catharsis on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 8:55 am

FOOD FOR THOUGHT

YB IF WE ARE TO ASPIRE TO BE OF THE FIRST WORLD ORDER IN GOVERNANCE ……………….IT IS GOOD TO BEGIN WITH THE BEHAVIOUR OF THOSE INSTRUMENTS OF GOVERNANCE- MR HONOURABLE SPEAKER

15. #15 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 9:35 am

I think Pandikar Amin should stop pursuing the case any further after all he has already given out warnings to LKS.

Being an abettor of Ronald Kiandee to WELCOME illegal immigrants to Sabah will not make him (Pandikar Amin) popular among Sabahans, and might even lead to his downfall in the next election. Think how the Sabahans feel when their “mouthpiece” (LKS) is suspended to voice their concern.

Pandikar Amin must act SMARTLY to stop being over zealous in pursuing the case so as to maintain a good relationship with Sabahans and not anger them.

16. #16 by TC33 on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 10:15 am

Dear YB,

I know the previous Selangor BN administration was useless, likewise the federal government, vis-a-vis Grand Saga over the BMC issue.

The current PR administration, whereby DAP is part of it, is equally useless in handling Grand Saga over BMC issue.

Your wakil-wakil rakyat, who capitalised the Grand Saga issue during PRU 12, now want the residents to wait for court’s rulling, surprisingly echoing BN’s stance all this while.

YB, what tsunami you always talking about???

17. #17 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 10:29 am

Tc33

I can’t agree more with you. This guy, MB Khalid is truly the Sleeping MB. People are now saying PR = Penipu Rakyat in the mamak stalls.

He gave 1 week for concerned parties to resolve the issue and failing which he will “step in”. That one week long ago passed and now he says this is a legal / biz matter.

Things are getting uglier by day with some thugs getting involved. I think if something is not done, we will see definitely going to se bloodshed.

LKS and DAP cannot feign ignorance as they are part of the state government and please DON”T evade responsibility.

While here YB Kit is talking irrelevant matters and attacking the Speaker, at Cheras people are crying for help and they are ignored.

DAP, what are your MPs doing to resolve the problem ? WHY are you not talking or highlighting it ? Is this what we will see when PR takes over Malaysian federal govt (ie issues get swept under the rug) ? Had this was under BN state govt, DAP would have gone to town with the problem. What are you waiting for ? To see people getting killed before acting ?

Please act NOW, don’t just TALK and TALK.

18. #18 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 10:31 am

“The current PR administration, whereby DAP is part of it, is equally useless in handling Grand Saga over BMC issue.”

In respond to the above:-

PR is definitely useless at this stage don’t forget it is the Federal BN Goons holding on to simple majority. We all hope soon, another political tsunami within this year (another 6 mths) will happen since DSAI has the numbers to overthrown the BN goons like Marcos (Philipines) & Suharto (Indonesia) history. PL BN will be the 1st in Malaysia 50 yrs of history to be overthrown by the PR.

PR at this moment are bidding their time, capitalizing anything BN thrown.

19. #19 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:33 am

People who have the numbers with them (MPs ready to defect) would not keep talking about it. Only a moron or someone who intend who lying would reveal that they have the numbers and waiting for the opportune time to act.

This is oxymoronic as it would allow BN to prepare their countermeasures.

If Anwar has the numbers he would have already acted and not keep talking about it. Most likely he is trying very hard to do so.

Anyone here wants to bet with me that Anwar will have the number to topple BN by Sep 16th ?

20. #20 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:36 am

Please lah, don’t keep giving excuse that the Federal govt is stopping PR from carrying out any meaningful actions. If that is the case I suggest the entire state govts of Kedah, Kelantan, Penang, Perak and Selangor resign and pass the rein to BN until they capture the Federal govt ? Because by saying that they can’t do much is an admission of failure.

I bet that no PR state govts would not do such thing (resign en bloc) ? Anyone dare to disagree with me ?

21. #21 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:51 am

When PKR was been sidelined to 1 seat Wan Azizah was there to defy all odds, as a result the Return of PKR in GE12 is possible.

“resign en bloc” only loser will follow such stance.

22. #22 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:52 am

Killer Says:

Today at 11: 36.46 (10 minutes ago)
    Please lah, don’t keep giving excuse that the Federal govt is stopping PR from carrying out any meaningful actions. If that is the case I suggest the entire state govts of Kedah, Kelantan, Penang, Perak and Selangor resign and pass the rein to BN until they capture the Federal govt ? Because by saying that they can’t do much is an admission of failure.

I bet that no PR state govts would not do such thing (resign en bloc) ? Anyone dare to disagree with me ?
    ———————————————-

Killer,

What talked you??? Why not the other way round, BN Federal govn resign enblock and pass it to PR to form the Federal govn. !!!

23. #23 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:53 am

Killer, U are talikng rubbish,
    Just as would BN fed govt resign en bloc & hand over to PR ??
    It is a fact that in Msia, state govt had very little power as compare with Fed govt.
    So, why can’t previous BN govt (Fed & Selangor State) solve this Grand Saga problem previously (In fact BN is the one creat this problem & many other problems !)

24. #24 by verbal-lash on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:02 pm

Killer,

Dare you to diasgree with me below …

Had BN done any better previously? After all, they had 22 years. With PR, what? A little more than 2 months? What sort of comparison you are doing? You think we are stupid on this blog that we cannot even make simple equations?

Lextcs

I think you are a very confused character. Was Khir Toyo any better? He is a known corrupt of the highest degree. Has MB Khalid done anything yet for you to throw such accusations? Or were you previously from Guthrie and got sacked by MB Khalid? Again, you think we people on this blog is stupid?

25. #25 by darcwil on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:02 pm

As visionary and pure an intention DSAI has about making change in Malaysia. He should also make sure his people under PR fulfills their promises to the states that they already have. Don’t scatter more promises asking people to join PKR, but what about the things you have all promised before? I want to see what the Selangor MB is going to handle the Grand Saga issue.

Sorry, a wee bit off blog posting topic, but i had to join in the current debate over here :P

26. #26 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:10 pm

Killer Says:
    Today at 11: 33.23 (18 minutes ago)

If Anwar has the numbers he would have already acted and not keep talking about it. Most likely he is trying very hard to do so.
    ———————————–
    Killer,

Why must Anwar act immediately? it is a political strategy to influence those BN MPs who are undecisive to think & to decide quickly whether to cross over!!! there’re many factors to consider in this issue and not as simple as what you think. The Sabah BN MPs still have “high hope” that the Federal BN govn. “will listen” to them and give the Federal govn. time to think before they eventually crossing over!!!

27. #27 by ShiokGuy on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:17 pm

Dear YB,

Don’t change your media statement nor your Blog, Let him suspend you and you are going to be hero and father of Modern Sabah! (My back chilled when i say that)

We need to be able to express our view, whether it is wrong or right! Expressing our view does not make it a fact or rule. We merely express how we think and feel, just like this kid who design his hair only during school holiday; Link here http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/05/freedom-of-expression.html

We really have a problem when an urgent matter is not urgently judge by someone in power to do so.

Without Prejudice: The speaker speak and sound like an Indonesia, Can someone trace where he is coming from?

Shiok Guy

28. #28 by ShiokGuy on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:27 pm

*** National Service ***
    Najid said recently that NS will aims for Zero Death!
    I will like to said this Without Prejudice: –

NS Aims for ZERO Death
    NS Aims for ZERO Torture
    NS Aims for Mental Exercise
    NS Aims for Social Awareness
    NS Aims for ALL SORT OF DISCRIMINATION

Don’t simple just thinking of building a toilet only when the shit start flowing.

ONLY 3 Days to the end of my NS Opinion Poll at my Blog, and the result so far is:

Total vote: 380
    Against : 360 (94%)
    For : 20 (6%)

Do go to vote before it end on 31 May, and I will write an article about it soon. Send me email Privately if you have a good or bad stories for me to publish. Some information on what I am going to do with your stories and the NS poll here http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/05/ns-poll-close-in-7-days.html

Cheer
    Shiok Guy
    http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/

29. #29 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:36 pm

I wonder what qualifications that the Speaker and Deputy Speakers have??? many Sabah MPs are only having SRP and SPM qualifications according to some news!!! it is not surprising that they will only use the standing order to stop all opposition to debate as they just cant understand what the MPs were talking about and cant judge what is important and urgent!!! Time to disclose what qualifications that they have in the web for all to see!!! Anyway, we should not just judge them according to qualifications as someone who graduated from Oxford University also talking non-sense in the parliament!!!

30. #30 by verbal-lash on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 12:48 pm

The Grand Saga issue is already a scary and obvious example of power abuse – it was reported in Malaysiakini that Zainal Abidin Ali, the Executive Director of Grand Saga is the former police chief of Dang Wangi. Little wonder that the police and the FRU come out in full force against the residents for opposing the building of the barricade.

I think the Selangor government is bring prudent with how it is handling the issue as they are avoiding a head-on clash with the machineries of Federal Government, who are now all-out to prove that they are boss and desperate to exert power.

I sincerely hope that in its own quiet but capable way, the Selangor Government vested by the support of the rakyat, will be able to prevail over the thugs in this issue.

31. #31 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 1:02 pm

TC33,

No one should take the laws unto their own hands!!! in this case, the authority should open the access road immediately (the court case can drag on for years as we all know that there are tons of cases pending in the court under BN govn.) as Grand Saga has no right to block the access road!!! if Grand Saga wanted compensation for the loss of revenue, they can claim back from the relevant parties if they won the case in the court and should not take the laws unto its own hands in blocking the access road and possibly in engaging armed men to stop the residents from removing the barricade!!! The police & FRU should not be helping Grand Saga to block the access road as it is against the laws to do so!!!

Killer,

You are a good instigator!!! Chinese saying puts it as “Gao Shi Kuan” i.e. the stick that stirs the sh*t (to make it more smelly)!!!

32. #32 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 1:04 pm

PR state govn. is clearing all the sh*its that was left behind by the previous BN govn. , so much precious time has been wasted in going through all the sh*its that they were left with very little time to really implementing new measures and projects!!! The one who sh*its a lot and all over the place is now demanding that all the sh*its be clear immediately and without budget (as all had been used up within two months instead for the whole year by the previous BN sh*iters)!!!

33. #33 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 1:29 pm

Folks

Aren’t you guys missing the point here ? Had the people of Selangor (yours truthly included) felt that Khir Toyo did a fantastic job then they would NOT have voted BN out and PR in.

Merely saying that the previously govt was bad and comparing the current one to them is an exercise in stupidity and to para-phrase Jose Mourinho (the ex-Chelsea) coach, its is the “philosophy of a loser”. Selangor’s govt cannot keep hiding under the skirt of Khir Toyo’s previous failings and blame for every thing forever.

As I had said, since you guys claim that it is difficult to manage the state without the Federal control, please be free to vacate your seats in all five states and wait patiently for that Political Transformer Anwar to “capture the power”. In all likelihood this going to be just like waiting for Mr Godot.

As someone who voted for PR in 12GE, I am extremely disappointed with the performance of PR national leaders at the Parliament and the management of the states.

Instead of reversing the failings of BN, we are actually further regressive into a huge black hole of no return. I am sorry, until PR folks deliver I had to agree with the new slogan that says :

PR = Pengkhianat Rakyat

34. #34 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 1:36 pm

i_love_malaysia Says:

Today at 13: 02.18 (26 minutes ago)
    TC33,

No one should take the laws unto their own hands!!! in this case, the authority should open the access road immediately (the court case can drag on for years as we all know that there are tons of cases pending in the court under BN govn.) as Grand Saga has no right to block the access road!!! if Grand Saga wanted compensation for the loss of revenue, they can claim back from the relevant parties if they won the case in the court and should not take the laws unto its own hands in blocking the access road and possibly in engaging armed men to stop the residents from removing the barricade!!! The police & FRU should not be helping Grand Saga to block the access road as it is against the laws to do so!!!

=================================================

Hello friend

Please check your facts before you shoot from your hip.Grand Saga has the law on its side and the High Court has ruled in its favour.

And if the barrier is illegal, then Mr Ronnie Liu and En Khalid Ibrahim please turun padang and remove it legally.

This incident goes to show that the PR govt of Selangor is just a govt of Putarbelit Rakyat and a “tin kosong”.

35. #35 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 1:37 pm

This is the biggest issue facing PR govt so far but none of the PR senior leaders like Dr Wan Zaharah, Anwar or LKS made any statements or tried to help Khalid. The people of Cheras have been abandoned by PR.

YB Kit, why the DEAFENING SILENCE ??

36. #36 by darren sky on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 1:44 pm

MB Khalid have done more in two months than The TOYOL in 10 years.Agree?

37. #37 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 2:02 pm

darren sky Says:

Today at 13: 44.41 (15 minutes ago)
    MB Khalid have done more in two months than The TOYOL in 10 years.Agree?

Completely agreed !!

Khalid has done far more than Khir Toyo in plunging the state into anarchy, lawlessness and bankruptcy.

38. #38 by seage on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 2:14 pm

Man, Killer, I enjoyed your postings :D

39. #39 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 2:27 pm

Killer Says:

Today at 13: 36.03 (43 minutes ago)
    i_love_malaysia Says:

Today at 13: 02.18 (26 minutes ago)
    TC33,

Hello friend

Please check your facts before you shoot from your hip.Grand Saga has the law on its side and the High Court has ruled in its favour.
    ——————————

Killer,

The court ruled that Grand Saga should only erect barricade within its indisputable concession area and not area beyond its concession area!!! Got it!!!

Below article reproduced from Staronline

“Tuesday May 27, 2008
    Grand Saga to rebuild barricade

GRAND Saga Sdn Bhd, the concessionaire of the Cheras- Kajang Highway, will reconstruct a barricade at the access road in Bandar Mahkota Cheras.

Its executive director, Zainal Abidin Ali, said in a press statement that the barricade was necessary to protect its interest as well as to ensure the safety of highway users.

According to Zainal Abidin, the original barricade was built to prevent unlawful access to the Cheras-Kajang Highway.

It was illegally demolished on April 21.

Since then, a series of events have occurred which led to further proceedings being instituted in the High Court by a resident of Bandar Mahkota Cheras, including an application to restrain the company from re-erecting a barricade.

This was refused by the High Court while noting an undertaking on the part of Grand Saga to re-erect the barricade within its indisputable concession area.

On May 13, Selangor Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim had given Grand Saga, developer Narajaya Sdn Bhd and the Malaysian Highway Authority seven days to reach an amicable solution.

The issue was not resolved after the grace period.

Grand Saga had advised the public to respect the court decision. “

40. #40 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 2:43 pm

Killer,

Another article on the same subject as above. The Kajang police didnt want to provide security to Grand Saga as there’s no court order.

Reproduced from Staronline:

“Wednesday May 28, 2008
    Standoff over Cheras barrier
    By RASHITHA A. HAMID, FAZLEENA AZIZ and ELIZABETH LOOI

KUALA LUMPUR: Tensions ran high at Bandar Mahkota, Cheras, when hundreds of residents gathered to remove a barricade which was rebuilt early yesterday to prevent access into the area.

Four people were arrested in the incident.

Grand Saga Sdn Bhd, the concessionaire of the Cheras-Kajang Highway, had reconstructed the barricade after it was taken down by the residents a few weeks ago.

Barrier rebuilt: Residents gathering after the barricade was rebuilt by Grand Saga workers (inset) on Tuesday. Later in the evening, a fracas ensued as a group of unidentified men attacked the residents as they tried to dismantle the barricade. — CHUA KOK HWA, DARREN TAN and BRIAN MOH/ The Star

A fracas ensued at about 7.15pm when a group of unidentified men armed with sticks and helmets attacked the residents. Several residents were taken to hospital.

Also injured was a photographer from Utusan Malaysia, Roy Azis Abdul Aziz, who was beaten up when he tried to snap some photographs.

Several cars parked at the roadside were also smashed by the group.

The group of men sat on the blocks, not allowing the residents to remove them and threatened to attack those who tried to go near the barricade. However, the group disappeared when the police arrived later.

On May 8, about 1,000 residents from the nearby areas demonstrated at Bandar Mahkota Cheras.

Kajang OCPD Asst Comm Shakaruddin Che Mood said Grand Saga Business Development and Corporate Affairs executive director Zainal Abidin Ali had written to him on Monday informing that they would rebuild the barricade, and requested for security.

However, ACP Shakaruddin rejected the request as there was no court order on the matter.

Grand saga contractors started to rebuild the barricade at 12.30am and finished at about 6pm. Zainal Abidin said the barricade was built on an “indisputable area” within Grand Saga’s boundaries.

Until last night, five of the injured had lodged reports at the Kajang police headquarters.

One of the victims, who only wanted to be known as Ina, said she and her husband with their four-year-old son were watching the drama when a group of men suddenly attacked them.

A resident, who only wanted to be known as Ken, said he was hit by a helmet and a pipe on his neck and back.

“I was only watching them pairing down the concrete sledge when suddenly a bunch of people arrived and started beating everyone up. I ran after I was beaten several times but some others were injured quite badly,” said the 28-year-old.

Another resident Kenny Ki, 45, said a group of men came in two cars and five motorbikes.

The residents disperse at 7.45pm but gathered again later to remove the barricades.

At 10pm, the Federal Reserve Unit arrived in three trucks and two water canon trucks and gave three warnings to the residents to disperse.

At press time, only a handful of people were still gathering a distance away from the barricade and several policemen remained.”

41. #41 by kingkenny on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 3:42 pm

I am getting angered by LKS blog more & more recently, especially with contributors like *killer* and the likes of him.

Not only does he always ask for proofs from opposition MPs and bloggers here for the travesties done by UMNO/BN (of which many were pointed out to him and of which he can readily check for himself), he also readily commit himself to the cause of UMNO/BN instead of the Greater NATIONAL UNITY OF MALAYSIANS.

In contrast, why didn’t he be first to provide proofs to us of the good governance of UMNO/BN that led to a better social integration, economic development, human resource development, integrity, transparency; and simply to propel our NATION FORWARD??!

Where are the proofs??! Is it KLCC, KLIA, KL Tower,??! What else??! Education? Medical advancement? Human capital development & training?

What else killer?

If you so like proofs, then you must show me proofs too. Can you tell me what happened to the report of the space exploration??! And also please answer the below:

1. Where is the report on “nano technology”?!

2. What is the deadline set by the government for the release of the report?!

2. What are the benefits of this “trip” to Malaysians?!

3. What are the purpose for UMNO/BN to make this “trip”?!

4. How much taxpayers money are used?!

5. Aside from Petronas’ & GL companies’ money, taxpayers money are the main source of revenue for the government, do you know what uses are these tax money?! What is it for?!

ACCEPT MY CHALLENGE killer, show me your class & give me proofs!
    And also please show (tell) me where you get your proofs from!

Dear other bloggers, tell killer to accept my challenge – if killer “tak keberatan”, we can have a debate in another blog too! From political to spirituality!

42. #42 by lextcs on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 3:44 pm

this is what going to happen guys…..when a snap election is called…that means all hell will break loose….stock mkt will limit dwn until 300 pts…..there will be mass chaos…..the rule of the jungle will take place…..no more mr. nice guy around us anymore….everyone will take the law into their own hands…..it will be like sierelone…or bosnia or zimbawee etc etc….inflation will sky rocket….

In zimbawee they trolley stack of cash just to buy daily provisions….suddenly our thousands become cents…..just thinking of it makes me nervous….

Goodbye guys…..good luck to you and your malaysia.

43. #43 by lextcs on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 3:44 pm

oh by the way…thanks you YB lim and company

44. #44 by donng55 on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 3:47 pm

—————————————-
    From MalaysiaKini
    (Ong Kian Ming and Oon Yeoh | May 26, 08 3:38pm)

Should Anwar apologise?

In a recent interview in The Star, Haris Ibrahim, the initiator behind the People’s Parliament, made an intriguing observation. He said that he would like to hear PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim apologise for all his actions (and inactions) during his 16 years in government.

“My contention is very simple,” he says. “Tell this nation, ‘I was wrong. I am sorry and I want to work with you’, and I think we can move forward.”

Haris added that he had been tracking Anwar’s public statements for the last few years and he has yet to see him make an unqualified apology to the nation.

————————–

YB Kit Siang,

Many of us who are critical of the BN are of the same opinion above. It is important that we know for sure if Anwar is what he says he is.

45. #45 by TC33 on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 3:53 pm

The Grand Saga issue affects badly the 30,000 residents of BMC and Bandar Sg. Long.

The root cause is no doubt BN (they paid for it), now perpetuated no doubt by BOTH the PR state government and BN federal government (who will pay for it, not sure yet…)

Before PRU 12, and apart from correctly blaming federal government, many DAP would be wakil rakyat also claimed that the Khir’s state government and MPKJ could resolve the matter if they chose to. Khir in turn passed the ball and asked the rakyat to let the court decides.

Now that PR rules Selangor and thus controls MPKJ, the newly elected wakil rakyat also ask the rakyat to let the court decides. Now they say state government & MPKJ are powerless…

Tsunami??? All the same!!! ==> let the court decides!!!

Meanwhile, PR leaders talk about “first class parliment” etc for “syok-syok sendiri” (just like our PM post PRU 11 2004), leaving the 30,000 residents behind!!!

46. #46 by lextcs on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 3:57 pm

they say the other side is greener……guess what guys….they are right! It is definately much greener! YB Kit when was the last time u travel round the world?

47. #47 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 4:01 pm

lextcs

Very perceptive observations….

I am adding some other repercussions…

Brutal gang rapes, murders, armed robberies and other heinous crimes would not make into newspapers….because the are too many of those and no longer something worth reporting.

Investors fleed the country, FDI dries to zero, ringgit reaches parity with rupiah, jobless rate hits double digit % and there are food and race riots daily.

The good news is that the problem of illegal immigrants will be solved as all of them would be gone to other countries like Singapore, Thailand or even Indonesia.

48. #48 by lextcs on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 4:05 pm

killer…u r a real killer……but u r damn right……better book me a no return ticket to the moon….

49. #49 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 4:05 pm

kingkenny

I think you are barking at the wrong tree, there are no BN/UMNO folks here and no one is defending their records. I am certainly not as I voted for PR in the 12GE and the previous ones as well. Whether I will vote for PR again in the 13GE is another matter though.

50. #50 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 4:07 pm

lextcs

Shall I book one-way, business class tickets to the Moon for both of us in Uncle Kit’s Red Rocket ?

51. #51 by lextcs on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 4:20 pm

think chiangrai is a perfect hideaway….

52. #52 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 4:22 pm

Killer & lextcs better book a one way ticket to Zimbabwe, and see what a ruling party (corrupt, with no check & balance, submissive rakyat who never make noise early) can do to a country !
    Both of U like so much chaos ! No need to wait, Just go to Zimbabwe & be a trillionaire.

53. #53 by lextcs on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 4:24 pm

sure…my ringgit is as valueable as yours chengon…sooliaw

54. #54 by taiking on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 6:16 pm

UMNO did a witch hunt after the general election and discovered the reason for its poor performance.
    BLOGS. Yes blogs, blogging and blogsites.
    “We lost in the technology war” they proclaimed.
    “We must not lose out”.
    “Like them we too must now blog.”

“And ..

“And we shut down their blogsites”
    “And jail the bloggers we dislike”

55. #55 by catharsis on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 7:54 pm

HAHAHAHAH

………………….verbal-lash Says:

Today at 12: 02.01 (7 hours ago)
    Killer,

Dare you to diasgree with me below …

………. What sort of comparison you are doing? You think we are stupid on this blog that we cannot even make simple equations?

Lextcs

…………………Has MB Khalid done anything yet for you to throw such accusations? Or were you previously from Guthrie and got sacked by MB Khalid? Again, you think we people on this blog is stupid?………………………

GOOD ON YOU- THAT IS A GOOD PIECE OF RETORT

56. #56 by bernadette on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 8:52 pm

catharsis,

learn to write proper english. how old are you?

57. #57 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 9:14 pm

Pandekar Amin is from the Iranun tribe originated from Sounthern Philippines. Most of them resided in the Kota Belud area.

58. #58 by TC33 on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 9:15 pm

Back to the Saga.

1) Selangor state owns 30% of Grand Saga. And the MB is unable to ask the board to back down???

2) The road block was built on the state land. And the MB / DAP Exco (Ronnie Liu) is unable to direct MPKJ to legally remove it???

Pity that woman who was senselessly beaten up last night by a group of paid gangster for trying to remove the road block. It’s avoidable, for it’s Pakatan Rakyat’s gomen’s job to remove it for the benefit of the Rakyat, some more they won both the parliment & state seat of BMC.

59. #59 by TC33 on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 9:44 pm

Donated RM50 for each of the three DAP candidates for Serdang Parlimentary seat & 2 state seats. Now that DAP forms the state gomen (and one of them becomes an Exco), they start telling me gomen can’t do anything but wait for the court rulling, can’t remove the road block erected on state land etc etc. And me end up have to live with 45-minute traffic jam each time going in or out of my Sg Long home.

Weeping… not for the RM150, but for a hope lost…
    Next time support BN die, support PR also die. Bloody hell……..

60. #60 by katdog on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 10:15 pm

TC33,
    Don’t worry. If you feel that PR is doing such a bad job, then vote for BN next time. Rumour is BN is going to call for snap election because BN feel that there are now many people like you who are disillusioned by PR and want BN back.

So remember, when BN call snap election in the next few months, vote BN. Then we can forget about this PR fiasco and go back to the happy wonderful days of peaceful BN rule.

Although seriously, do you really think that this would make things better?

61. #61 by Killer on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:18 pm

Katdog

Like many people here, you are missing the point TC33 and others have made.

We know how inefficient Khir Toyo’s BN admin was and that’s why we voted for PR. There is no point of keep harping on how bad Khir Toyo was as we are NOT stupid for we know that.

Unfortunately, the MB Khalid looks like the Malaysian version of Mr Bean and sometimes even like Goofy-on-Ice. His exco is pathetic with many of them (DAP MPs mainly) actively working against the MB. Some of these exco people have suddenly become hard to approach after the election and don’t answer calls anymore. Some of exco members were also proved to be total and utter failures (Elizabeth Wong is one of them).

PR govt has failed in the first major test and one which it has the means and control to resolve it relatively easily. many people are beginning to worry that where the state is heading with such a disasterous start. One can only see that it’s gonna be downhill all the way.

On the other hand, people who had promised us so much like anwar and LKS seems to be pre-occupied in gaining power rather than worry about the issues that affect the ordinary folks. While we suffer here, anwar has been jetting around and making arrogant statements to the foreign media.

Many people began to worry that we will end up like Indonesia. Full democratic freedom, free speech and human rights but riddled with corruption, unemployment, poor growth, ethnic tensions and contant bickering and instability.

Go to a mamak stalls and you will see people are talking about the good ol’days of Mahatir…

62. #62 by bernadette on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:45 pm

“Some of exco members were also proved to be total and utter failures (Elizabeth Wong is one of them).

i can understand why! she still thinks everything is a human rights issue – and has no political experience.

63. #63 by catharsis on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:50 pm

watch your grammar too berrnadette the pot

64. #64 by katdog on Wednesday, 28 May 2008 - 11:54 pm

No actually i get your point. You are missing mine.

You have a choice:
    A- BN government
    B- PR government
    Which one do you want? It is your choice. Each has its pros (yes, as amazing as it may be, the PR government does have it’s pro’s) and cons.

I was in no way defending the incompetence of the PR government nor am i comparing PR with the previous BN government. Rather, i am not looking backwards but forwards. I am suggesting, would picking solution A therefore solve the problem? Unfortunately I don’t have the answer to that. That’s for you to decide.

Which is why i said, if you feel that PR has not been the right choice you may be able to correct your ‘mistake’ on Mar 8 far more earlier than you think. You may not have to wait 5 years to the next elections to correct your choice. BN government may call for snap elections.

Now more than ever, nobody should ever use the excuse of no real choice anymore. You have a real choice now after Mar 8. Do you want A or B? Look forwards. Who do you want? If your answer is A then so be it.

Btw, Indonesia’s FDI has surpassed Malaysia’s. Malaysia can barely compete regionally now against Thailand, Vietnam, Indonesia and Singapore, let alone China, India and South Korea. Indonesia may soon become ‘unsuitable’ for comparison to Malaysia soon.

65. #65 by TC33 on Thursday, 29 May 2008 - 12:28 am

Katdog,

I said “next time support BN die, support PR also die”,
    as both can’t solve the BMC puzzle which directly affects me.
    I am like in a fix.

Erm.. I may not come out to vote the next time.
    But if I must vote, then I will still vote for PR (lesser evil…)

66. #66 by katdog on Thursday, 29 May 2008 - 1:22 am

TC33,
    My point exactly.

But not voting in my opinion is a bit of a waste. I am going to suffer one or the other government for the next 5 years anyway. Let me at least choose which incompetent government i would like to suffer under rather than let other people decide for me.

67. #67 by Killer on Thursday, 29 May 2008 - 9:07 am

Dear Katdog

As I had mentioned before, this is what is called the “philosophy of loser”.

When confronted on any issues, the defences come up and say “look we are better than the previous guy so you guys better don’t complain”.

My dear friend this is end of May 2008 and we are no longer talking about voting between BN and PR. There is ZERO point of talking about choosing between the two as it is completely irrelevant unless we are having an election tomorrow.

What I (and many other people of Selangor) want is ACTION and not another Goofy-on-The-Ice Menteri Besar who espaces from the problem and an exco who would rather sit at office and issue press statements and look pretty than “turun padang” and help the rakyat.

Like it or not, we have to live with this Mr Bean of Malaysia for the next 5 years but he and his exco better deliver as people like me demand better performance, much better performance than what was dished out by Khir Toyo. Remember we voted you in not because we love you but because your election manifesto and promises.

And BTW where did you get the data on FDI that showed Indonesia had surpassed Malaysia ? Mamak stalls ? I hope you are not joking here…

68. #68 by katdog on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 11:00 am

Hi Killer,
    Thanks for pointing out my error (about the FDI stuff)

I was making that comment based on outdated information.
    I looked up the latest 2007 UNCTAD report here and stand corrected:
    http://www.unctad.org/en/docs/wir2007_en.pdf

To summarize, the FDI inflows (in millions) of the various countries i mentioned as stated in the report:
    2004 2005 2006
    Singapore 19 828 15 004 24 207
    Indonesia 1 896 8 337 5 556
    Malaysia 4 624 3 965 6 060
    Thailand 5 862 8 957 9 751
    Viet Nam 1 610 2 021 2 315

Indonesia surpassed Malaysia in 2005 (8.3 billion versus 3.9 billion) but Malaysia surpassed Indonesia in 2006 with 6 billion versus 5.5 billion.

More good news for Malaysia. The latest estimates of the UNCTAD report 2008 can be found here:
    http://www.unctad.org/Templates/webflyer.asp?docid=9439&intItemID=1528&lang=1

To summarize again:
    2007 (in billions)
    Singapore 36.9
    Indonesia 5.9
    Malaysia 9.4
    Thailand 10.0

FDI in 2007 for Malaysia up to 9.4 billion, with Indonesia a poor 5.9 billion. Singapore is still way ahead of everyone else with 36.9 billion. The closest is Thailand in second place with 10 billion.

So there you go, Killer. Those are the facts for you. I hope next time, you will be willing to share your facts with us.

69. #69 by katdog on Friday, 30 May 2008 - 11:04 am

Hmm… tabs don’t work very well.
    Let me reformat the table.

2004 2005 2006
    Singapore 19,828 15,004 24,207
    Indonesia 1,896 8,337 5,556
    Malaysia 4,624 3,965 6,060
    Thailand 5,862 8,957 9,751
    Viet Nam 1,610 2,021 2,315