Idiotic pride displayed for all to see

by Dr. Azly Rahman

Recently, Johoreans formulated a resolution on ketuanan Melayu. I do not know what this means at a time when our political-psychological landscape has changed.

They met at a time when Umno is so messed up and its old and new presidents are fighting like the Jacobins and the Girondins, and Parliament looks like the trading floor of the New York Stock exchange in the days of ticker-tape.

The Johoreans are doing the ketuanan Bahasa Melayu thing when Malays and Malaysians are in need of powerful mastery of the English Language to not only progress but also to understand why the majority of Malays are digressing while the powerful few are plundering.

Is this what Johor Malays are good at, in their critical analysis of society? Or is this the hypocritical sensibility the Melayu Bangsawan Johor possesses?

I do not know. Having been born and raised in Johor, I have a different view of this Johor hegemony.

This is the Berita Harian report on the resolution, as cited on the Malaysian Bar Council website on May 5, 2008:

Kongres Permuafakatan Melayu bertemakan ‘Kedaulatan Melayu Paksi Kewujudan Bangsa’ selama tiga hari di Johor Bahru yang berakhir semalam, menyaksikan usaha bersungguh-sungguh lebih 2,000 peserta mewakili 200 pertubuhan bukan kerajaan Melayu dari seluruh negara mahu bangsa Melayu terus unggul…. Mereka mahu kuasa, kedaulatan dan ketuanan Melayu terus dipelihara, bukan membiarkannya diancam oleh pihak lain.

It’s a very powerful resolution. Sounds like a reiteration of the ideology of the Biro Tata Negara. There is nothing wrong with holding a conference to reiterate the need to feel good about oneself from time to time. But I wonder if it is about critical sensibility or hypocritical one-dimensionality.

I am familiar with the mind of the Johor Malay, having being raised in that sub-culture. It has its progressive streak but it has its digressive streak as well.

The resolution highlights very critical issues for the ‘survival’ of the Johor Malays, as they would contend.

The real threats

I believe that these are the real issues that need to be urgently addressed:

• Investigation into the cultural breakdown of the Malays and its relationship to the ideology of development brought about by Johor Umno

• The nature of controlling interests in the Iskandar Development Region; who will benefit in the large scale hyper-modernised development projects and what is the nature of inter-locking directorateship?

• The issue of distribution of wealth and uneven development since Independence and since the rule of Barisan Nasional

• The stand of the Johor leadership vis-a-vis the crisis plaguing the premiership of Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and what the Johoreans are going to do about it

• The potential wave of crossovers of Johor Umno members due the nature of meltdown in party leadership

• The attractiveness of the idea of radical multi-cultural politics and how this is influencing the younger generation of Johoreans and what this will do the future of BN in Johor.

• The weakness of Johor Umno itself in addressing the growing interest in the ideology of Pakatan Rakyat

• The issue of the use of the English language in the teaching of Mathematics and Science

• The idea that non-Malays are threatening the ‘sovereignty’ of Malays – and notice that ketuanan Melayu is being replaced by kedaulatan melayu

• The increasing number of high-level, high profile unresolved corruption cases over the last 30 years

I believe that the aim of the congress is not to strengthen the will of the Malays but to mask the real issue of oppression that has plagued the Malays of Johor.

The Malays of Johor and other states need to fight to end all forms of totalitarianism against Malaysians – those that are in the form of Biro Tata Negara, National Service, Internal Security Act, Universities and University Colleges Act, Printing Presses and Publications Act, and all kinds of acts that repress.

Johor Malays should have better things to do than to mask the real issue of a nation in need of education and socialisation for religious and racial understanding, instead of passing resolutions to warn against other races against ‘challenging ketuanan Melayu’.

Malay dignity lies in wisdom and not in war-mongering nor in idiotic pride. A good resolution in any congress should reflect this, not renew hatred and instill unfounded or dumbfounded fear among younger Malays.

We need to grow wiser as we grow older. We see so many senile Malay leaders who are growing old with hatred, so that they may hide their insecurities and perhaps escape prosecution for unwise decisions they have implemented.

Johoreans, have another congress. This time, discuss the real issue of why the Malays are now deeply depressed.

1. #1 by bra888 on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:10 am

After reading some of the comments in

http://www.chedet.com/2008/05/ketuanan-melayu.html?commentPage=2

I found an interesting argument made to support ‘Ketuanan Melayu’. I can’t quote exactly what that person said because as you can see, there’s just too many comments and I lost track of the comment’s whereabouts.

I bring this argument up not to suggest that I support ‘Ketuanan Melayu’, but to start discussing about certain topics we, the non-bumiputeras, have failed to brought up before.

Anyway, that person’s argument in his comment was that they (Malay) believe that they deserve better as they believe that it was their ancestors that fought for independence with their sweat and blood.

He/she give examples by referring to the history books, indicating or claiming that none of the Chinese or Indians were involve in bringing independence to the country. He/she also give examples claiming that it was the Malays who fought during wars to protect this nation therefore deserves better while no involvements from the Chinese or Indians were mentioned during wars.

Now, looking back at that argument, I realize that it seems to be a good argument as I have difficulty recalling those Chinese or Indians who fought for independence. There’s no specific Chinese or Indian heroes in Malaysia mentioned in the history books.

I bring up this issue, believing that it is possible that there could be some Chinese or Indian leaders, but were forgotten somewhere along the journey in history.

I refuse to believe that there would be none. Because of this, I suspect that it is possible that ’someone’ is ‘moderating’ the history books such that less and less Chinese or Indian heroes will be remembered and will be lost forever for the sake of the pride of the Malay civilization.

During my time when I’m studying history in my primary school and secondary secondary school, I grow tired of learning the exact same history from primary school to the end of my secondary school.

I noticed that the history books are biased in a way that they purposely discussed the golden age in the Islamic world and the dark ages in Europe when I was in form 4. That was the only world history that I’ve learnt during my secondary school.

I believe that little attention was purposely made towards non-bumiputera heroes of this country. It is possible that the efforts done by Lim Kit Siang himself could be forgotten by Malaysia history. This is when our forgotten history haunts the present people.

This brings to the issue that the opposition party should consider moderating the history books as well. The black community in the US has their own history, it’s time to bring ours back to the history books (if it exists).

2. #2 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:12 am

apa hak?perbuatan macam lanun,selalu reka bayang dendiri sebagai musuh,buat kacau,buat rusuhan,suka skim cepat kaya,imam-2 dan jakim buat jasa apa utk mendidik anak-2 muda melayu supaya tak jadi snatch thief ,mat rempit,mat lepak dan fit (penagih dadah)?

cakap saja suara kuat,melalui speaker besar,buang masa dan resources negara saja!

sekarang bukan isu agama dan kaum,isu sosial,ini pun tak faham,mau hak apa?hak lancxu!pemimpin-2 yg sesat,yg pandai jadi hero kaum,pandai putar-belitkan isu-isu sosial jadi isu-2 kaum,patut ‘suai’ 7 generasi sebab kelakuan jijik mereka,seperti KJ!

3. #3 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:19 am

“Mereka mahu kuasa, kedaulatan dan ketuanan Melayu terus dipelihara, bukan membiarkannya diancam oleh pihak lain.”

These are words that intoxicate the minds of Malays, while the feudalistic Umnoputras plunder the nation, twist the laws, skew the implementation of NEP, and suppress racial equality and harmony for their own benefits.

Malay dignity – At what cost to the nation? What’s the point when the real struggle is not among races, but between the have and have not, especially within the Malays?

Have a close look at Mahathir. All his actions, are they for Malay dignity in the long run?

4. #4 by taiking on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:42 am

Mahathir is a mamak.
    And he is championing the “malay supremacy” cause.
    So you see the cause need not be headed by a malay at all.
    Perhaps that is why there are many mamaks in the crowd.
    A chinaman can do the leading job just as well.
    And introduce some chinaman into the crowd.
    Then we all would rebrand it “malayan supremacy”.
    What about sarawakians and sabahans?
    Oh what the heck.
    Its one big party.
    Come and join in the fun.
    Lets call it “malaysian supremacy”

5. #5 by Godfather on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:42 am

How about including a resolution to figure out why the gap between Singapore and Bolehland continue to widen post 1965 ? There is no dignity in going backwards all the time. The word is “shame”.

6. #6 by rckk007 on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:54 am

How come these sort of gatherings are not deemed illegal gatherings? I bet they did not apply for police permit either. Was it really 2000 people attended, or really 200?

7. #7 by megaman on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:58 am

With power comes responsibility …

The fact is the malays wield the political power in Malaysia by virtue of being the majority as well as having active and established political institutions.

However, have they wield this power responsibly to ensure that all Malaysians are looked after regardless of race and status ?

No !!!

Being “tuan” means you have to be responsible for whoever you are “tuan” over. Not to bully others and take from others but to be responsible and make their welfare your obligations.

When a “tuan” is magnanimous and wise, there are nothing he lacks for whatever he gives he receives back a hundred-fold from his subordinates.

When the so-called “tuan” is afraid and oppressive, it means the so-called “tuan” is nothing but a tyrant. The only thing that tyrants are most afraid of is actually the same persons that was oppressed.

The so-called Tuan Melayus in Malaysia are nothing but bullies and tyrants. They are always afraid that their power and privileges of being “terancam” by non-malays that they forget what it truly mean to be Tuans ….

8. #8 by sotong on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:12 am

Like the conflicts destroying the Middle East countries, their problems are caused by ” outsiders ” imported to fight for the local people and local issues who do not fully understood the real issues.

Some of these so called ” champions/warriors ” of real and local Malays are doing the same to the country…..for power, wealth and influence, many are willing to do anything at the great expense of the country.

9. #9 by NASILEMAK on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:24 am

While these people are doing their “Ketuanan” war-cry, the rest of us Malaysians just continue to gather knowledge, work hard and …work hard and work smart. In another 50 years, while we will hear the same war-cry from these people, the rest of us Malaysians are miles ahead !

So let them do the war-cry. Others, let us WORK HARD, WORK SMART and improve our lot with pride !

10. #10 by taiking on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:24 am

Dear Bra888,
    My secondary school history books have a lot of info which would be deemed politically incorrect today.
    That was 30 years ago.
    How I wish I still have them now so that I make the info available for all young malaysians to read.

11. #11 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:28 am

If u dun allowed the foreigner to come to Malaysia to invest, how can Malaysia prosper like Singapore? Why are the Malays still interested to defend the “Ketuanaan”? while the real master behind these Ketuanaan is the UMNO leaders.

12. #12 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:32 am

The British, Spanish, Netherlands, China are very strong civilization because they don’t enforce the Ketuanaan policy like the UMNO goons are doing now.

13. #13 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:41 am

I would like to add, all these civilization contribute back to their kingdoms unlike the Malays, they robe from their kingdoms causing mass revolt (5 states revolted against the Ketuanaan UMNO), they robe the rakyat thru implementation of taxes, cutting down the subsidies Malaysian should be enjoying, using ISO to jail innocent civillians and deliberately privatize our land thru Iskandar projects to enrich their pockets, the pig rearing deals each of the cronies benefit from each pig slaughter for chinese consumption and prevent Malaysian basic infrastructure like road e.g. the infamy Grand Saga.

History does repeat, tyranny will fall because they are not always right e.g. Ketuanaan Melayu. Have u all seen the last emperor (story abt. how emperor collapsed)? when at one point all these leader become too greedy, and corrupted they will fall, like Suharto, Marcos, and many more, soon it will be Najis and PL turn in Malaysia.

14. #14 by 318 on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 10:55 am

when talking about history, history change people but in Malaysian the peoples are changing the history

15. #15 by bumi-non-malay on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:03 am

I am sure Bapa Johor Modern, Sultan Abu Bakar would have put these goons in their proper place. Then again the greatest challenge for Malaysia is still Freedom from Racism, Freedom of Religion and Freedom of Press.

The more ALL their monkey acts, corruption acts, gets video and put in U-Tube…society will deal with these Parasites accordingly. The Power of the internet to free the minds of Malaysian cannot be discounted. Hope DAP have some plans to have some of their Barisan Rakyat state have a once a month Freedom of Speech day in their respective Stadium!!

16. #16 by LALILOo on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:09 am

That sounds seditious.

Are we allowed to do a police report on that?

17. #17 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:55 am

UMNO came from Johor…………..hmmm………

I wonder, are they the “blinded” ones or are they the ones who blinded their comrades??!

They are so confused, and to be honest and please forgive me for my frankness, they are so backward!lol

China, with thousands of years of rich history with countless kings & princes, have long abandoned monarchy. But here in Malaysia, Sultan are revered and respected by everyone.

Malaysian Sultans are proof that Malays too have a rich culture, one that goes nicely with modernization, even “other” races will humbly clasp their palms and say “Ampun Tuanku” when they met the King or Sultan!

Is it the common layman defenders of “ketuanan Melayu” or the Sultan themselves?

It is obvious, the whole episode has been politicized by common people, who I think is out to create confusion among their own.

Many interpretations have been told of what is this “ketuanan Melayu”, but don’t beat around the bush, alas, it only mean ONE thing and they only wanted ONE thing:

that is to be the MASTER of all races in Malaysia with unequaled, and I say again UNEQUALED perks, benefits, scholarships, business loans, business projects, best interests (%) and everything under the sun!

If what they have resolved in the resolution is not a propaganda for a total submission of other races to “ketuanan Melayu”, can someone please tell me, what else are?

They seem to be suffering from inferiority complex in their own country!

I am sorry, but I did not meant to insult my Malay friends, it is aimed at those at the resolution and those who supported it. Alas, they should blame Tun Mamak for handouts for the last 22 years, because when Mamak is gone, and no clear solutions for them from AAB, they have resorted to threats and violence!

And this is the vision 2020!!!!

Dear PR, please for fight for my rights in Malaysia, I was born after our “great” independence and should be considered a Bumi just like other countries in the world!

What is the difference between a Bumi and Non-Bumi friends?

Bumi = 1.anak kelahiran “tanah” Malaysia OR

2.anak kelahiran “Melayu” Islam??!

The correct one is of course “tanah” Malaysia….I need not give you the meaning of Non-Bumi, it is obvious Non-Bumi is “from not the land”…am I correct and agreeable?

So, DAP & PR, you can lobby to scrap this Bumi & Non-Bumi thing from our forms and replace it with :

1. “Tuan Melayu Islam Asli”

2. Hamba Cina

3. Hamba India

4. Hamba Lain-lain, sila nyatakan:

Bravo!

18. #18 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:55 am

If continue like that, can forget about develop IDR !

19. #19 by cfheoh on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 12:05 pm

Dr. Azly, I salute you with my greatest respect. I have been long saying that we, Malaysian, are riddled with fear of insecurity while the other countries have longed passed us on the road of greater globalization.

I am not saying that we should give up our sovereignty to the global superpower, but at least we should progress as a global citizen in this fast changing world.

It is sad to see how much we have digressed in our thinking and we have no one to blame than ourselves. Get rid of the insecurities, the fear that is not even there. Focus on the fundamentals and our strengths in our diversity. Unite as one rather than focusing on use divisive strategies to put down the other ethnicities.

20. #20 by taiking on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 12:10 pm

Kingkenny’s remarks struck me for a while and thankfully it cleared my thoughts a little.
    Yes the whole issue is being championed by a certain Tun Mamak.
    Where his ancestor came from, there the society was and still is being slotted into clearly defined classes.
    The practice is picked up UMNOputras and by some mentally misplaced soals in johore.

21. #21 by gundam on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 12:46 pm

“Malay dignity lies in wisdom and not in war-mongering nor in idiotic pride.”

“Black cat, white cat, all that matters is it catches mice”.

i am sincerely worried for my beloved malays’ future…….

22. #22 by kerishamuddinitis on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 12:56 pm

I have no problems whatsoever calling Malaysia by the ‘Malay name,’ Tanah Melayu. Neither do I have any problems with Malay being our national language nor with having to learn, converse or write in Malay. This is what many countries in the world practice anyway – China, Chinese, Mandarin even though there are hundreds of minority races who have embraced ‘being Chinese nationals.’ So too with Britain, England, Wales, Scotland, Spain, France, Germany, Peru, Columbia etc.

But I do take offense in the face of efforts to erase the true and natural history of this country and nation. Australia has ‘repented’ and accorded their aboriginals their rightful place in the nation’s history. US, regardless of their treatment of the American Indians, have acknowldeged their rightful place as ‘original peoples.’ New Zealand has done likewise for the Maoris. First, recognition and acknowldegement must take place. Then, the proper recourse will have to follow, sooner or later. Then, ‘Tanah Melayu’ will become irrelevant.

For Malays to continue to deny that they are NOT the original peoples is simply making a mockery of their own history. There is no denying that Malays settled this land in far greater numbers than the sum total of all the original peoples but then this is only true of Peninsula Malaysia. It is a different scenario in East Malaysia. Given that Malaysia is both Peninsula and East Malaysia, therefore as a nation, Malays cannot continue to live a lie. They will continue to alienate ALL the original peoples, especially the now modern, emancipated East Malaysian original peoples.

For Malays to continue to erase the modern history of this land and deny the roles of non-Malays including that of the colonialists is to force-feed lies to their own children. It is only the Malay children who will suffer from amnesia resulting from the drunkeness of ‘malay supremacy.’ For the rest of us who are non-Malays, we proudly teach our children that our forefathers had a pivotal role in the building of this nation. Not only do we do this, we also teach them that the colonialists, whatever their sins, introduced modernisation to this land.

And because we acknowledge and accept the nation’s TRUE and REAL past history, we are also able to teach our children to truely appreciate the current modern history and evolving history of Malaysia where we non-Malays are here to stay! And stay we will because we are part and parcel of making this country what is is today, good or bad!

We must sympathise with our Malay brethren who till this day are being fed lies and mind-bending ‘truths’! Today, as we witness the unfolding events, it is Malay deceiving Malay in UMNO.

This is the legacy that must come to pass when UMNO has been deceiving Malays for the last 30 years.

At least, DSAI, a Malay has come to his senses and acknowledges it cannot continue. DSAI must become PM so that he will steer Malays and all other nationals of Malaysia in the right path to ensure Malaysia is truely a land for Malaysians, not just Malays. DSAI cannot, and must not succumb to perpetuating the lies of ‘Malay supremacy,’ otherwise when globalisation totally engulfs Malays, it will be too late to realise it’s all been a pipe-dream, an opium that nearly destroyed the Chinese!

DSAI for Prime Minister by Sept 16, 2008!

23. #23 by joehancl on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 12:57 pm

Let us not quarrel along racial lines. Malaysia is already 50 years gone. We are still good in terms of food, living, wealth etc. The mess we are in is politics, power, the rules of govt. So get out of this mess. For what its worth I think Anwar (Warts and all) is in the best position to take malaysia out of its mess. The man was damned six years in jail(rightly or wrongly). But now he is lifted up to can be PM. This I say he could not do on his own but by the perception of malaysians or by God. If he truly wants to serve as PM he had better have HONEST values to serve all malaysians. A man who has gone through such sufferings (himself and family) still wants to be corrupt in govt. will be damned by his people if not by God. Anwar should make his move.

24. #24 by wongap on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 12:58 pm

Hats off to Dr Azly Rahman for his many postings on ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ and his thoughts as a progressive Malaysian. If I may paraphrase Sdr Kit Siang, the call for Malay unity in any different form during this modern era of global uncertainties, instead of Malaysian unity, is sending the political development and maturity back to the ‘jurassic park’.

Malaysia, and the whole world, is now threathened with global financial meltdown with major banks of the world insolvent; a food crisis that will see multinational biotech corporations propogating genetically engineered agriculture; escalating oil price and hyperinflation; the indescriminate US Federal Reserve’s expansion of credit and hence creating more money in the world monetary system; the impending world hyperinflation and deflation occuring at the same time (stagflation); the threat of war in Iran and further escalation to a world war; etc.

The food price inflation for Malaysia in 2007 was 47.1%. Yet the smart Keynesian economists in Bank Negara are still maintaining the interest rate at 3.5% and allowing easy credit (money creation). The goons are still talking about the 5 Corridors as though they will magically lift those below poverty line to prosperity. When hyperinflation hit us in 2008 and 2009, it will like cyclone Narqis, all Malaysians will be ill prepared, thanks to those in Bank Negara and the economic planners who are dragging their feet now, and those who clamour for all sorts of ‘Ketuanan’.

We are all freaking doomed.

Wong Ang Peng

25. #25 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 12:58 pm

Dear bra888,

I wish to point to you a certain book called “Scorpio: The Communists Eraser” to your kind attention. It is written by a former “Malaysian Chinese” soldier.

It is a recollection of this nation’s Heroes who tirelessly fought the communists and propel this small country to the road of Independence.

In this book, you will find not only find Melayu, but Chinese, Indians, Gurkhas, Ibans, Dayaks, & even the British help secure Independence!! :)

Don’t believe their books, it is propagandist in nature to deceive and many errors are contained in the books as a result of poor research on their part!

No offence, even Hang Tuah & his gang are actually Chinese people, that is why my son will never get to learn about Hang Tuah & Melaka nowadays, as it is already been taken from school textbooks!!

26. #26 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 1:04 pm

Dear kerishamuddinitis,

opium did not destroy the Chinese, more correctly it is the Chinese who destroy the Chinese.

Like what is happening now to Malays here.

27. #27 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 1:14 pm

Chinese sell opiums to Chinese = Mamak handouts for 22 years

28. #28 by wag-the-dog on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 1:23 pm

MIC Rebranding – Heading for Failure

Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.

29. #29 by kerishamuddinitis on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 3:36 pm

ahsoneh, kingkenny, you are so right…

opium…nearly, Chinese destroyed Chinese…totally.

ketuanan Melayu…maybe, nearly. Mamak handouts, racial conditioning of Malays and 22 years of ‘you get what other races will not get…’, quite definitely totally.

30. #30 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 3:42 pm

Dear kerishamuddinitis,

Indeed.

Indeed.

It is human error, government error.

So, if it is a human error, he must be a bad human. We MUST remove the bad human and replace him with a good human!

Change the government!

FREE MALAYSIA from lies, racial divide & lame ignorant & arrogant politicians!!!!

31. #31 by kingkenny on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 3:46 pm

VOTE THEM OUT! KICK THEM OUT!

32. #32 by isahbiazhar on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 5:28 pm

It is time for the Malays to forget about Malay supremacy.They should educate themselves and compete with the other races.The best wins the race.No more Mara schools or special matriculation.They have to compete and prove that they are as good as anybody.The Malays should be allowed to practice the freedom of religion.If a Malay wants to leave Islam he should not be punished.In Indonesia the government never interferes except some hardcore fanatics.In Malaysia if a non Muslims wants to marry a muslim s/he should be allowed to practise his or her religion.The child can choose once h/she reaches the age of maturity.The Malays will not be any way relegated.If only the Malays had given equal opportunities to the non Malays from the time of independence in everything, we would have had built a powerful rich country.The Malays were brought to this situation by people like Mahathir who were afraid that they will be q

33. #33 by sabil on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 5:30 pm

Quoted:

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ketua Menteri Penang, Lim Guan Eng baru-baru ini mengemparkan hadirin dengan ucapan beliau ketika turun berceramah dan bertemu rakyat bahawa beliau ingin mengikut jejak langkah Umar Abdul Aziz.

Ramai yang tertanya, adakah Guan Eng kenal siapa dia Umar sebernarnya? Adakah dia main sebut sahaja?

Hadirin yang mengikut ceramah tersebut bagaimanapun tidak berganjak kerana mahukan kepastian dan motif utama ucapan Guan Eng. Sepanjang ucapannya Guan Eng hanya bercerita kisah kehebatan Umar Abdul Aziz.

Kata Guan Eng, Umar tidak ambil sesen pun duit rakyat, Umar memulangkan kembali wang peruntukan kerajaan yang diberi kepadanya, Umar juga memadamkan lampu kerajaan apabila menerima kehadiran anak beliau yang bertujuan urusan peribadi dikediaman beliau dan bermacam lagi yang diperkatan oleh Guan Eng mengenai Umar Abdul Aziz.

Dalam ucapannya Guan Eng menyanjung tinggi Umar Abdul Aziz yang menjadi idolanya. Guan Eng juga berazam akan mengotakan janji beliau kepada rakyat, seperti yang dilakukan oleh Umar Abdul Aziz.

Dalam sesi soal jawab pula, ada hadirin yang bertanya, bagaimana Guan Eng mengetahui kisah Umar Abdul Aziz ini kerana ada di antara orang Islam yang tidak mengenali Umar Abdul Aziz. Guan Eng dalam kenyataannya berkata, ketika beliau dipenjarakan dahulu, Dato’Fadhil Noor (Al Marhum Presiden PAS) antara orang yang kerap mengunjungi beliau dan Dato Fadhil Noor orang yang kerap membekalkan buku-buku berkaitan dengan Islam, ini termasuklah buku mengenai kisah Umar Abdul Aziz. Dari buku tersebutlah Guan Eng mengenali tokoh Islam tersebut.

Dalam pertemuan yang lain pula, sebagai seorang Ketua Menteri, sudah tentu Guan Eng diberi kediaman rasmi, tetapi beliau tidak mendiami rumah rasmi tersebut, dan beliau masih menumpang di rumah bapanya, Lim Kit Siang.

Apabila ditanya Mat Sabu, mengapa Guan Eng tidak menerima kediaman rasmi Ketua Menteri tersebut, Guan Eng berkata, untuk tinggal di rumah tersebut, ia perlu di ubahsuai, dan kos pengubahsuaian itu menelan belanja RM 300,000.00. Guan Eng berkata beliau tidak sanggup membazirkan duit rakyat untuk mengubahsuai kediaman Ketuan Menteri tersebut.

Mat Sabu turut memesan kepada Guan Eng, bahawa Guan Eng boleh menjadi seperti Umar Abdul Aziz, tetapi Guan Eng bukan beragama Islam seperti Umar Abdul Aziz dan “bagaimana awak (Guan Eng) mahu mengatasi kekurangan ini”?

Jawapan yang di beri Guan Eng, “ Tunggu ayah saya meninggal dulu”..

Apakah kenyataan ini ikhlas dari hati Guan Eng? Jika ia benar-benar ikhlas, ia akan menjadi satu tamparan hebat kepada Karpal Singh dan juga bapanya Lim Kit Siang.

Jika niat Guan Eng itu benar, kita sama-samalah doakan agar hajatnya itu dimakbulkan Allah S.W.T

Adakah tindakan Guan Eng bakal dipersetujui oleh pengikut beliau yang bukan beragama Islam?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Actually, I wonder what LKS will response with this quotation,

err..

Mr. LKS what do you think?

34. #34 by isahbiazhar on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 5:37 pm

questioned.Mahathir never knew that a time will come when everything will be equal.His departure was welcomed but now he wants to stop Abdullah doing what he had not done.His resignation from UMNO should not give rise to any problems.All his followers will be from 90to 60 age group.They cannot contribute significantly to anything.The new generation of people below the 60 will fare well in his absence.UMNO without his membership will thrive but it has to accomodate the non Malays as well.Abdullah should run the government till the end of the term.He has the support of both the Malays and the non Malays and he should win any election of the party in the future,

35. #35 by limkamput on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 6:43 pm

The Malay leaders have not been chosen from the universal set. Thus far, the leadership is essentially decided by 2000 odds UMNO delegates. However, once they are at the helm, they think they have everything – wisdom, intelligence, capability, vision, and dynamism. Everything they say goes. Most of the rakyat, especially among the Malays are sadly so docile when faced with their leaders. The [bold]bangsawan and [bold]hamba relation is still very much alive especially among the Malay community.

I must say our present education system has played a significant part in stifling the progressive thinking among our people. In the name of implementing national education policy, the objective was really to subjugate our people – making them studying “useless” and concocted history. Let me share you an example: if we allow our students to study the Commonwealth History, I think it will imbue among our students and citizens a different mind set. Please don’t get me wrong. I am not glorifying colonialism. But by studying the Commonwealth history, we learned about constitutional development of governments. That is why I see a mark difference in terms of world view between those of my generation and those that have undergone the present system of education. We are doing great injustice to our students by denying them the opportunities to look at the world in proper perspective. I must say the extremist and the chauvinistic in the Education Ministry and the Universities (one of them was obviously present at the Congress) are largely responsible for this. Like the Japanese students being denied of what really happened during the Second World War, we are denying our students how to look at the world with untainted eyes.

Dr Azly Rahman, you people have to find a way to play a more significant role for this country before it becomes a basket case. It is for the sake of the vast majority of Malaysians I am appealing to you.

36. #36 by cancan on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 7:10 pm

We do not need anymore fire for our already burning fire.

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

37. #37 by bystander on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 7:47 pm

Well said, Azhar. Malays can be like Dr Azly, Dr farish and Dr bakri etc etc. But the crutches must come off and not depend on hand outs. Otherwise the nation will be going backward whilst others are moving forward. Unless we want to be like Zimbabwe where the poor and rural suffer. We malays and non malays alike must not allow mahathir to play the race card and instil fear at the malays like Mugabe who is supported by Mahathir which will ultimately destroy all.

38. #38 by Loh on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:10 pm

///Johor Malays should have better things to do than to mask the real issue of a nation in need of education and socialisation for religious and racial understanding, instead of passing resolutions to warn against other races against ‘challenging ketuanan Melayu’.///

The Federal Constitution admits to the presence of multircial citizens who practise different religions in the country. Under the system of constitutional monarch and parliamentary democracy, the society should not have inequality among the different races resulting in one racial group claiming ketuanan over others. The fact that Ketuanan Melayu is discernable is a social ill and it should be removed. To hold meeting to warn others against challenging unhealthy phenomenon is antigonistic to peace and security of the country. Should not ISA be used against organisers of such meeting?

39. #39 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:16 pm

If UMNO can open its doors to a “Mamak”, why can’t it open its doors to non-Malay Muslims?

40. #40 by kerishamuddinitis on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:25 pm

To Azhar and all our Malay brethren, there has never been a better time than now for all races to close ranks like never before in one common quest – to truly achieve one nationhood, undivided by race or religion. To be Malaysians without reservation, hesitation, fear, favour or being haunted by the bogeyman of our troubled past. We need to get the bloody UMNO, MCA and MIC monkeys off our backs so that we may join hands in our march of solidarity towards one nation, one people and one nationhood.

We Malaysians of Chinese descent do not want to see Malays fall because when Malays fall, we fall. Malays do not live their lives to see Chinese fall because when Chinese fall, Malays will fall as well.

And as for our marginalised Indian brethren, well, it is time they kicked Semi Value out for good because when Chinese and/or Malays fall, they are not about to inherit this earth…there won’t be much left to inherit.

So, for a new dawn, a new Malaysia…this is my fervent wish, that ‘DSAI becomes Prime Minister by Sept 16.’

41. #41 by bystander on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 9:32 pm

All, malays and non malays, for 1 and 1 for all, malays and non malays.

42. #42 by Adolf_Napoleon on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:01 pm

I support fully isahbiazhar’s statement. With freedom of religion ONLY true unity in Malaysia be achieved!! Then only we can think like a First World country which is more “Issue Based” than “Religion” or “Race” based!!

Perhaps one should ask that could the almighty forced anyone to believe him when anyone who dont have fate? THe rank No.1 in Human Rights is freedom in religion irrespective of race. Rank No.2 never exist in Malaysia that is freedom of press and speech. So what else we have?

Seriously speaking, religion is regarded as a personal and private matter and we have to respect anyone’s believe and privacy. But in Malaysia, if you are borned as a Malay……….

43. #43 by shamshul anuar on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:24 pm

Dear Readers,

I would like to refer to this word “Ketuanan Melayu”. What UMNO , Malay meant when they mention the above word. And what the majority of Malays think about such a concept.

For the Malays, political power is of paramount importance. Losing the political influence is tantamount to being colonised again. This is the very basic meaning of “Ketuanan Melayu”. Simply Put it, Malays feel that controlling politics is as importance as their faith in Islam.

And this is not difficult to achieve by virtue of Malaysia being the biggest etnic race in Malaysia. Number matters in elections. Hence Malay supremacy in politics is reflected by the influence UMNO has in Federal and state levels.

Malays feel that what is the point of achieving independence if they do not control politics. It has nothing to do with treating non malays like 2nd class citizens. unsubstantiated complaints on unequal relationship between UMNO and the MCA, Gerakan, MIC and others in politics fail to take into account of one factor. tHe reason why UMNO has the most influence in BN and accorded “first among equal” status is due that it has the most number of seats.

Even now without two third majority, it still has 79 seats in Parliament, more than half of seats won by BN. UMNO behaves like a senior partner or controlling shareholders because it is the controlling shareholders in BN.

One DAP member who is a friend of mine said that why of all the sudden there are so many meeting about Ketuanan Melayu lately. He felt that UMNO engineered the meetings. The truth is that none of the meeting initiated by UMNO. The Malays felt threatened by the PKR’s threat to topple the Federal Govt, initiated the meetings to remind the Malays the danger of losing the political powers for good.

This is not a scare tactics to bring the Malays back to UMNo. The fear is real considering vast number of Malays still could not forget what DAP said to them almost 40 years ago.

Even now, I have come across many Malays who while said they wanted to teach UMNO a lesson, express regrett for choosing PKR. PKR’s silence over perceived insult by Karpal against the Sultan Of Perak disturbs their conscience.

44. #44 by limkamput on Tuesday, 20 May 2008 - 11:54 pm

shamshul anuar, you are singing the same old song before the election and now after the election. The reality is your idea is defunct, and no body is listening to you. That you why BN (UMNO) lost badly, got it?

45. #45 by kerishamuddinitis on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 12:17 am

Shamshul,

You are therefore saying that for Malaysia to exist, the Malays MUST be privileged with political supremacy. And this supremacy MUST be the birth-right of UMNO.

Malays are already controlling the destiny of Malaysia. UMNO is Malay,regardless of the influx of Melayu Celup. PKR is Malay-dominant. PAS is a Malay party even though its doors are open to non-Malay Muslims. Even the DAP has Malays to help guide its rudder and steer a Malaysian course.

WHAT ARE YOU REALLLY SAYING?

Insult by Karpal against the Sultan of Perak? HAVE YOU READ RPK’S BLOG? Do you not know that RPK has posted an account of His Royal Highness, the SULTAN of SELANGOR being shouted at !’

Now, Shamshul, read RPK’s posting then respond to this post and say what RPK says those who condemn Karpal ought to do, and that is to actviely seek REDRESS for SHOUTING at HRH!

THAT MEANS YOU! Will you do this or are you really just another running dog for BN and UMNO under the guise of being a non-partisan writer to this blog?

Hah, there are so many of you with your twisted logic. Pordah!

46. #46 by UzMiNoOnist on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 1:32 am

I was once told of what an average Malaysia consumer would be like? He is one person who would use LRT to travel.

So to know what an average UMNO/BN supporter would be like? Read Shamshul writing in this blog.

47. #47 by jackie on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 5:54 am

(di Johor Bahru yang berakhir semalam, menyaksikan usaha bersungguh-sungguh lebih 2,000 peserta mewakili 200 pertubuhan bukan kerajaan Melayu dari seluruh negara mahu bangsa Melayu terus unggul…. Mereka mahu kuasa, kedaulatan dan ketuanan Melayu terus dipelihara, bukan membiarkannya diancam oleh pihak lain).
    Sila beri ringkaskan apakah maksud “diancam oleh pihak lain”???.
    Siapa di-ancam siapa????
    Amaran,Jangan bodohkan Rakyat …

48. #48 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:10 am

“Number matters in elections. Hence Malay supremacy in politics is reflected by the influence UMNO has in Federal and state levels.” shamshul

Numbers always matter!

Malay votes are split three ways today. Who knows with Mahathir’s resignation, the Malay votes will split not three ways but four ways. If the non-Malay votes were less split and with greater turnout at elections, it is not mathematically impossible for a non-Malay party in combination with a Malay party to form the government at both state and federal level.

Your analysis is spot on i.e. about it being a numbers game!

49. #49 by kerishamuddinitis on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:54 am

It is a number’s game alright!

By 2050, Malays are projected to comprise 80% of the population with the rest at 20%. At that point, not only will Malays be totally supreme numerically but they will wield complete and total political power and achieve what Shamshul says is paramount to Malays – political supremacy.

Quite frankly, it will not really be much different from today in terms of the pivotal role Malays play in determining the destiny of Malaysia, and will increasingly play in direct co-relationship to their increase in population.

Shamshul, the whole point is what kind of Malaysia do you want this country to be? You should be praising Allah for people like LKS, RPK, DSAI, all the members of the Malaysian Bar Council and all of the people who voted PR alliance parties in GE12.

There is time yet for us to ensure good, honest, decent leaders take over the government of this country – because if it doesn’t happen, THE MALAYS WILL BE THE BIGGEST LOSERS, not anyone else – regardless of your delusional ‘Malay political supremacy!’

50. #50 by blablowbla on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:40 am

yes,tun was right,umno has changed!
    from stealing to day-lite robberies!
    now,even worst,threaten to kill some1 by sending bullet!

they want money,they want power,they want to rule,they want to be master eternity!we can fulfill their dreams,send them to hell and they can do whatever they like there,even 100% of malay quota!rily a bangsat community!

51. #51 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 10:06 am

Look like, ppl cannot see which is better to lead the country,
    corrupt leaders of prefered race of prefered political racist party, or good, dedicated, leaders of any race (include prefered race) of any political parties. Surely all will lose under corrupt leaders !

Look at Zimbabwe, Mugabe hated their white Zimbabwean so much, and now every Zimbabwean is a “billionaire” ! But Z$ 1 billion only buy 4 plain loaves of bread (U are lucky if U queue only 2 hours to get it) ! No elect & water supply for days! Millions Ppl are running away to other countries
    If left unchecked, the dominant party now can become another Mugabe’s ZANU, where violent to ppl, murder opposition leaders & supporter, rigging election, destroy oppostion houses, starving opposition ppl, delay election result for 35 days, is their expertise.
    Msian, do U wan this to happen?
    Whereas in another Africa country (Botswana) which accept & treat their white minority equally. Their economy is one of the most healthy in Africa (in not in the World) !

52. #52 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 10:15 am

Why? why? Malay can only be lead by UMNO,
    Why Malay cannot be lead by PAS, PKR etc.??
    Is this logical??

53. #53 by badak on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 2:10 pm

Without Malay rights .. UMNO is no more relervent.That is why UMNO is screaming Malay rights.Not only the chiness and indians have given up on UMNO.Even the MALAYS are fed up.

54. #54 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 2:15 pm

shamshul anuar: “For the Malays, political power is of paramount importance. ….. Simply put it, Malays feel that controlling politics is as importance as their faith in Islam.”

Who owns Malaysia?

North Borneo (Sabah), Sarawak, Singapore, and Malaya agreed to come together to become Malaysia in September 1963. At that time, did Sabah, Sarawak, and Singapore have large numbers of Malays in their populations? Did the peoples of Sabah, Sarawak, and Singapore agree that Malays must have political dominance in the newly created Malaysia? Did the peoples of Sabah, Sarawak, and Singapore agree to subject themselves to Ketuanan Melayu?

Looking back, Singapore must thank its luck star to be given the opportunity to leave Malaysia and the clutches of Ketuanan Melayu in 1965 to chart its own destiny. The rest is history.

Sabah and Sarawak remain in Malaysia – the rest is history too. Just look at the conditions they are in today.

Malays have been ruling Malaya/Malaysia since day 1 of independence, >50 years ago. Did they do a good job? Are we all proud of what we are now? Are things better now than 40 or 50 years ago? Are Umnoputras ruling the nation for the benefits of all citizens or largely for their benefits and the benefits of their cronies?

55. #55 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 2:42 pm

boh-liao Says:

Today at 14: 15.32 (23 minutes ago)
    shamshul anuar: “For the Malays…………..

Malays have been ruling Malaya/Malaysia since day 1 of independence, >50 years ago. Did they do……..

Wish to correct U, to UMNO have been ruling Malaya/Malaysia since day 1 of independence, >50 years ago. Did they do……..

Not exaxtly, Malay , but UMNO have been ruling…….

Come on, If Malay can control & rule, through another party & do a good job for all, Think many Msian don’t mind !

56. #56 by Navinachendra on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 3:41 pm

DR.,
    It is this type of unreasonable demands by the Malay leaders that’s taking the country back.No one seem interested that the Nation should progress. All they can see are the petty need to be supreme at all costs.
    When we look at the 50 years since independence, we have definately taken two steps back for every step forward in matters of Human Rights, Judiciary, in healthcare and education. There is no firm policy on language issues and the children become victims; its English for Mathematics and Science one year and a call for a change to Bahasa Melaysia the next. There is no firm study on any damn thing they do but initiated at the whims and fancies of some idiots of the ruling parties (BN). On the other hand, what we can boast of are tall buildings and congested highways.
    Leaders want to cling to power for selfish reasons, maintaining their grip, they play the racial cards to remain relvant. Dr. Mahathir seems to regret having resigned as PM. For a man who was considered a modern malay, his claims that malays are losing power, and such rubbish notions places him in the rubbish heap where he rightfully belongs and should be ignored.
    The leaders of yesteryear have had their say and should now hold their peace instead of recycling themselves as the champions of the malays. Malaysia is for all Malaysians and ‘there is enough for everyones need, not for their greed’.

57. #57 by badak on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 4:00 pm

The only way for BN to be relervent again come the next GE… Is to be under one party.No more MIC ,MCA , UMNO,PPP,KERAKAN.Then again UMNO being the only party fighting for the MALAYS.No way this is going to happen…So let us all say good bye to UMNO and BN.It really surprise me that even after winning the last GE .This leaders in UMNO are now fighting..

The fight has started ,From now on its all about Malays and Malay rights.Even one UMNO LEADER said that, only the Malays fought for the country ,The rest did not help at all.With this kind of leaders . We don,t need enemies ,The country is being attacked from within.

58. #58 by sotong on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 4:05 pm

Whatever rights one has under the Constitution, when you abuse your position of power, trust and influence, you lost all credibility and integrity.

If most Malays think like Shamshul, then the Chinese and Indians had made a big mistake in helping the country achieve independent.

59. #59 by 318 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 6:57 pm

lot of comments but i think ordinary citizens don’t bother who lead the country as long as the g’ment treat every citizens fairly n don’t have to struggle, struggle,struggle to make a living

60. #60 by myint3 on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:04 pm

Read about the heroes of Sandakan during WWII. The Funk Brothers http://www.sabah.org.my/bi/know_sabah/personalities/funk_brothers.asp

The Chinese too bled for this country. Unless, the West doesn’t count the Borneo history as part of it’s history.

There is also a group of Chinese freedom fighter but for the life of me, I can’t remember their names now. From what I recalled, they were surpressed and executed.

Not many Sabahans are even aware of this, much less West Malaysians. I’m certain these folks’ contribution did not appear in our school textbook.

Frankly speaking, Sabahans like me are sick and tired of UMNO/BN type of politic which rely heavily on race and religious issues. The moment they feel threatened, the first thing they’d do is brandish a Keris. You don’t see us DusunKadazans or Ibans Bumi in the East taking out our Parangs and Sumpitons whenever we feel threatened? Mind you, the Sarawakians Ibans/Dayaks are known for their ferociousness. The British found it hard to colonize Sarawak because of the “garang” natives when they already colonised the Malay Peninsula. So should the Iban and Dayak of Sarawak start taking heads whenever we cannot agree to something?

UMNO and BN are poisons to the blood that flow in the veins of the federation of Malaysia. They are run by Malay, Chinese and Indian elitists who subjugated their own races, playing on the peoples’ fear. BN Incorporated!

61. #61 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 8:49 pm

Another reminder! Change the “UNITED MALAYS NATIONAL ORGANIZATION” to “UNITING MALAYS NATIONAL ORGANIZATION”!!! And that is the truth, the party is so “DISUNITED”

62. #62 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:28 pm

Something common and yet we tend to forget.

Respect is to be earned and not be demanded.

To say Chineses are rich is actually wrong. Not all Chineses are as rich as that rich Chinese fella you meet.

To say Malays are poor is wrong also. Because I have seen many, many, many rich Malays and my question is are these rich Malays helping their own poor Malays ?

To keep emphasizing on Ketuanan Melayu is another way of expressing one’s own inferiority complex. If a Malay is capable, he or she will win the hearts of many without having to demand for the status of Ketuanan Melayu.

If there is a Tuan, there is a hamba. In English if there is a Master, there is a slave. Wasn’t the practise of slavery abolished already ?

63. #63 by UzMiNoOnist on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 9:30 pm

Regarding the bullet issue. This is definitely political.

Guess UMNX is behind it just to teach KS a lesson and also to justify the PM statement “Melayu sudah marah”

This incident also confirm my suspicion all along that we also have a shadowy group of Malay Extremists (or you can call them terrorists) that will protect Ketuanan Melayu at all cost even to the extent of bombing and killing. A good guess also, it is this group of people behind the 513.

Hmmm… just my thought.

64. #64 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 21 May 2008 - 10:15 pm

One4All4One Says:

May 19th, 2008 (2 days ago) at 22: 47.24
    When will they ever learn?

Where is their wisdom?

When will they ever grow up?

When will they stop fantasising and face reality?

When will they stop blaming others for their own short comings?

When will they start being responsible?

When will they stand on their own feet?

When will they stop depending on handouts?

When will they face challenges head on just like others?

When will they stop looking for scapegoats?

When will they stop hiding behind titles?

When, when when…..

Questions which beg for answers..in our society.

When the election was lost…blame others except themselves.

When the contract could not be obtained…blame others.

When the quota falls short…blame the system, except their own shortcomings or failure.

When others do well…accuse them of stealing the wealth.

When others succeded…accuse them of usurping powers.

When others achieved…accuse them of not respecting one’s culture, race and religion.

It is just a mess here.

When will they ever learn…when will they ever learn

65. #65 by ktteokt on Thursday, 22 May 2008 - 10:36 pm

Come to think of it and with the happenings these few days, UMNO would not even qualify as “UNITING MALAYS NATIONAL ORGANIZATION” and perhaps should consider changing to DMNO (DISUNITED MALAYS NATIONAL ORGANIZATION).

66. #66 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 24 May 2008 - 11:53 pm

Dear Boh Liao,

No need to get offensive. I am just telling what malays perceive as “ketuanan Melayu”. It should be looked from political perspectives. For Malays, independence is meaningless if they do not hold political powers. And Malays earn political powers the right way; that is through election.

In no way, the word is used as a rallying point to scare anybody. I am sure you understand this. Ask any Malays and they will not deny how Lim Kit Siang has been using racial ways to achieve political ambitions ; that is by giving impression that long lasting relationship between UMNo and MCA is not genuine;thus ignoring the reality of the politics of the day.

If you care to read my comments, in no way if I suggest that political supremacy to be used in a cruel manner. I always tell my friends that what is the point of of form over substance. What is the point of pomp and pageantry of of Coronation of a ruler if Malays fail to capitalize whatever chances given. What is the point of condemning your own govt by accusing of it benefitting Umnoputras while you were given PTPN loan or scholarship. What is the point of this never ending ceramah by PAS when Malay youths involve in mind boggling suicidal racing.

Contrary to what you may want to think, Malays are not obsessed with UMNO. And I do not deny that UMNO has weaknesses. Just as like how majority of Malays know how DAP plays with racial issues .

67. #67 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 25 May 2008 - 12:02 am

Dear Readers,

I asked one participant of Congress held recently in Johor Baru about his concern on recent development . And his answers I can say precisely depict the position from Malays point of view. He said “takut nanti Yang dikendong berciciran, yang dikejar tak dapat”.

Of course he is around 50’s. But he is articulate and urbane and has his own practice. And he told me what he told his UMNO friends. Reduce unnecessary talk and get down to business od administering the country.

68. #68 by lopez on Sunday, 25 May 2008 - 8:03 am

what is there to tuan about , you are the greatest from the day you crawl of the …
    Everone came to see u, bought you presents, all elders have big kanduri, until the day you go under, more people would come to see u, still not satisfy, borrow other people’s one ka…cannot lah other people same too tuan also when born until go under.

you got sweat it out ka or get hand out , can get for me ka?

69. #69 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 25 May 2008 - 11:47 am

Dear Shamshul,

OK, it is not about UMNO Malays hegemony, according to you. Great, so throw your lot behind Pakatan Rakyat. Afterall, if it is Malay ‘political supremacy’ you are talking about, then admit this – PR is an alliance led by PKR; PKR is Malay dominated; PKR is led by DSAI, a Malay, no? And PR needs the active participation and cooperation of PAS – a Malay dominated party, no? So, if DAP is as racist as you say, then what is DAP doing in an alliance totally dominated by Malays who readily accepted DAP?

Next, according to you, ‘…majority of Malays know how DAP plays with racial issues…’

(i) How in the world do you know this? And on what empirical evidence do you base your conclusion? A survey sample of 1 – yourself, your next-of-kin or your mosque Imam? Or, was it a properly, professionally conducted survey? Or, was it in truth simply an accusation, a political myth, made up by PNMB (Pertubuhan Nasional Melayu Bersatu – UMNO in orang putih-speak; and spoken daily by the ‘no speakee ingleesh’ cash runner too!) members that has been perpetuated all through the last 30 years until 08 March 2008?

(ii) the Malays who are reading this will know you, Shamshul, make no sense, when you can make such a statement in face of the fact that PAS and PKR which are Malay-dominated parties have decided to work with DAP achieve a Malaysia for all Malaysians, not just Malays and to achieve ‘ketuanan rakyat.’ This is solid evidence that the majority of Malays now accept the DAP struggle as part of the struggle for a better Malaysia TOGETHER WITH MALAYS FROM KELANTAN, KEDAH, PERAK, SELANGOR, NEGRI SEMBILAN, PENANG and FT KUALA LUMPUR represented by PKR and PAS! Malays NO LONGER think and better still according to racial lines, Shamshul. Malays have affirmatively rejected ‘racial violence’! (just as the Chinese dumped MCA and Gerakan in GE12 in reponse to their respective warnings of racial trouble.)

Why? because when you emphasise ‘ketuanan rakyat’ and…
    (i) ‘rakyat’ of Malaysia is automatically 65% Malays
    (ii) and if the Malays who are poor, who need assistance and who would benefit most from SINCERE and HONEST efforts of the government to help them, make up the majority of the underprivileged strata, then THEY WILL RECEIVE THE AID! No question! And so will the other non-Malay races as well!

After 50 years, Malaysians are finally realising this is NOT a RACE struggle but a CLASS struggle. And Malays are now realising that it is a sin for the non-Malay middle and lower classes to have to pay FULL price to own a house while the Malay Tuns, Tan Sris, Datuks and all other titled Malays enjoy an automatic RACE discount of between 7% – 10% on the property and houses they buy!

Is this the ketuanan Melayu you speak of? The Malay supremacy?
    Haven’t you noticed that the non-Malays have now started to treat this as simply another instance of our resilience in the face of discrimination? WE PAY! WITH DIGNITY!

And don’t you know that the Malay in the street condemns the way the RM100mil was spent to send a ‘ketuanan Melayu’ tourist to space? The average Malay man-on-the street thinks it is a STUPID WASTE OF RAKYAT’S money when they are finding it so hard to make decent money!

Malays are NOT stupid! Don’t treat them as such because you betray them when you, Shamshul, a Malay (or maybe you are non-Malay in truth but write in the guise of one?) think they are not smart enough to work out the rubbish in what you say!

DSAI, a MALAY, for Prime Minister of Malaysia by Sept 16!
    HIDUP MELAYU PKR DAN PAS SERTA SEMUA ORANG MELAYU YANG TIDAK MAHU MENERIMA LAGU PENJAJAHAN MINDA DAN EMOSI CARA PNMB – PERTUBUHAN NASIONAL MELAYU BERSATU

70. #70 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 25 May 2008 - 12:25 pm

Pertubuhan Nasional Melayu Bersatu adalah nama yang patut digunakan dan bukan United Malay National Organisation, nama bahasa orang putih yang pernah menjajah Tanah Melayu sehingga Tunku Abdul Rahman, Bapa Malaysia, berjaya mencapai kemerdekaan untuk semua kaum dan bukan untuk orang Melayu sahaja.

Sepertimana yang telah dilakukan oleh penjajah Inggeris, penindasan minda dan emosi kaum masa kini diteruskan berdasarkan strategi ‘pemisahan kaum’ penjajah Inggeris supaya kaum Melayu, Cina dan India terus hanya mementingkan hak-hak masing-masing tanpa mengira apa yang akan terjadi kepada negara kita.

Shamshul, ‘ketuanan Melayu’ dan ‘Malay political supremacy’ adalah manifestasi strategi ini. Tsunami politik PRU12 dapat berjaya hanya dengan kepimpinan orang Melayu seperti DSAI, Nik Aziz dan RPK, dan hanya dengan sokongan orang Melayu jelata yang percaya pada mereka. Tetapi dengan suatu perbezaan BESAR, iaitu KETUANAN RAKYAT dan bukan ketuanan Melayu atau ketuanan PNMB (UMNO, nama bahasa penjajah Inggeris!)

Satu Rakyat! Satu Negara! Satu Harapan!
    DSAI menjadi PM pada Sept 16!

71. #71 by myint3 on Sunday, 25 May 2008 - 8:05 pm

Wah Sei kerishamuddinitis, your last paragraph made my bulu roma naik :). Long live Malaysia. Long live Ketuanan Rakyat!

72. #72 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 25 May 2008 - 9:26 pm

LONG LIVE MALAYSIA! LONG LIVE KETUANAN RAKYAT! :)